Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

College of the Albemarle Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/11/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    COA is great for students who like a lot of one-on-one attention. I actually had a calculus class that consisted of only three people, me being one of the three. COA is also great for adult students trying to get back on their feet and get their education. COA offers night classes so that adults can work during the day and take classes at night. COA is great for everyone!

    Tips for prospective students

    To prospective students, I would give you the tip to make sure you register early. Classes tend to fill up quickly. I would also encourage you to get involved. The Student Government Association is a great way to get to know the students and the faculty of COA.

    Bang for the buck

    COA is also inexpensive. You can get a great start to your education for a lot less money than a 4 year school.

    Am enjoying being here

    The students and faculty are so nice. Everyone speaks to you in the hallways as if they have known you for years. Also, the instructors really care about your grades. If you are having any problems at all, just talk to your instructor and he/she will help you through them. Actually, one of my english teachers, (may I say, the best ever!) works at a local restuarant and no matter how busy it is, she will always sit down and chat with you to find out if you are having any problems. Your instructors at COA are not just teachers, they are also friends. The Student Government Association also has many events to bring the students together. They host back to school parties and movie nights, which are a lot of fun. COA is very enjoyable!

    Am learning a lot

    The classes that you will take at College of the Albemarle will benefit you for the rest of your life. You will not have to take stupid classes that there is no point in taking. I attended COA to get my basic general education before transferring to get my Bachelor's degree. The information I learned at COA can be applied to everyday life, not just college classes.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    great for working students both just out of school and returning to school.

    Food and Dining

    small dining facility but surrounded by many fast food restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms on campus

    In three sentences

    amazingly flexible college. the staff in the administration office are awesome. i have not had a problem there yet.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a lot of security around the campus. It always seems like they are patrolling.

    Bang for the buck

    For how inexpensive the classes are, you do get bang for the buck.

    What to do for fun

    They have many events throughout the semesters to make the school a little more interesting. They do have clubs and sports as well.

    Food and Dining

    This college does not offer dining, except for a few vending machines here and there.

    Dorm Life

    College of the Albemarle is a community college and does not have dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Since this college is a community college or junior college, the academic rigor is not as intense as say a university. It's a good pace for those right out of high school or older adults returning to school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early, classes seem to go fast here. Make sure you get all paperwork in on time or earlier.

    In three sentences

    College of the Albemarle is small and comforting. It's really easy to find your classes and you'll never get lost. The staff is really friendly and always willing to help you succeed.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    College of the Albemarle is fairly safe. I think there could be more parking lot lighting, but other than that, its great.

    Bang for the buck

    I would consider College of the Albemarle great when it comes to cost and what the school offers.

    What to do for fun

    College of the Albemarle host various student activities throughout the year with the Student Government Association. The school offers baseball and softball as well. There is also a YMCA directly beside the school.

    Food and Dining

    College of the Albemarle does not offer on-campus dining, but students usually eat at the nearby restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    College of the Albemarle does not offer on-campus housing, but there are opportunity to rent apartments in Elizabeth City and the surrounding areas.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses offered at College of the Albemarle, in my opinion, are not extremely hard and the instructors help in any way that they can. The courses that are given at a faster pace, such as the two in one Algebra/Trig. Course, are a bit more challenging and require more effort, but I wouldn't consider them too hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    I advise all students that are planning to attend College of the Albemarle to know the exact courses that you need to take, especially if one plans to transfer into a particular program of study at a larger university. COA only offers certain classes during particular semesters. For example, if you need to take Biology I and II, you will have to take part I during in the Fall and the second part in the Spring. You can not take part I in the Spring and vice versus. This causes a student to delay graduation. Be careful.

    In three sentences

    College of the Albemarle is a great school for you if you have a family, are working full-time, or looking to save money in your first two years of college. COA has small classes, great teachers, and a host of other resources to help you successfully finish college. On a scale from 1 to 10, I would give College of the Albemarle an 8.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a good campus safety. There is a police academy in front of the school, so there is always cops around. If anything happens like you get hurt, there is a hospital right next to the school!

    Greek Life

    Unsure about the greek life?

    Clubs and Activities

    There are different sports to choose from like basketball, softball, and baseball. Also, like an other college, it has your normal academic teams/clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for people who don't mind taking extra time to study or want to finish some pre-requisites for a different major.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't think there really is anything different about this school then any other. We have the normal sports fields, auditoriums, and things like that.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a community college, so it will automatically save you lots! The classes and books are pretty cheap!

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do for fun. You can join an athletics team or a academic club. Right beside the school is a YMCA so if you feel energetic, you can go work out!

    Food and Dining

    This college does not offer food at the school, because it is close enough to many different food places.

