Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

College of the Mainland Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/15/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    College of the Mainland has the best tuition price in the state of Texas. You pay for a cheap tuition and still get the same education as a university would.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love this college because it has everything that I need and it's not far from everything.

    Am learning a lot

    This college is a lot of help to me. It's better than a four-year university.

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    pretty safe

    Greek Life

    phi theta kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    i know there are a lot but i have not participated in many

    Great for these types of students

    those that need an inexpensive school, those wanting to transfer

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the track around campus and the duck pond

    Bang for the buck

    inexpensive but learning is encouraged

    What to do for fun

    club organizations, plays, movies, festivals

    Food and Dining

    mr. c's deli has great options and the food tastes good.

    Dorm Life

    there are none.

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard and do not be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    this is a real one-on-one college. the atmosphere is friendly. most of the teachers really want you to learn.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I excited about going to College of Mainland. It's been a while for me. Going back to school will be a challenge, but I think I'm making a great choice by going to COM.

    What to do for fun

    There is a gym, and lots of recreation area. I have also noticed flyers for several upcoming events.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten here yet.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life does not exist on this campus..... but maybe someday.

    Academic Rigor

    My academic rigor is as high as I want to make it. This campus has all the resources to help anyone do the same.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't know where to start, go to the welcome center. The lady there will point you in the right direction.

    In three sentences

    So far, so good. I walked on this campus not knowing where to begin. The lady in the welcome center was most helpful and kind. I am now ready to begin my first class this summer.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus officers are always visible and make night students feel safer.

    Clubs and Activities

    Options for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to save money before moving on to a university.

    In three sentences

    Teachers are willing to work with students for success. The tuition is reasonable. Financial aid is readily available for just about anyone.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have not had any issues.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Known as the mighty ducks, there are ducks everywhere.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is OK. There are a few resteraunts near by.

    In three sentences

    It is a good community college. The professors seem to be very personalble and knowledgeable. The degree plans seem to be well laid out for transferring.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The college is really safe. It has security officers that drive around the college all the time.

    Great for these types of students

    The college is great for people that need to save for a four year college. You can get your first two year done at the college and then transfer.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, its a bang for the buck. You can save a lot while attending. There's no dorms to pay for, no parking permits, and the tuition cost is not expensive.

    What to do for fun

    There many different activities that the college has.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is located in the students center. I never tried the food, but my friend's would say its was great. .

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this college. Most student live a couple hours away from the community college and are commuters.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are friendly and nice. They want there students to succeed at the college. Classes are small and when you need help the professors are pleased to help you. If you just follow the class syllable and attend class. you will succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    The main reason I chose College of the Mainland was that it was close to home. It was way to save money and start my first two years of general studies.

    In three sentences

    The majority of students at COM are friendly and respectful of one another. You get to experience a smaller atmosphere. Almost everyone is mindful of one another, and I have never witnessed any form of harassment. The student body is diverse across race and well as age and gender.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards almost always in sight especially while leaving class at night.

    Great for these types of students

    Good for Non traditional and just out of high school students.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition here is one of the lowest available.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs available to join.

    Food and Dining

    I have not tried the cafeteria on campus but there are reasonably priced vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms as it is a 2 year college.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are very difficult but others are a breeze. Make sure your professors see how hard you are trying and you will get more help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to apply yourself to your studies and you will not fail. Teachers will help those who help themselves.

    In three sentences

    The professors are amazing. Financial aid will help you even if you think you are out of the income range. The costs for this school are some of the lowest in Texas.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe while attending night classes at College of the Mainland. They have guards driving around the parking lots and they have the lots lit up very well.

    Greek Life

    The College celebrates many cultures and traditions during the semesters. Cinco De Mayo, Greek week, just name a couple.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Child Development club was one of the clubs I was in during my freshmen year. There are many clubs and organizations to become involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    College of the Mainland is great for any student that is looking to graduate or earn a certificate.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My favorite place to hang out is in the tutoring labs. You can get most answers to where your having trouble on an assignment any time.There is also a beautiful duck pond that you can sit and enjoy watching the turtles and ducks and even feed them.

