Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

College of Central Florida Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any health care professions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always look for study groups at the library and in your classes. CFCC always has monthly activities in the courtyard that provides free food and a way for college students to meet. CFCC helps students when they need it, whether it be financial aid or just someone to talk to.

  • 01/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Attend all your classes on time

    In three sentences

    Though the college is in a small city, its a great school to attend if you would like to expand your horizons. The campus is beautiful, and the academic staff is amazing. Its a great institution to be apart of if your not ready for the university life.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 73

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get involved in activites and clubs at the school. I also enjoy volunteering.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research your classes and teachers and find what and who you think best suites you.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy going to school here. The professors are helpful. Although I have not used it, the math lab and tutoring is free and is a great tool for those that needs extra help in math.

  • 01/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good safety patrol staff; vigilant and experienced

    Clubs and Activities

    Loads and loads and loads of activies!

    Great for these types of students

    Low-income/working through school? Come here.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of extracurricular clubs and activities. Take advantage of them, they look good on transcripts!

    Academic Rigor

    It's not extremely difficult, it varies from professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do well in High School! High School is one giant, four-year decision about your future, so make it a good one!

    In three sentences

    This is a community college. It is not only good for saving money, it is a great stepping stone.

  • 04/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security cars driving through the parking lots during the day and night classes. The attendants in the security office are very nice and helpful. There are also call button posts located around the campus in case of an emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    Some of the clubs that organize the events around campus include the Student Ambassador Board (SAB) and The Ambassadors. These students are the ones that make sure there are activities around campus that allow for all students to attend. African American Student Union (AASU) is a club that brings minority awareness and allows guest speakers on campus to bring about this awareness as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Most students have never heard of Set Friday at the College of Central Florida. This is where certain clubs set up an event that includes music, dancing, food, and games. It is held behind the gym and because most students do not have school friday they are not aware of the event.

    What to do for fun

    Almost every week there are events that occur during activity hour. This allows students to get to know the clubs around campus as well as the people. They have intramural sports, which are very fun to cheer on the sidelines too or even meet the athletes around campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food they serve in the cafeteria actually exceeded my expectations. It is much better than the food I have been offered at my previous schools. They have a lot of variety and serve all three meal courses throughout the day.

    Dorm Life

    I am not currently living in a dorm. I know people that do live in dorms because they wanted a restricted environment. They recommend living in one because they could still focus on their schooling and not get lost in the party life that college can offer.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the degree you are looking to obtain. At a community college you are basically taking your essential classes that every student is required to take. However, some classes that relate to your major can be a little more difficult because they are specific curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend a student to get involved in their school even if it is a community college or a university. It helps them feel more included in their school's activities, which in turn will aid their networking skills. Also, they will find peers that they can relate too and will create even more friendships than they had before.

    In three sentences

    My reasoning for choosing to attend a community college first was because I still desired to belong to a smaller school where I was not just a number. I am pleased with my choice because I walk around campus and feel like I belong. I can inquire for help or even say a simple hello to a faculty member because they remember me.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is constantly patrolled by the campus police department and it is open and well lit in the evening. If students drive, there is ample parking near each of the buildings so no one has to walk in darkened or distant areas which might be dangerous.

    Clubs and Activities

    CF has a wide variety of both academic and cultural clubs on campus and has several opportunities during the year for all students to view them at noon functions in the mall. Each club has an area to present themselves and many serve refreshments. CF has drama and musical productions which are free for current students. There is also a sports program which students are invited to be either participants or fans that includes swimming, baseball, basketball and other team sports.

    Great for these types of students

    CF attracts a wide range of ethnic students as well as a wide range of ages. In addition to the traditional students who just graduated from high school, CF has many older students returning to further their education or to change fields altogether. In addition to the credit classes, CF has a program for seniors with very low cost fees.

    Bang for the buck

    CF has one of the lowest tuition fees in Florida and combined with the cost of living in Ocala, provides an exceptional opportunity for a good education at an overall bargain price.

    What to do for fun

    Ocala has a lot of local flavor with activities centered on the downtown square (Light Up Ocala in December with a ferris wheel, plays, concerts, etc.) and many cultural events on the campus. Silver Springs with their glass bottom boats, and Wild Waters with the water slides and pools, as well as the Gulf Beaches, Crystal River's manatees, and numerous caves for cave diving are all nearby. Orlando, with it's many tourist attractions is an hour away. The Ocala National Forest and the Greenway trails (miles of horse, walking, and biking trails) are available and many are free. There are clubs that cater to all musical tastes and ages and small family owned restaurants and businesses to satisfy any palate.

    Food and Dining

    CF has a student center cafeteria with free WIFI and a convenient coffee shop, similar to a Starbucks, next to it. There is a small but varied selection of hot and cold meals and snacks very reasonably priced with daily specials. Free flavored coffee on test days and a friendly staff make both the coffee shop and cafeteria popular destinations for students and faculty. There are also numerous restaurants nearby featuring seafood, steak, sushi, Indian, and fast food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are across the street from the campus and are 2 story apartments. Students don't need a car to attend class and the mall is on the opposite side of the campus, so it's in walking distance.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the subjects and professors, the classes cover the same materials as many of the large universities in Florida. Professors expect students to check online for assignments and tests and be prepared for class. Students can be challenged as much as they desire and professors are rated by former students so there are no surprises.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ocala has a very laid back lifestyle with a low cost of living, so it's a great place for students. The traffic is minimal compared to many college towns, and the campus is centrally located within an hour or two of the Gulf of Mexico, Orlando's and Tampa's attractions and concerts, and lots of parks and museums.

    In three sentences

    A small campus with a caring faculty and staff always ready to help, College of Central Florida is a place for new students to make friends and feel at home. With a newly acquired 4 year degree program, students can now stay in Ocala for their entire college experience. CF also has many medical and technical programs geared toward securing a financial future with your 2 or 4 year degree.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The College of Central Florida hires patrol personnel day and night. In fact, the college even has its own security office right on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Ocala's diverse population results in variety in the activities offered by the College of Central Florida. Whether it be a foreign language club, a volunteer organization, or a leadership program, the College of Central Florida has it all.

    Great for these types of students

    The College of Central Florida is a great option for any student that wants to be involved while obtaining an education. This college makes education its primary function, but facilitates community involvement and work opportunities in every way that it can.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This may not be unusual considering it is a college, but the line for class registration begins forming at about 3 AM. That says something about the motivation of the students and the value of an education at the College of Central Florida.

    Bang for the buck

    Whether or not it's worth it depends on the program of study. The College of Central Florida's Nursing program is one of the best, and worth every extra dollar. The programs that aren't as well known, however, go unnoticed. The support offered by the staff and instructors do add to it's value though.

    What to do for fun

    The College of Central Florida is located off of State Road 200 and near I-75. Its location makes it easy to find fun things to do, such as go to the mall across the street, catch a flick at the movie theater a few blocks away, or have some fun with friends at the bowling alley.

    Food and Dining

    Most cafeteria food is horrible, but the food served at the College of Central Florida is certainly above average.

    Dorm Life

    The College of Central Florida is not a living campus. It does, however, own an apartment complex leased to students at the college. The living spaces are very nice and close to the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The College of Central Florida does everything it can to provide a rigorous curriculum. Many of the general education classes are oversimplified, but anything beyond that is very rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    You get out of it what you put into it. Don't plan to go to college to party or do nothing but socialize. The College of Central Florida is a place for learning, and coming with that attitude is necessary to succeed.

