Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

College of Mount St. Joseph Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The Mount is great for students who need hands on attention or prefer a small class size and campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come down and visit the mount and take a guided tour by one of the students. It's a great experience which will give you a much more in depth idea of what it would be like to go to Mount Saint Joseph.

    Bang for the buck

    The Mount is a pricey private school, but they've also got a high percentage rate of graduation. Thanks to the small student to teacher ratio, the Mount's courses will cater to your needs and help you excel in the classroom in a way that only a small college can. The dorm rooms are roomy and have very nice lounges with televisions, pool tables, microwaves, refrigerators and more. The food court and dinning hall offer great food with an All you care to enjoy moto, you can walk through the buffet line as many times as you wish and only pay once. The food also varies quite a lot day to day, the same dish or combination of dishes are never served close together.

    Am enjoying being here

    The Mount is a very friendly, small campus and it's hard to find a face you don't recognize. There is a wide variety of clubs for students to join and the Campus Activities Board (CAB) is always holding some new, fun event from making your own Build A Bear, movie nights, exam jams or even pottery designing.

    Am learning a lot

    When I first came to Mount Saint Joseph, I felt uncomfortable and unconfident because I didn't know a lot about the field I was studying. Luckily for me the professors are kind and respect students and will do anything to help them succeed. Its not uncommon that professors will stay after class to help a student with a problem in the classroom or in life in general.

  • 09/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    I just started but I am already loving the Mount! There are so many friendly people here and everyone is always willing to help each other out. I love all of my instructors , they are willing to meet with you one on one if needed. Not only that but The Mount has an awesome tutor program if you're in need.

  • 06/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who like people. This may seem a bit ironic considering the school is so small, but because of its size, it's very easy to find someone you can relate to. Chances are that person will know a greater circle of people and soon you'll know everyone!

    Tips for prospective students

    You don't have to be Roman-Catholic to attend this school. Many of the people are religious and come from private high schools, however, I'm not a religious person and I still feel more than comfortable there. Don't let the religious affiliation scare you, it's a good school.

    Bang for the buck

    At first I thought this school was crazy expensive, but after talking to friends from other schools, I've realized that I have the better deal. Tuition includes SO much -- parking pass, student ID, peer tutoring service, the math center, the writing center, and much more. It's worth the investment.

    Am enjoying being here

    As a commuter, it can be very difficult to make friends. However, by putting yourself out there and going to various events, you quickly turn that around. Overall, the students are nice, the professors are knowledgeable, and the staff is helpful and encouraging.

    Am learning a lot

    I've always considered myself a math and science type of person who also loved the field of psychology and hated English. However, thanks to the support of the professors who want nothing but for me to succeed, I've discovered my inner writer. Not only am I learning a lot about my major, I'm learning a lot about myself!

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is always being patrolled and there are security cameras in every major hallway with the exception of the dorms.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are abundant and if they do not have a club that you would like to be a part of there is the option of starting your own. I personally have been a part of a few volunteer volunteer opportunities such as Students for a Greater Cincinnati which focus on improving communities in the Cincinnati area, clubs such as Habitat for Humanity that work with the Cincinnati chapter then typically either during spring break or summer vacation they will pick a location to work on a house construction project. From my experience I have been to Mobile, Alabama and Greenwood South Carolina.

    Great for these types of students

    Those not into the big party scene like what you would typically find at a major university may like this college.

    Bang for the buck

    Being that the Mount is a private Catholic college the total cost is more, but at the same time the financial aid I receive really brings down the cost to what I would be paying at a public school.

    What to do for fun

    Usually most of the fun is off campus. My friends and I go down to Newport of the Levee right off of 471-S where they have a lot of restaurants and an AMC movie complex. Newport has a very nice view of the Cincinnati skyline. It is also a good spot to see the Labor Day fireworks. Another place to find something to do is to go to Glenway avenue which is closer to the Mount than Newport. There is lasertag, bowling, restaurants (chipotle, panda express, panera just to name a very few), and shopping places like target, walmart, sears, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The Fifth Third Dining Hall has food is acceptable though it can be difficult for someone who likes a wide variety of healthy choices. There is a sandwich bar where you can have just about any type of sandwich made for you, or if you are on the go you can have a bagged meal made for you that has the sandwich of you choice and a few sides and a drink. On the occasions where the college is holding an event then they have their hired food service provider, Sanese, do the catering. The food they provide during the catered events is delicious.

    Dorm Life

    It's convenient living on campus in that you can roll out of bed and go to class five minutes before it starts. If you are like me and easily distracted then you may find it difficult getting assignments and studying done. Being that your financial aid can be used to cover off-campus living, getting a close to campus apartment may present fewer stresses while still achieving some form of independence.

