Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

College of the Canyons Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/10/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students passing by community college first before transferring out to a university, as I am. Or as well as students majoring straight off community college. Its an overall great experience for all type of students with different type of goals and dreams.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that when attending College of the Canyons, you come with the knowledge of how great of a place it is to meet your educational goals and that when in doubt, their will always be great assistance available for you.

    Bang for the buck

    I have had great pleasure in attending a college that not only has met my educational needs, but as well as my financial needs. Student Aid is definitely attainable in this college, but for those who pay their way through college on their own terms, its also a great place for that. The prices per unit is great sticking to $20.00 a unit and not going up much by these budget cuts coming around soon. Overall its a great place to meet your goals.

    Am enjoying being here

    This college offers so many different types of programs and extra curricular activities, that having fun and just a great time through out college here comes naturally. Its a great place for your community college experience.

    Am learning a lot

    College of the Canyons has some great professors that truly care about your learning experience, and that aspect of this great community college has opened my ability to learn so much about some great new topics, for example I am currently taking a Communications Studies class and its great and such a great learning experience about a topic I had no clue about before attending the class. This college also offers so many different types of classes that its no struggle to find the right one for you to jump start on the learning experience that College of the Canyons can offer you.

  • 08/15/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you live in Santa Clarita or close to it I say go to COC. Being able to live at home and commute to school will save you so much money. It is a great school and it is just a stepping stone for those who want to transfer. You can even get an associate's degree while you are finishing all your GE's which students at 4 yrs won't be able to obtain there.

    Tips for prospective students

    In order to finish COC in 2 years I say don't be intimidated if all classes are full or you are being weight-listed. Honestly it was that way for me too. I just kept showing up until the teacher was able to add me. If that means showing up for three weeks still not knowing if you are in a class or not that;s what it takes. Several students in my classes would eventually drop out so I just say stick with your classes show up keep asking the teacher if anyone dropped. You can finish a 2 yr school in 2 yrs you just have to jump at any available section of a class. If that means 8am Friday classes well you just have to suck it up and get through it. It will be worth it in the end.

    Bang for the buck

    COC totally saves money. I was able to finish all the general eds and transfer to the school I wanted all in 2 years. Right now there are a lot of students and it is hard to get classes, but if you really are motivated the community college will save a person so much money. Tuition is so much cheaper than at a 4-year. Almost all of my classes transferred over so I got the same credit as students who took the same class I did at COC but it cost them way more. Just for one semester at a Cal State I just spent around $3,000 just on tuition. At COC one semester of tuition and books still cost less than $1,000. I think that proves that the community college really does give you more bang for your buck.

    Did enjoy being here

    Overall the campus is nice its a lot cleaner compared to other community colleges. There are a lot of resources offered to help a student excel in there schooling they just have to make use of them. For example: library, TLC lab (they help look over papers or tutor in subjects), computer labs with free printing (up to 15 pages a day.. still pretty good).

    Did learn a lot

    Honestly, I feel like i did learn a lot while attending College of the Canyons. They have fantastic professors who are very knowledgeable about there subjects. I was able to finish all my GE's in the preparation to transfer to a 4-year which gave me a general grasp on a variety of subjects. I feel prepared for my upper division classes now.

  • 08/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone motivated and dedicated to building the necessary knowledge to grow as an individual and accomplish their career goals should consider College of the Canyons. It is a great, affordable step to moving on to bigger and better things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Neighboring students should really take this school into consideration seeing that living at home is very convenient regarding cost and commute. Although a majority of the classes get filled up fairly quickly, do not let that stop you from attending school altogether. As long as you make it onto the waitlist, you should be fine. Out of the five classes I was waitlisted for, I was unable to enroll in only one.

    Bang for the buck

    When it comes to a good education, everyone fears the thought of the large costs that come along with it. Although this may be true for a lot of UC's and Cal States, College of the Canyons definitely gives students more bang for their buck. They provide several financial opportunties along with inexpensive tuition and cost of books that in-state students pay less than $1,000 annually.

    Am enjoying being here

    COC is full of diversity and people of every age. It is fun meeting new people, and reuniting with old friends. The campuses are beautiful and well taken care of. The overall atmosphere enables students to appreciate their school and makes learning much more exciting experience.

    Am learning a lot

    College of the Canyons is a great school that provides a vast variety of classes that are suitable for those interested in any field. The professors are extremely passionate and dedicated in their work and offer different opportunities to encourage their students to a successful semester. Although some classes are difficult, students are left with a sense of accomplishment knowing they've learned a thing or two at the end of the year.

  • 12/24/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Many students and teachers talk down about CoC, but really it's a great place to earn your degree or transition into another school while saving money.

    Bang for the buck

    If you apply yourself by doing all your work the best that you can and showing up for class, you will earn a really good education, and you will be able to get your General Education out of the way, or even get you Associates Degree for a lot less money that you would at a University.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy that the location is close to home. I prefer the Valencia campus to the one in Canyon Country. I had a class in the CC campus, and I will be sure to never take another one there. It is hard if you are a new or newer student to get into the classes that you want. Priority goes to current students and those with more units, but once you are there for a while it gets easier.

    Am learning a lot

    I tested into college level classes, but they were still lower than the level I should have been at, so my classes were mostly review for me. If I was in an appropriate level class, I think I could have learned a lot. I think anybody can learn a lot where ever and how ever if they apply themselves.

  • 07/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that want a great education and save money.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you live in SCV and you are going to COC you should join FYE.

    Bang for the buck

    The best part about this school is that it is really inexpensive to attend.

    Am enjoying being here

    With the new campus opening right down the street it is perfect for a person like me.

    Am learning a lot

    I love this school so much my brothers went here and i am getting my major in recreational management and it is really relevant to what I want my career to be.

  • 01/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very good campus safety. at night there is a escort in a golf cart that may take you to your car after a night class which is very reassuring, especially when you are by yourself.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs that are offered. every club does its part on the campus and within the town with promoting themselves and participating in fundraisers.

    Bang for the buck

    expenses for classes, books, and anything else you would need you really get a good education for what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    this is not a college town so there is not a wide variety of things to do for the young college students but there is a mall, movie theater, nice restaurants, some bars, magic mountain, etc. college of the canyons is in a urbanized location.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria has the general lunch menu, i personally never eat on campus so i do not spend much time there. coc does have coffee kiosks on campus and those are great for a quick pick me up or small snack before or after classes.

    Academic Rigor

    any school is strict on cheating and plagiarism so that is obviously looked down on, not only at coc but every where else as well. academic work load is not over whelming being a full time student still allows you to have a part time job or a social life.

    Tips for prospective students

    take advantage of the resources!! they are there for a reason so why not use free help that is offered. when a teacher assigns an assignment do the work it is beneficial for students as well as easy participation points.

    In three sentences

    college of the canyons is wonderful facility. the faculty here are very welcoming, friendly and always willing to help. this is a great campus where you will get a knowledgeable education.

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 65

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    the college of the canyons is the best place to learn any career. is a very secure campus, with a family atmosphere. all the professorial are really good, you can tell that they loved what they does.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i love the campus and i never feel unsafe

    Food and Dining

    its not horrible no complaints

    Dorm Life

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    its not a place to join a frat its a place to learn and become a better person

    In three sentences

    wonderful teachers i love the scenery i have learned more than i have ever learned

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent!! i left a textbook in one of my classes and went to campus safety and they had it waiting for me in the back. someone had found it and returned it there. safety here is great, no violence. as i have attended here i have not heard anything bad or unsafe about this school.

    Greek Life

    greek life? not to sure about this one.

    Clubs and Activities

    never really been in any clubs here but i heard they are great! if there is a class you are currently taking that you just love. ask if they have a club, most professors will tell you about them.

