Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

College of Coastal Georgia Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students of all ages.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you pick a Major find the correct advisor for your program. Stay on top of your courses and your financial aid.

    Bang for the buck

    As long as you are a Georgia resident you are fine.

    Am enjoying being here

    Camden Campus is small and personal.

    Am learning a lot

    This is a great college with wonderful professors who really care about making sure that you are getting the best education possible. Now with the college changing status from community college to a university they have kept their status quo!

  • 07/22/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on going to this college, it will be really great if you apply up for it in your early senior year after you get your SAT scores (if you took them early in the year). It will be a lot easier to apply, especially BEFORE summer. But since sigining up for the 30 scholarship's deadline is by March 1st this year, you might want to apply there in the winter.

    Will learn a lot

    The proffesors here are really professional, and this school is not a community college anymore, they have raised up to a university system. They are going to be building dorms soon which will be finisheed by 2011. Recently I have gone to one of their seminars and it was thouroughly informitive. The college is really nice and the professors here are exceptional.

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are lots of activities and programs you can do for fun within campus and lost of organization sto get involved with. off campus we are very close to the beach and that is what most of our students love to do.

    Food and Dining

    the dining hall is very convenient and has a wide variety of meals to offer students. some meals are better than others but they take all suggestions and comments and do something with them. they do not take a suggestion and leave it as a note on their desk. they take that suggestion and use it to better themselves, so that they can better serve use students.

    Dorm Life

    the residence life and housing staff here at ccga are phenomenal. they do erverything they can to help the residential students get involved, stay invovled and succeed academically. i love living in the residence halls.

    Academic Rigor

    i am a student in the bachelors of business administration program and i continually see the courses getting harder, but that also means i continue to get more out of them. you get out of classes what you put into them.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved! there are so many opportunities for new students to get involved even if you are just touring the campus. don't hold back and jump right in.

    In three sentences

    ccga is about putting students wildest dreams into action. they do this by assisting students to grow and mold their skills and abilities. the college is constantly growing and will continuously keep students as their number one.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The parking lot has many lights that help illuminate the area so that students may be safe on their way to their vehicles after a night class. Also, on campus police help keep the trouble under control.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs offered are friendly and are always happily accepting to new members.

    Great for these types of students

    CCGA is great for students who wish to stay local or students from a farther location to pay a lower fee for a college education.

    Bang for the buck

    College of Coastal Georgia is fairly affordable to most students.

    What to do for fun

    Great ways to have fun are by going to some of the extracurricular clubs that are offered.

    Food and Dining

    The meals are amazing.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are cozy and the perfect size for students.

    Academic Rigor

    The programs offered are extremely invigorating and challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to get all the paperwork submitted early so that the best classes are available.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere is pleasant. Every professor that teaches at CCGA is not only considerate but understanding to the students.

  • 02/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    student activities. basketball tennis movies group activities

    Tips for prospective students

    apply on time. register for your classes as early as possible. always attend orientation.

    In three sentences

    its is a huge, well developed, teacher friendly college. with many scholarship opportunities for determined students. it is on a high rank and there is less violence.

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus police is driving or walking around all day. students are free to walk into their office at anytime with no worries and they encourage students to put their number in their cell phones.

    Bang for the buck

    since we have gotten to be a four year university the price for tuition has definitely gone up. yes it is still pretty cheap compared to the other schools. but for one class it was almost $1000. so the price has changed since i first registered. my first semester was $1600 for 5 classes.

    What to do for fun

    the school always has little activities going on. always check your student email and you will see what is going on for the month. also in every bathroom and just posted around campus there are posters up. in town things to do: mall, movies, bowling, many of restaurants, only 10 to 15 minutes from the beach. great location.

    Food and Dining

    last semester i ate there a few times because if you have over 8 hours then you are required to get the meal plan. food was pretty good. breakfast was my favorite. you can choose from many different things. their salad bar is always fresh. only con is if you don't want to eat by yourself and a friend goes with you, they will not let them in if they are not eating.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live on campus but heard that the new dorms are great.

    Academic Rigor

    there are some professors who will stick by the school rules and their own syllabus and never go outside of what is in there. but you also have some that will be a little more flexible. majority of them will help you out as much as possible but if you are trying to turn in late work, most will not take it. go by what their syllabus says and turn things in on time. also if they say don't be late, don't be late. many professors will not let you in if you are late.

    Tips for prospective students

    definitely check it out for yourself, don't just go by what you have seen online and heard from others. there are some great things about this college, but it isn't for everyone.

    In three sentences

    this school has improved since i started back in 2009. becoming more involved with students. they have gotten more sports now and seems to be doing very well.

