Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

College of the Desert Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    you always some form of security on campus and you never hear of anyone getting hurt ever. the only annoying thing is when they check for stickers on your cars and you get ticketed, i've never gotten a ticket because i have the sticker but i would recommend to just buy the sticker and have to pay for every ticket.

    Greek Life

    unfortunately there is no greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    all the clubs and activities are so much fun and interesting. you meet so many people, you learn about different cultures, get help on your homework, and learn what it takes to be on your own.

    Great for these types of students

    this campus is great for everyone because you will always find that one group where you belong.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there really is so much to do around college of the desert. the mall is literally right down the street along with el paseo which is full of shopping and restaurants.

    Bang for the buck

    you definitely get a lot for the amount of money your spending. you can always rent books and share to save more money but the academics offered are really good and you don't have to pay a lot for them.

    What to do for fun

    i don't really spend much time on campus because i have two jobs along with school but, when i am on campus i like to hang out in the cafe and meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    the food is actually pretty good and the employees make sure you get it fast so your not late to class.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    some teachers are kinda crazy and really hard graders but that's the difference between college and high school. most of the teachers are really nice and will help you as much as they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    you should definitely apply, even if it's not your first choice you can always have a back up plan. if you want to make the more affordable option this is the way to go.

    In three sentences

    it's very laid back and easy going. the students come from all different backgrounds of life. you learn a lot from the time your there.

  • 04/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    College of the Desert, though it has excellent academic programs for students planning to transfer, is a very career-oriented school. It's nursing department is widely known and appreciated, and has strong ties to the Cal State San Bernadino campus that is five minutes away. Any other vocational degrees, such as culinary arts, auto repair, management and hospitality, and general maintenance certification are easily available with quality instruction. This should not discourage students planning to transfer though, as College of the Desert's programs for Art, Graphic Design, Philosophy, and Liberal Arts are extremely commendable as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to register in advance in order to get into the classes you need. It also helps to have a 2-year game plan outlining what classes you need (and want) to take in order to achieve your goals, and the best order to take them in. Aditionally, it helps to take classes such as the Intro to Scholarships class, which is a great resource for finding money if you plan to transfer to a four-year institution.

    Bang for the buck

    There is no question that the community college system, despite the state of financial distress it has found itself in, is one of the best higher-education deals in the nation. Almost any student qualifies for the Bogg Waiver, which completely erases the cost of tuition, and the FAFSA and CalGrant are made easily accessible to students as well, meaning that, as long as you manage your education expenses wisely, you can actually make money by attending College of the Desert, which can be applied to housing, transportation, and anything else a student might need.

    Am enjoying being here

    Though the education is laudable, student culture is a bit lacking. There is no longer a student lounge area, and campus activities are fairly limited. Most student affairs are managed by honors societies, that by and large do not seem to have a great deal of cohesion with the majority of the student body. There is a general feel of disconnection between students that is widely noticed. However, I would only attribute this to the fact that most students here are planning to pursue a vocational degree, taking a very wide variety of prerequisites for their AA, or taking the classes necessary to meet the IGETC requirements. In short, I believe that the disconnect noted among students is largely due to their education simply being more important to them than their on-campus social life.

    Am learning a lot

    Many of the teachers here are retirees, some of whom have previously taught at prestigious universities. I have had professors who have taught at USC, UCSB, UCR, UC Berkeley, Harvard, and even Yale. These teachers are heavily invested in educating their students, and generally have a laid-back attitude, and testing, workloads and assignments are usually not too vigorous. However, some teachers at COD take their instruction at a community college (where nearly half the student population works full or part time, in addition to attending classes) as seriously as they took their jobs at previous universities. This means much heavier workloads that require exceptional amounts of out-of-class work that can be strenuous on students who are also holding full-time jobs outside of class, or are only taking said class as a prerequisite for the degree they are pursuing. Overall though, most professors here are knowledgeable, thoughtful, and can actually be fun. Most importantly though, they understand that it is their job to help the community college students succeed, especially in regards to transferring to four year institutions. The student-professor relationship here is very informal and fluid, which leads for a great environment for aspiring students.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With on the clock security; College of the Desert is a safe campus that strives for safety by providing campus security direct number to ensure student and public safety. I do believe in safety there can always be improvement.

    Greek Life

    No sororities of fraternities but a Greek honor society.

    Clubs and Activities

    A variety of clubs available from religious to ethnic to a love for Anime and student government. Activities such as shopping to sports to trips. At times it hard to join a club because of class and club times interfere.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all who want an education

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    New unique traditions are being conjured every year through clubs such as the scholarship club's liaison with schools around the valley and ever changing events.

    Bang for the buck

    The Rent a text option is available to all students, there is now a book loan program for those that qualify, childcare and other programs that make college life a little easier.

    What to do for fun

    Sport events,dances, a public golfing range and the desert night life make for this college a great learning experience for those looking for a change in environment.

    Food and Dining

    The Beeps Cafe is perfect to relax, hang out and enjoy a variety of food such as hamburgers to burritos to sandwiches to Starbucks.The only down side is it is always noisy.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available , instead affordable housing is an alternative.

    Academic Rigor

    With higher education, comes more homework, the need for time management and higher expectations

    Tips for prospective students

    Transferable credits to higher educational institutions such as CSUSB and private as well as public universities make College of the Desert a less costly alternative to our ever funding issues in our Education System. Time, money management and dedication a must. For new students, crashing classes to obtain a seat is now the expected.

    In three sentences

    College of the Desert is a perfect higher education institute to start out at. With the aid of the courteous staff who have themselves taught at higher institutions,students will receive proper guidance to further their education in various majors.

  • 01/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Use all the resources that the school offer.

    Tips for prospective students

    A great school to attend, the teachers and administration care about the students success

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very little crime reported on campus, mostly burglaries, which are common on all college campuses

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of options, great Student body leaders.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes

    Bang for the buck

    Fairly inexpensive as far as two year schools are concerned.. Public school, so that is why. Lots of facilities not seen on other public campuses (Driving range) Golf School, among others.

    What to do for fun

    There is a golf practice range on campus, that is open to the public. great for an active evening out.

    Food and Dining

    Great food.

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't attended any classes, but from what I hear the courses are reasonable, not too hard, not too easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Lots of sports programs here, great to up your skill levels before transferring to a major school.

    In three sentences

    Great location. Beautiful Campus. Very nice staff.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is moderate.

    What to do for fun

    I haven't joined any clubs but I heard there were Plenty of exciting ones on campus.

