Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Colorado College (CC) Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/25/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 out of 18 people found this review useful. 1 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    You must be open-minded and ready to try new things. It is great for anyone who is outspoken and ready to stand up for their beliefs. Students who practically live outdoors will feel right at home here, and those who love to exercise and stay active will fit in with the rest of the student body. Also, students who are more reserved will find peers just like them who enjoy themselves because there is so much to do on campus and in the city. I honestly believe that anyone who embraces change will find it exceptionally easy to fit in and flourish at CC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely come to prospy weekend! You get to stay with a student, eat at our facilities, and party with your future classmates. It is filled with tons of opportunities to get the feel for what life at CC would be like, and all of the current students get super excited to show you what they are about. Campus visits allow you to get the raw, most honest feedback from the people who really know what it is like to go to school here.

    Bang for the buck

    As much as I love my school, it is extremely expensive. The question I asked myself at the end of my freshmen year was if the amount of money I was putting into this education would yield a better outcome than if I went to a state university. I believe it does, which is why I will be attending CC this year. It is such a prestigious college, especially for being a very small, private, liberal-arts school. It is not well-known among most people, but to those who have heard even the tiniest thing about CC know of its high standards and great reputation. CC students are known for going out and making a difference in the world through volunteer programs like Teach for America and the Peace Corps. Also, the number of students who attend graduate school is also very high. I believe this is because after four years, the environment and the people you get to know make you even more ambitious and excited to do something new and meaningful. I am not going to say it is worth every penny, because boy is it a lot of pennies, but it certainly is a worthwhile investment, and I highly doubt that in the long run you will regret it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere at CC is initially very laid-back, but once classes begin so does the excitement. Everyone is incredibly motivated and active in all sorts of programs and clubs. There are activities all year round on the campus and within the community of Colorado Springs. After class, which ends promptly at noon, students can be seen doing almost everything but homework. Whether it be frisbee, playing music, clubs, or just going for a hike, recreation at CC can always be found. Also, our school's division one hockey team is awesome to watch on Friday and Saturday nights, which is where you will find most students during the season. What I love most about CC is how even though it is so small (~2,000 students), you can start a new class and meet 20 new people, all of whom you get to know pretty well over the course of the block. Everyone is going to the same parties, eating at the same place, and studying at the same library. It has the feeling of a close-knit community, yet it is comprised of individuals so unique and diverse in nature that you can never be bored, and the year flies by before you can even think about slowing down. Not to mention Pike's Peak is literally in our backyard, so the breath-taking scenery just adds to how much I am enjoying being a CC tiger!

    Am learning a lot

    The classes at CC are set up by the block plan. This means you take one class for three and a half weeks everyday for three hours (plus more for lab classes). At the end of three and a half weeks, you take one final and receive four credit hours. I believe that with this method you have more time to research the material in depth and focus your attention on really understanding all the concepts. One of the downsides of the block plan is how fast-paced and dense the curriculum is. You learn two weeks' worth of material in one class as compared to a normal university on a semester track. If you do not understand the lessons the first day, chances are you are only going to fall behind because by day two the professor is already on the next three chapters. What really helps is that classes max out at 25 students, so between office hours of the professor and the paraprofessionals, you can easily get one-on-one time for specific questions. Also, the library provides a learning commons where tutors are available during the day and student majors stay at night to help with any last minute confusions. The resources are endless, which makes it pretty difficult not to succeed in a class.

  • 08/29/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 out of 14 people found this review useful. 2 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    During my freshman year I learned that Colorado College is sometimes called a “Camp School” due to the amount of students who participate in outdoor activities. It is not uncommon to meet a student who took a year or so off to hike the Appalachian Trail or do some soul searching out in the Artic. For me, I am not what you would call an “outdoorsy” kind of girl. During my New Student Orientation trip (a freshman four day service trip that occurs right before the start of fall term) it was my first time sleeping in a tent. However, the adverse interests among students allows every kind of person (outdoorsy or not) to participate in some new and exciting adventure. Students with a high interest in academics, who have the ability to handle a bit of stress on a weekly basis, and who are willing to step out of their comfort zone to gain as much as possible from the college experience are Tiger material!

    Tips for prospective students

    Every fall and spring CC hosts an Open House event for prospective students. If you are considering attending this school I highly recommend you attend one of these two day visits. Prospective students are shown around campus and stay overnight in the dorms with current students, giving them a first-hand look into the night-life of a CC tiger. They are also given the opportunity to sit in during a class and get the feel of the fast paced block plan. My advice is to throw your nerves to the wind because the students and faculty at CC make it extremely easy to feel right at home.

    Bang for the buck

    The one major drawback of Colorado College is the cost. Being a highly ranked private liberal arts school (number 30 in the U.S. according to U.S. News College Ranking) the tuition runs fairly high. However, I believe that students receive a top education for every dollar spent. CC provides a great amount of financial aid varying from academic/athletic scholarships to work study grants which allow this highly priced educational dream become a reality for many.

