Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Columbia College - Missouri Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Willing to succeed! You have to work hard, but everything will pay off if you do. This is a liberal arts college, so it's great if you're undecided in a major, or if you've known what you want to do since you were four. Located in a college town, Columbia College has TONS of college students, so even though this is a small campus (YES!) there are hundreds of opportunities to meet other students from other campuses. The advantage of a small campus is that you get to know so many more people. I personally know the president of the college as well as the dean and other important people. They are all SO great and really love talking to students. You don't see that everywhere. It's a great place to be!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come here wanting to learn! If you're thinking you can come here and skip class without the teacher ever knowing--think again! The professors take an active role in your education and want you to succeed. Make sure you take advantage of the professors office hours; they are there for a reason: they WANT to see YOU! Don't stress out over rooming situations; just make sure you fill out your rooming contract to the best of your abilities and it will work out fine! I was petrified as to who I would get, and now my roomie and I are like the best of friends! Also...the food is not that bad ;)

    Bang for the buck

    This is rather hard for me to answer as I am here on scholarship, but being that it is a private college the tuition is higher than some schools. However, there are literally tons of scholarships available and most have a chance of winning at least something. Also, you do get your money's worth. What you're paying for is what you're getting.

    Am enjoying being here

    This campus is so GREAT! The people are spectacular and the professors know your name and treat you like a friend. I have no complaints!

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are great at what they do! I come from a pretty studious background, and many people thought college would be way too easy for me, but I am being challenged every day, and constantly learn new things!

  • 08/03/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    For being a small private college its cost in inexpensive but for the average student just looking for a good school, the price is a little steep and expect to take out loans if you can't score a very pricey scholarship. The dorms don't look like anything and the so-called Haven where girls of privilege used to live back in the day is so not fancy for privileged girls. It's in a dull, plain basement. Most of the money goes toward fancy apple computers and crazy expensive projectors in every classroom. Your tuition money is being spent on making nothing but the classrooms look good while living conditions and decent meals are mediocre. At least the campus is clean all the time.

    Did enjoy being here

    The campus is small and there's not a lot to see and enjoy. They do have a lot of free activities. But other than school sponsored events the campus is pretty boring. It's too small to do anything and hardly anyone actually spent time on campus for anything other than classes.

    Did learn a lot

    The classes are small and teachers are up close and personal. They notice when you look lost and stay overtime to help you out. They cover a lot of material so there's lots to learn. They DO notice when you're not in class.

  • 08/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Art, science or business majors, international students, students who want a small classroom experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and learn about the programs here that relate to what you are interested in majoring in. If you are set on Columbia College, I recommend making a four year plan and also try to get involved in at least one club or extra curricular activity here at CC.

    Bang for the buck

    I'd say Columbia College's tuition cost is about average. You are paying for a great experience, meaning inside and outside of the classroom. This college also offers great scholarship opportunities and even has a work study program to help you pay for school.

    Am enjoying being here

    Columbia College is a small campus but it offers a lot of clubs and extra curricular activities to join. I love that it is easy to get involved, especially as a freshman! I must say, it took me longer to walk to some of my classes in high school than it takes me to get from class to class here, but even though CC is a small college, being in a college town is great because there is always stuff to do outside campus. Downtown is only a block away, which is a popular place for students to walk around.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning so much in my area of study! The small classes make it even easier to learn because most all of your professors know you by name and can help you one on one in the classroom.

  • 12/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for students who want to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work. I have taken both online and in-seat. The online courses are a lot of work, but so are the in-seat classes.

    Bang for the buck

    When telling people I am attending Columbia College I am greeted with smiles and seem to be thought of as a more intellectual person. I have a job that is close to the field I wish to be in once I am done with my degrees, so I would have to say that so far, so good.

    Am enjoying being here

    Sometimes the commute from my house to the campus is a bit of a drag and I am unable to participate in extracurricular activities due to family obligations. I do like the extracurricular activities that are available and the city the campus is in is fun.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a senior this year and have learned quite a bit in the two years I have attended. I transferred from a community college and Columbia College has increased my knowledge in many areas.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working parents

    Tips for prospective students

    Be patient. It takes a little getting used to the online atmosphere, but it is well worth it. The flexibility you have when taking classes online is no comparison to in seat classes.