    Food and Dining

    food is not so good and too pricey.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college no dorms Here.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a culinary arts graduate and I highly recommend the teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be early to crash a class, if you need tutoring do not hesitate there are resources at school to help

    In three sentences

    I enjoy going to college of the desert, I wish there wouldn't be so many budget cost it's affecting current students and new Students as they prepare to graduate or transfer.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security patrolling all the time...security staff has been very helpful to me day and night.

    Clubs and Activities

    Join the scholarship club to find ways to get college scholarships. Make the honor society and qualify for more scholarships.

    Great for these types of students

    any type old or young

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    wide variety of people from around the world

    Bang for the buck

    Reasonable cost, you can move onto a 4 year college, great community, park and swimming pool near campus. California BOG program pays for classes if your income qualifies. Check it out!

    What to do for fun

    People watch, take art classes, cool broadcasting classes, attend school events, great pool for those who are physically limited and hike everywhere if you can.

    Food and Dining

    Nice variety of food in the campus cafeteria may fast food services near by.

    Dorm Life

    Live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Sign up early for classes they go fast. The homework is spelled out for you follow it and you will do well. If you are having trouble with a class there is help available on campus at a tutoring center. There are many social clubs and students from all over the world.

    Tips for prospective students

    College of the Desert is diverse and easy to schedule your personal life and classes so that you have the time to work or do your homework and succeed in your career goals.

    In three sentences

    DSPS Student Services are extremely helpful for the disabled student. I always find the help I need. The staff is very helpful and I fully used the work experience program.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have on campus security that are constantly roaming around campus for day and evening classes. They are extremely friendly and they have campus security contact information online, schedules and on bulletins around campus.

    Greek Life

    This college does not have any fraternities or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have many clubs at College of the Desert ranging from World Beat that concentrates on diversity and culture through music. There is ASCOD which is student government and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students that love the outdoors and like to be out in the sun. The college atmosphere is laid back and more focused on academics. It definitely is not a party school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any unusual traditions or locations on campus. This campus is a good size; it isn't too big where you can get lost and need landmarks to find your way back to your car or class.

    Bang for the buck

    With tuition costs ranking to an ultimate high going to community college like College of the Desert you would definitely get a lot of bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    You can go to the movies Palme D'or, hiking up the Bump-n-Grind or go to the swim center. As for night life there are many clubs and bars that are within a mile or two.

    Food and Dining

    College of the Desert has its own Cafe Beeps and Starbucks located on campus. And you are interested in something other than cafeteria food there are many food joints around college of the desert and Westfield shopping center located less than a mile up the road.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms. It's a community college. But there is plenty of apartments located in walking distance from the college. For example: One Quail Place is less than a mile.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what courses you do take the work load can be pretty heavy. But this is college so we are to expect a heavier work load compared to high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    The college is located here in the Coachella Valley so I suggest always caring water and sunblock because the heat here is pretty intense. Stay on top of registration dates to get your classes on time and be mindful of payment due dates because you will be dropped from the class for non-payment.

    In three sentences

    College of the Desert is one the most diverse colleges; ranging different age groups from 18- 60 year old students and from different backgrounds. The college is located near the beautiful San Bernardino Mountains and is close to many shops and restaurant's. The faculty and student body is friendly and willing to assist people with their questions.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is of utmost importance at COD. We have multiple security personnel keeping our campus safe.

    Greek Life

    Unclear on any Greek clubs or singular Greek activity. Although our theatre did have five Liebeslieder singers who acted as a Greek chorus throughout the show.

    Clubs and Activities

    Our campus has many fulling and fun activities; arts, athletics, student newspaper, and our own radio station KCOD. Club Trio, American Sign Language Club, COD Active Minds Club.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Marks Art Center holds Art Exhibitions throughout the year.

    Bang for the buck

    While community college tuition is rising, College of the Desert has tried very hard to keep tuition as low as possible.

    What to do for fun

    There is sports, music and art, if that's what you enjoy. If movies are what you like, you'll find them very close by.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a wide variety of good food. There are many restaurants within a few miles of campus.

    Dorm Life

    College of the Desert does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    That will depend on you. You can take as many or as few class as you can handle. I suggest, you be sure of what you can handle before you get in over your head. Teacher are all willing to help with any academic issues.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do the classes that you can get into first. That will help you climb the (units) ladder.

    In three sentences

    I give College of the Desert 9.5 out 10. The counseling office was helpful and supportive. The admissions office answered my questions. The email makes it easy to contact teacher, and I've always gotten prompt replies.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    All of my classes are at night and I still feel very safe. A security guard is always present and makes sure you arrive to your car safely. All fights are broken up immediately because there is no toleration for that.

    Great for these types of students

    Academic students, students looking to find what they want to major in.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very worth it to attend locally, then transfer later. Prices of schooling are on the rise today and every dollar saved can help further your educational career when you decide to transfer.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to join on campus that allows you to meet new people everyday. Take action in your community and you will find many things to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    College of the Desert offers a variety of foods for students. Everyone can find something to satisfy their taste buds for the day.

    Dorm Life

    My dorm life is staying at my parents house until I can transfer elsewhere. It saves me money for college rather than spending on food, rent, and etc. However, their are no dorm parties and you do not make friends as easily as you would in a typical dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Even though College of the Desert is a community college, you have to put forth the effort to study because higher classes can be rigorous. Since I am a Biochemistry major, the math courses and science courses are very rigorous and they can take their toll on the average student. Focus on your goals and you will succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly suggest to study, study, study for finals and midterms. Those two tests make up the majority of your final grade throughout the semester. Complete all the homework and assignments to the best of your ability and you have nothing to worry about.

    In three sentences

    College of the Desert offers many degrees for the typical student. It is a great school to attend and work as well. The Professors are there to help the student to succeed throughout their college experience and inevitably throughout their lives.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Doesn't come any better....anywhere!

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities going on somewhere, whatever your interests. There are political clubs, media clubs, and group activities weekly on campus. Nobody gets left behind.

    Food and Dining

    Beeps has the best food

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here

    Academic Rigor

    When you feel overwhelmed, do only what is directly in front of you, ask yourself what you have left out, and know that you have done the very best you can do. This is what I do, the results speak for them self.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a CAN DO attitude

    In three sentences

    I have to rate College of the Desert above any rank that can possibly be conceived. I have found faculty and administration genuinely interested in the students future, and will stop at nothing to help those who want to succeed. The College of the Desert is everything a school should be.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is quite important at the College. Occassionally, there have been break-ins in cars and a rape or two reported every couple years, but it is generally a very quiet, small-town college life. There is always security personnel perusing around the campus, and the walkways around parking lots and buildings are well-lit at night time.

