Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

College of the Redwoods Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/23/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for any type of student, expect maybe those who like a busier place with more people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just stay focused and manage your time wisely as you would have to do at any other college.

    Bang for the buck

    College of the Redwoods is actually pretty inexpensive. And you are always reminded to apply for fee waivers and financial aid. The books are mostly what can make a bit of a dent in your wallet. However, you can always order books online for cheaper.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is very relaxing and laid back. There are several picnic places to sit or lay around with friends or just yourself. Everyone is usually really pleasant to be around.

    Am learning a lot

    College of the Redwoods is on the smaller side; there are not a large amount of students. This makes learning very easy because the professors have a smaller population to teach and try to help. Most of the courses are very easy to follow and to learn. And when you do need help the professors are very accessible, they give you their email, phone, and office hours; Because there aren't a large population of students just walking up and asking for help is very easy.

  • 08/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Check teachers on ratemyprofessor.com. Although I said that there are good teachers, there are still a couple that do not completely have everything together yet and make it rather difficult at times.

    Bang for the buck

    Fairly inexpensive and offers a B.O.G. waiver which waves all tuition. Also, a program called E.O.P.S. provides book vouchers for those who qualify.

    Am enjoying being here

    Beautiful campus.

    Am learning a lot

    Many of the professors are very helpful and knowledgeable.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sometimes there are mountain lion sightings on campus at night. There are random deer that wander across the campus in the day, but other than that safety on campus is not a worry to most.

    Greek Life

    None at CR, but HSU does have a variety of Greek life!

    Clubs and Activities

    Student government is an awesome organization on campus to get involved with! I was apart of the student government for 1.5 years and I loved everything about it. There are also many other clubs on campus, and if you can't find a club that you like at CR than Humboldt State University (HSU) has clubs you can join on their campus as well!

    Great for these types of students

    Nature loving, laid back, zen, people who just want to get away from it all would love this school. If you are a city person (like me) it can be hard to adjust to such an unfamiliar environment.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a cheaper junior college to attend due to the remote location. Rent in the city of Eureka is very reasonable and you don't need a car to drive everywhere because the bus is fairly decent.

    What to do for fun

    Since this school is located in a remote area things that people choose to do for fun are hiking and hanging out with friends. Going out to explore the town is always fun too because there are so many little neighborhoods.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good, however, the cafeteria is small. Prices are reasonable, but it is still a school cafeteria so the prices are higher than a regular store. They offer a variety of vegetarian food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life was fun and the dorms were actually more spacious than some of the dorms at the university! If you live in the dorms you will make many on campus friends, and if you choose to become a Resident Advisor you will be able to stay in the dorms for free!

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the classes you are taking it can get tough! Chemistry was my least favorite subject, but the learning center offered so much help with different tutors of all subjects that I was able to pass the class!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack off your first semesters because it will be hard to bring your gpa up in the future! The first thing you should do is make a student education plan (SEP) with your academic advisor because that will give you a structure to follow so you can graduate on time! Always utilize your teachers office hours because it will pay off in the end!

    In three sentences

    College of the Redwoods is a great community college to attend if you are interested in small class sizes and an intimate learning environment. The teachers here love to help and will always write a wonderful letter of recommendation! I have recently graduated, but I plan on coming back to visit my teachers in the future!

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Personally, walking in downtown Eureka is pretty cool, just not at night. The movie theaters are pretty good also.

    Food and Dining

    It's cafeteria food, what do you think it taste like? Thankfully the book store has snacks and drinks!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you do not plan on living on campus, have a fuel efficient car and plan to drive in a small city everyday.

    In three sentences

    the professors are so easy to understand and very friendly. I absolutely love going to college at college of the redwoods.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    some of the teachers at the college of the redwoods crescent city are great!

    Tips for prospective students

    there are not very many classes at the college of the redwoods campus in crescent city, so make sure you sign up early before the classes they do have fill up.

    In three sentences

    i am currently a student at college of the redwoods in crescent city. i have had some real great teachers. some of the teachers at the college of the redwoods in crescent city make learning easy and enjoyable.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe.

    Greek Life

    I do not participate in this

    Clubs and Activities

    There are always activities going on on-campus, in the courtyard and library that are fun .

    Great for these types of students

    Great campus to attend if you like the outdoors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not really anything that I have noticed

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like I am getting a good education from the professors here. I buy my books online as it is cheaper then buying them in the bookstore.

    What to do for fun

    Hiking, backpacking, fishing, hangout with family, camping and more.

