Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

College of the Ozarks Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/10/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 out of 20 people found this review useful. 1 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I am glad that these students have been able to go here because this is my dream college, and I am sure they are doing a great job in this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not take this education lightly, enjoy it and thank God that you are there because not everyone can go.

    Bang for the buck

    I think working for your tuition is a great idea, because I come from a family who struggles a lot financially but we always make it work out.

    Will enjoy being here

    I will enjoy being here because I have always wanted to go to a school with a christian atmosphere and a really strong Agriculture program.

    Will learn a lot

    I know I will learn a lot here because you have most of the the things I want to partake in.

  • 08/03/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 out of 18 people found this review useful. 4 people found this inaccurate. 2 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    White, Republican (90% of the campus voted for Bush in 2004,) Christian (at least if you are from a similarly ultra-conservative denomination,) and impeccably mannered and well-groomed. Everyone else need not apply.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are not a member of the target demographic, you are better off going somewhere else. If you insist on coming here, remember that the place is puritanically strict, avoid activities that would make blue-hairs frown. It's for the best that you wean yourself off of anything stronger than cough syrup before attending, and break up with your significant other, because you will not be allowed to be touching him or her very much. Also, both the faculty and student body are severely homophobic, so avoid anything that makes you look the slightest bit like the other gender.

    Bang for the buck

    Since this is a work-to-pay college, you won't be banging many bucks here. This campus has rightfully earn its nickname Hard Work U, however, so expect to be spending many hours at your work-station, as much as a part-time job during the semesters or a full-time during the summer.

    Did enjoy being here

    I remember more positives from a year working at a McDonald's than a year studying here. The campus is a nice place at first, but it feels cramped after a while, and that is if you are on good terms with the staff, which is a harder prospect than it sounds. The student body itself can be rather pitiless to perceived outsiders. I developed depression here. I still have bad dreams about this place, not exaggerating in the slightest.

    Did learn a lot

    I can think of a couple of professors here who I felt were knowledgeable in their fields, and will say that studying under them was a joy, but overall, the teaching staff's caliber is overrated and average.

  • 09/30/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 out of 10 people found this review useful. 3 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    I visited this college and it is nicely spread out, and easy to get around. The people are nice and helpful, I hope I get accepted!!!!

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 4 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security gate, campus security

    Greek Life

    professional

    Clubs and Activities

    professional fraternities, sororities. arts groups. mission groups. church groups.

    Great for these types of students

    hard working, honest.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    college work. fruitcake tradition. museum

    Bang for the buck

    college of the ozarks work program makes this college five star.

    What to do for fun

    for fun, we attend school events. we play intramural basketball, and join in many music groups that spring up. we enjoy silver dollar city, and the branson highlights.

    Food and Dining

    food and dining are good. the hour open are reasonable, and the menu is such that a student can choose almost anything he desires to eat.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is great. my dorm consists of all men. we have laundry, a recreation room, and bathrooms at the end of each hall.

    Academic Rigor

    various degrees have differing levels. there are academic helps for those who desire them.

    Tips for prospective students

    tips for prospective students would be to get your application and financial aid information in early. be a good all around student, active in activities in your community, and have a good work ethicl

    In three sentences

    cofo is a fantastic college. it has small class sizes, professor availability, and hands on education. the campus is user friendly.

  • 09/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 5 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's a great school for students who need some financial help and are willing to work to get an education.

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to have a strong work ethic and good time management. Don't think that all you do is work, work, work. There are lots of on campus events, organizations and activites. There is lots of fun to be had. It is a little restricting for some, but that depends on who you are.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, you have to work hard; that's why it's called Hard Work U. Being able to work to pay for your tuition is a huge privilege and blessing. I will be able to graduate and not owe a cent for my education.

    Am enjoying being here

    Sometimes it's difficult being away from home and all my friends, but I have made some great friends here. Many of the professors really care about you as a person and get to know you personally. Everyone is very friendly and helpful; it is a great enviroment and campus.

    Am learning a lot

    Although I am planning to change my major, the HRM courses I am taking are great classes. Most of my classes this semester are challenging, but they are very educational.

