Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Columbia Basin College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/15/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Hopefully I get scholarships that way it can pay for my college. I did work but for right now I have to focus on school which obviously its way more important.

    Will enjoy being here

    I am really looking forward to attending this college. Knowing I will be the first one going to college out of my whole family it feels so great.

    Will learn a lot

    Knowing it has the medical field that I want to get into it's great also knwoing that it's close to home that way I can also rent a place for a while and for the holidays it can be easy to go back home.

  • 01/28/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Love this school. It's great to have teachers and other people know what they are doing. Also, I love the enviroment on the campus. It also has really great 2 year programs.

  • 10/30/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    CBC is great for people wanting to save money, people with not perfect academic records, and people wanting to ease into college life.

    Tips for prospective students

    You can register and pay for your classes online. You can even order your books from the bookstore online and they’ll hold them for you. After you sign up for classes, you have to take an FYI class before you begin. It’s a three hour class, three days in a row. You learn about educational planning, take a campus tour, and learn how to use ANGEL, which is an online program used to communicate with your teachers and check your grades.

    Bang for the buck

    Admission was not expensive. There was a $29 application fee. Then you have to take a placement test called the COMPASS test, which has a $50 fee. The cost of attending CBC is more affordable than a university. It costs around $1000 per quarter, depending on how many credits you take. I am able to drive there from home and not have to pay additional housing costs.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have been very happy so far. It is a small school. Because it is smaller than a university, I think it helps the transition into college life. The teachers I’ve had so far have been welcoming and helpful.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm a new student at Columbia Basin College. I am learning a lot. There are many different programs at CBC. I’m leaning toward the internet specialist degree in the computer science program.

  • 11/16/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who come from a small community.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm from california and out of state tution isn't that much. Out of state tution is almost the same tution as california community college!!!

    Will enjoy being here

    When I went to visit the campus I got a tour by two people currently attending the school. As i got the tour and learn about the school everyone was very friendly. They're also very passionate about their sports and activites.

    Will learn a lot

    Columbia Basin is a school where there aren't so many students in a classroom that they can actually learn your name. I feel the smaller the classroom size the easier it is to learn. There are less distractions.

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    i dont think that cbc has dorms

    In three sentences

    the collage is very friendly. also i was able to get tips and advice with out confusion. i would rate cbc a perfect 10 so far.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    people like to speed on campus but do yield to pedestrians, sidewalks are kept relatively clear. there have been notices about car theft/prowling on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    students from eastern washington or used to small towns, transfer students, first-time college students.

    Bang for the buck

    about $1500 a quarter, before paying for books. considering there are not really any other choices in the area, it's a good deal. if you're willing to move there are financial aid transfer options that make even an out-of-state college just as/more reasonably priced, too.

    What to do for fun

    try to determine which teachers harbor feelings of bitterness towards administration from simply listening to their lectures. oh, and get a friend with a boat because the river is amazing.

    Food and Dining

    there is a cafe-style eatery on campus with decent, reasonably priced food and a limited menu. a 5-10 minute drive is required for a few more options, i.e. fast food.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms and would not recommend living nearby. apartments in the tri-cities are almost as high as the seattle area.

    Academic Rigor

    it is possible to float your way through almost any class, except for math and sciences.

    Tips for prospective students

    financial aid office does not flat-out tell you what you need to do: part of college is figuring that out on your own. vigilance! and parking before 11am is almost impossible to find. make sure you leave 30+ minutes early for those first couple weeks.

    In three sentences

    good school for students stuck in eastern washington, good choice of programs, and decent financial aid opportunities. no over-sized classes, you can actually get to know your professors and teachers.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the security guards take thing seriously and are not afraid to take matters to the police or any other form of badge.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are tons of clubs at columbia basin college that can help any student do some good for the community.

    Great for these types of students

    at columbia basin college it is a great place for high school kids to start off. then transfer to a four year college.

    Bang for the buck

    at columbia basin college you get to go to the games for free when there is a home game. you can get into any musical for free most of the time.

    What to do for fun

    things that you can do for fun are going to a sport's game. columbia basin college is very good at sports musical and all around. there is also a mall about twenty minuets away.

    Food and Dining

    there is a cafe inside of the hub. they serve breakfast, lunch plus there is a tully's.

    Dorm Life

    there are not really dorms at cbc.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers are strong on the fact that you pass and they want to see you succeed. most of the teachers are very helpful and friendly if u need any help.

    Tips for prospective students

    be ready to learn in a fast paced environment. there is homework but there is also tons of hands on experience. at columbia basin college there are over 1,000 or more classes.

    In three sentences

    columbia basin college is a great place to receive education for everybody. the teacher's are fun, fair and enjoy teaching the students around them. at columbia basin college you will learn a lot and have great memories.

  • 03/13/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the campus is within a few blocks of the main drag of pasco, with many choices for food.

    Dorm Life

    this school doesn't have dorms, as far as i'm aware.

    Academic Rigor

    it's a good school if you're not quite ready to jump into university life, or if you weren't the greatest student in high school.

    In three sentences

    it's a good campus with easy access to everything, including bus lines. the campus is open and simple to navigate. the students and faculty are friendly and helpful.

  • 04/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    CBC promotes campus safety strongly and they are up to date about what is happening in and around the campus. Our institution offers updates via text messaging, so whenever there is a school closure, sex offender notice, incidents, etc. they notify as soon as possible. As a student I feel safe being at CBC

    Greek Life

    We do not offer a greek life at CBC

    Clubs and Activities

    We offer a variety of clubs, most important though CBC is very open about making your own club as long as its a legitimate purpose and they help you out in creating your own club, so do not be afraid to ask.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking for a place where its peaceful, adventurous, full of life and are seeking to accomplish a lot, CBC is the right place for you

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year at the HUB we have a cultural event that takes place in which different people from different cultures bring food and dance and just have a great time. The 2 years at CBC i have been here, I've gone each year and they are a blast.

    Bang for the buck

    CBC offers a lot of school activities that are fun for the students, we have movie nights at cbc, they also rent out ice rinks so that CBC students can skate free, we also have comedians that come each year and perform at the HUB, we also offer Casino nights (monopoly money) that bring out the best dealers in town for a night and we also offer sports activities.

    What to do for fun

    CBC is located in Pasco Washington and there are many fun things to do such as bowling, movie theater, laser tag, paint balling, there are about 10 different local parks that you can just go ride your bike or hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    We have the Hawk Union Building also known as the HUB, which has a cafeteria and a store that offers espresso and many different food types such as breakfast and lunch. The food here is kind of pricey, but you will get your moneys worth.

    Dorm Life

    As of right now CBC does not offer dorms, but they are willing to help and seek for housing around the area that is affordable.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at CBC have a connection with the students that maybe no other college may have due to small class sizes, compared to a different institution you have that one on one talk with your professor and they are very accessible and work around your schedule just so they can meet with you. All departments at CBC are top notch compared to other community colleges because they hire professors that actually care about the subject they teach.

