Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

College for Creative Studies Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Access cards and security guards keep you very safe on campus. Both campuses are in some of the safest areas around. Yes, this school is in the city of Detroit, so don't get into dodgy areas alone at night. But it's not as scary as everyone makes it out to be. If you stay close to campus and don't do anything stupid, you will be absolutely fine.

    Greek Life

    Non-existent. The Greektown Casino, however, is right downtown. ;)

    Clubs and Activities

    Limited. I personally do not participate in any.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are interested in more than one type of art. Yes, you may be majoring in graphic design but you WILL be forced to take drawing and 3D design courses that are seemingly irrelevant to your studies. It may seem stupid, but trust me, it all helps towards making you an overall better artist/designer/creative person.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Each major at CCS has a very specific stereotype. It's almost humorously cliched.

    Bang for the buck

    Of course I'm going to complain about the price because I can barely afford it. Quality of education is absolutely superb, but I'm sure they could lower costs somehow and just aren't.

    What to do for fun

    School does not offer a whole lot of fun activities since people are usually working on coursework. Sad truth. Student Exhibition Opening at the end of the year is awesome fun though. I didn't attend my freshman year and wish I had. And it's always just fun looking in the hallways throughout the year at all the amazing artwork.

    Food and Dining

    On campus dining is very limited. 2 cafeterias, neither very large or full of options. Only one is open on weekends and neither are open past 7:30 pm. Also, DO NOT get a huge meal plan (I don't get one at all). You can't possibly spend that much in the cafeteria and what you don't use goes to waste at the end of the year. You can load your student card with money and it works just the same as dining dollars without the commitment.

    Dorm Life

    There are only two options for dorms on campus. Neither are ideal. I'd recommend the Art Centre Building because the dorms are apartments, so you get a kitchen. Taubman dorms are newer/cleaner, but having no kitchen must suck because the cafeteria sucks.

    Academic Rigor

    Art rigor. The pace of work is unrelenting and incredibly challenging, but you'll get through it and you'll be better for it. School takes immense care into giving you the best possible education and the work and money is entirely worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come expecting a lot of work, but with that comes a lot of learning. Most students seem to get a pretty decent scholarship from the school, but of course it is never enough because the tuition is, well, insane and additional costs from supplies really, really add up. All in all I do think it is worth it for the quality of education.

    In three sentences

    Not for the weak at art. Everyone who does well here works very hard. If you don't work hard or commit fully to your education here, you will not do well at all. That being said, you don't need to be a brilliant artist to get in. Just have good taste, at least SOME artistic talent and the school can get you the rest.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The saftey is AMAZING for downtown Detroit; I feel completely safe all times when I am on the campus!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many from a paint ball club down to a videogame club, there are so many hard to keep up with!

    Great for these types of students

    It wonderful for artists and innovators that want to make thier mark in the industry as well as make a career out the natural born talent they have and improved from attending.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are so many from free food day at finals week when everyone is craming to get thier portfilios and reviews done. To bonfires and Our big end of the year Art exibition that you can even sell you're artwork in. Everything is a blast at this college.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a bit expensive but college isn't going up in price every year? Play it smart apply for financial aid, and many grants and scholarships, take advantage of what is out there for you and anything can become affordable in these hard times.

    What to do for fun

    There is everything from free movies to see for students to sign up for, too many clubs and outing events from go-carting, paintballing club, as well as videogame club and game artists who want to invite as many to join in and relax from the stresses of homework once a week, clubs range from transportation to fashion to live action films. The sky is the limit with College for Creative Studies.

    Food and Dining

    Decent food; it could be better for what we pay for the school, but it is not as bad as many other colleges I have visted and witnessed.

    Dorm Life

    Welcoming and wonderful students, the dorms are alcohol free, as well as smoking and other substances. many laughs are exchanged as well as hard working artists everywhere working in the dorms. Its a great experience for anyone worried for living in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Wonderful classes that are always pushing you to get to the next level and become a better artist all in the process!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the work load intimidate you; the hard work and time you put in to understand of what you want as a artist and a career will drive you to be sucessful and pave a path for yourself; stay strong and always give 110% in the end its all about you and what you want to make of yourself, it is up to you to make you're mark in the world!