    Academic Rigor

    Highly competitive majors such as nursing and athletic training require a lot of focus and commitment. I have known very few to successfully pull-off working and succeeding in nursing.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going into the highly competitive majors minimize distractions like work and partying all the time. Choose your battles wisely. When left with a choice between pulling an all nighter before a test and getting a good night's sleep, choose sleep.

    In three sentences

    The College of Mount St Joseph is a college that has a great teacher to student ratio (about 1:20). The staff and faculty are supportive of the students. It is away from downtown Cincinnati so there is a calmer atmosphere.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Almost everything that happens goes through the Campus Police first. Safety is never an issue.

    Greek Life

    There aren't any on campus Greek facilities.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is very very affordable. Their financial aid packages are unbelievably big. The school without a doubt makes every attempt to make sure your education is affordable.

    What to do for fun

    The school is minutes away from the downtown Cincinnati area, which has many things to do for college students. There's a place called Newport on the Levee, which has a movie theater, bowling alley, anything you could think of!

    Food and Dining

    Their dining rooms are amazingly large and they have different places on campus where you can grab a cappuccino before classes when you're in a rush.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are rather small. I'll be staying in an east double, and there are so many things to be done to the room, they are just kind of small to be a double.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel as a first year student, the classes will definitely be challenging, but not to the point where they want you to fail. Of course success/failure in a class is mainly dependent on the student and their work ethic, so you have to stay focused.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to the Housing Department early about roommates. I was able to be in contact with my roommate months before classes started which was a huge icebreaker!

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    4 ****

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Awesome place to be.

    Bang for the buck

    More than average aid.

    What to do for fun

    The activities committee has things going on daily.

    Food and Dining

    Awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    Many activities. Normal workload on average, not inc 'll ufing accelerated clssses.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are not a bunch of Nuns running around the campus. Very safe neighborhood and campus.

    In three sentences

    The college has a family type environment. The teachrrs are very helpful and there class schedules offer flexibilty.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus. Great program and teachers.

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is excellent.

    What to do for fun

    Go downtown and other places in the city for fun filled adventures.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider your major and determine the right college fit for you and your interests.

    In three sentences

    It is a great small community filled with helpful and friendly people willing to help you succeed!

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If you have a car, there are a lot of fun things to do downtown. There are restaurants, music, sports, history and art museums, galleries for art lovers, theaters, and other events. Newport has a great movie theater and view of downtown. Cincinnati is also filled with many big and small parks for nature/outdoor lovers. The river can be fun to go to for the view on a nice day, or to see it lit up at night.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the Mount is acceptable. I enjoyed eating there as long as I didn't order the same thing every day. Students love it or hate it. Honestly, I think it has more to do with their desire to complain, or possibly missing mom's food at home. Sometimes the food services could do a better job not making things greasy, etc. However, for the most part, the food is fine. They usually have specials, and those are very good. During special events, the food can get pretty fancy, and very delicious.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life could be a great experience or frustrating. I lived in the dorms for two years. There are dorms, halls, lobbies, and floors that are either louder or quiet. Depending on your personality, you would simply socialize with the outgoing halls, or study in the deserted ones. There are so many small side lounges that it is not hard to find either one. The sizes in the rooms are very acceptable, especially compared to other colleges that will put two extra students in the same sized room. If you have a car, it is easy to drive downtown or to a nearby park for a good time. If not, it can be hard to find things to do off campus. Luckily, there are many clubs and events that are constantly going on on campus and off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    If a college's academic program is good, the rest is up to the individual student to participate and receive the best education possible. The Mount's program has a lot to offer, and the more you participate with professors and delve into topics, the better the outcome is! Even after requirements are met for courses, you are always encouraged to take the next step and learn more. Each professor has more sources and materials that never make it into the course. By having good relationships with them, they happily share as much of that knowledge as you would like.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest attending all classes for courses. It might be very tempting to skip classes, but the professors teach a lot during class that is lost if you are not there. Going to classes is the best and easiest way to talk about topics and gain the best education that is being paid for.

    In three sentences

    The College of Mount St. Joseph is a great small school where you can get to know the professors. They love what they teach and are happy to share what they know. It is easy to learn a lot and uphold a high standard for personal growth.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is very safe, considering we have police officers on campus 24/7 to help you whenever you need assistance. Their office is also conveniently located on the bottom floor of the dorm building so it is easy to access them when needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs here at Mount Saint Joseph that any student can join. One example of a club is CAB. This club helps to organize events on campus for students so they can get to know one another and enjoy their experience here on campus. They sponsor many free events such as movie and game night, Bingo, holiday events, and so much more!