    In three sentences

    Generally speaking, the College of Central Florida is a great school. The campus is easy to navigate, the students give it a social atmosphere, and the staff is very helpful. The education one receives varies by degree program; the College of Central Florida has offered some of my easiest courses, but has also offered some of my most difficult.

  • 12/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see campus police. I feel safe on campus. Even when I am walking on campus at night.

    Greek Life

    I don't believe they have Greek Life. I have never seen anyone wearing Greek letters. I also don't know if we would have enough people that would join.

    Clubs and Activities

    I know there are multiple clubs on campus because I know some people that are in them. However, I have never been invited to a meeting or have the time to join one.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are independent. If you want a big campus that has students running around, and that are also the same age this is not the school for you. It definitely is more for older students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not really sure. I know there are many 5k runs on campus. For example, there was a 5k walk/run for breast cancer a couple months ago.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for. I have friends that go to more expensive schools, and they do not have as many issues as I do when it comes to looking for help. If one is determined they will do fine at this school.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs that are on campus that one can join. There is also a little area to jog. There are plenty of places that are near by that one can find, if they live near campus.

    Food and Dining

    I have never ate on campus before. I have think the food is a little expensive on campus, henve the reason I don't eat on campus. They have plenty of vending machines though.

    Dorm Life

    I really don't know because I live of campus. The dorms that I see do not seem to be that nice. I also have heard that it is cheaper to live in an apartment, rather than the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I do not think that the work is hard. I actually wish it was more difficult sometimes. The classes I have taken at this college have allowed me to have a 4.0 GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think most students would not have a hard time there. Although many of the resources have to be looked for, there are not many people that will assist you in any area from financial aid to instructors. This goes back to you get what you pay for, but many people there are very friendly.

    In three sentences

    I think the College of Central Florida is a nice college. It is great for someone that is older and returning to school. However, it is important to remember you get what you pay for, it is quit cheap to go there.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 73

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Across the road from the college is the local Paddock Mall, home to many stores with a wonderful collection for a local student's shopping.

    Food and Dining

    From what I've heard, the food is good, but I've never eaten at the cafeteria myself.

    Dorm Life

    I don't have any experience with the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The College of Central Florida is very focused on academic excellence and has many programs that center around maintaining good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    For incoming students, pay attention to due dates, because most teachers don't accept late work. Keep your work in line with a collegiate standard and always get enough sleep to be ready for morning classes.

    In three sentences

    The College of Central Florida has a wide array of majors and classes to fulfill the needs of any students. The teachers are helpful and very involved with the learning of their students. I believe any student will greatly enjoy their time at CF.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 73

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a game room for fun, they have table tennis and pool table. This is what you can do in spare time.

    Food and Dining

    Good food here, but needs more variety.

    Academic Rigor

    Education is pretty easy and straight forward. The professors are kind and helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to know about Financial Aid and the registration process.

    In three sentences

    The rating should be 4/5 because of its educational environment and helpful professors. The library is the best place in the campus. And on top of that cafeteria and cafe are the places to hangout with buddies.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never heard of anyone having problems with anything on campus. I feel completely safe there.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, SAB, and theirs more I just don't remember their names.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to learn and have fun at the same time.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are reasonably priced.

    What to do for fun

    CF has a basket ball team, performing arts, and art gallery on campus. There are always a list of events that are free and usually comes with free food. It is located here a movie theater, mall, plenty of restaurants, and other activities.

    Food and Dining

    I've never ate at the Patriot Cafe but I hear it is good food and reasonably priced.

    Dorm Life

    CF does not have dorms or any type of college on site living.

    Academic Rigor

    CF has 2 and 4 year programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you scared about entering college and are not sure where you should start CF has people on site to help you through their Trio Program called Education Opportunity Center (EOC). It is never to late to go to college and if you there is plenty of scholarships out there to help pay for college you just have to be willing to do the work in order to get them.

    In three sentences

    CF is a great college to earn 2 and 4 year degrees in a setting of small classes and wonderful professors. CF also has campuses in Marion, Levy, and Citrus Counties as well as online classes. On a scale of 1 to 10 I would give CF a 10.

  • 12/02/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Central Florida Community College is best for students that really like going to school. Its also for students that do not mind going to a school that is small in count, compared to a university and everybody is very close and friendly.

    Tips for prospective students

    When going to cfcc, students should always have an open mind and never stop asking questions.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that cfcc is worth every bit of money that students pay. even though you pay for classes, you still get a lot of opportunities for free. You do not have to pay for the tutors, gym, or activities that are offered.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is so much that I enjoy about cfcc. They have weekly activities with food, fun , and prices. They activities not only allow you to have fun, but they are very educational. Sometimes there's even activities that students are able to enjoy off campus.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers and tutors try to find any way possible to help students to pass their classes. Students can set appointments with them or do walk-ins during certain days. The books that the teachers teach with are more than helpful for the students. Most importantly, the class are not big at all, the most a class will have is about 30 students. Not only do the students get help from the teachers, tutor's and books but cfcc also provides online studying sites.

  • 10/21/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that enjoy a laid back easy going school will love this school

    Tips for prospective students

    Just come open minded and if you need help don't be afraid to ask someone, staff of student, everyone is very courteous

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are set at a very reasonable rate

    Will enjoy being here

    The atmosphere is amazing, very relaxed and comfortable

    Will learn a lot

    The Staff at the Citrus campus is so nice and caring, they helped me find my way around

  • 03/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those looking to get just a general AA degree or perhaps get an AS in just about anything. If your looking to go into nursing or any type of health care, please don't go to this school. Its a good school to use as a base to get most of your core classes and basics out of the way, but as for being specific... its not really their strong suite. Get an AA there and then head off to a UN to get your higher degrees. I know it seemings easy to just go ahead and getting a BA there, but this college has JUST started offering BA degrees and doesn't really know the ins and outs of it yet. If you really have no choice, then go ahead and give it a shot, but just from my experience, I wouldn't go any farther then sticking with CFs bread and butter that are AA and AS degrees. GO FOR IT!=)

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your finical aid and advising done WAY ahead of time. DO NOT WAIT till the month or a week before classes start, you will litteraly be there for HOURS on HOURS and you will get frustrated; because more then likely you will have to come back a second time to bring something else or bit of information the school is missing from your file.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price, you get a pretty banging education. The profs are not very stickler on attendance and allow the student to take responsibility for their own learning and education. I absolutely love that aspect. You wanna learn, you do your part.

    Am enjoying being here

    Very much so. The college atmosphere is very pleasant, clean, well kept, and open. The staff there is very nice and understanding.

    Am learning a lot

    Its a great school, the professors are SO helpful if you just ask

  • 12/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    pick ms.johnson for enc1101-enc1102 she is a fantastic teacher really helps you understand also dr.hunt for any math great teacher who will help you all the time

    Bang for the buck

    not expensive at all very reasonable and you learn allot for what you pay for

    Am enjoying being here

    nice atmosphere and everyone is really nice

    Am learning a lot

    the teachers are really nice and if you don't get what you're learning they will stay as long as it takes to help you understand

  • 12/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I don't understand this question, ha. Sorry.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always do your best. And just because you're in college where there is a lot of leniency, it doesn't mean take advantage and never come to class. I think it's just the opposite: push yourself through the temptation, which shows maturity and that your future goals are nothing to kid about.