    Great for these types of students

    this is school is great for any student! even students with disability's do great here and transfer onto university's. even high school students can attend here (if they qualify) to a program called aoc which allows students in high school to take high school classes and take some college classes so they can be ahead of the game.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    dsps which is for students with a disability. early childhood education building which is at the back of the school pass the foot ball field. some have trouble finding that building. another unusual place is the school has an arcade which is right next to the cafeteria! so hey if your stressed why not play some pac man for only a quarter!

    Bang for the buck

    you do get bang for your buck here! much cheaper then going and attending classes at a university. i must add though that is it hard to get classes due to budget cuts. however if you are a student with a learning disablity or any disablity for that matter you should go to the dsps offices and become apart of that program. i say this because students from here get priority registration, tutoring and a counselor that helps you every step of the way. making college more clearer for you and helping you find direction in your life. also regular counseling is great to!

    What to do for fun

    join a club. make friends. there is a lot of great people at the college. many forming study groups to help one another and even hangout outside of school for fun. another fun thing here is many movies and tv shows are filmed here so it is fun to watch and see what is being filmed. speaking of filming the film club is great and very fun! also any digital media, life drawing, painting classes are also very fun.

    Food and Dining

    there is a cafeteria at college of the canyons. also in the cafe is a subway. there is a cook that will cook breakfast and lunch. food that is cooked there ranges from pancakes, eggs,bacon, burgers, casadillas,grilled cheese sandwhich and more. the college has many vending machines with snacks and beverages of many sorts. also if you are looking to go cheap you can bring your own food to the campus microwave which is free to use at no cost. if that doesn't satisfy you the valencia westfield mall is down the street and has many dinning choices that might be to your liking.

    Dorm Life

    college of the canyons has no dorm life. this is because they are a junior college. however you can rent an apartment near by. i believe the career center has a board where you can check to see who is looking for room mates.

    Academic Rigor

    great professors! they know there material. many have lots on there resumes. very helpful and caring of there students. however there are a few that are not that great. but you can check rate my professor and see which one are a good pick for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    tips for students planning to attend here would be to balance your time well. students have from part time/full time jobs, family's, friends studying for school and don't forget me time. college can be a lot easier if students budget there time better. never procrastinate and if you are working be sure that you balance you work and classes so that you aren't stressing yourself. if you are working part time or full time then take maybe two classes. four classes is considered a full time student and is equivalent to a full time job. or work only 10-20 hours a week and take more classes. you don't want to just be working and going to school everyday you to need some time to yourself to relax. another tip is parking is very bad the first two weeks of school so arrive 40 mins to an 1 hour early to park. once more people drop parking spots open up.

    In three sentences

    affordable classes for your college needs! beautiful campus with wonderful,knowledgeable,caring and helpful professors. great facility and staff that are very helpful in what ever you need!

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 65

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    less crowded, smart professors who ae ready to bring out the best in you.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    coc has a huge list of on campus clubs for interested students to join, as well as a club fair the first week of school.

    Great for these types of students

    students with a desire to transfer to a competitive four year institution.

    What to do for fun

    there are tons of clubs on campus as well as regularly hosted events like traveling theatre groups and the international film festival.

    Tips for prospective students

    take advantage of your teachers office hours! they are all required to be there for them anyway, why not get help with your coursework?

    In three sentences

    college of the canyons is a great community college with tons of classes as well as a friendly environment. the programs at coc are numerous and very in-depth. small class sizes on one of two beautiful campuses makes coc a must for students in the santa clarita area.

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    college of the canyons hosts street fairs every month as well as movie screenings and theatrical shows.

    Academic Rigor

    i have definitely taken some challenging courses at college of the canyons and some not so difficult courses. the trick is to take advantages of all the college of the canyons has to offer. for example, the tlc lab offers free tutoring for pretty much any subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved! there are many reasons for this. by getting involved, you are meeting new people and it looks great on other applications and resumes. also, if you are involved in a sport or certain club, you can get priority registration.

    In three sentences

    college of the canyons is a perfect place for students who are undecided in their major, need to get their general education out of the way, or want a great education. college of the canyons is in a great, safe neighborhood and close to the freeway for easy access out of town. college of the colleges has a great educational staff who will work with you to reach your goals.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing you need to just study, study. If you are all caught up then go to Magic Mountain.

    Food and Dining

    Alright food.

    Academic Rigor

    Make sure you have lots of study time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont overload yourself the first time with lots of classes.

    In three sentences

    Very nice atmosphere on the campus. the campus grounds are very well kept up and clean. The students are nice helpful and the teachers are great so far.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Six flags magic mountain is right down the street! Along with a water park. Great location not far from lots of entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    Many yummy places to eat at low coat located close by!

    Dorm Life

    Not offered.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers at CoC are there for you! Bug them! Use them. They truly are helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak with one of the many super helpful consulears to make sure you are on the right track to whatever your goals are. Join an on campus group or club to help with social networking.

    In three sentences

    College of the canyons is a great junior college. It had a wonderful friendly environment and the student at CoC really take pride in their goals. I would re comment College of the Canyons to anybody looking for an affordable education.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty safe in a residential community

    Bang for the buck

    Worth the cash to attend

    What to do for fun

    There are alot of clubs you can join.

    Food and Dining

    Good food they have coffee Kios on campus, Subway and a cafateria

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are typical for college with essay/multiple choice exams. Summer classes you may get out of writing a term papers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep checking online daily for an open class up to the day of the class.

    In three sentences

    COC has variety of majors and offers good certificate programs. The facilities are nice and instructors well qualified. In a safe location.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    5 stars

    Clubs and Activities

    3 stars

    Great for these types of students

    Something for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    5 stars.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of wonderful students, drama club, bible studies.

    Food and Dining

    Great food in cafeteria with many places to eat within a short distance driving.

    Dorm Life

    There is none.

    Academic Rigor

    3 to 4 stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start taking classes in high school (11th and 12th grade) even if it is one class per semester. Priority registration goes to those with the most units.

    In three sentences

    I have had a good experience at COC thus far. Great teachers for the most part. Safe campus and close to home.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security and campus escorts

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Amazing sport program

    What to do for fun

    Sports

    Food and Dining

    Has a great cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    Don't live in a dorm, live with my mom

    Tips for prospective students

    I would not suggest online classes unless you are on your computer 24/7

    In three sentences

    The students get great help from tutors and teachers. Athletes have a great place to study and get the help they need. A beautiful campus.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    at 6pm there are security golf like vehicles that drive around taking students to cars or places where they will be picked up

    Greek Life

    give lots of bake sales

    Clubs and Activities

    clubs give out lots of bake sales, & other free food.

    Great for these types of students

    the gardens are a great place for students that like to exercise

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hasley Hall reminds me of a cruise ship.

    Bang for the buck

    classes

    What to do for fun

    look for free food around campus

    Food and Dining

    great cafeteria, subway there, varitety of food you could eat,

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    its duable, like a tough high school teacher

    Tips for prospective students

    register early, arrive early b/c not that much parking, sell back your books

    In three sentences

    The campus is big, lots of shady areas. there are a variety of future options you could pursue here.Great facilities to help you do better in classes such as the TLC Lab- the free tutoring center at school.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The college is safe and there are people who are willing to escort students to their cars at night via golf carts.

    Greek Life

    There are currently two scholarship chapters at College of the Canyons.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wide variety of clubs that hold fundraisers. Activities at school include workshops and free events that sometimes include a free lunch! There are also job and career fairs.