    Greek Life

    I don't think College of the Desert has a Greek Life to speak of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many (countless!) activities available to get involved in around the school itself, including all manners of clubs (foreign languages, environmental action, community outreach, fitness clubs, cooking and culinary, art clubs, and so on...) and sports that you can get involved in. I am not much of an athletic person, but I always enjoyed the sports programs (not college level) available at the College of the Desert because the coaches and instructors manage to push you to do your best without menacing and intimidating you, and allow you to relatively work at a pace that is right for you.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to explore their educational potential and discover what types of careers the real world holds for them will certainly enjoy their time here. One can surprise themselves when they find what they might excel in and enjoy once they push themselves just that extra inch. College of the Desert is a fantastic place to cultivate and harvest your passions before you decide to move onto a vocational school, a career, or a four year university.

    Bang for the buck

    I will just reiterate what I mentioned before, that whatever you put into your experience at the College of the Desert, you will get out. If you try to participate in as many clubs, programs, and events as possible, and just pursue your passions, you will never regret your attendance and your experiences that you will glean from your time at College of the Desert. I came to College of the Desert initially with the idea of choosing between two distinct majors, and instead a whole world of opportunity opened up before me. Going to this college has certainly been an eye-opening experience.

    What to do for fun

    Being that College of the Desert is located in the relatively small city of Palm Desert (a part of the Palm Springs area), there is not much of a night life for those under the age of say, 75. But if you truly look, there will always be more that meets the eye. There is a Westfield mall directly across the street from the college, and a large theater/restraunt/entertainment strip mall to be found at The River shopping center in Rancho Mirage.

    Food and Dining

    I found most of the food from the cafe at the College to be the quality of food you would expect in a fast food chain. This can be either good or bad news depending on your eating habits. Either way, everything is ridiculously, down-right expensive. $3.00 for a miniscule plastic box of fruit?...Really?

    Dorm Life

    No dorms are available at College of the Desert, as it is a junior college.

    Academic Rigor

    I found many of the courses I took to be about high school level or lower. That does not mean that there are not faculty available who will push you beyond your limits, you simply must seek them out if you are looking for 'academic rigor'. There are also study abroad programs available each semester for an copious fee, which undoubtedly gives each student's educational experience that much more depth.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk with your counselors as soon as possible, and save every scrap of paper they give you. Unfortunately, since counselors are not assigned to any one group of students, you could potentially speak to a different counselor every time you go in to map out your schooling career. This process can get very convoluted and frustrating if you don't keep a record of everything.

    In three sentences

    College of the Desert is a Junior College staffed by some blow-your-mind fantastic personnel, and then some not-so-great, waste-of-your time personnel. It's up to you to decide what you will get out of a prospective teacher within the first week of class. The good news and the bad news are essentially the same: you will always get out what you put in to your school work, school activities, and community involvement.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the are security guards on the clock all the time ! even late at night so you can feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many different clubs and activities threw out the school year.

    Bang for the buck

    on campus food and drinks or very cheep! the you have so much variety.

    What to do for fun

    cod has many activity's! from going on field trips, to the students creating a events for summer! (last year we had a boy's vs girls water balloon fight in the park right next door!)

    Food and Dining

    cod, just opened an amazing cafe! starbucks included! so many comfortable seats and places to study! the food is also inexpensive and very delicious!

    Dorm Life

    there are actually no dorms at cod but there are a lot of places student from cod who rent rooms out for cheep!

    Tips for prospective students

    ask questions! do not be shy to talk to the students or the teachers. the teachers a completely understanding, remember they were in your shoes before! biggest tip of all: be yourself and don't give up!

    In three sentences

    college of the desert is amazing and helpful in so many ways. there are a lot of volunteers to help you with a variety of different things including how to work online. without the help and support of the people at cod i honestly don't think i would still be there.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    not a scary place, but it's always safer to lock your car and hide your backpacks. so far, no thefts have been reported. :)

    Great for these types of students

    all types of students! there is a great variety cultures all around. :)

    What to do for fun

    join clubs, hang out in the quad area, go to football, beisball, basketball games.

    Food and Dining

    good food. great workers at the caffe.

    Tips for prospective students

    communicaton with teachers overall is pretty good, they really want their students to learn and enjoy themselves.

    In three sentences

    a great environment, and not expencive. a great school to go to and receive an aa or as degree. great people all around.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    you have the mall nearby, and that is about all that palm desert has to offer.

    Food and Dining

    i don't eat there.

    Dorm Life

    i live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    not particularly difficult to do your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    find any way of increasing your priority, or else you will not be able to get a chance to get a class you need.

    In three sentences

    a fine place due to its convenience. the classes are generally good, but that is if you can get in them.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    i had to learn my pace, i couldn't handle fulltime and thats ok. part time works so much better and homework is less stressful.

    Tips for prospective students

    no matter what age, it's never to late. i'm 51 years old and i was terrified. the students are great and the teachers incredible. ms. gordon is so much fun, she makes learning enjoyable.

    In three sentences

    i recently became disabled and now that i have all this time on my hands i thought the time is right for college. i was so right. thanks to sandy h. in the dsps program, i couldn't be happier.

  • 03/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the malls right down the street. they also have a game room near the cafe.

    Food and Dining

    the cafe at college of the desert is really delish. the only down side it is a bit more expensive then the stores around, but the food is most definitely worth it.

    Dorm Life

    i don't live in a dorm, so hard to say.

    Tips for prospective students

    any student coming here needs to remember this is a college in the desert, and it will get hot as heck.

    In three sentences

    great atmosphere here at the school i am attending. it is currently being remodeled, so its going too look even better once i leave. the teachers are sub par, but you always have your good eggs and bad.

  • 03/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe.. securities at all hours.

    Greek Life

    no greek life at all

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of clubs at cod if you have an interest for something cod has it. they are probably best know for their architecture club which is a very well developed club.

    Bang for the buck

    the classes are comparable to all of the community colleges that i have heard of around california, there is no big surprise in tuition.

    What to do for fun

    fun?? its college there is not much fun going around unless you join a club or a sports team.

    Food and Dining

    the food at cod is not the most healthiest or tastiest, over all i would recommend to stay out of the eating facilities. there are many good places close by that you can go to and for way less money.

    Dorm Life

    this college is a community college and does not offer dorms on campus, they do however help you get an apartment close by for a very fair price.

    Academic Rigor

    the academics in this school are a good starting point for anyone that wants to transfer to another school, all the teachers seem to care about the students and want for them to succeed in life. over all the college gets nothing but good remarks from everyone i know.