    Bang for the buck

    For the most part, you get what you paid for. But some of my classes I don't even really have to show up to get an A in the class. So yeah..

    Am enjoying being here

    CF has a lot of great people here, and I've made some awesome friends. The teachers are also really great and seem to enjoy what they do.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm obviously here to further my education, and that's is exactly what I'm doing; learning new information to help me in my future endeavours.

  • 12/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    this is a college located in Florida that is very convenient for those students seeking a near-to-home school. The advisors are always willing to help and the school does its best to make sure the students as well as faculty are satisfied.

    Tips for prospective students

    The more classes you register this semester, the earlier you get to register for classes next semester

  • 02/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    outgoing, focused

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    basketball games

    What to do for fun

    join clubs, they are excellent ways to jain experience

    In three sentences

    very exciting. everyone will find something to do while attending. theres something for everyone.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i do have a couple of classes i go to at night, and i have not felt fearful when it becomes dark out. the campus provides a number to text to get an escort to their vehicle if a student feels threatened or scared. the campus has very low criminal incidences, and these incidences are posted at the college for all students to be aware of.

    Greek Life

    this does not apply to me.

    Clubs and Activities

    i am not part of this area yet.

    Great for these types of students

    if you are a student who loves to set goals and achieve them, then college is a definate answer for you! it provides this and much more through learning and friendships.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i have been going to cf as a dual-enrollee for a year, so i am not too aware of the campus activities that go on there. i do know that there is a group of students that gather together on certain days for a bible study each week. i have attended and participated in those meetings many times and have enjoyed that tremendously. i also have made many friends through this time. i have been to a couple of plays and sports games, where this has been a great time of fun as well!

    Bang for the buck

    i can state again that i really enjoy being part of the college life and knowing that i am graduating with my aa in december of this year leaves me speechless with joy!

    What to do for fun

    i currently enjoy outings with my family on special occasions, as well as those 'rare' special times when i can hang with my friends.

    Food and Dining

    i currently am trying to learn more about cooking through following new recipes i find on the internet. i love to cook, i just need to practice more often for improvement. i do eat out with my family when they go out for dinner, if i do not have a class or prior commitment.

    Dorm Life

    i currently live at home with my family as i am a high school senior dual-enrolling.

    Academic Rigor

    i love the college life, as stated earlier. as a current high school senior about to graduate on june 9th of 2012, i have always tried to set goals for myself and to achieve them to the best of my ability. i was enrolled in the aice program at my local high school during my freshman/sophmore years (this is an acedemic program that allows you to earn college credit in high school). my parents advised me to end the program and dual-enroll at my local college, cf. through alot of hard work and 'social life' sacrificing, i will have 40 college credit hours at the college of central florida when i graduate from my high school this june. i am continuing my classes through the summer and into the fall, in order to graduate with my aa in physical therapy during the month of december 2012! it has been a hard road going full time to college as a high school senior, but achieving some of my goals so early is thrilling and beyond description! i am continuing my education for a ba on the university level in 2013.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would encourage them to be prepared to be treated as an adult, responsible for your own commitments and goals. to be respectful of their professors and not to expect to be carried. to be in class on time as scheduled. also, not to procrastinate...that is the worst action a college student could do. it hinders your growth as a student and you reap bad grades. be prepared for hard long work, but in the end an 'a' is the best reward, worth the time and dedication for a job well done. finally, this advice is the hardest one of all. i would recommend that as a student, to put your classes above your social life as the future rewards of doing this are much greater toward achieving your goals, providing yourself a better gpa as well as fulfilling your dreams faster!

    In three sentences

    i really enjoy the college life at cf. the interaction with the professors and students have been very enlightening. i have more responsibilities and i am treated with maturity and respect.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 73

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    theres plenty of of events that go on, on campus such as music and sports event. along with that theres also plenty of activities that are go on around the local area, such as plays, the local movie theater, and social events.

    Food and Dining

    this does not apply to me because i never eat on campus, and my classes are in the afternoon.

    Dorm Life

    this does not apply to me because i live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    i am in the bachelors program and the academic rigor is very faced paced so it is very easy to fall behind. its really necessary to keep up with the work, and stay on top of the online assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you get there early if you want to get a decent parking spot. it also pays to do the surveys at the end of the semester to give your teachers feedback. many changes have happened because of these surveys. do not fall behind, they have academic centers that offer help and tutoring for students, so seek help quick.

    In three sentences

    this is my 1st semester, and i've enjoyed it so far. the classes are small, campus is clean, and teachers are readily available. there is a wide variety of programs to choose from, and carrer center to aid students in deciding what they want to go into.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 73

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is many activities to do such as recreational sports, watching theater shows from the school, and hanging with other students.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining experience is pretty convenient because the cafeteria is big and the food is great.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is a easy living and the students are nice which school is a walk away.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rating I would give this College is a four star.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to further your education and succeed, in return you have to apply yourself or you wont achieve the goals set.

    In three sentences

    In this college I like how the campus is set up. Also I enjoy the many sports activities they have. And most of all I like the good teachers that teach here in all the fields.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Areas are well-lit and there is also security that patrols the lots and they are happy to provide an escort if you have a night class.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is more affordable than larger schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register as early as you can.

    In three sentences

    Anice campus that is easy to navigate. The distance learning courses are well organized. The cafeteria has the best tater tots!

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 73

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Campus holds lots of events to keep students entertained and give away a ton of prizes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research teachers before signing up for classes.

    In three sentences

    A pretty good school. Great for getting basic classes done before transferring to a higher school or getting basic degree.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I do not consider Ocala to be a dangerous place- So I would say the security is pretty good.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a ton of clubs you can join! Which is nice!

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students who aren't ready to attend a university just yet and are fresh out of high school. It helps students get from high school into college easily without a huge change.

    Bang for the buck

    For what you pay to attend here, you get your moneys worth. It is a cheap college that will definitely help you save money.

    Food and Dining

    I was not impressed by the food offered at College of Central Florida.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live on campus, I lived with my parents who are less than 15 minutes away from the college. Therefore, I cannot answer that.

    Academic Rigor

    Again, I was not personally challenged enough here. I am currently enrolled in seven summer courses (which are minimesters) And do not feel stressed in the least!

    Tips for prospective students

    Challenge yourself and make yourself do the work even if you know the professor won't check or inspect it! You will learn more that way!

    In three sentences

    I would rate the College of Central Florida with a 7 out of a possible 10 points. I found that most of my professors were extremely kind and knowledgeable; however, I did not personally feel challenged enough in my academics.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Despite people having personal property such as unattended items taken, the patrols keep an eye on the parking lots and there are the call stations as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    African American Student Union, Gay-Straight Alliance, Spanish Club, Religion, Politics, Stress Busters, Health Fair, Art Gallery, Guest Speaker Series....

    Great for these types of students

    I see a lot of medical students walking around in scrubs so thats probably our largest program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The parking lot by the campus bookstore I tend to stay away from given the inexperienced driving of fellow CF students. And 12:20-12:30pm could probably be the riskier time to drive off campus for lunch due to the busy time of day.

