Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Columbia College - California Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/29/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    100%

    Will learn a lot

    100%

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Columbia college sits in the hills and overlooks the mountains. Many geese live on the grounds and in spring you can enjoy watching the baby geese hatch. You also have the opportunity to relax and fish on campus, there is a lake in the middle. There are many dances, cram nights and social events that anyone can attend.

    Dorm Life

    Do not live in dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Columbia college not only helps you with your career and class choices, they also have many programs to help with the everyday stress of college life.

    In three sentences

    Very helpful in all your academic needs. Counselors are interested in helping you make the right decisions for your longterm career desires. Great instructors who make the classes interesting and challenging with you leaving there knowing that you learned alot.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus has a very relaxed atmosphere. there have been no fights on campus, though a car (which could be easily broken into and started without the ignition key) was stolen while parked in the student parking lot.

    Clubs and Activities

    the clubs on campus are mostly academic. there isn't much promotion for the clubs, so you would have to ask around to learn more about them. there are, however, many artistically inclined classes, such as piano, choir, art, and theatre.

    Great for these types of students

    students that prefer a rural type environment, with a small campus size and friendly faces. there are many different types of artistic classes available as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a log that sticks out of the reservoir that the campus was built around. during the warmer weather, you will always see turtles resting there. also, there are geese everywhere.

    Bang for the buck

    the units are fairly priced, the teachers teach well and are always willing to help.

    What to do for fun

    as far as on campus activities, there is not much as far as fun is concerned.

    Food and Dining

    columbia college has an exquisite bakery and restaurant on campus. since the food is made by the students that are studying culinary, the food is fairly inexpensive. there is also the snack shack, which provides candy bars, pizza, muffins, and a variety of drinks. basically stuff to help you get through the day.

    Dorm Life

    i have not lived in the dorms personally, but friends have said that it is not too bad.

    Academic Rigor

    the teaching styles are obviously different from teacher to teacher. some push a lot of work on you, while other will let you slide by with minimal work. you can easily find a teacher to match your pace.

    Tips for prospective students

    do not take multiple classes from the same teacher if you have never had their class before. you may not enjoy a certain teacher, and it would be awful if you had to take more than one class from them for the duration of the semester. also, don't be afraid to ask strangers on campus for directions. everyone is generally polite to one another. and find out what kind of books you need ahead of time so you can get them off the internet. buying books from the campus store will wring your wallet dry.

    In three sentences

    it has a beautiful campus, though there are a lot of stairs. the teachers i've had so far are passionate about their job, and are very accommodating if you need help. there are very few clubs, and there are a lot of geese that roam around the campus.

  • 11/01/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    they have my major

    Will learn a lot

    this school expains everything you need to know

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security on this campus is awesome. They make sure that everyone is taken care of in a proper order.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have many clubs and activities to join, I don't exactly know what I want to join because there is so many

    Bang for the buck

    Take everything that you can get, whether it be money for you to go to college or programs to help you successfully get through college

    What to do for fun

    There is many things that you can do for fun. They have lots of programs to join to help around the campus or to better your life at college for you. All you have to do is ask and don't be afraid to ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your time to talk to the counselors and let them know exactly what you want and how long you want to complete it in. They are amazing people at this campus and so honored and excited to all the people at Columbia for helping me through the starting of a new life for my family and I. Ask any questions that you want and they will give it to you the best they know how, that is what they are there for.

    In three sentences

    I love the campus and the people that are involved in keeping it maintained. I love the staff, they have all been amazing help to me.I love that i have so many options for programs that will help through college

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent. They are personable and always driving around to help students.

    Bang for the buck

    Prices are raising, but California community college students still pay the lowest amount in the country. You can't really ask for more at Columbia.

    What to do for fun

    Walk around the trails, rock climb in the arboretum, explore in the wilderness, see the family of turtles living in the San Diego reservoir, see a jazz concert!!

    Food and Dining

    Most of the food available on campus could last through an apocalypse. A lot of packaged food and preservatives, sodas and energy drinks. But we do have a culinary program on campus and The Cellar restaurant actually isn't too bad.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is basically like a trailer park gearing up for their appearance on Jerry Springer. You won't get a lot of work done and it'll just feel shady the whole time you're there. Plus the price is a ripoff.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is relatively low at Columbia unless you're taking classes like anatomy and physiology and Ted and Paula's classes. Some others can offer hurdles but the faculty supplies a lot of support to help you overcome.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest to prospective students to take Jim Toner and Dr. Paula Clarke and Professor Ted Hamilton's classes. Jim Toner is an English professor and he will change your life. Ted and Paula will challenge you and change your life.

    In three sentences

    Columbia college is a place where you can get a head start on your general education and lavish in the trees, sunshine, water and wildlife that surrounds this gorgeous campus. The class sizes are small and the setting is unbeatable. This is definitely a place for nature lovers and people interested in saving money on the first two years of their college careers.

  • 05/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking at fire tech, nature related majors, and anyone who just enjoys being in the mountains

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely check out chegg.com for your books and ratemyprofessor.com for your teacher reviews. Meet with a counselor to plan out classes because most of them know whats best for you!

    Bang for the buck

    You most definitely get what you pay for. I know next semester tuition goes up to $36 per unit, but that's not that bad. I wouldn't recommend buying your books at the bookstore though. They are way overpriced, but they do buy back books that are from other places!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the environment! You always see animals on campus, and really, where else can you find this?!

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers do know what they're talking about, although there are definitely some that don't need to teach.

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Seems very safe. Though it is a dead zone and in the wilderness for some.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not too sure on how many or what. Not big in the drama department though.

    Great for these types of students

    Who need a quiet and calm learning area with much given help.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lots of animals on campus. And the science building is the newest I believe.