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is excellent. They have call boxes set up throughout the parking lots that have blue lights at night. They have a dedicated number you can call anytime and an officer always has that phone with them incase you need them. I have always felt very safe on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    I'm a non-traditional student and the fact that CCGA has evening and on-line classes meant a lot my first year attending. I am starting the nursing program in the fall so it will be a bit more regimented then but they really have class schedules you can work with for your benefit.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent value here. CCGA is one of the fastest growing schools in the state but it is still very affordable to attend. You will find top notch teachers and education opportunities at a price that won't break the bank.

    What to do for fun

    You are about 15 minutes from the beaches on St Simons Island and Jekyll Island... need I say more?

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is EXCELLENT. I attended college back in 1999-2003 and the food then doesn't even hold a candle to what CCGA offers. The food is really good and the set up is amazing. It's all you can eat, open buffet style and you have 4 different areas to choose 4 different meals from plus a complete salad bar. Dining is new this year at CCGA and they have done an excellent job.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus so cannot comment on dorm life. I can say I know that on campus living was new as of the 2011-2012 school year so I'm sure it would be exciting to be among the first to live in the new residence hall.

    Academic Rigor

    Dedication is key and you have to put the time in to reap the rewards of obtaining a college education. The teachers are excellent - at least the ones I have been fortunate to have - but you have to be responsible enough to spend the time independently studying to truly learn the material and succeed. Some may say the teachers are tough, and while that may be true, they are always available to help and want to see you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some programs are new and are still growing and changing, but for me it's exciting to be a part of that. If you would enjoy being part of a small but growing college, then CCGA is for you.

    In three sentences

    CCGA is an excellent college with still even greater potential. They are growing by leaps and bounds, but still have the local community focus. They are service oriented and have a wide variety of students from first timers to non-traditional.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is amazing! They have emergency boxes located throughout the entire parking lot and if you need to there is always a police officer around that you can speak with if you need to.

    Great for these types of students

    One thing that i really love about this college is that it really caters to the nontraditional students, meaning people who work full time jobs and are only available in the evenings for classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This is a completely Tobacco Free campus!

    Bang for the buck

    I have got to say all in all I have definitely gotten my moneys worth at this college! Of course you have the occasional professor who you get mad at for some reason or another but other than that you definitely get what you pay for, as long as you are willing to work for it!

    What to do for fun

    Throughout the year the student government people get together and bring all kinds events to the students, ranging from dances to live performers and even stress tests!! It's all a lot of fun and if you miss one event that's okay because there is sure to be another one not far behind it!

    Food and Dining

    I love the meal plans that they offer. They actually have two different meal plans depending on where most of your classes are because there are two campuses. If you are primarily on the main campus they have a full dining area in which you can go and sit and eat, while at the sub campus they have a little Dockside Deli which offers sandwiches and other healthy snack. At both places the food is amazing!!

    Dorm Life

    CCGA has actually just built brand new dorms! They are very nice, clean and well maintained!

    Academic Rigor

    For the most part the academics are fairly average as long as you are willing to actually put forth the effort into your studies. On the other hand if you don't put forth the effort you will struggle through your course and find things to be very difficult

    Tips for prospective students

    One thing that you definitely want to make sure of is that your major is offered here because as I have said they are working on creating new programs and such but there is a chance that what you are looking for is not offered.

    In three sentences

    This college is an amazing college because of the simple fact that it had professors who are willing to actually work with you in order to help you succeed! CCGA is constantly improving the degrees that are offered and are creating more and more opportunities for students to fine something that they are interested in doing. One final thing that is amazing about this college it that they offer students the opportunity to get involved with what is going on within the college either through student government or even through student work programs!

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    CCGA just started their first fraternity this year!

    Bang for the buck

    If you are from Georgia and have Hope, it helps a lot.

    Food and Dining

    So good! Chartwells does a great job hiring the chefs and cooks that they have on staff now. The food is usually always delicious and there is a good variety of food at every meal.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are brand new so they are still really nice. There is a good variety of rooms types. The RAs always have some sort of event going on on the weekends or random movie nights during the week.

    Academic Rigor

    I love the classes, they are never boring. I have learned a great deal in my classes and enjoy every single one of them. The professors are awesome! They are always available and encourage everyone to come in during office hours for additional help.

    Tips for prospective students

    I am out of state so this first year was a little expensive for my family. Most people are from Georgia so tuition is a great deal! If from out of state, it's a lot easier to have scholarships lined up to decrease taking out loans.

    In three sentences

    The college has so many perks, the location and atmosphere is create. The professors are solid and love what they do so it makes classes easier. And the food, everyone loves the food at the college!

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the base and beaches are nearby, so that's what everyone does.

    Food and Dining

    i don't know about the main campus, but the camden deli has some pretty good food. the only complaint i have are the prices.