    Bang for the buck

    CF has been undergoing a lot of renovations and it can be seen from structures like the Enterprise center and the Fine Arts auditorium that the school is very well taken care of. If you choose your classes wisely you will definitley get more bang for your buck during your educational experience at CF.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club/see a show at the fine arts center. Students get in for free at athletic events as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. The cafeteria workers are kind most of the time and the dining places are very clean.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home, but if the living conditions were terrible I would have overheard something negative about the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Given that CF is a state college we do not have too many professors that put themselves on pedestals. The majority do not want to see you fail, and will notice if you are not putting in an effort. We have many learning resource laboratories for those having difficulties in math, foreign language, computers and so on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of getting to know your professors and classmates better. Such as taking advantage of office hours and maybe establishing study groups. Get involved also, there is the feeling that once you're in college joining clubs or intramurals are a waste of time, but in reality they can only enrich your experience. Also the guest speaker series are great if you do not limit your learning experience to the classroom. Of course, study, study, study: the library is an excellent place for that.

    In three sentences

    What I love most about CF is that the student body is diverse compared to a 4-year university where the average age is early twenties or late teens. It is not an intimidating community, and most of my professors are easy going as far as communicating with students in the classroom and during their office hours.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With one of the most responsive safety departments I've seen since attending college, the campus safety is more than capable of keeping students' property safe and secure.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs offered for students with varying tastes around campus. The interests of people attending the college are catered to from the many options given from the differing clubs and groups.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes offered are very inexpensive and are all accredited so transferring the credits are a breeze.

    What to do for fun

    Whether you are into sports, dancing, or just spending your free time leisurely, there is much to do around town. From day time events like gathering at the student lounge and congregating with friends to evening events like attending movie theatres, the various activities to partake in are limitless.

    Food and Dining

    The college's cafeteria offers a variety of fine meals daily and the dining area is filled with students almost every day. The dining areas around town are relatively close to the school as well and all are wonderful locations for socializing satisfying appetites.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms available at the student complex are inhabited by a diverse and outgoing group of people. We all get along greatly and every student is there to offer help to others whenever it is needed.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses given are essential towards earning the respective degrees offered at the college. The workload is demanding, but not so much that the possibility of completing it all is unrealistic.

    Tips for prospective students

    For any prospective student, I would implore them to have an idea of what they want to major in prior to enrolling. Another piece of advice for students wishing to attend college is to try their best to pass all of their freshman courses with at least an A or B grade, that way they will be able to have a sturdy base in their GPA just in case they run into complications with their classes later on.

    In three sentences

    The College of Central Florida is an exemplary establishment for people looking to better themselves scholastically. After completion of my studies I will be thankful that this school helped motivate me to strive to attain something more in life. This institution is ideal for any prospective student looking to pursue higher education.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security everywhere you go.

    What to do for fun

    Study

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Not in dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Not much homework however studying will become your life like any other college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Follow the rules and you will be fine.

    In three sentences

    Amazing College, where they make it easy to learn and accomplish the career goals a person may have.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 73

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The school seems very nice, and everyone here has been very quick to help me with my enrollment. Other than this I do not know it well enough yet.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe, but I never see anyone patroling, unless they are trying to give you a parking ticket.

    Greek Life

    Loud

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a number of sports. There is a gym and an pool.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student willing to learn, who isn't there to hang out or hook up, and has a brain.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Define unusual

    Bang for the buck

    It is a good place to start for your core classes before transfering to a university.

    What to do for fun

    In Ocala there is the square downtown where there is live music and other events that are planned. Plus. Gainesville is not too far of a drive.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria has a lot of room, but there are also restaraunts close by.

    Dorm Life

    I'd rather live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Attendance is usually taken and with certain classes if you miss more than 3 days, you don't get financial aid.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is nice to have a map and find your classes before your first day. Make sure you have your professor's email just in case you have questions.

    In three sentences

    The teachers have all been great and knowledgable. The campus is clean. There are students of all ages.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 73

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school has a game room in the cafeteria and also varies clubs for one's interest.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good for a 2 year college.

    Dorm Life

    Its non-existent. The apartments offered are rip-offs

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor at this school is what you make it. If you plan to go into any science class some are easy and some are college level. Chose your instructor wisely. Sometimes the easiest instructor is a detriment to your academic progress. Be very careful with certain Spainish language or Physics instructors because other facilities have better instructors.

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to be your own guidence counselor as most of the guidence here is non-existent. If you are majoring in any health/science related major then I suggest you register the first say because most fill up quickly within the hour.

    In three sentences

    Good school for entering the work force. If you are a serious college then I suggest you use this school as a transition to a University. The Bachelor's degree offered here are only specific to the industries around the small town.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 73

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have a game room with a pool table, tv, and table pong table.

    Food and Dining

    The store sells a few food items but other than that there is not realy too much to eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging and a good test of your knowledge but not to hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read Reviews on teachers and sign up early to get classes and teachers that you want.

    In three sentences

    The Campus I go to could use a little bit more as far as whats on campus to do. Other than that the college is pretty nice and has many wonderful teachers.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 73

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Students are less than a mile away from the mall, the movie theater, and a fun center.

    Food and Dining

    The Student Union staff are all very kind and generous while taking and fulfilling your order.

    Dorm Life

    I live with my mother, so I wouldn't know what dorm life is like.

    Academic Rigor

    There a courses available to students accepted into the Community of Scholars Honor Program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are ready to learn and succeed.

    In three sentences

    CCF is a great college not because I attend it, but because the staff are all understandable and are willing to work with you in order to succeed. Not only that, but you'll be able to become familiar with all of your colleagues and maybe even create friendships with them. CCF also gives you the opportunity to walk down any career path you choose.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    33 of 73

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I haven't been here long enough to know for sure!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your financial aide business done early, then everything is taken care of or your going to be too late. It takes a while for them to set everything up for you.

    In three sentences

    So far I've had great experiences with this school. It's in a perfect town for the equine programs. I cannot wait to get started!!!!!

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    34 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you have things in order to turn in, and be prepared just in case CF loses some of your information.

    In three sentences

    It's a good school to get your general education done with. They do not offer many degrees that are varied here, so go for a Libral Arts degree to transfer quickly. Also, you need to pressure the Guidance Department for your paperwork - they are very slow.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe, even at night there are many lights on campus, and patrolling officers. many emergency phones too.

    Clubs and Activities

    we have some but I don't find any very compelling.

    Bang for the buck

    cheap classes, not hard, you get the credits

    What to do for fun

    Bring stuff from home, hang out at the dorms, or go to a nearby place like the mall.

    Food and Dining

    I only use vending machines lol but the cafe and cafeteria have a wide selection.

    Dorm Life

    I have not seen any of the dorms myself but I know people who live in them and they don't seem bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research potential teachers before you register for any class.

    In three sentences

    College of Central Florida, formerly CFCC, is a school that is not very expensive.The campus, students, and staff are nice people and eager to help. Classes aren't very hard either.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think that it is comparatively safe, but people should not go out alone at night. Also, recently, a car accident happened at the street near college even though the street was not so crowded and is the straight line. Therefore, all of us have to care for the safety in every moment.

    Great for these types of students

    I think that this college is good for students who are talkative, friendly, and positive.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not see any unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Actually, I am not sure how it is worthwhile for me to stay in this college and study abroad because I have not graduated the college yet.I believe that he value of the college life will be judged after graduating.

    What to do for fun

    In my college, there are many international students, so I enjoy talking with them. Also, during the vacation, I and my friends went Orlando or other cities near Ocala.

    Food and Dining

    We do not have any meal plan, so we have to prepare the meal by ourselves. Personally,I am happy to cook dinner by myself because I like cooking, but if you do not like cooking, you can get foods around the dorm,

    Dorm Life

    It is comfortable because we can have an individual room. On the other hand, I think that it depends on the roommates whether we can have nice life in the dorm. My ex-roommates were almost always noisy and messed up the kitchen, so it was very stressful for me.