  • 09/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 6 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    As long as you can follow rules and are polite to all you will be great for C of O.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be very active in your community and do a lot of volunteer work to make you look good and you will find that you will get a better look at than others will that don't do this.

    Bang for the buck

    C of O is definitely the best place to go for the cheapest price. All you have to pay is room and board, books, and health & technology fees.

    Am enjoying being here

    C of O is amazing and the students are a blast to be around. It may be over 1,000 miles from home for me but I can't really say I miss home too much.

    Am learning a lot

    College of the Ozarks is a great place to learn not only about yourself and your intended major but to learn more about God as well.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 7 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    intramurel sports Baptist Student Union Foreign Ministries Sadie Hawkins Dance Sporting Event Character Camp other clubs and organizations.....

    Food and Dining

    The food at the cafe is usually really good but you need to be careful when freshman are cooking. But hey we are learning either way there is plenty to eat and there is a always a good variety.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great everyone is friendly and one will be quick to get to know your neighbors.

    Academic Rigor

    For me I majoring in Criminal Justice and right now I am in many intro classes which do not require too much work. But it all depends upon your major and what year you are. But on top of your academic schedule you are required to work 15 hour weeks on campus and two 40 hour work weeks.

    Tips for prospective students

    To be accepted into this college one must undergo a long acceptance process which includes a resume, application, interview, and then you wait for the decision. To increase your likelihood of acceptance you need to stand out among the other applicants. During my interview I wore a suit and maintained a sense of professionalism about me. My interviewer and some of the administration commented on the fact that I wore a suit and stood out among the others in the waiting room. To them I became more than a name and number on a piece of paper.

    In three sentences

    To rate this college in three sentences I would say it is a blessing to attend this school. This college isn't for everyone and of those who do desire to attend only a few will be accepted. Being here gives you the realization that you are amongst fellow students that want to learn and be closer to God.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safest campus in america

    Greek Life

    very little greek life

    Great for these types of students

    hard working, spiritual, down to earth, poor.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    College of the Ozarks is located on a cliff side over looking a beautiful river. It is an AMAZING view and a quiet place to study or get closer with god. Traditionally College of the Ozarks is a christian school and spirituality is one of the things that the college strives to improve in each student.

    Bang for the buck

    College of the Ozarks is definitely worth the time you spend working off tuition. Graduating debt free is one of the best things you can get from this college.

    What to do for fun

    Because most students live on campus the college strives to make sure everyone has something to do for fun. Movie nights, game night and musical performances are common on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you intend to go to College of the Ozarks and are not of the Christian faith, know you are not alone, but try to embrace it because you will become a better person and a happier person too.

    In three sentences

    This college works hard to produce well rounded graduates. College of the Ozarks expects more from it's students than other colleges and it makes them better people in the end. College of the Ozarks works hard to insure that it's students graduate debt free.

  • 10/24/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The opertunity to work for a lower tuition is an awesome idea.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 10 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have gates and security guards, along with a building where surveillance cameras are watched, and safe shelter for tornados and emergencies.

    Greek Life

    there is a welcome week for new students called character camp

    Clubs and Activities

    there's something for almost everyone here: concert band, athletic teams, art club, criminal justice club, student senate, cuilinary, agricultural clubs, a writing club, various christian organizations, and so much more!

    Great for these types of students

    christians, athletes, artists, agricultural,

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the ralph foster museum, the keeter center restaurant, fruit and jelly kitchen, edwards mill, williams memorial chapel, the print shop, dairy,

    Bang for the buck

    we actually only work to pay for part of the tuition, the rest is payed through donations to the school. if a student shows financial need and applies, he/she may be eligible for the summer work program to pay for room and board, thus only leaving book and material fees to pay for. campus has so much to do and the facilities are great! we just got an outstanding new gym. the music and art areas are pretty good at meeting the artsy needs. there's something here for almost everybody.

    What to do for fun

    coffeehouse join a club dorm acivities

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria food is satisfactory, or you can go out to dinner with a c of o student discount at the keeter center at the top of the hill outside our school gates

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is pretty awesome. most everyone's pretty friendly and there's almost always someone you can talk to.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are challenging, but not too hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    prospective students - apply early, dress nice for the interview, turn in everything before the deadline, and apply for many scholarships. c of o students: keep up with your homework and study for tests in advanced. work hard. have fun!