    Am enjoying being here

    Colorado College has literally become my second home. The campus’s small population (around 2,000) provides a very close-knit relationship between students regardless of their year (junior, senior, etc.) The block plan causes students to have a new “first day of school” every three and a half weeks. As intimidating as that sounds, students will walk into a new class and see so many familiar faces and have the opportunity to make even more friends every month! My personal theory is that because of CC’s size everyone knows everyone at least in passing! Starting from my prospective student visit I noticed how friendly everyone on campus is regardless of race, age, or gender (which is great considering CC is such a diverse school)! Having a campus nestled right into the heart of the Rocky Mountains provides students with the opportunity to spend a block break (a four day rest period after every block) hiking, skiing, camping, or doing a variety of other activities right in their backyard. In addition to these opportunities students at CC develop great time management skills between their homework and extra-curricular activities. The campus provides an outlet for an assortment of social clubs, networks, and sports teams that allows students to blow off a little steam after a long day of class.

    Am learning a lot

    Colorado College is one of four colleges within the U.S. that teaches on the block plan. This innovative schedule means that students take one class at a time for three and a half weeks, in which time frame they gain four credit hours. The beauty of the block plan is that students get to put all of their focus and energy into one subject rather than juggling five or six as on the semester schedule. The block schedule allows for a very personal relationship between not only fellow students but also with professors. Within my first week at CC my profs. knew me by name and had talked to me personally about future plans for obtaining my major. While the block plan leaves little room for falling behind due to the immense amount of homework, the campus’s student learning facilities make it almost impossible to fail. For me, the Writing Center played a large part in my freshman year and provided constructive feedback and helpful tips during my first few essays. Also, because professors are only teaching one class at a time their door is always open when one of their students is struggling. While the block plan is very academically challenging it leaves space for even more academic and personal success.

  • 12/07/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 3 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Good for students that like procrastinating, believe it or not. (I like to think of CC as being a in a perpetual state of procrastination). Great for students that have a hard time focusing on multiple subjects at once. Also great for students that are more self-guided on their path to learning, as professors will expect you to take initiative to understand the things you don't understand through resources on campus and make sure that you are giving it your all.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell prospective students to be prepared to work, but also that it is a truly rewarding experience. On your application, don't give the answers you think they want you to give, because they'll see right through it. Be yourself and use the application to express yourself as much as possible, because CC truly is a place for people of all different walks of life. Enjoy writing the prompts and be original, because it will definitely help your personality to shine and let the admissions office know what you are all about.

    Bang for the buck

    While CC has a relatively high tuition (right now in the ~$40,000 per year including room in board), you definitely get a bang for your buck, especially considering that the college doles out considerable amounts of financial aid for current and incoming students. I think the greatest part in the bang for your buck category as compared to other colleges is the sheer amount of one-on-one time you get with your professor. With the average class size at about 14 students, you can always get a hold of your professor and get the feeling they actually care about your future, as opposed to just seeing you as another face in a huge lecture hall of hundreds of students. In addition, resources on campus for your success are more than abundant. Between the Writing Center, Quantitative Reasoning Center, Reference Desk, and tutors, your bases are covered regardless of what you are studying. You never have to worry about not being able to do well in class because if you take advantage of the available resources, you are almost guaranteed to succeed.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love being on campus. Part of the great atmosphere on Colorado College campus is perpetuated by a student body that is very accepting and open to people from different walks of life. This is definitely something they consider when looking at applications, and I think it is for the better in creating a climate where everyone can feel welcome and accepted for who they really are. When combined with minority student life on campus, this creates an awesome experience. In addition, there are so many events being put on by any number of groups at a given time that life on campus never gets boring, it seems that there is always a lecture or a dance or cultural festival that you just HAVE to go to. Shortly put: it's awesome.

    Am learning a lot

    Colorado College is somewhat unique in its approach to learning. Rather than being on the semester plan, where you take multiple classes simultaneously, we are on something called the Block Plan, means we only take one class at a time. The result: a super-focused, intense 3 and 1/2 week long class (4 per semester/ 8 per year) where we cover everything a traditional school does in a semester. Sounds tough, right? It is, but I absolutely love block. While it definitely isn't for everyone, the Block Plan is a great way to focus in on one subject at a time and become immersed in whatever you choose to study. I especially love language courses, where you are more or less immersed in the language, and you definitely learn a ton in a short period of time. For people like me that have a hard time juggling multiple classes at once, Block is definitely great.

  • 01/30/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 4 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    CC is great for self-motivated students who want an academic challenge without a lot of the competition seen at most other schools of similar academic standing. It is also great for those who are unsure of what they want to study and those who are willing to keep an open mind to the liberal arts experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely suggest scheduling an overnight visit. You will get to experience both the extracurricular and academic life here. Furthermore, the information session may help you decide whether the block plan will serve your academic needs.