    Academic Rigor

    Actually, it depends on the professor. One professor is very rigid of punctuality, but the other even do not take attendance. Some professor give extra credits for us, so you should check the information on RateMyProfessor.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is very important for students to focus on every assignment and class. I strongly feel that all of homework and classes connects for my future, which means GPA, one of the most important data for us.

    In three sentences

    I think that this college is very good for concentrating on studying because this college is located in the suburb area. However, I think that the tuition for international students is a little bit expensive.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a few security guards here and there, but nothing special.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs, and always things to do. You will never find yourself bored at CF.

    Great for these types of students

    Lots of sports and activities for those who want to keep occupied.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I like to sit anther the bell tower and study every afternoon before class.

    Bang for the buck

    School books are a little over prices, but tuition is reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    Their is tons of clubs, and activities to do here. I personally enjoy the Honor Society club.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is a pretty wide selection. Better than high school food.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't personally lived in a dorm at CF.

    Academic Rigor

    Expected standards are met.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always get your stuff in on time, don't procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    The College of Central Florida is a great school who has a great staff and who takes good care of their students. If you have any problems, they quickly respond to help your aid. They also have a great financial aid team.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 73

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus have activity at least once a month for fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be nervous to ask for help. If you need tutoring then go to the library for a tutor

    In three sentences

    I think the college is great. Everyone is friendly and are helpful. There is a lot of things you can do when you are not in class.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    39 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every time I'm on campus, there are at least four security personnel that I see right away. And they are all friendly. I really do feel safe there.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are monetarily un-endowed. Students with a passion for what they want to do. Students who want a good college experience without TONS of other students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask help from as many people as possible, especially if CF is your first college. The process is fairly simple, but it can be very intimidating.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has numerous alert callers that call authorities to your exact location on the campus. These are spread all through out the campus and can be seen easily. Let alone many authorities do their job in supervising the campus while roaming in golf carts. I can say I doubt anything will happen to a student here.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately I am not in the Greek life area of my school, or have seen much of it.

    Clubs and Activities

    The S.A.B (Student association board) are an excellent club really getting students involved with the school and showing off many clubs. Unfortunately the other clubs are not entirely doing there part in attracting new members themselves.

    Great for these types of students

    Any students hoping to attend for two years to transfer after obtaining an Associates degree, great for new high school graduates, and anyone hoping to come back into the school system after being out for many years.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    So far, I have yet to see anything unique to CF only.

    Bang for the buck

    The school's class fees are extremely cheap to in-state students. exceptional way to avoid large dues of a University.

    What to do for fun

    If your bored, there is a gymnasium, tennis courts, swimming pool, basketball courts all free to cf students. And near the cafeteria there is a student lounge where on may play pool, pong, or chat with friends. The Student Association Board throw many school events and invite anyone to the fun!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is cheap, well made and not a problem to anyone but the picky. There is a cafe within the cafeteria also, both the cafe and cafeteria hold a clean environment. If students do not approve of the food then they have a broad selection of restaurants around the school campus, and a mall with a food court just a street away from the school.

    Dorm Life

    The College Apartment dorms house up to four students, contain a kitchen, two bathrooms, and a living room as well as a small pool for any of the students attending the dorm. Now there are many students who leave their doors open, and frequent parties are thrown. Sometimes dorm-mates are not very cleanly. Luckily students have some power in selecting their roommates and can avoid many of the stated problems above.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes does not really prove challenging as long as one is able to accomplish a little bit of studying and outside work. I will admit, it is easier than high school if you properly manage your time and accomplish some outside of school work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Future students should know that this school may not have the broadest variety of majors to study, but its selection is Not limited. The school does is not costly, and is usually just used to obtain a few core classes to avoid expensive classes from a university.

    In three sentences

    I believe the campus is easy to navigate, as it only takes most freshman a week and a half. There are numerous student events that retain many students, staff and faculty to get involved with the school. The school has an open schedule plan too, CF is remarkable for new-comers.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are patrols that constantly keep watch on our parking lots and we have emergency boxes throughout campus. Our safety officers are kind and quick to respond and are overall pleasant to deal with. I have never felt unsafe while on campus.

    Greek Life

    Not part of Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Have not joined any clubs / participated in extracurricular activities.

    Great for these types of students

    CF is great for students who want to get their A.A. while staying in their home town that still want a quality education. It is a perfect introduction to college life and eases the transition into a 4 year degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing too unusual really. We have a small fire station on campus, but that's about it.

    Bang for the buck

    Before I went to CF, I attended UCF for about 2 years. The classes were huge and I was often left confused after a class and overall disappointed with the level of education I was receiving. I ended up doing poorly despite my high grades in high school. Upon transferring to CF, I adjusted to the much smaller classes and more visible and accessible teachers. I made Dean's list my first semester there and enjoyed school much more.

    What to do for fun

    The library has private group rooms that you can borrow to study or do other things in. There are also computer labs of sorts that students can go in and use, too.

    Food and Dining

    I have eaten at the cafeteria here a few times (as well as visited the cafe for a coffee) and was overall kind of disappointed. It wasn't necessarily bad, but I have eaten better things at school.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, so I cannot provide a sufficient answer.

    Academic Rigor

    There can be a lot of work at times, it all depends on how it is broken down. As an undergrad, your teachers for your A.A. classes will generally cut you a break and be more empathetic than other teacher's. Overall it is not that bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never hesitate to ask for help. There is a lot of advisement readily available for those who need it both academically and otherwise. CF provides a lot of tutoring programs to help students succeed with their studies.

    In three sentences

    Although the recent addition of being able to receive a bachelor's degree through CF is wonderful, the teachers themselves are outstanding. They are qualified, professional, and care about their students. It is definitely a viable choice for secondary education in the central Florida area.

  • 10/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 73

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have a variety of clubs and activities for student life, and it is located in the center of everything.

    In three sentences

    College of Central Florida is clean and nice to look at. The instructors and staff are very helpful, especially eadvise! They return your calls promptly and do everything to assist you and make your college experience interesting.

  • 10/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The fraternities and sororities are named after the Greek Alphabet if thats what you consider Greek life.

    Great for these types of students

    Pretty much any student will like the school.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to join from.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, but I've heard good things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, do the work, and keep on trying. Don't falter and count yourself out early or it will come back and bite you in the rear.

    In three sentences

    College of Central Florida is very simplistic and traditional. They are very eager to help students succeed and better themselves. They are very helpful in attaining success.

  • 10/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Protected well by campus security

    What to do for fun

    There is a small game room next to the cafeteria and a gym on campus.

    Food and Dining

    What little I have had is good.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in any dorms on campus. Apartments and houses available just off school grounds.

    Academic Rigor

    All class rigors are up to par.

    In three sentences

    The college is a fun and well maintained school. I have enjoyed most all of the classes I have attended. It is laid out very well and makes it easy to find everything.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Spirit Splash, a homecoming event. There is a big reflection pond in front of the library that students are only allowed to go in it once a year. It's always so hot on central Florida campus that people are always wanting to go in, but we can only do it once a year!

    Bang for the buck

    I am so please to go to UCF because even though it is a very young university, it has all the classic amenities that a college should have. Football games, clubs, nightlife, and many opportunities to get involved.

