Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

College of the Siskiyous Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/09/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great for people who are really into sports, who like meeting new people and who like incredible views. It's definitely one of the most beautiful campuses I've seen.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely meet with an academic counselor who can point you in the right direction for classes, even if you don't know what you want to do. I wasted my first year just taking classes to try to fill my general education requirements; I met with a counselor and now have a better idea of the classes I need to take. The Welcome Center is incredible for helping and the orientation for students was very informative and easy to understand. Everyone at the College of the Siskiyous is really nice and really helpful.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's really nothing sinister or dangerous about Weed, CA

    Great for these types of students

    For anyone from a small town or city, or that likes being outside. Great views accompany nice people.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes here are good, but the food leaves something to be desired.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of outside activities; hiking, running, hang out at the lake, etc. Not much else to do socially though.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food here I would consider less than par, but at college I'd eat just about anything.

    Dorm Life

    Generally quiet (except weekends) which helps for studying

    Academic Rigor

    School work is not hard as long as you apply yourself to it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet your councilor early on to help get your plan down so you don't waste time on GE classes.

    In three sentences

    Great campus! Small class sizes ensure a personal experience in classes. I'm in it for the fire academy but I'm just as impressed with every other class I've taken.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus and surrounding town are very safe. the police are nice.

    Clubs and Activities

    30% of students play sports

    Great for these types of students

    self sufficient, outdoorsy and broke students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a bear trail we follow on halloween.

    Bang for the buck

    i am graduating without any debt. in state and interstate prgrame tuition are the cheapest around!

    What to do for fun

    cool aide pong. work out hike swim at the lake

    Food and Dining

    there are very limited restaurants around. bring your own favorite snacks

    Dorm Life

    the dorm food is not good.

    Academic Rigor

    iidid well, but did have to study. the class sizes are relatively small

    Tips for prospective students

    be ready to be in an isolated spot bring your own special food as there are no good or affordable markets near by look early for off campus housing. it is really affordable and better than the dorms.

    In three sentences

    the sports programs are great. tt is a beautiful campus. it is very affordable.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You feel at home. Everyone is nice and friendly

    Clubs and Activities

    The sports and activities are great. The baseball team is run great by the coaching staff

    Bang for the buck

    Everything is worth wild.

    What to do for fun

    It is a small town but the nature surrounding the campus is beautiful. A long hike or a swim in the lake will do fine.

    Food and Dining

    Everything is good and cheap.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are great. The teachers really know their stuff.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your classes early and wear warm clothing for the winter.

    In three sentences

    College of the Siskiyous is a great school. The staff and teachers show great enthusiasm towards the students. Great school overall.

  • 09/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All! This school is very diverse.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit the college first. It is a small school in the mountains, so if you're not up for that, you may need to check into it a little more.

    Bang for the buck

    It's so cheap! Pretty much everything is cheap about it: books, classes, etc.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have lived in this county my whole life so I'm ready to get out, but I enjoy being at COS.

    Am learning a lot

    Although this is a small school, if you stick to the UC transferable courses you will learn a lot. I feel like I learn a lot everyday and the teachers are pretty great and they enjoy what they're teaching.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i've never had anything stole from me here. i can leave my backpack for a few minutes and when i come back nothing is missing, not even my laptop!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    at halloween we turn the bear trail into the haunted bear trail and give it our all to scare anyone brave enough to walk through the woods at night. plus there is hot chocolate at the end.

    What to do for fun

    in the warmer months it's nice to take a walk through the woods on the bear trail with friends. when it's snowing outside a snowball fight is always welcome, followed by a cup of hot chocolate in the student center by the fire.

    Food and Dining

    its not the best, but its not bad either. (some days are better then others)

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers may expect a lot, but they give you the tools you need for success.

    In three sentences

    college of the siskiyous’ teachers really care about the students. all i have to do is ask my teachers, and they help me all they can. i really enjoy going to this college.

