Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Colorado Mountain College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/20/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is perfect for the people that need the one on one help and physical connection to the learning environment. It is also a mostly outdoor focused college. The athletic, outdoorsy, easy going type is perfect for this school. What's nice is that everyone melds together. If you are not the outdoorsy type of person its still very likely that you will find just the right niche because it is such a small community.

    Tips for prospective students

    My biggest tip is to be open minded. The male to female ratio is 10 to 1 so females.....get ready! Males please be respectful of the girls that are here! My other tip is to live life to the fullest, try new things, and push your experience to the edge. There are so many opportunities and experiences here. I have picked up five or six new addictive hobbies since I have been here including skiing, rock climbing, and mountain biking.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are in-district the price is phenomenal. In state is great to. Out of state I'm not sure about but I'm sure for all the trips, hands-on experience, and recreation it would be worth the money!

    Am enjoying being here

    CMC is a wonderful school! You can learn all morning and ski all afternoon! The curriculum is unlike any other school. Whether you are interested in Ski Area Operations, Natural Resource Management, or Outdoor Recreation Leadership you are guaranteed to get an experience unlike any other college can provide. No matter what your choice is you are guaranteed an incredible, outdoors, hands on experience. Ski all day in the ski patrol lab or spend fours hours hiking and taking water quality measurements. For the more extreme there are out-classes where you can spend up to two weeks hiking the canyon lands, climbing fourteeners, or rock climbing in Nevada. This school has it all. The classes open up a entirely new playground!

    Am learning a lot

    There is so much to learn! With the world at our finger tips every physical example you could ever want is just waiting to be used. Between the hands on outdoors classes and the small class size there are endless opportunities for a complete, well rounded, in depth education.

  • 11/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People that rely on a more structured class system to work well with deadlines that are apparent. Students that like alternative ways to learning would also do well as this college does alot of hands on and out and about teaching away from the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember, your paying for this. It is costly and will pay itself back to you in the future. Dont waste your money screwing around. Your given alot of freedom to do what you want. Dont abuse that.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a incredible bang for the buck. It offers Community College prices with the education level of State universities.

    Am enjoying being here

    I like the atmosphere of this college. It is very laid back and a tight knit community. The teachers still expect alot of you but they dont push you hard without reward.

    Am learning a lot

    If my high school and parents had not done such a good job in giving me a high education, this college would be teaching me alot. Currently it is teaching me how to work in their system and making me realize how much more responsibility you have to put on yourself to get work done. There isnt time to screw around like there is in high school.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of outdoor activities to do here in eagle county.

    Food and Dining

    they have a new cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    living in my own house.

    Tips for prospective students

    do not let anything stand in your way.

    In three sentences

    very helpful in helping me reach my career goals.

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Forget the Greek life, it's not here.

    What to do for fun

    Skiing, mountain biking, climbing, running, bike riding, etc.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in the dorms, but it seems pretty fun!

    Tips for prospective students

    Going to a school like CMC will save you money and will give you valuable life experience.

    In three sentences

    This is a great two year school for those interested in any outdoor activities associated with mountains, rivers, or desert. Not only does CMC offer a quality education with small classes, but you also have access to great outdoor adventure classes such as rock climbing, river travel, and various backpacking trips. I have loved attending this college, and it is REALLY affordable!

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Depending upon the campus the individual is planning on attending, there are a myriad of options for entertainment in order to have what is colloquially known as R and R (Rest and Relaxation) from the monotonous routine at work and from the demands of school. If the prospective student is in the Roaring Fork Valley, I would highly recommend the following attractions in Glenwood Springs, Colorado, which are popular among locals: Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, which lives up to its name by offering fun-packed adventures; the Hot Springs Pool and Lodge, an excellent resort that features the world's largest natural mineral hot springs pool; and the Glenwood Springs Community Center, which offers a plethora of options such as frolicking at the Aquatics Center, working out at the Fitness Center, climbing at the Climbing Wall, or skating with a partner at the Ice Rink.

    Food and Dining

    I have never tried the food at Colorado Mountain College because I ate at home, brought a lunch, or ate elsewhere. Therefore, I cannot review this aspect of life at Colorado Mountain College.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot review dormitory life at Colorado Mountain College because I lived in the district with my parents.