    In three sentences

    for some students, such as myself, it really feel like home here and very welcoming. a blessing in countless ways. work to pay tuition!

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are dances and regularly scheduled activities for dorm students. Close to the shows in branson, and also enjoy free days at silver dollar city

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to a personal note (which is not difficult) with the professors and deans

    In three sentences

    College of the Ozarks is a great opportunity for a patriotic, christian, and vocational experience. Faculty is supportive and willing to help. The campus is beautiful and community oriented, with a great socail aspect

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The area is pretty much crime free so there is no threat there. There is campus security but their main job is to police the students, not actual crime prevention.

    Greek Life

    Pretty much nonexistent, that sort of goes against everything the college stands for.

    Clubs and Activities

    The college does hold a lot of events that are fun. I have heard the clubs are nice but I never really had the time between studying and work to get involved with them.

    Great for these types of students

    Really good for conservative students that want a very structured college. It is a Christian school so if you are looking for a Christian based community CofO is what you are looking for.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It really is a beautiful campus, Point Lookout is on a bluff that overlooks Taneycomo is the most scenic spot of the whole campus. Really good for a cheap date.

    Bang for the buck

    Well its very hard to beat their price! I am not enrolled in the summer work program so I have to pay room and board so with that and fees it runs me around 3210 without books a semester. I know a lot of people on campus that do work the summer program and they can get it down to 250 a semester without books.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't really the party scene so you find other ways to have fun. The college provides a lot of activities that are actually fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is fair but since it is one of the only things you actually pay for I would like it to be better. To be fair there is always at least one thing that is quite good in the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    If CofO has real downfall it is the dorms. The fact that their are separate dorms for girls and guys wasn't an issue with me but the condition of the dorms is not good at all. It the summer time the cooling system cannot keep up at all, mostly because it is about a 60 years old. The only things that seems to like the cooling system is mold and roaches (they have to bug bomb at least once a semester). The dorms are on a loop to be redone but that will not happen till several years after I graduate.

    Academic Rigor

    Every class I have attended demanded the most out of all the students. The professors are usually willing to help (or point you in the right direction) if you give your all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Though CofO pays for your tuition and may seem like an awesome deal, if your lifestyle doesn't line up with their model then this is not a good school for you.

    In three sentences

    College of the Ozarks is a good school if you are willing to follow its quite stringent rules. Almost all of the scholarships which provided tuition for the students come from donations from a very conservative peer group so students are expected to look and act the part. If you come from a conservative background then this should suit you very well.

  • 10/08/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I'm sad there is no greek life. I really want to join a sorority.

    Bang for the buck

    Who can beat working on campus to pay for full tuition? It really is a great opportunity.

    Food and Dining

    The restaurant was great.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms were frightening. There was barely enough room for two beds and a place to walk.

    Academic Rigor

    How hard are the classes? It looks like a fairly close-knit school so I bet there are not to many huge lecture hall classes.

    In three sentences

    I'm applying to this school and I am hopeful to get in, but I'm still on the fence. This college is smaller than my high school and is missing a few things I wanted like a football team and greek life. On the other hand it looks like an excellent school. Anything I should consider?

  • 10/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 14 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mudfest happens every fall and dances are frequent.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is free. It is a work study college so you work 15 hours a week on top of your class schedule. Room and board is roughly $700 a month and living on campus is required unless you are married or a commuter.

    What to do for fun

    Branson is full of resorts and things to see. Be sure to do it before 9 p.m. though... they role the sidewalks up after that!

    Food and Dining

    Possibly the downfall of the entire school. The cafeteria is alright it is included in the cost of room and board so that is the only reason to eat there. The menu does change frequently but the food is bland and needs a facelift!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are old and small. The newest boys dorm is nice but not at all what the normal dorms are like. Small rooms make for a more social and active dorm. Staff is friendly and caring and not overly invasive. Keep your room clean though, 3 failed room checks and you are dismissed from school!

    Academic Rigor

    Taking 23 credits is as near insanity as anyone needs to get. The classes are challenging yet fun and the homework is frequent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and check the status of your application often, not just online but by phone as well. Be ready to answer questions that challenge you to know who you are , not necessarily about what you will do, but why you are the way you are.

