Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Columbia International University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Some clubs and activities, but not an abundance. Though there is definitely the opportunity to create new clubs, as it is a small, private university. Faculty and staff love to see students get involved and do new and creative things!

    Great for these types of students

    Hard-working students who are seeking to know God more and follow Jesus througout their lives. It is definitely a place for broken, imperfect people; I discovered it was a safe place to grow and ask questions. Don't think that because you aren't perfect that you can't come to a school like CIU. It's also a humbling experience. So if you come to school thinking you know everything, one of your first lessons will be that you don't know much at all!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Emphases on mission work, prayer, the gospel of Jesus, Christian service, and loving people. CIU seeks out opportunities in these areas as well as creates them. They encourage students to be passionate in these areas.

    Bang for the buck

    It feels really expensive to me, but it's one of the cheaper private universities! I think it's worth it, but I won't lie, it's hard to take out loans and make those payments every month!

    What to do for fun

    Columbia is a little sparse on super exciting things to do, but if you know the locals (I happen to be one :) or look hard enough, you'll find Columbia has a few gems to offer. Riverbanks Zoo, a nationally recognized zoo, is a lot of fun. They offer deals sometimes that allow you free admission on certain days of the month. Columbia also has the local music school at the public university. They constantly offer free recitals of fine musical quality. The USC Symphony Orchestra is a treat to hear, and with student tickets on sale for only $9 dollars, it's hard to beat! What a wonderful evening! There are also a few nice parks around, and some pretty wonderful coffee shops and local music joints. Columbia also boasts The Vista downtown which is home to many wonderful restaurants, galleries, shops, and the Capitol building!

    Food and Dining

    Honestly, even though I am so sick of cafeteria food, our cafeteria is pretty legit for what it is. It's no Olive Garden, but it's one of the best college cafeterias I've seen.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a neat experience. I have loved living with my roommates these past 3 years and have developed several deep relationships that seem like they could last a lifetime. The downside, of course, is there are some mandatory activities as well as the lack of privacy. The pros outweigh the cons by far, even though I am introverted and shy. I am part of an established group of friends that has grown together since freshman year. It's exciting to be a part of that!

    Academic Rigor

    Though at first I was not sure of the academic rigor at CIU, I see now that it is challenging and rigorous, but does not allow that to become their obsession. Truly, CIU's focus is on education; the shaping, stretching, and growing of a human heart, soul, and mind. While the programs are rigorous, CIU accomplishes this without arrogance or pretention.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in CIU, the best way to get to know the school for real is to pop in and spend time with current students. If you have a friend who attends CIU, plan to unofficially spend a day or two with them to get a taste for the school. Another great option is applying to attend the R.C. McQuilkin Scholarship weekend for highschool seniors that is usually held in November or December every year.

    In three sentences

    CIU is a great place to be stretched and to grow in your understanding of a biblical worldview. The professors here are unique and teach with passion and skill. Though I was unsure of my choice to attend CIU my freshman year, now that I am coming to the close of my junior year, I am so glad I chose to attend CIU!

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of different organizations, the Pilgrims Protest (student newspaper), MuKappa, CIU Players, the Credo.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The prayer towers are a picturesque and peaceful part of the scenery and they sum up a large part of the center of life on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It may be expensive compared to some, but it's a lot less than others and well worth the cost.

    What to do for fun

    Walks in the woods, down to the lake, are pleasant on a Sunday afternoon. Playing frisbee, soccer and other sports in the field occupy some days.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is a pleasant atmosphere for community, and although it seems like a requirement for college students to complain about the food, there is a decent variety and the staff are friendly.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun, and encourages growth both physically, emotionally, and spiritually. It is a good atmosphere for study and relaxation, and a wonderful place for the students to learn to live with others.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging and interesting. If you have a passion to learn, you will enjoy the studies and the assignments are very relevant to the class.

