Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Colorado Christian University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/04/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 1 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Colorado Christian University is a non denominational school and is great for students wanting to grow spiritually and intellectually

    Am enjoying being here

    The community at Colorado Christian University is amazing. Everyone here is so friendly and the activities are so much fun.

    Am learning a lot

    The Professors are all very well educated and deeply care that students are keeping the knowledge they gain from the classes throughout life.

  • 05/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who desire a very personal school and a Christian lifestyle as the main focus will love Colorado Christian University. Those especially interested in Theology will get the best experience from CCU. It is a place for anyone wishing to grow spiritually and make lasting connections, as well as learn to get involved.

    Tips for prospective students

    As mentioned before, CCU has many opportunities and there is a lot of pressure to get involved. So, prospective students be warned that one must say no to many things or become exhausted from doing too much, especially during the freshman year. There is also a 180 hour ministry hour requirement for four-year students. 45 hours can be completed on campus, but the rest is done off-campus. Thus, prospective students should have an idea of what they want to get involved in and start as soon as possible to fulfill these hours so there is no crunch in the junior and senior year.

    Bang for the buck

    CCU is very expensive. It has great apartments although they can be a little rough around the edges. There is a lot of support for the on-campus community with budgets for clubs, housing, and help with missions. For the money I spend on cafeteria food however, there should be more variety and possibly a bigger cafeteria. The $300 dollars that is included on the meal-plan for the Cougar Den and the Cafe in the Student Union is great; however, many people have trouble spending it all throughout the semester. It is also reassuring that the school provides scholarships to almost everyone based on GPA and ACT/SAT scores to help with payment.

    Am enjoying being here

    CCU is a great environment. Spiritual growth is truly important at this university. There are various clubs and organizations that cater to the great array of interests from serving the on-campus community through housing associations or taking away trash, to off-campus ministry like visiting the elderly, homeless, and of course children. The campus is clean and everyone has a friendly disposition. It is not uncommon to have complete strangers say hello with a wide grin when passing on the sidewalk. It is a small community where the students have faces and names to all the staff, rather than just one more head in the classroom. It is a campus filled with opportunities and helpful friendly people.

    Am learning a lot

    Many of the professors I have had thus far are informed, helpful, and prepared. They are updated on new information, know which textbooks are the best for the level and topic for class, and will generally research any question they do not have an answer for in class. Majority of the professors stay on topic, generally follow the course plan that they provide at the beginning of the year, and come to class completely prepared with any articles, handouts, or videos. The best part is that the professors are very willing to meet with students outside of classroom time and help with assignments or increase comprehension on the materials discussed in class. Not only is lecture material provided but life skills and applications are usually taught as well.

  • 01/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Loves small community Loves Christian community Has a desire to be challenged in their learning Loves snowboarding and skiing....45 minutes to the mountains!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your application in early - you will want to get excited about where you are going...and more scholarship money for you too then! Ask questions, take a tour. Make sure you see yourself here! Visualize what life would be like. Realize that no decision is permanent, and there is a school out there for you, whether or not you find it your first year or not. Find a school that fits for you, but enjoy the moment you are in too.

    Bang for the buck

    CCU is expensive, that is something I can not diminish, but the fact that you get a pure Christian education is something you can't find many places. The money I am spending today is training and learning for the rest of my life, something that is truly priceless to me. Therefore, although it is expensive, its worth it and coming here has certainly taught me the value of a dollar.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here! The small community is just what I need! You get to know the students on a personal level because you know almost everyone here! We have great activites like talent shows, male beauty pageants and lip-sync contests. Our student activities committtee puts on amazing dances, and day to day life never comes without a little adventure in the surrounding Denver area!

    Am learning a lot

    The professors challenge you here...but in a good way! We are persecuted in our faith out in the real world, which is something that our Professors understand. Therefore, they don't want us to also be looked down upon in our education. They want us to shine in our education, and therefore make a difference in this world.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always driving around and they are only a phone call away if you need them.

    Clubs and Activities

    The intramural games are very competitive and fun.

    What to do for fun

    Hanging with friends that may know the area well can take you out to get a nice view, or take you downtown and show you around. There is a lot to do in Denver, it is only five minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    Our food is OK, not the best but then again it is food and not everyone gets to eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice everyone meets everyone. The resident assistants are very helpful, other people that may live in the dorms around you are willing to be a friend if you want them to be.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are highly valued and everyone is willing to help all you have to do is ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to do things you have and have not done before.

    In three sentences

    Colorado Christian University is a nice christian environment school for those who are willing to learn about God and whatever they may decide to major in. This University has great expectations for those who attend here, and those that graduate come out with a great understanding about what they should pursue in life. Overall this is a great University to discover who you are and who God wants you to be.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    ccu is a great place to grow in your faith. it is a place where everyone fits in easily.

    In three sentences

    great community life. brilliant professors. the only thing that wasn't a fit for me was thier school of music.