    Dorm Life

    I don't have much to say about the dorm life, because I life close enough to the school that I just drive back and fourth.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the teachers aren't the best, but that will happen no matter where you go. If you are in this situation, then make sure you take extra time to study, and it might help to get a tutor that is located on the campus. There are some really good teachers in the school, and they will help you in any way you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips are to make sure you study when you take different classes. Make sure you pay attention in class, and if you have questions just ask! The school gives you many opportunities to succeed.

    In three sentences

    College of the Albemarle is a small school, but many different kind of people attend it. The teachers are really nice, and do everything they can to help you pass. The school may not be the biggest, but they teach you what you need to know to be prepared for the future.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security everywhere so always make sure to have your student ID with you. Though this can become a hassle, they've only checked me once, it is a good way to keep the campus safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    I personally haven't joined a club at this school because I don't really have transportation or time to do so. I've heard that the clubs are fairly good though.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are wanting to major in nursing, becoming a doctor, working with hair (such as at a salon), or doing computer work then this college is perfect! They support all classes for these majors and then some.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I usually stay in the student center and talk with people or stay to myself doing work. Since I have online classes I don't have anywhere to go on-campus but I still want to have that touch to the college life so every now and then I go with my fiance up to the college and wait in the student center.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is fairly reasonable here as for one credit hour in-state costs $69 and one credit hour out of state costs $261. Books are at the normal price but I believe the price to attend this college is fairly cheap if anything a steel.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs you can join to expand your college experience such as golf club, drama, and many others. Only problem is, with college life comes much more work and less time to do it in. You also have to accommodate for travel and how much gas it will cost to get back and forth for classes and for clubs.

    Food and Dining

    You have to bring your own food if you wish to eat a meal here. Some times, on rare occasions, there will be a free food day one of the clubs will sponsor where students are served breakfast, lunch, and dinner. There are vending machines all around campus so you can get a snack and a drink but that is about all.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't anywhere to stay here at COA probably because it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at this college is excellent. Most students act how they are supposed to and use what they have learned from this college in everyday life. Same goes for the instructors as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you take online classes here make sure to get a daily planner because the workload can sometimes be too much to bare and you'll forget to do some of it. If you take classes on campus then make sure to arrive early for your class because the parking-lot can get overfilled sometimes.

    In three sentences

    I'm currently taking online classes here and they have seemed to be okay thus far. Only problem I had was with one professor who took at least two weeks at a time to respond to my emails but she should be gone now. This school is actually a love nicer, cleaner, and more helpful then I thought it would have actually been.

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Athletics and SGA is about it.

    Great for these types of students

    The type of students who aren't ready to leave home yet and don't want big classrooms

    What to do for fun

    Either play softball or baseball. There isn't really anything fun to do.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't any food or dining area. They have a cafeteria; however, it only has vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    Students don't live on campus. They have to rent an apartment or live at home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend classes everyday. Be on time to class everyday. Do all of the work assigned. Turn in all work in on time. Study. Make good grades.

    In three sentences

    College of the Albemarle is a B average. It's a small campus, very well-oriented, and involved in the community. Teachers are involved with their students and look out for the students best interests.

  • 03/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is on top of things. However, sometimes I think they go overboard in their duties.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some excellent clubs that I sought out while attending, but I think there could be a lot more.

    Great for these types of students

    COA is great for those who need a transition period before moving onto a four year school. It is also a wonderful place for people just looking to learn new job skills. The continuing education department offers many different courses for adults. It's a great place for the non traditional student.

    Bang for the buck

    This is great place to get your first two years out of the way. Many first and second level courses are offered and COA is regionally accredited so they transfer easily to many four year institutions. The in state tuition is dirt cheap, AND there are many scholarship opportunities. I actually made money attending COA.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and look for opportunities to travel. I became a Student Ambassador and joined Student Government. This enabled me to experience things other students didn't get the chance to. I had a wonderful time at COA.

    Food and Dining

    There are currently no food services on campus. However, the hospital located next door has AMAZING food. Trust me.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. And Elizabeth City lacks in decent affordable housing. If you are a single college student, I would room with a friend and find a place you could split.

    Academic Rigor

    The college has amazing teachers. However, there are a few higher level courses that can't be found here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in the college's activities. Work hard and you will be rewarded. :)

    In three sentences

    The faculty and staff support and encourage you. Opportunity is abundant if you are willing to work. It is a great place to start.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never really felt un-safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    Only the Honors Society, Phi Theta Kappa.

    Clubs and Activities

    On the rise, but not as active as they could be.

    Great for these types of students

    Those looking to recieve job training skills or the basic classes needed to transfer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None really.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely a lot cheaper than the universities. A great place to take basic classes to transfer with and save a lot of money.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, hang out in the student center.