    Academic Rigor

    During my education at Colorado Mountain College, I have been very aware of the institution's high standards. Its professors and adjunct staff are very skilled and demand high standards of their pupils. They are very concerned with their students' academic welfare and constantly provide ways for the student to contact the instructor if help is needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If any members of the audience are God-fearing Christians, I would primarily recommend prayer and Bible study to establish a strong relationship with God in order to know his will for said individual's life. God has a plan for every human being who submits to His will, and it is His purpose that we have fulfilling lives. I would also forewarn the concerned individual that college is a great opportunity, but peer pressure can negatively influence one to do something that violates his or her principles and morals. A strong relationship with God is essential to prevent engaging in actions that violate His moral laws, and willing compliance with His laws and the authorities will bring blessing to our lives. Finally, I counsel the audience to challenge themselves and make every effort to excel in every aspect of academia through asking questions in class, healthy interaction with classmates, and doing more than is expected of oneself. I will conclude this with a short verse from the Holy Scriptures, found in Proverbs 3:5: Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. Godspeed, and may God be with you in your quest for more knowledge!

    In three sentences

    When I enrolled at Colorado Mountain College, I arrived with low expectations for the future because I had been facing academic difficulties in school. However, God had different plans for me in leading me to the College, and I gained a High School Equivalency Diploma (GED) in 2009 and an Adult High School diploma the following year. I culminated my learning experience at Colorado Mountain College when I graduated with an Associate of Sciences degree in Environmental Science in 2011.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In very safe locations and offer great campus security as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs offered, although I did not participate in any.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to get their preliminary credits done for cheap, and then transfer to a bigger university!

    Bang for the buck

    As I already mentioned, CMC offers transfer classes at one-fourth the price of a larger university! As a student who wants to go to graduate or medical school, I saved a ton of money by first going to CMC. All the campuses also offer a great scholarship program – I applied for and received multiple scholarships, and attended two years of school practically free.

    What to do for fun

    The Edwards campus is situated at the heart of the Vail valley. There is an endless list of outside activities all close by. In the winter: skiing, snowboarding, snowshoeing, snowmobiling, etc. ; in the summer: hiking, biking, rock-climbing, rafting, and more! The campus offers many classes oriented around these activities as well, including avalanche safety, introduction to rock-climbing, fly-fishing, and more! The Spring Valley campus is located high on a mountain, with gorgeous views of Mt. Sopris. There are hikes right out of the campus parking lots, an onsite disc golf course, various soccer fields, and a ropes course as well.

    Food and Dining

    The Edwards CMC campus recently added a new addition with a very nice, open sitting area and a small deli offering great soups, salads, and snacks. The Spring Valley campus has a cafeteria with good food; students can buy a meal plan at a very reasonable price. There is also a brand new coffee shop also reasonably priced.

    Dorm Life

    The Edwards campus does not offer onsite living, and although the Spring Valley campus does, I commuted to school each day for the classes I needed.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the courses are guaranteed to transfer, thus the curriculum needs to meet the standards of larger universities, such as CU and CSU. Because of the individualized attention students can get though, the classes seem much easier. For example, I might not have done so well in Physics if I could not ask questions and for help from my professor before and after class. Also, I heard from my friends at CU that Chemistry was extremely hard. In my class, the material was difficult, but because my professor truly cared about how much his students learned, he worked with the class until everyone understood – I definitely learned more than I would in a big class, laying a good foundation for my future studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend to every high school student who plans to obtain a higher education, to first go to CMC. You cannot beat getting all your preliminary credits done, at one fourth of the price. Almost all transfer as well!

    In three sentences

    Exceptional value. Going to CMC to first obtain my Associate's degree was a strategic option for me as a student pursuing a degree in neuroscience. I took high-level classes, including Physics and Chemistry, and I feel I received a better education than I would at a big university - really laying a good foundation for my future education.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The crime rate in the immediate area of the Vail-Edwards campus is pretty low. In fact, it's often joked about that the local police have little more to do than bust drunk drivers. As for safety directly on campus? I've never even been witness to the slightest fight or argument in the halls.