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    From academically struggling to academic all-stars, CCU will definitely set you up for success in your future, no matter where it is.

    Tips for prospective students

    No matter where you go to school, you get out what you put in to your education. Take advantage of every opportunity and be persistent.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    all types of students

    What to do for fun

    fish swim and ride bikes

    Food and Dining

    dont eat their but friends say it like being home

    Dorm Life

    dont live in dorm but everyone tell me it lots of fun

    Academic Rigor

    great very pleased

    Tips for prospective students

    work hard and you will have great success

    In three sentences

    one of the best schools i have ever seen . good old fashion teaching .caring about the students .

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe! i feel comfortable walking at night alone. that says a lot especially since robberies and assault are very common in other colleges.

    Greek Life

    if you want the huge greek life experience then this college is not for you.

    Great for these types of students

    if you are someone that goes to church or is involved in your church community this school is for you. unlike traditional colleges ccu do not take the teaching of god out of the classroom. the school welcomes students no matter your religious background.

    What to do for fun

    go to the mountains and snowboard. also just getting together at a friends is still fun and you save money.

    Food and Dining

    although i live off campus, i have had a few opportunities to taste the food.

    Dorm Life

    i live off campus. living in the dorm would be perfect for someone that has not lived on their own before.

    Academic Rigor

    since i am enrolled in a online program i have more flexibility of when i do my class assignments. i do not have to show up for classes i do everything at home.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you have any questions ask! keep in touch with your counselor even during classes.

    In three sentences

    i have never attended a school where they were so encouraging. i was guided every step of the way. anyone looking to go back to school should enroll at colorado christian university.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for Nursing students that are looking to go into a pre-licensure BSN program; however, they offer other programs available as well.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a private university so you will pay a higher tuition cost than a local community college, but you will gain knowledge from here that you can't get any where else.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy learning about new technologies and advancements in the medical field. I research on a regular basis.

    Food and Dining

    They have options for on campus dining.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, but the on campus life looks exciting.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes challenge your ability to learn and understand materials thoroughly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do your research and be prepared to delve into every area of information with detailed questions so you can have the best chance for a successful enrollment. Be informed about financial aid options and requirements for online and in seat locations for class attendance.

    In three sentences

    Extremely helpful staff willing to go the extra mile to explain steps thoroughly. The Christian based environment breeds a positive, exciting learning experience. Programs prepare you for real world encounters.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have not taken part in their food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    I have not been in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor of CCU is of good quality. They do everything with a Christian perspective and are still capable of challenging your thinking.

    In three sentences

    It has been a great school to go to. The people that I have worked with have been very flexible, patient, and friendly as we've gone through the admissions process. I am in the middle of doing an online class and love it! I love the atmosphere and how easily I've been able to connect with my fellow classmates

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security works 24/7 and the campus always feels safe.

    Greek Life

    Non-existent

    Clubs and Activities

    Depends on what you like. Clubs are small but there are a lot to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Adventurous. Likes the outdoors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    O'malley's Alley, our talent competition.

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers are invested in you personally and the views from the campus are priceless. It is expensive, but the education is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Hiking, movies, shopping, going to Estes park...there are a lot of natural resources that can be utilized.

    Food and Dining

    On campus, the food is a bit bland and there is not much variety. Off campus, there is plenty to chose from.

    Dorm Life

    We have apartments instead of dorms, which if great, and they are relatively nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging enough but not unbearable.

    Tips for prospective students

    If sports or a ton of options for classes are important to you, this is probably not the school for you. However, if you want a small campus that has a warm feel and you know that your major is offered, this might be the place for you.

    In three sentences

    I would give it an 8 out of 10. The campus is small and beautiful and the location is great. The professors truly care about your success and they get to know you personally.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Yeah, CCU is expensive, but they offer great academic scholarships and there really is nothing like it. When it's time for Christmas break, you get homesick for CCU. You become a family and a community that's ridiculously close, even after just a couple weeks.

    What to do for fun

    Sand volleyball, anyone? If it gets too cold just head to the student union or go hang out in other people's dorms. But if you don't mind spending money, Belmar isn't too far away and there's lots of shops and a movie theater.

    Food and Dining

    Lunch and dinner can be kind of sketch sometimes, but breakfast is always delicious!

    Dorm Life

    Apartments freshman year? Awyeah. CCU by-far has the best housing I've ever seen on a college campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Being a music major, my workload is tough, but it's SO worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't freak out if you apply late! I didn't have all of my paperwork in 'til the July before school started and I still made it.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love CCU. Here, it's not just a college, it's a community. Applying and attending CCU was the best decision I have ever made.

  • 08/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty, some are good.

    Great for these types of students

    Christian

    Bang for the buck

    too many fees at the school

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do. You are right next to downtown Denver and some beautiful mountains.

    Food and Dining

    too expensive. food poisoning once. rude staff.