    Bang for the buck

    I think Columbia College is extremely affordable for the education you obtain here.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is very enjoyable to meet so many different people in the online discussion posts.

    Am learning a lot

    The have an excellent academic program. I am very excited to be a student at this school.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who are busy, and who have to do school work on a crazy schedule. It is also a great program for full-time or part-time worker (you work on your own schedule).

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you enroll in classes as soon as possible because the classes fill up quick. Meet with your advisor regularly to figure out which classes to take next.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a little more expensive than community college, although I can obtain a bachelor degree through this college. It is worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    Although I am attending online, I feel as if I am in a classroom. I love the interactiveness in the conferences.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned so much in just a year; and I look forward to learning much more in the next three years.

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types. The online programs brings together many different types of people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared. The due dates come up quickly. Review the syllabi prior to enrolling in the course. Plan ahead.

    In three sentences

    A fast paced school with eight-week class schedules. A school focused on student's and integrity.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working students

    Food and Dining

    This is not applicable to me.

    Dorm Life

    This is not applicable to me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to keep the same academic advisor.

    In three sentences

    Columbia College-Missouri is a small college. The on-line classes are very user-friendly and the teachers are very helpful. The staff know you by name and not a number.

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who work a traditional full time job and can't make it to campus classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have never taken an online class before, let alone one that is 8 weeks long, only take one at a time until you get the hand of it. It can be quite intense, especially if you work full time.

    In three sentences

    The online classes are flexible although quite a bit more challenging than traditional school. Academic advisers are quick to respond to student needs and questions. Professors are very pro-active in communicating with students.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students wanting to study the arts.

    Bang for the buck

    My pell grant covered the full tution of school.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I would rate Columbia College as very Rigorous and a chellenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest you make sure that you enjoy working on the computer and you are very independent.

    In three sentences

    I previously went to another school and Columbia college has been a great school to attend. I attend online and I enjoy the classes I take and they are not to hard and not easy they are the right challenge. I have learned so much since I have been at Columbia College and I would recommended it to anyone.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Disciplined, persistent, and people who can stay on task.

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to have the drive and persistence and the discipline to do well with online schooling.

    In three sentences

    Columbia College has been very convenient. It is great I can sit on my bed and do my homework, do a quiz, and/or read the discussions. The prices are not bad considering how convenient it is.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students coming from a rural background or students who feel overwelmed by 200 plus student classes.

    Bang for the buck

    You can take 18 hours a semester for the same price as 12 hours a semester.

    What to do for fun

    Since Columbia College is in a town with 3 different based colleges, the town has plently to do. Not only that, the college itself is set up for every student to get involved the easist way possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour every available college to get a sense of what best fits your needs. Biggest is not always the best. Talk to the teachers to see how they react to students on a conversational level. Make sure you are picking the school that fits you, not what everybody else thinks is the right choice.

    In three sentences

    Columbia College is a small college that allows it's students to create and achieve big dreams. Not only is it a private college, but it has the atmosphere that allows it's students to feel like they belong while also taking that necessary step into adulthood. If your looking for a college that rates your education it's first priority, then this a great school for you.

  • 02/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    extremely safe campus in a very safe midwestern town. i've never been worried about my safety here.

    Greek Life

    none to speak of!

    Clubs and Activities

    there's something for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    classes are taught by real professors in small classes, and we get lots of time with them outside the classroom. personal attention is worth so much.

    What to do for fun

    there aren't a lot of things you can't do around here.

    Food and Dining

    pretty good!

    Dorm Life

    making friends for life.

    Academic Rigor

    we're challenged, but we still have time for fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    join us!

    In three sentences

    i really love columbia college! the overall atmosphere is relaxed and friendly, and professors are knowledgeable and approachable. plus columbia is the perfect college town.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the parking lot is very close to the entrance of the building.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    i have not been made aware of any clubs or activities.

