Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

College of Southern Maryland Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/11/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    CSM is great for teenagers who are paying for college themselves, because it can save you a lot of money. Also, for students who aren't ready to live on their own, CSM has many campuses close to home. CSM is also great for students who would like to transfer to colleges in the state of Maryland. They offer a lot of transfer programs and advice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in mind that although CSM is a community college, that doesn't mean classes are going to be easy. I still had a lot of studying to do for midterms and finals.

    Bang for the buck

    CSM is definitely a money saver. It is somewhat pricey compared to other community colleges, but with its ongoing progress in size and quality, CSM is most definitely worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I very much enjoy myself at CSM. Sadly, I'm not getting the same life experiences at CSM as I would going away to college, but it makes a great stepping stone for someone who isn't quite prepared to leave home.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors I've had at CSM have taught me quite a lot. They all are very much qualified to be teaching their subjects and have the proper credentials to do so. CSM provides a great learning environment for students of all types. The classes are small which provides plenty of one on one time with the professors, and I feel like I'm receiving the same education as someone at a four-year college.

  • 12/07/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who wish to save a little extra money on tuition and/or want to transfer to a four year university because it allows them to get their general education courses out of the way at a cheaper cost and then spend the big money on what they want to study for their career.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely advise coming to CSM because you save a lot of money by going to a community college first and then possibly transferring to a 4-year university. Get as many scholarships as you can. Apply for financial aid, it really helps to. Buy your books when they have book sales and sign up for classes asap, or all the classes you need will be filled up. See an academic advisor and talk with your high school guidance counselor.

    Bang for the buck

    The College of CSM gives you more experience and value for your money and always have ways to save you money. Such as scholarships, book sales or wholesale buy backs.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being at CSM because not only are there a great range of academic classes and programs to be a part of, there are also great friends to be made here. The staff is also very helpful and I can approach my professors whenever I need help, unlike in highschool.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning several new things at this college. A great thing about CSM is that they teach you new and efficient ways to understand hard concepts than what they did in high school. It's terrific.

  • 01/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students or adults who are looking to further their education or enroll in any extra curricular classes can do so right at the College Of Southern Maryland. The Cost is worth the education and service. It is convenient and room for everyone. You're able to meet others around campus who share friendly attitudes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Today, many students believe that going to a community college isn't as wealthy as attending universities. They think is all about many parent's either not having enough money to send their children far away to state colleges/universities or students not getting the best education to get them closer to their career. There may be community colleges that aren't satisfying it's students, but that's one thing you can't say about CSM. CSM offers a lot to students and makes each student feel at home. The attitudes of the professors are really enjoyable and they're there to assist every students with their needs.

    Bang for the buck

    Any students or Parents that's paying tuition for anyone to attend the College Of Southern Maryland has chosen to make the best choice. CSM has so much to offer to students. Everything including help, tutoring, etc makes up for the money that has been paid. The services are great and no one is turned away by anything that they need to be accessed with.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being on campus. There's help everywhere you go. The library is open consistently in order for each student to complete all work necessary. Everything to computers, food, etc is all together and convenient to students. Also, the administration building is always welcoming students to come stop by to visit if they have any questions or concerns. Each student is able to complete everything they need to do for each class all in one day - everything is provided.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are really kind at the College Of Southern Maryland. They look forward to patiently helping each student in their best ability. Each Lecture is step by step in order for students to obtain a complete understanding of all assignments. Also, there is enough time given to complete each assignment given and if you need help at any time, the professors are right by your side. Each class is worth wile the time spent.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are alert buttons all of campus to sound if you are in danger, and campus security is always around patrolling.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs, from math to history.

    Great for these types of students

    The college of Southern Maryland is for students who families are middle class, maybe not know what exact path of career they want, or who have family or work obligation that keep them in this area.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Walking a different way and distance to class everyday for exercise, is something unusual I do on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The class and tuition prices are very reasonable, but we all need a little help sometimes.

    What to do for fun

    Year round student and faculty activities.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe' is a awesome place of food, fellowship, and fun on our college campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    They have high expectations for students, but also are there for students who are in need of academic support.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask for help from peers and professors, because the chances are they will be willing to help you.

    In three sentences

    The College of Southern Maryland is an awesome place of education. The professors are helpful and understanding of their students needs, what more could a college student ask for. On a scale of one to ten, I definitely give CSM a ten.

  • 12/29/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students that are still unsure of what they want to do and for students that may struggle paying for college because they don't qualify for scholarships or because they have to pay for college on their own.

    Tips for prospective students

    CSM really is a great school. Don't be disapointed if you end up going here and it wasn't your first choice. CSM helped me realize what I want to do with my life. It also allowed me one more year to realize what I want in a four-year college that I wouldn't have had if I had gone to a four-year school right out of high school. Just remember that college is what you make it.

    Bang for the buck

    The College of Southern Maryland is very affordable. You get great professors, small classes, and a quality education for a very low price. Many of the credits transfer to in state schools. The only drawback is that there is not a very large selection of classes for some of the programs such as Foreign Language and Political Science. They also do not have very many upper level courses. I have to transfer after just a year so that I do not fall behind.

    Am enjoying being here

    I like all of my professors and my classes are interesting. The college always has events going on for students and there are many clubs and oranizations that you can join. The gym and pool are free, and the proximity to my home is great.

    Am learning a lot

    I love my classes and I am learning a lot. The professors are very willing to help you if you need it. With the small classes, it is very easy to ask questions. Do not let the fact that it is a Community College make you think that it is not challenging. You still need to do a lot of studying and work outside of class if you expect to recieve an A.

  • 07/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    CSM is great for students who aren't really sure what they want to major in, and aslo for those who feel a bit intimidated by large class sizes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Going to a Junior College is a good way to transition into college life. There were things I had to get used to, but over all, I'm glad I 'm I started out here. I don't feel as though I'm just another student in a lecture hall.

    Bang for the buck

    I think all Maryland residents should pay, In-county tuition. I dont think it's fair for someone to have to pay more because they live in a neighboring county.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy my classes, and the campus is very nice, they are constantly improving the gounds and the buildings on the campus.