    Great for these types of students

    Football athletes are great for College of the Canyons because it is a Division II school. It also great for transfer students and students interested in the nursing program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    College of the Canyons has been the location for many films and TV shows. The TV show NCIS was filmed on campus and there would be camera crews which makes it exciting. All the school scenes in the film The Girl Next Door was shot at College of the Canyons.

    Bang for the buck

    College of the Canyons provides great financial aid and strives to let the students become aware of it by having financial aid guest speakers come into classrooms or hosting free breakfasts (free donuts and coffee). They also have a great program called EOPS. Any student that qualifies for the Board of Governor's (BOG) Wavier is qualified for it. They help students by giving them benefits such as early registration, book vouchers, customized education plans with counselors, tutoring, and free computer use.

    What to do for fun

    SCV Street Fair is hosted every last weekend of the month at College of the Canyons. They also have a farmer's market every Sunday morning. The film teacher, Mr. Gary Peterson, hosts a number of screenings of great films on Fridays.

    Food and Dining

    Not a lot of choices and the food is overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    non-existent

    Academic Rigor

    College of the Canyons (COC) is a great school for nursing since they have a low-cost, well-known rigorous nursing program. It is also a great school for acquiring certificates and associate's degrees. It has a transfer alliance program with schools like University of California--Los Angeles (UCLA) and California State University--Northridge (CSUN).

    Tips for prospective students

    Always apply for financial aid even if you think you do not qualify; there's no hurt in trying! The teacher's office hours are dedicated for students and should be used by students--allow this opportunity to get to know your teacher so that she can write you a good recommendation letter if you ever need it in the future. There are jobs within the school you can apply for such as working at the library or computer lab or becoming a Math or English tutor. Save your money by packing lunches since the cafeteria food and the bookstore merchandise are overpriced.

    In three sentences

    It is very clean and safe campus. It also has a wide variety of programs and majors as well as a great staff. The school really takes care of its students like hosting barbeques for financial aid awareness.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I'm too busy to join any clubs now, but am aware there are several on campus

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none that I'm aware off

    Bang for the buck

    the tuition is reasonable

    What to do for fun

    I take photos and make short films. I enjoy learning American sign language and volunteer as a youth group leader at my church for the 6th grade kids.

    Food and Dining

    happy to say there are a number of venues to eat at and get coffee

    Dorm Life

    no dorms on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    check everything online then visit the campus. It is very welcoming once you get past your fear

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful and there are many areas to kick back and enjoy the view in peace or study in a nice atmosphere. Classrooms are clean and comfortable with air conditioning, which is important were I live. Teachers are accessible and friendly, willing to help if asked

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not only does security drive around campus everyday, but at night they are their to escort you to your car. Every year a women's safety defense class is given; it is literally open to women only.

    Greek Life

    Don't hear too much about this.

    Clubs and Activities

    Campus Clubs, there are several, from honors, to clubs for different majors, to dance and religious clubs. The list goes on. Whatever you're looking for you will find.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any type of student. If you're hardworking and want to achieve goals, you can find that here. If you want to have fun and you're more laid back, you can go here, but you probably should still study.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Theme Park. About 5 to 10 minutes away from campus is one of California's first oil boomtowns, Mentryville, also known as a ghost town.

    Bang for the buck

    If you enjoy social life, College of the Canyons has a community feeling. After going to this campus, almost everywhere you go you're pretty much guaranteed to run into a friend. Also, there is a free tutoring lab for Math, English, and some sciences.

    What to do for fun

    Most people just like to hang out on campus or at the mall for fun, but 5 minutes up the street there is Six Flags Magic Mountain and Hurricane Harbor. Also, there is bowling, a family fun center, ice skating and places to go play recreational sports.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria, with a Subway in it as well as freshly cooked meals to order. Also, different food trucks come to campus and sometimes events are held where foods like hot dogs and pizza are given out or sold for $1 or less. Right down the street in walking distance, are restuarants and the mall with a food court.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus as this is a community college and most students live minutes away.

    Academic Rigor

    If a student thinks community college is easy, don't come to College of the Canyons. The level of academics is sometimes equivalent to some universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard! It is always good to know your strengths and weaknesses before choosing a teacher, so that you can best fit your needs. Also, everytime you get a class, in order to succeed, meet with your professor! It helps!

    In three sentences

    College of the canyons is a community college in Santa Clarita, CA. Out of all of the community college's in existence, I believe that this has one of the top notch programs and facilities. Professors and teachers who work here have high degrees and some come from prestigious universities.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is excellent. There is no crime on campus, there are security people roaming around everywhere. On the Canyon Country Campus (which is kind of in the boonies) if you are there at night the security guards offer to walk you to your car to make sure of your safety.

    Greek Life

    No fraternities or the like, and I'm not aware of any activities like that...But seeing as it's a community college, it's likely that there is no 'Greek life' specifically found on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of Honors clubs, a Psychology club, History....There's a lot. Pretty much a club for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student fits in here. I've seen all sorts of people: jocks, preps, goths, nerds, heck, there's even a guy in a kilt. And everybody hangs out with everybody, there's no cliques to worry about not fitting into.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The perfect spot to eat lunch is in between Mentry and Seco hall, there's a little alcove with a large shade tree and a couple of benches, no one hardly ever sits there, so it's perfect for alone time. Also, in the library, there's a lot of neat places that allow for secluded napping, take advantage of these places. If you find yourself having to go to the bathroom and don't want other people to be in there, try the bathroom on the second floor of Boneli Hall near the bridge to Seco, it's almost always empty.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are a California resident, this college is definitely a bang for your buck. Tuition is cheap, parking is acceptable. The only large cost is books, they kill us with book prices. If you buy online, however, you can bypass this expense and get books for far cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    There are a variety of clubs to join on campus, also there are numerous activities put on by said clubs. Game nights, plays, music, picnics are just some of the many opportunities for fun offered on campus. Also, on select days there free food...what college student doesn't love free food?

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria on campus which serves all sorts of foods. Also, there is a subway on campus for those of us who love a good, healthy meal.

    Dorm Life

    Seeing as College of the Canyons is a community college, there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the professor and class, one's experience at College of the Canyons can be rigorous. However, this level of difficulty only makes the student learn more and become a better student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't overload yourself with too many classes; take your time, an A in four classes is better than B's in five classes. Parking sucks, leave early to give yourself plenty of time to search for a parking space. Look for scholarships, they help a lot. Don't be ashamed to go to the TLC lab, the people are there to help you succeed, utilize this wonderful tool available to you.

    In three sentences

    College of the Canyons is an excellent school being that it is a community college. The professors are excellent, the atmosphere is great for learning, and the variety of classes offered are wonderful for the diverse student population that attends College of the Canyons. Overall, attending COC was an excellent experience to have.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs on campus!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be involved on campus

    In three sentences

    College of the Canyons is a great junior college for students who want to complete their general education requirements and explore their career options. Here you will be able to save money and make the most of your time as a community college student. College of the Canyons offers many resources for students and faculty to achieve their desired goals.

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    24 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is an amazing group of people, who really care about their students. Once a semester, they hold a free self-defense workshop which is open to both to students and the community. This workshop opens your eyes to dangers and prepares you so that you may defend yourself. Also, I have known them to recover stolen items and take care of any lost items. Also, they have campus escort at night. Definately the best staff.

    Greek Life

    I know there is a Honor Society.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a variety of clubs and activities. Be sure to check out club rush.

    Great for these types of students

    Every student.

    Bang for the buck

    I love this school.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club that sparks your interests. Take part in campus activities. Catch an afternoon baseball game.