    Great for these types of students

    columbia is great for students with busy schedules. they offer day and evening classes. as well as online classes. they are meant to accommodate your schedule.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    columbia has nation-wide campuses. i myself attend the location in gurnee, il. this is what makes this school so great. you can attend from many places around the country.

    Bang for the buck

    i attended neiu for a semester and columbia is much more affordable. they don't have an incessant amount of fees or other things to pay besides tuition and books. you are paying a low tuition rate compared to other schools and 4-year universities.

    Food and Dining

    does not apply

    Dorm Life

    does not apply

    Academic Rigor

    i am enrolled in the online program. many people have a misconception that these classes are easier than in-seat classes, however, they are just as challenging if not more. you have to make sure you are managing your time. online classes still require participation in discussions as well as group projects.

    Tips for prospective students

    meet with an advisor every step of the way from when you first enroll and are picking your classes, when you choose your major, and when your are unsure if you are on the right track. make sure that you are planning you course schedule in advance so you know when you are taking classes. this makes it easier when it comes time to register. register for classes as early as you can. research the class and professor before registering. plan your finances accordingly, whether that be financial aid, your income, or loans. make sure you are budgeting books, fees, tuition and even other expenses such as the gas you'll be using to get to class.

    In three sentences

    columbia college is very accommodating when it comes to a student's busy schedule. columbia college's academic advisers are very helpful and always willing to meet with you. columbia college always answers questions and provides solutions to problem or issues you are facing.

  • 03/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    people with families and work can go at night if need be.

    Food and Dining

    not on the main campus

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the school is located near a bad part of town, but the campus itself is relatively safe.

    Greek Life

    one downfall of columbia college is that it offers no greek life options. if joining a fraternity or sorority has been your dream, look elsewhere!

    Clubs and Activities

    columbia college has well over 50 clubs and organizations on campus. all of the clubs have events during all times of the year so there is always something to do.

    Great for these types of students

    great for students who have come from small communities or don't want the hassle of big class sizes. at this school, you won't be just another number, but a real person who has caring relationships with everyone you come in contact with.

    What to do for fun

    columbia is a great place to live and is known as college town usa. with three prominent schools (university of missouri, columbia college, stephens college), the town is built around college students. columbia is a dream come true for any college students since the city is geared directly towards the college lifestyle.

    Food and Dining

    the food is decent during most times, but the small campus finds its downfall because it can't offer many different dining options. with only one dining facility on campus and a small cafe, choices are limited. also, the dining cost is relatively expensive for the small number of services and choices.

    Dorm Life

    since columbia college is such a small school, everybody gets to know everybody. while some small schools lack funds and nice campuses, columbia college has great facilities and incredible opportunities for students. with three residence halls along with one apartment complex, columbia college enables students to live comfortably while they pursue their degree.

    Academic Rigor

    columbia college offers a wide range of degrees and majors. they have many requirements for graduation that other schools don't have that make the students more well-rounded and prepared for the work force. classes challenge students to become more inquisitive of the world around them.

    Tips for prospective students

    learn how to manage your time. time management won't only make or break your college academics, it will make or break your career. being able to balance your priorities will lead to success in college and beyond.

    In three sentences

    columbia college is a small, close-knit community school. it offers small class sizes, and has great professors! i feel very comfortable here knowing that i can knock on a professor's door anytime for help.

  • 03/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Evening campus is desirable for working adults.

    Bang for the buck

    Day campus is very expensive for my taste. Love the Evening campus prices.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of student organizations with several opportunities for free activities.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses challenge students in a variety of ways.

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is safest and most quiet campus in the country. There are no incident involving the students.

    Greek Life

    I had no chance to participate because of my home duties.

    Clubs and Activities

    I use the tutoring services. There is a mental health support and wide advising services.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any type. Those who work and have families to support can use the online program which gives a chance for flexible full time study.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Columbia is a part of very diverse community of Columbia, MO. All people are close to each other, no matter from which culture you are.