    Academic Rigor

    maybe the upper-division courses are more difficult, but it seems that the courses here aren't any more difficult than high school courses. in fact, i've taken harder classes in hs than i have here.

    Tips for prospective students

    take as many ap courses as you can so that you can skip the intro-level classes and save money. avoid buying/selling your books from/to the bookstore at all costs. study, study, study.

    In three sentences

    it's a pretty decent school to go to if you didn't do so hot in high school or if you've been out of school for a while. the professors are very helpful and their coursework isn't difficult. the student population is very, very diverse.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We do have campus security, he does try to make himself very well known to the student. He makes the atmosphere very comfortable.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activies that you may chose from to get more involved in our school. Just depends on what your looking for.

    Bang for the buck

    Coastal does offer a deli to where you may purchase food and beverages with cash or your MAC card.

    Academic Rigor

    I would honestly say that I believe there is a little bias there.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need any help always refer to the office staff for guidance.. they are very resourceful.

    In three sentences

    College of Coastal Georgia is a very nice school. The women who work in the office are always the most helpful. I would recommend this school to anyone.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are cops that patrol, as well as emergency boxes in every parking lot to contact them. Everyone was given the active officer's phone number to contact concerning events at the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Most clubs offer activities and trips, as well as doing services for the community.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing is big here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an annual world culture festival open to the public with music, food, and crafts.

    Bang for the buck

    This collegevis very affordable compared to others.

    What to do for fun

    There are quite a few clubs with ongoing activities and trips. There are at least one school event a week (usually two or three) and some are open to the public.

    Food and Dining

    Usually something to eat for everyone. Most is healthy, and they have desserts such as jello cups, cookies, brownies, ice cream and more.

    Dorm Life

    They are supposed to have events over at the dorms often, but I dont live there.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors are harder than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be willing to put in the amount of effory required to study.

    In three sentences

    This college seems to have friendly, usually helpful staff and professors. This college offers free tutoring several hours a day and week, on most subjects. The cafeteria food is often a variety, healthy and delicious.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    CAMDEN ACTIVITY BOARD! I can't stress it enough. The Mariner's Passport program is a great way to keep yourself involved with campus events (and win some cool prizes). Last semester I has a one in three chance of winning an iPad (and I did!)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The sinks (at least in the men's room) can be dangerous. In the men's room by the bookstore, all of the sinks have a tremendously high water pressure, so water will end up on your clothes if you're not careful. Try to use the restroom by the elevator (upstairs; if downstairs, use the second or fourth sink from the left).

    Bang for the buck

    Coastal is great for CCHS graduates who want to get started on their college career but can't really afford to go away. Stay local! Camden isn't as bad as you think.

    What to do for fun

    The CAB coordinates awesome events each semester. Make sure you attend the weekly meeting keep up and tell your friends about what's going on on campus (Save the Date). Lunch and Learn, live performers, or just hanging out.

    Food and Dining

    Grab a bite to eat from the Dockside Deli on your way to class!

    Dorm Life

    No housing on Camden campus. I don't know about housing in Brunswick.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are rigorous, but not overwhelming. Teachers expect an amount of work that is manageable even with a job.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be involved on campus! The Camden Activity Board provides students an outlet to share their input on events they'd like to see at the Camden Center. If students don't stay involved, the campus event budget could get cut.

    In three sentences

    Quality, close-to-home education, despite what some high school students say. A lot of students, particularly AP students, look down on Coastal, slandering its status as a real college. But Coastal provides a good education and is great as a starter college or even for some four-year degrees.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa, BANS, plenty of student organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing

    What to do for fun

    Beaches!

    Food and Dining

    The new cafeteria is fantastic, but sometimes the food is questionable..

    Academic Rigor

    Core classes are like core classes everywhere else. They're pretty easy and are filled with young students that aren't quite ready for college. These students make it obvious that they do not wish to be there. Because of the military bases around, there are plenty of non-traditional students in classes as well. The third and fourth year of the nursing program is very rigorous and difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are so many foundation scholarships available at CCGA. Applying for them is insanely easy and the money is almost guaranteed. Always apply!

    In three sentences

    Transformed from a community college to a four year institution seemingly overnight, CCGA is still working out some glitches. CCGA is rapidly expanding and draws students in with its sprawling campus, reasonable tuition rates, and distance from beautiful island beaches.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a really safe campus.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Still a growing college

    Great for these types of students

    Small town, beach students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't think there are any unusual traditions or locations on campus. The location of the college is rather unusual. 15 minutes away from the beach.

    Bang for the buck

    Totally affordable!

    What to do for fun

    Intramural sports. Clubs. Pretty much like any other college

    Food and Dining

    Pretty much all fried foods. Hard for the athletes on diets.