    Am learning a lot

    Although the classes are a bit longer than high school, I enjoy the small class size, and the teachers. They don't seem as though they are as stressed as high school teachers were. Theytreat you as an adult.

  • 07/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    (1) Students looking to transfer--and save money in the process. First and foremost, you highest degree you will likely get at the College of Southern Maryland is your associates. Your best bet is that you will knock all of your general education credits out of the way, and THEN transfer to a different college/university to finish it off and get your bachelor's degree. My goal is to transfer, but since by the time I do, I will have enough credits to get my associates degree, I feel like I might as well obtain it in the process. I hear from the faculty that the curriculum at the school is specially designed so that all of your obtained credits are transferable to any Maryland state college or university. The amount of transferable credits colleges and universities accept vary, so you really have to check with both CSM and your intended school to be sure. The Transfer Services Office at the school will be more than happy to help. (2) Students who don't like lectures at all. They have online courses for those who are up for it. You save time and gas money--just make sure you can keep yourself focused. (3) Students who want to be in the classroom only some of the time. There are these things called web-hybrid classes, in which you meet with your class and your instructor only every-so-often. For example, if on the course description it says you will meet once a week or twice a month, that is when you will have to go to a campus and meet up with your instructor and fellow students. All meetings are scheduled in advance, and you are notified when a meeting is coming up. You can sometimes make up for the ones you miss, but it all depends on your instructor's policies. When you're not meeting, then all assignments are online and due when specified. (4) Working students. There is a career center that will help you fix up your resume. If you currently have a job, then it's very easy to schedule your classes around your work schedule. There are co-op programs for certain degrees, in which your work experience will help towards earning your credits. The advisers are very helpful with that. (5) Students who are free on the weekends. There are Saturday classes! (6) Students who want to get it over with. Mini sessions are longer class sessions (3-6 hours, usually with a 1-1 1/2 hour lunch breaks and 5-10 minute breaks throughout the class), but they allow you to condense the total duration of your course by several weeks. Sometimes the 3-hour classes usually mean you only meet once a week as opposed to twice. (7) Those who love their Fridays. Most professors love them, too. So mostly all classes are just M/W or T/Th. The only reason why you would come across a Friday class is if your classes start later or end sooner than your other ones, in terms of session dates. (8) The undecided students. It's either you have a listed major and/or intended degree, or you are undecided. That being said, I have a lot of friends who THOUGHT they wanted to do something for a living (or listed it down because that's what their family intended for them) and then they learned so much about the field and/or in another elective that they decided to change directions based on their fascination and/or newly-found dislike for their original path. And most of the time, the undecided students secure their majors after taking classes at CSM. This is another reason why it's better to figure it all out at CSM as opposed to wasting thousands at a more expensive school.

    Tips for prospective students

    (1) Make sure you read the instructor/ professor reviews. You get to add and/or drop classes a couple of months after the semester starts, but that would be a waste of time and effort, so it's best to pick the right instructor from the start, or at least get a feel for what to expect within the first week, when your class is just going over the syllabus and/or when the first lesson is introduced. Don't get me wrong; the professors are all great in their own way, but you want to make sure YOUR professor's teaching style suits YOU. Same goes for any learning institution. (2) Always check Blackboard Online, and your CSM WebCT. You'll know what those are once you are registered, but they are very helpful tools to keep you on track. If your Internet stops working one day, make sure you check them at school or somewhere else where you have access. (3) Do not hesitate to email your professors or go to their office when you have questions. It's not embarrassing, and it's not bothersome. They are required to be in their office at some point in the day almost everyday for your convenience. Their hours are always on the syllabus they give you at the beginning of the course. (4) Always have a copy of the syllabus. If you loose it, copy someone else's or ask for a new one. This goes hand-in-hand with #'s 2 and 3. (5) Check your email, the weather closing hot line, or the school website for any indication that your class has been canceled. You don't want to drive all the way to school for nothing.

    Bang for the buck

    I am taking all my core classes here. Because I'm getting all of my General Education credits out of the way at a community college, I am saving thousands of dollars, while learning the same stuff I would be learning had I attended a state university or private college from the start. Going to CSM is a smart choice. Just remember if you live outside Charles County or St. Mary's County, you may have to spend quite a bit more, because you may not be zoned for any of the campuses. Always check online for details.

    Am enjoying being here

    I can go home between classes. The campus is very clean for a community college. In fact, it's pretty impressive. The faculty and staff are always very helpful. I can access the gym and the library for as long as the campus is open on the given day.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers I have had so far are very professional, and definitely know their stuff. I am getting my associates degree here. I know I will be very well-prepared for my future career.

  • 07/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students entering the nursing program, or are in need of a general education or certificate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Listen to the professors, most give out the answers to the test the day before.

    Bang for the buck

    For what it has to offer, the price is good.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is a nice campus, and the library is a great place to study.

    Am learning a lot

    Professor wise, the college has done well. Although, this college is mostly for students just trying to complete the first two year general education requirements. Major related, this college lacks.

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    This is a community college but there are plenty of things to do with the campus if interested.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you decide to attend CSM for one or maybe two years you will have a wide range of majors to choose from or you can just do elects so no matter what there is no excuse.

    In three sentences

    College of Southern Maryland in La Plata Maryland is a beautiful campus that is being redecorated as of 2011. There are many majors you can chose from and many programs if you want to get certified for something as driving trucks you can. They are always willing to help you if you are willing to ask for help.

  • 01/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    i think college and books are all around too expensive!

    What to do for fun

    there is a calendar of events that has things to do. also there are cheap tickets you can get through the college for different events.

    Tips for prospective students

    fill out all the forms you need very early. give yourself extra time for all the run around the college gives you.

    In three sentences

    the classes are not bad and the location is convenient. the financial aide office and very disorganized and not very helpful. every time i go in there i get different information from the same people, very frustrating!