    Dorm Life

    Silly move out stuff. more expensive than living in an apartment by yourself.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the class. Most teachers assign difficult stuff in the upper div classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    learn patience. the rest is easy.

    In three sentences

    An excellent school with an excellent teaching staff and excellent students. That being said, the politics within the school are ridiculous, and the fees we have to pay are squandered by the school for worldly fun things. I would rather my money go to activities like feeding the homeless.

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Live at home, school online and some in seat

    Dorm Life

    Live at home, school online and some in seat

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan your study time!

    In three sentences

    Flexible, Broad learning spectrum, Christ Centered!

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 50

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    CCU is a private Christian University. It is a fairly small school, which allows for a well connected and strong community. It also allows for students to grow in their faith.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The staff is amazing but the price is too pricey. Classes are extremely expensive an to top it off I had to spend over $600 for supplies for one class!! Ridiculous

    Food and Dining

    Have not eaten there

    Dorm Life

    Do not live in dorms, can't rate

    Academic Rigor

    4 star

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you either know the bible or have a bible handy. thoroughly read the syllabus to classes. feel free to ask questions at anytime, the teachers get back to students in a very timely manner. Be open and honest with teachers and they will be very understanding and flexible when needed.

    In three sentences

    Colorado Christian University is an impeccable school. But, they are not honest with students regarding the about of biblical teachings there are in classes. Overall I would recommend Colorado Christian University to others.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety at the school is awesome no incidents have occurred since I've been here or heard and bad incident in the past.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs, there are bunch of clubs who are involved to help the communtiy.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tradition when playing beach volleyball and the lights go off, you either get on the ground and if not you are going to get tackled.

    What to do for fun

    To do for fun is play intramurals or be at the game room. More fun stuff is outside of the school like rock climbing or hiking and going out with friends on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    Food at the cafeteria isn't the best but it will do to satisfy your hunger.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms is fantastic and it's probably why this school is great. Living in the is cool because you're closer to classes but as well develop great relationships with roommates and follow awesome traditions of the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    So far in college, there has been lots of reading to do. Also, writing essays gets complicated because they are longer than high school essays and more of them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you apply to as much as scholarships possible because the cost of this school is very high.

    In three sentences

    This University is very expensive but is totally worth it. The community is great and teachers are so humble. The fact that classes are small actually gives me the opportunity to converse with the teacher.

  • 05/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Am learning a lot

    Excellent professors. I really enjoyed the Chemistry and Biology professors. Very knowledgeable staff.

  • 04/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe and the security guards are very helpful and nice.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and ministries to get involved in.

    What to do for fun

    There are intramural sports, ministries, down town life, and many outdoor activities that you can participate in.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is pretty good. For those late night cravings there is the Cougar Den with snacks and sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    The community in the dorms is incredible. We also have apartments instead of a dorm room which is amazing.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors expect your best, but they give you the tools to achieve your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in the community and find a ministry that you really feel passionate about. Always, always talk to the professors, they are the ones writing your recommendations and will be life long resources. Have fun!

    In three sentences

    Colorado Christian University is a great environment where academics and community are cultivated. The professors and staff here invest their time and resources into each student so that they can grow in every opportunity. The different internships and opportunities provided by the school are outstanding!

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    EXTREMELY SAFE

    Clubs and Activities

    Offers all types of great extra curricular studies, and activities! :-)

    Bang for the buck

    affordable, offers online courses, convenient, and works with your schedule. Adults and graduating high school seniors alike have nothing but good things to say about campus.

    What to do for fun

    * Join special activities, interest groups, and student chapel.

    Food and Dining

    Fantastic FOOD!!

    Dorm Life

    *Sorry do no live on campus, but I am sure campus life is just as great.

    Academic Rigor

    FIVE STARS....Learning from the Christian perspective, but also incorporating fun eye opening activities. Do wait join the family today!

    Tips for prospective students

    *Contact CCU and Enroll today. I promise you the enrollment counselors are great.

    In three sentences

    Colorado Christian University is a FUN, EXCITING, and UNIQUE college. I enjoy the friendly environment, and I am few to be myself. Colorado Christian University has a very supportive, Godly environment. I love it. Thanks to CCU I know what I value!

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Obtaining a Bachelor's degree can be daunting. Once your ducks are in a row, the staff makes it easy. Don't be intimidated by the college process.

    In three sentences

    Colorado Christian University has a worldview that I can appreciate. The enrollment staff have been very helpful and encouraging. Most of my previous college credits have transferred in.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christian students wanting to pursue a career in ministry or other fields. The education here provides a solid Biblical foundation for anything.

    What to do for fun

    It's a Christian school and I live off campus so I'm not sure what they offer here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Reach out to people - the people at this school really care.

    In three sentences

    This college is full of warm caring staff. Everyone you speak to will treat you with respect and do what it takes to get you involved. Don't be shy to ask for help - you will get it!