    Dorm Life

    Fun. Really nice RA's.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not the kind of college where it's really hard and you walk into a class knowing that you are doomed. The professors do realize that you are busy. They don't necessarily plan around you, they do make things easy to handle if you are struggling.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved on campus

    In three sentences

    I really like Coastal Georgia. I'd give it a 7 on a scale from 1 to 10. My intended major isn't there due to the age of the college. It just moved up from a junior college to a 4-year program.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very good. There are cops patrolling all around and there's always an emergency button nearby.

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't many super fun clubs or activities at Coastal but that's all being worked on. The student life team has been working each year to bring ideas and events that students haven't seen at that college before.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who love to watch basketball games and go to the beach. If you like sports you can usually hop on an intramural team all throughout the year. If you like going to the beach, well then that's perfect because we have one.

    Bang for the buck

    Coastal's prices have risen but you're still paying less than a college that contains 10-15k students. You can get your degree and still have fun at the same time.

    What to do for fun

    The biggest source of fun is going to the beach. It's almost a routine for some. You go to class and then carpool to the beach after a long day.

    Food and Dining

    The food in The Mariner's Galley is pretty decent to be honest. A lot of people joke about how horrible it is when in actuality you can find whatever you want every day.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms were put up last year and have been bringing in new students. With that being said, it's definitely an area that the school needs to work on. You can have fun, but just not too much.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not super tough going to Coastal unless you have the occasional teacher who likes to make everything hard. This also isn't Georgia Tech where everyone wants to be an engineer. What do you have though, is a community where excellence is being strived for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come expecting a huge university or some crazy party scene. Be relaxed and the scene you desire will come straight to you. If you have your priorities right you can make the best of a small town college.

    In three sentences

    The College of Coastal Georgia is a school where different people can come and find their own home away from home. The beaches of Glynn County add an extra perk to a college lifestyle not so typical. Teachers are decent and the community is small so it's hard to be lost in the crowd.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty thing to do here at CCGA. Student gov. are always trying to find something new to do. Stay tuned in!

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are cozy and perfect for a college student.

    Academic Rigor

    Like any other college you might have attended for the most part you have to do your best..no slacking the academics are fairly average if you do what you have to do!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your major is offered here and stay on top of your game, don't slack.

    In three sentences

    College Of Coastal Georgia is a good school to attend. The faculty are very helpful and just great. I think I got my money worth at this school. Its great!

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Literally the cheapest school I have yet to find. It is highly affordable, even to those who think they can't afford college. All you need is a scholarship and it's a completely free ride.

    What to do for fun

    There's plenty of academic programs and extracurricular groups someone can join when attending this college.

    Food and Dining

    I've heard it's way better than high school cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not sure if there are dorms at this college. I'm not looking into the dorm life simply because I live in the town this college is located in.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically they offer the exact program that I want an associates in and I am looking forward to attending. They also don't judge based off of a lower GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip I recommend to other students researching this school is that you get a map before you start exploring, and you actually sit down and talk to some staff members. You won't regret it.

    In three sentences

    I believe that the College of Coastal Georgia will be the right college for me because the location is close to home. They also have very flexible hours and will work with students to fit what is best for them. Not to mention the campus is gorgeous and well kept.

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Emergency phones located all over campus plus a 24/7 campus police system

    Greek Life

    Greet club is an option

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 30 clubs in counting

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love peace and quiet with a hint of nature. Who wish they could attend college if they had the funding.

    Bang for the buck

    Indeed, it's a BANG for your buck!

    What to do for fun

    The Programming Board is responsible for planning many events around campus so it's good to join and get a say on what is provided for student enjoyment. There are constant events provided by Urban Gaming Club such as HvZ (Humans Vs Zombies) and a bowling ally right around the corner. NOT TO FORGET, students get on Jekyll Island FREE!!! XDD

    Food and Dining

    Very healthy choices with plenty of sweets. Can't forget pizza!

    Dorm Life

    Lakeside Village is a really calm and peaceful place with very creative people. You even get the chance to pick the suit you wish to stay in and what kind of people you prefer to spend time with.

    Academic Rigor

    Again, plenty of student help if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become open to friends by joining clubs around campus. My first peer group was created through Programming Club.

    In three sentences

    This school is AWESOME!!! The school is one of the cheapest in Georgia and you can't tell the difference from looking around. The campus is beautiful and the curriculum comes with much student aid if needed!

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is VERY safe. The dorms have 3 levels of security and the school has many emergency posts to when the buttons are pushed someone will almost immediately come for help or even if you just don't feel safe walking alone, someone will be right there for you.