    Bang for the buck

    As a student who was not sure how I would pay for college, I am so blessed that CC offered me a generous financial aid package. For anyone who has the admission credentials, I would definitely apply and not let the money deter you as CC has great financial aid packages.

    Am enjoying being here

    The social life at Colorado College is adequate. I enjoy learning from my peers and spending time with them on block breaks. Furthermore, there are great service and extracurricular opportunities. However, I wish that the drinking and drugs scene was not as big as it is. Students here definitely have a work hard party hard attitude.

    Am learning a lot

    CC is a great place to grow intellectually. The block plan, where you take one class for three and a half weeks and then get a four-day weekend before starting another class can be very intense, but it is great for learning material, especially in the social sciences. Furthermore, you get to know the professors on a personal level and interact with your classmates on a regular basis outside of class. I have had many great conversations with my peers in the hallways, dorms and cafeterias. Additionally, the block plan allows for month-long study abroad opportunities. The downside, however, is that because we only take four classes (blocks) each semester, you really must pick and choose your classes carefully--there is not a way to take an overload here. Additionally, it can be hard for students to adjust to the intensity of the block plan and high academic expectations.

  • 08/25/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those students who are adventurous, intellectual, outgoing, compassionate, outdoorsy and want an excellent education with lots excitement and fun will find it easy to fit-in at CC!

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Visit the college during the school year, 2) Imagine what kind of environment you can thrive in, and most importantly 3) People watch - watching how students interact with one another really gives you a good idea for what sort of people attend the school.

    Bang for the buck

    At CC you'll get an outstanding education well worth the cost. Everything from the close relationships with a dedicated staff and an outgoing student body to the distinctive block plan really creates an unmistakable sense of community and an unforgettable four-year experience.

    Am enjoying being here

    Although CC can be challenging at times there is ample opportunity for fun on-campus and off. Every weekend the campus puts on events ranging from midnight breakfasts, themed dance parties, art exhibitions to distinguished speakers. Most students take advantage of CC's close proximity to Colorado Springs' downtown area for shopping and food and the mountains for outdoor pursuits. Even in-class, professors continually strive to share their enthusiasm for the coursework with their students through extended field-trips and even hosting dinners at their houses.

    Am learning a lot

    CC's unique block plan creates an environment for superb in-depth study. At the end of each block I emerged with a solid understanding of the coursework and frequently found myself relating ideas from one block to another. Within the first couple of blocks, my writing, discussion and critical thinking skills dramatically improved!

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 6 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    To my knowledge, we're always safe, so that's enough for me!

    Greek Life

    If it's your thing, go for it! I have no experience with it though, so I can't say.

    Clubs and Activities

    Some clubs are hard to get into because you have to pay out of your pocket to stay in or they require a large time commitment, which not a lot of students can afford.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who want an intellectual challenge and to meet lots of different people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are naked hikes at times, or so I've heard. They have to be done far away from civilization, though, because the school could get into trouble for public nudity!

    Bang for the buck

    It seems kind of crazy to spend private tuition for a college that not a lot of people know about. If I said I was going to Harvard, everyone would know exactly what I'm talking about, so that alone would give me bang for my buck. Don't get me wrong, I love Colorado College, but it's certainly not easy for me to continue my education there with as expensive as it is to attend.

    What to do for fun

    I hang out with friends for fun and we play video games in the dorm, go for walks along the canal, or just talk in the hallway, We have a blast!

    Food and Dining

    The food is not half bad! There are three different places to dine, so whatever you're itching for, you can probably satisfy your craving. The kitchen staff is very kind and they work hard to make sure you get fed and actually keep it down, unlike other campuses I have visited.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty good, but it could be better. Summer is brutal because there is no air conditioning. Having to share a bathroom with 20+ girls can be a good way to catch whatever virus is going around and you may have to wait to take a shower. The dorm rooms are small and the furniture is old, so really, it's just a place to crash.

    Academic Rigor

    Colorado College is as hard as they come academically. Be prepared to be up all night and to feel constantly exhausted!

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to make friends! I know it's hard because people come from different economic backgrounds, have different interests and want to study different things than you, but if you try to open up you might find you really enjoy meeting new people.

    In three sentences

    Colorado College is rigorous. You will never want for something to do, and if you are without something to keep you occupied, you either aren't studying enough or should try to make some new friends! I really love Colorado College so far and I hope that I'll continue to be successful here.

  • 11/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Those who like taking one class at a time -Who work well under some pressure -Who like to balance hard work with some serious playing -Who want to explore and seek adventure -Anyone who is excited about life!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit! Attend a class, stay with one of us and really get a feel for how CC works. I promise all CC students love having prospective students on campus to show around. Get a feel for how a normal day for a CC student is, we want you here! Also when applying definitely give it your all on the essays. Admissions is caring more about your personal voice and expression than every before. Really think about what you would do if you had a month to explore any topic you wanted. Every student here at CC has something special that CC saw in them and we are not afraid to show it. So let your voice fly free and show off a little in your application.