    Bang for the buck

    The Tuition is very reasonable and on the low side of other schools tuition.

    What to do for fun

    For fun there are many clubs and teams available to joking on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria food cort that serves both healthy and fast foods.J

    Dorm Life

    There are no Dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many classes that will challenge your intellect.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should attend every class and give all your attention to the instructor while in class. Completing your homework and staying on track is the key to success.

    In three sentences

    College of the Mainland does their best to help you graduate. The instructors go above and beyond their duties. The College provides a pleasant atmosphere, that makes going to class enjoyable.

  • 08/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working students or parents

    Food and Dining

    I do not go at times when the cafeteria is open, but there are plenty of vending machines all over campus.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are great. I have been able to maintain a 4.0 GPA while working over 40 hours a week.

    In three sentences

    College of the Mainland is a very useful and helpful college for people who work a full-time job. I have been very successful going to this school and having a full-time job. I think College of the Mainland is a great school.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The COM police is active on campus day and night. 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

    Greek Life

    College of the mainland offers Phi Theta Kappa.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are about a dozen clubs available here.

    Great for these types of students

    This school would be great for any type of student trying to be successful.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a really nice library with quiet rooms that you can go into to study. I use them often.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for. In some of the computer labs you can print for free.

    What to do for fun

    There are some clubs and extra curricular events here. Every Tuesday and Thursday there's a college hour, and most of the time the college has free events with free lunch. It's pretty cool.

    Food and Dining

    Mr. C's restaurant in the student center has pretty tasty food available. I am gluten free, but I do enjoy their salads.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms here, but there are a couple of local apartment's near by.

    Academic Rigor

    It is not difficult to make A's here, but you do need to pay attention in class to be successful. Many teachers offer extra credit as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have questions, ask. Ask, ask, ask.

    In three sentences

    College of the Mainland is an excellent choice! The tuition is inexpensive, and the staff is friendly. When you are feeling lost, someone is always willing to help.

  • 10/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Everything here is very affordable. The books are cheaper than anywhere i have looked and they are at the best quality.

    What to do for fun

    College of the Mainland has a gym, basket ball court, and an inside pool.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at College of the Mainland always has a wide variety of delicious food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms but many nice apartment's near by.

    Academic Rigor

    The education here is outsanding and every teacher is very willing to help each and every student.

    In three sentences

    College of the Mainland is a great local college. it is close and takes no time at all to get too. The staff there is great and will help you with anything and everything you need.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always has police on site and located accross street.

    Great for these types of students

    Older students looking to focus on earning degree quickly.

    Bang for the buck

    The campus, the staff, and professors are worth it!

    What to do for fun

    They have a great activity room you can rent after hours and during school hours. Also, have a fitness area to keep your health strong.

    Food and Dining

    Have not tried the food there yet, but they have lots of options.

    Academic Rigor

    Student succeed everyday with the great professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask for help. There is never a wrong answer; only if you do not ask. Keep focus and find classmates that share the same interest of learning techniques to learn.

    In three sentences

    The service of the help for students is awesome. The faculty and staff provide all the tools needed to succeed. The campus provides the environment needed to learn and feel at home.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police patrols very often with club cars or a pickup so you feel safe!

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    International Students Club Amigos Club Biology Club Geology Club Astronomy Club Phi Theta Kappa and a lot more, even if you come up with a new club you can open one !

    Great for these types of students

    Ongoing, appreciate education and who really wants to learn and expand his or her knowlege

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a lot of gees and ducks at the pond sometimes they are crazy, people usually feed them.

    Bang for the buck

    You get good education for a low price. Save money do your basics there! Check out the catalog at www.com.edu if your intended classes are being instructed!

    What to do for fun

    Hang out at gym , swimming pool. There a lot of movies and seasonal events on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is very good the servers are very kind and it is normal price.

    Dorm Life

    As a disadvantage there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Instructors are really helping you to achieve. Do your best not jost for grades for expanding your knowlege !

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to everyone! Threat respect with everybody! If you are new check the instructors name on www.ratemyprofessors.com .

    In three sentences

    Its atmosphere is very good. Professors are really keen on that you getting proper education. Professors and Faculty and Students are very kind. I made lot of friends.