    What to do for fun

    Join a sports team, a club, or just exercise in general. The recreation and wellness center is always fun. They have free exercise classes like spinning and yoga, and there is a giant rock climbing wall too!

    Food and Dining

    Lots of good options, you will be able to find what you want to eat while on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I did not stay in the dorms at all, but now I really wish I had.

    Academic Rigor

    I honestly love what I am studying, which may trick my brain into thinking it is easy, but I do work hard!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved!!! Even if it is just participating with the table people by the student union, go talk to people. This school is very large, and if you don't know people here it is easy to get lost in the mix. My main suggestion is stay in the dorms first year, it really is the best way to meet people.

    In three sentences

    Even though the school is huge, once you are settled in your major, the classes have a very personal atmosphere. I have been able to personally connect with my education professors and in doing so they make me feel comfortable and confident while setting me up to work out in the field for the first time. There are many great opportunities to get involved here, it is almost overwhelming!

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 73

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Students get in for free to a lot of the activities and concerts on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are a lot of oppertuities to interact with other students and even the teachers outside the classrooms.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school to attend if you are looking for a local college. The staff and students are friendly. There are also lots of opertunities to interact with other students outside the classrooms on campus.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    47 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa - a shoe in for universities around the country

    Great for these types of students

    First Time Students. Great for students who want a smaller environment. Great for the working student.

    Bang for the buck

    Go there if you can; it is affordable and you get many professors who have attended and taught at Florida State and UF; so you get a great deal too. Don't complain unless you have a solution once you get there. Don't stay near campus, there are affordable places which are more appealing.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs on campus OEC in Ocala Tons of nature things; the Nature Coast is so close and so is Rainbow Springs in Dunnellon.

    Food and Dining

    Let's admit it....it is hot, it is edible but there is alot that could be done on both campuses in the food department.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes, with the 'good' professors are going to make you work for it. Don't go with the 'easy' ones; you'll just have to pay the price later when you struggle in that next class. Jim Roe is priceless when helping the non math student, 'get' math. Mr. Temple at the Lecanto class is a great Comp teacher that will give you the gift of writing for all those other writing classes!

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Be friendly to everyone! Networking is the key when the work gets tough. 2. It isn't the MOST intelligent people who do well in college, it is those with the tenacity to stick with it and find solutions to learn and achieve in class. 3. Observe. When in the Financial Aid office or Admissions, Counseling....connect with positive people who have a heart to help you navigate through the campus with the least stress. They usually will get you in contact with a string of people who will help you reach your goals!

    In three sentences

    The College of Central Florida have the best professors; professional and caring to raise the educational bar and helping their students to achieve and succeed. Their Financial Aid department at the Lecanto location go out of their way to simplify and help students navigate the financial choices to make their academic goals possible. Continually raising the bar, CFC has become a good first stop in getting that first degree and planning success at universities around Florida and the country.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Outstanding they do their job well

    Clubs and Activities

    Spin class or the cross fit

    Great for these types of students

    It's pretty much greatness for any student who makes it that way

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The cafeteria is the hang out spot

    Bang for the buck

    The book store has great deals

    What to do for fun

    Attended the school events

    Food and Dining

    Reasonable pricing, and it is pretty good

    Dorm Life

    Sociable

    Academic Rigor

    Outstanding, the instructors are dedicated to their students

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay positive, and seek help if needed

    In three sentences

    The college is a wonderful place. It allows for safe social interaction as well as great entertainment from our art majors. Furthermore, the staff will do all they can do to help you succeed

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 73

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    In our neck of the woods its hunting, fishing, and being on the river!

    Food and Dining

    This is Chiefland, we have lots of Barbeque!

    Dorm Life

    N./A

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are exciting and the professors are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are wanting the benefits of a large school, but want to stay close to your rural roots, this is the place to start. Can get your two and four year degrees with lots of classes located at our hometown campus.

    In three sentences

    I attend the small Levy Center Campus of the college. It is a great experience to be able to continue my education and stay close to my rural home. Excited that graduation is just a year away!

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 73

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to theater

    Food and Dining

    Dont have meal in cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    i feel bored

    Academic Rigor

    have to go ratemyprofessor.com to check

    Tips for prospective students

    Always return the book on time and check the calendar

    In three sentences

    this is a good college in FL. CFCC is not located in the city and there are not much entertainment

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 73

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    At College of Central Florida, you can join a sports team. Or there are inter-mural sports. They also have a wide variety of clubs you can join.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is pretty good for a community college. They have pizza, subs, pasta and salads. They have a lot more and they also have microwaves so if you want to heat something from home, you are welcome to do so.

    Dorm Life

    College of Central Florida doesn't have any dorms but they do have apartments right next to it. You can live in those apartments and go to school really easily. The apartments are costly and unless you are an out of state student then I don't recommend living in the apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors are monotone and give out a lot of work. Other professors don't really care about you, as long as you do your work. Then most of the teachers care about you and your grades and teach really well.

    Tips for prospective students

    College of Central Florida is a small school so you won't worry about getting lost. They have nice teachers and awesome events around the different semesters. It also has small classrooms so you won't have to worry about the professor never getting to talk to you.

    In three sentences

    College of Central Florida is a community college. If you want something close to home and a small campus, College of Central Florida is the place for you. I think it is an awesome place.

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards patrol the campus regularly, and there are security posts around the entire campus.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a low income to upper middle class, and/or a first time college student, then CF is the place for you. With such an affordable education, helpful and friendly staff, and not to mention small class sizes, CF is the best possible choice.

    Bang for the buck

    CF has, by far, the most affordable education out there. With classes ranging from 315$-400$, and almost all classes being transferable, you cannot get that kind of affordable education anywhere else.

    What to do for fun

    The student lounge is a great place to relax between class. The lounge has a pool table, two tv's, a ping pong table, and vending machines.

    Food and Dining

    There is not a cafeteria on the Lecanto campus that i am aware of.

    Dorm Life

    Although there are no dorms on the premises, the students and faculty are very friendly and will assist you.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are there to help you but some may be strict. Most of them are willing to work with you if you happen to be struggling. Due to the small class sizes, the teachers are more prone to giving students one on one aid.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in contact with the personal advisers for both academics and student aid. They are there to help you with any problem, and will point you in the right direction while being alongside you every step of the way. The class sizes are small, so do not be worried about being cramped or neglected. The teachers will work with you if you are having trouble in their class.

    In three sentences

    The College of Central Florida has honestly helped me beyond belief. Ranging from my student grants, to helping me with studying, to setting me up for success. I encourage anyone who is looking for one of the best community colleges in Florida to attend the College of Central Florida.

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 73

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I love to play basketball. I love to play football.

    Food and Dining

    I ate here one time and been going bck everyday since.The food is awsome.

    Dorm Life

    I dont stay in the dorm but I know it is awsome because I have a few friends that stay in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    This school get 5 stars. It is perfect.

    Tips for prospective students

    I feel that students should attend the school, because the staff here care that you suceed.

    In three sentences

    I really love this school. The instutors are great! The support team is awsome!

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are always seen

    Bang for the buck

    It is very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    I go to the sister college in Homosassa,it is not as big as Ocala

    Food and Dining

    typical vendor foods

    Academic Rigor

    easy

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll early

    In three sentences

    I believe CF is a great college. It is convenient and affordable. The professors are awesome.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 73

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are usually events that host and they are quite fun. I enjoy playing tennis on the courts as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is actually quite good.