    Bang for the buck

    CC is certainly expensive, no question but if you are looking for a high quality education through a liberal arts school, I say it is worth it. The block plan is not cheap to fund, we have a great student to teacher ration and with only one teacher per class at a time, expenses build up fast. CC also is always seeking the highest quality professors for the students. Every teacher I have had has been exceptional. You are also receiving a lot of benefits beyond the classroom from free printing to school sponsored trips to career resources.

    Am enjoying being here

    The study body is another reason to consider CC. We are a small school, a little under 2000 students, but every single person here is amazing. CC students are friendly, easy going but also hard working. We get are work done, and maintain a high standard of learning at CC, but you will be hard put to find students who know how to play better than us. Extra curricular are wide ranging and very popular from inter tube water-polo to volunteering with wolf puppies to traveling to some of the best rock climbing sites in the country, we know how to expand our worlds.

    Am learning a lot

    Ever felt that you are being in too many directions at once? Does taking only one class at a time sound interesting? Want a five day break every month? Then Colorado College is totally your school. We take one class at a time,through an intensive style called the block plan. Every 'block', which a month, you take one course which is equal to a semester of credit. Then you get a block break from noon on Wednesday through Sunday! Some would argue that is the best part of the block plan, but coupled with only having to concentrate on one that at time, this method of learning is perfect for those who feel stressed by taking many classes at once. As a science major, I an also attest to the challenges of the of learning fast on the block plan. Lab courses can end up being a large time commitment but then again you are also done in only a month! But I have never faced a class that was not possible to do well in with the appropriate amount of work. I have hands done learned more in my two and a half years at CC than all of high school put together.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is well-lit at night. Freshman also get a safety orientation when they first arrive. There is a safe-ride service that students can call almost 24-7 on weekends to get a rid from one side of campus to another if it gets really late.

    Clubs and Activities

    Inter-mural teams

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoorsy, Liberal, Work hard play hard mentality.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Midnight Breakfast. Slack-lining. NSO trips

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, posh, luxurious. A lot of things aren't really necessary but add to the college experience. The only reason I can afford CC is because I am on scholarship.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of inter-mural sports, guest speakers on a variety of topics, midnight breakfast gatherings on the weekends, free CC hockey games, and the beautiful outdoors of Colorado to explore.

    Food and Dining

    There are three main locations to eat on campus. There is a vegetarian and vegan population so Bon Apptite tries to serve to everyone's tastes. Rastall Dining - All you eat buffet that serves three meals a day. Has a soft serve ice cream machine and desserts frequently. Praised and frowned upon for their Meatless Mondays. Benjamin's -Lunch/Dinnertime location all-natural beef burgers and many grill selections, traditional Mexican favorites and signature made-to-order noodle bowls. The Preserve - Lunch/Dinnertime location on campus that serves fresh sandwiches, soups, pizza, and a daily special. Specials include pastas, steak, unusual pizzas (dessert, blue cheese, really eccentric stuff) and grilled items. Meal plan is expensive. People tend to have extra money towards the end of the year or run out early depending on their meal plan. Students also frequently go eat downtown or nearby to Wooglan's, a restaurant right next to CC.

    Dorm Life

    Average underclassmen college dorms. Slocum is the quiet dorm, Loomis/Mathias compete for the unofficial party dorm of the campus. I recommend staying away from Mathias as a freshman. That dorm has the most forced triple living arrangements and random fire alarms go off in the middle of the night. The upperclassmen apartments and off-campus houses are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The block plan is hard, but rewarding. Certain majors (such as hard sciences) can be more challenging on the block plan considering the pace of the class. Writing can be challenging too considering you don't have much time to draft papers. It's sink or swim, but most people adjust accordingly. Procrastination is not really an option on the block plan.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus! See how the student body is and how the block plan works.

    In three sentences

    Colorado College can be summed up in two words: Block Plan! You take once class per month so you can really immerse yourself in the material. You work hard and play hard.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are some safety incidents that have happened in the past couple of years, but overall it's pretty safe. Campus Safety Office is awesome and the officers really care about their job.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life exists at CC but it's not overwhelming. It has a weird reputation on campus, but there are also a lot of students who feel pretty neutral about it. I'm in a sorority and I like it, but it's definitely not all I do at CC. CC Greek Life is far from stereotypical and most Greeks don't live in the houses.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs and activities that students can participate in. An Activity Fair is held every semester, where all clubs, sports, sororities/fraternities are represented. Within these activities, there is a chance to network, make connections and gain leadership skills.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to explore the outdoors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The top of Shove Chapel has a great view! You can get a key from the Chaplain's Office.