    In three sentences

    A beautiful college that creates a welcoming atmosphere for students and faculty to learn the stunning and vivid qualities it takes to make fine art, animation, fashion, products, transportation and videogames for the community and world around to enjoy and appreciate. The instructors treat thier students if they were thier family leading them down the path of success each moment of the day. The students are all warm and inviting as a family as well; any child and adult looking for a college or home for thier art educational needs to suceed and move into a career College for Creative Studies arms are open!

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sometimes they suck at unlocking certain doors on the weekends, which can be inconvenient. But for the most part they are pretty nice and helpful if you need them for something.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek at this school.

    Great for these types of students

    Artsy people, of course! ;) No but really, anyone who is interested in creating things, and going in depth into the subject of art that you really enjoy.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is something called geek week. Since there aren't any official sports teams at CCS (that I know of) this is sort of the replacement activity that happens at the beginning of the year. They also have free massages in the cafeteria every so often.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is beyond what I can afford, and yet, I still find myself here. I'd like to think that it will be worth the money someday, because the education quality is honestly pretty fantastic. Also, I can't see myself studying these types of subjects at just any college.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things around campus. Wayne state is a few blocks upstreet, so you can always walk to that campus to hangout. The D.I.A and Science Center are also right by CCS and we can get into the D.I.A for free.

    Food and Dining

    The grill at this school can be quite disgusting most of the time. The sandwiches are so greasy, that I don't even touch them. The snacks and fried food aren't bad. They also have sushi, which is perfectly fine, but I will not eat it unless it is fresh from that day. The salads also aren't bad, and they have decent snack food.

    Dorm Life

    I honestly can't speak for dorm life, because I am a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes that I have taken at this school have proven to be quite difficult. I feel much more experienced, truly, from most of the classes that I have taken. Some of the classes have seemed pointless to me, don't get me wrong, but what college doesn't have classes like that?

    Tips for prospective students

    Work on your portfolio. The more experience that you acquire, the easier it will be to complete the assignments. Sometimes the hardest thing is trying to find inspiration, so the more ideas that you come up with, the more that you will have to pull out for future reference.

    In three sentences

    CCS is like a nightmare and a dream all at the same time. It is unbelievably stressful all of the time, but it is worth it. I feel that I can say you become so much more accomplished as a person by being at this school.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent. I couldn't ask for anything better. You have to sign guest in, show you I.D.'s when you walk through the door, and most doors are I.D. sensors. You can't use the elevator unless you have one and commuters can't access the dorm area without the on-campus I.D.'s (although that may be a nuisance if you're trying to see your friends). Security is always around day and night. The cameras are pretty impressive on the display screen as well.

    Greek Life

    There isn't a Greek Life, though your classmates in your major will seem like your sorority/fraternity since they tend to stay in their own little groups.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is plenty to do here and most people are friendly. You may not find the time to do everything however, as the workload is phenomenal. Time-management is key here...

    Great for these types of students

    Students who focus on their work and like to work in the digital field of art will love it here. There is also a Fine Arts major and from what I have heard it is quite intense as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You will find the largest gathering of hipsters here. Not that it's a bad thing. If you throw hundreds of creative minds in one place, you're going to get hundreds of creative fashion styles.

    Bang for the buck

    This is the Harvard of art schools. Yes, the price may be on the expensive side but it's definitely worth it in the end. Find as many scholarships as possible , some grants, and some loans and you'll be fine. Don't stop freshman year, keep pushing for scholarships throughout your college career.

    What to do for fun

    There are some side activities and groups like the soccer team, flag-football, paintball, and many other small groups. You can even make your own group with the school board's permission. There is plenty to do in downtown Detroit, but please be careful.