    Dorm Life

    I don't go to the dorms but I have not heard any complaints.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a very fair school, there is not much of a double standard, especially with assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take head of the syllabus.

    In three sentences

    My college is small but really warm and has a nice learning environment. It's teachers are prepared to help you and through great lengths to assist you in your journey of learning. It is one of the best places to start.

  • 04/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The pricing for classes and books are excellent, you won't find better!

    What to do for fun

    There is always an exciting event on campus. You will find many community services opportunities to participate in such as the Breast Cancer 5K walk, the March of Dimes Walk, Domestic Violence Walk, and much more. We have

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, again get involved. I have participated in five different clubs on campus, all included financial and academic aid, which lead to my great success here.

    In three sentences

    College of Central Florida is the BEST choice! There is so much diversity, oppurtunity in all areas both in class and out. If you're looking for a two year school to attend for your A.A. or A.S. this is the place to be, and the pricing is EXCELLENT!

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On the walkways to buildings there are poles with phones so that if something bad happens you can call campus safety. Campus Safety is very friendly. Every time you leave a building you are guaranteed to see at least one campus safety.

    Greek Life

    There is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is SAB ( Student Activity Board). There are fun games and prizes to play at least once a month.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay to be at a school. They make sandwiches and salads right in front of you fresh.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus so I do not know. The one good thing about the dorms is that they are across the street from the school.

    Academic Rigor

    The Professors want you to succeed in their class. In order to get good grades you need to put in the effort and the hours. If you have any questions the professors will help you so that you understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour before attending the school. There is activities going on campus feels like everyday.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's good for the kids who live in a small town and aren't finacially/emotionally/academically ready to go to a big university.

    Bang for the buck

    It is so much cheaper than going to a university for the first two years. The teachers are wonderful and they're not typical weed-out classes like the ones at a big university.

    What to do for fun

    The campus holds events in the fields around campus. Mostly the fun comes from meeting students in class and hanging out with them. There's people from all walks of life and different backgrounds and it's nice.

    Food and Dining

    There is hot food in the cafeteria and it's mostly good.

    Dorm Life

    The appartments on-campus look somewhat nice. I've never been in one though.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the teacher, you can actually learn something in class and do well or just get an easy A and not learn anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    USE ratemyprofessor.com!!! IT WILL SAVE YOU SO MUCH TIME.

    In three sentences

    It is a great starter school. It allows for an easy transition between finishing high school and becoming a college student. I would definitely go here for two years before you go off to a huge university.

  • 06/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have a gurad there at the college and with a small parking lot you can park near the college. I rate it a one.

    Greek Life

    I am not involved in the greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I only attend the vent club and it is very helpful with information and sometimes solutions to problems I am dealing with.

    Great for these types of students

    working studentsbecause they work around your schedule and have programs to help the students that don't have the funds to pay for everything.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Each year they have on campus a family night to get everyone involved and to have fun.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a smaller college is nice classes are smaller, instructors are always available, help is available to everyone either through counseling or classmate friends. I rate the college as a one.

    What to do for fun

    The college has a game club, ther is a pool hall not to far away, parks and swimming at the Springs.

    Food and Dining

    Many resturants and fast food places are near by. I rate them with a two.

    Dorm Life

    There is not dorm life availble at the college. I rate it 10.

    Academic Rigor

    I am not involved in the academic program. I rate it a 3.

    Tips for prospective students

    When checking out the college get in touch with Ms. Regina for financial, and Ms. Kat for any information on classes they are very helpful.

    In three sentences

    Awesome they are very helpful. Instructors are always willing ot help if you need extra help. The vent club is helpful to many students to deal with any issues we have.

  • 06/20/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    60 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Ocala is a pretty safe city to start with.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a great option. If you are looking for getting a bachelor's degree, but don't want to pay university tuition for four years, this is a much cheaper option.

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    61 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Again, a retirement community. Ocala is usually very safe but we do have crime here just like anywhere else.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small, close knit communities and learning environments that give a more personal feel between student and professor.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many high school students from around the county tend to show up on campus for dual enrollment credit, so do not be suprised if you end up taking your ENC 1101 class with a 16 year old.

    Bang for the buck

    The college of central Florida offers a fantastic value for the education it features. with that said, do not expect state of the art clasrooms and exceptional teachers for every class, as previously stated this used to be a community college and the only difference between the college of central florida (CF) and central florida community college (CFCC) is the name change. The campus is beautiful and many people are friendly.

    What to do for fun

    As the city of Ocala is mainly a retirment community, the town has little recreational activities unless you know where to look and when. -As a resident of the Ocala for the last 6 years i have only recently found some places to go for fun besides the mall (which is terribly small) and the movies( which gets old after awhile). -As for the good sides to Ocala's recreation we are minutes away from Silver Springs, where you can choose to swim, kayak, canoe or float down the silver river. This river in particular has crystal clear water and a ton of marine life as well. (otters, turtles, various fish and yes, gators) -I have also recently taken an interest in our downtown activities that include: a farmers market every saturday morning in the square a fencing gym a boxing gym a bike shop various historical shoppes in the downtown square ( Ocala tends to take pride in its history)

    Food and Dining

    There are many food options surrounding CF's actual location. The college is actually located across from the paddock mall on SR 200, which is a main road through Ocala containing many popular stores and restaurants. -These include: Arby's Chilis First watch cafe El Toreo Charlies Subs (in the mall) Chick-fil- a mcallister's deli tijuana flats wendys and of course the ever present McDonalds

    Dorm Life

    CF does not have any dorms, but there are many apartments for students in the surrounding area

    Academic Rigor

    Obviously some classes are harder than others, but in general many still consider the course work level to be comparable to that of CF's previous community college status

    Tips for prospective students

    As it goes for all colleges definitely do your homework and go to class. The professors here are friendly and you will usually see them around town if you reside in Ocala, try to get to know them better. It may actually help your grade.

    In three sentences

    The College of Central Florida is a small college that used to be a community college. CF is a great way to get an education for a great price. Many students choose to attend CF after high school before leaving home for a bigger college or university.

  • 09/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is reasonablly priced and the food is not bad. Snack and drink machines are also available throughout the campus.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm for the school.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers and coursework and very good and work is reasonable. Teachers seem to care about there students and are available for help when they are needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not give up, if you feel stuck, see an advisor and accept there help. They really are here to help!

    In three sentences

    This school is overall a great school. The advisors are very helpful and go out of there way to help students. The online courses are very conveinent.

  • 09/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    63 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always someone on a golf cart checking all parking lots at all times.

    Great for these types of students

    ANY STUDENT!

    What to do for fun

    A TON IF EXTRA-CURRICULAR ACTIVITIES!

    Food and Dining

    Good food, pool table, everyone's always happy when they are in the dinning area.

    Dorm Life

    I DON'T LIVE IN A DORM.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are so caring and reach out to their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    When applying for this school make sure you do it a few weeks in advance very slow process. You'll love the teachers and students though!

    In three sentences

    Awesome and caring teachers. Admissions office SUCKS! Employee's in the admissions office need to go! Other then that everyone is friendly and eager to learn!

  • 10/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    64 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus has security on campus always. There is also emergency call stations set up around campus in case of emergencies. I have not witness or herd of any violence or troubles. It is safe and friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs on campus to join and about the start of every academic year there is a club rush where all the clubs come together to get your attention to chose from. Also during the year several events our made for students to enjoy and take break from college life most events have free food and drinks and some times giveaways mostly thanks to our SAB (I do not know the acronym for this though).