    Bang for the buck

    Starting your college education at a community college is a great idea to save a little money, and CMC certainly fits the bill. It takes thirteen months of living in the CMC area, and a form or two, to get in-district tuition, but it is so worth it! All said, though, even the out-of-state tuition isn't bad. The rent around the Vail-Edwards campus is a little crazy, though, and it isn't a residence campus (at least not yet).

    What to do for fun

    If you're planning on attending CMC at the Vail-Edwards Campus, being the outdoorsy type will be extremely helpful. This goes especially for those who are skiers or snowboarders during the winter months. If you aren't, expect to get a lot of strange looks and people asking why you're even in the area. I get asked that a lot, and I'm really tired of it. During the spring/summer/fall, there is some truly amazing hiking to be done.

    Food and Dining

    There is a brand new cafe at this campus, but I have yet to try it since I closes before my classes usually start. As for restaurants in there area, there are tons. I once listened to a bartender and a customer listing all the restaurants in Edwards, CO alone, and they came up with over 30 names! Everything from fast food to fine dining is available, but choices for cash-strapped students can seem a bit limited.

    Dorm Life

    The Vail-Edwards campus isn't currently a residence campus, so there are no dorms here. I have heard of plans to build some dorms here, though, so who knows in the future.

    Academic Rigor

    A fine school to begin at to prepare for a transfer to a larger university, or to get a degree to prepare you for a career in an array of different fields (eg. AAS in Culinary Arts). Classes are generally fairly small, too, so you can get personal attention if it's needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If there is one, big issue I have to complain about, it would be the fact that not all classes are available either online or at every campus. There are always enough classes available to get whatever degree you're going for (some degrees will force you to be at a particular campus). If you should look at the main CMC catalog, however, you might find a class you wish to take that will never be offered at your campus or online.

  • 10/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They did just start a chess club, and they do have annual events for different types of classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    The college has several different locations and sits in the heart of the Rockies, beautiful views, hiking and skiing in your off time.

    In three sentences

    Great education and availability however short on a variety of different classes. They have expanded to two types of bachelor degrees. They area a small community college but I have enjoyed the last two years and I am getting to graduate on May 3,2013, then I can transfer to a four year college.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Dorms are located on almost every campus in the Roaring Fork Valley.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a mix in the academic rigor of classes at CMC; whether your looking for a challenge or simply to learn something new, CMC has it!

    Tips for prospective students

    You don't have to choose your major right away! CMC classes are moderately priced and you get a lot out of them, so why not take a few chances?

    In three sentences

    A great place for students who are just beginning their journey through college. Colorado Mountain College has wonderful staff and students who work together to make the community around them a better place. Not only will you have a great time learning here, but you will get the attention you deserve as a student.

  • 06/24/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campuses are small, everyone knows each other, and I have always felt extremely safe walking across them alone at night.

    Greek Life

    CMC does not offer Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Different campuses offer different clubs. All 3 residential campuses offer a student government. Other clubs you may find are Outdoor Pursuits, chess club, trail running, and women's group. The college is also very open to the introduction of new clubs based on student interests.

    Great for these types of students

    The college offers several unique degrees including ski area operations, ski business (including ski/snowboard design & production), natural resource management, and outdoor recreation/leadership.

    Bang for the buck

    Colorado Mountain College is a great low-cost opportunity to receive a great education, especially for those living within their service district. The college also offers a wide variety of scholarships, which should be applied for by early to mid spring.

    What to do for fun

    Recreation is a huge draw for students at Colorado Mountain College. While activities among various campuses differ, hot springs, skiing, snowboarding, rock climbing, ice climbing, hiking, backbacking, backcountry skiing, camping, and snowshoeing are all extremely common activities. The three residential campuses also work hard to offer both on-campus and off-campus special activities including guest speakers, field trips, heritage celebrations, and movie nights along with sponsoring in-town activities such as swimming and ice skating.

    Food and Dining

    As I mentioned earlier, the Leadville campus is smaller than the Glenwood Springs campus, which means it offers a smaller diversity of foods. As with any cafeteria, you get tired of some of the options after awhile. The cooks are always open to new ideas however along with being very accommodating of special dietary needs.