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Love running the track around the pond.

    Food and Dining

    Mr C's is amazing!!!

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find interest in everything you do!

    In three sentences

    Wonderful Professors that are easy to talk to. Nice facilities available and tracks. Only a few rude/mean instructors.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police patrolling all day and night on golf carts, expeditions, and walking around. They are always around. There is nothing to worry about at this campus.

    Greek Life

    There are only a few of those and I have no idea about any.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have already covered this. There are lots of things to get involved in that aren't expensive. A lot of leagues for sports.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for anyone. There are clubs for every type of person. A lot of people from my school go here, so I'm around friends all the time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual spots or traditions here.

    Bang for the buck

    The prices for the classes are very very reasonable. Especially if you are in the district. The book prices are high, but all college textbooks are expensive.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of sports to choose from here. I have my own volleyball team and I have a lot of fun with it. There are also a lot of little clubs you can join.

    Food and Dining

    Mr. C's Deli is a very great cafeteria. It has different meals everyday, along with a menu to order from. There is quite a variety of foods to choose from. The prices aren't too bad themselves.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    The eight week classes are stressful, but possible. The regular sixteen week classes are very simple if you do everything correctly. Time management is key.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's very easy to be admitted. No need in worrying about the difficulty in that. The classes are fairly easy. Just keep up with everything and you'll be good to go.

    In three sentences

    Everyone here is very friendly. Everyone makes you feel very welcomed and like you belong. I would definitely recommend the college to anyone who needs their basic classes out of the way.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different organizations that you can be a part of.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of organizations, volunteer, and you can easily make friends to hang out with.

    Food and Dining

    It's pretty good, In the TVB, someone from a class sells stuff in the hallway, it's pretty cool. Good prices, good food.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't dorms...

    Academic Rigor

    It's pretty easy to go through the school, the tests are pretty simple, all you have to do is read and study for your final.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a great place to go if you want to get an associates in general studies, but if you really want to get a great education, look towards a university instead.

    In three sentences

    It's a great college to start off with. The College is easy to get into, and pretty easy to pass. Not a good college to try if you intend on going to Med School or going to be in a specialized career.

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    many diverse clubs

    Bang for the buck

    the classes are cheap and the classes offer a great deal of knowledge.

    What to do for fun

    there are many after school activities and clubs that you can join. there is also a gym that is very diverse and filled with many friendly faces.

    Food and Dining

    great food court

    Academic Rigor

    strong classes that offer many explanations on theories and new ideas.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study everyday work hard and have fun.

    In three sentences

    College of the mainland is a college that maintains a high level of cleanliness. The staff here are very friendly and will work with you to succeed in every possible way. This school is a great place to get your basics out of the way.

  • 03/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always social events being held around campus thanks to several student clubs and bodies. It's not unusual to see buildings, doors, and hallways covered in posters explaining the time and place of an upcoming event.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a wide array of options, and the staff is very polite. The prices are reasonable and there's students present to socialize with.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college, there isn't on-campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the class being taken, academics can be rigorous. After all, this is college, and a college level work load should be expected going in. Fortunately, the professor are extremely helpful and are very experienced in their area of teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is a great starting point for any first-time college student. For those who are unsure if college is right for them, attending COM will you a very reasonable estimate of where you are as a student within a semester. The student body is surprisingly large, and social events are held regularly on campus.

    In three sentences

    College of the Mainland is an outstanding community college nestled in an easy-going area. From the professors to the staff of the student services sector, the faculty are extremely polite and always willing to assist you. Also, the food served in cafeteria is delicious, and affordable.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Their are campus police, never had to deal with them but I see them around allot

    Great for these types of students

    flexible and online classes make it easy to attend.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you put in if you come to study and work hard you'll learn.

    What to do for fun

    I spend my free time with my kids playing games, reading to them, taking them to the park, movies etc. I have little free time so what I do have I use to the best of my ability.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent but the prices are a little steep.

    Dorm Life

    I myself have not lived in the dorms but its a required field.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you study and come to class you will do great. Teachers are willing to help if you put forth the effort

    Tips for prospective students

    Hard work will pay off in the end. research the field your going into, and keep in mind that in the end your hard work will pay off I'm 27 years old working 2 jobs and have 2 kids their is no reason not to better your life!