    Tips for prospective students

    Suggestions about CBC is go and inform yourself about different types of scholarships and programs that are helpful to accomplishing your goals. CBC has a lot of resources that are not taken advantage of because students do not seek for that help. They are willing to help the student.

    In three sentences

    Columbia Basin College is a great start off school to attend if you are looking to get a great education for the lowest amount of money spent on tuition. It's known just to get a two year degree, but has progressed to offering their first Undergraduate program in Applied Science and Applied management for an affordable price. CBC has great faculty and advisers because they actually care about the students future and try anything they can to fulfill the students dream.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    free program you sign up for text message alerts

    Greek Life

    NO :(

    Clubs and Activities

    TOO MANY TO NAME!

    Great for these types of students

    EVERYONE!!

    Bang for the buck

    You receive an amazing education and an awesome environment!! there is a University linked to this college which allows you to stay here and enjoy the small classes.

    What to do for fun

    You can go to the river, long boarding, paddle boarding, roller skating, soccer, golf, anything!!

    Food and Dining

    All food locations are close to the campus. there are about 12 restaurants about a mile away from campus

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at CBC because it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are friendly and helpful! The learning experience is fun and the environment is amazing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Give school 100%!! Do not procrastinate! Enjoy every minute of college it is an amazing experience.

    In three sentences

    Small classes help you have 1 on 1 with teachers. CBC has amazing courses. Everyone motivates each other to do well.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security at CBC is well maintained. Text alerts are available for emergencies, classes with precautions take time to inform students about such precautions and the guards are nice and available during all CBC hours.

    Greek Life

    Not necessarily a greek life, but students can join the alumni and student board if wanted.

    Clubs and Activities

    The athletic clubs are decent and have won NWACC championships this year and previous years in many sports. Many clubs are available for a wide variety of students.

    Great for these types of students

    Basically applies to any and every type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I dont recall and unusual traditions on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The price isn't bad considering all that is available. Compared to other colleges, CBC is a good place to drop some cash and get your education furthered.

    What to do for fun

    The gym is a decent sized gym and available to work out in at multiple hours each day. The schedule varies depending on the school and holidays.

    Food and Dining

    The Hawk Nest provides lunch and breakfast daily and an expresso stand all at decent prices. There is also a gas station with a Blimpies and Coffee Shop across the street for access to other food options.

    Dorm Life

    CBC doesn't offer dorm life but the Pasco Community offers some nice housing development and Apartments within the area near campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the class one takes depends on the level of academic rigor. Also the student needs to be aware that time out side of the class room is needed to accomplish an adequate grade in mostly any courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get acquainted well with the counselors. They do know what they are talking about and can offer help with each and every degree courses you are pursuing to take. Take classes you are interested in or you will not do very well in the class.

    In three sentences

    Columbia Basin College is a great academic school at the community college level. Offering wide varieties of sports and clubs, and dedicated professors; CBC is right for nearly every type of student. With scholarships and financial aid available, CBC is also price efficient.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    On the campus itself, dining is okay. But the Pasco community offers lots of good cultured food!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, but there are plenty of affordable apartments close to campus.

    Academic Rigor

    For the most part, you won't encounter classes any harder than your typical high school AP class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your counselors and administrators, they are a huge help. Also be sure to keep up on registration dates, classes fill up quick.

    In three sentences

    Columbia Basin College is a spectacular community college located in a great area. There are lots of student resources available, and provides large class sizes. The big university feel with out the high tuition costs!

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are a very safe camus and keep you updated on campus security via email.

    Greek Life

    I don't know to much about Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    The have various clubs and like I said they have tons of activities to keep you entertained and busy.

    Great for these types of students

    Stay at home moms returning to school. Students not sure about what their future holds and are just starting out.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The hub is a great place to meet and greet people of various ages as well as, attend casino night, comedy night and dances.

    Bang for the buck

    I really am glad I decided to return to school after all these years. The only problem I am having is paying for this summer quarter. My financial aid didn't come through for this quarter, so I may have to postpone finishing up my AA another quarter.

    What to do for fun

    Attend Plays and sports events at CBC, they also have various other activities to keep you involved and entertained.

    Food and Dining

    The food there isn't to bad, actually quite good.

    Dorm Life

    I live with my daughter so no dorm life for me.

    Academic Rigor

    Its been wonderful meeting new students of various different ages and the teachers are wonderful.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest to start at CBC then you could transfer later to a University. Also, get to know the financial aid personnel, so there is no discrepancies in the amounts and dates of your financial aid awards.

    In three sentences

    I think Columbia Basin College is a great place to start in your path of getting an Education. It is also a great place if you are returning to school after 20 years.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 55

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    A Stepping Stone In The Right Direction. A Great Community College To Attend. Wonderful Staff/Educators.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Compared to universities the price of tuition at Columbia Basin College is awesome.

    What to do for fun

    There are a number of different clubs and activities. A lot of community events are held at Columbia Basin College.

    Food and Dining

    Great place to grab some food and study called the Hub.

    Academic Rigor

    High percentage of students finish their degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure and apply for classes early. Get with a counselor to figure out whats best for you. Look for all opportunities to get scholarships or extra help with money.

    In three sentences

    Great local community college.A very beautiful campus.They offer a variety of different programs fit for anyone.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am confident in campus safety. There is a communication you can sign up for that will send you a text or email if there is an emergency or cancellation. This is a very convenient way to receive information about your safety and weather safety as well. One of my teachers had an incident she described in class about a stranger in the fitness center. He harassed her, and she made a call to the campus security on her walkie talkie. Campus security escorted the trouble maker off campus and stayed with her the rest of the evening to ensure that he wouldn't be a problem any longer. They even walked her to her car. She said she really felt safe with the campus security. Her faith instilled mine that if there were a problem at CBC, there would be someone to help you feel most comfortable or get you out of the situation.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities scene at CBC isn't too huge unless you're into Japanese Club or Phi Theta Kappa. There are plenty of clubs to choose from, but the smaller ones sometimes have a hard time running. If you're really pro-active, start your own club! CBC needs better clubs and all the students on campus can benefit from intermingling. Sometimes, there are preshowings of movies in theatres and cool opportunities like that for students. You are required to check your student email, and this is where they send information about this type of thing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My favorite place on campus is the Courtyard in the Math/Science S building. It is an indoor sanctuary for plants and wildlife funded by donations--the names engraved in the stone flooring of the giant open study area. There are two water features which allow the rooms to have a slight humidity, and the trickling of the water allows me to think well. I spent many hours in this area studying for not only my math and science classes, but any classes I had during my time at CBC. It can be crowded during the day, but in the evening hours before it closes, there is usually peace and quiet.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition at CBC is definitely reasonable compared to attending a four year institution for similar classes (prereqs). Some classes were painfully simple, mostly the online ones. However, all my classes on campus were taught my professors who knew what they were talking about and happy to help with any questions. Classes were engaging and interesting--teachers encourage students to share their thoughts and participate in class discussion.

    What to do for fun

    In the Tri-Cities, there isn't a ton to do other than random festivals during the year (like Cool Desert Nights, Renaissance Fair, Boat Races, Farmer's Market, etc). There are plenty of bars and a few places you can go for dancing if you're into that sort of thing. The Columbia River is fun for boating, jetskiing, and for some areas, swimming or fishing.