  • 01/01/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    None

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a better Paramedic Program. Beth Watt the lead instructor is the worst instructor you could have.

    Bang for the buck

    Worst educations received for the money it cost

    Did enjoy being here

    Not at all, total waste of time and money.

    Did learn a lot

    Didn't learn much. Lead instructor Beth Watt is a joke as an instructor. The way she instructs, it's a self taught program.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is always clean and maintained, even when it is snowing. the campus is also never dirty.

    Greek Life

    none of that is at cos probable because it is a community college.

    Clubs and Activities

    i believe the are some clubs such as a book club. other than that i don't know whats available.

    Great for these types of students

    cos is a great place if you want to play football or become a nurse, they will give you course a endless budget. this is fine if you are pursuing one of the two. on the other hand if you are in the welding program like myself you will be placed on the back burner.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i don't know of any unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    the best part of cos is the price. nowhere else you can go to college and get a good education for this cheap. i am very satisfied with cos when it comes to this.

    What to do for fun

    there are many sports and activities in and around the campus. they are all easy to join and find. activities range from football to frisby golf, and anything in-between. cos has a fine range of activities to chose from.

    Food and Dining

    the small cafeteria is actually quite nice. they serve breakfast, lunch, and dinner. many people eat there, and iv never heard anything bad about it.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live in the dorms but some of my peers do. they tell me it is rowdy and loud, but that is to expect from a dorm. a major complaint i hear is that they don't like sharing a bathroom with everyone.

    Academic Rigor

    most of the teachers are very understandable, yet some have no idea what they are talking about. this is one thing cos should crack down on.

    Tips for prospective students

    its a great place if you are going to a nursing course or to play football, but everything else is shoved aside and ignored. the welding program is great, but it may be gone after this semester due to the budget.

    In three sentences

    the campus is clean, quite, and clean. the weather in weed isn't the best; its always windy. it isn't crowded and the students are friendly.

  • 08/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The college is inexpensive!

    What to do for fun

    I work with children ages 2-5 years old

    Food and Dining

    I love food and Dining!

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes help students stay focused on interesting material. The professors are very informational and helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are choosing online education make sure to always ask questions, and pay close attention to what your instructors are posting. I've seen student's get confused on what assignments are due and they post something completely different.

    In three sentences

    The College of Siskiyous has an exceptional online educational system in which it allows the students to earn a degree from virtually anywhere. The professors chosen to teach online courses have left an impressionable mark that helps motivate me to continue my education. Fees for classes are inexpensive and reasonable, and there is always staff available to answer your questions.

  • 09/08/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    feels like a home away from home

    Clubs and Activities

    what ever you get into will help you grow as a person

    Bang for the buck

    economical

    What to do for fun

    hang out with friends and meet new people

    Food and Dining

    i haven't ate the food

    Dorm Life

    i hear the dorms are really nice

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers are nice and they care for the students

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    C.O.S. is a pretty safe campus. The police are right there all the time, and in my experience there was no crime.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a huge amount of clubs and activities for all types of people. If an individual wants to start a club it is supported.

    Great for these types of students

    College of the Siskiyous is great for athletes. This school is designed specifically for athletes. However, College of the Siskiyous is also great if you are looking for a variety of different types of individuals and experiences. The school isn't really for just young types or older types which I enjoy the most about it. It is for people of all ages who qualify for an undergraduate college. It is even a great resource for classes for individuals who aren't looking for degrees, because there are alot of specialized courses.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The science building at C.O.S. is kind of unusual because it has a wall of stuffed animals on it. It's kind of cool if you like that sort of thing.

    Bang for the buck

    In the Siskiyou County area prices are pretty high for living, so for the area the prices were good, but if you typically live in high traffic areas you could be disappointed by the general price of everything. Try and get your text books online, and other college materials.

    What to do for fun

    The best thing I can recommend for fun is to get a student body card, and become an ASB student. The Associated Student Body is awesome and there are plenty of activities that they host which are really fun.