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    depends on the class and professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you get to the school, don't feel overwhelmed by the work that some professors give because most of the work they give is easy. If you have any types of questions, always ask your professors, no matter what the question because they just might have an answer for you.

    In three sentences

    The College of Southern Maryland is a school where the professors and counselors are always there to help. The other students around you are very nice and even though they are in the same class as you, you can always ask them for help as well. This a great higher institution and can help you transfer to any school that you feel is the right one to continue your college career.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i never stay at the campus for the fun stuff.

    Food and Dining

    i have never tried their food or been to the dining area.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    depending on the class you take you learn so much.

    Tips for prospective students

    my tips for prospective students are when you are in class dont be disrespectful because the teacher will not respect you and explore everything at the school that is for the students to enjoy.

    In three sentences

    college of southern maryland is a nice school. the teachers are nice and the criminal justice teachers know exactly what they are talking about from experience. the campus is a bit small.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    i have never tasted the food at the campus

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    sit up front and listen to what the teacher has to say also ask questions they are there to help you and its your money. make sure you are well prepared for class.

    In three sentences

    the teachers and staff are nice. the criminal justice teachers are great and show you what happens in the real world. the campus is small.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The College of Southern Maryland is a purely educational establishment. It does have a student cafe in one of its buildings that allow for students to hang out, do work, and relax between classes. Dining is not supplied at the school though.

    Dorm Life

    The College of Southern Maryland has no dorm life, because there are no dorms. It is a local college that was made so that residents in the area could drive to the college from where ever they lived.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes of CSM are the general studies a student would take in any first year of any college. The teachers for these classes are all very good at teaching and know what they are talking about, however some do lack in connecting with their students and helping them fully learn and appreciate the course material.

    Tips for prospective students

    The College of Southern Maryland is a school that is made for local students wishing to begin their college education. It is a community college, so it might not have all of the courses one may need in order to reach their career goals. It is really good however, in getting a student on the path to that goal.

    In three sentences

    The College of Southern Maryland is a very decent schooling establishment. It has given me the chance to start my basic learning studies and get on the path to reaching my educational goals. Though the classes can be limited in their availability, the college does have a good teaching staff that has the patience and consideration to help everyone get through the courses.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I'm sure they have it, but I've never seen it. They're basically a myth, I'd consider them equals to big foot.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's an abundance of clubs to be a part of and they are all welcoming and encouraging.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are working and want to work either full-time or part-time.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get what you pay for here. There are plenty of amazing professors here but you must research the professor and choose wisely.

    What to do for fun

    Go to class.

    Food and Dining

    I've had food from the cafeteria once. Although the food is pretty good the grease filled napkin afterwards was less than appetizing. The tables, for eating, are usually full of students studying.

    Academic Rigor

    I've taken some motivating classes from amazing professors and discouraging classes from not so amazing professors, depends on the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely use ratemyprofessor.com because the students are really honest and will let you know which teachers aren't pushovers and actually teach.

    In three sentences

    I underestimated CSM, especially because it had been known as the thirteenth grade. The professors are hidden gems, well educated and motivating. Most of the seminars I would even consider moving. Great school and even better price.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those trying to save money before going to the big schools. You get the prerequisites out of the way. Also for those who are unsure of what to major in, if you decide to change majors you are not losing lots of money.

    Bang for the buck

    Getting two years worth of college education for about $12,000, depending on your major, course fees, and books.

    What to do for fun

    Theater clubs, sports teams, and other clubs.

    Food and Dining

    La Plata has a cafe that serves sandwiches, soups, Chick-fil-a (Wednesdays), etc. Prince Frederick and Leonardtown sells snacks in the bookstore, so you will always have something to snack on. Plus they aren't far from other restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    HOME!!!! :-) or :-( because you save money this way, but you are still with your parents. Depending on where you live your commute time may be 5-40 minutes since campuses are in Leonardtown, Prince Frederick, and La Plata.

    Academic Rigor

    Your course load depends on the number of classes you decide to take each semester. Of course the more you take the less free time you'll end of having. The amount of work for each class solely depends on the professor and the type of class. The professors will make you think and will grade pretty hard...well it's college so they should!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid of taking online classes, you still get all of the material. Though if you are skeptical about them just take one your first semester to see how it goes, usually tech classes are good to take online.

    In three sentences

    It's a great place to start off getting used to college particularly work load and grading. A convenient college because it has three campuses and online classes. Plus you are able to get a two-year degree or certificate for a cheaper price.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has several patrolling security guards but everyone is very low-key. The campus is very welcoming to students and guests and exhibits a level of comfort and trust.

    Great for these types of students

    If you ever felt you were that academic nerd in the corner, fascinated by acting, Yu-Gi-Oh cards, or Anime Comics, CSM is your college campus. Washington DC hosts the annual Japanese festivals as well as the Cherry Blossom festival. This period is a great time for teens to dress up in their favorite Cos-Play costume, attend local exhibitions, or even participate in many community theatrical productions at CSM.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Yu-Gi-Oh is the favorite past time of many Southern Maryland teens, even after they arrive at college. CSM has many community areas and student social cafes for between-class meet-ups while the gym is still the place to go, especially with the local Jersey Shore GTL (gym-tan-laundry) teen following.

    Bang for the buck

    Students should definitely take the Spy Tour which takes you on an adventurous trip back through time to the Cold War Era. Owned and operated by previous U.S. and Russian spies, tours point out old spy tunnels, drop-points, and covert assasin rendevous points long since forgotten.

    What to do for fun

    Southern Maryland is very historic and cultural. Students will be able to visit many historic sites such as the Samuel Mudd House as well as several summer houses and visitation sites by many past presidents such as Washington, Lincoln, and Jefferson. Students will live only 40 minutes from downtown Washington DC and many museums, memorials, and cultural centers - all FREE to the public.

    Food and Dining

    La Plata, Maryland has seen a recent boom in development and growth in the last year. Neighbor to Waldorf, Maryland, considered the shopping capital of Southern Maryland, La Plata is home to the Blue Crab fishing marinas and close to the best seafood restaurants in the state as well as host to several of the most popular restaurants from a variety of cultures.