    Food and Dining

    I only ever ate in our single dining area (the HUB's Hawk Nest/Cafe) once or twice, and it wasn't too bad. The coffee is Tully's. There are also festivals held around campus such as Hawk Fest, where they serve free food.

    Dorm Life

    As it is a community college there aren't dorms; however, there are rumors of converting to a 4-year college and building college apartments/housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Online classes at CBC are extremely easy unless you take math. I'm not sure if there are science classes offered online, but I imagine those might not be as easy either. However, if you take a communications/humanities, etc, class online, they are usually extremely simple. On campus classes may be more difficult, but they allow you to engage with your surroundings better. I took online courses and night classes my first year of CBC. In night classes, there are usually people who work during the day and attend at night to further their education for their job or to get a better job. The second year, I switched to the evening shift at a different job in order to attend day classes. In day classes, you mostly find younger students, but there are people of all ages in your classes. People who have widsom and can share interesting experiences. The academic rigor in the day classes will be a bit easier to pick up on with certain study tricks like flash cards (which were a miracle for me), and repetition. The in-class learning allows you to apply that to your studying outside of the classroom. Either way, you are learning what your classes are teaching you because the concepts are easy to pick up on since you choose what you are learning. However, with all colleges, most classes require a ton of reading.

    Tips for prospective students

    At CBC you can get several degrees, mostly two year degrees. But through Heritage University you can now get your Bachelor's Degree. They also have the best Nursing and Dental Hygienist programs for community colleges on our side of the state. My co-worker went through the nursing program at Yakima Valley Community College and she said she wouldn't recommend it to anyone. There are also many programs and resources on campus to help you be successful, such as the TRiO (Student Support Services) and CAMP (College Assistant Migrant Program) which help many students but a limited number, so apply early for these! As with any college, attendance is important in order to be successful, as there are date changes and special details you may only get during class. Not all professors are hip in their technology so expect to help them out once in a while, and rely on paperwork for certain classes. The biggest complaint I think students have is parking. The best advice for this is to find a buddy to carpool with. Carpool parking is free, and allows you the best spots on campus with 80-90% availability, instead of hiking across campus from the hotels across the street or overflow parking (which isn't a big deal to me either, though this is what I hear most). Overall, CBC didn't only allow me to complete my first two years in the comfort of home, for a fraction of a university's tuition, but also, gave me a better insight to the world. There are many people at CBC who attend or teach for a wide variety of reasons, and you can learn something from all of them.

    In three sentences

    Appropriate for anyone who intends on pursuing higher education, finding a better paying job, or learning for personal enrichment. CBC is just that, a community college, what you make of it is very important to a good experience here. The professors here care about you and the students are pretty easy going.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is present during the day and can usually be seen patrolling the parking lots and campus buildings.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports teams, various clubs, orchestra.

    Great for these types of students

    Adult students returning to further their career or change careers.

    Bang for the buck

    CBC is a great school to gain your basic college-level courses if you plan to transfer to a four-year college. Their credits transfer to most schools, and the tuition is reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    CBC offers some sports teams, musical concerts, and drama productions. There are farmers markets nearby, the Columbia River is close for those who enjoy water sports, and Spokane, Portland, and Seattle are less than 4 hours away.

    Food and Dining

    There are no dorms available. All students must live off campus. No rating is required.

    Academic Rigor

    The demands put on students vary by class and subject, but I believe the homework, projects, and studying for tests and exams take quite a bit of time. The subject matter is not overly difficult, just be prepared to study. There is a tutor center for additional help studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check RateMyProfessors.com to investigate potential professors, and if possible, ask current students about those professors. Register for classes as early as possible so you don't miss a class you need as it may only be offered one or two quarters per year. The tutor center is open for your use - take advantage of it.

    In three sentences

    Columbia Basin College offers classes at a wide variety of times during the day and evening, as well as online classes. The campus is fairly easy to navigate, and the classrooms are usually located in the same buildings, depending on subject. Most of the professors are willing to help their students, and the tuition cost is very reasonable.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of sports events, and plays!!!

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria, they really do have great food.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    They have very good academic programs. Teachers are very good at grading your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only thing I hate, is parking. It is awful, so if you don't want to deal with the chaos of finding a parking place, be super early.

    In three sentences

    Columbia Basin College is a good college. I feel very relaxed there, everything is very mellow. It is also close to my home, which is what makes it convenient for me.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are emergency buttons all over campus, several students walking around at all times and numerous security officers walking around during class and office hours to ensure safety and rule enforcement.

    Greek Life

    We don't have any greek opportunities.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you are interested there are numerous ways to get involved around campus. I personally have only taken part in a Red Cross blood drive but I see active campaigns, clubs and student involvement opportunities on a daily basis.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone! CBC students are people of all ages, personalities, ethnicities and walks of life.

    Bang for the buck

    Very inexpensive compared to university tuition fees with the same education.

    What to do for fun

    Tour the Tri-City area. We are famous for our wine country, sunsets and parks! You are also only a few short hours away from a beach, Seattle, Portland and several other popular places.

    Food and Dining

    The Hub has a Starbucks and kitchen inside that serves some of the best food with countless options to fit all budgets. I personally recommend the grilled chicken sandwich with bacon on a whole wheat bun and lettuce with tater tots on the side and extra mayo...YUM!

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with a counselor to chart out your path at CBC. While you in the office also ask how you can obtain financial aid and scholarships. If you come across any trouble or are confused go to your professor, the resource center or a lab to seek additional help.

    In three sentences

    CBC is an under rated college that provides an excellent education with incredible professors, challenging curriculum and the resources to succeed! Aside from the superb education, it is also EXTREMELY affordable. An all around smart experience literally and figuratively.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is huge initiative here. In fact, not only does the school website contain information about the security office (#, personnel, types of crimes) but also of past crime counts by the books over the last few years (statistics such as car theft, missing or stolen ID cards, etc) in order to give people a better understanding of crime around them and how they may implement methods in curbing/stopping crime altogether in campus. It has proven to be a powerful method here, and statistics show drops in related crimes in the area when implemented. Sometimes I feel safer on campus then my own neighborhood, and that's great. It's my home away from home after all.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities are sponsored by Columbia Basin should they have a distinct attitude to invite other members and be locally active! Special groups (such as the Latino Pride) are even given access to set up events in major traffic areas of the school in order to spread their message or convince others to join up!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Art building is a definite must-see on campus! On the outside is a simple rectangular shape of stone, but as you delve further in you find a labyrinth of internal classrooms, art galleries, studies of classical and jazz music, several floors and much more! Couple that with an ivy growing on the sides and statues and stone benches (not found anywhere else on campus) and you have an experience notably missing anywhere else!