    Food and Dining

    Although the Taubman Center campus requires dining dollars, it is optional at the ACB. The food is pretty good and you can easily get full. Though the prices may be on the more expensive side, it's definitely a life-saver if you don't know how to cook.

    Dorm Life

    Great dorms with great security. The wifi is great and there is a sufficient amount of space for you and your roommates. Only the ACB has the kitchen and apartment-style design.

    Academic Rigor

    The workload is massive, leaving you with little time for side activities during the weekdays. Manage your time carefully and this won't be a problem. Weekends can be used to catch up, stay on top of your game, or do whatever makes you happy or inspire you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't play around and have great time-management. This school will make you or break you. If you fall behind it is extremely hard to catch up and all-night projects are common here.

    In three sentences

    Though this school is in the middle of Detroit, it is well secured using I.D. cards for almost everything, including the elevators. The schoolwork and competitiveness is intense and if you're not serious here, you might fall behind. Many sleepless night will be had but this school will prepare you and make you the best you can be.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety does a really good job of keeping the students safe. Whether it be weather alerts or disturbances in the campus area, campus safety is usually on the job.

    Great for these types of students

    Anybody with a creative passion and drive will fit right in at CCS.

    Bang for the buck

    If you put your best effort forward you will get a whole lot in return. Not only lifetime friends and mentors, but networks to the industries you desire to work in.

    What to do for fun

    There's a few things to do on campus like table tennis, billiards, and basketball (Thursday nights for basketball). Off campus there's clubs assuming you're old enough, parties, and the Detroit Zoo is a good attraction as well when the seasons permit.

    Food and Dining

    A little expensive for on campus dining but its pretty great tasting food. There's a lot of restaurants off campus as well. Some actually give you little discounts for being a student at CCS.

    Dorm Life

    I've technically never stayed on campus but I did spend a significant amount of time in the dorms my Freshman year. The security guards are really nice. The only downfall was that the elevators would break down sometimes.

    Academic Rigor

    Its something you just have to be ready for. At CCS its sink or swim. If you're not ready to swim you shouldn't have jumped in the water.

    Tips for prospective students

    Whatever you do, don't procrastinate. If you're going to commit to CCS you have to be ready to not sleep some nights. This is preparing you for the real world; the holding of your hands ended when you received your high school diploma.

    In three sentences

    College for Creative Studies is the best thing that has happened to me. The teachers and students there are so passionate about their work. It is one of the top schools in the country for a reason.

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very nice, so as long as you are nice to them. If you forget your ID, you will have to sign in, but be nice to them. They are there for your safety and they do a good job of it. If you are in one of the 24-hour labs after 11 pm, you will have to go to campus safety to let them know. Again, be nice to them and they will love you. As far as the security of the buildings, they are very safe. Your student ID acts as a key card to most places (to include the offices at the Detroit Institute of Arts I recently discovered). No one can get on campus with out being noticed. The campus is probably the safest place in Detroit.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life, but we do have our departments. During Geek Week, which is our equivalent to Home Coming week, we have department competitions. One of them this year was an Oreo licking contest. I don't know who won because I had to go to class, but I was rooting for EA.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am in the GSA and I am loving it. As I said before, there are a lot of clubs for people who want to do that. There are bulletin boards around the school that will tell you what's going on when.

    Great for these types of students

    The artist who is open to criticism. Seriously. If you don't like to hear negatives about your art, you will drop out after one day.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Really, I haven't been here long enough to tell you. However, there is Geek Week, which I will talk more about under Greek life.

    Bang for the buck

    At roughly $17,000 a SEMESTER, you are expected to work hard. Even after one day of class, you will learn so much about art. After a month of attending, I have seen a visible improvement in my art.

    What to do for fun

    If you are on the Ford campus, you are in the center of the museum district of Detroit. There is so much to do right out your doorstep. The teachers will tell you of upcoming events that you can go to. On the campus itself, they do a good job at keeping the kids out of trouble. When they are not doing their homework, there is always a club activity or a guest speaker going on. Even before the semester started, they had activities to get the kids out of their dorms and into the community.