    Bang for the buck

    CC is expensive, but it's about the same price range as most credited liberal arts schools. It's not perfect, but it offers some cool opportunities in a great location. I mainly chose CC and stayed because of the education.

    What to do for fun

    Colorado Springs isn't the best, but it's also not the worst. Downtown has many local restaurants, shops, a movie theater, etc. There's not a huge selection, but it's very close to campus and students often hang out downtown in the afternoons or on weekends. There are also a lot of outdoor sights nearby, including Garden of the Gods and Pikes Peak. Many students enjoy hiking, trail running, rock climbing, backpacking, camping, etc. at these places and other outdoor areas near the Springs. Skiing/snowboarding is really popular in the winter. Block Breaks are a great time to travel and see various parts of Colorado or the Southwest.

    Food and Dining

    Bon Apetit is the food service provider on campus. They run three major dining areas: Rastall, The Preserve and Benji's. While students do complain, the food is overall pretty good. Bon Apetit also supports sustainable food practices (including a Meatless Mondays at Rastall) and buys some produce from the CC Farm.

    Dorm Life

    The majority of students live on-campus because students are required to live on-campus until senior year (with some exceptions.) A lot of freshmen live with roommates and often begin their CC experience with friends they meet on their hall or in their dorm. The freshmen dorms are cozy but not unbearably small. After freshmen year, housing is based on a lottery system but housing options generally improve as you get older. It's also possible to apply to live in language houses, the Glass House, Synergy, etc. which are great options and often have a more tight-knit community.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the course, the intensity of a class can vary. In general, though, professors expect a lot out of their students. Because of the Block Plan, students work pretty hard to complete assignments in a limited time frame. The downside of the Block Plan is that material is covered pretty quickly and subjects may not be given as much time as they would at larger universities. Most classes in social sciences or humanities require a lot of reading and are discussion-based. Science courses are much more time consuming and require afternoon labs, which may not be ideal for prospective students who will also be looking for a job, athletics, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come out for a visit if you can, and try to talk to professors and students in departments you are interested in. Even if you don't have an idea of what you would like to study, upperclassmen can offer some great advice on how they navigated classes and found a major.

    In three sentences

    Colorado College has a unique academic system, with a 3.5-week Block Plan, which provides an intensive learning experience. The class sizes are small and the courses are often very hands-on and interactive with supportive professors. Aside from academics, the college supports a wide range of extracurricular activities and offers plenty of resources on campus as well.

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've always felt very safe on campus. You can call a school service called Safe Ride if you ever feel uncomfortable walking somewhere. The most important thing is to use common sense. If you can avoid it, don't go walking somewhere late at night alone.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life at Colorado College is pretty minimal. We do have a few sororities and fraternities but they only make up about 10% of the campus. If you want a college centered around Greek Life, then Colorado College is not the right choice.

    Clubs and Activities

    Colorado College has a basically any club or activity option that you could want. It is very easy to get involved. At the beginning of each semester, the school has an activities fair open to all students so you can easily find things that you would be interested in.

    Great for these types of students

    Colorado College is perfect for a student who really likes to immerse themselves in a subject. Because we only take one class at a time, we are able to fully dedicate ourselves to each new class.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    So, at Colorado College, because you take one class at a time, it also means you take one final or complete a final project/paper at a time. This happens during 4th week, the last half week of a block. And on the Monday of every 4th week, our hilarious improv troupe TWIT puts on a show so that students can de-stress before finals.

    What to do for fun

    There's always some kind of athletic event going on, if that's your kind of thing. Hockey is huge. Tickets to every home game are free for students and even if hockey isn't really your thing, it's still tons of fun to cheer on the Tigers. There is also a constant stream of art galleries, theater productions, and our beloved A Capella concerts. House parties are always an option but if you prefer something a little less crowded, the school hires a professional company to throw parties throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    The main dining hall is called Rastall. We have two other smaller dining areas called Benjis (grill food, Mexican, sushi) and the Preserve (pasta, sandwiches, delicious pizza). We also have a cafe called Colorado Coffee and an on-campus convienence store. The meal plan is great and really simple. You get an amount of money for each semester depending on your meal plan (A,B,C) and you can use that money at any of the above places whenever they're opened. No restrictions or complicated rules about where you can dine and when.

    Dorm Life

    There are three main dorms for freshman and sophomores. There are also various themed houses throughout campus. Juniors often live in on campus apartments while seniors often take the opportunity to live off campus in one of the many nearby houses. Dorm life is pretty fantastic. Fun events are hosted frequently in dorms. And free pizza is abundant.

    Academic Rigor

    We learn in three and a half weeks what is spread out over a semester at other schools. The block plan is a system that doesn't work for everyone, but for those that it does, it provides a challenging, engaging education.