    Tips for prospective students

    if i had to give some tips to future students it would be to be right in your computer when the clock hits zero to get your classes, like i said before this college is extremely over crowded and this will give you the best chance to get into the classes that you want. always join the wait list for a class that is full, the chances of the people from the wait list to get into a class are huge. email the teacher if the class gets full sometimes they will give u a chance to get in before anybody crashes the class.

    In three sentences

    this college is a good starting point the teachers are good and seem to care about the students, the college is extremely over crowded and in need of more classes, but over all it is a good college for somebody who does not know what path they are going to take in life.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are somethings to do at college of the desert for fun. you could go to the gym and workout. or you can go to the cafe and socialize with you friends. college of the desert is not the biggest campus ,but if someone wanted to have fun, it would depend on the person there is a lot to do, you can go out to the field and play sports, you can go to the choir room where you can sing and play instruments, there is not a dull moment at all as long as you have your interests.

    Food and Dining

    the food at college of the desert is exceptional. it's well priced. a huge selection from healthy foods to snacks. there are vending machines all over the school and there are food stands everything is well priced, the locations are all convenient so if you are walking to a class you can have a quick stop at a stand and grab a bite to eat.

    Dorm Life

    we don't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    academically the school is great because the only way you can get in your general ed classes will depend entirely on how well you did on your assessment test so the classes you get will never be too easy or too difficult because they will be at your level. as far as i can tell everyone i have met is comfortable with the level of their particular subjects.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to register for your classes as soon as possible they fill up quick.

    In three sentences

    college of the desert is a great school to enroll in it allows students to get the education they are looking for and more. it gives those students to achieve their academic goal even though if they didn't do as well as they wanted to in high school.

  • 03/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    College of the Desert is a pretty safe campus overall, but that is with an effort from both campus security and students. Cars get broken into sometimes, but if you can, store any valuables out of sight.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs at CoD, so it shouldn't be too hard to get involved. If you don't find a club you're interested in, you could always start your own club; club information should be found in the Student Life offices, which are adjacent to Beeps Cafe. Also, there are always different activities and/or workshops to attend throughout the semester.

    Great for these types of students

    College of the Desert does focus on sports, so it might be good to look into CoD if you're an athlete. The nursing program is also pretty popular. Overall, College of the Desert is a great campus for anyone who is willing to learn and wants to continue on with their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There don't really seem to be any unusual traditions at CoD. Next to the Natural Resources building, there are a few benches and tables near a pond, and it seems like a nice and quiet place to study. During the fall, some trees' leaves turn a pinkish-red color, which make the campus look really pretty.

    Bang for the buck

    You are definitely getting your money's worth at College of the Desert. The price per unit has been rising a bit these last semesters, but the education you receive here is something you'll keep for a lifetime.

    What to do for fun

    There is a game room in Beeps Cafe, near the Lounge Area, and they're open several hours throughout the week. Beeps Cafe is also a regular hangout for most students, as it's a good place to socialize and meet new people. Westfield Palm Desert is a few minutes away, so you could go (window) shopping there. There's also the Civic Center Park, which is located just south of College of the Desert; some students like heading over there when they have some free time. If you have more time to spare, you could take a drive to The River, which is a pretty large shopping complex; there's also a theater there, so you could catch a movie, too!

    Food and Dining

    Beeps Cafe, the cafeteria on campus, does offer a variety of food; they offer prepackaged meals, and they have a grill, so they can cook you up something from the menu. There's also a Starbucks in the Cafe, with a select few items. If you don't feel like eating at Beeps, there's also Westfield Palm Desert Mall and several other restaurants located minutes away from the campus.

    Dorm Life

    College of the Desert doesn't have any dorms, unfortunately. There are some apartments nearby, though, so those might be something you might want to look into.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers tend to give a reasonable amount of schoolwork and homework; only a select few professors have a heavier work load for students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you apply for the FAFSA well in advance, so any financial aid you are to receive, you'll receive as early as possible. Try to register for your classes as soon as you are able; they fill up pretty quickly. If you've just graduated, I would recommend taking a math and English class together, with whatever else you might want/have to take; it'll be easier for you in the long run to get the requirements out of the way. Also, it's a good idea to try to balance your schedule out, so you don't have such a heavy work load; try to take a class for fun.

    In three sentences

    Most people here, whether they are students or staff, are pretty friendly and down to earth. College of the Desert is also in a pretty convenient spot, as it it near pretty much anything. Overall, CoD is a pretty cool school.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nurses.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Agriculture/Plant Science area is beautiful.

    What to do for fun

    College of the Desert's accepting art programs are joyous-paired with the thriving growth of its Agriculture/Plant Science programs.

    Dorm Life

    College of the Desert does not offer on campus housing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a firm grasp on what you want to be and what you want to accomplish.

    In three sentences

    College of the Desert is convenient for every student who lives in the Palm Springs Area. It recently has had cutbacks due to funding. Classroom sizes are becoming smaller and smaller.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a security guy going around.

    Food and Dining

    I have not yet tried the cafeteria, but I had friends who tried it and enjoyed the food.

    Dorm Life

    No campus living.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to stay cool, because during the spring and summer it gets very hot.

    In three sentences

    I'd enjoyed going to this school, because of the many academics programs that they offered. All of the professors that I had were very friendly and helpful, such as giving tips on how to prepare for courses that are higher and what to do to finish college faster.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Always go and see a counselor for references when you ahve a question.

    In three sentences

    College of the Desert is a great community college where advisors and teachers can help you focus on a major if undecided. They have great people skills and are allways willing to help and answer every question you have. As for transfering, the counselors are great in walking you through every choice made.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The fun thing you can do here is just chill with friends, study in groups, use the computer lab where there are tutors available for you for any kind of help you need and there is always a dj on Tuesday's and Thursday's.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good but its very expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great. I feel safe walking around campus at all times.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all kinds of students. It doesn't matter where you start your study.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost to go to this college is great.

    What to do for fun

    There is many activities to do for fun in this valley. Ranging from music events, art events, hiking and more!

    Food and Dining

    Campus food is good and is very conveniently located on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are all great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what you need to take and have a plan for your long term goals.

    In three sentences

    This campus is great. The learning environment is great. Many transferable degrees are offered.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Sports & Clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, Culinary Arts, Business, Hospitality & Landscaping

    Bang for the buck

    Affordable

    What to do for fun

    Outdoor activities galore, due to great climate. Hundreds of golf courses, Jeep Adventures, Hiking & Biking Trails.