  • 10/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Believers who want a high quality liberal arts education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great Christ-Centered education!

    In three sentences

    I am loving the online MACI program for its flexibility and professionalism. Although my current situation requires a slow pace, I am moving quickly towards my goal.

  • 11/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs on campus. Most of the clubs are ministries that cater to the community. We have Connections, which is a therapuetic riding program and Sojourners, a ministry that goes downtown to talk with/help the homeless of Denver. Those of course are only two of the many clubs on campus. CCU also has a number of mission trips each year on Thanksgiving break, Spring Break and during the summer.

    Great for these types of students

    Of course any student will do well at CCU, but any student wishing to major in elementary education should really consider applying. Colorado Christian University's Elementary Educaition program is one of the best in the nation. Schools want us. Part of what makes this program great is they put you in the schools your first year. You get to work with students right from the beginning. Because of this experience and the dedication of the professors, schools specifically ask for CCU students after they graduate.

    Bang for the buck

    Colorado Chrisitan is definately worht the money. It is a small campus community that truly lives for Christ. Everything about that school is centered around glorifying God. The education you recieve here is one of the best.

    What to do for fun

    One thing everyone at CCU loves is sand volleyball. Every year before classes start there is a big volleyball tournament. All of the stairwells and upperclassmen buildings dress up. Since CCU is located in Lakewood, Colorado there are a lot of options off campus as well. We are about 10-20 minutes from downtown Denver and about half an hour from the mountains. A lot of people go hiking or skiing on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    The caf as we call it is not too shabby. While the food isn't necessarily 5 star material it doesn't make me feel sick either.

    Dorm Life

    The community here is fantastic. Freshmen live in stairwells which are apartment communities that have a theme. I am a transfer at CCU so I live in upperclassmen housing, which is still great. There are about 6 other people living in each apartment. While, living with 5 other people can be a struggle, I have found that getting to know them has helped me grow. I love my roommates and am so thankful that I am at CCU.

    Academic Rigor

    Not going to lie, this school is tough. But if you work hard you will get a good education out of it. I find myself studying more than I did at my other school. The professors here really push you to know more and do more. You have to be dedicated and responsible in how you manage your time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors. They really truly care about you as a person. Set up a time to meet with them and just introduce yourself. The more you get to know them, the better.

    In three sentences

    Colorado Christian University is all about community and helping students grow in Christ. The professors and the rest of the staff are 100% about helping you succeed and become a knowledgable, mature Christian.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Online

    Food and Dining

    I am an online student.

    Dorm Life

    Never lived in the Dorm

    Academic Rigor

    The Teachers are amazing! They really make the school!

    Tips for prospective students

    I encourage everyone who is looking for a College that really cares about you to come here. The staff are helpful and the Teachers care about you. They are helpful. They will send you a friendly e-mail if you haven't been around, asking if everything is alright. I love this school!

    In three sentences

    I have went to other colleges, Colorado Christian University is the one for me! I love that all the professors are in dept and they take time to get to know you and help you learn and grow!

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a very small campus, but I feel safe here.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for all students. They have the traditional learning. They also have a program for adult learners that have a job and no time for the traditional setting.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of, yet.

    Bang for the buck

    The caliber of this school is through the roof.

    What to do for fun

    The school is located near the Rocky Mountains. There is plenty of recreational activities outside of school year round.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are looking for a learning environment that will challenge everything and cause you to become the best person you can be, then this is the school you should go to.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a learning environment that will challenge everything and cause you to become the best person you can be, then this is the school you should go to.

    In three sentences

    This school is a Christian school but the love and accept people from all religions and walks of life. Academically, CCU is ranked very high and has a very high graduation rate. This is due, in part, by the amazing staff who work tirelessly to mentor and retain students.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    My experience shows that this university's staff care about all types of students and the ability to take classes online guarantees the availability for anyone to succeed.

    Bang for the buck

    Being an online student, the instructors have always been there to help with tutoring and any questions that I may have.

    Food and Dining

    I am an online student, so I do not have any knowledge of the food and dining at this university.

    Dorm Life

    I am an online student, so I do not have any knowledge of the dorm life at this university.

    Academic Rigor

    The amount inforamation that I have learned from my classes and instructors is phenominal.

    In three sentences

    CCU is a very student friendly staff that will assist every schedule to see to it that you receive a quality education.

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The adult graduate program is great for working adults who would like to maintain a job while continuing their education.

    Bang for the buck

    CCU is an expensive school for traditional students but overpriced for an adult graduate program that is mostly online

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to have to put in more effort than the typical college student. A majority of the classes are online and require self-teaching, self-discipline, and self-motivation.

    In three sentences

    Colorado Christian University has a great adult and graduate studies program. It allows working adults, with families, to be able to get a degree of their choice whiles till maintaining family life and work. They are uplifting, encouraging, and friendly from start to finish and willing to go the extra mile.