    Food and Dining

    I would say our cafeteria is average. Everything is prepared fresh and by the culinary students. I do with there was a salad bar. However, the coffee kiosk located on campus is the perfect spot for a quick coffee fix.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    College of the Canyons strives to be the best in preparing students for university life and seems to succeed. The classes will be tough, but definitely worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your counselor, set up an educational plan. Know the resources available to you, by exploring the school website and talking to a counselor. Form relationships with professors, especially ones in your related field, listen to their advice. Try to be well-rounded. Try to get a job on campus. Make sure to have some fun and school spirit by occasionally checking out all the activities happening on campus. Good Luck!

    In three sentences

    COC is a great school with an amazing staff, whose goal is to see every student obtain their goals. I could not of picked a better community collage as a stepping stone to an university. There are plenty of programs and resources for students, financially, emotionally, physically, and mentally. Thank You COC.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of trees and grass around the campus where you can relax with friends before and after class. Also, there is TLC where there are tutors and teachers to help students with homework or any questions. Finally, there is student center and you can just relax there, study do as you please.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria at this college, and inside it has a Subway and other food like fries, burgers, etc. Also, there are plenty of vending machines around the campus if you want food or a drink. Lastly, there is a coffee shop place and the coffee's are amazing.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here thus it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Each teacher has his or her own strictness to her grading scale, but most of the teachers follow a standard grading scale. Also, if you plan to transfer make sure you keep your GPA at a 3.0 or above because that gives you a greater chance to acceptance. Counselors are a great help in finding out what classes to take and also what classes are transferable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Future Students make sure to register early so you get the best chance to get the classes you need. Also, make sure to buy a parking permit because security constantly goes by and checks all cars. Other than that College of the Canyons is a great community college and the sports teams are awesome.

    In three sentences

    I like that current students at College of the Canyons always get all the classes they need, and they do not have to fight with others. Most of the teachers that I have had have been great. They all have PH.D's, BA's, and other high level degrees, so it makes it more comforting for the students to know that the teachers are well educated in the subject they teach.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always patrolling the parking lots, which always gives me some peace of mind when I am in class hours on end. And if you plan on taking classes that end after dark they are always campus escorts available so that they may drop you off at your car, even if you parked at the other side of campus. You can either wave the campus escorts down, or call them from a phone in any building and they will give you a ride.

    Clubs and Activities

    The college offers plenty of clubs ranging from Dance to AMSA. Whatever your passion is COC have a club for you and if they don't you always having the option of starting your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is perfect for students that enjoy being within a smaller classroom. Typically each classroom ranges between 25 to 30 students. This campus is also a perfect fit for those who need to have a close connection with their professor and also with their classmates. I would not recommend this college for those who are extremely anti-social because in every one of my classes their has always been group work.

    Bang for the buck

    The College utilizes some of the best equipment in the market from high end projectors to the latest computer technology. For instance in the MESA center they recently swapped out their out desktops for i5 PCs. In the computer lab they have iMAC's so that you may be able to work on video editing, photo editing, or even just plain homework.

    What to do for fun

    The college offers a seemingly endless array of colleges. Being that the classrooms are small you make friends extremely quickly so you can also go out with friends. There is also a video arcade outside of the cafeteria that has some of the best first person racing games on the market.

    Food and Dining

    There is a very nice cafeteria that is very well maintained. Within the cafeteria you have the option of choosing anything from chips, soups, and there is even a Subway in the cafeteria. The cafeteria has never been dirty or disgusted but it can be a little loud at times so I would not recommend going in there to work on homework, unless you have no problem concentrating in a hectic environment.

    Dorm Life

    The college does not offer dorms, but I'm sure that administration can give students resources to help accommodate their living situation. There are several rooms for rent around the college campus. In addition to the rooms for rent their are also several apartment buildings as well.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at the college definitely challenge their students and make sure that they not only understand the concepts instead of just being able to crank out problems like a robot. You will definitely will have to dedicate your life to succeed at this college. The courses are difficult but an A is still reachable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you are always on time and early on exam days. Make sure to turn in assignments in on time and to never miss an assignment. If your master time then you will master success.

    In three sentences

    One of the most beautiful community college in California. College of the Canyons has the genuine professors that really care about their students. This is the only college that I have been to where you can take a cinema class, learning about the history of film and at the same time have a movie being filmed where masked ninjas are repelling down a helicopter above the college's baseball field.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    27 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have pretty good campus safety, there was never a time in three years of my attendance that I felt unsafe. Also, you can get a caddy at night to drive you to your parking spot.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs to join!

    What to do for fun

    Honestly, most community colleges are not full of fun things to do because of their commuter status. Most students are here at various times of the day and go back home. What you should do to have some fun is to join a club or sport, go to the Friday night screenings of movies(including International movies) at the theater room, go to a game, etc.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria with a Subway and some chinese food. There are plenty of snacks and sandwiches to choose from. They also have sushi and a wide array of healthy foods.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not sure about the dorms. Since this is a community college it means that it's a commuter school. Most of my classmates drive from the Valley and other cities to this college, while others live close to campus.

    Academic Rigor

    We have many fantastic professors with PHD's here. Also, you might have to work a little harder to get an A in class compared to other community colleges because the students here are competitive and all want to transfer to a good university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to study hard and do well, join clubs, and take advantage of counseling so they can help plan out your future for you.

    In three sentences

    Compared to the other community colleges in Los Angeles, I would say that this is one of the best. It is in a great area and provides students with lots of opportunities to succeed.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    28 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus safety department hires real current and former sheriffs to keep our campus safe, and there has not been any serious incidents here that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    60+ clubs as of 2012, and always growing. With an active Inter Club Council to keep clubs productive and on track.

    Great for these types of students

    All types, really. Beginners, returners, and the serious academic alike.

    Bang for the buck

    You save SO much money (compared to spending your first two years at a University). I cannot recommend the community college route enough.

    What to do for fun

    Again, get involved! There are many fun activities on campus if you look for them. Not to mention, we have a mall, and Six Flags Magic Mountain right down the street!

    Food and Dining

    Our Cougar Cafe is delicious in my opinion! We also have a Subway and a Coffee Kiosk.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here, but there is an online housing board to help you find local rooms for rent if you need one.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some challenging courses here, once you reach the 100 level and beyond. COC is also designed to help you reach this level, so there are some lower-level classes (which unfairly got this school the nickname, College of the Crayons. Unfairly, because the academics are rigorous if you seek them out).

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! There are clubs, honor societies, a transfer center, a career center, many on campus jobs and internships, a student government, and MUCH much more. If you take yourself seriously while you are here, the school will take you seriously as well.

    In three sentences

    College of the Canyons was one of the greatest decisions I have made in regards to my educational career. Not only did I save money (because really, where you get your first two years of school done does not matter in the slightest), which was my initial goal, but I was welcomed into a rich academic environment. COC helps you reach all transfer requirements, will help you find a job if you need one, a school to transfer to if you need one, and offers so many extra curricular opportunities that you will never find yourself bored if you truly apply yourself here.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always someone around who is willing to walk you to your car if you take night classes. Other campus securities always roam the campus during the day.

    Food and Dining

    Each campus has their own food area. The main campus has a cafeteria with a Subway inside and there are also vending machines throughout the campus. The main campus is also about five minutes away from the local mall, which has many restaurants close by. The small campus, we call the Canyon Country Campus, has a small restaurant on campus along with a cafe with vending machines. This campus is also located close to two restaurants and fast food row.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, but there is a section on the website that lists all people from COC that are looking for roommates and there are even reality sites that post deals for students.

    Academic Rigor

    The school tries to accommodate everyone, but there are chances that the classes are not available because of overcrowding. There are also some teachers that students have come into problems with, but the school always seems to handle any situation well. There may be some few problems, but the school is great and all the classes are wonderful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to take all GE classes first because they are all very hard to get into and fill up fast. Make sure you meet with a counsellor because things change constantly with degrees and classes at COC that it would be good to talk to them to make sure your on the right track. Other then these two things this is one of the best schools to go to, especially if you are undecided on your major.