    In three sentences

    This college is great for anyone who strongly desires to learn and to become a better person, focusing on God and carefully studying the Bible. The faculty and students are all passionate about God. The professors work hard at encouraging the students to seek to follow God and to learn about both the Bible and practical life lessons.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several nice places to go to in the area such as the Riverwalk downtown, Riverbanks Zoo, Five points for shopping and food. Even going downtown to walk around is nice sometimes. The art museum is located downtown and it's free on Sundays. Harbison is another great place to shop and eat as it is filled with stores, a mall, and plenty of restaurants. If you want to get bigger and fancier for your shopping experience, try Sandhills! It's a bit farther away but there are lots of stores and restaurants and the walk around that area is very pleasant.

    Food and Dining

    It's great! I work at the cafeteria serving my fellow students!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty great in the renovated dorms. We have fridges with freezers, furniture that is easily movable, plenty of space for two people and loft kits that are pretty easy to put together if you want more room. The only thing I dislike sometimes are the hall meetings we have to attend every two weeks. They can be tedious and I feel like the RA is checking up on us or something.

    Academic Rigor

    I've had two extremely difficult classes, and many moderately difficult with just the right amount of work. Only a few have been under-par as far as I am concerned.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you find yourself at CIU and really felt called to be there, then don't sweat the small stuff! Standards might seem like a big issue at first or maybe even more after your first year at school, but they shouldn't be! Follow standards, be diligent in your studies and make sure to get the rest you need. You won't regret it, I promise!

    In three sentences

    CIU is a great school and I am particularly pleased with the program I have chosen. The professors are very nice and diligent teachers, serving the students well. Another great thing about CIU is the amount of work available to students on campus!

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's always something to do on-campus. What I enjoy most is playing ultimate frisbee, but there are a lot of sports or other groups to get involved with.

    Food and Dining

    Some people complain about the food, but I think they do a good job. There is a grill line and sub line in addition to the main lines, and the food has improved significantly even since I've been here.

    Dorm Life

    CIU is serious about providing a great dorm experience. They are specifically amazing at helping the freshmen adjust to college life.

    Academic Rigor

    The lectures are interesting, the assignments are challenging and interesting, and the professors care about students.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't want to study Bible then this might not be the place for you, but if that is your passion then come to campus for one of the Preview days where you can talk with students about the school.

    In three sentences

    CIU is a small, close-knit community (about 600 students) committed to preparing students to serve God. The professors care about students and do a good job teaching. CIU will be entering intercollegiate athletics for the first time in 2013.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is constantly making rounds through the campus keeping students safe and happy.

    Clubs and Activities

    CIU provides a lot of activites to keep you busy and involved. It is just a matter of what you want to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Christians

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Theres a spot near the senior apartments where bon fires are usually going on. It is a lot of fun! Also, CIU has prayer days where all students go to the prayer towers and pray for our country and the issues affecting it.

    Bang for the buck

    CIU is expensive and will only be affordable if you make it so. Apply for scholarships and work hard to maintain a high GPA! It is definitely worth the money. Attending CIU is a life changing experience.

    What to do for fun

    On the first day of visiting CIU I participated in a bon fire, a game of ultimate frisbee, and a lot of other fun activities. Between sports, campus life, and other activies, life at CIU is never boring.

    Food and Dining

    The food at CIU is awesome and tasts just like home cooking. There is an excellent variety for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at CIU is amazing! The residence life members are in charge of looking out for students and are always there to help. The people in your residence halls will become your best friends!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at CIU provide wisdom as well as information as the combine Bible and academics to address school subjects.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to be challenged and ecouraged spiritually, as well as to meet amazing people!

    In three sentences

    Columbia International University feels like home. They combine Christianity and education in order to provide an intellectual and spiritual view on classes. The staff and faculty truly care and will become like family!