    Bang for the buck

    Columbia College is an inexpensive school providing study at a high level. There are many options of the degrees and anyone can find degree they like too. The staff is always helpful.

    What to do for fun

    Columbia College gives many chances to have fun. There are movies and performances, as well as scholar presentation.

    Food and Dining

    I eat at home but the dining place is always full of students.

    Dorm Life

    I have no experience but my neighbors students are very happy with it.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor mostly depends from the students who attend. Nobody is forced to study. The one who wants can have a great opportunity to do it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a chance and go to Columbia College. It is not matter where you are as they provide great online classes of high quality.

    In three sentences

    Great school. It's evening and online program gives me a chance to take care of my disabled brother and study.

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safest campus in the country.

    Great for these types of students

    Columbia College provide day, evening and onilne study. Those options are great for working students.

    Bang for the buck

    Low tuition and high level of teaching.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities provided by College but I had no chance to participate.

    Food and Dining

    The food court is always full.

    Dorm Life

    Have no chance to participate

    Academic Rigor

    Columbia College makes people resposible for what they are doing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Collumbia College gives many chances. Use it as it pays up.

    In three sentences

    This is great college. It gives me flexibility between my work and study. The tuition is at moderate level.

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't heard of a crime on campus yet.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs and activities at the college. There is always something going on.

    Bang for the buck

    Great education for a fair price.

    Food and Dining

    I do not know much about the food and dining as I enrolled in the online campus.

    Dorm Life

    I can't say much about the dorm life as I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    This college is not unbearably hard but does require a lot of research and writing. This is great if you are trying to strengthen these skills. I recommend this college to other students!

    In three sentences

    Columbia College has been a great learning experience for me. I have gained a great education in Business and improved my research and writing skills. I have recommended Columbia College to my friends and will continue to recommend my friends to this institution!

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    21 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt frightened or threatened while at Columbia College

    Great for these types of students

    Academically motivated, career driven.

    Bang for the buck

    Not very expensive, and the learning experience is phenomenal.

    Academic Rigor

    Tough school, but worth it. You will be challenged and encouraged.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    I've gone to a few schools, and Columbia is serious about education. There won't be any easy, or 'gimme' grades. The professors are dedicated, educated professionals, committed to your depth of knowledge, not just your completion of a degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in touch with your advisor, don't be a afraid to ask for help, and stay focused and organized.

    In three sentences

    Columbia's online program is affordable, convenient and fun! The staff is knowledgeable and supportive. It is the perfect place for people returning after a long hiatus, or attending for the first time.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Athletic events, Res Hall programs, SAC(Student Activities Commission) events--which are all FREE! There are too many things to do to even list!

    Food and Dining

    Some of the best I've had.

    Dorm Life

    One of the best ways to create those life long friendships is in the Res Halls.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are fair, but they expect you to work!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! There are so many opportunities available, do not let them pass you by.

    In three sentences

    Columbia College is a home away from home. Like family, they love, support, protect and encourage each student. Columbia College cares.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    it's pretty good

    Tips for prospective students

    Find out everything you will need so they don't delay your registrations

    In three sentences

    Flexible

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Adults who work or have children and/or traditional university students who are wanting to take extra classes in the evening.

    Bang for the buck

    Columbia College is the best value I have found.

    What to do for fun

    Homework!

    Food and Dining

    The only food you will find here is out of the vending machine.

    Dorm Life

    The Rolla, MO campus does not offer dorm living.

    Academic Rigor

    These classes are challenging, as they cram an entire semester's worth of work into 8 weeks, and each class is 5 hours long. They are passable if you are dedicated and work hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to attend Columbia College, be sure you take the college tips for success class first. The advanced 8 week classes this school offers requires one to be able to take in a lot of information in a short period of time.

