Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Notre Dame of Maryland University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is one of the most safe ones i've heard of. There have been no problems with unwanted people entering or school or bullies of any kind. The enviroment is always quiet and calm, no matter if its in the morning or at night. But just for precaution they do have around the clock security that is there in case your feeling unsafe and will be more than happy to take you to your dorm.

    Food and Dining

    We only have 2 eating areas, which do seem to be high priced for the food they serve. The first place is a buffet which does carry a variety of foods from all over the worlds, in order to meet international students needs. The food is also healthy and well prepared by a catering company. However for the buffet you cant eat whenever you want, so if your a midnight eater you might wanna stack up on your own food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are smaller than Towson, so if you plan to be in your dorm a lot you could have spatial issues. They also have communal showers so you will be sharing them with a floor of about 20-30 people which can be a hassle. But other than that when its quiet time, people respect your sleep and your privacy.

    Academic Rigor

    Along with their diversity if students, they also have a diversity of courses. That range from the education sector to the nursing and pharmacy sector. Whatever your career path may be, Notre dame most likely has.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure when your deciding what school you want to go to, ask your self if the environment of the school is right for you. When it comes to Notre dame we are a fairly small school in a area not surrounded by much. ( except Towson mall) so if your someone who likes the party environment, Notre dame probably wont be right for you.

    In three sentences

    Notre dame provides students with not just a learning enviroment but a growing enviroment. With the wide diversity and experience of all the students and teachers, Notre dame will make sure you are never lost and never confused.

  • 12/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Think again. If you like being taught by nice old nuns and don't mind the cramped quarters with other girls, go for it.

    Bang for the buck

    There is a lot of money one puts into this college and most of its effects remain to be seen when it applies to the student personally.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's an all girls school. I thought I would be okay with this and I am, until some girl-based drama starts. This is a very common occurrence too. The campus is small and the campus events are mediocre at best. It's all very high school like with the maintaining of orientation-formed cliques and groups. I have jumped groups since I've been here. Once a drifter, always a drifter.

    Am learning a lot

    In my first semester I have learned the ups and downs of college. Everything hit hard here, the teachers are nice in the classroom, but will cut you down when your final grades come about. The teachers do try there best to get you to understand the work, but the way they do it is not always fitting of ALL students present.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt unsafe on campus. I take evening classes and always walk to my car with another student when it is dark, regardless of the well lit areas. That is just common sense though.

    Bang for the buck

    It is pricey but allows for small class sizes and personal relationships with staff and students.

    What to do for fun

    Notre Dame is near too many things to mention. Go south and you'll be in the Inner Harbor where you'll find a plethora of restaurants, theaters, concerts/live music, museums, and night life. Head north and you'll run into suburban Towson area with great shopping, food, and night life.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten in Doyle Hall before but have used the vending machines. I am happy to see that this college has brought the healthy options machines on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your academic advisor right away. This person will be the key to success and ease of registering for classes each semester. They are tuned in.

    In three sentences

    The College of Notre Dame of Maryland is a wonderful school because it provides many possible schedules allowing flexibility for students of all ages. The professors are respectful, considerate, and dedicated to the students. The campus is gorgeous, offers free parking, and is easy to get around on foot.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As a student taking night classes and living off-campus, sometimes leaving classes is a little uncomfortable since there is not a lot of lighting in all areas. There is plenty in the main areas and main parking, but the other parking and sidewalks can be a little disconcerting.

    What to do for fun

    Since the college is just a short distance from downtown Baltimore (Inner Harbor), and Fells Point, there is never a lack of entertainment, food, and fun. The metro system can take you wherever you want to go at a reasonable fee.

    Food and Dining

    Food is available for residents more easily than for off-campus students.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are excellent at this college. I believe I am learning more than at any other school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to an advisor about your degree program in it's entirety before enrolling. Check the past two classes available along with locations before committing to ensure the classes are in a location of your choice.

    In three sentences

    Excellent program options for students from all backgrounds, gender, age, and diversities. They believe in discussion based learning instead of lecture based learning. There are many class options available, but most of them are at the main campus.

  • 12/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Chritstmas dinner is an anual tradition where students have dinner with each other and with their professors. The students are served dinner by their professors and recieve gifts from their professors.