    Food and Dining

    The food is moderately cheap, but if you commute, you definitely want to pack lunch/dinner. However, the food they have at the school is rather good. Except the sushi. Avoid the sushi at all costs. If you commute like I do, and you forget to pack a lunch/dinner, your ID will act as a credit card with a $300 limit on it. Use it sparingly, however.

    Dorm Life

    I commute, so I can't really speak, but my friends who do dorm really love it.

    Academic Rigor

    Expect to work your butt off! This is the art equivalent of Harvard, so there is a lot at stake. You will make friends, but don't expect to have too many close friends or dating opportunities. A girl on my facebook said CCS is nothing like I imagined. Instead of making new friends, everyone is like 'friends? no thanks, I'd rather do my homework'. That is very true.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask your art teachers to pack on the heat now, this way, you won't be shocked when you have 6 hours of homework per class per week. Also, ignore the person who said go into crafts. You want to go into Entertainment Arts.

    In three sentences

    It is super hard. But, it is also super fun. Expect to work hard!

  • 05/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is really safe and secure at CCS. There are a lot of cameras on both campuses and there are always campus safety people walking around campus. Campus security is strict about who they allow in the buildings on campus and you need your ID to get everywhere. The parking structure is also exclusive for CCS students, faculty, and employees. You need an ID to get in and get out of the structure. Wayne State has their own police force which is always patrolling the area and by our school because of Wayne State's proximity. CCS is on top of their security and good about keeping it safe, I am a female and I almost never worry about my safety there which is good. At night you do need to be more aware of your surroundings but other than that it's fine.

    Greek Life

    There are parties in the area with Wayne State kids who live in apartments and CCS students who live off campus also. Because of school rules and policy you can't have booze in your dorms rooms or anything like but you can find it close by if you know people who party. A lot of times students at CCS are so busy with their work they don't have a lot of time to party, but you will get opportunities to go out when you really need it. You can organize a group of people to hang out at the bar or something like that, they usually don't ID in bars in Detroit.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are no sports at CCS but we do have GSA and a Student Government for the different majors. We have different activities on campus like print making and different workshops but that is really it. CCS also has volunteering opportunities available in Detroit for students and helps organize groups of students for convention events.

    Great for these types of students

    CCS is great for motivated, talented, and hard-working students. It is the ideal art school for students who really want to improve their work and develop as an artist. It is also really good for students who want to broaden their horizons; there are a lot of people from different walks of life, experience, and background. People who are open-minded and have positive attitudes are great fits for CCS also. If you are a student who is willing to work to their fullest potential, improve their work, and have a good attitude, this is the school for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Screaming Peacock is our mascot which is pretty unusual compared to other mascots. During finals week at CCS they have massage therapists come in and you can sign up for massages during lunch and get a massage which is cool. They also have a room where they supply students with free food during finals week. Sometimes the school provides fun activities on campus for students such as: moon bounces, zip lines, live bands, moving showings etc. Our school also has art contests on campus at times like: pumpkin carving contests, building a skeleton, drawing characters, etc. Throughout the school year art and business professionals come in and talk to students and answer questions about the art world, career opportunities, upcoming internships, display their work, and more. At the end of the school year we also have a Student Exhibition where they showcase the best works of the students from all the different majors where the general public, staff, students, and business professionals look at the work.