    In three sentences

    College of the Ozarks is not for the faint of heart. You have to want to go to college because you work, not pay, for your education. It is fun and it is exciting to be here.

  • 10/27/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 15 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    I love the campus here.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Students work for security as part of the work study program. Some students are better than others, but most of the kids work hard to the keep the school safe.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are Bible studies and Christian groups, but there are not many for students' general interests.

    Great for these types of students

    Responsible, conservative, Christian students who respond well to an alcohol free campus with much stricter rules.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Christian practices, such as praying and going to chapel, is a part of student life. There are also some required Christian courses each student must take.

    Bang for the buck

    The college has a work program, and kids graduate debt free. It is wonderful!

    What to do for fun

    Once a month, there is a coffee shop where there is an open mike for kids, and drinks are available.

    Food and Dining

    The food is better than at most campuses, but it gets old after a while.

    Dorm Life

    The Junior and Senior dorms are wonderful, but the Freshmen and Sophomore dorms are very small and crowded.

    Academic Rigor

    Wonderful program and great that Christians can be open about their faith in the classroom, but the much needed perspective and challenges of interacting with non-Christians is missing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Aggressively go after what you want and get all the information for yourself because the advisers may not tell you everything and leave you surprised. Check your student email constantly, or you will be out of the loop on campus.

    In three sentences

    A wonderful opportunity to graduate debt free, but you must be willing to work hard! You must also be very independent and pro-active because the school expects kids to search out opportunities and information for themselves. It is also a strongly conservative, Christian school, which is great for those who share those opinions and beliefs to able to practice them openly, but it can isolating for those who do not.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 27

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It has a beautiul campus and the students are really nice. When I arrived at the college it was like a cute little town. I loved it!

  • 12/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very secure, campus is locked up at night and security helps all students

    Clubs and Activities

    Bsu, KDP, SMSTA, and many many more

    Great for these types of students

    All students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a farm and a museum.

    Bang for the buck

    Every student works for their tution

    What to do for fun

    Mudfest, Dances, Concerts. Bubble bash

    Food and Dining

    Lots of choices everyday

    Dorm Life

    Lots of room, and many activites.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes challenge you and make you a great student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, be willing to work.

    In three sentences

    A wonderful Christian School with lots of school that is very affordable for those willing to work.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    EXTREMELY safe! Some people even feel more safe here than at their own home..

    Clubs and Activities

    Just about everything.

    Great for these types of students

    Christian. Small town. Country. Dedicated. Happy. Tough

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Character Camp-Week before classes, you are put into a family of about 12, complete with a Mom and Pops. You everything that week together. You do things from spending the day at a theme park to doing community service. Complete with a formal banquet at the end of the week. This is a fabulous way to make some of the friends you will have for the rest of your life.

    Bang for the buck

    If you want to go to college, and not feel like you are giving up on staying a Christian, this is the place to go. EVERYONE is friendly, and Christian.

    What to do for fun

    There is a Museum on campus. YOU LIVE IN BRANSON! Shopping less than 5 minutes away! Great restaurants. Imax 10 minutes away, as well as some great shows(singing, acting, juggling)

    Food and Dining

    I've never been one for cafeteria food..

    Dorm Life

    Guarantee you will meet your best friend here. NO boys allowed in girls dorms and NO girls allowed in boys dorms, so it is completely safe and Christian.

    Academic Rigor

    Anything worth having WON'T be easy to get. Work for it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply, it WILL change your life, I promise!

    In three sentences

    The BEST Christian College around. This College is outrageously friendly and clean. You work at the College to pay your tuition, so you leave College debt free!

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    College of the Ozarks has a campus security that is on call 24/7. There is also a gate that closes during the night that is watched by security. I feel very safe on this campus.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs to be apart of and many campus activities. We have monthly coffee houses where a performer comes in to sing and intramural sports to be apart of. College of the Ozarks gets many famous people to come in and speak including former presidents and historical figures.

    Great for these types of students

    Any hardworking student would fit right in at College of the Ozarks. We have a very good nursing, education, and agriculture program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    College of the Ozarks has a beautiful campus with many old buildings and unique landscaping. The school is in the middle of the hilly Ozarks, so there is a bluff to climb down that has the lake below. There is also a rope swing on the lake that we jump in from.