    Food and Dining

    No on campus food sources besides vending machines. Is in very close proximity to fast food restaurants though, many of which offer student discounts.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    For a community college, it offers a good variety of classes with varying levels of difficulty.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have your goals worked out ahead of time. Know what you want to do and how to get there...don't just depend on staff to tell you what to do. Not that they are incompetent, but at the college level you should have an idea of what you're doing in your life.

    In three sentences

    A great college for those looking to take their basic courses to transfer. Also has some great job training degrees that prepare you for positions right out of college. Also good with job placements.

  • 04/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I have entirely paid for my first year of education, and it feels amazing! At the university, I will have loans for years; but at COA, I have managed to pay all bills out of pocket, and half of my general education requirements are done!

    What to do for fun

    COA has a Softball and a Baseball team that are great activities. There is also an assortment of clubs for any attendee!

    Food and Dining

    I cannot say for sure about food services at COA, as I have not visited the entire campus.

    Dorm Life

    COA does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    COA keeps the learning environment up to the pace of a university. This creates the perfect experience for students looking to transfer.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would encourage prospective students to stay on top of their studies. The textbooks students are told to purchase are NOT paper weights. They are put to good use at COA!

    In three sentences

    I find College of the Albemarle creates a wonderful learning environment. All administrators are anxious to help students obtain their potential. I honestly feel ambitious for my next educational step from the influence of those on the COA- Elizabeth City campus.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security guards during night time and while I have been here there hasn't been one security threat on the dare campus.

    Greek Life

    I have no idea.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have no idea.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who like small campuses and really care about asking questions during class.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have no idea.

    Bang for the buck

    I would say it's a great deal for the type of education you recieve.

    What to do for fun

    People like to go into the library and talk lightly. Aside from that, there's not much to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    I ate here once, and I wouldn't recommend it. It's just a grade above the cafeteria food you would see at a high school.

    Dorm Life

    I honestly don't know because I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    At times I struggled, but the teachers here were more than helpful and I managed to pass all of my courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the library if you have any problem with citations and stuff of that sort. Also, make sure to take advantage of the services the college provides you, such as: Math tutoring, writing workshops, and the computer labs.

    In three sentences

    COA was a great stepping stone on my journey to a four year college. It's affordable, convenient, and the teachers here really care for your progress.It has small class sizes which makes it great for the student to ask for help and participate in discussions.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you need someone to escort you to your car if you are taking night classes, or if you feel unsafe at any time, College of the Albemarle will provide a security guard to do so.

    Great for these types of students

    College of the Albemarle is truly a great college for anyone.

    Bang for the buck

    College of the Albemarle is a great school to go to before transferring to a four year college. With its certificate programs and job training, it is also a great way for people to get back into the workforce!

    Food and Dining

    College of the Albemarle has snack machines and microwaves in the student center.

    Dorm Life

    College of the Albemarle does not provide housing to students.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes at College of the Albemarle can be challenging to complete, but they are not impossible! Tutoring is available for anyone who needs help. College of the Albemarle also has developmental courses if you need to take those before completing more rigorous classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always do your best! If you have any questions, ask your professor. Also, make sure you make appointments with your academic adviser to make sure you are taking the correct classes.

    In three sentences

    College of the the Albemarle is great for people who want to transfer to larger colleges in the future. Tuition is affordable due to scholarships and grants that students receive. Class sizes are small, so if you need any extra help, teachers have the ability to work with you to help you improve.

  • 11/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is everywhere!

    Clubs and Activities

    Many sports teams and bulletins for clubs.

    Bang for the buck

    The welding technologies class is very good.

    What to do for fun

    Walk around, talk, or anything else with other students.

    Food and Dining

    No cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    You earn what you strive for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure the set up for your major is done correctly and that you get into classes on time!

    In three sentences

    The people who made the program that I am attending did a poor job of setting the classes up, so I have to go longer than anticipated which costs more money. Everything else is pretty great! I like this school.

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is nothing to do for fun in Elizabeth city. However, there is the outer banks which is about an hour away. There is always something going on down there. Also Virginia and Virginia beach aren't that far away.

    Food and Dining

    There is no food on campus. However there are many different places to dine in town.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at COA. COA is a community college. Although there are many different apartment complexes around Elizabeth City.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here are not to hard. A lot of them are based off of critical thinking skills..

    Tips for prospective students

    I would go there if I were you. Tuition is cheaper than a university to get the common classes out of the way. All the staff are very nice and are willing to help out in anyway they can.

    In three sentences

    This is a good school to go to. The tuition is cheaper to get your basic classes out of the way. A lot of my instructors have been very helpful to me.