  • 02/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Colorado Christian University is great for anyone wanting to learn more about Christianity, and perfect for any busy adult looking for an encouraging, understanding online college.

    Bang for the buck

    As it is a private college it is expensive; however, a quality, Christ-based education is worth it. Their website is also very good at keeping students posted on scholarships available.

    Academic Rigor

    Since the semesters are set up in 5 week blocks, instead of taking 3-4 classes togther per semester, you take one class per block which allows for extreme focus in that one class for the entire five weeks. I have found though, that often you are cramming a lot of material into one five week block which does require a lot of focus.

    Tips for prospective students

    For anyone interested in furthering your education I would say set goals and stick with them! Advancing your education is not olny an investment in yourself and your future, but also your family, and potentially your world. Make it count!

    In three sentences

    I am attending Colorado Christian University online and it is a very family friendly and encouraging school. Their semesters are set up in blocks which really helps organize time and stay on top of things. I would recommend the adult education program at this university to anyone with a busy lifestyle looking for quality education.

  • 02/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Most students are working parents going back to school. Classes are only at night from 6-10. However, every student works hard and wants to be in class!

    What to do for fun

    I personally volunteer at a local animal shelter walking dogs and playing with the cats.

    Food and Dining

    There is no dining in the Colorado Springs chapter. There is a thirty minute break mid-class for dinner.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm in the Colorado Springs chapter.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a fast pace school. Courses are 5 weeks, where you take one class at a time, with 3 classes each semester. There are 4 semesters that end before the holidays the end of the year. It is challenging in the time, but the hybrid classes are very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships. Because CCU is an private school, it is more expensive, however worth it!

    In three sentences

    I attend the Colorado Springs chapter where the people who work for CCU are amazing and truly care for their students. My advisor gets back to me the day I request information. I would recommend this college to anyone who needs an untraditional college because of work!

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very little theft or crimes of any sort. the campus as a whole is very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs almost too many to keep track of, so there's one for everybody especially those who want to get involved with ministry.

    Great for these types of students

    Christian, outdoorsy or adventurous, fun loving people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    King cougar: the male talent show that brings lots of laughs.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do here. It depends on the season. There are a lot of outdoor activities such as hiking, biking, skiing, snowshoeing, swimming, rock climbing and more. There are also lots of shops near by for shopping.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the dinning area is good at first but then it gets old. There is a convenience store on campus that has some good food. There are also lots of places to eat near by.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are kept nice and the upper class men dorms have washers and dryers. It's like living in an apartment. The overall condition of the dorms is very nice. There is more space than in an average dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers at CCU are not afraid to ask a lot from their student's because they know that the students can be pushed to be better. There is a good bit of homework but manage properly will not be a problem

    Tips for prospective students

    CCU is a great place to meet new people. Take advantage of the community around you. There is also lots of fun things to do around campus so be sure to schedule homework time to.

    In three sentences

    CCU has a large emphasis on community and helping others to grow not only academically but also physically, emotionally and spiritually. The teachers genuinely care and will to their best to ensure learning and not just teach to the test. I would highly recommend Colorado Christian University.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    32 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I don't live in Colorado but I hear the food and dining around campus is delightful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Persistence is key. You cannot give up when it gets difficult. Keep trying and eventually you will find success.

    In three sentences

    The staff has been very helpful in assisting me to enroll in class, get financial aid, and order my books. They are constantly in touch with their online students to ensure the student's success. It has not been as difficult as I thought to enroll in college.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christians or anyone that is trying to have a closer walk with God. CCU is not just for Baptists, Pentecostals, or any specific religious group. Their main focus is to help the student apply his or her faiths by a biblical worldview into their daily lives as well as their career choice.

    Food and Dining

    Once again, I can not speak on behalf of their kitchen as I attend online. I'm sorry I can't be of more use.

    Dorm Life

    I can't rate this or speak anything of it because I attend the school online although by pictures, I would have to say that I am sure that the dorms are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    There is nothing I can say harsh about their academics. I attend school online, so taking courses online are a different ballgame.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you end up finding yourself in a tough spot, do not be afraid to let the counselors and professors know what is going on. They are willing to work with you as long as you let them know truthfully, what is going on that is putting you behind.

    In three sentences

    CCU has a great support system for students. The counselors keep in constant contact with you to be sure you succeed. The professors are there to encourage and pray for you and assist you where and when needed.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 50

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This school is wonderful the teachers are attentive and caring, the academics are wonderful.

  • 04/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I read a lot on line about the different opportunies.

    What to do for fun

    ...........

    Food and Dining

    Same

    Dorm Life

    I don't live at the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just let God lead you.

    In three sentences

    A very rewarding school, giving me the potential to follow God's call on my life, and the information I'll need to be a success.

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I attend CCU via the internet. I do not live on campus as I am a student from out of state.

    Dorm Life

    I attend CCU via the internet. I do not live on campus as I am a student from out of state.