    Dorm Life

    None.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the courses are very relaxed and instructors are very accustomed to the adult students from the Washington DC government. Therefore, academics, albeit difficult dependent upon subject matter, are adjusted to a comfortable pace with regards to homework and studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    CSM does not offer on-campus housing. Therefore, any out-of-state residents should consider saving funds for at least a year prior to enrolling, or consider attending with a friend as a roommate consideration, since Charles County is on the outskirts of Washington DC. Therefore, local apartment costs are very expensive for teenagers, averaging above $1000 per month.

    In three sentences

    The College of Southern Maryland is in a beautiful neighborhood in the bedroom community of La Plata, Maryland. The campus has new facilities, to include a large-scale swimming pool and gym; as well as home to the historic Friendship House, relocated to CSM, which is one of the oldest homes constructed by early settlers of Maryland. Its warmth and peaceful beauty makes it a great welcoming community for any student.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    18 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had a problem. Most places are extremely well lit.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who have lower incomes. Also great for students who do not want to be a tiny fish in a big pond. This college is especially great for people who are just getting their feet wet and do not know what they want in life.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is extremely affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There are dozens of clubs. The campuses always have theater productions, concerts, and activities on the lawn.

    Food and Dining

    Prince Frederick and LaPlata have very good food. Leonardtown, not so much.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on what type of student you are.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not procrastinate. Always see your advisors and keep up with your work.

    In three sentences

    It is a great college with a lot of great faculty. It is a great start for people who do not have money for a 4 year college or do not want to be in a crowd. Classes are small and detail oriented.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel very safe on campus, and there are phones near the parking lots which you can use to call for help if you need.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs and activities, but they aren't really promoted.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for small-town students who wish to experience a very personalized education.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that I have gotten a quality education at an incredibly low price. I have saved so much money by going to CSM and than transferring, rather than if I had gone right off to college.

    What to do for fun

    There's not much to do in the area other than shop and eat.

    Food and Dining

    There are a ton of places to eat in LaPlata, a short two minutes from campus. There is very limited on-campus dining though.

    Dorm Life

    Since it is a community college, dorm life does not exist.

    Academic Rigor

    Most people assume that community college is easy, but they must not have ever experienced it. While the course load is manageable, you will definitely be challenged.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you register for classes AS SOON as registration opens up. Due to the small class sizes, classes fill up pretty fast.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school for someone who is seeking an associates degree or a cheaper start to college. Tuition is cheap and credits transfer to many schools if you wish to pursue a bachelor's as well. The small class sizes offer an individualized education, and you really feel a connection with your professors.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well, there is a game room, stocked with pool tables, 2 wiis, 2 ps3's, and 2 xbox 360s. There is also a student lounge, where you can hang out, watch tv, do homework, and socialize.

    Food and Dining

    Top notch dining facility, plus, every once in a while, Chick-Fil-a comes by and sells food in the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    Well, there aren't any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Its as hard as you make it. If you are determined, then you will do just fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to the academic advisers. They are there to help get you on your way. Also, take advantage of the various programs offered at csm. Not all of them involve education, some of them are there to help bring students together, or just to have fun.

    In three sentences

    The college of Southern maryland is a wonderful spring board for any high school senior who would like to attend a 4 year university, but also wishes to knock a couple classes and credits off their lists before attending said 4 year university. CSM has the core classes you need, and at an affordable tuition price.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent

    Greek Life

    Study groups

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty to do

    Great for these types of students

    Local

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No on campus housing

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, CSM is a great value

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of activities, wellness center

    Food and Dining

    Good

    Academic Rigor

    Can be challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and you will do fine

    In three sentences

    Great place, three campuses

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Sports(swimming, waterpolo, soccer, tennis, futsal, football)

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students looking to stay close to home and/or save lots of money! Many students complete their associates(2yr) at CSM then transfer to any Maryland University with guaranteed admission!

    What to do for fun

    CSM, which is very close to the eastern shore, offers lots of things to do, especially beaches, shopping, sports, or a short trip to D.C.

    Food and Dining

    The CSM campus has a cafeteria as well as numerous food and dining locations within a 10 mile radius.

    Dorm Life

    CSM does not offer dorms, but many housing opportunities are available around the area.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor and CSM is very laid back, any adult who pays attention and completes their work can easily get a good GPA at the end of the semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to apply early and register for classes as soon as possible. This will guarantee your chances of getting into the class and time slot best for you. Also, take the time to explore a few of the campuses!

    In three sentences

    College of Southern Maryland offers a variety of easy-paced classes at an affordable rate. Campuses are spread throughout southern Maryland with locations in Waldorf, Prince Fredrick, Leonardtown, and LaPlata. This college is a great choice for adults who would like to further their education, or students looking to save money and stay closer to home.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SEcluded and safe.

    Greek Life

    NOne.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots to be involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Any one who doesn't wish to spend a lot but have an educational experience that is great.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The College is located on a beautiful campus in La platA.

    Bang for the buck

    Very inexpensive but excellent experience.

    What to do for fun

    Campus halls to play music, games or just hang out.

    Food and Dining

    Very elegant kitchen.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms,

    Academic Rigor

    Very academic oriented.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay informed with the website and your counselor.

    In three sentences

    The school campus is beautiful. The students are diverse and fun. The teachers are very good at their job.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is there from when it opens till close and its mostly the same people everyday. They are friendly people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Its in the woods, in the back of a neighborhood.

    Bang for the buck

    Most of the teachers stop and ask question. Then rather just going on and on. They care about what they teach.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the CC Building there is a lot of varieties of activities.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good. Breakfast is less expensive then lunch.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms. Its a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions don't be afraid to speak up when you don't know what's going on or if you don't understand because the teachers here are trying to help build you up to be the best, not break you down.

    In three sentences

    This community is a very well round college. The teachers at College of Southern Maryland La Plata campus are very helpful.