    Dorm Life

    Three of the campuses feature residence halls- Leadville, Steamboat Springs, and Glenwood Springs. Each campus's res hall has a different environment. For example, the Leadville campuses has a smaller population and is considerably more relaxed than the Glenwood Springs campus. Depending on the population of the residence hall, you may have the option of living in a room by yourself. One of my favorite features of the residence hall was that each room has their own bathroom, so you are only sharing with your roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are more challenging than others, but the staff and faculty are always willing to work with you to find a solution to any obstacles that you may have while pursuing your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    CMC is an open admissions school with no admission fee, meaning you do not need a minimum SAT, ACT, other test score, or GPA to get accepted. However, if you are below college level in math, reading, or writing you may have to take remedial classes. Some programs, such as Professional Photography, have admission caps, meaning that they only accept a certain number of students each year, so it is best to apply early. The college also offers several visit days each year at their 3 residential campuses.

    In three sentences

    Colorado Mountain College is a great college that offers primarily certificates and associates degrees with limited Bachelors degrees. The college offers 11 campuses throughout the state along with a vast online class selection. An overall great school for those who enjoy small class sizes, personalized attention, and a multitude of recreational opportunities.

  • 03/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Have never, ever had a problem with safety at CMC! :-)

    Greek Life

    I have no idea what this means?

    Clubs and Activities

    I was never involved with any of these so I'm not able to elaborate on them too much - they are at CMC though!!

    Great for these types of students

    -Seeking to get their general studies out of the way, the smart and cheap way! -Wanting that personal connection and attention with other students and teachers. -More of a low-key college life. -Wanting to live in the Rocky Mountains :)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not anything unusual but the dorm campus is on a mountain - far from town, so that's not very convenient. There are always community activities going on, a great chance for you to get out there.

    Bang for the buck

    CMC is amazing with tuition and costs! Cheapest way to get your Associates, DEBT FREE!

    What to do for fun

    It's Colorado so there's always something to do! Warm weather: -Hiking -Biking -Rafting -Adventure Parks -Hot Springs Pool Cold weather: -Snowboarding -Skiing -Sledding -Rec Center School: -Clubs -Gym -Dances -Plays

    Food and Dining

    SV Campus: Cafeteria is closed to those who do NOT have a food pass (that is like the worse thing!) but other than that, there is a Starbucks and campus store which is convenient but high priced. Glenwood Campus: only vending machines available. However, there is a City Market 2 minutes away (still not as convenient as having a small store at the actual campus).

    Dorm Life

    I was never at the dorms so I can't say too much about the dorm life. I have seen and slept in the dorms - they were okay. From students I know who have been there, they say it's too isolated (Dorms for CMC are only found in Spring Valley) and so the dorms are up in a mountain, far from town. Also, I've heard that it can evolve a lot of drama, since the campus is not big. [remember, however, these are just things I've heard - i'm not personally witness to this]

    Academic Rigor

    Really great at this - teachers and staff will always try their best to help you!! They seriously have your best interest at heart, they want you to succeed. :)

    Tips for prospective students

    -Apply for scholarships! I cannot emphasize this enough because at CMC, you will always get something - it might not be a huge amount but you will get some type of help. APPLY! -Always ask for help from teachers. Since this is a community college, you can really get that one-on-one with teachers and they will help you! They truly care. Never hesitate to ask questions or ask for additional help. -As with any new college student, try to always stay ahead of the game. Once you fall behind, its so hard to get back up so just try your hardest to keep up. CMC is great with their willingness to help you but you have to do your part too!

    In three sentences

    CMC is very helpful in several ways; personal connections, financial help and supportive. This community college is not only cheap (especially to get your general ed's out of the way!) but it provides such a caring feeling - you don't seem like just another student. Great, great college!

  • 03/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working students Students who want to investigate college but are not sure what to study Older students who are continuing their education

    Bang for the buck

    So affordable!!

    What to do for fun

    Skiing and any other snow activity is right at your doorstep!

    Food and Dining

    Adequate for what you are looking for.

    Academic Rigor

    Coming from a homeschooling background I didn't know what to expect. Pre-cal was very challenging while English Comp 1 was more laid back.

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak with an advisor. They are so helpful when it comes to teacher recommendations.

    In three sentences

    Colorado Mountain College, Breckenridge Campus, has much to offer for a variety of degree programs. They are very helpful in advising as well. Also friendly to high school seniors who wish to get a head start on their college degree.