    Bang for the buck

    The educational experience is worth the money paid but the services provided by departments such as the business office or financial aid department is a bit disappointing.

    What to do for fun

    Movie nights, karaoke nights, late night breakfast during finals week.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not terrible but it could be better. Also, we only have one dining hall and a little cafe type of area.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, I am not a resident student.

    Academic Rigor

    The course material encourages students to work hard and learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take time to ask questions and explore the campus.

    In three sentences

    Notre Dame of MD is a small, friendly university. All the professors are willing to help and encourage their students. Some professors just have their own way of showing encouragement.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Notre Dame has a nice, small cafeteria. It's not busy and crowded, which makes it a nice environment for a quiet break.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very convenient at Notre Dame. Each student get her own dorm room, which means no roommates. I personally find that more comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are taken very seriously at Notre Dame. They truly want all their students to be successful. Many study rooms are available for the students and professors are always available to help.

    In three sentences

    Notre Dame of Maryland University is a welcoming and beautiful school. The school of pharmacy is new and is a perfect environment for students to learn. I highly recommend applying to this university.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If there isn't a campus movie night or carnival going on that weekend you can always hop on the Collegetown Shuttle which takes you to all of the other Baltimore colleges. This connectes you to the more than 100.000 other college students in Baltimore!

    Food and Dining

    There is one dining hall on campus that serves a variety of meal options for breakfast, lunch, and dinner every day.

    Dorm Life

    After your freshman year you can move into Melitia Hall, which is awesome. You have air conditioning, your own bathroom, and you get to live in a super historic building with really high ceilings.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at NDMU are very serious. There is a lot of writing but your professors freshman year work very hard with you to drastically improve your writing abilities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Schedule an overnight visit! You can stay here overnight with a current student, attend classes, eat in the dining hall, and see if NDMU works for you!

    In three sentences

    I am so happy to call NDMU my home during the school year. I could not be happier with my decision to go here! The staff and faculty care so much for the students and I live it!

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is one of the most safe ones I've heard of. There have been no problems with unwanted people entering or school or bullies of any kind. The environment is always quiet and calm, no matter if its in the morning or at night. Even with that would say at night walk with other girls are call security to take you to your car or your dorm.

    Bang for the buck

    It is pricey but allows for small class sizes and personal relationships with staff and students.

    Food and Dining

    Can be come experience to eat food so if you are a commuter bring you own food. If you ear here Food can gets a bit tiring after a while.

    Dorm Life

    I am not a resident

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor depends on the teacher you have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to an advisor about your degree program in it's entirety before enrolling. Check the past two classes available along with locations before committing to ensure the classes are in a location of your choice. Also put their studies first. Do not let the glamour of college partying, or college boys, or anything not related to your studies take priority over them. Learn to make time for things you enjoy but don't let them supersede your education.

    In three sentences

    Excellent program options for students from all backgrounds, gender, age, and diversities. They believe in discussion based learning instead of lecture based learning. There are many class options available, and most of them are at the main campus.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Towson Mall is a short ride away and anyone can get on the Collegetown Shuttle and head down to the Inner Harbor.

    Food and Dining

    Expensive and not the best tasting. I applaud the kitchen staff for the hard work they put into feeding us but I am not a fan of the dishes themselves.

    Dorm Life

    Relatively quiet.

    Academic Rigor

    College of Notre Dame has an extremely rigorous, no-nonsense academic courses. They challenge students to step up to a plate that I never even imagined, much less thought I could achieve.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students I would say to put their studies first. Do not let the glamor of college partying, or college boys, or anything not related to your studies take priority over them. Learn to make time for things you enjoy but don't let them supersede your education.

    In three sentences

    The College of Notre Dame is challenging. It is also defining. It is the best college for anyone hoping to make an impact, great or small, on society.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus security guards on campus ALL of the time! Whenever I am on campus I constantly see them patrolling around campus. They are friendly and are happy to help fix any concerns one may have.

    Greek Life

    There is one sorority on campus called Omega Phi Alpha. However, it is a national service sorority not a social sorority. I am a current member and will be the treasurer next academic year. I love being a part of this sorority because I have met so many great people. I also have been able to complete service projects that make me feel like I have contributed to the betterment of the community.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for just about anything and everyone. All of the clubs are welcoming. Road scholars is an organization for commuter students for example, but residents are more than welcome to attend. Dances are held throughout the semester and students are welcome to bring friends.