    Academic Rigor

    As I am in my first class it is very hard to ascertain the academic rigor, but so far so good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with an open mind. Ask questions. Utilize all the help that is offered.

    In three sentences

    As a new student at CCU I found the application process very simple and easy. I have found the support from the front office to be extraordinary. I am looking forward to obtaining my degree from this university.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I see our security guards and local police officers every where I turn patrolling the grounds; they are in the dining hall, driving rounds on the residence side, sitting in on classrooms, etc. These guys really know how to keep a campus safe and free from fear.

    Greek Life

    There are currently no on campus greek life, but we are affiliated with honors programs put on by greek life, and many students qualify to be apart of the honors programs for leadership and academics.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is so much going on at this school, that everyone is at least involved in something, and if the school doesn't currently have it, they are open to someone starting practically anything they wish. It's a wonderful set-up; there are so many community outreach groups or dance clubs or speech and debate teams or student led missions.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great environment for self-driven, motivated, determined, God-fearing men and women who desire community and a chance to be themselves with everyone else.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year, it's the best experience ever to climb under the enormous, outdoor Christmas tree put up by the school and sip hot cocoa while singing and laughing. It's amazing how many students can fit underneath such a small tree.

    Bang for the buck

    I pay quite a bit to come to a private, Christian college, and I would definitely say I get my bang for my buck; I am surprised everyday by all the new things I learn, and realize how much I can develop as a person with all these other people on this tiny campus.

    What to do for fun

    Almost every night is a new student activity for anyone to be apart of; the school puts on so many free events and invites all to attend; it's all so welcoming. Dances, competitions, clubs, help sessions, athletic and physical activities, movie nights, you name it.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good, much better than other places I have visited, and the dining hall is clean, well kept, and well staffed.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is like life at home; the suites are beautiful and well kept and the people I have lived with really are my family.

    Academic Rigor

    It is an exciting and enlightening challenge to journey through classes and work, and my ethic has developed far beyond my expectations, and my drive and self-motivation have taken me places unimaginable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely try to learn from the teachers, but also know that students and peers are wonderful mentors and teachers as well.

    In three sentences

    The eyes of the students light up the campus and are lamps to the paths of other students. This really is the perfect community.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    fun out door activities accommodates to everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    great for any type of student

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive but the Christian education is very important to receive.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things involved at the school, there are plays, concerts, outside activities

    Academic Rigor

    many people graduate because of dedicated the teachers are and they want the students to do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend this college, even though it is expensive the education is tremendous.

    In three sentences

    Colorado Christian university is a great atmosphere of strong believers. There goal is help their students to achieve their academic goals. The professors and advisors are very helpful and encouraging.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    15 minutes away from downtown Denver, 15 minutes away from mountains... No matter your preference you can find it here.

    Food and Dining

    It's Sodexho, so what do you expect?

    Dorm Life

    If you want to be involved, the opportunities are endless. Really special freshman year on campus housing experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Some degrees are more challenging than others, obviously. CCU has one of the most practical, challenging, and prepare-you-to-succeed business programs in the country.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know professors in your field and they can offer incredible connections.

    In three sentences

    Close-knit community seeking Christian representation and strong academics. Always growing and getting better.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    40 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Returning adult students should put this university at the top of their list.

    Bang for the buck

    After researching numerous options for online adult education, this school has the best class options for the cost. This is a great option for returning adult students. I feel the college really wants me to succeed.

    Food and Dining

    I am a returning adult student taking classes online, so I am unable to review food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    I am a returning adult student taking classes online, so I am unable to review the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    I have yet to begin classes, but I have registered for my first class. I feel that 1 class every 5 weeks will be intense, but I love the focus on one subject. It is perfect for a working busy adult - one subject at a time will help me learn and remember what I learned.

    In three sentences

    Everything about the admissions process has been smooth and simple. My enrollment counselor has been wonderful by answering questions quickly and thoroughly. This school has many options for adult returning students.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No major safety issues. The campus security is very good.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of ministries to get involved with, and intramurals, and creative clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Christian, interested in different leadership positions, interested in working in youth ministry or theology.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pretty much all of the campus traditions are unusual since this is a Christian college. Not exactly the type of events/traditions they'd have at a secular university. CCU has Sobe Parties, Easter Festivals, Moonlight Volleyball, Storytime and more.

    Bang for the buck

    Well rounded Christian education

    What to do for fun

    Intramurals, clubs, ministries, hiking, downtown Denver, day trip to ski areas, nearby cities, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is usually pretty good. Obviously not the same as home cooked food, but there is lots of variety, and it is all you can eat buffet style. There is also a snack bar/cafe on the residential side of campus that is open during the week and on the weekends. They have Starbucks coffee, smoothies, snacks, pizza, sandwiches, drinks, and more. Food here is much better than in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    CCU apartments are so much greater than traditional one-room dorms! It is so great to have a full kitchen to cook meals on the weekends and a living room to hangout with friends. All the stairwells have different themes which are all really interesting.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are all super caring and really want to get to know each student. Depending on the class, the coursework can be demanding, but it is manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    The cafeteria food really isn't all that bad. The pizza, omelets and chicken tenders are my favorite! There's lots of variety to choose from, too. The dorms at CCU are the best dorms I've seen at any college that I have visited. No school on Fridays, ever!!