  • 10/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    In three sentences

    It's a small local campus in Charles County. The classes aren't crowded. I think the teachers are very helpful as well

  • 10/08/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    26 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Active campus police presence, usually friendly.

    Greek Life

    There is a Phi Theta Kappa fraternity here. It's a waste of time though. They don't do any meetings or events, and even skipped doing the induction ceremony for new members. You pay your dues and never see anything come of it.

    Clubs and Activities

    A few clubs, not a lot of information is available for any of them.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't mind online classes, as the college has slowly been transitioning the majority of the classes to online format.

    Bang for the buck

    For your core classes it's not a bad deal, you're looking at roughly $2000-$4000 a semester. Don't expect to be academically challenged,and be prepared for a lot of professors with serious attitude problems. Staff is generally unfriendly as well, and if there are any problems they often get flustered, offended and flat out rude.

    What to do for fun

    The college does events, however, most are at the Leonardtown Campus and not the main campus. They have a pool and gym free for students uses, group exercise classes cost a lot extra though.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small shop that offers on the go snacks, as well as a cafeteria. Hours are weird though and inconsistent.

    Dorm Life

    It is a community college, there is no on-campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes have little to no homework, and professors dothe bare minimum when it comes to tests and exams. Perfect for slackers who don't do anything normally, sucks for people who are there to learn. Hard work isn't acknowledged, and working to earn a good GPA is worthless since students can do nothing and get by.

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy your books used as soon as register for classes, the college gouges you on textbook prices. In an effort to force students to use the campus store they've switched to custom books that they update every semester. In all acutallity they just change the layout, add or subtract a few things and put a new cover on it. Past editions of custom books are almost always good to use and will save you loads of money.

    In three sentences

    Acceptable college to get core classes completed before moving on to university.

  • 10/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If your just looking to bring up your GPA this is a good place to start, otherwise I wouldn't be here long term.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is pretty ordinary. Nothing out of the usual happens and the landscape is pretty much just cut grass fields and trees.

    Bang for the buck

    There are plenty of other community colleges that could either rival or trump this school completely. Nothing really special here.

    What to do for fun

    I'm a musician so I just spend my time writing lyrics and recording.

    Food and Dining

    I've never actually been to the cafe on the La Plata campus but I hear its pretty okay.

    Dorm Life

    The school has no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers here certainly test you and have you on your toes, or at least most of them do. Some of them are a little more relaxed and laid back but thats hoe most schools are.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pick your classes early and make sure you get info on your teachers before selecting a class with he/she.

    In three sentences

    Great classes, great teachers, not much else though in terms of scenery and the school and its campuses are a little small.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    they have many plays and activities that you can do just keep a look out for the flyer's around campus.

    Food and Dining

    they have many vending machines and a cafe , however i never ate there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, if you don't understand something ask questions. take advantage of the free tutoring that they offer.

    In three sentences

    The professors here are very helpful. They make sure you understand the information before they move on to the next thing. However hardwork and studying pays off,

  • 10/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I still go out and have fun with my friends; I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Stay academically focuse and keep your eyes on the prize. CSM challenges me to think, focus and study hard to do my very best in all of my classes. Just because CSM is a community college, the courses and instruction are just as hard as a four-year school. Don't be fooled.

    Tips for prospective students

    Begin looking at colleges in the second half of your sophomore year. Don't procrastinate and make your High School academic experience a springboard for college.

    In three sentences

    CSM is a fine scholl with good professors preparing me for my transfer to a four-year school. I'm glad that I chose to attend CSM. CSM is very affordable.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe and is not known for violent behavior of any kind.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a multitude of clubs that can be joined. They have something for everybody at the college.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is similar to a community college so it is inexpensive.

    What to do for fun

    The sports comlex provided by the school is a good way to have fun. There is a gym and pool with activities available to the students. There are many clubs to join at the college too,

    Food and Dining

    The College has a small cafe inside but that it is. There are many restraunts near the school, however.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at the College of Southern Maryland.

    Academic Rigor

    The typical course has class two times a week. I will have a quiz just about every week, along with about 10 to 20 homework problems given. One of my professors told me that I should spend at least two hours of studying and homework for every hour in class. I have a group project in my classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should do a lot of studying for your classes. The best time to go to the gym are in the morning. The parking lot is crowded during mid-day. make sure you keep track of your time. Do not wait to long to seek help in a subject, you may be struggling with.

    In three sentences

    The College of Southern Maryland is about a C+ rating. It has small class sizes and adequate equipment to learn with. The teachers are often good; however, there are also incompetent teachers that should be avoided.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    they plan many activities. i play soccer and go to the movies with my friends

    Food and Dining

    the food is good and you dont have to pay much for a meal

    Dorm Life

    we dont have dorm life but it would be good if you could

    Academic Rigor

    its really good

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure that you pay attention to the syllabus and a have your work done ahead of time also study hard it helps and take many notes

    In three sentences

    the college of southern maryland is great. It is very close to hoe and you can take your basic classes and transfer instead of spending much more money starting at a university.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Good prices especially if paying in state tuition.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not too hard but you learn all you need to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to register as soon as you are eligible because classes fill up quickly.

    In three sentences

    Good teachers with fair grading. School works well with student. Multiple campuses with a good selection of classes at each.

  • 12/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none that I know of

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that are low on cash and want to go to college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Try hanging out in the game room, there's pool tables and video games.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends on campus and areas surrounding the campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to know what you want to do and research the classes you need in addition to talking to the counselor and if possible get your degree if your going to transfer so when some of your classes don't transfer your still have your degree.

    In three sentences

    College of Southern Maryland is a great option for an inexpensive education. As a community college the admission process isn't very strict, but that allows everyone the option of getting an education. Also there are a lot of options on how to get involved in the college and further enrich one's life.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    * Good

    Dorm Life

    * CSM is a community college. No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I've found the academic rigor at CSM to be a significantly high level of expectation for both students and faculty. This is an important aspect for me. It helps me stay focused and committed to meeting these standards.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice to prospective students: - consider CSM as an start to post high school education - become familiar with all of the offering, including the special assistance available to students who may need additional help.