    Tips for prospective students

    You're going to have to become a morning person. Nearly all classes at Colorado College start between 9 to 9:30 am. The 5 day breaks we get between each block (each class) are awesome! But don't just spend them sitting around campus. Colorado College offers a lot of cool volunteer/trip opportunities.

    In three sentences

    At Colorado College, you take one class at time for three and a half weeks as part of what we call the block plan. You have eight blocks each school year to spend getting to the heart of a subject. Colorado College is a spirited, friendly school with a truly unique academic experience.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    plenty of choices, looks above average and healthy.

    Dorm Life

    living accommodations look awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    taking courses one at a time in the block schedule format may seem easy, but it isn't very forgiving to miss one day of class. courses seem to be very comprehensive in nature due to the ability to focus on that one subject for 3 and a half weeks.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Colorado Springs is a decently safe town, but there has been a problem with off-campus housing being broken in to. Some people have been attacked on the streets bordering campus, but generally if you use the buddy system you're good. I am usually not scared of walking across campus alone, except when I see the occasional homeless person hanging out.

    Greek Life

    Not super popular at CC, but gaining a better reputation. Not a very large percentage of students are involved in Greek life, but then, Greek life at CC is very different than at other schools. I am in Kappa Kappa Gamma, and most of the girls in it including me say that they would have never thought they'd be in a sorority, but once they met the girls they loved it. Greek life puts on lots of fun events and does lots of philanthropy.

    Clubs and Activities

    At CC, most people are really involved. We have a lot of different clubs for all kinds of interests and passions. There are definitely more clubs that you want to be in than you actually have time for.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoorsy, unique, maybe even a little weird. Someone for which academics is a first priority but also likes to party and loves to be involved.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We dress like freaks as often as we can, and we have awesome campus events, like Llamapalooza, a little music festival, Psychedelic Bowling, when we all dress up crazy and get shuttled to a bowling alley, and our infamous Video Dance Parties.

    Bang for the buck

    CC is pretty freaking expensive, which is why I can't give it 5 stars, but it is worth it. I am so happy to be here, the education is excellent, and the opportunities available are extensive.

    What to do for fun

    CC parties harder than you'd expect, but if you're not into that scene, there is plenty more you can do. Sacred Grounds is a night-time hang out where tea is served, and occasionally, baked goods. People are also super active at CC, and it is easy to get into climbing, slack-lining, and other outdoor activities. Block breaks also offer many fun outdoor trips.

    Food and Dining

    The food at CC is amazing in comparison with most other colleges. Bon Apetit, our food service, offers lots of options for all kinds of eaters: vegetarian, gluten free, vegan, dairy-free, etc. It is easy to find both healthy and unhealthy food. There is also lots of variety. There are five places to eat: the buffet-style dining hall, a fast-food style restaurant, a coffee place, a more healthy restaurant, and a small grocery store.

    Dorm Life

    CC has some great housing options. It is required for students to live on campus for three years. The big dorms can be a little unfriendly, but there are lots of community based living opportunities and themed houses that underclassmen can live in, such as the Glass House and the language houses.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes vary in difficulty, but since you only have one class, the work is intense, but it is possible to balance this with extracurricular activities, clubs, and your social life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Colorado College likes interesting, well-rounded and excellent students, but they are not need-blind, so you might have to be more impressive if you know you will need financial aid to attend.

    In three sentences

    Unique is an understatement at Colorado College. The Block Plan has us studying the same subject for 3.5 weeks and it really takes over your life. But there is still time for fun, as one of our mottos says, Work hard, play harder.

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 4 people found this review useful. 13 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Not having been there, I wouldn't know.

    Academic Rigor

    I've heard it's a top tier school, so I would assume it's tough!

    In three sentences

    I haven't visited (yet), but I hear everyone loves the one at a time system! Definitely applying!

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    CC is a private college so it is pricier than a regular state university however the education is better, there are more opportunities and chances to explore as well as greater attention paid to the individual student. Plus because its a private school they offer a great deal of scholarship to those who may need it.

    What to do for fun

    They have various clubs, outings, study abroad classes and school events.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing! There's no junk food and everything is healthy and farm grown/raised. If you come for a student visit day you'll be able to sample some of the amazing food provided to students as well as family members.

    Dorm Life

    Students live on campus for the first three years and usually stay for four. THey have many housing options though such as dorms, houses, and apartments for upperclassmen.

    Academic Rigor

    You take one class at a time for 3 and a half weeks so you can focus on one subject at a time. This allows for in-depth learning and focus.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can take time to visit the campus, sit in on a class, and take in the beauty that is Colorado College.

    In three sentences

    Colorado College has a wonderful staff that is helpful and takes time to assist prospective students. They remembered my name when I returned to campus after only one visit! CC has a great atmosphere and I love the small size of the college.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 15 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's not a closed campus.

    Greek Life

    There is a Greek life, but most people aren't involved in it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs. A lot of them have to do with the outdoors or with professional stuff (pre-law, pre-med, etc.).

