Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Columbus College of Art & Design Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for future fashion, graphic, industrial, and interior designers. As well as fine artist, illustrators, photographers and animators.

    Bang for the buck

    This school's tuition maybe costing you an arm and a leg. But with the education you're receiving, the experience, and the skills you are honing this school is giving you everything and more.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love this school. The students, faculty, and artist are all inspirational and all so very kind. The atmosphere of this school is supportive and they want to make sure you are having the best experience you can at the school.

    Am learning a lot

    I thought learning foundation classes would have been a hassle when I first came to the school. But after now finishing my first year I couldn't have been happier. Most of the basic information (such as color theory or art history) is really important and the teachers at this school make sure you're learning this information in the best way an artist can. That is by creating their lessons to suit the students creative minds.

  • 12/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Columbus College of Art & Design is an ideal school for hard workers, perfectionists, those that are artistically-minded, creative, outside-the-box, and unique individuals. If you're not 100% or above dedicated and serious about working in the visual art world, this school is most definitely not for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to enroll yourself into a high-workload school. Although it is an intensive, rigorous school it will reward you with an above-average knowledge and specialization in the art world which is what in turn will get you an education. You have to realize that in the art world no one will care about your GPA like was typical in high school. You have to develop your portfolio and obtain connections in order to get a good job in this field. Being studious isn't enough.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is somewhat expensive compared to regular state schools, however, all art schools are in this same above-average range. And compared to all other art schools in the country Columbus College of Art & Design is the cheapest school that is still accredited and taken seriously with a great reputation.

    Am enjoying being here

    The school is what you make it out to be. Columbus College of Art & Design provides you with plenty of opportunities for extracurricular, clubs, and of course completing your schoolwork. If you sit around and don't move outside of your comfort zone by learning new art techniques by talking to fellow students or professors, you won't have a very good time at this school.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors and being in class will only teach you so much. As is typical in an art major, you need to dedicate a large amount, if not all, of your time to practicing, doing your homework/projects, and researching techniques, methods, and materials. If you simply sit in class and wait for a lightning bolt of inspiration or talent to hit you, you'll never succeed in the visual art field. Especially in art, you need to be proactive about your own education.

  • 06/20/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Artsy Talkative For the Great Thinkers Expressives Wild and Free Many more!

    Tips for prospective students

    There are many great art schools out there, I believe this is one of them. Check out their site at: www.ccad.edu to learn more. Trust me, I was blown away with what the students can do and how lively the campus is.

    Bang for the buck

    Every penny is worth it.

    Will enjoy being here

    I went to the campus and felt like I belonged there. I can't wait to get started. :D

    Will learn a lot

    I seen what the student can do there and it was all phenomenal!

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is excellent. They have patrol officers that watch the campus 24-7. The officers during the night usually patrol outside on bicycles. The officers are really friendly and are always around campus. The school also does a good job messaging students if there is a danger around town (i.e. there was a man a few blocks away from campus that had killed about 5-6 people), they made sure that the students were aware and in safe locations.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs that are around campus, but the problem that sometimes happens is that they get scheduled around some of the times that other cool things are happening, but some groups are flexible on times they meet.

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing students are great, but sometimes the students that aren't surprise you the most.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not really.

    Bang for the buck

    The connections that students make here at school is where our school prides itself. If you do excellent work and have a great work ethic, people will remember you for that. Your classmates will remember the way you work and they may be the same people that help you get jobs in the future.

    What to do for fun

    Walking around the school and viewing the artwork from the year before is always exciting thing to do, because you can see what you have to compete with and it also gives you a chance to see how even some of those art pieces could improve if there is any. There is this hotdog place called dirty frank's: best hotdog place ever! They have great vegetarian options too! Monday nights are their karaoke nights. On the first Saturday of every month, Columbus art galleries in the Short North sector of town have an event called Gallery Hop. This gives students a chance to see artwork outside of the school and also a breath of fresh air outside of campus. It's even better if you have a group with you too!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria does a great job when the school hosts family events and has meals, but other than that the cafeteria food does pretty bad. Most things are either salted too much or the food is extremely bland. I'm not vegetarian, but my friends that are were tired of the limited options. Mostly it was soups, but even then their soups were not consistent on good flavor. The working crew are nice though, they tend to have a good time with the students around them.