    What to do for fun

    The Hub, as it's known to be called, is a great center of consistent activity ranging from comedians to local club bands or even recreational activities such as pool. Other art/entertainment groups preform live in the uniquely built art building, which is soundproofed in order to not disturb the locally kept habitat of rabbits and quail. And of course, the Library is a consistent source of educationally sound entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    The staff at Columbia Basin have not only taken it upon themselves to find fun healthier ways to feed teens and other adults, they understand the necessity of balance. My last quarter had homemade french fries and freshly tossed salad as the top sold options, yet to workers continue to set up even more unique ways (some involving granola as a catalyst) for diners to spend their hard earned cash.

    Dorm Life

    Being the college that it is, a dorm life is almost impossible save close apartments. However, the atmosphere in distinct areas such as The Hub feels as neighborly and exciting as any.

    Academic Rigor

    The staff here doesn't live paycheck to paycheck. Instead; it takes use of all the time available in order to teach each lesson in a unique format suitable for students. The free secondary programs established here also helps set up a work friendly environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to utilize the buy-back function of the bookstore, where you can receive much of the money back from your old textbooks. This works for 3 days after the start of the new quarter.

    In three sentences

    Columbia Basin College is easily one of the top tier community colleges. A campus that is based around the integrity, safety and education of it's many students stands out in the desert region of Washington., and a staff that truly cares about it's students. In short, a great place to be.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is perfectly secure and they even have monitors and machines outside for students who attend classes at night and are to uncomfortable to walk to their car alone. A student will just need to locate one and press the button and call for an escort.

    Greek Life

    There isn't any greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not in any club so I'll rate this as neutral. From what I've seen though, clubs seem to be fun.

    Great for these types of students

    The college is perfect for students who want to save money before attending a university or for students who didn't so well in high school and want to use this as a stepping stone for admissions. Just study hard you'll do fine.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As a freshman in my first quarter, I can't say I know of any traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is worth paying for if you attend class. The academics are top notch so what you learn is definitely worth the price.

    What to do for fun

    CBC offers many clubs and sports you can join. You'll never be bored here if you try to make it fun.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't yet tried the food, so I'll rate it neutral. When I see other students eating, they seem to enjoy it though.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus housing so I can't say anything for dorm life. Students need to rent an apartment or stay with their parents. Depending on if you're an out of state student or in state,.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are more top notch then what people make them out to be. Just make sure to get good professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    There's not much to say for prospective students other then if you are paying tuition yourself and you don't have financial aid, apply for the Student Tuition Easy Payment Program, otherwise known as (STEPP). It allows students to pay tuition in increments of 2. 1/3 of it both times. Also, don't be afraid to ask your professors for help. Since classes are smaller, they have more time for individual needs.

    In three sentences

    Columbia Basin College is a community college based in Pasco, Washington and is designed to help students transfer to larger research universities or get into 1-2 year programs that offer certificates for workforce. The campus is small compared to most colleges, but it also has all the necessary resources to help students succeed. I rate CBC so far a 7/10.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. I feel very comfortable walking around the campus. If there are any problems, I can easily call security.

    Clubs and Activities

    Born This Way Alliance-Wonderful club! Everyone is the club is friendly. ASCBC-A great way to help out the school.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap tuition. Great place to start out. I can afford to pay for my own tuition myself.

    What to do for fun

    Go downstairs in the hub! There is a lot to do there. You could also explore the campus or maybe even join a club!

    Food and Dining

    The food offered in the HUB isn't that good. Prices have increased for food and it just isn't worth it. If you want to eat something between classes, I suggest eating out.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Columbia basin College.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at CBC is excellent. The math department is a little weak, but that is the only downfall. The other departments excel.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest looking over the website and reading important topics on the site before applying for anything. Be sure to pick up a map and ask questions in the H building(also known as the HUB).

    In three sentences

    Columbia Basin College is a great starting school. The staff there is helpful, it is easy to get around, the campus is clean, and the tuition is pretty cheap. I rate this school an 8/10 so far.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security patrol the premises at all times

    What to do for fun

    Have the river near by great during spring and summer, have lots of entertainment, theaters, mall, sports center and clubs

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be a challenge sometimes but there is always someone there that can help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just register and get a great education at the best price

    In three sentences

    Very Helpful to its students through the help of staff and teachers. Strive to improve the education of all with easy access to many types of education. enjoyable environment in and out side the classroom.

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    there really isn't any real places to get food. just snack like stuff.

    Dorm Life

    this college is all off-campus living.

    Tips for prospective students

    ask questions no matter how stupid you think they are. check out the college and make sure it is what you want. also make sure all your credits transfer to the 4 year university.

    In three sentences

    so far i think this college is wonderful. everyone has been very helpful and the teachers are great.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hang out with friends and attend college events sports clubs etc

    Food and Dining

    they are starting to kick up the healthy food selections

    Dorm Life

    Columbia basin does not have dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are a new student visit the campus before your classes start even though the campus isn't big you can get confused on where to go.

    In three sentences

    all the staff are helpful and nice. professors are willing to work with you and the campus is always clean

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 26 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafe were yoou can get something small to eat.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    In three sentences

    They are willing to help the community get a better education. An example is they provide programs like running start to help students get ahead in their education.

  • 10/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Finicial Aid is helpful if you apply. Books are always expensive if you buy from the campus book store, obviously. Usually tuition for 15 credits is $2000, that for one quarter.

    What to do for fun

    They have free movie nights during each quarter on campus. There's the river, and the greatest movie theatre is just a little ways down the highway.

    Food and Dining

    Do not eat in the HUB. Barf!!

    Dorm Life

    Saddly, CBC is only a community college so no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It changes from student to student. What's easy for some may be difficult for others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Put in the effort, if you don't the teachers will notice and you will not pass.

    In three sentences

    In 3 sentences, CBC is a good 2-year college. The teachers are very helpful and obviously care about their students, as long as the student puts in the effort. Also there is a variety of classes to chose from.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Columbia basin College is great for students who are on a really tight budget,who barely graduated high school and older students who are going back to school after being in the workforce for a couple of years.

    What to do for fun

    They offer many activities for fun like clubs,sport,dances and holiday activities

    Food and Dining

    They're food offerings are delicious not just some average cafeteria food ,they have capable chefs that know what thy are doing and it is all fresh and delicious.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms it is a community college,but there are many students looking for roommates in near by locations.

    Academic Rigor

    So far all my professor's are great at teaching and are very capable teachers.they come up with challenging but fun curriculum that will get the brain thinking and leave you wanting to come back and learn more.

    Tips for prospective students

    try to get to know your professors and try buying your books online.

    In three sentences

    I rate Columbia basin college as a 9 out of ten.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 29 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is are security guards roaming around campus for college safety

    Greek Life

    no Greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activies on and off campus

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a building on campus called the P building or know as a performing arts building. The building sharp is unusual than the other building. Also, don't say or touch anything because if you do the campus security or a staff member will remove them, on campus there is a family of rabbit like to hop to one place to another place on campus. Also there is a squirrel on campus just like to climb trees.

    Bang for the buck

    You can pay school supplies at the dollar store or big lots stores for less than walmart or office supplies stores. Also you can some of your school supplies at the bookstore on campus if your in a hurry.