    In three sentences

    Small, but has two campuses, which makes it easy for everyone in the Santa Clarita Valley and the Antelope Valley to get classes. The counselors all know what they are talking about, even though sometimes it can be hard to get an appointment with them. There are also a lot of classes offered and ones that fit everyone from High School Students to returning students.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are large amounts of clubs to join at College of the Canyons. It helps kids get more involved with the community rather than focusing solely on the textbooks for the whole semester.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is well done with affordable food.

    Academic Rigor

    A majority of the professors there all helped in a well fashion. They made sure they had open office hours to meet the students needs with work in class or making sure the work load isn't extremely stressful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should be aware of the mass amount of students attending. They should think ahead of the classes they want and need in order to register in a timely manner. The school is impacted with numerous amounts of students.

    In three sentences

    It is a friendly and safe campus. There is beautiful scenery and enough room to complete your studies outdoors or inside. The tutoring is free and is extremely helpful for students in various studies.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is exceptionally safe. Most of the security guards come from the military or law enforcement and have considerable amounts of experience. There are also campus escorts who drive students to their cars in the late hours.

    Greek Life

    There are two or three greek honor societies on campus. As a member, you have a better chance of being accepted into a four year university.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs, but not too many activities.

    Great for these types of students

    A student who is self-motivated will do well in any educational institution, but this is especially true in the community college, where many students seem to lack motivation and passion for learning.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are none that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    The on-campus bookstore has become more competitive with its prices, and is actually beating some online retailers. The cost of tuition (credits and fees) is very low in comparison with other community colleges. There are also many scholarship opportunities available through the college.

    What to do for fun

    There are relatively few on-campus activities, but there is an arcade and plenty of room to hang out. The campus is beautiful.

    Food and Dining

    There is an on-campus Subway Sandwich shop and a cafeteria with snacks and a chef that cooks burgers, breakfast burritos, hot dogs, and similar items. The food is a bit expensive, but you are in no way obligated to purchase a meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the courses are challenging but definitely possible to pass and succeed in. The professors are usually more than happy to help, and there is an on-campus tutoring lab (the TLC) that is free for students. Don't get lazy, always start the semester with a bang and end it strong.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before you register for classes, take the time to decide what your interests are and which schools you are interested in going to. Different schools have different transfer requirements, and as this is a junior college, you will want to travel quickly and successfully. Also, take as many classes as you can. The more credits you have, the more priority you have in registration, which you will need to land a spot in the more popular general education requirements.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school that has teachers and several on-campus resource offices that have the time and the will to help struggling students. The cost per credit is very low in comparison with other community colleges, and student fees get you free printing on-campus. On the downside, winter classes were recently completely cut out because of budget difficulties.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun here at school you can admire the beautiful views the school provides. Use the wonderful campus to hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    College of the Canyons offers a dining area full of food cooked by the own culinary arts students and staff here at school. We also have subway.

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know about dorm life since I stay at home.

    Academic Rigor

    College of the Canyons has an excellent academic rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    To be a good citizen in this school and in life you need nothing more than dedication and self discipline.

    In three sentences

    College of the Canyons has a beautiful campus life. The teachers here have excellent teaching skills. College of the Canyons has a lot of available resources to students.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 65

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    College of the Canyons is absolutely the right college for anyone interested in a fair, calm, supportive, and calm environment; the teachers are amazing and do everything in their ability to help you exceed.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Escorts will take you to your car at night

    Clubs and Activities

    They offer a million clubs so find one that best suits your interests and major!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who need to commute or need a cheaper education.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is much cheaper because it is a community college and you are going to get an excellent education for it! Great for general education courses.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs to join and sports events to attend.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has generally good food and there is a Subway on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    As a science major, the courses are challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not go to a counsellor. They are not helpful! Use assist.org if you are planning to transfer and come up with your own academic plan!

    In three sentences

    College of the Canyons is a great commuter school and is one of the best community colleges in the country. The administration is not very good, but the teachers are great and they care about the students, for the most part.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Yes, its a great school!

    What to do for fun

    Six Flags Magic Mountain is only about a mile away.

    Food and Dining

    Good cafeteria

    Academic Rigor

    Professors will definitely challenge student's.

    In three sentences

    A really great college, the school and staff are engaged in making sure students get the most out of their time at College of the Canyons.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    College of the Canyons has a very low crime rate and security is always available to escort students around campus.

    Greek Life

    This is a community college so it does not really apply.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities running. Many clubs have activities that cater to career paths.

    Great for these types of students

    College of the Canyons is great for any student, there is something for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Something a little out of the ordinary is the fact that College of the Canyons is a popular site for film shooting. Movie trailers and crew can be seen around the campus year round.

    Bang for the buck

    College of the Canyons allows me to start my education without leaving me broke. Tuition is relatively inexpensive at about $36 a unit and there is always financial aid available.

    What to do for fun

    College of the Canyons has a Performing Arts Center that hosts musicals, concerts, celebrity performances and other shows year round. There are also many free shows if you look up their schedule. Another activity is the Santa Clarita Street Fair held every weekend in the parking lot where local vendors sell food and craft. The campus is just down the street from the local Edwards Theatre and Mall and about 5 miles south of Castaic Lake. There are also a multitude of biking and running routes that snake through the town.

    Food and Dining

    The campus serves Subway, has a Coffee Kiosk and another cafe in the university center. There are also hot chocolate machines for the winter/fall terms and vending machines throughout the campus. From my experience, there is nothing bad to say about the food. However, the campus is just down the street from the Valencia Town Center and other restaurants. If campus dining is not for you, it is less than a mile to at least 10 different restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college so Dorm Life is not applicable.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are passionate about their work and care about the class they teach. I have found my teachers eager to prepare a course that is worthy of my time and money. The academics are challenging but I have learned so much.

    Tips for prospective students

    I advise prospective students to make an appointment with one of the school's counselors to make an ED plan. I also advise the use of RateMyProfessors.com; I found it very helpful in selecting classes and making sure I did not overload on school work. If you have any concerns about classwork don't hesitate to speak with your teacher. I have found that if you explain the situation, professors are very understanding and will try their best to come to a compromise.

    In three sentences

    College of the canyons offers a variety of courses in smaller class sizes and provides an environment that is nurturing. The students are in class to learn and the professors are enthusiastic about their work. The campus is also easy to find and it is not too far away from town.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Beautiful campus and well maintained.

    Food and Dining

    Average food but there are a lot of great restaurants near campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with a counselor as soon as possible to work out you student ed plan.

    In three sentences

    It is a great campus. Professors are amazingly knowledgeable. I enjoy coming here on a daily basis.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    You can't live on campus. Parking is terrible, not to mention you have to pay $50 for a parking pass.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes I've taken have been fairly easy, however, it depends on what teacher you have. There are a good amount of decent teachers, but about the same amount of bad teachers.

    In three sentences

    There are lots of different classes to take at College of the Canyons. However, it's hard to get classes because the school is overcrowded. If you're looking to get out of college fast, this is not the college for you.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus. There are phones for emergency posted and anytime after dusk there is a golf cart escort to drive women to their cars.

    Greek Life

    I am not very familiar with much but, there are a few.

    Clubs and Activities

    Honor's Program, Sigma Alpha Epsilon, Drum and Music, Art Gallery, and more.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for women who enjoy competing with men. The students passionate about government have a market that lacks the following needed to have effective student influence. Awesome nursing program.