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe and beautiful campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Intermural sports teams and soon accredited with the NCCAA (National Christian College Athletic Association)

    Great for these types of students

    International, Missionary kids, Ministry, Athletes, Teachers, Psychology, Pastors, Musicians, those who have a passion for impacting the world and nations for Christ. CIU is truly a place to not only grow academically but strengthen your walk with Christ and relationship with fellow believers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    CIU Bowl, flag football girls teams and guys teams, soccer is huge at CIU, Winter Formal, Junior/Senior Formal, dorm life.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Columbia is full of fun things to do. Located in the middle of South Carolina, the beach is about 2 hours away and so are the beautiful mountains. Downtown Columbia is rich in historical sites, the river is always fun to go to for walks, picnics, or even swimming. There's also Riverbanks Zoo, South Carolina State Museum, Columbia Art Museum, South Carolina State House and gorgeous parks. Shopping and coffee shops are plentiful :)

    Dorm Life

    Students aren't just classmates, we are a community and family.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. Search for scholarships. Get to know faculty, professors and admissions counselors ahead of time, especially those who are involved in your attended major. Get involved in campus life and student activities, don't miss out on the fun college experience but don't neglect your studying and coursework.

    In three sentences

    I transferred to CIU in January 2011 after attending Midlands Technical College for 2 1/2 years. I thoroughly enjoy my classes at CIU as well my major and the wonderful faculty and professors. I love learning so much more about the Bible and also acquiring hands on experiences in my youth ministry classes.

  • 11/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is good from my knowledge and others sharing. It is a small campus surrounded by woods; however there has never from my 2-1/2 years there, no incidents from my knowledge

    Greek Life

    Unaware at time

    Clubs and Activities

    Student unions. Each class, freshmen, sophomore, etc has a class leader, v. pres., treasurer and secretary... and many, many more. Every student living on campus will have some activity they can do and get involved in. Much to keep you busy. One in particular is a reading tutoring group for under privilege children at a close-by school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unknown at this time

    Bang for the buck

    My schooling is paid for through VA. It is a private school. Bang for the buck, I cannot tell you that. Information is online. www.ciuonline.edu

    What to do for fun

    The students and the activities that the school has lined up weekly will be a joy for you.

    Food and Dining

    Fairly well. 4.50 Full entree, desserts, beverages, etc 3.75 Salad bar, soup, beverages The meals are fairly well.

    Dorm Life

    I am an off campus student. Dorm life on campus for both male and female is good. All rooms have been renovated; updated in 2011-12.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor is good. The teachers are there to assist you and will assist you in the event of problems. They will work with you. I know first hand. However, they expect you to do your part. No plagiarism. Do your own work. Group study is permissible.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a prospective student seeking to join the Columbia International University, I say to you seek the LORD in your decision; trust the LORD in your decision and finally step out on Faith believing that the decision you've made or have been given by the Holy Spirit will be the right one. If your choice is Columbia International University in Columbia, SC, then I will tell you this, you have made the right decision. It is a league of compassionate Professors, Teachers and Staff you will come to know and hopefully love. I know I have for the four years I cut into 2-1/2 years as a transfer student. I will graduate (if it is the LORD's will) December 2012. The President of our school -Dr. Bill Jones has a heart of gold. He's compassionate and CARES as so many of the professors, teachers and staff do.

    In three sentences

    I have now been attending Columbia International University since August 2010 and I realize it was and is the best decision I could have ever made knowing that my relationship with Christ Jesus would grow stronger, I joined the CIU family because of the Lord's leading; the school's reputation and the family-oriented atmosphere I felt in 2009 when my decision was finally made to attend. I am truly grateful for every person I come in contact with because it brings me closer to the LORD in prayer; not only in prayer, but it has given me an even greater understanding of His Word and a closer relationship.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is water tight, and is always around to handle any potential issues.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of student organizations on campus to get involved with.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are looking to study the Bible, that are committed to Christ, that want to learn how to live for Christ more, and are really interested in finding friends that will call them out and build them up to live a life more honorable to Christ.

    Bang for the buck

    The Bible education you are getting is the best one around, so it is worth the money. If you are coming here strictly for you academic major though, it probably isn't worth it, because so few of the professors studied things outside of the Bible for their PhD.

    What to do for fun

    There is always some sort of student sponsored event going on on campus, and the soccer games are fun as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the best, but there are plenty of selections so you're always bound to find something you'll like to eat in the caf.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. People are great. Living on campus is wonderful.