    What to do for fun

    There is free movie night that the student body put up. There is free play that the performing arts classes put up. You can go see a school sport games. But some college student enjoy the local life. Like there are about 4 movie theater around the tri-cities area and there would be a movie playing until 7 pm or a midnight preview or premiere of a movies. also there are many thing you can do in the tri-cities.

    Food and Dining

    The foods are good, but the cost is a cent less than any of the fast food chains. There are plenty of dining area, but it does get crowed between classes.

    Dorm Life

    There are no Dormitary on or near campus, but there are apartments you can rent or lease that is about 5 to 10 mile from campus.

    Academic Rigor

    They are only a 2 year college and just started to add a bachelor degree program in science, but not else yet, stay tune to hear what other bachelor degree program they have added. Also, this college is quarterly instead of semester, and the summer quarter are short more like 8-weeks, if you are planning to take classes in the summer time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Carry a map of the campus. Read the reader board for news and tips. Ask for help, we are kind, helpful, and we don't bite. :) Do your courseworks and your degree study at the same, so you can graduate with your degree.

    In three sentences

    A Green College

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is good. There is a security guard always on the look out!

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs for students with a variety of an imagination. You can also make your on club!

    Great for these types of students

    CBC is great for all!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none to my knowledge.

    Bang for the buck

    CBC has great programs and opportunities for minority students and others. I was in the CAMP program and the ad visors did such a great job to get me on my feet and to feel comfortable in the college environment, it was nothing like high school and is definitely hard. They took the right moves to help me get by with my first year of college and i received a great GPA thanks to their help!

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs one can join such as cheer leading club, Wrestling club, Latino culture club, and much more! Also, the events are great! Last week we had an ice skating event for free!

    Food and Dining

    They have a small lunch dinner with good food, it is big enough for the proportion of students that attend CBC.

    Dorm Life

    None applicable.

    Academic Rigor

    Great academic rigor .

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend for them to choose CBC because it is a great way to help incoming freshman to get use to college. Definitely come prepared to have a collage mind set.

    In three sentences

    Columbia Basin College is a great choice to start at because it is a perfect size and the environment here is great! The faculty are nice, the campus is clean all the time, and tuition is affordable. Also, all of the workers such as, Financial Aid office, Student Employment, etc. are all very helpful!

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety does a rather good job patrolling the campus and monitoring student behavior and activity.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life on this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are an array of clubs that range on the major interested in, for example, students on the nursing degree path have the option of joining the Associated Student Nurses club which contributes to the learning process of nursing students by getting them involved with hospitals and gaining experience in the nursing field.

    Great for these types of students

    Columbia Basin College is perfect for the type of students wanting to gain a ravishing education, all while saving money. Also, perfect for students that don't have the opportunity to attend college because of expenses, grades or whatever the reason may be.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Location is slightly awkward, due to the fact that it's located next to the airport in Pasco, Wa.

    What to do for fun

    The ASCBC, which is commonly known as the ASB, gives students opportunities to participate in group activities, such as ice skating and bowling. They also give students discounts to movie theaters, fast food restaurants, and local theater promotions.

    Food and Dining

    The only place to eat on campus is located in the HUB (Hawk Union Building) and the prices are rather expensive and high priced for food and other edible resources. Aside from the expense, the food is delicious.

    Dorm Life

    There are not dorms on this community college campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the classes taken, the academic rigorousness can vary from professor and academic level such as 100 level courses and above. With my personal experience, the only struggle I had was with the computer system they had, which interfered with class assignments and class scheduling.

    Tips for prospective students

    Going to a community college has it's perks, however, it lacks in motivating students to become more active in ASB or other student organizations that would be easier to access in a University setting. Also, being able to contact a counselor is another struggle, especially when they will only meet with a student on 'emergency terms.'

    In three sentences

    Columbia Basin College has the perfect tranquility of a college university and also a community college. It's resources given provides many students with opportunities, such as multiple scholarships and housing situations for those in need.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security on campus. We have a special campus safety day where everyone can input the CBC security office number into their phones, it is also online. I have never heard of anything bad happening on campus.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa is a club. We do not have an established Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    CAMP program, Japanese Culture Club, Latino Culture Club, Creative Writing Club, History Club, Phi Theta Kappa Club, and many more!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone living in the Tri-Cities or surrounding areas. I have classmates from Sunnyside, Mattawa, and Oregon come all the way down to this school. People from Running Start to anyone wanting to come back to school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The ASCBC does cool things such as free bowling, free movies tickets, free ice skating, free popcorn and candy on special days. We have had a white-out dance and a music fest called Hawk Fest. Sweet stuff. Plus, the Atrium is an inside greenhouse filled with amazing plants that would never grow outside. There is a small stream, so you can hear the water while you study. It's my favorite place on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are wanting to transfer and are tight on money, this is the way to go. You need about $1500 per quarter plus books which can be around $400. Then it's three quarters per year. Schools like the UW and WSU will honor your credits but they were less expensive.

    What to do for fun

    We have all the sports and an awesome gym. Plus, like I said before, the observatory is for CBC. This year, the planetarium was completed which means we can watch cool movies in a dome room. We also have all the cool activities of the Tri-Cites: hiking, biking, boating, etc.

    Food and Dining

    We have all the fast food restaurant down-town and we have a cafeteria in the HUB. It's not too pricey, and the food is good. The nice ladies there once fed our club.

    Dorm Life

    Community college, no dorms, sorry.

    Academic Rigor

    Use ratemyproffesors.com to check out your teachers before you register. The classes are posted weeks in advance so you can look at times and teachers. It is worth you time to get a teacher that fits you needs. However, my experience has been great. Math is famous at CBC for being time-consuming, and yes, it is. I spent about two hours every night working on math homework. Make sure work and family are able to make a little sacrifice for this course. My other courses have been difficult, but there is nothing that is impossible. Be willing to contact your teachers via email, ask questions in class, and be on time for assignments. If working parents can do this, you can too!

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the CBC Foundation scholarship due February 21st. If you are a hard-worker, chances are you can get one. Make sure to register the first day available, thus, always check the CBC calendar. They have some cool classes such as Cardio Kickboxing and Lord of the Rings. Also, always arrive early for class at CBC. Plan to arrive twenty minutes before your first class, so you can find parking!

    In three sentences

    People often look down on community college, yet they couldn't be more wrong about Columbia Basin College. Not only is the campus set up with new technology and facilities, but it has unique features like an observatory, a planetarium, and the Atrium, where you can study surrounded by water and plants. As for the classes, we have professors from schools such as UCLA.

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always feel safe on campus! With 24-hr security on guard, they are just a call away in case of an emergency or even something as simple as a jump start, campus security is always there. Also, don't feel safe at night to walk to your car? No problem give security a call and they will be glad to walk you out to your car no questions asked!

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities on campus, at least that I'm aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    CBC is always active with clubs and activities! If there isn't a club out there for you just rally up a few friends, take the club to ASCBC, and start getting more people involved in your newly started club!