    Food and Dining

    I was a vegan when I lived here. So, there aren't many options that suited me. If you eat meat you're pretty much good, but, still the prices of the food are relatively similar to fast food.

    Dorm Life

    This was the worst living experience I had ever had. The dorms were tiny and expensive, the food was only non vegetarian although now that has changed, and the noise was constant. People were up until 5 and six in the morning playing the piano so I could barely sleep. But, if you you like to party this is an awesome dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically speaking the college ranks pretty average for a community college, but, reminded me much of high school. I liked that the teachers were willing to work with the students who were determined to get good grades in their classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students would be to complete your FAFSA as early as possible, and also to complete all of your scholarships early too. Also, sign up for your classes as early as possible so that you can have the best classroom experience possible, this includes online classes. I would also suggest seeking out a counselor who can best help you decide what your academic needs are and how to set goals to accomplish you academic goals.

    In three sentences

    I would rate the college poorly because of the lack of the overall union of this school and also how the budget cuts have negatively impacted the school have made it difficult to attend.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    C.O.S is great for students who enjoy nature, and small town communities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    supposedly there is an ancient civilization which still resides in the base of the mystical mount Shasta. They are known as the Lemurians, and many locals firmly believe in there existence.

    What to do for fun

    hiking, fishing, swimming in the lake, explore caves, endless possibilities in nature!

    Food and Dining

    excellent cafeteria, and even a student cafe!

    Dorm Life

    I have never stayed in a C.O.S dorm, but from what I have heard they are quit nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Very excellent; every teacher is dedicated to providing the best educational opportunities for their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have any questions, or are confused or worried about anything regarding your experience at C.O.S, don't be afraid to ask! C.O.S has the most helpful and understanding staff you can imagine.

    In three sentences

    College of the Siskiyous has one of the most fantastic locations possible, right on the base of a volcano! C.O.S has a very close-nit atmosphere, which makes for great student-staff relationships. C.O.S is a great community college for students interested in living and learning in a beautiful small-town community.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Adult first time college students

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs and theater.

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria!

    Dorm Life

    Have never lived in the dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most important tip I can think of is to stay on top of your paper work! Make sure to apply for financial aid ASAP, and be sure to register on the opening date.

    In three sentences

    College of the Siskiyous has many student aids available. COS is very good about offering a wide variety of classes at the Yreka campus. COS has a top of the line Nursing Facility!

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    small town not much crime around.

    Great for these types of students

    has a great art program

    What to do for fun

    ski park is close by

    Food and Dining

    big food hall

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    ....

    Tips for prospective students

    small class means you get more attentions and help if needed

    In three sentences

    college of the siskiyous is all ways growing. Has a wide rang of class options, and also has campuses in surrounding towns.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    The ones who love the outdoors, snow, a small community, and only have to drive 15 minutes to get to the lake!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every morning I get to wake up to beautiful Mt. Shasta and the rest of the gorgeous mountains.

    Bang for the buck

    This is the only college I have ever attended so I'm not really sure how it compares to other colleges as far as price.

    What to do for fun

    There are many outdoor things to do like skiing, snowboarding, boating, fishing, hunting, hiking, swimming, camping, and so much more. However if you're someone who enjoys shopping and a city life style it may take you a bit to get used to College of the Siskiyous. The closest malls are 1.5 hours aways and during the winter it can be impossible to get to one due to road closures caused by the snow. So when that happens many students have snowball fights or go bowling to consume their extra time.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good at College of the Siskiyous and reasonably priced. The kitchen staff tries their best to make you feel at home and make food that taste like home as well.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in the dorms so I don't know what they are like. They look nice on the outside and College of the Siskiyous is one of the few community colleges in California to have dorms available. Therefore making it a desirable college for many.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say that professor do challenge students to think and work hard at assignments, but I don't feel that they are impossible to complete. If there is a time when you need extra help that is always someone available to help. Whether its the professor or a lab tutor, there is always help.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say never be afraid to ask for help, that's why people are there. Stay in contact with you professors and let them know if for some reason you can't make it to class, but make sure to attend class on a regular basis. Finally take advantage of all the student support programs on campus, they offer so much help!