    Greek Life

    As of right now there is no Greek life, but we are supposed to be getting it next year, so fingers crossed!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs ranging from religious all the way to comic book clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great fro students looking for a small populated school with friendly teachers and easy help.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There seems to be a lot of scavenger hunts but they never get boring. Some even go to city wide hunts!

    Bang for the buck

    I love this college! It's a great starter college for anyone who is in fear of an expensive scary college. All in all an affordable college.

    What to do for fun

    There are a bunch of activities almost every day for students to do. Including concerts, sports activities and campus wide activities, such as humans vs zombies.

    Food and Dining

    The food can be iffy sometimes but overall way better than high school food!

    Dorm Life

    The RA's are amazingly friendly and always willing to lend a hand. The rooms are beautiful and cozy.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are fairly easy, provided you do your work and stay on top of studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study! Do not let yourself get behind in anything. Don't forget, you're paying for these classes so get your moneys worth!

    In three sentences

    CCGA has excellent programs and many friendly people. You can always look forward to meeting someone new everyday almost. The college professors are always more than willing to help.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 21 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is rated very high in my opinion. All security personnel have an open door policy and are on site 24 hours a day. The campus is also equipped with security cameras, and many of the facilities are accessible only to students and personnel with a college ID / Access Card.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Watch out for Zombies! ; )

    Bang for the buck

    The campus is ideally located for student access to nearby shopping centers, dining, and recreational activities both on and off campus. Many of the buildings are newly constructed and provide students with a safe, comfortable learning environment. To wit, there has been some discontent among many students over the amount of additional fees the college has been charging since it has transitioned to a four year college. However, the overall tone about the value of the college as a whole is quite positive.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things to do for fun throughout the semester. For those of you who are more athletic in nature, there are a handful of team sports to try out for: basketball, golf, softball, volleyball and tennis to name a few. The college also regularly schedules movie nights each week showing the latest must-see films available on Blue Ray. In addition, there are many local festivals and art shows to attend as well.

    Food and Dining

    Each student will undoubtedly have different tastes, but the Mariner's Galley provides many different meal choices every day. From salads and soups, pizza, and fresh-made sandwiches, to grilled tilapia and home style lasagna, there are plenty of options to satisfy whatever you're craving.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot provide very much information on this subject since I live off campus. However, I do know that the dorm buildings were recently constructed (Spring 2012) and include many useful services such as Internet, phone and cable TV. There are many different extracurricular activities to do in between classes, such as tennis courts, nature trails, and basketball.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the classes you are taking, some students may find the curriculum to be more difficult than others. It is very important to use any or all of the resources available to you in order to ensure your success. Go out of your way to engage the teachers on topics that you are having trouble with. Ask questions and participate in class discussions. For even more assistance, try working with one of the tutors in the library learning center.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the college campus that you will be attending, and find out what college services are specifically available to you. Some students may be eligible for the Trio program which offers in depth career services and academic advising. As for financial aid, make sure to speak with an advisor early and often! Do not wait until the last minute to start looking for additional funding for college.

    In three sentences

    This college is great for high school graduates and non-traditional students alike. The teachers are very helpful and are available for extra help between classes. The college offers many additional resources to ensure your success, such as: free tutoring, student instructor assistants and academic coaching for brushing up on things like APA formatting.

  • 01/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    They forbid Greek life, if you try to start one, they deem you as a cult.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the beach or work.

    Food and Dining

    The food is absolutely horrible with the worst service imaginable. The food is greasy and highly unhealthy. Unless you love pizza, that's what you'll get 3-4 days of the week with no eggeration.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great and I love that you have your own bedroom to yourself. The RA's are very helpful, just a lack of things to do on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It's pretty easy but if you have a part time teacher, you better buckle down or you won't pass because they won't help you.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can always find Safety patrols done around the school to promote safety in and outside of the building.

    Clubs and Activities

    Multiple forms of Clubs and Activities are available from Lunch and Learns ( where pizza is served) from Movie days held in the Auditorium.

    Great for these types of students

    Military, Single Parents, People from all walks of life

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    What I find unusual about the school is the Nursing program's advisory comittee. Most advisors will make the drive down to the Camden Campus from Brunswick maybe twice a month otherwise you will have to take a 40 minute drive to go to Brunswick and meet up with an advisor.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall College of Coastal Georgia is a longer route (versus going to perhaps a Vocational school) where you could cut out some years. However, for me I'm not paying for school with the help of financial aide, which means no huge college debt for me which is great being that I am single parent to two children.

    Food and Dining

    The is healthy and delicious at the beggining of each semester (fulltime students) have $120.00 loaded on their Mac cards to use at the school's dinning.

    Dorm Life

    I only rate this a two because the dorms are only offered at the Brunswick campus and I attend the Camden Campus (about 40 mins) apart!

