Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

College of Mount Saint Vincent Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/19/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    4 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The prices don't seem too bad and I can just get a job to pay for it and hopefully I can get scholarships while I attend the school

    Will enjoy being here

    I have not been there yet, but I plan to visit soon.

    Will learn a lot

    I am currently researching the school and I am enjoying all the new things I am learning about this school.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a great nursing program, variety in majors students looking for great lacrosse/basketballs teams, small school settings, opportunity with careers in media through the communication major, school talk shows and radio shows, continuing graduate studies, nice wildlife, easy access public transportation, special holiday dinners, a nearby plaza, quiet neighborhood.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school setting is confortamble. People are very nice and willing to help you around the school. The students are very friendly, and even to the extent where every fellow schoolmate holds the door for one another! There is a nice variety of majors, sports, and especially clubs. Even if you don't see a club you like, get creative and start your own! There are good work-study opportunities for students, and that's even how I got my first real job, and even my promotion. The social events are sweet and surely aren't ones you want to miss! There's great school spirit in the big events such as Mount Madness. For graduation time graduates receive a beautiful ball where they are given the opportunity to express their sassy classy side, or just to dress up in general there is always the best May Day event which is the boat party at the end of every school year. every has their own style and is unique because of their identity and racial background. Also whoever thinks all the resdent students have fun? There are many events for commuter students as well which is a great way to always make commuter students feels part of the school and never left out.

    Bang for the buck

    Although the Mount is pricey, hey what did I expect? I knew I would be attending private school, so I am not as suprised by the tuition. I love the school even more when I compare it to other private schools with even higher tuitions. The Mount in my opinion is really not that expensive. One just has to know how to handle their money, especially when it comes to financial aid. Thanks to financila aid, I am at least able to cope with the school payments even though every now and then it is a little too much for my parents pocket. The school is worth it, not only because of the great programs and majors such as Nursing or communications, but also the students make up the beauty of the school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being at the Mount. if someone were to ask me if I wouldn't mind there not being breaks from the Mount, I wouldn't mind at all. the Mount, along with my friends, co-workers, schoolmates, events, social gatherings, and boyfriend has made me feel like the mount is pratically home. I honeslty sometimes find myself not wanting to go home after a school day, since unfortunately my parent could no longer afford paying resident student money after freshman year for me. I love the school spirit when it comes to the major events such as Midnight Madness( Mount Madness). The chapel is a beautiful place and even somewhere where I wouldn't mind considering for my wedding. The wildlife is beautiful because there are animals I myself has never seen before (such as racoons!), falcons, skunks, geese, coyote's, ect. I lovee spring and summer at the Mount especially with thee cherry blossom trees, and even in the fall when all the leafs on the trees turn a lovely red.

    Am learning a lot

    My mind has truly been opened to new thinking skills, creativity, comparison and respect. Apart from attending the Mount just to improve my chances for a career, I am also learning socially at the Mount. I have learned how to be more courteous, respectful, friendly, communication, and simply me. I feel smart, I feel intelligent, and ready with the necessary tools for the real world out there by attending the Mount.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many programs and events held in campus and many trips outside of the college. Its very interesting to go to all of them.

    Food and Dining

    There is nothing compared to home cooked meals. The food there is digestible, but you would not want to eat there often. You would value home cooked meals, they try to make it better, but it does not work. Not any special food or meals.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is a great experience, meeting new people, see how they really react to things, understanding reality. The are a lot of programs for the students at night.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics in the college is difficult, but not too difficult where a student can not handle it. There are many options available for the students to improve and/or ask for any assistance.

    Tips for prospective students

    The college is a great place if you just want to have great professor and do well. Students must know how to manage their time because the professors may help you with a lot of things, but they do not treat you like a child. The students are seen as responsible and mature young adults. The students her will develop a close relationship with their friends as well.

    In three sentences

    The College is a wonderful place. The professors are very kind and considerate. They work with the students to achieve better. The college is a small campus, where you will know a lot of people and they will always help anyone out.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security at the only gate all the time and in each of the dorms. They are friendly as well and will to assist as needed. I never have felt unsafe or at risk.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many sports to participate in and being a DIII school many opportunities for those of us who really enjoy sports but would not have been able to play DI nor wanted to put in the time commitment to them. This is a very happy alternative for me. It has kept me involved as I was all my life and had kept me very active.