    In three sentences

    Columbia College is a great opportunity for adults to finish their education, allowing evening attendance. The Rolla, MO campus, however I would like to see offer a better variety of classes to choose from each session. Overall, all of the staff, including the instructors, are very helpful in every aspect.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are around 40 different clubs that appeal to students of all types including political clubs, a sports club, and performing arts clubs. There are athletic teams for women and men.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of organizations and clubs students can join to do activities and hang out with friends. Each of these different clubs will go on trips or have certain events.

    Food and Dining

    They offer a lot of different types of foods as well as vegetarian foods. The board cost for food is very reasonable.

    Dorm Life

    There is a range of different dorm rooms for all students with study rooms and common rooms so you can work hard and hang out with friends.

    Academic Rigor

    You are challenged without being overwhelmed. It is good so students are not as stressed about their work but they get a great education at the same time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do well in high school since you need at least a 2.5 GPA to be accepted and do good on your SAT, ACT or GED tests.

    In three sentences

    Columbia College is a great college that offers many type of degrees and it has many campuses around the United States as well as online. The tuition is better than most colleges and it ranges around $24,000 for a whole year with tuition and room. The class sizes are not huge so students can learn more without being looked over by the professors.

  • 11/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Self learner

    Bang for the buck

    It's a little expensive but not terrible.

    What to do for fun

    I am an online student so I can't vouch for this, but Columbia is a great college town so anyone who went there would love it.

    Food and Dining

    Once again I live at home can't beat it.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home can't beat it.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes offer the perfect mix of challenge and still being able to work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a head of the game apply early and know what you need to do, I had to go after them for everything I needed.

    In three sentences

    I am a member of the online program. It is easy to use and follow once you learn it. I wish that the school was a little more helpful to online students.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is constantly patrolling campus and will help with anything, including maintenance. The security officers make you feel very safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love small schools with incredibly diverse students will enjoy this school. Students who feel they need more one on one contact with professors will find that this is the school for them.

    Bang for the buck

    The free tutoring is something that I am really grateful for. I use the service at least once a week and the people there are very helpful. I highly recommend students to use the tutoring services!

    What to do for fun

    Downtown is incredibly close to campus and students can go there to shop or to eat. The school offers many events on campus and hosts movie nights from time to time. Columbia College sporting events are always fun to attend.

    Food and Dining

    The food is something that can be improved on. Some days the food is great, but other days the food options are not so great. For students that are critical about what they eat, there is a suggestion book that the staff checks frequently and are good about meeting the needs of students.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are cleaned daily except on weekends. RA's host a lot of get together's where food and games are available. The dorm rooms itself are spacious and you are even given an option to live in co-ed dorms or all girls.

    Academic Rigor

    The workload can get pretty difficult at times but is very doable. If you're committed to getting good grades free tutoring is available to any student. Professors are always available for one on one help if any students are struggling.

    Tips for prospective students

    The harder you work the better. This school is very generous with scholarships and would be happy to assist their students in any way possible. Being active in clubs and sporting events is a great way to meet lifelong friends!

    In three sentences

    This school is perfect for those who like small schools and one on one attention from professors. Students who like being in a college town will love this school. The professors are incredibly smart and truly care about their students success.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am unsure of the campus locations have since I attend online classes.

    Greek Life

    I am unsure of what organizations the campus locations have since I attend online classes.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am unsure of what activities the campus locations have since I attend online classes.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for Military, non-traditional, working professionals, parents, and anyone wanting flexibility in their schedule.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not know the traditions for the campus locations.

    Bang for the buck

    Columbia College is a feasible solution for people in the military or that travel quite a bit. The tuition is reasonable and does not change for in-state vs. out-of-state rates.

    What to do for fun

    I am unsure of what activities the campus locations have since I attend online classes.

    Food and Dining

    I am unsure of the food and dining since I attend online classes.

    Dorm Life

    I am unsure of the dorm life since I attend online classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Columbia College classes are only eight weeks long, so there is no time to fluff off. When taking classes online, your instructor is a guide but you are your own teacher. The time compressed classes are difficult, however this also means there is little time to get bored with a subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do all of your assigned readings first and then develop a study guide prior to taking a quiz. Check your email weekly, instructors typically contact you via email. If you are unsure of an assignment, ask your instructor. I have yet to find one that is not super easy to contact and get help from.

