Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Columbia State Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/15/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Columbia State is a great place to go if you intend on taking summer classes for general education requirements. The class sizes are small, and the students come from all over. The professors are also very nice and helpful to anyone who needs or asks for it.

  • 01/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students who do not know what they want to major in immediately, and want to work and do school at the same time while they figure out what they want to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    You don't have to know exactly what major you want to study for going in. It is a good idea to start thinking about it quickly along with what four year school you want to attend. After you have selected a major and a school to transfer to, make sure the classes you are taking line up with the school you wish to transfer to. Not all degrees at other schools line up exactly with what Columbia State tells you to take. It is a smart idea to go for four semesters and get 60 hours. I did it and have enjoyed it while saving lots of money.

    Bang for the buck

    Columbia State is very affordable. With the TN Hope Scholarship alone it is around $1000-$1500 for 12-18 hours of classes. The only other cost is books.

    Am enjoying being here

    Columbia State is a convenience because there are 5 campus locations to take classes. I take classes in Franklin, near my home and Columbia which is about an hour away from my home. Also there are a wide range of online classes available through the school or RODP.

    Am learning a lot

    At the end of the Spring 2011 semester I will have completed 60 crdeit hours. These are just my general education credits along with a few electives. I have taken everything from a music class, to literature and writing classes, to calculus.

  • 09/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great if you live nearby and want to continue living at home or want to save money!

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs, go to orientation, and of course STUDY!

    Bang for the buck

    I didn't get any grants and only a few scholarships so this was the cheapest option I had. I didn't have to take out any loans.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have became a member of a few clubs and I have made many new friends.

    Am learning a lot

    I feel like most of the teachers really want to help me do well.

  • 12/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's fantastic for students who aren't fans of large crowds and enjoy a small group to spend time with weekly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because it's a community college doesn't mean its a bad college, give it a shot, it's great!

    Bang for the buck

    It's so much easier going here and knocking out all of the Pre-Requisite classes and paying a small amount instead of going to a bigger school and paying a lot of money for the same exact classes.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being here. Everyone is friendly. Since the classes are small it's easy to meet people.

    Am learning a lot

    Teachers here are all hands on and love their jobs. Classes are small and they are happy to help in any way possible. They are all very knowledgeable in whatever subject they are teaching, making it easy to stay engaged while they are speaking.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria serves a delicious hot meal daily. There are plenty of vending machines around the campus. The only disadvantage is the cafeteria is cash only.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all the free activities provided on campus, including free tutoring!

    In three sentences

    I have loved attending Columbia State Community College. All staff were helpful and compassionate. The campus is all in all a great place to learn, and meet new friends interested in the same studies as you!

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I love Campus Security, they are nice and social

    Greek Life

    I'm just getting involved with that myself, so I'm too inexperienced to say.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to name. There's a club or activity for everyone style.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Free Ice Cream on campus...just because.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for, I am very happy so far.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved with clubs, and groups, there's always and activity going on. Just jump in.

    Food and Dining

    There is a great cafeteria, with a great menu to order from.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Never give up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, stay disciplined, and ask lots of questions.

    In three sentences

    The professors - 5 Stars. The Financial Aid Office is very helpful and informative - 5 Stars. They have a wide range of available courses - 5 Stars.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do not rely on any of the Franklin staff to assist you in anything! They always seem too busy for you and push you off on someone from the Columbia campus. You will have to bug them continuously for any needed information.

    In three sentences

    If you are closer to the Columbia campus, i recommend attending there. Although there are a few good teachers at the Franklin campus, most of them do not care for the students and just want to get through the day. I believe that it is entirely too expensive for a community college.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    This is a caps with little to do.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria at the main campus

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    If you don't try then you will not do great, but if you do what the teachers tell you everything will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize you teachers, they are there to help you. Make sure you have fully thought out what you want to do in life and go for it.

    In three sentences

    Columbia Sate is a great college to start for incoming freshman. They offer a variety of technical degrees also if you are looking to join the working field quickly. Small classroom atmospheres are great for learning.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    For English take Beverly Mitchell's classes...Psychology take Brunton and Carter-Lowe is a must for Science courses.

    In three sentences

    Columbia State has wonderful teachers who genuinely seem to enjoy teaching. Like most institutions there are some who are less than cordial, but overall a good learning environment.

  • 03/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Columbia State is always holding events. The Columbia Campus is where most of the action is but the Franklin campus tries as well to entertain us.

    Food and Dining

    We have no food on the Franklin campus, therefore I cannot rate.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot rate the dorms because they do not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Columbia State is not as hard as most universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, this is a great choice of school!