    Bang for the buck

    This school for me is everything I could want. I come from rural America and was worried about being in the city. The campus is beautiful with a lot of green space making me feel at home. I also feel very safe here with on entrance to the campus and security there at all times. The rest of the campus is closed of to the public and the Hudson borders and protects it on the back side.

    What to do for fun

    Manhattan is our playground and is very easy to get to so we can do anything we like. We also have Van Cortland Park and may local shops. I am never board and always find things to do even if no one is around. There also is the gym no go to place.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is okay not like home but okay. I am satisfied. I do wish we had something late at night when studying like a small coffee shop that would be helpful.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms could use a makeover but they are okay especially if your friends are close by. I believe dorms are dorms not much you can do to them but the people in them make them great.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a difficulty school especially in the major I am pursuing. You need to find the time to study and balance all that is going on. It can be done but you do have to be disciplined.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open minded and willing to get involved. There is plenty to do to keep busy. Stay at school on the weekends to get to know people and you will enjoy the whole college experience

    In three sentences

    It is a wonderful school with great people who I know are forever friends. The school fosters education to its max as well as intergrating sports and socialization in. It is everything I dreamed a college to be.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    study hard

    Tips for prospective students

    is agreat school with great instructors just work hard n be willing to study

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has a lot of security.

    Greek Life

    There is Greek life on campus corresponding usually to a specific major but there are no fraternities or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school has clubs ranging from poetry to dance to theatre. Some clubs they have are cheer-leading, science, student government, dance troupes, newspaper committee, and radio clubs.

    Food and Dining

    As of now, the school has a great meal plan to accompany the dorming situation; the cafeteria is an 'all you can eat' setting. There is always a fully equipped salad bar, fresh fruits and bread every morning, there is fresh yogurt and a fully equipped deli counter.

    Dorm Life

    Dorming is really fun. It's convenient, the buildings are nice, it's extremely easy to get to know your school mates.

    Academic Rigor

    The school has a wide expanse of majors but it's known for the nursing programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Mount Saint Vincent is ideal if you like smaller populations, smaller classes; it's a very close knit school.

    In three sentences

    Overall, Mount Saint Vincent, is a really good school. The school is co-ed, has a wide expanse of clubs and sports, and it's mainly a small private catholic school with a beautiful campus.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can do anythin g, hang out with friends, play some sports, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want nursing, this would be a great fit for you. Nursing is the top major in this school and you wont regret coming here.

    In three sentences

    I really like this school because it is talked about in a good way wherever i go, or whoever i may speak to. The people there are really nice and helpful. the campus is beautiful and very calm.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing students

    What to do for fun

    Indoor games.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make connections with professors.

    In three sentences

    It is a small college. A student in there almost knows everybody. Class sizes are small meaning that students get more attention from their professors.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is not as secured as I would hope. The main gates are opened to the campus so people can come in and take in the scenery from that area. Nothing has happened yet but it would be better if it wasn't so opened to the public just for precaution. Cars have to be checked in at a security booth and dorms must scan in with school ID.

    What to do for fun

    As a biology major, I did not have much time for fun because I dedicated my time to studying and sleeping. Like I said before though, the school holds various activities that student can attend. I attended a few but if you dorm there you can attend to most of them.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent; there are currently two cafeterias and so far I do not have any complaints, the few times I have eaten there.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm so I could not give any reviews referring to interior lifestyle. However, I did commute and I most say, I regret it. Commuting took up so much of my time and I felt like I hardly got any rest. I do reccommend to live on campus, because I believe that you would be able to rest and study more. It is helpful if you are in a study group and pull an allnighter with your fellow peers. Compared to craming at home because you have to get up two hours extra just to get to school. Compared to someone that is just 10 minutes away from class. I honestly reccommend it 100% and the school holds lots of activities on campus for students.