    Academic Rigor

    The school is big on nursing so if you're a nursing major this would definitely be a great school for you. One thing I love also is the fact that there are always surveys done from students in regards to what type of new majors the college could add.

    Tips for prospective students

    Location is the key: there are two campuses, one in Brunswick, GA (which is the main campus), and one in Camden. Most of your cores can be completed at the Camden campus if you live in the St.Marys area but once you apply for the nursing program there will be a 40 minute drive from Camden to Brunswick.

    In three sentences

    I currently am attending the Camden campus that i would rate a 8 out of 10 beacuse this school provides a wide variety of class times (night and day classes) which allow for flexibility especially for single parents as myself. Beware of the professors there (which is the only reason I didn't rate 10), most of them are very helpful, but most will push you to your limits requiring a lot of outside studying which isn't actually a complaint. Also, this college is very big on financial aide which is helping me totally pay for college at the moment (the school just undergone a new financial aide person so things have been kind of shaky lately iin that department) but the library offers free printing which is always a thumbs up for me. I hope this helps!

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has their own police department. There are various call boxes throughout the campus that if you were in any danger you can hit it and the police will come. If you have night classes you can even call them and have them escort you to your car or dorm.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is definitely not like other schools when it comes to cost. They are cheap like all colleges should be. You get your money's worth because there is a ton of things to do and events that are offered that are all free to the student.

    What to do for fun

    The school has a lot of stuff available for students to do. They play movies in the theater and have people come and speak. Once there was a comedian and a magician there. The events are good, they had one about AIDs awareness and others.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. It always changes and there is a variety to choose from. They do foods from all kinds of nationalities so there is usually always something different. The dining hall is spacious and comfortable. The only bad thing about the food and dining is the times they close. They are not open all day and all night which makes it hard for people with night classes that start at the same time the dining hall opens for dinner and by the time they get out of class the dining hall is already closed.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fairly new so they are not used to students always being on campus. The dorms are only a year old. A bad thing about them is that you do not have your own kitchen so there is no such thing as food made your mother. They make it work though because there is a ton of stuff they offer for the people that live there. They play games and have meetings. It is easy to get to know people there. Friends in high school come and go but the friends you make in college are forever so choose the right people to get to know.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are excellent at explaining things and if you have any questions they do not make you look stupid. Teachers offer various times that you could go and talk to them if you have other questions you were scared to ask during class. The teachers do not just see you as a number. They know your name and your face which is good because the classes are small wheres they could be big with a over 50 students in a class and your are not a person you are just a number to them. That is not here. The teachers take the time to get to know their students and they give us the time to get to know them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the fees because even though you do not live at the college you still have to get a 30 meal plan which makes no sense. Especially for the students at the Camden campus because why should you have to pay for a meal plan and the only way you can use it is if you dive 40 minutes. Always have a planner with you because taking classes here might get overwhelming with the amount of assignments and tests you will get.

    In three sentences

    It is a local college that is convenient to people in the area. It is a good college to go to if you are on a budget. There are two campuses located 40 minutes away from each other so it is great because almost all classes are offered on both campuses.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Overall good, probably better on the Brunswick campus.

    Greek Life

    None that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Undecided students, Culinary, Nursing, Business

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There was an event held Fall 2012 that was a Humans v. Zombies week long event.

    Bang for the buck

    This school gives you bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    The Campus Activity Board is always holding events including dances, helpful lunch and learns, and hosting guest speakers.

    Food and Dining

    Food is definitely better than high school cafeteria food. However I will say there is no official cafeteria at the Camden campus so you eat prepared sandwiches or salads if you eat from the Camden campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not personally know about the dorm life, but from what I have seen and heard it is nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor can range depending upon your teacher, but overall the rigor is fairly moderate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't put CCGA as a last resort if you can't get in anywhere else it is just as good as a large university.

    In three sentences

    The price to attend is excellent. The classes are more one-on-one. Everyone is relatively friendly.

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 26 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    To do for fun the college always has differ things to do.. In Brunswick we have beach to go to also..

    Food and Dining

    A+ Food is good.. somedays no everyone has differ taste.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to class and learn. Study alot believe this is not high school anymore.

    In three sentences

    A++ The college is great and you will feel like your at home. The teachers are very caring and will help you in any way they can.

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Several clubs to get involved in, and you have the option of establishing your own club/organization.

    Great for these types of students

    College of Coastal Georgia is very diverse, so I would not say that it is great for a particular type of students.

    Bang for the buck

    I think that it is definitely worth the price that you pay! College of Coastal Georgia offer a wide range of services to their students, so overall it is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Most of the students are actually from Brunsiwck or Jesup so they have the option of going back home for the weekend. But if you are like myself and came to the school without a car for the first year, you will have nothing to do on the weekend, unless the gym on campus is open.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the dining hall has it's good and bad days, just like any other college/university.