    In three sentences

    CSM, LaPlata is a great atmosphere. I've found that the professors truly care about the students and their success. I am pleased that I chose to attend CSM.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SAFE!

    Bang for the buck

    Worth it

    What to do for fun

    Work

    Food and Dining

    None

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    You can slide by if you really wanted to but there is are many classes that really challenge you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work and go to school.

    In three sentences

    I love going to CSM.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    36 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus but racial slurs were written on an employee's car and nothing was done.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    You can start almost any club yourself but there aren't many on the two smaller campuses because of the limited participation.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who know they want to attend college but are undecided on where to attend. This school will prepare most students to work locally.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No unusual traditions or locations.

    Bang for the buck

    You save a lot of money but you may be there longer than anticipated. Many credits will not transfer as anticipated and classes must be repeated once you transfer. School is the only game in town and administration attempts to positively affect the community and not its students.

    What to do for fun

    Some very good events for students but participation is sometimes very low. If you get involved, you can do most events.

    Food and Dining

    Very few choices and quality is not great.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Many classes can be completed with little effort and will leave you unprepared when you transfer or graduate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a plan for exactly what you need from this school and stay on track. If you don't have your own plan, you can be there much longer than anticipated or credits will not transfer to your four year university of choice.

    In three sentences

    A very economical school where you can spend less money while taking core classes before attending a four year university. More concerned with completion rates and not your individual success. Many programs are not designed to be completed in a reasonable amount of time.

  • 01/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt safe on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students. You can take traditional classes, web-hybrid classes, and web classes. They also have test on the college site that you can take to see what type of class would work best for you.

    What to do for fun

    There are events that the college sets up for every month. You can also go to sporting events.

    Food and Dining

    Have never eaten in the cafe but I have heard nice things about it.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not to easy yet not to hard. If you try and put in the time and work you will do well. Also all of the professors are willing to meet with you and talk to you if you need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go in and talk to the adviser's when setting up your schedule. They make sure that you are on the right track and give you tips.

    In three sentences

    I think this college is a great college to start out at all of the admin. and professors are willing to help. Also they offer many ways to get your credits. the only downfall is that the colleges blackboard website doesn't work sometimes.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the school is focused on its academics, so there isn't much to do for fun

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria has really anything you may crave one day.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, its a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    - have an idea of what you wanna major in, classes fill up FAST! - focus on the placement test. - think big

    In three sentences

    This college has a very diverse abundance of courses. The staff assist you with anything you need, from tutoring to lunch. The campus is easy to navigate.

  • 05/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent

    Great for these types of students

    Online and classroom students

    Bang for the buck

    Yes indeed.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of social activities at the school

    Tips for prospective students

    Explore all of the possibilities with the College of Southern Maryland

    In three sentences

    The College of Southern Maryland is a great school with a concerned and dedicated staff.

  • 06/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Definitely cost less than a bigger university. You're paying less for the same classes

    What to do for fun

    They have so many events going on all year round. Most are free to students!

    Food and Dining

    The caffeteria is great. They have really yummy food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. It is a two-year community college

    Academic Rigor

    They care about your grades! The professors will help you if you are in need

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not skip class! They keep track of your attendance. Do all of your work. It'll really pay off in the end. Read the textbooks.

    In three sentences

    CSM is a wonderful school with a beautiful campus! The professors there are all really great and helpful. It's an awesome choice for a two-year college and if you're looking to transfer.

  • 07/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus.

    Greek Life

    There is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities to participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    Student willing and wanting to further their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    CSM sometimes has picnics and free food for the students with their student ID

    Bang for the buck

    For the amount of money you pay, you definitely learn a lot.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is nice to be on when the weather is nice. Sit and talk to friends.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is okay. Its not too bad.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    College is college. It will be challenging, you just have to not procrastinate.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you put in the time, the work will not be that challenging.

    In three sentences

    When I first started attending the College of Southern Maryland, I was reluctant because I didn't think it would be a good college. After starting the course work, I discovered that College of Southern Maryland was actually a good, challenging school to attend. The campus is beautiful, the people are friendly, and the professors are helpful.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    42 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security should patrol EVERY part of the campus inside and outside. Day and Night.

    Clubs and Activities

    In joining theater I met tons of great people, and had fun doing it.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is fairly affordable. They do their best to help with financial assistance.

    What to do for fun

    Join theater

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with as many programs as you can to make your academic life at this college a smooth one.

    In three sentences

    Some of the professors do well in helping students with text book material inside and outside o the classroom. This college has a an awesome career services program and director :) in Mrs. Tracy Sewell. :) Professors need to do a better job of trying to relate to their students and not throw their degrees at them to make them seem more superior.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The only thing money wise I would suggest would be to get your ISBN number at the college store for the books you need, and then look online. You will get a much better deal.

    What to do for fun

    There's a ton of activities going on, just because its a community college doesn't mean anything. There are games and clubs, spring fling, kick off to college, everything! Plus there is a movie theater about 8 minutes away and many stores.

    Food and Dining

    There's a cafe area by the college store, good for studying in groups. Its always a bit chilly in there though.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't really dorm life, its a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm a newer student, I can't comment on the classes because I haven't been in them that long.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just make sure you get to know an advisor! They are there to help and you can go in how ever many times you want. I probably went to see an advisor about 8 times before I actually registered for classes.

    In three sentences

    The College of Southern Maryland a great community college. I am currently attending classes at the Prince Frederick campus and am very impressed with the staff and the new campus.

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    44 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Don't have dorm

    In three sentences

    This college is pretty big This college is close and beautiful This college has reasonable tuition

  • 08/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    my car window never got smashed in here. cops are on there game

    What to do for fun

    sports : basketball volleyball, Or events and college parties

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat a lot but when im hungry I know where to go and for a low price

    Dorm Life

    No dorm because its a community college but I sure with it was

    Academic Rigor

    Test Quizzes and Papers are expected with any college but majority of the teachers make it fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to learn. Its hard to walk out of a class with out grasping something.