    Bang for the buck

    This school has plenty of bang for your dollar. Where can you learn from Professor's that teach at UCLA, USC, CSUN, CSLA, (and so on) for $41 dollars a unit? The classes are not to crowded and have sometime for one on one assistance.

    What to do for fun

    On Campus the fun depends on what the new student interests are? There are plenty of activities, sporting events, clubs, and programs. Many spill over into helping the community.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria hosts a Subway and a good selection of fresh food, fruits, and cereal; among other things. Next door to the cafeteria is the bookstore, which has plenty of snacks. In the back of campus there is a Coffee Kiosk that has fresh brewed coffee, toasted bagels, and candy bars for less then the vending machines sell them for.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    This school offers the most current curriculum in whatever industry a student may be interested in pursuing. Many of the Professor's teach at the top dollar private schools and the big name schools from the LA area. The TLC lab offers free tutoring for students enrolled in the courses that they need help with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure as a new student that you are prepared to make school, and your education, something that you truly want. Make the education and the process of being a student as fun as possible. Follow the instructions given and do the work. Don't look to cut corners or give less than great work. The student that does not want to be at school to learn will not succeed.

    In three sentences

    College of the Canyons has a fantastic selection of classes for many degree paths. The courses are challenging and the Professor's are superb. This school has many specialized programs for things like welding, nursing, etc. The best part is many of the staff members are very helpful to new students and the majority of the teachers are from the great schools in the LA area.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I feel like the science professors are all well versed in their fields

    Food and Dining

    I have no experience with the food and dining. It has a subway and a small cafeteria on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your education plan first thing before you enroll

    In three sentences

    Awesome College. All my friends that started here and have gone off to graduate love this school.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very high campus safety i havent seen anyhting bad happen around campus. The COC campus is almost 100% clean most of the times.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Go to the tlc lab it helps alot and some teachers give extra credit . Its a (tutor learning Center)!!

    Bang for the buck

    financial aid is very helpful you could basically go to COC for free and even have some extra money for gas and food.

    What to do for fun

    you can hang out with friends in between classes.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great we have subway in the cafeteria we also have a wide variety of foods around the school because we are very close to the valencia mall.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms at College of the Canyons

    Academic Rigor

    i beleieve it is academically high among most colleges

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you join the program FYE because that is the only way you will get priority registration for classes unless you do a sport.

    In three sentences

    i believe College of the canyons offers great opportunity for an excellent education. It one of the most respected transfer colleges in the state. Its faculty is well organized and very efficient when it comes to teaching us the students.

  • 10/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Safe at late at night if there are always security cars driving around the campus. But don't be by your self very late and try to make friends.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a lot of clubs it just depends of what your interest are and also you can create your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    Who are Freshman or who are thinking of coming to College of the Canyons.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No unusual traditions on campus. But All I can say is if you are in need of help in Math, English, or in Computers the people at the TLC Lab are there to help you out on what ever you need of help from the subjects you are taking. And the tutors are College of the canyons students who have been in your shoes on what teachers you will be taking on.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are registered as a student at College of the canyons you can go to the Student Center inside the Computer Lab and get 15 pages for free and 5 color pages free.

    What to do for fun

    Play in the Arcade area right next to the student center and the computer lab. Also we have the Valencia Mall and alot of hiking trails.

    Food and Dining

    We have a subway in the cafeteria area and the food center is the best made by the culinary students.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorm Life

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic Rigor is not it just depends on what you want to do as a major or if you are undecided then you have so many opportunities that you can try any classes you like and sit in.

    Tips for prospective students

    To get in to this community college then take summer classes and if they still do have winter classes. So you can entern in as a reagluer student. If you want great awesome teachers then go on rate my professors.com and talk to other students from the campus.

    In three sentences

    This college is not just a community college but feels so much as a university. I had amazing teachers in the Art Department who will help you if you are going for anything in Animation/3D computer video game. All the people are there are great and amazing. Also for others who are undecided or have different majors you can look up the infomations on the college web site and see what they have to afford you. But right now the class prices are going up year by year.

  • 10/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Free rides on the golf cart to your car after dark and it's pretty common to see the security guys motoring around, keeping everyone safe.

    Greek Life

    None that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Large variety, student government is especially active here.

    Great for these types of students

    Students with flexible schedules who don't mind not getting all the classes they want.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hasley hall looks pretty futuristic and it has a nice setting inside to do work- waterfalls and big windows.

    Bang for the buck

    It's cheaper compared to most colleges, especially if you go for a transfer to a UC or other state college.

    What to do for fun

    Six Flags Magic Mountain is nearby (you can see it from the campus).

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is great and there's a Subway on campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are challenging but not excessive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get in a priority program: Academy of the Canyons (High School Counterpart) People with disabilities programs (ADHD included here) Also, talk to current students about other tricks in the admission process to get the classes you want.

    In three sentences

    College of the Canyons is a large community college with a ride range of specialized departments. They are constantly building as they have access to a large amount of funding due to the size of their student body. However, it is heavily impacted and it's not likely that you'll get the classes you want, much less your desired schedule.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety on the campus has not really been a big issue on the campus. There have been reports of car theft but that was the exterior parts, not interior. However, the environment around the campus as well as inside has always been safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a bunch of unique clubs and activities students can be involved in. Some clubs even go and travel when necessary. Activities such as pie contests and smashing cars have been available as well!

    Great for these types of students

    Students that like peaceful environments are perfect here. It is quiet and away from the city and noise. Although it is next to a freeway, the sounds can't even be heard.

    Bang for the buck

    Because of the budget cuts, this school faces economic pressures on students. However, students really get every last penny while studying here. There are more than enough computers on campus, free printing in some places and quiet study areas.

    What to do for fun

    This campus has a variety for all types of people. People that like serene and quiet environments can sleep on the endless grass fields in the middle of the campus. There are many clubs to join as well and a bunch of activities during the weekend.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria with a sandwich shop and other amenities. However, all local shops you have to drive or walk to. Its a little bit of an inconvenience, so pack your lunch! ^^

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here are not leaned-back, just teaching for money. Some will drill their lessons into you so that you learn. All classes here are never fly-by and they are geared so that you are successful in that field.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're considering this college, definitely attend. There are many staff members that support you and are willing to work with you. If you plan on transferring, there are many programs and clubs to assist you as well. This school defines the term, Never give up, pursue your dreams.

    In three sentences

    This school may seem like a normal city college, however it exceeds expectation. There are supportive staff members to meet your every needs. The campus is also big and quiet, great for students that want a peaceful campus.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing students

    Food and Dining

    There is a Coffee Kiosk, and a Subway.

    Tips for prospective students

    The classes may be easy, but if you do not do your work, you are setting yourself up to fail.

    In three sentences

    College of the Canyons is a good college if you need to finish your general education courses. On a scale of 1-10 i would rate COC a 7 because it is easy to transfer.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a club or a sport, whatever your interests, get involved.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to a counselor and set up your academic plans and goals. Participate in class discussions and get to know your professors. GO TO OFFICE HOURS! Never be afraid to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    College of the Canyons is a beautiful campus with much diversity. The professors and staff are friendly and very helpful. The overall environment is very comfortable and welcoming, especially for new students.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Highly secured, santa clarita generally is a peaceful area, not congested ,relaxing environment.

    What to do for fun

    Hiking train, Amusement park like six flags, to ease and have fun

    Dorm Life

    lots of housing for student, might be a little on the costly side but worths it.

    In three sentences

    High standard, A place where you get encouraged to learn !!!

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have plenty of security during the day and plenty at night

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities

    Great for these types of students

    Students that like to transfer or would like to get the AA and not transfer

    Bang for the buck

    Its not just this college, every college. Books and classes are expensive for students who are on low income.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of sports to watch and many clubs and organizations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you visit a counselor. Take it seriously and don't mess around.