    Academic Rigor

    Many professors will give you special time after school if you do not understand a concept and even offer extra credit to help with your grade. This does not mean you should take advantage of this and not put any effort into your school work. The professors are willing to go to an extent in assisting you with your studies, if you strive for knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to register for class early and make time to study for your courses. Yes, college is supposed to be the best four years of your life, but you should prioritize it. A higher grade can open various door and a valued GPA can get you more scholarships and grants.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very nice and classes are small; between 20-30 students for each class. Lots of classes are offered for your concentration and the school also offers pre-profession programs to guide you to your future career.

  • 09/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do on campus such as: going to the city the great thing about the school is its location in Riverdale, Bronx a safe area where college students can freely walk off campus. There's also comedy shows, sport events, clubs and off campus events.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious there are two areas on campus to buy food the cafe is newly built, your food is cooked right on the spot. With the newly built cafe there is indoor and outdoor sitting areas.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is exciting, there are five residential halls that are beautifully modelled and furnished. The people are friendly in the dorm exciting school events happening like school parties,socials and many others.The room are great size with twin beds, desk, chair, drawers and great size closet

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are pretty rigorous but there is no shortcut to a great education.Smaller classes so you can get additional help from your teacher. The school also offers tutoring for every subject in the library. The professors also have office hours to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    For students coming to the school if you don't mind a smaller school with a more personal relationship with peers and students than this school is just right for you.Also offers programs such as Biology, Nursing, natural science , business and many more programs.

    In three sentences

    College of Mount Saint Vincent is a great Catholic private school. Great college experience, includes sports such as: Basketball,lacrosse,baseball,wrestling and soccer. The fact that it is smaller than other schools allows one on help from teachers.

  • 02/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs at the school for extra- curricular activities, the gym is open for work out in the evenings. i believe there are Zumba, Yoga and other dance classes available in the evening free of cost. There are many bars and restaurants around the area for weekend or week night outs. There is also a shuttle bus that takes you to the train station and this train goes into the city (Manhattan). The train and shuttle ride put you at a hour and 10 minutes max to get into the city. Driving will put you at 40 minutes max(driving is however not recommended if you want to go to the city to party unless off course there is a designated driver).

    Food and Dining

    They are trying in regards to variety but the food could be better. Food tend to be a little expensive at the Mount, but every student receives 'dolphin dollars on their ID card every semester. You get $100 if you are a commuter student and a lot more if you dorm. This fee however is charged in the tuition. So,in short you can use your ID to get food until the money runs out. Going forward you have to use cash or replenish your card. The dining area is new, it opened Fall 2012, so it is pretty new and comfy.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus but based on what I have heard and seen, I gave dorm life at The Mount 3 stars.

    Academic Rigor

    Especially for the Nursing program

    Tips for prospective students

    The Acceptance rate is pretty good but especially for the nursing program they want the best of the best. The college buildings are old but they are working out. The campus overlooks the Hudson River, the campus is also very beautiful with a lot of trees and a grotto

    In three sentences

    Very beautiful campus. Really great professors. Tend to have a high school feel sometimes.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus, there is always security roaming around.

    Food and Dining

    There not much variety in food and it's expensive.

    Dorm Life

    Everybody is really nice but the bathrooms get really dirty sometimes.

    Academic Rigor

    Difficult but there are people to help when you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a small school where you'll know the majority of the students and your professors than this is the school for you.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are very attentive and help you when you need it. There are many resources for whatever type of help you need. The school is really small and there aren't many clubs and activities to participate in, there is also no school spirit.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    not much variety

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are mediocre. Once again, NOT worth the money

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you can afford all 4 years!

    In three sentences

    The school may seem like the right fit when you visit for orientation or open house but it does not cater to people who may not be able to afford it. The administration is VERY unprofessional and it honestly isn't worth the money.

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is friendly and sociable with the students. They show that they really care for the students and their well-being.

    Clubs and Activities

    The dance clubs put on shows every month. Also the acting club does about five plays a year. A lot of students are involved in student government because they want to make changes for the better so students could have a more enjoyable college experience.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for students who do not like big class sizes and who would like their professors to know their names, and not jut another face in the crowd.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an old house on campus that a priest use to live in, and it is said to be haunted. Students have gone into it, and they say items move and it is very creepy.