    Bang for the buck

    You can actually sign up to have the school give you a job on campus if you fall under the guidelines for it. Very helpful and cool.

    What to do for fun

    Anything really, though they don't have a swimming pool. Their gym is huge and they have tennis courts and a theater both inside and outside.

    Food and Dining

    They have an on campus bakery and restaurant run by the culinary teachers and students. The food is great and it's a job for them along with learning experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the tutoring building, it is for everyone not just the poor or under-educated.

    In three sentences

    Went on a school trip to tour the campus and fell in love. This school has a peaceful and accepting air about it and many things to offer. Especially like the tutoring building open to all people, most of which are the best in the school.

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you get out of a class and you don't want to walk to your car/bus stop, or if it's just dark out, you can call the campus security number and they'll send a bus to go pick you up and drive you right to your car.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not a part of any clubs or activities.

    Great for these types of students

    If you enjoy science, we have an excellent science building that offers a lot of varieties of different types of sciences.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you go to the arboretum, there is this awesome boulder structure that you can climb and explore!

    Bang for the buck

    I am a high school so my college fees are waived. I only have to pay $20 a semester for all my classes! But otherwise if you are a CA resident, it's $46 per unit which is not bad at all.

    What to do for fun

    You can go hiking on the trails surrounding the college, and downtown Sonora is a fun place to hang out and walk around with friends or by yourself.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright; a little bit pricey but hey what else do you expect?

    Dorm Life

    I currently live with my grandparents, so I can't speak about the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Again I've only taken art classes and a computer class, so it wasn't too difficult for me. I have heard other classes are rigorous, but the teachers are wonderful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Well my tip is to treat this school with respect because education is incredibly important. Keep up with the school work :)

    In three sentences

    I am a high school student taking classes here, and so far I've only taken art classes. Lori Hanson is a wonderful instructor, and she will help you in any way she can. The 3D Modeling and Animation class here is brand new, and the instructor is not very knowledgeable about the Maya Animation program we use; I don't recommend this class.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security people are very nice! They even give people rides to classes sometimes if it is raining and you have to walk far. Overall, very nice people at the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am unaware of the clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Columbia college can be good for students who are serious about school, and want to learn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are none that I can think of.

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap tuition, and the cost of living in the area is low. Also, they have a job placement program which is very helpful.

    What to do for fun

    There are really beautiful hiking trails throughout the campus.

    Food and Dining

    Good food, nice restaurant on campus for the culinary arts program.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on what kind of class you are in. If you take a class with Clarke or Hamilton (as mentioned above) it can be very challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a class with Paula Clarke or Ted Hamilton! Their courses changed the way I thought about education, and what I wanted to accomplish in college.

    In three sentences

    Columbia College has a beautiful campus! There are some outstanding teachers there, as well, who are almost always available for support. The rest of the staff (counseling, admissions, registration, etc.) is very helpful and friendly.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The coffee at Columbia is overpriced, sadly, because I love coffee. However, the college has a culinary school that makes the best bakery items and they are great on a student budget.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms. I commute from my family's house, and I feel like that is more cost-efficient.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor depends on the class. Honestly, I have not had too many classes that intellectually challenged me. However, the SPCOM1 and POLSC 10 seem to be classes that require deeper understanding and participation with the subject. Also, all the classes in the math department are challenging, but provide a Math Lab for extra assistance.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend that a new student becomes use to using the resources that Columbia College has to offer. There are many ways that a student can advance their learning potential at the school.

    In three sentences

    I feel that Columbia College is a great school with some inspiring teachers that push students to be independent learners and researchers. The campus is breathtaking. The students are diverse.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Good cost for the courses, but difficult to get what you need for your major and general ed in a timely matter.

    What to do for fun

    Movies are a few miles drive. Hiking and nature activities on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Food is far away from campus, but snacks are available on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Few dorms, did not attend.

    Academic Rigor

    Gives you the equivalence of University level academic difficulty.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have backups for your first pick classes ready at registration, and register right on time. Wear comfortable shoes, and be prepared for weather conditions such as rain and snow.

    In three sentences

    Columbia College is a good school for those looking for a small school, on a large campus. The campus is very spread out, and the nature surrounding is beautiful. However, getting the classes you need when you need them is difficult because of the small class numbers.

  • 10/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is awesome here. Everyday when I stove at school I see the campus security walking/driving around. Since bring a student here I have not heard of any problems with safety at all.

    Great for these types of students

    New students and continuing students are great for this campus.

    Bang for the buck

    If I had to choose between Modesto a Junior College and Columbia College, it would most definitely have to be Columbia College. They gave such a warm welcoming to all students. It is z smaller school do the instructors are more available to the students. I love Columbia College.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is large. Plenty of room to sit by the pond and enjoy the scenery of natural life. They have many picnic benches and tables you can choose from throughout the campus to sit and do you school work ect.

    Food and Dining

    On campus there is a snack/dinning area. A wide varsity of food and beverages ranging from fresh sandwiches made to order, coffee/cafe, breakfast Danishes, burgers and much more . There is also a place where you can dine. You are served from the culinary students and order from there menu. Fun to be part of their learning experience. The school also has a bakery that is open on most days and you can find fresh breads and pastries made from other students at a decent price.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus but there are apartments near the campus entrance. They look clean and friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    Staff are always willing to help students with their academic struggles. They have tutors available to students as well for free

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead and see a counselor to get the most out of your education. Make an appointment with the financial aid department as well to see what other financial help you may qualify for if your needing it. And take a guidance class your first semester as it will give a ton if advice and guide you in the right direction.

    In three sentences

    Great friendly staff that will go above and beyond assisting students with any needs. Beautiful environment with lots of natural life. Quiet and very clean school grounds.