    Bang for the buck

    Utrecht is a local art supplies store close to school that has really good discounts for students and a lot of times you can get quality supplies on sale. Biggby coffee also has weekly discounts on an assortment of their drinks for people who like to drink coffee or enjoy specialty drinks. The school bookstore on campus has discounts at different times of the year for students on supplies which is helpful also.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of different activities and events going on in downtown and midtown Detroit all the time for students to go to. There are almost always good shows nearby in venues like the Fillmore Theater, St. Andrews Hall, The Majestic Theater, and The Magic Stick in downtown Detroit. Comerica Park is close by so students can go catch a Tigers Game. CCS is also near the Fox Theater and they show different kinds of plays there all the time. During Memorial Day weekend there is Detroit Electronic Music Festival (DEMF), where a lot of people attend. Around this time there is a large Jazz festival in Detroit also. The DIA, African American Museum, the Detroit Science Center, and the Detroit Historical Museum are all in walking distance to CCS and are good places to visit. Belle Isle is an interesting spot to visit in Detroit and they have a conservatory, aquarium, nature center, swimming beach and a lot of open park and area to walk around. This is a good place to visit in Spring and Summer when the weather is nicer in the year. Detroit also has Campus Martius in the downtown area where there are a lot of shops and restaurants and it is a fun place to walk around. It also has open ice skating in the winter. Greek town is a fun place to visit on the weekend, and there are a lot of good restaurants in that area. There are also local art galleries in the area which are good for students to check out also.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of different dining areas that are close to campus. Some of the popular restaurants that are close by are: Good Girls Go To Paris Crepes, Wasabi, Detroit One Coney Island, and Slow's Bar BQ. There are also a lot of fast food places that are nearby like Domino's, Jimmy John's, etc. Greektown and downtown Detroit have a lot of good restaurants also. Most of the food in the city isn't super expensive also so it's good for students on a budget.

    Dorm Life

    There are two different dorms at CCS depending on what side of campus you are on. The ACB dorms are on the WB campus and the other dorms are at the Taubman campus. Both of the dorms are larger and give a lot of space for the students to do their work. The ACB dorms at one time used to be a large apartment so the door rooms are actually larger apartment rooms. This allows students to have a lot of room to work and do their art which is important. These dorms also have a small kitchen in all the rooms. This building is older however, so there are some maintenance issues at times with the dorms like mold, water heater problems, and issues with the pipes. Other than the age of the building which sometimes causes problems it is a great place to live. The Taubman campus at one time used to be the GM Argonaut building and it was later converted into the Taubman building for CCS. This is a newer building and has newer dorms in comparison to the WB campus and ACB dorms. The dorm rooms on the Taubman campus do not have kitchens in comparison to the ACB dorms, however, they are newer and don't have as many maintenance issues. However, if you live on the Taubman campus, you have to have a meal plan (in the ACB you can opt to have one or not). Each building has its pros and cons and are overall very good, it just depends on your personal preferences and taste. The dorms are very homey and people in the same floors and same building tend to become friends and hang out a lot.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are very strenuous and demand a ton of work and time. You are constantly working on a lot of projects at once and it is very important to stay on top of your work for this reason. You can't get away with procrastinating because you will become really behind in your work and fall behind in your classes. You really need to start your projects when they are first assigned to you and work on them little by little so you can finish all your assignments on time. Art takes time to complete and you can't just make it up or copy from other people. It is important to use as much time as possible (that you have) to complete an assignment and to give yourself more time than you think you will need to finish a project. When you rush to complete your work mistakes always seem to happen, so don't let the same happen to you!

    Tips for prospective students

    One of the biggest recommendations I would suggest for students planning on or are going to attend CCS is to be aware of time management. One of the main problems students have is managing their time efficiently and staying on top of their work. It is also very important that students put forth their best effort and work hard. Students who do not work hard and/or don't put a lot of effort into their work will not last long here. Even if your work is not the best in the class or up to par for what it should be, as long as your teachers know you are trying your personal best and putting in the time for your work, that's what matters. I think it is also really important for students to be prepared for how much money they are about to spend here. There are a lot of art supplies needed especially in the first year and it is very costly. Try to save as much money as you can before attending here because you will probably end up spending a lot more money than anticipated on supplies. I would also strongly suggest getting to know your fellow peers, upperclassmen, teachers, and staff. Networking is a huge part of life at CCS and the people here are a big part in helping you while you are in school and later on in your career. It is also important to use the resources available to you are here like the gnomon workshop, Lynda.com, printmaking, etc. Outside of school these resources cost money, might as well use them here as their costs are built into an overall resource fee. I would finally recommend getting to know the city of Detroit and its culture because it is a big part of CCS. There are a lot of art galleries and upcoming studios in the local area and it would be a good idea to check them out.