    Food and Dining

    Supermarkets, Restaurants, and Fast Food joints with in walking distance. On-site Cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Housing available, just blocks from campus. Opportunities for room mates are abundant. International students maybe eligible for Host Housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Great A.A., Certificate and Transfer Programs

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not procrastinate, register as soon as classes are available. Have a plan A, B and possibly C, depending on course availability. The California Dream Act will impact newly enrolling students. International Student Program.

    In three sentences

    The New Science & Math Building opening Fall Semester 2012. Communication Building to open in 2013. Diversity is accepted and encouraged.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never had any kind of safety problem.

    Bang for the buck

    COD is one of the most affordable colleges in the U.S. I think its a great place that will work as an outlet for when you are ready to transfer.

    What to do for fun

    The Cafeteria is a good place to start at, the mall isn't very far tho.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria was just remodeled. It's a great place to get a quick-snack and meet new people!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at COD.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not very hard, it all depends on how much effort you put into it, I have yet to take a class where my enthusiasm wasn't reflected in my grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the Cravens Center! And find out about amazing programs like EOPS/Care! Staff is very friendly and helpful.

    In three sentences

    I admit COD was not my first option, but it grew on me. Students are nice, and most teachers are great. If you can't transfer right away into a university, do give College of the Desert a chance, it will help you in the mean time get where you want to go.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of activities to do for fun in the city. One place to go is The Living Desert which is a desert wildlife park!

    Food and Dining

    The cafe on campus is great! It also has a Starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at College of the Desert.

    Academic Rigor

    The small classrooms make learning much easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for the heat!

    In three sentences

    College of the desert is a fun free spirited community college. It is located in a beautiful city in the wonderful state of, California. College of the Desert is an 8 out of 10 in the good community college scale to me.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    29 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafe had a wide variety of meals and price ranges for everyone.

    Dorm Life

    College of the Desert is a community college that does not have a dorms available for students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students would be to always stay focus in school, do all class assignments, study hard every day from start to finish, do not fall behind, be punctual, sit at the front of the class preferably, do not be afraid to ask questions, and always try your best in what ever you do because in the end its all worth your hard effort.

    In three sentences

    College of the Desert is a great college that provides lots of opportunities for students of all interests, levels, and majors. This school is filled with lots of helpful staff that help you throughout the whole college experience so you will never feel lost and alone. Overall, it's a college that guides you through the dark path of an open future.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You always see security driving around.

    Greek Life

    no greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    They have everything, you just have to look

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone

    Bang for the buck

    It doesn't cost much if you have finical aid and you get a lot out of it.

    What to do for fun

    Sit in the dining hall or anywhere on campus and talk to your friends. Clubs

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good and they have a Starbucks

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I have not gone here yet but, I have heard that some teachers are really easy and some fail every student.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need a place to start off without going to a 4 year this is the place to start.

    In three sentences

    The people are friendly and the campus is clean

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 31 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Try your best, and never give up.

    In three sentences

    I have chosen to pursue the field of medicine, in particular, neurosurgery as it is a vital skill set that will save lives. I have always wanted to be a doctor and at the age of 27, I am now fulfilling my dream. There is nothing in this world that I want more than this dream and I thank you for your consideration.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've heard of some ugly stuff about the campus...

    Great for these types of students

    NEED college.

    What to do for fun

    I wouldn't know - I've never been to college events.

    Food and Dining

    I've never eaten there either.

    Dorm Life

    I've never stayed at the dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you don't need Financial Aid, or if you do, ask yourself if it's worth it. COD is a nice enough college... Just investigate far into it to see if you really feel like attending COD.

    In three sentences

    Mediocre customer service, I have had to wait hours in the Financial Aid office just to see a counselor, and much of my time has been wasted on hold - I know other students who also deal with this frequently. The website is very poorly designed, and I have to rely on my cookies to get to Blackboard / my student email sometimes, because the scroll bar doesn't work. The online classes available are rapidly decreasing, so I'll be leaving COD soon.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe at this school. It's in a great area too, so crime is pretty low. I have heard of a few cars being broken into and that's about it.

    What to do for fun

    It's in the Palm Springs area so unless you golf, there isn't a whole lot to do.

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafe, which is mediocre at best. The prices are a little high, but the staff is friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, yet not excessively so. COD instructors are also aware that a majority of their students work and have families so they don't tend to crush you with homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get registered and signed up for classes early or you will be fighting a ton of other students for the drop-in spots.

    In three sentences

    It's easily accessible. The instructors are good and Generally care about your education. The only problem is that it's a little overcrowded.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has many surveillance cameras and they also have security guards ridding all around the campus and if you ever need their assistance there is buttons all over C.O.D to call them or you can go up to their office that is located in the campus .

    Clubs and Activities

    They have many sports and other clubs you can join .

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that want an easy college experience with out any hassles or stress.

    What to do for fun

    There is many clubs for you to join and they have many other programs and many sports to join. There is also a mall very close to C.O.D , so when you wait for class you can go check out the stores or just hang in the mall.

    Food and Dining

    Their food is alright , its like any other food you buy in the store or a fast food restaurant . but there is more options near by if you don't want to eat from the C.O.D. cafeteria .

    Dorm Life

    Well, there is no dorms in C.O.D , but there is apartments and a mall close by .

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to attend a college that is not to expensive or too far I recommend college of the desert . you are guaranteed to get at least one class to kick start your career. Personally I enjoyed my class day in C.O.D.

    In three sentences

    1-10 I rate college of the desert an 8 . It's not a bad college its very lenient and the campus itself is easy to get around . the college can benefit you in some ways , its not so hard to get accepted and its affordable .

  • 12/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Do not worry about registering for night classes. Security is always roaming around the campus making sure everything seems stable and secure. Be careful with security, they check every car. Make sure you have paid for your parking sticker.

    Clubs and Activities

    Check out the clubs here, its a great way to meet people. Ive met a lot of my close friends by joining and participating in club activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Financial problems, being away from home, or undecided major.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I usually try to take night time classes. I am not nor will I ever be a morning person!

    Bang for the buck

    Remember to fill out the Fafsa. It will definitey save you money.

    What to do for fun

    This college is in the center of all the malls, restaurants, gyms, and tourists sites. There is always something to do here. Whether if you're hanging out with friends at the mall, right after classes are over. Or heading over to fast-food joints to grab a quick bite to eat.