    In three sentences

    College of the Siskiyous is a wonderful college located near Mt. Shasta for year around recreation. The faculty has been very helpful and encouraging. And lastly it a small campus where you never feel like you can't ask for you and people there want you to succeed.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I am a local, so College of the Siskiyous was a pretty natural choice for me. But I would definitely recommend the school for anyone just out of high school, or returning after a break from school, who would like to work on an obtaining an associates degree, or meeting transfer requirements. Especially if they are looking for a helpful faculty, friendly environment, and a bit of the small-town feel.

    What to do for fun

    The biggest thing in the area is probably Mt. Shasta for all types of winter sports. There are also many lakes nearby, movies, bowling, caves, a movie theater, and the plays that CoS puts on. You do have to do a bit of driving if you are into going to clubs. The biggest cities nearby are Redding, Ca to the south, and Medford, Or to the north.

    Food and Dining

    The student cafeteria is pretty standard. The people who work there are really nice, and the food is decent and well priced if you can't make it off campus to grab a bite. Off campus, there are a few fast food joints, and little local restaurants fairly close by.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, as I am married and have a child. The location is great though, especially if you enjoy winter sports since it is right by Mt. Shasta. The town is small, but has a lot of pretty cool places for students.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you are keeping up on your studies, the classes are paced well enough that you should understand the material and do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    College of the Siskiyous is a great place to earn an associates if you are a new or returning college student. The best advice I can give is to meet with the counselors, who can be super helpful when you are trying to plan the best course of action to obtain your degree, or even to just give suggestions if you aren't completely sure what direction you want to go in. Ask ask ask. The staff is generally very helpful in helping to find out answers, or pointing you in the right direction to find an answer. Other than that, just be sure to complete the work assigned, and you will always be prepared for exams and have a pretty good understanding of the subject material.

    In three sentences

    College of the Siskiyous has been a great place to attend so far. The instructors and faculty have been extremely helpful and the campus is in a beautiful location. I look forward to completing my Associates degree at this school.

  • 01/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is safe because nothing ever happens in Weed, CA.

    Great for these types of students

    Boring.

    Bang for the buck

    It's pretty cheap and an alright school.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat here, but I heard the food is alright

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay in a dorm so I don't know

    Academic Rigor

    The classes seem too easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    I wouldn't recommend coming here if you want to be around a lot of people and don't like the cold.

    In three sentences

    This is a pretty nice college, but is too small and close to home for me. The classes are pretty easy, but that's because the teachers are good. I find this college to be very boring for me personally.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Anything nature Hiking, fishing, sleeping in a meadow somewhere. Better have some good video games

    Food and Dining

    Fast food yay!! Go to Yaks in Mt. Shasta.

    Dorm Life

    Not that great. old buildings but well kept.

    Academic Rigor

    Easy to focus. Lots of CSCI offerings. Nursing program is top notch and so is the fire academy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start early, financial aid is sometimes difficult and the classes fill up quickly

    In three sentences

    This place is nice if you like nature. Not much of a social scene and anything good for entertainment is at least an hour and a half away. The programs are good, you get the attention you need. Good online offerings.

  • 06/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    chill

    Food and Dining

    Great

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure they offer what you are trying to accomplish.

    In three sentences

    Comfortable, not big or scary, but a little too small I think.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Skiing, hiking, fishing, boating, swimming.

    Food and Dining

    Good

    Dorm Life

    Good

    Academic Rigor

    Good

    Tips for prospective students

    A good place to go.

    In three sentences

    A very good school. Well kept. Up to date.