    Great for these types of students

    People who love the outdoors and people who learn quickly will do very well here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dressing up Mr. Tutt (in front of the library).

    Bang for the buck

    CC is ridiculously expensive. The school is awesome, but it just costs so much. Luckily, they give out a decent amount of money.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of outdoor activities to do (hike, bike, slackline, snowboard, ski, raft, etc.). Also, there are many club activities.

    Food and Dining

    The buffet-style dining can be delicious or atrocious. The other two on-campus eateries are generally good.

    Dorm Life

    There are three dorms (all of which have good and bad points). There are also many houses on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the class and your strengths and weaknesses, classes can go really well or really bad. Even classes in subjects you're good at can be difficult to get good grades in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't even think about procrastinating because one day can make a huge difference.

    In three sentences

    Colorado College's block plan is great and horrible at the same time. The intensive studying can be great, but it can also backfire on you since you have to learn so much in such a short amount of time. One great thing about the block program is that you can go abroad for just one month if you want to.

  • 03/01/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who has done well in a CTY class, or the Princeton classes run in the similar manner.

    Bang for the buck

    If i end up there next year, i will end up paying around 25,000. this is without any outside scholarships, so i will most likely be paying less. For my family, this is an affordable price.

    What to do for fun

    Hiking, Skiing, snowboarding, intramural sports, go to a Hockey game

    Food and Dining

    I am very picky with what I eat, and was very satisfied with the food in the dinning hall. The Waffle machines are amazing.

    Dorm Life

    Again, I'm not a student yet, but my overnight was amazing. I stayed in an on campus apartment, with the most beautiful view of the mountains in the morning

    Academic Rigor

    I cant really say much here, as i am not a current student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure the teaching style fits your learning style.

    In three sentences

    I loved being on Campus, its really peaceful, i visited in October/November, and while it was cold, it was beautiful outside, especially the mountains . The Class Structure of the block plan is perfect for my type of learning, one subject at a time, but tons of information that goes deep into the subject. The food is great too.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Pretty good, lots of variety, delicious meals at The Preserve, Rastalls is alright too.

    Dorm Life

    Pretty good dorms, especially Mathias, but the other big dorms are a bit dingy. Slocum is the best for quieter dorms and places.

    Academic Rigor

    Block plan is very intense, sometimes overwhelming, and fast-paced. Buckle up! (seriously)

  • 09/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel extremely safe on campus all of the time. I'm usually very cautious and afraid, but I never feel alone or unsafe.

    Greek Life

    I rushed a sorority this year! Kappa Kappa Gamma! Greek life is small, but it is there if you want it. Rushing was a bit intimidating, but overall lots of fun! The girls are all extremely nice, and it was hard for me to pick a house to join. It is a mutual rush- so the sorority does have to choose you. Not everyone made it, but I'm so glad I did!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone can find their place here. Seriously anyone. I see hipsters, druggies, preps, goths, nerds, and everyone in between.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year, the entire freshman class goes on a service trip before school starts! There are about 30 different trips that go out, and it was a blast! Everyone loves New Student Orientation, and it was a great bonding experience.

    Bang for the buck

    Colorado College is very expensive. I am on financial aid, and it has been a little hard to manage.

    What to do for fun

    So many people here drink alcohol for fun. I do not drink or smoke at all, and have found it a little difficult to find people who feel the same way. However, there are tons of events planned-lectures, exhibits, dances, plays, and tons more! There really is a lot to do on campus and in downtown Colorado Springs!

    Food and Dining

    The food here is definitely good. They have a huge variety, and tons of options for vegans, vegetarians, and gluten-free eaters. There is a great variety here and the food is overall pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I absolutely love my dorm! I am in Slocum Hall, which was newly renovated. We have beautiful lounges, huge rooms, hardwood floors, a great community, and a great view of the mountains as well!

    Academic Rigor

    The Block Plan can be intense, I'll admit. But overall, it has not been too challenging for me. My class is definitely manageable- with about 2 hours of homework each night.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Be prepared for any kind of weather! It has been 90 degrees one day, and then 45 degrees and raining the next. Bring a myriad of clothing items. 2. Bring a bike, scooter, or longboard! It makes it so much easier to get around! 3. Come and visit! I had no idea how much I liked this school until I came and visited. Please come and see us!

    In three sentences

    Colorado College has an amazing academic atmosphere. The people are friendly,and there are lots of fun things to do. People here like to work hard but also have fun.

  • 09/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There isn't a safer place than CC with the protection of campus safety. Feeling a little frightened to walk back to your place at night? No worries, Campus Safety is there to keep you safe and take you home. Everything from alerts, recovery of lost items, and a helping hand is provided by campus safety.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life at CC is like no other. It is a community where frats and sororities focus on improving on campus life and beyond with community service. Sororities are always so kind during fourth week handing out tea and candy for crazed students preparing for block finals.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for environmentally conscious communities, love the outdoors, and wearing tie dye all belong at CC. The community is welcoming to every personality as over 80% of students are out of state and bring new perspectives. Community Service is always meaningful for people who love to help out.