    In three sentences

    CCS is a challenging, fun, and rewarding school to attend. It demands a lot of hard work and effort due to the rigorous curriculum and high expectations. However, it is one of the best schools in the United States for the visual arts and hard work really pays off in the long and short term.

  • 07/21/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Creative yet organized. Laid back - yet conscious of surroundings (school is in a safe area of downtown detroit)

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for scholarships early. Be prepared to work hard and be challenged.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is VERY expensive. While some of their majors are very employable the scholarships are on the small side (max 10 thousand) and many students go into debt to go here.

    Will enjoy being here

    There does not seem to be many clubs and activities to do, and students seem to spend A LOT of time studying. I will see when I attend.

    Will learn a lot

    The professors are very well educated and have done a lot of past projects. They seem to bring that into the classroom and the classes are structured well. There seems to be a lot of homework and work that goes into classes here. Students spend a lot of time studying.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    umm, it's detroit. and i am usually too busy to do anything except watch movies or play video games.

    Food and Dining

    i don't have a meal plan, so i cook most of my own food. having the option to do that is great, but if i am running late, the food in the cafeteria is really good too.

    Dorm Life

    living in the apartment style dorms is great! i have a kitchen with a stove and a fridge, and lots of public space to hang out.

    Academic Rigor

    i feel challenged by the liberal arts classes. i only have like, one a semester, so it is hard to say.

    Tips for prospective students

    go into crafts!!

    In three sentences

    i think it is a great school for certain majors. i am in the crafts department and i love it there. the teachers a very knowledgeable and always seem to have time for your questions.

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Really Great!

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Student government Yoga Swing Dancing Movie Nights School trips (to concerts, sports games, the zoo)

    Great for these types of students

    Art students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    GEEK WEEK! we do not have greek week, instead we have geek week. This is when the departments (i.e. Photography majors, Illustration Majors) face off in competitions all week long. There are also bands on campus during lunch.

    What to do for fun

    The detroit institute of art! (you get in for free with your CCS ID) Tigers baseball games and Joe lewis Arena are nearby as well as Wayne state's campus so you can meet more people! The detroit science center, Museum of contemporary art Detroit, Detroit Historical museum, many resturants and there is almost always something going on on campus or in Midtown.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is alright, way better then in High school! There are also many resturants nearby that are really great if you choose to go off campus.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, but i've heard it's great. I have been in them and they are very nice. It's right in the middle of midtown detroit, so there are lots of things to do in a short walking distance.

    Academic Rigor

    This curriculum is tough! Prepare yourself, and get a planner, You will need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work Hard! Get involved! Don't forget to eat and sleep! Do not pull all nighters! Time managment is key here!

    In three sentences

    I've learned so much just in my first semester! Faculty and staff are wonderful and helpful as well and great teachers. Be prepared to work incredibly hard because yo can't slack off here, and the only thing that would make it better was if it wasn't so expensive!

  • 02/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    If you want greek life, look elsewhere. This school has no sports or frats/sororities, but you can join at Wayne.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive as all heck, but you get used to it.

    What to do for fun

    Make art, of course!

    Food and Dining

    One word: EXPENSIVE. It's not unusual to throw down more money for food than supplies if you have a meal plan and live in the TC.

    Dorm Life

    I love living here, but it's sort of limiting if you have no car.

    Academic Rigor

    This school will push you to your limits, make you cry, and give you existential crises on a regular basis.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider your work ethic. If you don't think you can work almost 24/7, this probably isn't the school for you.

    In three sentences

    CCS is awesome, but hard. Prepare to never have a social life. Also, be prepared to never have any money ever.

  • 09/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Being Detroit I can understand how this might be a top concern. It shouldn't. The area is actual fairly pleasant and security on campus is tight. It can take up to 6 swipes/show of your student id to get from outside to your dorm. No one is getting in that isn't supposed to. Michigan State police also keep a constant presence around the Taubman Center.