    Food and Dining

    Heard positive reviews about this place. Very social and you definitely meet people. Much diversity.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Majority of the professors of this college come from Universities. It may seem a bit overwhelming to take a load of courses that follows under your major guidelines but as long as you study and organize your time you will get through it and succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have financial problems, this school will aid you in the right direction. They help you find scholarships and you may qualify for fee waivers. I encourage you to seek out this campus and learn about their work-shops, also don't forget to ask around. The environment is very relaxed and not overwhelming at all. For newcomers may be hesitant but I can assure you, this is a great way to start your higher education process. *Make sure you register for classes right away. Other students will want the same classes you want so register on time and be completely sure of the classes you need/want. Remember to pay your fees on time, I advise you to be pay the very first day you register for classes. Also constantly check your student email. This is the time to start learning how to be independent; Checking your email, talking to counselors, and being up to date with school events will help you in the long run.*

    In three sentences

    Students get a hands-on approach from faculty members who are able to take a personal interest in student progress. You'll also have plenty to choose from since COD offers multiple majors. You'll love it here if you want to be part of a tight-knit community. It's also easy on the wallet.

  • 12/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Safe

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a member of the Scholorship Club and also participate in production and design for school plays and productions I plan to be more active in the community next semester which has been difficult as I have 18 units.

    Great for these types of students

    College of The Desert is great for students like myself. I view it as a stepping stone as I plan to transfer to Cal State Fullerton. Most schools are what you make of it which proves true in many different situations in life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unusual tradition-Graduation rate 49%

    Bang for the buck

    Im not entirely sure what this question is asking.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy going to the movies, reading books, swimming, listening to music, and day dreaming about the person im striving to become. I also enjoy sitting under big trees and listening to all the different noises they make if your are really quiet.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is very popular, but the food is expensive and for those of us who live alone and completely support ourselves it is a waste of money and also bad nutrition.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the instructor's assinged to your particular coarse some classes will be bird coarses meaning you can fly through with little effort. While other instructors who actually care about the future of their students will challenge them to look inside themselves in hopes of unlocking their true potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please be aware of what you are embarking on. College is not highschool. It can be fun but do not mistake it as a game. You must attack it with the mentality of an adult! Turning 18 only makes you a legal adult. Ponder this, there are people in the world in their late 20s, 30s, and 40s and have yet to become adults.

    In three sentences

    College of The Desert is a excellent stepping stone for students striving to better themselves. Unfortunately the graduation rate is 49% and most students are incompetent! Deciding to attend College saved my life and I thank God for College of The Desert.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Fairly safe

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to achieve their AA or training for certain areas.

    Food and Dining

    Good dining selection but seating is limited.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes can be very hard to get due to the limited space.

    In three sentences

    Good community college for taking care of your lower division classes. Plenty of help and support groups and clubs for completing assignments. Nice environment and staff.

  • 02/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    horrible...worst security ever...they're extremly lazy

    Greek Life

    obsolete

    Clubs and Activities

    plenty of all sorts whatever you're into i'm sure they have a club for that

    Great for these types of students

    great for nerds who love computer games and fantasy card games

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    love the arboritum which most people dont know about and the garden

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of clubs to get involved in, but good luck finding out what they're

    Food and Dining

    food is waaay too expensive considering we are all broke college students

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    they don't care if you come to class er not

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your high school counselor before you talk to one of these ones.

    In three sentences

    Anti-social environment, there's not too much socializing going on. Lots of programs that they don't advertise enough of so students don't know the resources available to them. Counselors are horrible, don't even waste your time.

  • 03/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I see bike security all day long everywhere!!!!

    Clubs and Activities

    it is like animal house just a PG version!

    Great for these types of students

    I am a non tradidtional student and was very scared at first.. but this is a wonderful experience for me

    Bang for the buck

    you make the most of your experience by not just sitting in the chair!!!!

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities, and plays and sportings events

    Food and Dining

    more food then some restaurants offer and always clean

    Dorm Life

    i dont live in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    the classes and wrokshops that are offered are great

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your admissions and financial aid paper work in early register for classes early buy your books early

    In three sentences

    It is a very clean campus. The technology labs are new and updated The professors that i have so far are wonderful and very helpful

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Biology club Scholarship club Athletic club Alas al futuro

    What to do for fun

    Club activities, being with friends

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking into this school take time to see if you like it check out the campus, and when looking for classes do everything ahead of time because the system is very full.

    In three sentences

    At College of the Desert I have had some good experiences. So far the teachers i have had are great. College of the Desert has a nice campus, when choosing classes is where the issue comes in it gets very full.

  • 06/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There needs to be a lot more security guards, security towers and phones, lighting, as well as closer parking for students at the major buildings. I always feel a little concerned, as a girl, walking to my car after evening lecture.

    Greek Life

    There is one honors society, but as far as Sors and Frats...nope not a single one.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's quite a few clubs, you just have to try out a few to find one that is a good fit.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who are looking to save money, undecided on a major, or looking to transfer soon.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ummmm there's not a lot of student life so nothing exciting.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap classes. Easy credits.

    What to do for fun

    Its the Desert, theres not a lot around except during Coachella Fest, then all the celebs and party goers are in town. Other times of the year there's not a lot to do except hike and do little circles around the tiny mall.

    Food and Dining

    Over priced and pretty gross. Except the breakfast burritos. Those are amazing.

    Dorm Life

    Non existant

    Academic Rigor

    For the basic, general ed courses, all you need to do is show up and have half a brain (or less). For the higher maths and sciences, these are no BS cources that you NEED to have your ducks in a row, and you NEED to be on top of your course work because it WILL kick your butt. Professors who teach those classes often taught at high up universities so their classes are just like what you would be taking at a UC. Know your stuff.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a plan, get in and get out, do not waste time at COD. COD is a stepping stone, not a destination. Transfer opportunities are excellent make sure you review all your options.

    In three sentences

    College of the Desert is a great option if you want to figure out what your next step is while earning some college credits, maybe you'll get your associates while you're there. It's not the best, in anything, academics, student life, counseling or anything, there is no prestige here. But if you work hard and do well you will probably get a reference letter from a has been professor for a top university.

  • 06/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I honestly believe this school is worth every penny. Not only is it cheap, it gets you somewhere!

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun. First, you can go hang out with friends around the school. You can also watch public performances.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip I would tell prospective students again and again is to watch your deadlines. They can sneak up on you! Besides that, apply for financial aid.

    In three sentences

    Ever since I stepped onto this college, I was amazed on how brilliantly designed it was. I feel very welcome here. It's been an amazing experience so far.

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of activities and clubs to get interested in here. Being a drama major, I recommend attending the stage productions and plays put on by the theater arts department. They tend to bring out a fun, festive crowd of art lovers and students alike.

    Food and Dining

    The newly renovated cafeteria/dining hall serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, or any on-campus housing, at College of the Desert.