    Academic Rigor

    There are a few difficult classes in the Bible major, but other than that the only challenging majors are Humanities, Psychology, and Biblical Languages. Not much else is academically rigorous at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you ask lots of questions about the major you think you're entering before you come to CIU. Sometimes the way majors sound to prospective students is not the way it actually is. Ask questions about what specific courses you will be taking while enrolled.

    In three sentences

    CIU has the greatest campus life and community of any college I've ever heard of. The people here (both students and faculty/staff) are loving, awesome individuals. CIU is a great place to be.

  • 03/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have felt very safe here. Which I know feeling is not really relevant, but I have never had any problems with security, theft, or worrying of anything of that sort, and I greatly appreciate that.

    Clubs and Activities

    Okay, I have to admit that I haven't yet searched out all the clubs and activities, but there are quite a few that a lot of the students are into. I know there are sports teams and the group for missionary and military kids is really active, but overall I'm out of the loop.

    Great for these types of students

    I would recommend this school in an instant. If you are interested in missions or following God's will for your life I would suggest checking it out. If you want to party or are looking for more of a typical college experience, I would say that CIU is probably not for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One thing that has been hard for me to adjust to is that there is a rule against dancing, unless it is promoted as a student event or just girls/ just guys, no dancing.

    Bang for the buck

    I love it here, I really do. It is on the expensive side, but if you look at it from a college view, for a private Christian college it is on the more affordable side. Maybe it is just me, but I have come to the conclusion that no matter where you go for college, unless it is a community college, it is going to be expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Okay, good question. The campus is absolutely gorgeous. There are trails all over the place, a lake, a couple ponds. You can even hike to the river. There is a gym on campus, I've actually not been there yet as I haven't been here that long, but I know they hold classes and people enjoy them. There are plenty of clubs to join, and there are a few places to hang out, but other than that there really isn't too much going on unless planned by one of the student organizations or already in place as a dance, banquet, field day, or activity. There isn't much to do within walking distance despite being in the city of Columbia, and for me if I wasn't focused on my studies I would really wish I had a car to actually do something. There is a kitchen and a small theater in the basements of the dorms, and that's nice every once in awhile, but overall there isn't too much to do.

    Food and Dining

    Well, I actually work in the cafeteria right now. It's a small school, so there are not that many options honestly, but the food is decent. There is a salad bar which is pretty good, as is the sandwich line, and ice cream station. I honestly wish there was more fruit, but I can't really complain.

    Dorm Life

    I love my hall, it's amazing. Everyone respects each other but we still have random dance parties and always have cookie dough at our hall meetings.

    Academic Rigor

    As someone who has transferred from a State University, to a Community College, and finally to CIU, I would say it's about average. They take pride in their academics, and frankly some classes are extremely difficult, but then others are considered jokes among the students and as long as you show up to class for these and actually try you'll typically make a C or higher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the financial office! Seriously, they are incredibly helpful, and if you make friends with them they will bend over backwards for you. Also, if you are more interested in athletics or a specific field not related to Christian ministry, you may want to look elsewhere. While CIU does have the basics, it's still a small school and is not very developed in those areas.

    In three sentences

    CIU is an incredible school especially for those truly interested in following God's calling on their lives as Christians. The professors truly do care about the students actually learning the material and growing in their walks with Christ. It is a great environment and while it prepares you for Christian ministry whether international or in the states, there are also amazing opportunities to get involved in around Columbia itself.

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is offset from the main road, and we have security on duty 24/7. We've never had issues of items being stolen. Dorms are locked with key cards, so they are very safe.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life on campus, but you can take a class to learn the Greek language! Haha!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of things to get involved in but there is an issue of exclusivity for some. I recommend the newspaper or the yearbook. They look great on a resume and are a blast to be involved in. Also, those interested in theater, there is a lovely theater program, student directed and student run, and it has been growing rapidly in recent years.