    Great for these types of students

    If you are an indecisive person who doesn't know what to major in yet CBC can help you on the road to success helping you figure out what schools are out there that best fits your interests.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The arts building is the only building on campus that is completely mad of stone wall; very interesting building if you ask me.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a great campus, don't get me wrong, but since the campus doesn't offer housing and a majority of students are commuting everyday it would be nice if tuition wasn't so expensive, especially since in the past year tuition has gone up 16%.

    What to do for fun

    Campus Clubs are a great way to have fun. As for me after a long day of studying I enjoy participating in CBC's jazz band to end a day more relaxing! Oh and traveling is a real bonus when the band gets booked for tours!

    Food and Dining

    CBC offers cafeteria where food is handmade and if desired fresh off the skillet. The only thing is price on the food may be a little too pricing, well for me at least.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms on campus. As for me I commute on a 45-60min drive daily from a nearby town.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your interest in study, CBC courses can be rigorous but still manageable to the point of completion and if you really dedicate your time excelling with a 4.0 GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be shy, get involved and stay active!

    In three sentences

    Columbia Basin College is a great college to get to know a variety of people due to it being a commuters college. With so many campus resources it is easy to make friends. Also with so many clubs available it is so easy to get involved!

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There has only been one incident on Campus in the past 25 years, someone tried to break into a car about 10 years ago, since then there has been no incidents. There are cameras all around Campus, as well as in the parking lots, and a security building that is on a 24 hour watch. The campus is a very safe place for all students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are ALWAYS new clubs and activities around school, anyone can join. I also believe anyone can start clubs of their own around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    My favorite place on campus is the Atrium. Its a huge room full of living plants, trees, and ponds. In this room their are a bunch of tables and benches set up for students to socialize or to come and study. Also many of the newer buildings on campus are very energy efficient, they are green.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to join around school, students will post posters around campus that way students can get involved, In the H building there's normally a daily skit that students can watch. There is a game room with air hockey and a ping pong table. There is never a dull moment on campus, students can always find a way to entertain themselves.

    Food and Dining

    The college has a building which provides daily entertainment and food, Its the H building, but most students call it the Hub. The food in this building is pretty good, but fairly expensive. There is also a Starbucks offered in this building.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus. However, there are some great apartments not to far from the school on Road 68 in Pasco. There are a couple different apartment complexes on this road which are about five minutes from the school. The apartments are surrounded by grocery stores, fast food, parks, a movie theater, and many restaurants.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are going to be harder than others, there are classes that will push students; however, there are classes that will seem really easy. I think Columbia Basin has many great Professors that are very concerned about their students futures, they will do whatever it takes to prepare everyone for their careers and their futures.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you study for your Compass Test, this is a placement test for math, reading, and writing. Also try to sit down with a councilor before classes start, they will help you set up a plan for your future. This way you know what classes you will need to take for your Major. Even if a student is uncertain what they want to do, a councilor will still help so you can understand all the classes around campus.

    In three sentences

    Columbia Basin College is a very well rounded community for college students. The school offers many opportunities for its students, including clubs, sports, many new academics, and even new bachelors programs. The school is also very helpful with students who are wanting to transfer in order to continue their education.

  • 02/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school definitely provides fun things to do like dances, movie nights, and out of town trips such as skiing. Off campus there is bowling, dancing, ice-skating, roller-bladding, and so much more.

    Food and Dining

    There are many varieties of dining around the school. There is a lounge and cafeteria there in the school. If you leave campus there are different restaurants around the area that you can go to.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home, so it's a lot easier and cheaper for me. I don't have to worry about spending half my time trying to earn money to be able to live in a dorm or to pay for things I need. The school doesn't have on-campus living so all the students live either near the school or at home.

    Academic Rigor

    It has security there so that's very good on that part. The instructor's are usually good at keeping track of your academic success in the class. They are also very good at working with you and whatever activities that might interfere with you attending class.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best thing I did was to go there before transferring to a university so that I will have my AA degree. It's a lot cheaper so it definitely helps a lot to take the little classes you need and to slowly work towards your major degree.

    In three sentences

    It has great subjects you can take. They have many career opportunities you can venture to and also they have many activities you can do at the school. They also have job opportunities you can do on campus and off campus as well.

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Want to get a degree fast and for not a lot of money.

    Food and Dining

    One on campus cafeteria. Alright food

    Academic Rigor

    Not too challenging. Some instructors vary a lot from others, even those teaching the same classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check ratemyprofessor.com, some teachers are not the best! Talk to people you know who already attend and they'll tell you who to take and who not to take!

    In three sentences

    CBC is a great place to receive an AA or AAS without having to pay a ton of money. They also have really awesome programs for all kinds of interests. Definitely glad I made the choice!

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The ASB usually organizes a movie night every two weeks and there are clubs like Hockey, Art, Nursing, History and Latino etc

    Tips for prospective students

    Use Rate My professors.com great website that allows you to find the best fitting professors for you

    In three sentences

    Columbia Basin College in my opinion is a great college because the professors are great. They listen when students have questions and the Tutors in the Tutor Center and really helpful and willing to help when a student has a question.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Once on the transit stop on campus, a friend told me that there were posters from white supremacist group. other than that, this place is pretty quiet.

    What to do for fun

    We have a piano near the cafeteria, on some days you can hear guitars being played, but that's about it.

    Food and Dining

    There is food for the meat eaters and vegans alike, but my favorite is the Starbucks. Expensive, but delicious. Cheers ladies, you make great coffee!

    Dorm Life

    NO DORMS.

    Academic Rigor

    I am in the engineering program here, so I can only speak for the program's professors. They are all engineers, they know what to expect as an engineer and they will let you know through all the math intensive classes offered. They tell us that because of the education we receive, many companies are willing to hire from this program in particular.

    Tips for prospective students

    Honestly, if you have the chance to go to a four year university, do it. Even though there are transfer degrees available, it can still get complicated to transfer your credits.

    In three sentences

    Decent classes, excellent professors, and a variety of programs to choose from.

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very good. There are some phones scattered around campus that are lit up by lights if someone prefers night classes. Campus security can jump your car too if it dies in the winter time. They can even help you if you lock your keys in your door. In the winter, campus security also sends out a text message, if you're subscribed, telling you whether or not school is canceled due to weather conditions.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many many clubs and activities. A lot of them are found with more information on the posters inside the HUB.

    Great for these types of students

    Science courses for Dental Hygiene is what I'm taking, and they're very interesting courses! So science based majors are enjoyable at CBC.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Traditions, I'm not sure. There is a very cool observatory though that I believe is open to the public. There's also a big, relaxation area filled with plants and trees and the sounds of running water from the little ponds. And its all indoors!

    Bang for the buck

    Depending on when you have your class, parking can be a struggle. It's fairly easy to find parking in the early morning or afternoon, but around 10 o' clock is when the lots are pretty packed.

    What to do for fun

    Many outside events like free movie nights at the school are provided with free popcorn! The music concerts and plays are also very entertaining.

    Food and Dining

    Food is cheap and perfect between classes when you're craving a mini cheeseburger. And there's also vending machines around campus!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on how many credit classes you take, the harder and more hours that are expected to be put into that class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack off, attend all of your classes, and turn in everything on time! All of your schooling will be worth it in the long run.