    In three sentences

    Columbia College is rated a cut above the rest. It is a private college so there is never a higher cost for out-of-state tuition. Columbia College is convenient and adds the needed flexibility for non-traditional students to maintain a school/home/work life.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt un-safe on the campus walking back and forth between classes and my car.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional adults that work and want to pursue their education.

    Bang for the buck

    I attend Columbia as an evening student and have met some really exceptional people and have enjoyed my time there.

    What to do for fun

    Go to school!

    Food and Dining

    They have a nice cafeteria that is open to all students and is reasonably priced with good food.

    Dorm Life

    I am a non-traditional student and do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Strong academics but manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to write almost every class will require a paper. It has really helped me to improve my professional writing.

    In three sentences

    Columbia College is a small, professional school that emphasizes real world learning. They focus on the student and your personal goals and work towards helping you achieve them. Since they have small classes it encourages hands-on learning and strong academics.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    get as many credits at a two year school as possible

    In three sentences

    is allowing me to obtain my degree

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I am a dedicated and focused married mother of 4

    What to do for fun

    Movies and Dinner

    Tips for prospective students

    Always look at the school accreditation and also the transfer rate and graduation rate.

    In three sentences

    I truly love Columbia College the staff is great. They always are there to help you in any way that they can. Every question is answered in a matter of minutes.

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Plenty of sport activities to attend or participate in.

    Academic Rigor

    Columbia College gives students a lot of potential, the name is out there and looks great on a resume.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll early, the good classes get filled pretty quickly.

    In three sentences

    The staff is more than willing to help you anyway they can. Proctoring tests are stressful, but the environment helps, making it peaceful while you test. Classes aren't crowded, enough people to participate and the professor to work closely with each student.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    34 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have been told that safety is a highly kept trait here at this college.

    Clubs and Activities

    What can I expect as a freshman at this college for clubs and activities?

    Bang for the buck

    Haven't gone yet, but hope to find it financially simple.

    What to do for fun

    Hope to find out when I get there.

    Food and Dining

    I have been told the nearby restruants are spectacular.

    Dorm Life

    Can't wait to see what its like!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely bring all need writing materials and other such tools to complete the classes. Don't get caught without them!

    In three sentences

    It seems like a great place for classes, and the surrounding cities appear inviting.

  • 02/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for full time workers. You can work all day and do online classes when time is available.

    Bang for the buck

    Definately. I can get a college education and not be broke at the end of the day.

    What to do for fun

    I spend time with my two children and sight see on my time away from work and school.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes do not seem too tough, but the teachers emphasize the class involvement.

    Tips for prospective students

    Though it is nice to explore and have fun, make sure and set time aside for what really counts, your future. Everyone wants that dream job so make sure you set time aside specifically for school work.

    In three sentences

    I personally love that you can take their online classes. I am able to work full time, spend time with my family, and still get a college education.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No security guard just a person to watch over campus during late classroom times.

    Great for these types of students

    Military personel and anybody that has a busy schedule that need a flexible schedule.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price of the education u get there is worth it. The teachers are mostly helpful and nice. Much better than community college.

    What to do for fun

    Surf on computer lab.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small lunch room.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm. Just a small campus in gurnee il.

    Academic Rigor

    There are a good school with very high expectations for grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Good school just small.

    In three sentences

    Flexible, resonable,helpful

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Patrolled by Military Police is has a very safe environment.

    Great for these types of students

    Military soldiers seeking degrees, Military spouses.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The military campus is not a traditional campus and they do not partake in normal campus life.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are very affordable and you get the full amount of what you paid for.

    What to do for fun

    I attend a smaller campus not the main one.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not reside in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics I have encountered were thought provoking and challenging you really learn a lot from their classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest prospective students to have their financial aid straightened away before enrolling because it can become very tricky at this College if not other wise ready to go.