    Academic Rigor

    COD's faculty and staff are professionals that take their positions seriously, and this reflects in the curriculum presented to the students. I can really only speak for myself and my own major, but across the board, students reflect that they ae being challenged daily. This school, and it's academic programs, can be an all-inclusive stop on a career path, or it can be a stepping stone to even bigger and better things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Getting a jump on things and applying for your needs early is the best advice anyone can give. By knowing your status with the school early, you can find the time to apply for any scholarships, grants, or school sponsored student aid. You can also have time to visit counselors so that they can get you on the right track as you are walking in the door. Students who have gone to COD for a semester are already reactant to the things they learned from the COD experience, so beating them is the mission.

    In three sentences

    Being the only true community college serving most of the Coachella Valley, College of the Desert has worked to develop the minds and passions of its residents and visitors. The high demand for classes, along with a faculty eager to have the opportunity to educate, demonstrates that opportunity for growth is one notion that the school constantly tries to conventionalize itself with. At College of the Desert, if nothing else, you will get what you paid for.

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    MESA is very helpful, and the Scholarship club is too.

    Bang for the buck

    Many people qualify for the BOG waiver, which completely eliminates your tuition, so you go to school for free.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is okay, but there are plenty of way better places to eat just off campus.

    Dorm Life

    There's no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't think the classes are too difficult, but a lot of them are focused more on in-class discussions instead of memorizing and being graded on tests. I find it helpful to learn this way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a priority club! If you are studying math or science related fields, then join MESA because otherwise it will be very difficult to get classes.

    In three sentences

    College of the Desert is a great transition period for me. I did not know very well what I wanted to do while I was in high school, so College of the Desert was a great place to go to figure out what I wanted without falling behind all my friends who had graduated. I would recommend people go there because they are very helpful in helping you transfer.

  • 08/09/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    45 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus. Security is all over the campus

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities all over campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hardly anyone uses the Hilb anymore which is a building where you can go study in. Definitely a quiet place to get work done and talk to professors.

    Bang for the buck

    It is not expensive for a community college, and definitely worth investing in if you are serious about your education. Don't spend money on pointless courses that wont count for your major or towards your AA. It would be a waste of money.

    What to do for fun

    The mall is down the street, and there are plenty of movie theatres near the area.

    Food and Dining

    Never entered the caf�© on campus, but heard it is nothing memorable. Many other options outside of the school.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on-campus housing

    Academic Rigor

    It is not academically challenging, but very tedious in terms of work that has to be done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay active. Keep up with professors and ask questions and don't hesitate to ask for opportunities offered at the school.

    In three sentences

    College of the Desert is an amazing community college to get started in if community college is the first option. There are many options and helpful staff and professors that gear you to fulfill anyone's full potential. Courses here are very tedious, but not difficult.

  • 08/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus ranging from dance and music to science. There is a club for anyone on campus if they choose to join one.

    What to do for fun

    There is a movie theater and a mall near campus. Most people will spend their time their or hanging out in the cafe talking to friends.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe on campus where they brew starbucks and serve food you would normally find at a cafe. The food is decent, but i believe that it is over priced. Many students leave campus to eat at local fast food places or the food court at the mall.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms at COD.

    Academic Rigor

    Different teachers and different subjects vary in its difficulty. Math and Science classes are very challenging and require focus and dedication. However, most of the classes are not that difficult as long as you pay attention and do the work you are assigned. Showing up to class is a must!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on transfering out of COD in 2 years it is probably unlikely. It will probably take you 3 years. However, if you stay on top of your classes and do not fail anything you will be able to transfer sooner. See a counselor and get on track as soon as possible that way you are not wasting your time taking classes you so not need. Getting classes may be difficult, but crash and be persistent. It helps to contact the professor before school starts to ensure you have a spot in the class.

    In three sentences

    College of the Desert is a junior college and has a wide diversity of students ranging from their ethnicities and their ages. It is a nice campus and has currently opened up a new building and parking structures. The professors are passionate about their subjects and will help students in any way in order for them to reach their goals, however, COD is impacted and graduating in 2 years is unlikely.

  • 10/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is every ones business Security is every were and there are medical facilities on campus

    Greek Life

    I am not involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    COD has a good number of clubs that do on campus and off campus activities. The first Home coming foot bal game is October the 12 at 2pm

    Great for these types of students

    COD is great for all typs of students from English as a second language to an auto mechanic, and is great for all ages!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sorry I am not familiar with any yet.

    Bang for the buck

    Starbucs cup of the day is only $1.75 Just Awsome!

    What to do for fun

    I am with the VA Student group to reach out to fellow veterans, and involved with the Eco club for community activities an hiking!

    Food and Dining

    The COD cafeteria is great they have a wide variety of different food, and very good for you at an affordable price, and they serve Starbucks coffee!

    Dorm Life

    sorry Cant help you there I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    My academics need a lot of attention so there are qualified tutors at the student academic center.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is still time to sine up for late registration the sooner you get that done the sooner you will be on your way to achieving your dream!

    In three sentences

    My first semester at College of the Desert, and it is great. The staff are very professional, and are eager to help you with college needs. Financial Aid, well it was as easy as one, two, three! I give College of the Desert a 10

  • 10/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I go walk around the campus

    Food and Dining

    it has good food

    Dorm Life

    it doesn't have a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    teacher grade hard its different from high school

    Tips for prospective students

    You will have a good time.

    In three sentences

    It is a good looking college. It i a clean environment. Have fun if you plan to go.

  • 10/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It has to be safe all the time

    Greek Life

    I do not what is that about, but is sound kind of weird

    Clubs and Activities

    cross country & track and field

    Great for these types of students

    hard working students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    smoke area

    Bang for the buck

    it would be really good for all of us as students to have some cash with us. We can buy anything we will need for college

    What to do for fun

    listen to music, play video games, hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    tasty and cheap

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life muts be chilling and fun, and a good place to hang out

    Academic Rigor

    The professors must be clear and responsible, because there are some professors who are no understanble with the clases or expect us to know the material without even help us at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be responsible Always be on time Be respecful And do all your work

    In three sentences

    Its my first year at COD (College Of the Desert), and I believed is a wonderful college to learn and live the college experience. Also, give us the opportunity to know what to do if we want to transfer to another college of universities of the state. At last but not least, it help us with the financial aid and scholarships.

  • 12/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, small and quiet. The safest part of the Coachella Valley

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities are available for membership during rush week

    Great for these types of students

    International Students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    International Student Day Parade

    Bang for the buck

    Great place to begin your educational journey

    What to do for fun

    Golfing, Parks, Hiking, Bars, Camping, LA, Palm Springs tramway, Big bear lake

    Food and Dining

    The Coachella Valley offers a wide range of food possibilities varying from fast food take out to five star eat in restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    There are no on campus dorms, although there are many resort style apartment complexes located in the nearby Palm Desert vicinity.