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing, Business, Information Technology, Medical, Play production.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Right behind the cafeteria is a beautiful big oak tree the offers nice shade on hot days and the grass is well keep and pest free for ideal breaks and naps. In building #4 there is a nice cozy breezeway with chairs and soda and snack machines to relax at in between class time. I am also positive there is more to find on this campus but I found my home in those two areas mostly.

    Bang for the buck

    Ocala is a small town therefore its fairly inexpensive living and shopping but jobs are hard to get and some do not pay well. Also if you do not have any financial help things can be tough for school expenses on your own plus whatever life throws at you so stay prepared.

    What to do for fun

    There is not a whole lot to do in Ocala in general but near campus is a movie theater as well as a little arcade and attraction place.

    Food and Dining

    Food on campus is actually really good and not to costly. And if you do not want the school food there is plenty of fast food and restaurants near by within walking distance to satisfy your taste. There is also an on campus cafe with all the nice coffee house things you can want and some more. Starbucks not to far from campus. In addition the library is a great place to get work done quietly and it has private rooms set up for people to gather and have group discussions and collaborations.

    Dorm Life

    There is no real dorms for this campus but plenty of apartments in close proximity and some will be helpful with college students.

    Academic Rigor

    Tough start on some class but will get easier with other. As long as you have a schedule for classes and homework time for each one you can succeed with high level grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your schedule and financial aid. The writing center in the library is one of your most help tools for papers and reports. Always stay on top of your school work, your teachers do help those in need and help you succeed but only if you do your part.

    In three sentences

    Its very clean and beautiful campus with lots of place to go and study in quiet. Its up to date with its computer labs and technology. Finally it is a wonderful school for those who want an education and do not have a lot of money.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    65 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    The academic is very good. The teachers are good and some of them are willing to help in any way they can

    Tips for prospective students

    1) You can always look for help on campus 2) Always ask your professiors for help 3) Its always good to come prepare to school

    In three sentences

    The College of Central Florida is a very active school. It has alot of clubs options and the staff are pretty good. The campus is clean and looks nice.

  • 11/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    66 of 73

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I heard they have a lot of cultural activities happening on campus but I don't a lot about it because I don't live in the city.

    Food and Dining

    I'm online student and I'm not in campus very often.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    This is actually a good thing for me right now because I'm getting back to college this semester so I'm not overwhelmed by the academic rigor but I hope it gets more strict so I can get used to how a university will be.

    Tips for prospective students

    I'm not involved a lot in the campus life because I'm taking my classes 100% online but I've heard they have great things happening on campus. The staff is helpful and even though I was registering late they helped me not to lose another semester.

    In three sentences

    They are aiming to be a better college. They have very helpful staff. They have 100% online classes which is perfect for me.

  • 11/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    67 of 73

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The mall is right across from the school, and if you go down a few block there is a go-cart place that one can try out.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, but in my view they are a little over-priced.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor of the classes depend on the type of teacher one has and what classes one is taking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you don't get behind, because it is a pain to try to catch up.

    In three sentences

    This school is a great school where one can learn what they want to learn, and get into the workforce quickly. The teachers at the school do help you, and will try to make class an enjoyable thing with jokes. There really is a lot of humor and fun in this college and i recommend anyone to go.

  • 12/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    68 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    CF is great for students that want an affordable education, are returning to school, or entering for their first time.

    Bang for the buck

    You will definitely get your money's worth from this institution. Professors and administrators are very willing to work with students.

    What to do for fun

    Ocala does have a lot of shopping and restaurants for students. There is a limited amount of night life, however Ocala is in close proximity to Gainesville.

    Academic Rigor

    CF does provide quality classes and instructors. Some classes are definitely easier than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should definitely apply for the honors program at CF. Not only can you receive a scholarship that will cover your full tuition, it comes with so many other perks. Such as, selecting classes early, field trips, and additional help.

    In three sentences

    College of Central Florida is very affordable and has quality instructors. Professors and administrators honestly care about their students and are willing to work with them. Their small class sizes and hands-on instruction really helps when learning difficult subject matter.

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    69 of 73

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several sporting teams available and different clubs to join but there really is a limited selection. The main focus is academics.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria at the the main Ocala campus that serves breakfast and lunch daily. The food is a nice variety and generally healthy as well as affordable. Other than that there is nothing else other than vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm, I believe that there are dorms available at the main Ocala campus but I have never been in the rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor depends on the subject of the class but the general education courses are straight forward and the important thing is to take quality notes for exams and tests. The electives that you choose could vary in difficulty but the amount of work is at a slightly above average level.

    Tips for prospective students

    After being accepted to the college make sure that you keep a list of important dates for the upcoming semester. This includes class registration and getting books early enough to compare prices. When scheduling classes be sure to look at the location and times to avoid any mishaps. If you decide to take more than four classes at one time, I would suggest getting a calendar and writing due dates for the entire semester to make your school organized.

    In three sentences

    This college is affordable compared to the state universities. The classes are quite small, about 30 per class, which gives the student an opportunity to personally learn and get answers to their questions. The campuses are also very accessible and easy to navigate.

  • 01/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    70 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never had any problems.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lot of sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like small classes and a small campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    Not a bad price for college. It's home of the $10,000 Bachelors degree.

    What to do for fun

    Many sports teams and sporting events to attend.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good, a little overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't rely on their website, always go in and talk to advisers.

    In three sentences

    College of Central Florida is a great school to start out at, especially when you're not sure what you want to do. The school, in my opinion, is understaffed. Definitely don't regret going here.

  • 03/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    71 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is good, just a little pricy!

    Dorm Life

    I am not sure, because there are no dorms... although there is a college square that is like an apartment complex some of the students stay in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you come to class! You get credit just for being there, and if you are absent three times, they have the right to deduct your grade by a full letter... at least that is what I was told.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love this school. The teachers are great and so hands on with their students! I would definitely recommend this college to everyone!

  • 04/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    72 of 73

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Plenty of things in Ocala to do for fun. Mall, bowling, easy street, shopping, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Decent café.

    Dorm Life

    There are not any dorms but there are apartments right next to the campus,

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the class for the difficultness of the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use ratemyprofessor.com before choosing a professor.

    In three sentences

    The College of Central Florida has a decently new campus. Not enough parking as this college is growing. Has a spread out campus and located in a great area by all restaurants and across from the mall.

  • 07/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    73 of 73

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never seen a crime in the 2 1/2 years i've been here.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    plenty

    Great for these types of students

    jocks drama health science

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    great education low price full grants and aids

    What to do for fun

    Nothing Ocala is super boring place but you have more time to focus on education this is coming from someone who hated high school 2.0 gpa. now i have a 3.2gpa.

    Food and Dining

    Great food, their subs are way better than subway, cafe shop also included.

    Dorm Life

    very bad if you are not a jock. If you are a normal student like myself i was paired with four roommates two got arrested for high end crime. Then i got paired with these pokemon playing idiots. Management is very bad. You can live there but its gonna suck.

    Academic Rigor

    Great

    Tips for prospective students

    There dorms are not the best if you are a jock you have it made. Everything else is great. I highly suggest Student Support Services all you have to do is get into their group its all free. You get all your classes picked by Julio Serna who is the best thing next to a parent. They take you on trips to visit universities. Great school

    In three sentences

    CF gives the student a great education. Teachers at CF help you to the max. My first choice school based off the tuition and how much it offers, plus its a beautiful college.