    Food and Dining

    Vending machines are stocked ok, they have a new cafe' that serves sandwiches from Safeway. They are pretty good and reasonably priced.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm not really sure.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make an appointment with a counselor to make sure you are taking classes that go towards your major. Some times I feel misled by the financial aid lady. It may be beneficial to go to Eureka and meet with their financial aid person.

    In three sentences

    I love going to College of the Redwoods. It is convenient beacuse it is close to where I live and so far the professors have been wonderful. It is easy to register for classes.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have been at CR for three years and only called security once and let me just say that during that one time I had to make two phone calls. For some reason my first phone call did not get responded to even though someone answered the phone and say they were on their way. I just think that it is important to not let student's phone call fall on deaf ears when it could crucial.

    Great for these types of students

    As I mentioned earlier if you are an outdoor person who likes to stay active CR would be a great school for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love where CR is located. The drive to campus everyday is priceless. Nothing is more beautiful then feeling like you are a part with nature and with CR that is the feeling you get.

    Bang for the buck

    College of the Redwoods is extremely affordable for students, however I would not recommend living on campus. In my opinion it is more affordable living off campus and with a roommate. Living cost here in Humboldt county is affordable.

    What to do for fun

    If you are an outdoor CR is perfect for you. CR offers many hiking trails and picnic tables which are located by a beautiful lake. CR also offers art show every now and then at the creative arts building for those who are interested.

    Food and Dining

    The only down side to College of the Redwoods would have to be food and dining. With its great location in the heart of the redwoods, I must admit the dining area lack comfort and warmth. The food was not bad, but I am sure every student would appreciate more variety.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Again my experience at College of the Redwoods has been a blast. I got to know some of the coolest staff and people here. My education here has been exciting and rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always take your education seriously. There are always help for students just make sure you ask someone. College is never easy but it does not have to get any harder as long ask questions and do the work.

    In three sentences

    I am proud to say that I attended College of the Redwoods. This college has some of the most amazing staff and people that I have ever came across. CR has not only help me grow as a student but also as an individual.

  • 12/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    unknown

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i like the all of it.

    What to do for fun

    spend time with my kids.

    Food and Dining

    none

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    great

    Tips for prospective students

    give it a chance.

    In three sentences

    i like it.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Beautiful area, lots of beaches, many places to hike, glass beach, Skunk Train, Aquatic center.

    What to do for fun

    There is a Disc Golf course on campus!

    Food and Dining

    The grind has Organic food!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging and fun!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you don't fall behind.

    In three sentences

    Wonderful learning environment. Fun, enthusiastic teachers. Great counselors and financial aid help!

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never a problem with security at any hour. Plenty of security and lighting. Even more secluded areas are safe. Public buses are safe and clean.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Unknown.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who enjoy the outdoors, beauty of the redwoods, surfing, and social life with similarly-minded students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unknown.

    Bang for the buck

    Low-cost, quality educational experience.

    What to do for fun

    Area is somewhat isolated from town. Small city life nearby. But great outdoor adventures (biking, hiking, walking trails, kayaking, horse trails, and surfing) all around in the redwoods, at the ocean, or in the many lagoons.

    Food and Dining

    Great options for healthy eating with warm meals, salad bar, soups, and great food for a busy schedule. Nice dining hall, plus great outdoor eating with a view.

    Dorm Life

    I live off-campus. Great bus schedule to all nearby towns.

    Academic Rigor

    I have found all the necessary courses for transferring. All courses are complete, and instructors are knowledgeable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to core courses early. And, don't forget that it is college and requires a commitment of time and effort. Time requirements aren't huge, but don't overdo your course load in any one semester; it isn't worth a reduced GPA.

    In three sentences

    There are helpful, kind, and knowledgeable instructors through this college. The environment is friendly and has a variety of ages in attendance. There are plenty of course opportunities, including core transfer subjects.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is one thing that is guaranteed!!

    Greek Life

    A bit too competitive, I could not meet the honor roll requirements.

    Clubs and Activities

    They look fun I have yet to join them.

    Great for these types of students

    Those that want to get into Oregon.

    What to do for fun

    Join the sports and get into the clubs!! lots.

    Food and Dining

    Again I have not eaten or been to the actual campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms so my opinion here doesn't matter.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on what classes you are taking. The easy general ED or harder subjects to get into the UC's.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join the Sports so your able to fill in for scholarships and classes better.

    In three sentences

    I am taking online classes here so my information will be limited. I have not been to the actual campus yet. The education is improving, I have the classes I need.

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The on duty campus security are a welcomed presence on the campus. Though there has not been any large scale offenses or incidents on campus in the last five years or so, to my knowledge. I have always found that the peaceful campus is a safe and accepting environment. The biggest worry to be found is a parking ticket for improper or expired parking permit.