    In three sentences

    So far I've had a great experience with this college the teachers are friendly and helpful. Flexible schedules make it easy to attend. Class sizes make it easy for you teacher to get to know you and help you understand and learn.

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    20 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The student council provides awesome activities such as eating contest, music, international festivals, that come from all over the world.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria dining services were close to most classes for students who do not need to walk far in order to get their crave on. Plus, they provide stunning panoramic view to the large pond that is in front of the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I lived with my parents, so housing was not critical as I lived really close to the campus. I do not recall if the school has dormitories.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to everyone in your classes as they are open through discussions. As mentioned earlier, the classes are medium to small sizes, therefore, perfect to be open in debate, respectively. Also, do not be afraid to talk to professors, as most of the professors I have encountered are friendly, and happy to get you to understand whatever your concerns may be.

    In three sentences

    As a graduate student of this particular school, I reminisce the days and surely do miss them. The professors and classes are simple and medium to small sizes, yet provided the challenging courses as you progress through your academic life. They have activities that are fun, classes that are intriguing, and staffs that are friendly.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always cops in the parking lot!

    Clubs and Activities

    Not very advertised.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the pond you can feed the ducks.

    What to do for fun

    Walk around the pond.

    Food and Dining

    We only have vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are mostly average.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to RateMyProfessors.com before choosing an instructor, big help!

    In three sentences

    College of the Mainland has great instructors, and terrible instructors, just have to get lucky! Beautiful pond out front, but dull classrooms. Lastly, they take forever when you're trying to register, pay, get advised, or deal with Financial Aid.

  • 09/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there isn't much to do here. Go to the gym and play some basketball or workout, or just go hangout in the student center and innovations lab (I'm actually in the innovations lab typing this!) You'd probably be better off going somewhere else for fun though.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great in the student center, but...the cost could use some adjusting. It would probably be a better idea to bring your own lunch, or just eat off campus. Also, the vending machines here are thieves at that ignore the Social Contract Theory and take your money without giving anything in return. But when you do get food here, it is good.

    Dorm Life

    Well there's no dorms here, soooo....

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here are very educated and helpful, so it's no surprise that the academics are also very good. Even if you are taking courses just for the credits, the professors will make sure that you leave knowing something that you didn't know.

    Tips for prospective students

    Here's an awesome 2-year university for people moving on to 4-year universities. The availability of the core classes are pretty good, although they did get rid of most of their networking classes so availability is short there. The advisers are helpful and positive, and the professors are mostly laid back and certainly well-educated. This is a great college to attend if you are a new freshmen, or just need to finish some core classes for a cheap price.

    In three sentences

    This college is great for new freshmen and people that are continuing their education alike. The professors are for the most part kind and know what they are teaching, and the facilities here are adequate for anyone's needs. The coolest part is the low, low tuition rate; 15 hours of any class types usually runs you about 800-900$.

  • 12/10/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe at college of the mainland, the campus police are always there and they are in site at all time. They can walk you to your car at night if needed.

    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is pretty good. They have everything to choose from and it very affordable.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm

    Academic Rigor

    The academic here at College of the mainland is very good I have always got the help i need. They are one of the best one here that I have been too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask questions don't be afraid to ask questions . Study Hard. Do they best you can and you will pass.

    In three sentences

    College of the Mainland is a good community college to go to if you want to get your basic out of the way. They have so many things to do here. Students and professors are very friendly they are always there for you .

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Avoid the geese.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap and efficient.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the gym and join some clubs!

    Food and Dining

    The food is normal, it is above high school cafeteria standards and serves to be a decent meal when needed.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know this personally, as they do not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes can challenge you and others can be a breeze, it all depends on the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't forget that college is not a place where you are forced to do your work, it's up to you to get your education. Start here.

    In three sentences

    College of the Mainland is a great college for certificates and a degree in Process Technology. If you are looking for a certificate, nursing, process technology or somewhere to start I would definitely sign up at this college. The college is more of a family once you know your teachers, and there isn't anything else you can ask for when you are first entering college.