    In three sentences

    Columbia State is a great school for people who want a more personal relationship with teachers instead of being just a number. I absolutely love the atmosphere of the students and staff. This is a great place to stay close to home while also getting an education.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots Of Campus Events , Karaoke, Contests, Performances

    Food and Dining

    Great Food :)

    Dorm Life

    no Dorms. Community College

    Academic Rigor

    Above Average Academic Rigor, More Than Average Expectation but its What You Should Aim For.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on task and don't fall behind. There won't always be a safety net. However if you go above and beyond and reach for the sky you will soar among the stars

    In three sentences

    Columbia State Community College is Close Knit. The Staff is Very Helpful. They Actually CARE.

  • 05/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play some tennis and run on the track

    Food and Dining

    Never eaten on campus

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up to class and make sure you study and do all the work

    In three sentences

    Columbia State is a great school to attend. The teachers try really hard to get students excited about learning. They have a really good nursing program as well, which i intend on joining in the spring.

  • 12/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a security guard patrolling th eparking lots.

    What to do for fun

    Attend free lectures, go to sporting events.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is limited and there are no places other than the cafe to eat at on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It is about average.

    Tips for prospective students

    See your advisor as soon as you can and register early. Join as many clubs that you can to help build your resume. Be socially active, it helps make college a lot easier to get through.

    In three sentences

    Columbia State Community College is an excellent school to attend. It is a great school to attend right after high school. The school is helpful and the professors are wonderful.

  • 12/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs, etc., you just have to find what interests you.

    Food and Dining

    There's a cafeteria on campus, it's ok.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply.

    Academic Rigor

    It'll challenge you, just be prepared to study and you'll do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't look down on it because it's a Community College, there's more to it than you think.

    In three sentences

    Overall, it's a good college. There's help when you need it. The campus has what you need.

  • 02/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety patrol cars drive around campus all day. I always feel safe.

    Greek Life

    There is a club for English

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to join depending on your interests. If you're into politics, there is a club for that. There's a club for English. Anything.

    Great for these types of students

    The type that have other things to concentrate on in life, but want to go to school, too. Also, CSCC is a great place to start for those fresh out of high school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wear green every Wednesday to show your Charger pride!

    Bang for the buck

    I am enrolled here because I can finish my schooling here in as little as two years and will be able to find a job in the health field as soon as I graduate.

    What to do for fun

    The campus hosts pep rallies, sporting events, blood drives, and many more exciting events.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria serves food all day and there are vending machines all over campus. Also, lots of times there are faculty members outside serving free food and hot chocolate during the winter months.

    Dorm Life

    CSCC is very close to home; there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I learn quite a bit on a daily basis. The professors are very good at explaining concepts and will gladly help you one-on-one.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dedicate lots of time to studying for the harder classes. Turn in all of your work on time.

    In three sentences

    CSCC is a great place to start college. It is an affordable place to go to take your basic classes. Before you know it, you'll be graduating and transferring to a university.

  • 04/07/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Gym, Clubs, Sport games, Theater, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Never used the Cafe.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Most teachers are hardcore and thats good because you want to learn from the best. They all usually have tutoring options available if you struggle. You just have to find your own way of studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get advising before you begin. Most people choose the wrong major for themselves and end up wasting their time and money. The faculty is great if you take the time to meet with them.

    In three sentences

    The best college to start out at whether you're setting up a basis for a 4 year degree or a Technician degree. The professors and advisors really take out time to help you. You will find your way here!

  • 04/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't been on campus once without seeing the security care, but honestly I have never been scared there even when leaving at night. It if a very quiet campus.

    Greek Life

    I don't know that they have one.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm a member of Phi Theta Kappa!

    Great for these types of students

    This is great for students who are maybe undecided on their major, or a little anxious about going from high school to college. It's like dipping your foot in the pool before you have to dive in head first.

    What to do for fun

    Study in the computer lab....that's what you do for fun when you work through college!

    Food and Dining

    Honestly I have never ate at the cafeteria on campus. I don't even know where it is. Since I started as a night class student and have been basically forced to take day classes to finish my hours, I'm quite unfamiliar with the campus and what it offers.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms a CState.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the teacher. There are some teachers that basically give you the answers, then they are some that give you lectures that scare the pants off of you about how tough the paper or test is going to be. I would definitely say it is not consistent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Columbia State is a great place to start. For the first 2 years of my college career I won't be in any debt. I used the payment plan that Columbia State has, which is wonderful!! I would and do advise every college student I know to start here. I wouldn't have done it any other way.

    In three sentences

    Columbia State is very affordable, and has been a great place for me to start. The accelerated business program at night was super helpful because it worked with my work schedule. However, when it can to getting my general education classes, I could not find any that were offered at night. I also had a hard time getting in contact with a faculty member for help because any day time meetings were basically out of the question.