    Dorm Life

    I love the set up of the residence life here. The residence life halls aren't like most schools were two students share one room. You have the option of being in a 4 ,bedroom suite, or a 2 bedroom suite, and regardless of which one you select-- you're going to have your own room.

    Academic Rigor

    I JUST registered for classes yesterday so I wouldn't know exactly how hard the academic rigor is, but so far-- I've heard that it is mild.

    Tips for prospective students

    As far as tips for prospective students I would say apply and send in all required documents EARLY! Please do not wait to the last minute. You have to pay a $25 online application fee before your application is even submitted to the school so please be aware and have your funds available prior to even starting your application.

    In three sentences

    In all reality, college is really what you make out of it! Although I did not plan to attend this school prior to being accepted, it is what I ended up doing and I do not regret coming to this school. As a first time freshman, it is definitely a change for me, but like all other first time freshman students, once you get the hang of things you will be fine.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Five stars for safety. Campus police is always monitoring the campus 24/7 and you can call them if anything is wrong.

    Clubs and Activities

    Is near St. Simons Island which is a tourist place and has lots of things to do.

    What to do for fun

    The college has a lot of out of class activities such as bowling, kayaking, paddle boarding, going to Jekyll island on bike tours, dances/concerts. Make sure you stay updated on the activities is lots of fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good for the most part I gave it a 4 out of 5 because some days it does lack on variety and the place is crowded when on a busy day.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very fun the activities the RA makes are great and it is peaceful and very clean, I am a junior in college and I still live in the dorms my decision.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are very easy but do not let your guard down because it only gets harder as you get into the semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use all the resources available to you. Stay on track in class since day one, you don't want to be trying to catch up for the rest of the semester. Attend career opportunity fairs they do help.

    In three sentences

    The College of Coastal Georgia is a very student friendly place. I would give the college four out of five stars because I enjoy the place a lot but there needs to be some adjustments. The teachers are very nice and they want to help all the students as much as they can.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Since we live on the Coast we are very close to three beautiful islands. On the weekends we hit the beach and local coffee shops to do homework and taking breaks by playing some cards. We live by the beach so there is always something to do such as kayaking, paddle boarding, surfing, bike rides, tanning, beach volleyball, and a lot more!

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining staff on campus are some of the most amazing people I have ever meet. They try to make you feel as much at home as they possible can by providing tasty meals. Also, if you ever want them to serve something you just need to tell them and by the next day it will be on the menu!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are beautiful because they are brand new and no community bathroom!

    Academic Rigor

    The class room are small and the professors are always there to lend you a helping hand!

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students would be... make sure you pack your bathing suite because we live right by the water! Second, make sure you attend all your class because you never know when a professor may give you extra credit! Lastly, establish a good relationship with your professor and the staff because they are here to help you succeed!

    In three sentences

    1. The College of Coastal Georgia has a small but beautiful campus because everything is being updated. 2. The College of Coastal Georgia is a smaller school and everyone knows each other which allows students/teachers to have strong relationships. 3. The College of Coastal Georgia is very clean campus and since it is on the coast it is always beautiful weather here!

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Don't particapate.

    Clubs and Activities

    Do not live on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a small to moderate campus. Students who wish for small class sizes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    unknown

    What to do for fun

    Beaches, Movies and shopping,

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best on your SATS and ACTS.

    In three sentences

    CCGA has AS and BS degrees as well as programs which transfer to other 4 year colleges. The college has a small time feel as well as small class sizes. CCGA is a good college value, at about $100.00 per credit hour.

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    They don't have greek Life

    What to do for fun

    The pier & beach, movies on campus, bowling.

    Food and Dining

    They constantly serve fish and chicken....

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour the college, register early, and be sure to stay on your advisors and financial aid reps

    In three sentences

    I love this school, its small and accessible. The problems are that different offices don't communicate with each other so they are slow when it comes to paperwork. Overall it really is a great school. Its great for freshman...its enogh to get your feet wet.

  • 07/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The main campus has a variety of foods to choose from in the several different eateries. If you don't find anything you like though, there are several places to eat nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors will keep you on your toes all semester, but as long as you make good study groups you'll be able to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure and register as soon as possible for the online classes (they fill up quick).

    In three sentences

    CCGA is a wonderful place to attend school. The students and staff are equally friendly and helpful. Both the main campus and satellite campus in Camden county offer a variety of courses.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a few activities presented by various Student Organizations and a gym on campus to use. The community offers a few shopping options. St. Simons Island offers a beach and other fun activities that are worth a try.