    In three sentences

    Colorado Christian University is a wonderful university with an intentional emphasis on faith, a strong, close-knit community, and engaging professors. The beautiful location in Lakewood, Colorado is perfect for exploring the city life Denver has to offer, while also exploring the beautiful mountains less than 10 minutes from campus. CCU is an ideal school for those looking for a college in a big city, surrounded by mountains, an emphasis on faith, caring professors, and a close community that brings it all together.

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    42 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is on the higher side but totally worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do in the Lakewood area: Bronco games, Rockie games, hiking, camping, snowboarding/skiing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't hesitate. I know tuition may be a little scary but there is always a way.

    In three sentences

    All I've ever heard about CCU is good things. After visiting the campus in October I knew right away that this is where I wanted to further my education. The staff is super friendly, and the campus makes you feel like it's been waiting for you all this time.

  • 10/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The most serious incidents with security have been over missing bikes and someone putting a toilet on the roof of one of the buildings. In other words, CCU is a very safe campus.

    Greek Life

    There is none so far as I know.

    Clubs and Activities

    Numerous service oriented clubs that do everything from collect campus trash to help feed the homeless. My favourite, speech and debate. Intramurals almost all year long. Student Union has sports equipment you may borrow, as well as ping pong, fooseball, etc. Jazz choir and barbershop quartet. Numerous prayer teams. Chapel worship team. Student Government. Young Life.

    What to do for fun

    1. Each group of dorms is assigned a brother or sister group near them. The RA's will usually organize things like eating meals together, or simple outings together. 2. Intramurals are huge. Anyone can join their dorm's team, and options range from volleyball to Frisbee to dodge ball to floor hockey. A great way to have fun playing in a non-professional atmosphere. 3. Go watch CCU sports teams win games. 4. There are several parks near to the CCU campus with lakes and various sports fields. 5. Coffeehouse held every month or so in the student union features live music by students and free coffee. 6. CCU puts on numerous concerts and plays during the year. CCU also invites numerous outside bands to play, such as this semester's Switch foot. This is just a short list of the many things you can do at CCU.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a wide variety of selections that change from day to day. A good number of these selections are healthy and nutritious, and they usually taste pretty good. The student store also sells meals, but they can be a bit overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    Apply as early as you can so you can request upperclassmen housing. Even if you aren't an upperclassmen, they usually end up setting aside 1/4 of the upperclassmen housing for incoming freshmen. This housing comes with free utilities, a full kitchen, washer and dryer, etc. Even if you don't get this housing, the normal freshmen housing is pretty great and spacious, especially compared to most other colleges.

    Academic Rigor

    CCU will definitely give you a quality education in your field of study. They don't have as many majors as some schools, but what they do have is solid. At the same time however, its not so much work as to be overwhelming, and not having school Fridays is a big help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know some older students well, and go to them for advice. Find a church early on and stick with it. Be honest in your small communities. Collaborate with your roommates on online tests and quizzes. Apply for lots of financial aid. There is usually a good bit left unused each year.

    In three sentences

    Colorado Christian University is a school dedicated to excellence in academics and spiritual formation. It has a beautiful campus and small class sizes, even for general eds! Colorado Christian also takes pride in its friendly community, where everyone is welcome.

  • 10/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive

    What to do for fun

    Go to many cultural events and places.

    Food and Dining

    Downtown Colorado Springs has a wide variety of choices.

    Academic Rigor

    The online classes are accelerated, so it makes it harder.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is more expensive that a secular college, so you'd find many of the same courses and degrees at a secular college. Consider how much you want to spend vs what degree you come out with.

    In three sentences

    It has opportunity to learn online or onsite at either the main campus or from satalite campuses. It has a campus in Colorado Springs. It is good for taking biblical topic courses.

  • 10/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Look for scholarships and financial aid; private institutions are pricey.

    Food and Dining

    The Loveland location I am attending is near many fast food and sit down restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    I can't tell you as I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    CCU is very invested in their students' education.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you aren't already familiar with the Blackboard online system, you will be. Dig in and explore, otherwise it can be a bit confusing. Look for lots of scholarship opportunities.

    In three sentences

    This school will definitely broaden your worldview and question your reasoning. It's a valuable resource to developing yourself as a student and person as a whole. Great student life, and the faculty is extremely reassuring and helpful.

  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    46 of 50

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    CCU has been friendly and supportive in everyday possible. The continue to offer guidance by answering any questions I acquire. I can't wait to attend CCU and be apart of their Christian fellowship community!