    Great for these types of students

    It maybe a small group of people but anyone wanting to go into automotive design. Their faculty is top notch and the city is amazing for cool cars.

    What to do for fun

    Detroit is a very under rated city, there is a lot to do. While the school is a good distance from downtown there is normally something going on on campus or even small trips on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    I've heard that last year the food was questionable but this year has been pretty good so far.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a very good size and while room board may be a little pricy they are worth it. Fitness, game, and work rooms are provided.

    Academic Rigor

    People here know what they're doing and know the best way to prepare you. It may not be a lot of work in the normal sense of a lot of papers but there is a lot of work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Highly consider what you get for the money. It is a little expensive but for transportation design at least, well worth it.

    In three sentences

    They have industry professionals. Even with Detroit's reputation the campus is secure and beautiful. The facilities are top notch as well.

  • 09/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun around campus and off campus that is school related. There are many creative labs at school to work at and just enjoy being around other peoples company. You learn a lot from your own experience when creating something fun for the next school project but you also get be social with your classmates. With classmates and even for assignments you can tour the City life of downtown Detroit and walk to the Detroit Institute of Arts or hang out at the interesting sites downtown woodward avenue or even tour historical places.

    Food and Dining

    I usually bring my own lunch and dinner to school but if I don't i usually head over to the dining halls. The food there is reasonably price and surprisingly good. If you want healthy food such as salad, yogurt and sandwiches they have many options you can choose from. If you're the type of person that needs caffeine for an all nighter and maybe a bag of chips just in case you get hungry they also have many options as well. Hours are convenient for everyone and it's really nice running into someone in the cafeteria and enjoying your meal with a group of people.

    Dorm Life

    Personally, I've never experienced dorm life first hand considering i live off campus but from my friends experiences they had a lot of fun. College for Creative Studies is in a great place downtown next to everything imaginable. If you want to go to the school library to study it's right across the dorm rooms and if you want to take a stroll at an art museum and catch up on history lessons it's just a block away. Everyone on campus is incredibly friendly and if you need help in any way from academics, getting a ride back to the other side of campus or trying to figure out the coolest sushi restaurant in the area people all around campus are happy to help.

    Academic Rigor

    When attending College for Creative Studies you need to make sure you understand what professors are trying to teach you. You need to ask questions when you don't understand a lecture or study and you need to learn how to have fun. Homework just like in high school will be tedious but you need to learn how to finish deadlines before there due and have fun doing the work you are assigned.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students is that you have to make sure you're passionate about what your doing as well making deadlines meet. When doing work that is specifically art related i feel that in order for you to achieve great success you have to enjoy it. You need to make sure your having fun while meeting homework requirements and projects but also need to have a set pace to understand that projects assigned, just like in the job world, have to be completed before the deadline.

    In three sentences

    College for Creative Studies is a school where everyone can learn to have fun but also learn the basics and advanced levels of art. Students and professors at CCS are passionate about all types of art and are willing to expand their talent and knowledge for there future careers.

  • 10/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Students have free entry to the DIA ,which is located just across the street from the Ford Campus.

    Food and Dining

    CCS has multiple dining areas that will satisfy, including a Tim Hortons and The Grill.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm, but from what I've head they are fantastic.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging and interesting at CCS.

    Tips for prospective students

    save money. work hard.

    In three sentences

    College for Creative Studies is wonderful! The campus is beautiful and has a peaceful atmosphere. All of the faculty are helpful and wise, truly one of the best art schools there are.

  • 12/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always a movie night going on at the T.C and there are ping-pong tables and pool tables on both campuses. During the warmer seasons most students are playing soccer or volleyball. You also have art supplies all over so you can always work on a personal project if you want.