    Food and Dining

    If you are full time, a commuter, or live in the dorms, you are required to purchase a meal plan. I don't agree with this policy. The food can be good some days and not even worth it most other days. The dining facility is very nice and pretty accommodating when you want to pull a couple tables together for friends.

    Dorm Life

    Never actually used the dorms but they look nice. I have heard pretty good things about the one actually on campus. There is a new living area that is not on campus that doesn't seem too appealing.

    Academic Rigor

    Coursework is very engaging and worth the work since you will actually be using the things taught in your planned career field. Some activities could be a little more involved.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely attend orientation! Tour the whole campus and the surrounding community so as not to get lost if you're a commuter and also just to know what there is to do in between or after classes. Ask lots of questions to really get a feel for what CCGA has to offer.

    In three sentences

    This college offers great programs to choose from. Some options you can't find anywhere else within the coastal area. Very accessible so it's easy to commute to and from, even from Savannah or Hinesville.

  • 10/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    BEACH BEACH BEACH!!! also there is a water park 15 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    The choices they have are very healthy: fruit, grapes, cheese, sandwiches, etc. but there are many off campus restuarants.

    Dorm Life

    I don't reside in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are great and I take all of mine in the afternoon!

    Tips for prospective students

    Join everything you can!! Talk to people, don't be scared.

    In three sentences

    It is a very great college. I've meet many new people. Everyone is so involved.

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a key on campus, there are many emergency boxes located on campus. There is always a willing police officer to lend a helpful hand or walk you to or from a late night class.

    Great for these types of students

    Student who enjoy a small learning atmosphere will love the College of Coastal Georgia.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do include going bowling (right across the street), beach trips (less than 10 mins away), shopping and best of all many places to go dining.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is scrumptious! There are many options to choose from and never a boring repeat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice with hard wood floors and a perfect place to call home away from home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research!

    In three sentences

    The College of Coastal Georgia is a small yet friendly campus. The administrators are always willing to give a helping hand. Living on campus here is like having a second family.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cops, and emergency call boxes are everywhere. If you want an officer escort, they are always willing to help you.

    Greek Life

    We currently do not have much Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have Business, Biology, Theology, LGBTQ, Government, and many other types of clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Beach/Island Lovers. Laid Back students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Rubbing the Zell Bell for luck. Unlike many schools our President Dr. Aloia is very involved with students, he will often be in the cafeteria and will sit with students to eat and speak with them to get to know everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    For in state tuition, it still rests at about 97$ a credit hour.. One of the lowest in the state.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out at the beach, go to the mall, go to the movies, go fishing or boating.

    Food and Dining

    I love the different choices, and the fact it is all you can eat.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you love the beach, this school is perfect for you. If you want to major in Hospitality, there are many hotels, restaurants, convention centers in which you can intern at. If your interested in Criminal Justice, the Federal Law Enforcement Training Center is down the road in which you could intern at.

    In three sentences

    I love the location of my campus being right in the town of Brunswick so everything is nearby, yet the Golden Isles are also with 10 miles of me. All of my professors have been wonderful, they all keep great office hours, and are willing to help me. Our Residence Halls are wonderful, I personally have a 4 bedroom suite, I have my own bedroom, share a bathroom with one other girl, and a living room with 3 other girls.

  • 02/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The college has many activities throughout the week to keep people entertained. there are movies shown and much more. also, you can play intramural sports to pass some time or take the 10 min drive to the beach!

    Tips for prospective students

    GO here! it is a great college and they want to help you. also use all the programs they set to help.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy the student life and the programs they have here. I feel like a person they care about helping to success not just a number. They help you and have many opportunities for you to do well.

  • 08/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always something for everyone with certain interests and a small movie theater where they show a new movie.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be on top of your finacial aid

    In three sentences

    The College of Coastal Georgia has the perfect student to teacher ratio. The campus is the perfect size. And the class size is based off of major and won't conflict with anyone's work schedule.

  • 08/29/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    39 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This college has security patrolling around the clock and light up stations every few feet. Safety is a big part of this school.

    Great for these types of students

    CCGA is great for all types!

    Bang for the buck

    You will be more enlightened after one semester than you were the whole 4 years in high school.

    What to do for fun

    They have a student place to roam around and play various games at!

    Food and Dining

    This place is legit with it's chiefs they have brought in!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms look amazing, they are brand spanking new.

    Academic Rigor

    Little college, big education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a map!! Attend your classes every day and study hard!

    In three sentences

    This college has grown since I first started into a 4 year college and has expanded immensely. The classes here are more difficult than most, I think due to being a small school they felt they had something to prove that this was no cake walk easy school. I loved all the teachers that I had and they would give so much of themselves to the students.