    Greek Life

    Being a small two year school, you will not find any Alma Maters on campus. This also means no midnight hazing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year a group of students hold a small multicultural festival. They preform traditional dances and educate other students; as well as provide free food. Every year a guest speaker comes down to the school and talks about the book of the year. Another aspect of campus life is the art department. Throughout the year you can find student's art being displayed in the library. Once a year you can find student's ceramic art up for purchase. Another tradition is part of the agriculture department; they sell their fresh fruits and vegetables on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is far above and beyond what you may have come to expect from your high school. Even the fast food is better than most. They make all the food fresh and the workers are friendly as well. They have a salad and soup bar for those who want non greasy food. They have an assortment of snack and microwave options, but by far their best would be their hot entries. Their hot entries section provides delicious fresh food, with vegetarian options, with new options daily. They provide everything from Mexican to Italian, all hot and ready to serve.

    Dorm Life

    I have not personally had the on campus dorm life experience, but have never heard any complaints from the dorm students, in the years that I have been a concurrently enrolled student on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Be sure to make it to class if you want to keep your grades up. The teacher's well planned syllabus makes keeping up with homework easier, but be ready for flexibility in the schedule. All the teachers, I have had the pleasure to meet, have a great enthusiasm for their subject and are ready to teach.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize the library and the staff. They are wonderfully informed and eagerly waiting to help you. All the staff are generally friendly and don't be afraid to ask the teachers during their office hours. They are the best resource for answering questions. Don't wait till it's too late to sign up for classes and even then, stay on the waiting list. Most teachers will still admit you if you've been on the waiting list and show up to classes consistently. Make sure to use your MyCR and Webadvisor accounts, teachers use it frequently to stay in touch with students, and even turn in assignments or post lectures.

    In three sentences

    You will receive a great experience in this tightly knit community. The staff are wonderful, and friendly. The classes will blow over well if you stay focused.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have only eating in the cafe once but it was pretty good

    In three sentences

    College of the Redwoods is a small school. Its just like going to high school. There are small classes and students and staff are very friendly.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Here students are learning from University rigor professors, yet they love what they teach so much that they prefer the community college level that way they have a more one on one with their students on a more personable level.

    What to do for fun

    Redwoods are in your back yard here. Not only that but the Smith River is a awesome place to catch some sun and swim and if you get bored with that, well the ocean is a few blocks away with a world of marine life to explore and agate hunting on the beach!

    Food and Dining

    All food and dining is primarily off-campus except for the club cafe that serves sandwhiches, salads, coffee, juice, h20, etc....

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers here will constantly challenge you to learn the right way and help to enhance your critical thinking skills. They teach by example--they don't just talk the talk--they walk the walk!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on time, active, and ask questions. Don't hesitate to talk with your professors and counseling department when it comes to your education. They understand what it is like to work hard for something and can give you valuable guidence.

    In three sentences

    College of the Redwoods DelNorte is a perfect opportunity to get your foot on the ground to a sucessful career path. The teachers are personable instructors, extremely dedicated to teaching, and mostly, they love thier area of study passionately. Given that, one can see that learning here at College of the Redwoods is a perfect opportunity to grow and learn.

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    Clubs and Activities

    anything and everything

    Bang for the buck

    walmart

    What to do for fun

    nature things

    Food and Dining

    average

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    not to hard

    Tips for prospective students

    have a good time

    In three sentences

    This is a very good college with very good teachers. The campus might be small they they make the best of it. There is a varity of classes i may take

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You get a great education for such a low price, I absolutely love it.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of hiking trails around campus, and the Humboldt Botanical Gardens is located right next to the Creative Arts building so you can always check that out as well. There is also almost always something happening in town with the Arts Alive! and different music groups.

    Food and Dining

    The Caf, as we call it, is a great place to hang out with friends. The food is okay, especially since driving somewhere to get food is about 10 minutes. I wouldn't suggest eating it every day.

    Academic Rigor

    This college strives for excellence, and obtain it most of the time. There are a couple instructors that are a little wishy-washy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to get a good pair of tennis shoes, you'll need them with all the hills around here!

    In three sentences

    Even with all the construction going on throughout the campus, the faculty and staff put forth a great effort into our success. All of my professors are passionate about what they teach, making it so I want to learn more. This is a great choice for a community college!

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the Campus Safety is very high here and the campus safety cars are all ways patrolling the areas in case of a mountain lion comes down or if some one gets injured. i have multiple occasions with the campus safety because when i get out of basketball i usually need an ice pack for my knees and so with in ten minutes they are at the housing office ready to give me my ice pack and usually a nice conversation.