    Bang for the buck

    40% of CC students have received a full ride to attend. Everyone gets a fair deal at Colorado College with tuition donations from Alumni, friends, and parents of the community. Filling out forms beyond FAFSA will really help support your CC education funds. A beautiful campus to retreat to during and after class is a bang for your buck too.

    What to do for fun

    In the mountains, CC students love to go on hikes and climb Pike's Peak. With our very own rock climbing gym, it isn't hard to practice. There are clubs for almost any interest and hosted events every evening. Do you love eating meat? You can join Carnivore Club! How about ice skating? Sign up for lessons at CC's own Honnen Ice Rink! The possibilities are endless.

    Food and Dining

    CC is the friendliest place for vegetarians, vegans, gluten free, and organic lovers. Processed and antibiotic meats are no where to be found. Rastalls Cafe as well as other dining places are strictly provided with local meats and produce from Colorado. The grub is healthy and delicious!

    Dorm Life

    There are three Dorm Halls for freshman with incredible remodeled snazz. RA's are always on call to help a sister or brother out their first year around this neck of the woods. The best RLC's will throw banana split parties in your Hall Lounge and screen Jurassic Park. Fan of Breaking Bad? The dorm community watches a screening of it every Sunday night together! Its clean, friendly, and homey.

    Academic Rigor

    Colorado College ranks #29 on Forbes list nationwide for best Liberal Arts Colleges in the US. Each block is an intense 3 1/2 weeks where students are completely immersed in the material. Professors challenge every student equally expecting nothing but the best from them. The All Stars of High School ranks and standardized tests have met their match.

    Tips for prospective students

    When applying, students should search for fly out programs such as: Multicultural Open Houses because CC looks to diversify the community and this will get you noticed. In personal statements, write about yourself as a person and not a player in the competition for college acceptance. Lastly. it helps to apply early action to give yourself the upper hand among other talented applicants.

    In three sentences

    Colorado College is an intensive, environmentally responsible college with only the most capable, involved students. It runs on a block program where students take one class at a time, totaling 8 blocks a year. The many opportunities include research opportunities, over 80 majors and minors, and a supportive learning environment.

  • 12/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The actually staff on campus safety are friendly and very helpful. Campus as a whole is an extremely safe place due to the close knit community Colorado College has.

    Greek Life

    There are only three frats and three sororities but greek life has been growing in the past couple years and 18% of students are involved. Most greeks are also highly involved in non-greek clubs as well. It is a very inclusive community.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is lots of funding for clubs and activities and there are lots of leadership roles in them available to anyone who is excited and willing to take action.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoorsy, easy-going, diverse, open-minded, worldly students who truly enjoy learning.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Climbing to the top of shove chapel is a must!

    Bang for the buck

    The field trips, professors, and state of the art technology is well worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    Backpacking, hiking, fishing, skiing, rafting, and anything else outdoors

    Food and Dining

    The options are variety is decent and the food is generally good, but there are no late night options and the same basic things are served weekly.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really nice and you have lots of freedom to do what you want, and intervention from the staff is rare and usually prompted by extreme conditions.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are done on a block system which means they are fast passed, rigorous, and in depth.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take lots of different types of classes because each department is wonderful for different reasons.

    In three sentences

    Colorado college is a unique educational experience. The classes are difficult and engaging. The people are highly intelligent and very diverse.

  • 01/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are some sororities and fraternities on campus, but they don't really command much attention.

    Great for these types of students

    Colorado College is great for people who like an academic challenge, working to succeed, and people who like the outdoors. Not liking the outdoors isn't something that will make the experience any worse, but without the drive and desire for challenge, the experience can be less than great.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things to do outdoors, and campus activities and many clubs puts together meetings, talks, and other social events. There's never a lack of activities on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are many options on-campus and the quality is fairly good, but sometimes it gets quite repetitive in the more popular eatery on campus, Rastall. Because CC is downtown, there are many restaurants within walking distance that people go to as well.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is nice, but like at many colleges, things get quite messy on the weekends. People are always nice to each other, and everything is overall wonderful.

    Academic Rigor

    There are a mix of challenging classes and simpler classes. On the block plan, you're learning a semester's worth of information in 3.5 weeks which in itself is challenging. Colorado College is known for its academic rigor (second to the block plan), and it definitely lives up to its reputation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always send hand written thank you notes to the administration that you have contact with after visiting and after your interview. It won't make you accepted just because of that, but it helps because it shows that you have manners.

    In three sentences

    Colorado College is an amazing college. People are nice, you'll always run into someone you know, and there's always something to do.