    What to do for fun

    Student can play basketball in one of the two basketball gyms, work out, hang out and play catch with a football, baseball or lacrosse on the quad. Also students play a frisbee game called Kan-Jam which is pretty fun. The school has activities such as little carnival every few months and students can invite friends and their family members to come join.

    Food and Dining

    There are not a lot of options for food, but with the choices there, the food is decent. The prices are very high.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are challenging, but they do make you want to learn. They make you earn your grade, and also give you chances to boost it up. Also, those late nights in the library pay off when you get a test back and got the grade you expected.

    Tips for prospective students

    Most professors are very friendly and want you to ask them for help, so do not hesitate to ask for any. Small school so you will get to know everyone.

    In three sentences

    The College of Mount Saint Vincent is a good school to attend because it has good curriculum for all the majors and minor that they offer. It is a nice small school with a beautiful campus, and usually they plan at least one event a month for students. The only problem is the high food prices, sometimes no one answers the phones, and its a little high priced.

  • 08/19/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not really anything. Theres a lot of activities but not a lot of variety.

    Food and Dining

    Be prepared to spend money in other places for food because the cafe food is decent but always the same. The food is over-priced and sometimes not cooked well.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms need updating and more cleaning. I used to dorm and I had to clean my room daily because of the dust that the room accumulates. The bathrooms as well need a little more work. It also depends on the peoples hygiene.

    Academic Rigor

    The advisors are unprofessional and you need to be on there case for many, many things. I recommend asking them to do things three months before it is due because thy will take their time. But if you owe them oney they'll threaten to kick you out quick.

    In three sentences

    The College of Mount Saint Vincent is absolute trash. The school is worth too much for nothing. Get out while you can! the school is not worth your time, money, or patience.

  • 04/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty good. There is always security driving around, at the entrance of campus, and at the front desk of the dorm buildings.

    Greek Life

    nonexistent

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some clubs, but not as many as other schools. I noticed that state schools have a lot more clubs and activities than this one and state schools are less expensive.

    Great for these types of students

    A lot of the students are athletes here, myself included. Playing a sport here was the best part of my experience because I liked my teammates. There is barely any school spirit tho. Only the athletes go to the other athletes games to support them. We don't have a football team or hockey team and we don't have any fields on campus yet, so no one really wants to travel to see the games.

    Bang for the buck

    It's only worth it if you get a lot of money to go here or if you are a nursing major. This school is basically all about the nursing program and it's only really known for that.

    What to do for fun

    Thursday is the only fun day, but honestly it gets old pretty fast. People will have dorm parties but they aren't that good. A dorm can only fit so many people and if the music is loud the RAs are there to write you up. There is one or 2 bars that people like to go to, but it is always the same people that go, so you never really meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    There is one main caf which is open 8am-11pm Sunday thru Thursday which is good. But on Friday and saturday it is only open for a few hours because barely anyone is here on the weekends. The caf is okay, but it's the same food over and over again, so you get sick of it very fast.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are a decent size. Not worth dorming here though, because no one stays on the weekends. Everyone goes home except the few out of state people. It is so boring and not worth all the money to live here, because you do not get the college dorm life experience here.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors really get to know their students. You can never really miss class because the professors all take attendance and if you miss a class or two it affects your grade. It is good because it kinda forces you to not miss class, but it feels like I never left high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a small school that is mostly girls and mostly nursing students then this is your school. Personally, my experience here has not been that great. I am transferring, because I want a school with more than just 1,300 students (many of which are commuters, so it really only feels like a few hundred students). I also want a school with more clubs and activities. I really just want to get the full college experience, which I did not feel like I got here. I really did like most of my professors though. Another reason I am transferring is that this school is mainly only known for their nursing program, which I am not in.

    In three sentences

    A very small college that feels more like a boarding school for high schoolers. Small classes, which is good if you want your professors to really know you. Not much to do on campus or around here, unless you plan on taking trains/buses to the city every weekend.