    Bang for the buck

    At College of the Ozarks, students do not pay anything for tuition. We work to pay it off during the week and two forty hour workweeks. They also accept students from low income families, so if you don't have a lot of money for college, it is worth it to attend College of the Ozarks.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I go to the Garrison Activity Center. It is a very nice workout facility that also has a basketball court, a pool, and racquetball courts. I also like to go with friends around Branson. Point Lookout is only five minutes away from Branson, MO.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria meals are provided in the room and board amount so we can eat in the cafeteria as much as we want. The food is pretty good most days and there are many different options on what to eat during that meal.

    Dorm Life

    The girl's dorms are very small here. A friend of mine measured a room, and they are a little bigger than a parking space. Upperclassmen get larger rooms. There is a no drinking policy on campus so if you are looking for a party school, College of the Ozarks is not the school for you.

    Academic Rigor

    I would give the academics four stars. My classes are medium hard and I have to study to do well in them. If you are struggling, teachers are there to help and set up tutoring hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips would be to come in to College of the Ozarks with a positive attitude and expect to work hard. Keep up with your homework, because it is easy to fall behind in classes. Lastly, even though there is a strict dress code and order of conduct, stay true to yourself and do not change.

    In three sentences

    College of the Ozarks is a good school, but it is not for everyone. The school has very strict rules and we are required to work on two weeks of our break along with fifteen hours in the week. Overall, I would have to give College of the Ozarks a low rating for college life.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a closed off campus with a gate, our own security team and building. Security is almost always roaming around.

    Greek Life

    Minimal Greek clubs

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities including inter-murals, theater, academic, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    College fo the Ozarks is great for all types of students: - religious - outgoing - introverts - sports lovers - readers - school lovers - theater people

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    MUDFEST! Mudfest is one of the funnest traditions here at College of the Ozarks. It is a tug of war competition over a mud pit. Another tradition is the Sadie Hawkins dance, where the girls ask the guys.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is completely paid for when you attend College of the Ozarks. You work for your tuition and so you can basically receive a diploma debt-free.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs on campus everyday, theater productions, movie nights, dances, inter-murals, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Most food is average here on campus, however the dessert and the the international buffets are almost always delicious. The cafeteria is also a good place to hang out with friends. It promotes a good time.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing. The camaraderie among the floors is refreshing and fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, College of the Ozarks, is a challenging college. C of O is a work based college and academics is no exception.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students is to get involved with as many things as you can handle. You should not overload yourself and give only a part of your time to activities, but you want to give yourself fully to as many activities as you can to get yourself out there and make friends and have some great times.

    In three sentences

    The College of the Ozarks is an exceptional opportunity for students looking for a school to attend. The mission of the college is to send out responsible citizens that are prepared to live their life well. Through the work-study program at the school C of O is able to fulfill the mission much to the benefit to the student and society.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hour security.

    Greek Life

    Not avaliable.

    Clubs and Activities

    FCA, BSU, SMSTA, Missions Club, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    Students work to pay for their tuition. No out of pocket cost!

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs to join such as, FCA, Baptist Student Union, student council and more. There is also coffee house, movie nights, mud fest and more.

    Food and Dining

    There is a large variety of food and I would say it is above average.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are average in size and quality.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers have high expectations for their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard. Manage your time wisely.

    In three sentences

    The students of College of the Ozarks work hard. The school promotes Christ-like character. The goal of the school is for students to graduate and be debt free.

  • 06/24/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has constant security, guarded gate at the front, and it's It is also well lighted which many colleges have issues with.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Baptist Student Union is super involved and hosts events throughout the year! I'm moving there in a week and have been receiving emails all summer. The Mass Communications Club has a YouTube Channel where they show what life is like on campus and some of the students viewpoints on more controversial subjects. Check it out: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCjng0lk8t1OSPz2oHqVpC-A

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking, faith driven students who want to grow closer to God as they excel in the preparation for the rest of their lives.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is all about Bang for the Buck. You work 15 hours a week (plus two 40 hour weeks) on campus for your tuition. You can choose to work during the summer to pay for room and board!