    Great for these types of students

    Notre Dame is great for students who are eager to learn and want to receive an excellent education. The campus has a diverse group of students on campus and does not contain one specific group.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Honors Convocation occurs at the beginning of each semester. It is for freshman and transfer students. Students wear the same cap and gown at convocation that they will wear at graduation. While wearing the cap and gown students take the honor pledge. There is a student and faculty Christmas dinner where the faculty serves the students dinner.

    Bang for the buck

    Notre Dame is HUGE on COMMUNITY!!!

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and activities on campus. Movies are shown on the weekends. Many times there is bingo and other activities on the weekend as well. Downtown Baltimore is not far from Notre Dame. Towson is also close as well. There are many great restaurants and entertainment downtown. In Towson, there is a huge wall and also great places to eat.

    Food and Dining

    Notre Dame has two places to dine. I tend to go to Gator Alley which has delicious quesadillas and paninis. The main cafeteria has a waffle maker and omelette station for breakfast along with cereal, bagels, toast, etc. Ice cream is served all day. Lunch and dinner choices vary. There is always a sandwich and salad station. The food is generally good. I just prefer Gator Alley as a commuter.

    Dorm Life

    I am not a resident, but I will be one next year. I have stayed on campus before though and loved the experience. I did not have to worry about noisy neighbors while trying to do homework and then sleep. Every one tends to respect one another. It is nice being surrounded by all of your friends and being able to see them more often.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challenging at Notre Dame, but in a good way. I am a part of the Elizabeth Morrissy Honors Program which contains difficult classes. I have appreciated the work I have completed thus far because I have learned how to critically think and apply previous knowledge from one subject to another. Th professors challenge you, but they do so because they see your potential from the very beginning.

    Tips for prospective students

    I stayed over night at Notre Dame to see how I liked the campus and also attended a few classes before I became a student. I would recommend scheduling a tour, staying for an over night, and shadowing classes to get a feel for Notre Dame.

    In three sentences

    Notre Dame is a beautiful, peaceful campus. A sense of community is felt which is why I chose Notre Dame. The academics are challenging, but the professors are there to help their students along the way and to help them receive an excellent education.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that like small classes and campuses. Students that do not mind of all female schools.

    Bang for the buck

    A bit pricey and is a private school.

    What to do for fun

    I hang out my friends at student events and personal movies.

    Food and Dining

    Food gets a bit tiring after a while.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty decent, just be careful of which floor you are on.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor depends on the teacher you have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your financial affairs are in order.

    In three sentences

    This college has small but personal class sizes. The campus is quiet and tranquil. The faculty is friendly and helpful.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students that don't work and can live on campus

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Full of traditions. Senior do a bunch for the hundred nights before graduation.

    What to do for fun

    Close to everything!

    Food and Dining

    Food is horrible. Food allergies are poorly accomodated.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have an open schedule for classes, they have limited times.

    In three sentences

    The philosophy department is fantastic. The psychology department is lacking. The disabilities center is horrible.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I will not be purchasing food or dining on campus

    Dorm Life

    I will not be at a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not started classes yet but I have been assured that this program will help push me to excel and succeed with my personal goald.

    In three sentences

    I have not started classes but so far this was my college of choice ,as the employees were so helpful. I have visited the Higher Education building to have a meeting with the academic advisor and she made me feel so welcomed. I think it is great that they provide classes for teachers to recieve their masters program without having to travel to the campus, instead it is all close by.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is only one sorority on campus, Omega Phi Alpha.

    What to do for fun

    The school is in Baltimore so there are museums and concerts and anything you could ever want to do very close by

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is not so great, but there is a lot of food nearby since the school is in the city.

    Dorm Life

    It's not for everyone. The school is small. so that means there aren't tons of people on campus to party with. Most girls make it work for them.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on your program, of course, but the professors are always trying to push you to achieve more. It will surprise you how much you are capable of!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and talk to current students! That is the best way for you to get a feel for whether Notre Dame is the right home for you or not.

    In three sentences

    Notre Dame is the perfect environment for focused young women. There is so much support from the faculty! It truly is everything it promises to be.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have only seen patrols three times a day. but i am not their at night either

    Clubs and Activities

    their are to many to list just go online ndm.edu

    Great for these types of students

    dorm and short commuter students.