    Great for these types of students

    The College of Mount Saint Joseph is an excellent college for student athletes. It is also great for students who with to go into the health care field when they get older, considering our college is nationally known for their academics. Another great reason to come to our college is because we have smaller class sizes, so if you are someone looking for that one on one attention from a teacher than the College of Mount Saint Joseph is an excellent choice!

    What to do for fun

    Many of the students who go to the College of Mount Saint Joseph play some type of sport whether it is lacrosse, basketball, soccer and more, so there's always a sporting event that is going on. The college also has game nights and movie night outside so you can go relax and have fun with your friends. They also have a great work out facility so if you ever feel the urge to run or lift you can do so.

    Food and Dining

    The food is always great here, with so many options to choose from. You can go to the dinning hall where they serve main course meals along with constant foods such as pizza, and salad or you can venture down to the Harrington Center, where they have quesadillas, hamburgers, Panini's, wraps, and so much more!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing! There are so many activities that go on and everyone gets to know each other so well because of the small campus. This makes it easier to make new friends and enjoy your college experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The college of Mount Saint Joseph is nationally know for their academics, especially in the health care field. Many students who get a degree here have a very high rate of finding a well qualified job after graduating.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should always work their hardest to achieve their goals. But our college realizes that sometimes students need an extra boost or some help with achieving them which is why we have a learning center where students can go and get tutored. We also have success coaches who are people students can go talk to on a personal and private manner if they are having troubles with any problem they are experiencing. Another tip for students is to not over stress yourself, yes some stress is good but too much can have negative effects on your school work and mind. This is why our campus as events that are always occurring, to help students relax, unwind and enjoy their time here.

    In three sentences

    I think the College of Mount Saint Joseph is a wonderful school. Not only is it conveniently next to many restaurant's and shopping centers, they also have beautiful scenery. Another great quality about them is that they have smaller classes so I really do feel as though my teachers care about my grade and we can connect on a person level.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Walk around the campus to hunt down your classes before the day you start class.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are amazing and the material relates to your major. The nursing program is phenomenal and very competitive! The teachers keep you on your toes.

  • 11/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You are five minutes from downtown cincinnati. There are various places to eat and many attractions. You can go see many professional sports and enjoy any day in the greater Cincinnati area.

    Food and Dining

    great food and great for your health

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is comfortable and cozy

    Academic Rigor

    Academics would be rated a five.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep great relationships with the professors. It will help you in your future.

    In three sentences

    College of Mount St. Joseph would be one of the top rated colleges in Cincinnati. They are based around great ethics and value hard work. This college challenges their students to bring out every great quality in each of them.

  • 11/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Mounts campus is extremely safe and the neighborhood is very nice. We have campus police that are always around, and there is never a moment where I do not feel safe.

    Greek Life

    To my understanding there is no Greek life at the Mount.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of Clubs to join at the Mount and they always have fun things planned.

    Great for these types of students

    The Mount is a great college for students looking for a small school where they can make great friendships and get to know there professors well. I love the fact that my professors know my name and help me with any problems that I have.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition may seem a lot at first, but the Mount offers a lot of money in scholarships and they also work with students who need assistance. The tuition pays of campus activities, tutoring, printing fees, and credit hours.

    What to do for fun

    There are many places off of campus to go in the greater Cincinnati area where you can have fun. There is also activities on campus and the Campus Activities Board always has events planed for each semester.

    Food and Dining

    I think that the food at the Mount is wonderful. There are multiple places on campus to get food and they are all great. I eat lunch at school three times a week and it is delicious. The food is also decently priced and there are meal plans available.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, but I've heard that dorm life is fun. The Mount is a small campus so you really get to know the other students, and there are plenty a places to go and have fun around the Mount. The dorms themselves are very nice and they have recently renovated some of the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I am not sure how to rated the academic rigor based on stars. The difficulty of the classes at the Mount really depend on your major, but professors are usually willing to help students with anything that they are struggling with. The Mount also has free tutoring, which can be extremely helpful when classes get tough. I am a Nursing major, which takes up a lot of time and the classes are very hard, but manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a school where you can have a relationship with your professors, and be able to ask them for individual help then the Mount is the school for you. The College of Mount Saint Joesph also offers great scholarships that really help with the tuition. If you have any interest in the Mount then come for a visit, you won't regret it.

    In three sentences

    The College of Mount Saint Joesph is a fantastic college, and I am so glad that I choose to attend the Mount. The professors at the Mount really care about their students, and since it is a small college they can focus on helping students when they are struggling. In July the Mount will become a University and have more graduate programs, but it will remain a small institution.