    Greek Life

    sadly i have yet to hear of any Greek life or history or even alumni.

    Clubs and Activities

    the clubs and activities that are going on in the campus are good. there are a wide variety from a social action club, christian group, political debate club, and environmental group. they all host events and attend the sports games and help promote them.

    Great for these types of students

    this school is great for any type of student but if you love mildly warm weather, with rain and wilderness then this school is for you. also the people are very open and friendly so you will have no problem trying to fit in, but i would not recommend this school to any one who feels being in a gang is the best choice because i have yet to see any gangs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the biggest and craziest traditions i have seen so far on campus is the 420 event witch is where on April twentieth at the time 4:20 pm people who smoke go outside and blow a huge smoke cloud in the air that covers the Humboldt county.

    Bang for the buck

    the school is generally cheaper if your instate and many federal agencies come to higher students from that school. i would have to give it a four because it comes with a load to do and you get a nice academic environment for a junior college.

    What to do for fun

    If your ever get bored on campus there is loads to do for fun, first off you can go to the woods for a wonderful nature walk. in the woods you can find anything from Caterpillar, to a tree for built by some upper class men. you may also find a swing set that goes across a river so you may swing or if you dare you can take a 30 mile hike up the mountain to a city. If the woods are not your thing then you can take your car or a quick walk down to the beach head and go for a swim on the beach or just for a run on the sand. you can the scenic landscape and cliff faces from the beach. not to mention if your not so out doorsy then you can all ways head down to the lounges on campus and play xbox or ps3 with the people who are playing. you may also play pool, Foosball, air hockey and ping-pong. we also have a field house in witch you can play basketball, soccer, Frisbee, baseball and pretty much any sport that your mind can invent. finally if your more a city person we are located about a 2 hour drive away from San Francisco and you can spend your weekend adventuring those hills.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining of the campus is generally pretty healthy except for some of the greasy or fried foods. But there is a salad bar that is open all day and stocked consistently. its hours are generally pretty long and great for a Junior college.

    Dorm Life

    Personally speaking of the dorm life i would have to say it is amazing. the reason i feel this way is because you can go in the the Del Norte lounge any time of the day or night and find night owls or morning people in there watching anything from a scary movie, to a romantic comedy. the Residential assistants are also very helpful in many ways if it requires they unplug your sink or if the cafeteria is closed and you need food.

    Academic Rigor

    the Academic Rigor for college of the redwoods is challenging but helpful. It is challenging because it makes you think and innovate new ideas up, but at the same time your not stuck in the mud when you need help. most teachers will take the time to sit down with you and actually see to it that you are learning the material and if they cant help you as much as you would like. then the students could go to the writing center or math center to get help in about any subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    my tips i would offer if you come to college of the redwoods would be to live on the bottom floor of the dorms because the stairs can become tiresome. i would also say that you should go to the library and do all of your work there rather than your dorm room. finally be prepared to spend some money on books and food but if you can get in with E.O.P.S then that is just better because books will be free.

    In three sentences

    The College of the Redwoods is a very nice school, and it comes with gorgeous scenery. the teachers here at College of the Redwoods are fantastic, and also very responsive to every email, even if the email is at one in the morning. finally i believe that the people of the campus are amazing because of how open and friendly they are to all kinds of people.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a campus security that patrols the campus 24/7. There is a security off that one can go to if they need help with something, such as reporting a problem with a person, a crime, or even a lost item.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of sports clubs at this college, as well as a few academic clubs. There is ASCR: Associated Student body of College of the Redwoods.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for those who enjoy outdoors and wildlife, as well as a friendly atmosphere and friendly people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a gun range on campus, so if you're staying in the dorms, then, you will more than likely wake up to the police cadets practicing their fire arms every morning. There is also 2 small ponds on campus that attract the wild life. Dear can often be seen next to the ponds eating the grass.