    In three sentences

    It is in a great location and plenty of parking. The staff and faculty is helpful. There is a great amount of diversity among the teacher and students.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    always available with a smile

    Greek Life

    whats that?

    Clubs and Activities

    photo club. I will be joining the honor society in the Spring.

    Great for these types of students

    people that need more one on one learning. The tutoring at the TLC lab is a wonderful resource.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are healthier snacks in the vending machines.

    Bang for the buck

    it is cheaper than a 4 year college plus it's 10 minutes away from my house.

    What to do for fun

    play with the graphics programs or start photographing anything while I learn more about cameras. the TLC lab needs to be open on Fridays. it would be great to have them open at 7am so a student can work on their homework and print something out before class. they need more graphic loaded computers too. they have only 4.

    Food and Dining

    it would be great to have the hours longer in the cafeteria for the night schoolers. more sushi too.

    Academic Rigor

    you get what you put into it. what has secured the A's for me is if the teacher offers extra credit or do.overs for a better grade, do it. What is sad to see is smart students settling for Bs or even Cs just because of attendance. If you sign up for the class, go. There are other students that need the class that couldn't get in so you might as well do your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get good grades. They follow you for life and can open doors for you.

    In three sentences

    COC has been amazing resource for me. I am updating my skill set and learning what modern technology has to offer. The teachers and staff have made this transition an inviting and comprehensive journey.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I ride a Harley, and I am not afraid to leave it on the campus. It's a very nice campus.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want to transfer, this is the school for you. Professors at this school are willing to go the extra mile for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Great school. ALL JC's are the same price, but the quality of the professor surpasses all other colleges I have been to.

    What to do for fun

    Study, you can always have fun when you get done. Santa Clarita has a lot of things to do and the college is super nice. It's clean and the rooms are very well taken care off.

    Academic Rigor

    If you want to be number 1, study as if you are number 2. The Professors here are phenomenal and are eager to help you.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus feels extremely safe. There is security on campus who drive around. The campus also has sufficient lighting around dark areas.

    Greek Life

    There is greek life on campus, but I haven't seen them participate very much on campus events. It seems like you just spend money and don't get the luxury of affecting the campus the way they should. Greek life seems to be a somewhat gray area on this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of activities throughout the year for students to participate. These include health runs, cultural events and counseling/college events. The clubs are fantastic and very welcoming! They also look grad eon your transcripts.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for students who do not have enough money to pay for their university just yet. It is also great for students who are willing to study hard to get good grades in course. last but not least it works well for those who are open to taking online classes or hybrid classes because many are offered here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus has a great football field and running track. It has a small arena type sitting are in a peaceful shade that is very calming and a great study area. The campus also has a small waterfall/fountain type thing in one of the buildings where students often study and wait for classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Like with any location some things are cheap and others are not. Tuition is much cheaper here than at a large university. The student store is pretty expensive, but the cafeteria food is relatively cheap.

    What to do for fun

    What to do for fun? What to do? COC has clubs and many planned events such as cultural events for students to get to know others and have fun. There is a gym, shopping center near by and also actual fun classes one can take like music, dance or physical fitness.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is open regular and has delicious food. I would recommend the pastas. There is not only a cafeteria but also a small stand, subway and plenty of food machines around. Besides on campus food there is a nice shopping center with Starbucks, Jamba Juice and other food sources a few blocks from campus.

    Dorm Life

    Many universities have dorms accessible to their students. College of the Canyons is a community college and does not offer this resource.Although many would see this as a downfall it is actually a bonus because their isn't the influence of party students on the actual campus, they must take it elsewhere.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be difficult, but with enough study anyone can succeed. A student must also remember to stay on top of assignments and tasks because procrastination can make them fall behind. There is a lot of reading involved in these classes and if you start falling behind in the beginning of the classes then it will be difficult to catch up later.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are many things perspective students can do to ease their transition into college. College of the Canyons is much larger than your average high school campus so I'd suggest arriving to your class early so that you have enough time to find your class rooms. College may also be somewhat stressing without your friends, but joining a club can help to make new friends and develop an interest in various areas. The last hint I could give is not to consider ratemyprofesssors.com when considering which professor to take at school because it is often wrong. I have had professors who are rated poorly and were fantastic instructors.

    In three sentences

    College of the Canyons is a great community college because of it's small and welcoming atmosphere. Classes are not too large as to become overwhelming. The courses are challenging, but very professors helpful.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 65

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    College of the Canyons is a school that I feel it fits my educational needs by providing the courses needed to complete my education. For example availability of courses, educational programs, and location.

  • 03/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is good. I have never experienced anything negative and I always see security guards walking around at night. They also give rides for students who parked far after dark.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities on campus, it is hard not to be involved. I am involved in the Phi Theta Kappa Honors society and previously was a member of the Chemistry Club. COC makes it very easy to get plugged in.

    Great for these types of students

    COC is great for the type of student that doesn't quite know what they want to do yet, but wants to get ahead by finishing up general ed courses. It is very cost effective and the environment is friendly.

    Bang for the buck

    COC is definitely cheap per unit compared to a university. They do, however, get you with books. I have worked around this system by purchasing on Amazon or from the Book Exchange.

    What to do for fun

    There is a really interesting art gallery to explore, often there are expos in the Honor's Grove, and athletic games to watch.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria that provides cooked food, subway, and different snacks. It is convenient but being the health nut that I am, I prefer going home to eat or packing my lunch.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be pretty intense in the higher level classes. For the most part, the professors assign a manageable amount of homework and teach very thoroughly.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, I would encourage taking any class you can get into your first semester so you're priority in registration can begin to build. Also, see a few counselors to help plan your schedule.

    In three sentences

    College of the Canyons is a very good community college that offers many different classes. It is very crowded and can be difficult to get into a class. The majority of the professors are great and very knowledgable.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has a campus safety that is very active year around. They can be identify by their uniform. The campus maintains safety by having a security campus police on campus at all times.

    Greek Life

    Not much Greek Life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Just about all major clubs and activities are available for the student, such as Sociology Club and Psychology Club.

    Great for these types of students

    Not just for the students but for the entire valley residents.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Performance Arts Center brings in top world known stars for the community.

    Bang for the buck

    Disneyland and Six Flags, the Pacific ocean, mountains are near by.

    What to do for fun

    Surrounding area affords movie theaters, amusement park, zoos, mountaineering, hiking, bicycling paths, ocean, horseback riding, trail walking, and much more.

    Food and Dining

    This college has a cafeteria and a recognize sandwich shop. Most foods served at the cafeteria is made by the culinary arts students.

    Dorm Life

    Most students lives at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent college for high school students. Academic quality is far above the other community colleges in the surrounding area.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students entering College of the Canyons will receive the highest academic standard for their education. The instructors are highly knowledgeable in each academic course and faculty makes every attempt to support the students.

    In three sentences

    Offers quality academic instructors with goals and expectations that affords students the highest levels of education. The quality of education offered by this college far exceeds other community colleges in the surrounding areas. The education offered at this college sets high standards for their students.

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    COC has helped me to save a LOT of money by letting me get all of my general ed classes out of the way for much cheaper than it would be at a traditional four-year school. In the student service fee you get free access to the student health center, the TLC lab (complete with tutors), and a 25 score card (which I've found is actually really useful).