    Academic Rigor

    This institution's professors are mostly helpful and care about their students. Very few are obnoxious 'doers'

    Tips for prospective students

    College of the Desert has a vast variety of possible majors, as well as programs to assist any, and all prospective students. These include the Intensive English Academy, the institutions popular international student program, alongside nursing, athletics, and many other academic programs.

    In three sentences

    College of the Desert is taking strives toward success in many areas, modernising of the campus is currently being completed to give the institution a fresh new look, and atmosphere.

  • 01/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a very safe campus it is located in a very safe neighborhood. I have never had any troubles nor have I ever heard of any.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus. They have something for everybody I really suggest people join clubs it is a great place for people to meet other people. They even have an ASL club!

    Bang for the buck

    Prices are affordable cheaper than many universities. However, I highly suggest for students to apply for FASFA and scholarships!

    What to do for fun

    College of the Desert has many sports team if one is great at sports they can perhaps join one for Fun. However, if your like me and not great at sports than you can maybe join a club. I am current interested in the MESA club. This club is for students who are interested in majors such as Science, Math, Architect, etc... They offer free tutoring to members. They also go on field trips!

    Food and Dining

    The Beeps Cafe is pretty good. Prices are reasonable nothing to pricy. The cafe also has a variety of snacks and even a Starbucks! The cafe also offers free wifi and a charging station. Great place to hang out with friends.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. However, there are affordable apartments nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    To be honest the difficulty of a course depends which one an individual is taking. For example, if one is taking an art course it may not be as difficult as for say a chemistry course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for classes the day you are registered to do so! Also go on ratemyprofessor.com before registering for classes!For those planning to transfer I highly recommend you talk to a campus counselor and set up a Student Ed Plan. Good Luck.

    In three sentences

    College of the Desert is a community college located in beautiful Palm Desert. The campus has been undergoing some new renovations, and in my option the campus looks gorgeous. Students are very nice and courteous towards others. I plan on transferring and to be honest I have saved so much more money than some of my classmates that attended 4 year universities .

  • 01/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I hangout with friends, study, play video games, listen to music, skateboard, and hike.

    Food and Dining

    Food in the cafe on campus is good.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms?

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are always rigorous, however, some professors are great at simplifying certain subjects.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard.

    In three sentences

    Academics are of the utmost important at this community college. Although at time it seems as if this college really lets you down in the registration category. College overall has a great academic environment.

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    in the coachella valley there are all sorts of thing to do here. inculding national date festival, zoo, hiking trails. shopping malls...etc.

    Food and Dining

    the food is pretty good, not great nor bad, just good. it could be a little pricey.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    having ups and downs on some classes, but it's okay their are a lot of resources to help your needs in classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    always stay focus in class, as you should be doing in the first thing. look up at rate my professor.com to find the best teachers, indor to experience the best out of this college

    In three sentences

    the college of the desert has many to offer. the most important are in the math and sicence department. many great proffessor willing to help a fellow student out in which they are majoring.

  • 04/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    lot of security

    Clubs and Activities

    Active Minds!

    Bang for the buck

    cheap!!

    What to do for fun

    there is a park near the school, there is a lot of hiking trails

    Food and Dining

    I have never been there but my friends say that its good

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Classes were excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to be able to crash a lot of classes

    In three sentences

    The school is pretty cool, the faculty is cool as well. Although the staff is excellent, the classes are hard to get. Overall the classes are easy and the programs are excellent.

  • 05/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    moderate to best. no personal experience with this.

    Greek Life

    doesn't have one

    Clubs and Activities

    Book drives, blood drives, gay straight alliance, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    International

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Palm Desert, Indio, Mecca.

    Bang for the buck

    Great financial aid opportunities, but honestly I would go elsewhere.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of activities but they are hard to find out about.

    Food and Dining

    Not bad, but if you are into free range and vegetarian options...good luck.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The school seems to be more focused on money rather than academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at ratemyprofessor.com before you take certain teachers, trust me It will help.

    In three sentences

    This college provides excellent programs for students looking to transfer. This college provides outstanding programs for undergraduate students majoring in the communications program. This college is a well rounded institution for all of those who attend.

  • 05/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They all ways have security on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Their are so many of theme

    Great for these types of students

    Yes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They did a lot of rebuilding at the school and now have more open classroom

    Bang for the buck

    Their will help you find money to help you go to college

    What to do for fun

    Their always something going on at the school to get involved in to

    Food and Dining

    Its excellent

    Dorm Life

    Their are no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Great

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need any help on anything the staff and the student service will help you and any shape or from to further your education in life.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy the classroom. I just love how they understand your needs. Its a great school for some one in need of a great education.

  • 06/27/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    57 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs that want you to be involved. There are also tons of events like dances, football games, and fundraisers.

    Bang for the buck

    It's super cheap, in fact most people go there for that reason. It's $36 a unit, so it's affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club! The park is across the street, so go there and hang out and play some sports. There's also an aquatic center where you can swim, but that costs money. The mall is across the street as well.

    Food and Dining

    It's not terrible, but it isn't the best! The best thing there is the orange chicken and rice. Their burgers are good sometimes, and the fries are the best. They have a nice area to eat and a coffee shop as well.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at all. College of the Desert is a commuter campus. Everyone lives off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It can be a challenge sometimes but other classes are not that hard at all. If you are in the higher math classes, it can be a lot of homework. All the science tests are hard, but prepare you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your professors and go to their office hours. Be active in clubs, there are a lot! Also, go to the tutoring center. There are so many resources like computers, printers, copiers and of course tutors!

    In three sentences

    College of the Desert had a lot of helpful professors and staff, you just have to know where to look. Some professors make the class too easy though, and I feel like that's not preparing us for University. It's great for people who need certifications, nursing, and even an AA degree.

  • 10/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafe is overpriced with mediocre food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms offered. Community college.

    Academic Rigor

    It is all luck whether or not you will have a professor who actually teaches or challenges you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a club or program that allows you a higher registration priority date. If you plan on starting with the actual new student priority date then you need to plan on being at C.O.D. for years, because some (popular) classes fill up within hours of opening.

    In three sentences

    The classes and school in general are very crowded and understaffed. Some of the professors are excellent with extensive knowledge of their subject and an impressive career history; others will leave you questioning the qualifications needed to teach there. Overall, no better or worse than the average California community college.