    Bang for the buck

    The Dorms are around $7,000 for a full year(Fall & Spring semesters), & averaged out, it's about $12 a day. However, close to half of that is for food. Each semester you get about $1,400 on your Student ID(It doubles as a meal card) that you can only use at the cafeteria on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Besides the wild parties that are thrown in every college across the country, the dorms have events ever night of the week. It changes every semester, but the residence advisors usually pick a night and have an activity they choose that anyone can come and join: Board game night, movie night, study night, poetry night, video game night, etc. It allows you to have fun and get to know other dorm residents.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria on campus that is open from 8am-7pm during the week and 10am-6pm on the weekends. You can get freshly cooked breakfast(Bacon, eggs, pancakes, french toast, etc.) until 11am, and lunch(Burgers, chicken sandwiches, fries, pizza, etc.) until 2:30pm, and then during the week, they have lunch and dinner entrées until closing, as well as burritos and deli sandwiches until closing too. The cafeteria also has items that you can buy for your dorm room(Toilet paper, paper towels, can openers, etc), as well as convenience store type foods(candy, chips, frozen food to heat up in your room, gum, etc.) Also, If you're in the dorms on campus, then you are given a meal card(It's actually just your Student ID, but it doubles as a meal card). About 1/2 of the money you pay for the dorms goes towards your food. You get about $1,400 a semester and it rolls over from the Fall semester to the Spring semester, but not Spring to Fall. You swipe your card like a credit card. The average amount of money you can spend to last you thought the semester is about $12. Though If your card ever runs out of money, then you can put more on it. However if you aren't staying in the dorms, it's good to know that the cafeteria does NOT take credit or debit cards. They only take cash & meal cards, though there is an ATM just inside the cafeteria where you can pull out money.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very fun. You get a roommate and share a bathroom with the room next door(your quad-mates). You meet lots of new people and become friends with people from all over California and even other states and possibly other countries. With the dorms your food is paid for, so no worrying about where to get money for food.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be a bit taxing during finals, but as long as you stay focused during the semester, it shouldn't be too hard. Some classes are harder than others, but most are fairly easy, while also packing in a lot of information. You learn a lot but don't have to work extremely hard to do so.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are coming from out of state, I would recommend the dorms, they will allow you to meet people whom live around the area and those who are from different parts of CA or the US. I would also recommend bringing cold weather clothes because the campus is close to the ocean and can get quite cold.

    In three sentences

    College Of The Redwoods is a very nice campus: it borders the woods and has several beautiful ponds where ducks and other birds often reside. The teachers are very nice and friendly, as well as easy to get along with. The classes are nice, not exactly hard, but fun to be apart of.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Photography, track, scrapbooking

    In three sentences

    Very Good

  • 08/12/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is said to be available from around 8a-4p, however, in between posted hours you can hardly find them in order to receive help. When you do finally reach them, they're very irresponsible about mailing important letters and getting back to you via phone or e-mail about tickets you may have processed for reviewing.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are temporarily residing in Humboldt County and have no other place to go. Students who are easy going and do not mind the exterior of the college they are attending. Students who love the outdoors, the scenery is beautiful.

    Bang for the buck

    College of the Redwoods is supposed to be a community college and the prices are a little bit higher than I paid in Texas. I do not think you get the bang for the buck because it's an under developed college stuck in the 1990's. The buildings aren't in the best shape, although I suppose I should mention they are going under construction which makes the experience all the more unpleasant. Other colleges have where you can sign into them with an app, College of the Redwoods probably doesn't even know what an app means. I think they just recently got up with times and finally made it possible for you to register with them online.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at College of the Redwoods is extremely small. I'm pretty sure even elementary schools have larger eating facilities than we do. There is also no webpage for the cafeteria menus or anything about it.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms but I've read about the prices and guidelines, I've also walked passed them. You are still required to purchase student parking while living in the dorms, you aren't allowed to burn candles or incenses. The prices for the exterior of the dorm you are paying for is not worth it. Do yourself a favor and room with college kids looking for housing in an apartment or house, most kids attending already do.

    Academic Rigor

    I think the academic rigor is low to moderate at best. Most of the counselors seem very enthusiastic to help you and push you in the right direction, however, not all of them know what they're talking about and confuse you more than anything. Expectations seem moderate from the counselors in wanting you to achieve all you can. From the rest of the staff, low. It seems they could care less in whether you achieve or what you achieve and make it hard for you to even get there in the first place.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never expect they're telling you everything you need to know, ask questions and even question the answers they give you. You need to be thorough when speaking to them, perhaps bring a list of things you know you need to ask because they will not tell you otherwise. If you're an out of state student, make sure to get your ID on the first day you move here because that's the day you're officially considered a resident. Also, if you can, get a bank account as soon as possible, read their residency requirements before you decide to move here and apply.

    In three sentences

    The College of the Redwoods need to be better organized with the information they give to their students. Campus Security needs to work on organization as well, it would also be nice if they were actually there to assist us when we visit. Working ATM options for visitors needing to pay for a daily pass.

  • 08/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    People watching is great.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are pretty good here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont expect everybody to support your opnions.

    In three sentences

    So far, so good.

  • 12/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    forestry

    What to do for fun

    Hiking, photography, beach, biking,

    Tips for prospective students

    know your major, and if it has classes only offered either in the fall or spring.

    In three sentences

    quiet but social. Clean but outdoorsy. old but modern.