    What to do for fun

    Baltimore is right their! Art gallarys, museams and great clubs. Washing ton D.C is a short train ride and has even more fun activitys.

    Food and Dining

    from what i can tell its great

    Dorm Life

    not a dorm student

    Academic Rigor

    Their are a lot of classes that require out of class time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Commuter students may want to look at traffic patterns and think about if the classes are worth it. The people are warm but remember its a catholic University. Rolly back packs and be prepared to clime 6 flights of steps.

    In three sentences

    this school is amazing. The people are warm and inviting, although a bit small minded. The campus is small enough to feel important but large enough to feel like your out of high school.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There was an alleged rape about a month ago and the the campus didn't really do anything about it. On the news they made it seem like they were but in reality there was nothing being done. The security just sits in their cars but they aren't out much at all at nighttime when you actually need them!

    Greek Life

    There is one sorority here and it is a service sorority . They do somethings but it's not really that big. They mainly just volunteer at places and do stuff like that.

    Clubs and Activities

    Isn't really a lot of clubs and activities. The biggest club here is Campus Ministry.

    Great for these types of students

    People who enjoy being alone, constant quiet, and who just want to sit and study all day.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is a complete waste of $41,000. Not to mention, since so many people are transferring or changing to commuter status the tuition is planned to go up to $50,000 next year. This school is not worth that much!

    What to do for fun

    There is very little to do for fun here. There are a few religious events they do since the school is Catholic but overall there is nothing to do. You have to go out to the Inner Harbor or something to have fun. All the people do here is sit in their rooms and they are not friendly. The older girls do not want to accept the freshman and transfers as their friends so it's hard to make friends here at first.

    Food and Dining

    The food is terrible! The only time it is good is when there is a formal function or event going on at the school. They only make vegan food and there is literally nothing normal to eat. Gator Alley isn't much better, they serve the same sandwiches everyday so it gets old quickly. I have had to buy my own food and just eat in my room for the whole semester. My parents wasted $3,000 on a meal plan I can't even use because the food is nasty!!

    Dorm Life

    No one stays here on weekends, the social life is non-existent, you have to make your own fun around here which is REALLY hard to do, and they advertise to prospective students that they have tons of fun activities they plan for the girls all semester long but in reality we have only had 3 activities all semester!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are okay, some of the teachers I have had are pretty good but others are terrible. I am a nursing student and was excited to come here since they are starting a new program. Don't do it if you are a nursing student, the program is so unorganized and they don't really have a plan cut out for it yet. You are better off going to University of MD or Salisbury where they already have a long standing established program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider all of your other options before coming here!!

    In three sentences

    HORRIBLE! Do not come here, avoid this school at all costs! This school sweet talks tons of people into coming here and then when you do come here you find out it was all a bunch of lies. I have hated my time here and cannot wait for the semester to end so I can transfer! The food is horrible, there is NOTHING to do, the tuition is rising next year because so many people are leaving because they don't like it, and there is literally no one here on the weekends.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Only one community service sorority. If you're looking for NPHC orgs, you will need to look into citywide chapters.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Honors Convocation - You get to wear your cap and gown as a freshman!

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, but worth it for the academics.

    What to do for fun

    Have a car or a friend with a car, and/or friends at other schools. Nothing goes on here. Literally. But we do get a lot of discounts on museums and arts events through Baltimore Collegetown.

    Food and Dining

    Sage tries to offer healthy food choices but they're terribly repetitive and bland. Dining hours are short. So, you should either keep extra money for take out or your own snacks/groceries.

    Dorm Life

    Doyle: Pretty gross, small, noisy and overrun with freshmen (and their drama). However, it's close to Knott, and it houses Gator Alley and the dining hall. Dinner in your PJs. (But don't do that..) Meletia: Clean, quiet, more spacious, and you don't have to see anyone if you don't want to. There's also a balcony. Only downside is its distance from the dining hall.

    Academic Rigor

    This is no school for slouches. Well, I mean, you can come and slack off, but that's a LOT of money to waste. A lot is expected of students here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do an overnight visit! Don't only do day visits and judge from those, because the school fronts really hard for prospective students.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Only one sorority.

    What to do for fun

    Go downtown to the sites of Baltimore.