    Food and Dining

    There are multiple places you can get food on the campus and because of the location there are restaurants all around. The T.C has a Tim Hortons on the ground floor of the building and a lunchroom on the second floor. The food in the lunch room is okay but its not the best. The Tim hortins is also combined with a Sedexo Grill which is on both campuses, and the same could be said about their food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is good, all the students are really kind and you won't have any problem making friends. There are two different types of dorms, the A.C.B and the T.C. They both have their advantages, the A.C.B is an apartment style building with multiple bedrooms and some have two bathrooms, and they have a living room and a dining room. The biggest thing is that the A.C.B has is its kitchen, so you can cook. The only thing is that it is an older building and doesn't have air conditioning. The T.C is a hotel style dorm, so it's one big square with multiple beds and one bathroom. The sinks are outside the bathroom, and is air conditioning because it is a newer building. There is no cooking in the T.C though besides microwave food. Both dorms have a gym, but the T.C has common rooms for people to work and hang out.

    Academic Rigor

    This will make you a good artist. You will be working with kids who have the same passion as you, and that creates friendly competition and you always strive to be better than each other. The teachers will challenge you also, they have a standard and that standard is usually high. They will push you to your limits. There are also class critics, and after a few weeks into first semester students don't pull punches, so don't take them personally.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come to this school expecting not to do work, this school will keep you working. Make sure you are good at time management or else you're going to be losing a lot of sleep trying to get your work done.

    In three sentences

    Ccs is a very challenging school and you get a bang for your buck. The teachers are very passionate and so are the students. This school is really pricy though so make sure this is what you really want to do.

  • 01/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I'm a very picky eater, and I'm just not a fan of their food.

    Dorm Life

    So far, I have been a commuter. I live at home and drive to school every morning. I've heard from students that live in the dorms, that they are pretty nice!

    Academic Rigor

    Yes, College for Creative Studies is a little tough and they really push you hard, but it has made me a better artist and I'm thankful for that!

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn as much as you can while you are there! Don't think any classes are just a joke just because it doesn't go with you major, because there is a reason why there are making you take that class and it will help you out with future classes!

    In three sentences

    College for Creative Studies is a great school, because it pushes you to be the best you can be. Their classes make you a well rounded artist, which will benefit you when you go to look for a job in the future. I'm very thankful that I have had an opportunity to go to a really amazing school, because so far I've learned so much and I continue to grow!

  • 03/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is the safest campus I have ever been on, period. You need your ID to get in anywhere, and if you take a look at the security office, then you would see the wall of security camera screens and very serious security officers. The security officers at the entrance to the dorms also take the time to get to know the residents, which is nice. Sometimes it seems almost like too much, but then you remember that it's all there to help you.

    Greek Life

    Absolutely none. Zero. Zip.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs, but they're generally small. I haven't been to involved with any of them.

    Great for these types of students

    It's for people who are hard working and willing to get out and do things.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Instead of greek week, there is geek week, where there are events like finger painting, movie nights with bon fires, and a statue toss.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, it is expensive, but they bring in good opportunities and people to talk to. The classes are useful (mostly) and you learn a lot very quickly.

    What to do for fun

    There is stuff to do, but you have to go out and find it. It's Detroit, so there's always something going on. There are also a lot of random events going on around campus, like free food and things like pumpkin carving and painting. There's more going on at the beginning of the semester, and definitely more in the fall semester than in the winter.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is expensive and they have limited options, but I don't have a meal plan because I have a full kitchen so I don't feel that I need one. The people who do have a meal plan and live in the ACB aren't normally able to spend all of their meal plan, even the smallest one.

    Dorm Life

    I live in the ACB, and the building is very old (built in the '20s). A lot of stuff breaks down. I've burned myself terribly on the radiators, and there's been a lot of problems with the bathtubs and occasionally running water. Besides that, there's a lot of space and the view is amazing.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes, like the first year experience class, are fairly easy. You just have to take the time to do them. The homework takes a lot of time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work hard. There are no easy A's in the studio classes here.

    In three sentences

    A great environment for art. The people here are open to new ideas and mostly all of the teachers that I've had are great for guiding you in the direction that you need to take. You will learn A LOT here in the first few weeks even.