    In three sentences

    Columbia Basin College is a small, yet comfortable sized campus. Students here are very focused and are ready to learn. Faculty is helpful if assistance is needed and there's also a tutoring center as well.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    40 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Roasters Coffee

    Tips for prospective students

    Good school

    In three sentences

    Great school to get started from right out of high school, good prices.

  • 04/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are a student who is unsure of a major, but you know you want to go to college, this is your place. Or if you did not do too well in high school and now feel motivated enough for college, this is your place. If you are a student who is concerned of how well you will do in college and don't want to waste money at a public university, this is your school. If you are not very motivated and expect easy grades like in high school, COLLEGE is not for you.

    Bang for the buck

    5 stars all the way. I pay roughtly $1600 a quarter for 18 credits a quarter. That is the cheapest (least expensive) college education I could find. And most of my professors are PhD's, which is awesome.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do for fun here other than play a sport. They have occasional events like hiking trips, snowboarding trips, etc... but other than that, it's your typical community college experience.

    Food and Dining

    I have only had the biscuits and gravy at the HUB, but it is delicious. The only reason why I gave 4 stars is because a lot of the stuff there is expensive.

    Dorm Life

    None available

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are quite simple. As long as you ask questions, stay involved, and do your homework then you will get a 4.0.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on your schoolwork and not the BS going on around you. Stay motivated, sit in the front row of all of your classes, and apply yourself entirely even though the people around you will not. It is an inexpensive education, but it is a good one.

    In three sentences

    Great facilities and a nice, modern looking campus. Very smart professors and more resources than you could ask for! Lots of unmotivated students though.

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I volunteer my time in Leadership Council.

    Food and Dining

    They have a small cafeteria with a decent variety of food along with coffee which is almost essential for college students.

    Dorm Life

    Since this is a community college most students live with their parents; for those who support their selves, CBC calculates the cost of living so that you can get help financially to support yourself while attending school.

    Academic Rigor

    For most people, they believe that community colleges are very easy and in some cases this is true. With the course load I am taking, I spend three to four hours a night on homework which keeps me extremely busy and is constantly pushing me to perfect what I am learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise to stay active, weather that be volunteering your time on campus, sports, leadership or even a job. The more time you spend actively at your school, the more fun it becomes which will keep you engaged in your courses.

    In three sentences

    It is a great community college that takes pride in its academics by offering a wide variety of options for students. Not only do they have great transfer opportunities but they also have very detailed technical associate degree's. The teachers are warm and inviting and have made my college experience wonderful.

  • 07/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never had a problem. Make sure to keep your parking permit displayed-campus security will give you a ticket.

    Great for these types of students

    Running Start, transfer, undecided-explore your options at an affordable price.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ping Pong tables are a great way to pass time between classes if you don't have any studying to do.

    What to do for fun

    Mall, Fishing, Boating, Movies, Hunting

    Food and Dining

    Food is fine for a quick meal/snack

    Academic Rigor

    Don't expect the teachers to go easy. Study, do your work, turn in assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on top of your game. Register and pay early to get the classes you want.

    In three sentences

    Very friendly, great teachers if you do your research. A lot of selection for classes.

  • 07/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is the best here there hasn't been anything happen in the last 5 years or so security is great all around and helpful.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do here if your athletic there is many leagues for soccer basketball and more. Also if you are more of a nigh owl there are lots nightclubs. Now if you are a just a all around person we have lots of tour sites mountain hiking park and community activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great in and out of campus we have a variety of food you will always find the perfect food for you.

    Dorm Life

    The reason for the one star on the the dorm life is simply because there is no dorms available but the housing around here are great and so is the pricing.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic at this institution is great the professors make all the classes so fun and entertaining no matter what it is. They also take the time to fully explain everything to the dot.

    Tips for prospective students

    There isn't really many tips just that always try your hardest and never fall behind because some teachers are strict.

    In three sentences

    In my point of view this is one of the best community colleges in the region the main reason being because of their location which is surrounded by everything need for school and living. Also the people and campus are all around great because of the maturity and opportunity's.

  • 09/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's campus security wandering around all the time. They usually bust people for things like putting our feet on the chairs, but I'm sure that if there was a disturbance, they'd be on top of it. There's a number you can call if something happens, too.

    Greek Life

    I don't think we have any. lol.

    Great for these types of students

    All sorts of students. There are people that like to be really involved with things, and people that would rather go to class and go home. You just have to find like-minded people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Performing Arts building is gorgeous. Seriously, even if you don't have a class there, walk around it a bit.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm in Running Start, so the cost is minimal, but others that I've talked to say that it's pretty cheap. About....1500 per quarter I think. Obviously, it depends on how many classes you take, though.

    What to do for fun

    There's lots of clubs and stuff to be involved in, and events happen in th hub all the time. A while ago, there was a drag queen show. It was interesting, to say the least. A college comedian came, too. Also, there's the planetarium, and they show movies on the ceiling. It's pretty cool.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small food place in the hub. The food is good, but expensive. Also, there are vending machines all over, and the bookstore sells snacks, if you don't want a sandwich or a meal.

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay in a dorm. In fact, I don't think we have any.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others, but every one I've taken challenges me teaches me new things. Just show up to class every day, and you'll know what else needs to be done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask other students about the teachers you're taking. Or look them up online. Also, come to class.

    In three sentences

    The library is large, and lets students rent laptops, which is great. Also, the teachers are qualified and competent. If you want easy classes, you can find them. If you want classes that are challenging and interesting, those are available too. All in all, great school.

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go out of campus.

    Food and Dining

    Decent food but expensive.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms in this college.

    Academic Rigor

    Like any college it depends on the classes you take.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be very organized and do homework when its due don't put it off.

    In three sentences

    Columbia Basin College is a small college that's community is very united. Very good place if you prefer a small college. Best part is that students get time with the teacher and have opportunities to ask for help from the teacher not an advisor.

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I like knowing I can call the security any time of safety need.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't been in one yet but I heard there something to look at

    Great for these types of students

    the fitness center is great for the working out types.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    no not really

    What to do for fun

    For fun at Columbia basin college I like to go to the library and read for fun I end up being there reading for hours or I like to go outside and read in the grass

    Food and Dining

    the food and dinning at Columbia Basin College is very affordable and always there and ready for you to buy. I haven't had a chance to try the food since I barely started classes a couple days so far but I hear its good.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home with my parents

    Academic Rigor

    I don't do any sports

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips I have for perspective students is be prepared to have all your questions down and ready to ask and ask them as soon as possible another tip is don't be afraid to ask questions and make sure to ask more than one person just in case.my final tip is to talk to counselor about your classes constantly to make sure your on the right track to get your degree its so easy to slip and get classes you think you need for your degree but its best to make sure.

    In three sentences

    Columbia Basin college in my opinion is a very well organized college they devote there time to helping student and is very prepared for any situation.They have recourses for practically everything you need. my favorite thing about Columbia basin college so far is that they got out of there way to help you I'm the type to be to shy to ask questions but as soon as they see you confused they ask you if you need help.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a large atrium that all the students love to hang out or study in. It is indoor and has many tropical plants, ponds and waterfalls.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a very nice, affordable college with great staff.