    In three sentences

    I love CSM. The teachers what to help you succeed. All student desire to learn. Sports events are fun for players and viewers :)

  • 08/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I can only comment on the Leonardtown location. I always feel safe there. The area is pretty quiet and the sheriff's station is less than a mile down the street.

    Great for these types of students

    Students on-the-go will do well at CSM. They offer a ton of options for courses: in-class, web-hybrid, online, self-paced, and mini-sessions.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a 2-year community college so it is much more affordable than any 4-year institution. Full-time tuition is usually approximately $1200 (4 classes) per semester.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of plays, music festivals, concerts, art exhibitions, and sports games.

    Food and Dining

    Do vending machines count??? haha

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I've found most of my courses to be easily manageable so far. Most instructors are very understanding of the fact that their students are more likely to have jobs and families that they're juggling along with their coursework. However, there is the occasional stickler who doesn't seem to get it...

    Tips for prospective students

    CSM has open registration so most are welcome. I suggest all who enroll to attend the SmartStart Orientation and keep a current catalog handy. It may become one of your best friends over the next 2 years. Unfortunately, admin tends to leave the students hanging out to dry so if you have any concern at all (big or small) refer to the catalog or the CSM website (csmd.edu) first.

    In three sentences

    There are a lot of good teachers. The online program is simple. However, the organization on the admin level is far from best.

  • 10/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Seldom anything goes on at the campus without someone knowing about it. But the security officers are friendly, non assuming, and there to look out for the students. The campus is small, perfect for walking from class to class, and teachers are always around. You will seldom see a security guard, but that's because everyone is looking out for everyone else.

    Greek Life

    I honestly do not know if there are any sororities on campus. I have not heard of any, but I've never asked.

    Clubs and Activities

    CSM is all about expressing yourself, and their clubs and activities show it. They embrace the individual interests with clubs varying from step team to computer coding. They also take regular trips to local amusement parks, museums, theatres, and more. Their sports teams are great, and the games are always entertaining.

    Great for these types of students

    CSM is really great for all sorts of students. Whether you're hardworking, dedicated students, or fresh out of highschool and have no clue what you want to major in, CSM is the place for you. Because of the differing types of students, it accurately portrays the people that are found in real life. It offers the opportunity to work with people you normally wouldn't work with, and some really great friendships and contacts come out of that.

    Bang for the buck

    It really is worth what the college costs. CSM offers all sorts of opportunities, and has great transfer abilities. It's the perfect place to start off paying a small amount for a decent education while discovering what major is yours. It's also the perfect place to continue an education, or to come back from a big school that just didn't fit you and find your footing again in the college world.

    What to do for fun

    The clubs on campus are awesome! There are so many clubs and so many different interests. There is nothing that binds a theatre major to the theatre or a techie to the computer lab. If it's your passion, chase it. CSM is all about finding who you are. Teaching majors can be star volleyball players and Biology majors can have the lead in the season's musical. There are also tons of road trips that are low cost and lots of fun. The on campus entertainment is great also. They can just turn on some music and suddenly everyone has a new hop in their step.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is okay. It can get a little pricy, eating there everyday. But the menu is fantastic, and the choices are wide and creative.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus, as it is a commuter campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers and faculty found at CSM are all well taught in their fields. Even the adjunct faculty hold their own in their prospective subjects. The expectations are not low at all, and the prize of high achievements is well worth the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, be dedicated, and make goals. Don't ever let another student take away from your education. Don't be afraid to ask questions; chances are, everyone else wants to, but is afraid. Find something good in every class, and the workload won't be so bad. Always balance your classes out; take something you love and something you hate but have to take. Above all else, embrace learning as a gift and not a requirement.

    In three sentences

    College of Southern Maryland has faculty who are dedicated to the students and to inspiring them to be the best leaders of tomorrow. The campus environment is inspiring, beautiful, and perfect for students from all backgrounds. College of Southern Maryland is the perfect college for a student who is looking for a strong foundation in their education, teachers who are dedicated to creating a learning atmosphere, and for interaction with students of all ages.

  • 10/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    CSM is great for students that are not really sure about college in general. The atmosphere allows a large variety of students to test the waters and start taking classes, even if it is just one or two classes. Additionally, CSM is great for students that have to maintain a full/part time job while in school. There are a large number of classes all at different times of the day, even most of the professors have day jobs.

    Bang for the buck

    Great price, much cheaper than a four year college. Good starter school.

    What to do for fun

    There is lots to do in the neighboring areas, but there a large number of student clubs.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small student cafe, and there are a bunch of vending machines in every building. There is no major dining hall.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging but if you pay attention and do your work you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school to start out in. Attending this community college saves a boat load of money!

    In three sentences

    I love this school, the atmosphere is great, the staff and students are all really friendly. Additionally, the class sizes are small, with a max of about 32 students. Only negative is that its only a two year college, not a four year university.

  • 10/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everybody gets out around the same time so people usually walk out in groups. I wouldn't say it's safe but it's not dangerous.

    Greek Life

    no Greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    You can join a sports team. Go to the career center or student services to find out about clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for somebody who doesn't know their major. It is great for somebody that has a job already and is trying to save up money.

    Bang for the buck

    It is cheaper than going to a four year college.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the athletic games.

    Food and Dining

    No food and dining

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are challenging. It is what you put in them that matters.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your teachers. Find out if you like their teaching style from reviews or other students. Take advantage of the free gym and other resources. Make sure you get your books before class starts, make sure you don't buy a book you don't need.

    In three sentences

    The administrative staff is the least helpful. There's a lot of locals here, so a lot of people know each other. The classes are at a good size though.

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Classes are not to hard but not very easy either. Worth the money, especially if your prospective 4 year college has the same classes for double the price.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your advisers early on, and try to figure out your major as soon as you can to avoid problems with classes later.

    In three sentences

    Easy to sign up for classes and reach advisers. Many different campuses to ease commutes.

  • 12/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great! Not only do we have superb security, the police barracks are less than 5 minutes away from the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs but not many people know about them because of advertisement which is being worked on currently.