    What to do for fun

    Intermural Sports, BSU, Basketball is huge here!

    Food and Dining

    Many families from my hometown stop in their restaurant anytime they are in town!

    Dorm Life

    I've met my roommate who is so kind. Talk to your roommate before you get there. Coordinate who brings what; you don't need two fridges or two microwaves.

    Academic Rigor

    I am excited to begin my classes at the end of August. As a Freshman, the school fixes your schedule after you fill out a survey. This makes life much less stressful as your life is already changing. Academic rigor is based on what classes you are in and what year student you are.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be frightened by the idea that you are moving away from friends and family when you move off to college. I'm not even there yet and started meeting super friendly people!

    In three sentences

    This College is the most caring, common sense school you can choose. The faith base is comforting' it's good to know I won't be taken away from God just going to college. If you choose to attend this school, don't be afraid of a little hard work, because it all pays off!

  • 11/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is one of the many student work stations. With gated entrance, and locks on dorms, it is extremely safe.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    A wide variety!

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Coffee House! An event sponsored by the Counsel for Student programs, which hosts several musically talented students at a campus concert with provided beverages and drinks.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is free! For the experience, education, and opportunities, it is incredible. However, students still pay for room and board, so be cautious not to forget about that.

    What to do for fun

    Its in Branson! The family version of Las vegas! As a student, many of the shows or attractions around Branson offer CofO students free or discounted admissions.

    Food and Dining

    A wide buffet of food every day,.. but some days it can be pretty gross.

    Dorm Life

    The community is incredible. However it seems they take care of the outside more than the inside. Humidity and mold has been a problem in some dorms, but getting to know a ton of other students is worth it. In addition, the upperclassmen dorms get their own bathrooms and bigger rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    They expect quality and quantity. Along with your required 15 hours a week work schedule, 15 credits is an under load. a typical student takes 16-20 credit hours per semester so it can be challenging,... but it is possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pack light! Freshman rooms are small. Also, apply for EVERY trip offered! There are dozens from in the US, to Abroad, from Patriotic trips to mission trips,... all free.

    In three sentences

    Extremely hard working, challenging, but rewarding. It offers incredible opportunities to travel abroad for free. They expect more because you receive more.

  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have campus security and a campus fire department

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of them

    Great for these types of students

    Christians.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Point Lookout is beautiful. the campus itself is beautiful

    Bang for the buck

    No tuition.

    What to do for fun

    lots of campus activities to choose from. lots of groups. plus we live in branson the entertainment capitol of the world.

    Food and Dining

    we have a college cafeteria. it is buffet style. you dont have to cook or clean your dishes it is not a bad deal. always have pizza, sandwiches, cereal, and salad. we have mcdonalds, sonic, and chinese off campus close by.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are old. I live in the biggest dorm. We just built a new mens dorm with a new womens dorm in progress. dont plan on having a lot of stuff unless you are in a big room.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your major. Some majors are harder than others. I am nursing. The hardest major on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. Rock out your interview. Dont come here if you want to party. Come here if you want to buckle down and receive an awesome education.

    In three sentences

    The work program is great. No tuition is awesome. But not being able to accept bank loans sucks now. You are still responsible for room and board ~$5700 per year

  • 01/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This is a work study school, so you work 15 hours a week to pay for your tuition. You can also work 40 hours a week during the summer to pay for room and board. In essence, it is free college, and it doesn't get better than that.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is the place to eat on campus, mainly because it is free. The food can sometimes be hit or miss, but there is a large variety and you can almost always find something you will like.

    Dorm Life

    There are many activities and ways to get involved the the dorms organize. There is also a great sense of community in the dorms and it is like a family.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes here are challenging, and managing classes with work teaches students how to manage time in an effective way that will help them in the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work hard and bring a good attitude. Also be open to the college in general and willing to put in the work to get a good education.

    In three sentences

    College of the Ozarks is a great college founded on morals, Christian values, hard work, and financial responsibility. You work for your education here, so students learn and grow in many different areas. Overall, this is a college that makes students better people who will be leaders in the community.

  • 09/19/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    27 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do plenty of research. Keep in mind all of the pros and cons. Negative feedback could be just as helpful as positive feedback.