    Food and Dining

    Their food was not to my expectations but everyone has their own taste.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open minded and see the school for what it is.

    In three sentences

    The school and people there are very warm and friendly. They really helped me see the school.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They are very community involved there are alt of fun things to do.

    Food and Dining

    Food sucks.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life sucks.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically I am challenged everyday.

    Tips for prospective students

    Academically it's a good school I must say that but its not worth all the money your going to have to kick out.

    In three sentences

    The learning environment is wonderful. The food is disgusting. Living on campus really isn't enjoyable at all.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is in the middle of nowhere, and learn that very quickly. The are guards around the clock, BUT they are very rude, and when you call them to escort you it can take them anywhere for 45 min to and hour or so to arrive. Personally, I haven't heard of many crimes that have happened on the actual campus.

    Greek Life

    There are small sororities, but only for those who are studying certain majors; these groups seem like high-school honor societies. Honestly, these honor societies don't get any recognition from the student body, because the students seem them as insignificant.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are small clubs, but their events and activities never have any big turnouts, or get any recognition.

    Great for these types of students

    Socially awkward, loners, women who prefer to live in a small setting (!!!300 AND UNDER!!!).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I only lived on campus for one semester, but what I have witnessed, is that there are a few cult-like traditions. I know this sounds very odd, but it's something that can't quite be explained; it's something that you must witness for yourself.

    Bang for the buck

    The school takes, takes, and takes; and doesn't really give back to the students. You will end up paying 40,000 per dual semester, if living on campus; the food will suck, the guards are mean, you may end up getting a lot of tickets due to parking, the teachers aren't the best, and the atmosphere is extremely racist.

    What to do for fun

    NOTHING, absolutely nothing. There is a small group of girls, who try to get the students on campus together, but it is always an EPIC FAIL. Nobody ever comes out for campus events, you're better off visiting other campuses and their events. If venturing out in the city, BE VERY CAREFUL! Make sure you are somewhat familiar with the settings you place yourself in, always carry money for a taxi and a cell phone in case of an emergency. ALSO, try to travel in big groups!!!!!

    Food and Dining

    The food is horrible, but that's a factor at many colleges. The good thing is, there is a salad bar (for those who live a healthy lifestyle). MAJOR DOWNFALL: You won't be able to eat your meals at any time you want, they schedule the 3 or 2 times you can eat each day, and if you miss it you're out of luck (high-school/middle-school atmosphere). There is a small store called Gator Alley where you can buy small snacks and meals, but the workers are really rude, and the hours are sparse on the weekends.

    Dorm Life

    The upperclassmen dorms (Mellitica) are better looking, but the atmosphere is even more dead than the underclassmen (Doyle) dorms. There's nothing to do on the campus, at all! The campus is surrounded by suburbs, and comically if you make one wrong turn you will end up in a very rough side of the neighborhood. The school's sororities seem fake, and there are tons of clicks and mean girl groups, so making friends may be hard for you (depending on what type of person you are).

    Academic Rigor

    An estimated 50% of the classes are taught by nuns, whom have an old-world view on academics. Your class grade will be highly affected by attendance (they keep track by book), and they can do this because there's only 10 to 20 female students per class. The teachers will treat you like you're a high-school student, and have been know to favor certain students over others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please reconsider your application to this school, the staff will place up a convincing front, but once your locked in for the semester things will change quickly. If it is too late, and you're already in the semester, start preparing your documentation for transfer (to your next highest preferred school). Don't take any math classes with D. Conant! There have been RACIST COMMENTS MADE BY CAUCASIAN STUDENTS, and when other ethnic groups TRIED TO ASK THE STAFF (teachers, chairmen, DEAN; all whom are Caucasian) FOR HELP, they were IGNORED, AND PROTECTED THE RACIST STUDENTS.

    In three sentences

    Notre Dame of Maryland University doesn't give the students a college experience. The campus atmosphere feels like an all girls boarding school. There is a large amount of racial segregation within the student body and staff, as well as racial intolerance.

  • 11/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Rarely any mishaps on campus. Very very rare, but if there is one, you'll be notified and feel protected. Security beacons are located around campus and security vehicles pass around frequently.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that want to create lifelong friendships and really excel in their major and in the field. Academic based students rather than hardcore party people.

