Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

College of Alameda Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    just started but i like to be alone so i went to the student center nextto the bookstore.

    Food and Dining

    Havent tried the food yet cause havent had the money yet.

    Dorm Life

    I dont have a dorm. Not even sure if they have them but if so totally want to join.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers really try to help you as best as they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a our through the school before you go. Find your classes. If you have a fee waiver you still have to pay for your books and $20 just to be on the campus.

    In three sentences

    this school is big. this school is informative. this school feels like a real university.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    What to do for fun

    Alameda isn't a big entertainment city but they have great restaurant.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat much from the cafeteria, but whenever I do it isn't pleasant.

    Dorm Life

    This campus does not have dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Outside of finals the academic rigor isn't too intense. I've been attending Alameda for 2 years and have yet to have a Professor that is strict beyond reason.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you keep a good line of communication with a counselor. Try to keep a open relationship with your professor, they are always willing to provide help when available.

    In three sentences

    College of alameda is a very diverse campus. The teachers ragne in age, which is great because one course can come very every perspective. The campus is very relaxing.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very nice city and not much going on I feel safe around campus even if its dark out.

    Great for these types of students

    single parents, students that want to have fun while take care of there business, part time students, students with part-time jobs, and just any student.

    Bang for the buck

    very affordable college

    What to do for fun

    college has clubs, most students are cool and willing to hangout after class or anytime, and sports.

    Food and Dining

    the college has it's own cafeteria but every kind of restaurant and food is located walking distance from the college.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    It's difficult but not impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always do your work on time and always attend every class you don't want to miss class but if you do other students are friendly and most are willing to help you out. Also have fun.

    In three sentences

    College of Alameda is a good college to attend many students from different backgrounds, ethnicity, and cultures attend this college. So you get to meet many awesome and friendly people. Most professors are also very friendly and easy to work with.

  • 02/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Alameda can be kind of fun if you know where to go. Oakland is close and can be a lot of fun.

    Food and Dining

    It can be pretty good, they have a few choices.

    Dorm Life

    none.

    Academic Rigor

    If you study and do the work, can be easy-ish.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start early and don't give up.

    In three sentences

    A very simple community college, part of three other colleges. Can be fun, events happen pretty often. Some really nice and good teachers here.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sheriff is always around.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs or work in study groups.

    Food and Dining

    The food trucks are nice that comes to the campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Material is up to date. The teachers are here to help you when you ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come ready to work hard and be on time. Do not wait to late to turn in assignments. You can not fail if you do not quit.

    In three sentences

    This is a great fit, they hold you up to high standards. Everyone is not rushed to learn the material at a fast pace. We meet with at least one councilor a month.

  • 12/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many people go hangout around the college at Starbucks, but some just sit in the Student Lounge, to chat and chill with each other.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining around College of Alameda, is very diverse there are multiple restaurants around College of Alameda, and you also have Chinatown just past the estuary.

    Dorm Life

    NO DORMS

    Academic Rigor

    This depends on, the classes that you have enrolled in every semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Study Hard 2) Get a straight 4.0 or higher 3) NEVER SLACK OFF

    In three sentences

    College of Alameda is a very, diverse school, that allows all types of people to enroll. They also help those students, who might not be as smart, to be able to transfer, to a higher and possibly Ivy League college. For me, College of Alameda, is the community college which is helping me get all of my GE credits to possibly transfer to Stanford University while partaking in my Masters in Biotechnology.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are often police in the college. I have not seen a fight in the college yet and this is my second year here.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing much to do in campus except for the library or student center to go on your computer or phone. I would just go get food around the college for fun when i'm on break.

    Food and Dining

    There are some food trucks inside the campus sometimes. The cafeteria used to serve food, but it closed down for some reason. Fast food are near the campus so you won't starve.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm here. Commuting is convenient because there are multiple bus that takes you to the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are really helpful. As long as you do all your assignments, tests should be fine. Students should review syllabus to see if they are meant for the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll for class early or all classes will be full. If the class you want to enroll in is wait listed or full, still attend class the first day and you might have a chance to be added to the class.

    In three sentences

    The campus is not that big, but very clean and convenient. It is located next to a lot of fast food areas so it is easy to get lunch. Professors and students are helpful and friendly.

  • 02/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Alameda is a city that is known for its safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    Students would be better off joining a club in the university they are planning to transfer into unless they are passionate about being in a club.

    Great for these types of students

    This college will be ideal for you if you are looking to save money, decide on a major, or just to take some classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Community colleges are meant for students that want to save money.

    Food and Dining

    There are food vendors on campus. I personally have not tried any of the food but the lines indicate that the food must at least be decent.

    Dorm Life

    As this is a community college, I do not think there are dorms. (I may be wrong but I am almost certain there are no dorms.)

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on your professor but generally the classes are easier than the four-year universities. For most classes, you can do well as long as you attend class, pay attention to the lectures, and take good notes. If you want to do well in the university you plan to transfer to, I would advise taking the more difficult teachers because they will prepare you for the rigorous academic level that is associated with the four-year universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the school library! It is very helpful to use the available resources (such as the math lab and writing center) on the second floor.

    In three sentences

    College of Alameda is a decent school. I would recommend this school if you are uncertain about your future (such as your future career) and if you are looking to save money. The school library is the best part of the school.