    Great for these types of students

    Everything! Especially the lounge, game room, and cafeteria areas.

    Bang for the buck

    It's definitely worth going here. If you find yourself not ready for University Life, definitely come here! You will experience everything minus the dorm life.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do for fun, you just have to ask around. There are many club events and on campus events as well.

    Food and Dining

    There could be a better selection of food, but we do have is good. Service is fantastic.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus. Although most students who are not in-county, believe there should be. It would make for an easier commute.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some great professors and there is great curriculum here at CSM. There are many challenging classes but they are fun and when you need help there is plenty of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your time and enjoy the experience. Ask for help when you need it, there are so many people to help you!

    In three sentences

    College of Southern Maryland is great school, have great professor, and a great curriculum.

  • 12/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Year round student and faculty activities.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe' is a awesome place of food, fellowship, and fun on our college campus.

    Dorm Life

    No on campus housing, but housing assistance is available.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are really kind at the College Of Southern Maryland. They look forward to patiently helping each student in their best ability. Each Lecture is step by step in order for students to obtain a complete understanding of all assignments. Also, there is enough time given to complete each assignment given and if you need help at any time, the professors are right by your side. Each class is worth wile the time spent.

    Tips for prospective students

    The professors I've had at CSM have taught me quite a lot. They all are very much qualified to be teaching their subjects and have the proper credentials to do so. CSM provides a great learning environment for students of all types. The classes are small which provides plenty of one on one time with the professors, and I feel like I'm receiving the same education as someone at a four-year college.

    In three sentences

    The College of Southern Maryland is an awesome place of education. The professors are helpful and understanding of their students needs, what more could a college student ask for. On a scale of one to ten, I definitely give CSM a ten.

  • 12/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do for fun around this campus since it is a community college

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involve in the various student organizations

    In three sentences

    Its a great school, with valuable resources, nice facilities, and really helpful and knowledgeable staff. They have a great athletics program providing various sports for students. This school could use a bigger library though sometimes it can get crowed.

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security (Public Safety) are always walking around on watch. If there is ever an incident, it does not take too long for them to show up and address the situation.

    What to do for fun

    They have a game room with billiards and video games available. There are also occasional events that all students are welcome too. For instance movies, art shows, theatrical plays, and renaissance festivals.

    Food and Dining

    For a community college the selection of food choices is not too bad. The cafe food has improved in the past few months. Even The college store has a wide variety of snacks and drinks.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. Its a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Most professors are more interested in how much you learn rather than test scores. The course work isn't too difficult either. The only really challenging part are the mini sessions that pack a whole semester of course work into 6 or less classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its quite easy to get adjusted to college life there. Make sure to be on time to your classes because most professors don't allow students to come late constantly.

    In three sentences

    The professors are really the best part about this college. The financial advisors aren't quite up to par. The tuition and books costs keep rising.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Small campus allows for a more safe, monitored environment. Safety officers available at all times.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students looking to satisfy some general requirement classes before moving on to complete their BA degree or higher. Students who prefer small classes or online learning from the comfort of their home would benefit from this type of college.

    What to do for fun

    Several sports are offered through the College of Southern Maryland, as well as many clubs and community outreach programs that strike interest in any students. Other extracurricular activities, such as plays and guest speakers serve to entertain the students.

    Food and Dining

    The College of Southern Maryland has a small cafe snuggled into a far corner of the building. Students enjoy going there to grab a quick bite, finish homework, or relax with friends in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    There is no housing at the College of Southern Maryland.

    Academic Rigor

    Most professors push their students to try their hardest when approaching challenging classes and coursework. Classes may be difficult at times, but professors do their best to assist with any problems a student may face. Tutoring is also available for students seeking additional assistance.

    Tips for prospective students

    If possible, try to complete all paperwork, scheduling, and meetings as far before the deadlines as possible, because many students wait until the last minute and find themselves in a bad place.

    In three sentences

    College of Southern Maryland is a beautiful, three campus school which attracts a lot of students looking to satisfy their general education courses before transferring to a four-year college or university. The professors are kind and understanding , as are the staff members and counselors. I highly recommend this school to all students who may be interested.

  • 01/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's southern maryland, it is NOT fun.

    Food and Dining

    There is a coffee shop, its okay.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It's okay.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school to help you decide what you want to do with the rest of your life.

    In three sentences

    The campus is small. The class size is nice. I don't really feel like a college student.

  • 02/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe at CSM. I have a few classes that end late at night, and I never feel like I might be in danger while walking to my car by myself.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are multiple clubs at each campus, as well as regular college sports.

    Great for these types of students

    CSM is great for anyone and everyone!

    Bang for the buck

    You get a high quality education for a fraction of the cost of going away to a university. Going to CSM for a few semesters can save thousands of dollars!

    What to do for fun

    You can do anything for fun! You are still living at home and have 100% freedom!

    Food and Dining

    The College of Southern Maryland does not have on campus dining rooms, but they have a small cafe on each campus, as well as multiple vending options. Each campus is located very close to a town with many dining options.

    Dorm Life

    The College of Southern Maryland does not have on campus living, or offer any kind of dorms. However, there are many apartments around each campus that are willing to rent to students at very low prices.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot of variety with the classes that you can take at CSM. If you want to start off with easy classes, then you can, but if you want to start out with hard classes and jump right into the hard work, you can do that too. There are so many classes that you can take, almost anything that you could take at a university.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't know exactly what you want to do, go to CSM. All the classes that you take will transfer to any Maryland school, as well as many out of state schools. CSM allows you to have the convenience of staying at home, as well as getting the higher level education that you strive for. Staying at CSM and working for my first year of college was the best move for me, it allowed me to adjust to college life, and the busy schedules, as well as having my family close by and working.

    In three sentences

    CSM is a great college for students that are still undecided. Its allows students to take the classes that they need and want, on their own schedule, so that working and taking classes is possible. The professors at the College of Southern Maryland are very knowledgeable, and there is always someone on staff that can help you.

  • 03/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    no dorms