  • 03/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards running around campus all the time, and they are really friendly with the students. They stepped in and set up a system for registering bicycles at the beginning of the year when they were experiencing theft.

    Clubs and Activities

    Haven't had too much experience with this other than intramurals, which are a ton of fun, especially volleyball and Tigerball.

    Great for these types of students

    If you love Jesus and want to learn, you'll be great here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    King Cougar (male beauty pageant); Moonlight Madness (campus-wide volleyball tournament at the beginning of the year); O-Malley's Alley (lip-syncing/dance competition)

    Bang for the buck

    Kind of on the expensive side, but it's not as bad as some other private Christian schools. There are lots of scholarship options, and it's worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    Being just down the block from the Belmar shopping center is a plus for anyone who likes to shop. It also has movie theater and a ice skating rink in the winter months. There are several parks nearby that are good for running around and playing sports. A lot of people have season passes at Copper Mountain/Winter Park, so snowboarding and skiing on weekends is a popular activity. The volleyball courts on campus are a popular hangout spot, but I've heard rumors that those might be taken out soon :-(. The Student Union has board games, a pool table, and a ping-pong table. With no class on Fridays, students have a lot of free time on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is quite good for the most part compared to other college cafeterias. There is a different main course every lunch/dinner, and if that looks questionable, the pizza and burgers are always safe. Every now and then they will have a special theme, and they give nutritional info for almost everything they serve. They try to have a healthy alternative at every meal, and the salad bar has enough variety to satisfy most people. The campus convenience store is a bit overpriced, but they make some good wraps and calzones.

    Dorm Life

    Each apartment houses 4-6 students and has a kitchen and a bathroom (and some even have free laundry facilities!). The way the freshmen apartments are set up (stairwells) and run gives you a great opportunity to build amazing friendships with people. Some of them aren't in the best shape, but the school is in the middle of a complete campus renovation, and the dorms are supposed to be taken care in the next few years.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are generally not so easy that you can breeze through with an easy A unless you are really knowledgeable about the subject. They are hard enough that you have to learn the material in order to get a good grade, but not so hard that it's impossible to finish the homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as many scholarships as you can, both from the school and outside sources (like Cappex!). If you end up attending, be ready and willing to go through spiritual change, because it will happen within the first month and continue on throughout your entire stay.

    In three sentences

    This school is awesome! The professors care about you and actually know your name since classes are never much bigger than 30 students, and you can't beat the community that comes with the small campus population. If you can afford it, do it!

  • 03/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those of Christian faith that wish to pursue an education that is integrated with the biblical worldview.

    Food and Dining

    I do not live near campus. I do not live in that state.

    Dorm Life

    I am an online student so I do not know about the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are not difficult as long as you take your time, do them correctly and pay close attention to the rubrics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Time management is key. The courses are so intense and go by so quickly that if you don't manage your time well, it will affect your work and, of course, your grade. Don't be afraid to ask questions of your professors, and always do your best, and you will do well.

    In three sentences

    Colorado Christian is a great faith-based institution. The instructors are friendly and always willing to help. The course shells are amazing when it comes to promoting interaction with other classmates and professors.

  • 04/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do for fun! Not only does the campus hold specific events like dances, concerts, and parties, but the surrounding area (Denver) always has something awesome going on!

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the best, but I am sure it is no better or worse than most colleges.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms! Everyone gets an apartment!

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challenging, but the professors are very good about helping you and pushing you towards success.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a private university, make sure you are confident in your faith and you are willing to grow substantially. The campus is small, but there are ways to make the most of it!

    In three sentences

    Colorado Christian University is strong in it's faith, in it's academics, and in it's athletics. There faculty and staff know you on a first name basis and they strive to help you succeed with all areas of your life. This university does not hesitate to challenge you, but it also encourages you.

  • 05/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Also, as an online student I cannot give a review of this subject.

    Dorm Life

    I am an online student, so Dorm Life is something I cannot give an accurate review of.

    Academic Rigor

    Through the nearly twenty classes I have already taken at CCU, all subjects are taught at a college level, but with material and instructor knowledge that make learning so much easier. All instructors have experience and are qualified, based on each and every class I have taken here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attending any college is a big choice, CCU does teach all of their classes with a Biblical perspective (even the general education and electives). It was probably one of my greatest concerns when choosing a college - I wanted to make sure that they taught what I already believed, and that I didn't have to be tested on material I was uncomfortable with. However, any religion is accepted, and whether Christian or not, I have had many classmates that learned from the other students, including myself.

    In three sentences

    I have attended CCU for almost two years now, all of my classes have been completed in an online setting. CCU has a wonderful staff of online instructors and their online classrooms are efficient and easy to navigate. The instructors are fair with their grading, respond quickly to questions or feedback, and make assignments oriented to the online atmosphere.