    What to do for fun

    They have many parties and activities which are really fun.

    Food and Dining

    Columbia Basin college has a very nice/cute cafeteria with a star bucks coffee. Great food and they have multiple vending machines in every building to grab a snack.

    Dorm Life

    Their is no dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Columbia Basin college is very fair. Of course they do not allow cheating or plagiarism and has a just punishment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study. Do you homework. ASK the teacher, they are all very helpful and I have helped my grade over and over by asking teacher question. Use the resources and FREE tutor system.

    In three sentences

    Columbia Basin College is great! It has great students and staff. Has a large varity of classes and is very clean and professional.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have not died yet. :)

    Greek Life

    Classes are so easy.

    Clubs and Activities

    Join art club and LDSSA... tons of fun!

    Great for these types of students

    If your living conditions are not the best, people are more than willing to help you if you ask.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This is a very plain boring campus.

    What to do for fun

    There is a game room and a place to hang out. I enjoy the green house study room.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but it takes awhile. And there is only one choice.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are involved in high school, college will be easy. For the first time in my life I have a 4.0. Go to class and do your homework. Its that simple.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to stay close to home while getting an education at a fraction of the cost than this is the school for you.

    In three sentences

    Go to rate my professor to get information on your professors before you signup for classes. It helps.

  • 02/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One great part of CBC is that students who want to can sign up for the emergency program and receive texts from the school whenever there could be an emergency. For example, they would send out texts when the roads were icy telling students to be careful.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are about as many clubs as you would expect for any community college. I am not personally involved in any clubs, but I do enjoy to go check out the art club's shows or the drama club's plays.

    Great for these types of students

    CBC is a great school for students who want to receive their AA degree while staying at home and saving some money before transferring to a four year university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know of any cool traditions at CBC. My favorite building on the whole campus is the S building where most of the science and math classes are held. I enjoy it so much because they have a pretty large conservatory. Oftentimes I would stay after I was finished with my classes and do my homework here because it always so peaceful.

    Bang for the buck

    For the most part, I've enjoyed my two years so far at Columbia Basin College. The smartest move I have ever made in my life is attending CBC as a Running Start student as a junior in high school and receiving a whole year of college free while still in high school.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of people tend to hangout in the Hub where they sometimes have live music and free food and other types of promotions. The school also puts on free movie nights and other kinds of activities that are generally pretty entertaining.

    Food and Dining

    I've never personally eaten in the small cafe in the Hub, but I have heard only positive comments about it. There are a lot of fast food options nearby.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on which classes you take and what professors you get, it can vary greatly. As long as you stay on top of things and ask for help when you need it, the classes really aren't too difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up early for class so that you can find a parking spot. Communicate with your professors; they like it and it can only benefit you. Always ask around about each professor before you sign up for their class.

    In three sentences

    Your CBC experience can vary greatly depending on which teachers you sign up for. The tutor center is a great place to go in order to receive help in practically every subject and can help you from feeling overly stressed or overwhelmed. Always show up much earlier than you need to because it is practically impossible to find a parking spot.

  • 02/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe, between the email and text messaging systems I know I am safe on campus and traveling to and from.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many student activities and discounts I don't even know where to begin. Amazing student resource centers too! professional and informative.

    Great for these types of students

    anyone and everyone looking to further their education and put in the work to earn it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Art building is outstanding. Within it you will find a labyrinth of corridors and exhibits to inspire and appreciate.

    Bang for the buck

    You will get a great foundation to transfer to a four year or complete your degree and start a career.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do for fun if you try. we are right next to three rivers, and a small mountain range. So kayaking, boating, jet skiing, biking, running, summer sports and hiking local mountains are great activities to stay healthy and meet and build friendships.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the hub is not bad, but you'll have to travel across the highway for any groceries or fast food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, and most apartments are expensive in tricities, but you can always find a way to make it work.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are more challenging then others but regardless you will get out of it what you put in. Don't not study because you know you'll still get a b without completing the final, apply yourself and you will gain enrichment from CBC beyond the syllabus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not force yourself to go to school, go when you are ready. Yes, you can come back and always try again, but if possible wait until you know you are ready to dedicate yourself to your studies. That doesn't mean you cant still have 'a life' but its a whole lot easier to focus yourself when you have more flexibility then when you work a 60 hour a week job and have a mortgage and a child.

    In three sentences

    CBC is a place to explore and discover who you are and who you want to be. It is a open minded judgement free school that will welcome you new, or returning. Without CBC I would be without options.

  • 02/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    Greek Life

    no greek that i know of

    Clubs and Activities

    always something going on while on campus ,big screen,ski trips,gaming

    Great for these types of students

    arts majors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the room with all the plants where you can kick back with the water fall sound of the real water fall like your in the jungle.

    Bang for the buck

    alot of bang for the buck

    What to do for fun

    depends on what your likes are?

    Food and Dining

    awesome food and atmosphere

    Dorm Life

    no dorms on or off campus

    Academic Rigor

    alot going on right now

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the fyi class and open your mind when it comes to the field of study you will take but enjoy college.

    In three sentences

    A very nice and home feeling type of atmosphere and enjoy attending.

  • 03/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is nearby skiing/snowboarding in the winter, in the summer there is the snake, and the Columbia rivers that have lots of parks along them, you can also go boating, and jet skiing during the summer. during spring and fall you can visit the nearby mountains to go on nice hikes.

    Food and Dining

    the food in the cafeteria was good for it being made in a cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    i did not live in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    they really want you to succeed. they have numerous study groups, tutor centers, and the professors are more than happy to help you during office hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    pick your professors wisely some like to add their opinions on tests and make passing them with a 4.0 impossible.

    In three sentences

    it is very small. the environment is good and they really want to see their students succeed. they have lots of extra curricular activities available and it is located in a beautiful city surrounded by lots of agriculture.

  • 03/25/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    54 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've not heard of anything serious happening on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    High school juniors and seniors who take advantage of the running start program to earn their AA right out of high school.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a great deal going to school here. The school itself is relatively small compared to big four year universities and many students come here first to save money on their AA before they transfer to a four year school.

    What to do for fun

    I personally enjoy lifting weights and staying fit and active.

    Food and Dining

    The Hub has a cafeteria and I've never tried the food but the capus is located just a few blocks from various restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms on campus

    Academic Rigor

    As a full time student the time you spend doing coursework can be a bit much at times but it's to be expected and nothing a bit of planning can't handle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start early on financial aid and registration.

    In three sentences

    Very quiet and laid back atmosphere. The Campus is really nice for a smaller/older school. And the cost of education is very reasonable!

  • 05/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non traditional and high school.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on from the clubs at the school.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging, but there is enough help in the tutor center that it isn't too difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure financial aid is in place before registering for classes. Take the compass test and study a little before taking the compass to review the math skills.

    In three sentences

    Cbc is a great college to get you back in the swing of things for non traditional students, or to get ahead if you are a high school student. The teachers are very willing to work with you to make sure you are successful in school.