    What to do for fun

    NDMU is in Collegetown so wherever the Collegetown shuttle goes is a fun place. We are located very close to the Inner Harbor which has shops and restaurants sports stadiums and more. We also are down the street from Towson Town Center which is a mall that most of the college students in the area shop, eat and hang out at. A lot of students get jobs here too. The shuttle also goes to all of the colleges in Collegetown so if your friend goes to one of the colleges its free to catch a ride to visit them. As for the campus itself, there isn't alot going on so most people find fun off campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is expensive and most of the time not too good. The school strives for healthy options but most of the time it doesn't taste as good as it looks or sounds. If you're a commuter, you should bring food from home and only buy snacks. If you're staying on campus know the hours of the dining hall and also try to keep ready to eat food in your dorm to avoid excessive spending. Gator Alley is the best place on campus to get food.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter so I don't have the best advice but I do know that the dorms in Doyle Hall are small and most don't have air condition. These dorms are usually for the freshman and sophomores. In Meletia Hall, they have really nice dorms usually for the juniors and seniors with balconies and a lot of space, somewhat like an apartment room. As long as you have a good roommate, your time spent in the dorm should be fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is what makes the school so great. The professors are 100% devoted to helping students. The classes are usually adjusted to your major and not just a general education class. Classes are mostly related to your major of choice to better prepare you for your field. Courses are challenging but the professors make it a rewarding experience and well worth it in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students that are interested in nursing, business, pharmacy and education should definitely consider going to NDMU since these are our top majors. The nursing program just received a new building geared to help nursing students get hands on experience before going out into the field. The school is solely based on academics, but we do have a lot of fun. The professors and students are close knit and it's a small community impacting the larger Baltimore community.

    In three sentences

    Notre Dame of Maryland is a school devoted to academics and empowering women to transform the world. The professors will become your friends and will know you by name while striving to help you at all costs. A school with a huge support system yet still growing and creating new ideas and opportunities for students.

  • 12/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have Honors Convocation, where the freshmen and transfers join the school and take the honor code. When taking tests and exams the professors are not required to be in the room, so sometimes you will have an exam and the professor will leave. There are also the School Sisters of Notre Dame, these nuns do little plays and things at the beginning of the semester so that the students can learn about the history.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is ran by Sage Dining Services, it serves meals that are both healthy and the same as other colleges that I have visited.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are like any other dorms. The girls will be your best friends and it is quite mature on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging if you do not prepare yourself. If you are truly struggling, then the professors are readily available to assist you and there are numerous tutors on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to NDMU because the professors are readily available to assist students in need of academic help. The campus is small and therefore everyone will know your name.

    In three sentences

    Notre Dame of Maryland University is a small women's college that builds a community that every college student is looking for. Every sister, staff and faculty member supports the women in every way they can. Choosing NDMU was a pleasant surprise and I would recommend it to prospective students.

  • 04/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You see them around campus all the time. There are a fair amount of lights in the parking lots (there could be more though) but I feel safe.

    Greek Life

    It's not very strong and there are no national black sororities.

    Great for these types of students

    For students (women) who are goal oriented and educationally driven and like to go out every now and then or who like doing activities with friends where you don't really have to travel to have fun.

    Bang for the buck

    For the education I would say if is around the average price for a private university, however the food isn't a bit pricey and not all that good.

    What to do for fun

    There's lots of areas off campus to go because the school's not far from down town inner harbor or fells point, and there's some nice bars/ restaurants down the street and in Towson (about 15 mins from campus). The school puts on some fun events too.

    Food and Dining

    I don't think the food is as good as some other campuses. Loyola University of Maryland is right next to us and their food selection is a lot better and better priced. NDMU's food is a bit on the pricey side, especially if you aren't using a meal plan

    Dorm Life

    They have some fun and interesting activities going on on campus for the weekends. It's pretty average, like most schools I would say

    Academic Rigor

    Lots of the professors love their subject and teaching and it shows, which is nice, but that also means they hold students to a higher standard and push you a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus is really pretty and there are lots of little places that you can find to study, however there's also a pharmacy and nursing school/program so some places can get a bit noisy.

    In three sentences

    A beautiful campus with lots of support for women and their goals. Professors that really want to see women, and you in particular, succeed. Expensive food.