    In three sentences

    My experience with Columbia College so far has been efficient and easy. The staff at the Military branch location (Fort Stewart) I attend are very friendly and helpful. I have also had to call their online help desk for login issues and they fixed my problem immediately with no hassle.

  • 03/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for military students looking to finish a degree or just start out.

    Bang for the buck

    For us military students, we are given a discount and we receive a tuition rate of $250 per credit hour.

    Academic Rigor

    I study online and have a baby so this is very difficult but very rewarding. I also move around quite a bit because of the military and the people here at Columbia are always willing to work with me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Online courses are difficult but very rewarding.

    In three sentences

    Columbia College is completely amazing. The staff is wonderful to work with and very knowledgeable of all their degree programs. There are always there to help a student and work with the student to get the education they want and need.

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    working adults, stay at home moms, anyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    campuses are located in many other states, for example I live in Florida and can attend either in the classroom or online.

    What to do for fun

    traveling with family and friends..

    Tips for prospective students

    Class are 8 weeks long so time management is beneficial.

    In three sentences

    A great place for students who desire to continue there education. This college offers in school and the option to attend classes online. Which is very helpful for those who have to work full and part time jobs and have families to attend too.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working adults and parents can achieve a degree if they are dedicated to doing so.

    Bang for the buck

    Very reasonable when compared to other on-line schools. The school employs the use of proctors for many exams which eliminates cheating and forces students to learn.

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum and teachers challenge the student to achieve the best grade possible. There is a clear understanding of what is needed and how to achieve success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to compare prices when deciding which school to go to. Some can be as much as 3-4 times more.

    In three sentences

    Columbia offers then greatest on-line learning experience. The curriculum and teachers are great. It is also has one of the lowest per credit price.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is great! They will escort you to your car if you feel you need the extra protection as well as help jump your car if you need it. They are pretty quick when it comes to any issue on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Night students, Day students, Online students. A few of their degrees are offered completely online, during the day and at night. They have several degrees and a brand new science building is opening Fall 2013.

    Bang for the buck

    Great school for a great price. The resources and teachers are absolutely wonderful!

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do on campus and many clubs to join. Just check it out!

    Food and Dining

    I cannot say, once again never lived on campus

    Dorm Life

    I cant say, I never lived on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers expect a lot out of you, but as stated earlier the hard work will pay off.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you communicate with your admissions adviser. The night program is much cheaper however eight week classes can take a toll on you very quickly. The college is challenging however the hard work really pays off!

    In three sentences

    I would give Columbia College - Missouri a five out of five. They have a great student to faculty ration, with superb staff! The campus is absolutely beautiful as well.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Using their resource center is what i enjoy doing on my down time.

    Food and Dining

    The choices are bountiful when it comes to food and dining at Columbia college.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is excellent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have an idea of what you want to go into because there is a limited assortment of degrees offered.

    In three sentences

    Columbia College has a very flexible schedule for all types of students. Columbia college is abundantly helpful in the admissions process. Columbia College has a variety of resources available.

  • 05/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Columbia College is extremely safe, well-lite, and patrolled regularly.

    Greek Life

    I don't know much about the Greek Life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and activities to chose from, including academic and social organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    Columbia College is great for anyone who wants a one-on-one experience and wants to feel like being a unique individual actually matters.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A tradition that I enjoy is lighting Christmas lights and the fall festival that follows.

    Bang for the buck

    Columbia College is everything college should be, with many resources and patient staff members.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy anything outdoors, movies, pool, card games and family functions.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious and the variety is great. I'd rather eat on campus than many restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    I've never lived in their dorms but I hear great things, especially in the regard to proximity between dorms and classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Columbia College is challenging but gives you the tools to succeed. Study hard and use the tools you are given!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work early, pay attention to footnotes and order books directly from the college.

    In three sentences

    They have a supportive, friendly and knowledgeable staff. I have gotten a quality education without feeling like just another number. They are convenient, quick and relatively inexpensive.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    44 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus takes safety very seriously. They have stations throughout the campus that have a phone and a bell that you can pull in case of an emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    This campus has a ton of clubs. You can attend any club or meeting without having to be a member of it.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that like a smaller campus. Also Students who like smaller classes where the teacher focuses on you.