    What to do for fun

    The film club shows movies every friday night, and even though most of them are foreign they're really very good. You can discounted tickets for all of the on-campus Performing Arts Center events, which include plays, TED talks, and dance performances. There are football & baseball games, coffee talks every wednesday evening with ASG, and several clubs and societies to choose from.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is pretty good, and there's a coffee kiosk on campus. Nothing incredible, but for school food it's not bad.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are really easy; I'm planning on taking mostly honors courses next year because right now I'm just bored. I've never gotten anything less than an A on a paper, no matter the subject, and the only class I'm currently having trouble with is math, which I've just had to accept I'm horrible at. This isn't a testament to my own intelligence, but rather to the relative simplicity of the classes. Pay attention, take notes, do the the homework, and you'll be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to fight (and possibly die) for a parking space in the morning-it's the worst part of going to school every day. Get evening or afternoon classes if you can; parking is the worst from 8-11 am. Try to get classes at the Canyon Country campus, because there are usually fewer people there. Use ratemyprofessors before you register for classes, because while most of the professors are pretty good, there are some horrible ones mixed in there as well. the buildings aren't too hard to navigate, but make sure you familiarize yourself with them before you start.

    In three sentences

    COC is a lovely campus with a wide range of classes and some really good professors. Of course, there are some not-so-good professors mixed in there too, and classes can be very difficult to get; the people are nice enough but don't expect to make friends outside of class: everyone's pretty much there to get their credits and get out. Overall it's a good place to take general ed & move on, but don't expect anything incredible.

  • 06/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Some on campus activities, student store and the library

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a map.

    In three sentences

    Fantastic school for those who want to get a step ahead of other. Very affordable especially if you have financial aid. Very dedicated professors and motivated students.

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    57 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a go-cart escort system that runs during night classes. The campus feels safe. However, the emergency phone system is not always manned.

    What to do for fun

    The Performing Arts Center hosts all kinds of shows by both students and professionals. There are tons of active clubs, and different organizations host films every week.

    Food and Dining

    The Valencia campus has two Coffee Kiosks and a Subway, as well as a cafeteria. The pizza from the cafeteria is topped with a healthy dose of seasoning.

    Dorm Life

    As far as I know, this school has no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Teacher toughness varies, but in general, the classes are informative and at the right levels of difficulty.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make use of teacher reviews. Teachers vary widely in how much they push their students.

    In three sentences

    It's a beautiful campus. The teachers are nice. Classes are limited in availability and diversity, but programs in the arts are well-supplied, especially film.

  • 07/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Magic Mountain is minutes away as well as Hurricane Harbor. Not much to do on campus, again, it's a community college.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is a nice place to sit and hangout between classes, however, the food selection is nothing to boast about. There is a coffee kiosk on campus, that is the only positive note for food and dining, but what do you expect from a community college?

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the class, obviously, but from what I have done, there has been enough work to keep me busy, but not exceptionally overwhelming for college courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the TLC! The Learning Center is a great place to receive tutoring for any subject, you pay for it in your tuition so you might as well use it!

    In three sentences

    A very modern campus with friendly, qualified professors. The staff is very helpful and are always willing to answer any questions you may have. The university offers many different majors and classes, however, the student to faculty ratio is quite high and its never a guarantee that you will get the classes that you want.

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Calm campus and the security guards are friendly and willing to help you if you are lost or need an escort to your class.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs with dedicated leaders. There is a large variety clubs for almost about everything.

    Great for these types of students

    College of the Canyons is for every student who is eager to learn something new everyday.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is this green house where all the students from the agriculture class place their seedling for them to grow before they are placed into garden boxes outside of the green house. There is a special place for student to lay on the grass and sleep or study if they want.

    What to do for fun

    You can go to the Arcade room. you can also attend some workshops at the TLC lab which is designated to help all student with their classes. Tutors are able to communicate with the student when struggling with a subject. the Library is also another great place to go with tons of books about everything.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is huge and is able to fit 500 persons. it is never full there is always an open seat. it is indoors and the chefs have a great attitude towards all the college student. Everyone is respectful to one another.

    Dorm Life

    we don't have dorms but I imagine it would be great.

    Academic Rigor

    COC makes sure all the student stay in line by providing lots of services. These services are simple and easy to find when you are a new student. Everyone is eligible to a certain program that will help them stay on task.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be willing to show up to class everyday. Make sure to pay attention. Have an open mind and good focus skills.

    In three sentences

    Great place to go to school and begin your career as a student. Teacher are so active in supporting the students in making sure they succeed.

  • 08/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You have a good sense of safety when you are at the college.

    Greek Life

    I havent really experienced the greek life and I havent seen it in action here. Again, this is a less crazy college.

    Clubs and Activities

    ASB cards are awesome and lots of discounts.

    Great for these types of students

    Slow going, not partying type.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    One thing I did notice was that there are alot of films and TV films made here.

    What to do for fun

    Joining the clubs if you are new is probably a good way to enjoy your college experience.

    Food and Dining

    Food is awesome! The cooks here are the bomb. There is also a Subway. There are snack machines all over the place.

    Dorm Life

    I dont live in the dorms so I dont have a lot to say about it. I heard that it is nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Again, the professors here go out of there way to make sure that you understand the material. There is also a TLC lab that is good and a computer lab that you can use while waiting for your next class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go online and checkout the certificate courses first. This will give you a good idea where to start when you are with your counselor for your appointment. Also do your FASFA early and if you have any questions, call the financial aid department. Also buy a parking pass. It is so worth it.

    In three sentences

    College of the Canyons is a wonderful, safe environment to continue your studies. The staff is always helpful and the student services department provides great customer service. The professors are always helpful and are willing to get you to where you need to be to get a good understanding of your courses.

  • 09/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    61 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get your id cards and use them for discounts throughout the Santa Clarita Valley area. You can save a considerable amount of money by showing your student id at time of purchase to receive up to 20% off at some participating locations.

    In three sentences

    I just began at the College of the Canyons this year. So I don't have much experience to draw from on this subject. From my perspective thus far, I have found this college to be very credible. Offering many classes in nearly every subject. They are gaining more and more accreditations each year. Currently they are working on becoming accredited for their Wine program. I have found the personnel to be very knowledgeable and friendly. The teachers are easy to work with in classroom and labs. Overall my experience here at the College of the Canyons has been a great experience.

  • 10/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is perfect for a person who is going back to school to further their education. It is also perfect for a student right out of high school that needs to figure out what their career paths will be.

    What to do for fun

    This campus always have campus events and sometimes they do outside events with the city.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is fairly large and the food is adequate. They also have a Subway in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    College of the Canyons does not currently have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    This school offers a variety of honors classes for more advanced students. In every class there are objectives that are clearly planned out for students to see.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to sign up for at least 12 units your first semester, even if they're all electives. Since there is a lot of students here, you want to try to get priority as fast as possible.

    In three sentences

    College of the Canyons is a very large community school that offers a lot of different classes to the public. The campus is located in Valencia, CA. The school has many resources for students to use.

  • 11/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    63 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join many clubs, that will get you involved with the school and the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Be responsible - Don't procrastinate - Be respectful to all staff and students - GET INVOLVED!

    In three sentences

    College of the Canyons is great community college in Valencia that offers many programs for students. The campus is great and the people there are very friendly. The college is very helpful in every way and will try to help you in the best way they can if you have a problem.

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    64 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't buy books at the college bookstore! There is a cheaper bookstore down the street. Bring your own snacks, the snack shops are expensive!

    In three sentences

    This college is predominately white. The general populous is very friendly towards newcomers. The campus is clean!!!

  • 02/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    65 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus. Campus security will always be around when you need them. Teachers trained to help in emergency situations.

    Food and Dining

    Delicious cafeteria with excellent chiefs. Breakfast is amazing. Food is affordable.

    Dorm Life

    Did not dorm. But it is a very nice area to live. Great alumni .

    Academic Rigor

    Great school with lots of opportunities. Easy to get classes. Beautiful campus that any student will love.