    Great for these types of students

    CIU is perfect for students who love the Lord and want a superb Biblical education and foundation. It's also a fun-loving, free-spirited environment. The rules do not suffocate you like at some Christian universities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a spot overlooking Broad River called The Point. There is a gazebo, a place for a bonfire and a swing. It is beautiful at sunset and a great place for camping. Additionally, the hill overlooking the soccer field is a great sunset site. As for traditions, there are many! One in particular is that when a boy and girl walk around the school at night to talk, or walk down to the Point alone, that people consider it a date. It's fun to laugh about.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is fairly expensive, but there is no place else I'd rather be. It is well worth the cost.

    What to do for fun

    Socializing in the student center where pool and ping pong are available; hanging out on your brother/sister hall on the weekends; going shopping or out to eat in the Harbison mall area with friends ; soccer and basketball games are almost always packed with enthusiastic fans; intramural volleyball, basketball and soccer are perfectly competitive fun; the lake is a perfect place to tan and on Sunny days you can always find people outside playing football or frisbee.

    Food and Dining

    Breakfast and lunch are pretty good during the weekdays, but weekends meals are disappointing.

    Dorm Life

    There is nothing quite like the bond of a hall. There is never a dull moment, and I have no dorm horror stories like some college freshman at public universities do. We keep our doors open and can trust each other 100%. And hallmates create a strong support system.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses for the Bible major keep you on your toes, but you learn a lot and grow significantly. I wouldn't trade it for anything. The concentrated majors are excellent to prepare you for a career in that field.

    Tips for prospective students

    My number one recommendation to high school seniors is to participate in the McQuilkin Scholarship Weekend. It is in the first weekend of December and is an excellent way to meet fellow students, get to know the campus and faculty, and to receive scholarships for tuition.

    In three sentences

    CIU is a remarkable university where the love of God is evident and Biblical teaching is everywhere. The atmosphere amongst students, and faculty as well, is one of support, encouragement and Christ-like love. The excellent academics encourage personal growth both spiritually and intellectually.

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    At CIU there are a lots of activities that students can do. for example, it has different types of clubs to help the community around campus. It also have sports and a gym where students can go at any time. In addition, there are worship services where students can attent.

    Food and Dining

    At campus, they food they give is exelent. It have a variety of foods. It has different types of foods from around the world, this is because of the different types of students cultures that live there.

    Dorm Life

    CIU gives the opportunity to live in campus. It make students more responsables in they daily lifes. Students live in harmony.

    Academic Rigor

    It has a seminary and school ministry. employment positions for those who graduated. And a lot of more opportunities for those students that want to continue studing.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. To never give up in their goals. 2. Have a clear goal of what you want to do in life. 3. Help our world to be better.

    In three sentences

    CIU is a christian school with a lots of opportunities. It challenge students to become better people. their focus is to share God's Word to those who have never heard of it.

  • 06/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    We have a chorus, drama team, and many other clubs to be involved in.

    What to do for fun

    Fun activities at CIU can consist but are not limited to campus events, dances, movie nights in the auditorium, and sports events. At CIU there is always something to be involved in for fun . Many students go off campus to the local shopping areas, parks, or just stay on campus and play frisbee.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at CIU can easily be identified to promote a sense of unity and community. There is always different types of food each day that appeal to the diversity that we have at CIU. The dining room has big, medium, and small table to accommodate any size group eating together.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at CIU is amazing ,full of events, laughter, and fun. I have never heard of a better system than they have at CIU. Dorm life can consist of Brother/Sister hall events/dates, hall fun, hall pranking( in love of course), secret sister gifts, hall small group, and hall meetings that are meant to bring issue to light, help each other get through tough times, and make general announcements.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic rigor at this school is at level and above the level that others schools offer. Our academics stretches students to grasp the teaching concepts that other schools teach while showing students how to navigate the world in a biblical perspective.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in searching a learning more about the Bible and how it can apply to your desired occupation this is the school for you. Come with an open and friendly heart and be ready to embrace the Professors who truly care about you and your walk with Christ.

    In three sentences

    Columbia International University is a very diverse and highly valued college. The staff,faculty, and students are all part of what makes the school so compelling . The school is focused on give each student an education that will allow them to Know Christ and to Make Christ Known in an occupation that the students pursue.