    Bang for the buck

    Almost all the money you spend on your tuition gets put back into you as the student.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs that you can join for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The campus has a very large variety of food and the food is pretty good too!

    Dorm Life

    Although I haven't stayed in the dorms yet, many students I have talked to have said they really enjoyed the experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers focus on you the student and have small class sizes. Also there are no Teacher Assistants.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to the staff and ask them anything, they are more than willing to help you. Also attend Scholarship Day. You can earn 1 of 10 full ride scholarships that you can only get at scholarship day.

    In three sentences

    This is a very nice campus. The faculty and staff are very nice and helpful and the students are great too. The teachers are really focused on you the student.

  • 06/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Military (past or present). Working individuals.

    Bang for the buck

    Military friendly and very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    I am able to enjoy 4 day weekends (if I do not have to work) with night classes just 2 days a week. Online classes can be done at anytime. So I can do anything for fun in NY.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. However, I am able to receive full benefits with my G.I bill which helps to pay my rent.

    Academic Rigor

    The experience of the teachers is great. It's not just a teacher who has an education, but they have years of experience. They can tell you where everything you learn in the class can apply in the working world.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a great way to earn your degree around your schedule with the evening and online classes offered.

    In three sentences

    Columbia College of Missouri based in Ft. Drum, NY has made it very convenient and affordable to complete my degree. The nearest 4 year college is over an hour away, so it's extremely accessible. It is also a military friendly school which is a plus.

  • 07/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is big here, though the campus is very wide open to the public, you are 100% safe. There is a number that you are given upon your arrival to campus that all faculty, staff, and students recommend that you put into your cell phone to have at all times.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life, on this campus. Which means you are free to attend anything and everything that is offered on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am currently in five clubs and counting. There is a club for every current major that is offered on campus. All clubs are not required for the major, but are more fun to join. Currently in science club, not a science major. One of the funnest clubs on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for those who don't want to be surrounded by people constantly. This college is very small with only about 2,000 students on campus total. The class sizes are perfect with about 20 to 25 students per class. This campus is also great for those who would like to get to know their Professors one on one.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do for fun on campus, BUT the campus is literally five minutes from downtown, and there is always events downtown for free.

    Food and Dining

    The dinning hall, is not the best, but the cafe, which is the alternative option to the dinning hall during certain times of the day, is the best and you can get a lot for FREE.

    Dorm Life

    There is always something being hosted in one of the three dorms every week. They are cleaned everyday. There is no curfew, and you can come and go whenever you like.

    Academic Rigor

    I enjoy the academic life here. The teachers are very serious about what they do. I know many Professors, who teach a course, who look forward every semester to teaching the course. They put their heart and soul into teaching, and are constantly looking for new ways to get students involved and excited about learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    If any new student is thinking about attending this college, make sure you turn in all of your paper work, IMMEDIATELY you do not want to have to keep being reminded to send in your paper work. Also, if any new student is thinking about being a teacher, ask about the Beacon and Daystar programs, ahead of time, so that you are aware of what each program has to offer.

  • 11/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working adults who need flexible schedules. Those who pay out of pocket. Students living in remote locations who desire access to regionally accredited education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Manage your time well.

    In three sentences

    Columbia College offers regionally accredited education through convenient online delivery. I have found the learning experience engaging and moderately challenging, although online delivery requires a high level of self motivation from the student. Administrative support is timely, responsive, and helpful.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are actively in the military or veterans.

    In three sentences

    Compared to other schools I've researched, the prices are great. The teachers are helpful as well as fellow students. They work well with transferring military training and experience into college credits.

  • 01/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I attend one of their satellite campuses, I cannot answer this.

    Dorm Life

    i do not stay in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The fast passed environment is always a good challenge and the teachers are always there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    network as much as you can

    In three sentences

    I attend one of the satellite campuses. Overall, there are great teachers, and curriculum. This school definitely values their students.