    Dorm Life

    The Schottenstein (first years) residence rooms are small, but they do provide enough room to place most of your things inside of your rooms. They have no kitchens which is a huge negative, but one has to remember that those dorms are meant for first years, so most people probably don't know how to cook. There are microwaves in the lobbies, but some people still manage to burn things in there too, therefore the fire alarms go off a little too often than they should.

    Academic Rigor

    CCAD is known for having a heavy workload. Be prepared to be blasted with tons of homework from all of your classes. I've heard the foundation courses aren't as heavy, but as you go on through the years, the workload gets more intense. By the end of the first year, people are already dropping out simply by the amount of workload.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who are going in there with the idea of becoming the best are the students that this school wants. We want students that take advantage of all the opportunities and resources that are available to them. Trust me there are plenty: the library, our mac labs, cintiq labs, visiting artists, student exhibitions, professionally working instructors, just to name a few.

    In three sentences

    CCAD has been wonderful place for growing as an artist. You meet people from all other the country and even different countries. You realize that there are people that are better than you when it comes to art, which is both good and bad.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is awesome at this college. They work hard, and even patrol a few miles outside the school.

    Greek Life

    There's a greek restuarant nearby. That's about it.

    Great for these types of students

    Fashion Design, Fine Arts

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some of the older facilities, like the AMF building are kind of run down.

    What to do for fun

    Many great things to do in Columbus. Short North and Arena District do not disappoint. Must try Jeni's Ice Cream!

    Tips for prospective students

    Industrial Design is a few years away from getting back on it's feet. New teachers have recently come in. I would explore other options. This is definitely for PRODUCT design only. They do not deal with transportation or architectural design.

    In three sentences

    Facilities are great, many resources for artists. Cafeteria food needs work, but they are trying to fix it. Teachers are lacking outside of Fine Arts and Fashion Design.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always there for you making sure you are safe, on or nearby campus.

    Greek Life

    None here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is so much to do! Sketch club, animation, illustration, philosophy, gay/straight alliance, dodge-ball, comic club, yoga, zumba, game club, pretty much anything you can think of. And if it doesn't exist you can go create it.

    Great for these types of students

    The school helps you to get out of your shell and become confident in who you are if you aren't already. Everyone is super nice and welcoming.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have an annual drag show, really the whole school is unique so I don't know what to consider as unusual traditions here.

    Bang for the buck

    Good lord is it expensive, but if you can survive the stress, sleep deprivation, and loans then go here. The education is top notch and there are lots of job opportunities awaiting you after graduation.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many school clubs you'll always have something to do. There are also plenty of get-togethers for activities and you can always just chill with friends on the floor lobbies.

    Food and Dining

    It's either hit or miss with the chicken, but the mac n' cheese is divine. They have options for everyone, there's always something you'll enjoy. My only problems with it is that you can't use your swipes for other people and they close relatively early.

    Dorm Life

    For the most part, I've had great roommates and have taken to spending most my time on our floor lobby with all my friends. If you have a problem with one of your mates, then just talk to the staff. They are here for you and will do their best to make sure you have the best dorm experience you can.

    Academic Rigor

    I've only been here a semester, but I've already learned so much! Most of the teachers are amazing, After years of struggling on my own trying to learn perspective, I learned it in a matter of days!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do NOT procrastinate! It is very easy to fall behind, just put in the work and you'll find out just how far you can go and then go farther.

    In three sentences

    Great environment, and everyone is so crazy and wonderful. It's a lot of fun going here, but be prepared to work. This is not a push over school, but the education and job opportunities are totally worth the stress.

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel very safe on campus. Our security guys are great and you always see them around campus all hours of night and day. They are very friendly and I feel like they know all of the students.

    What to do for fun

    Being located in downtown Columbus you are never very far from something fun. Within walking distance of the Short North which is also the location of Gallery Hop. There are always concerts to go to and new exhibits at the CMA or other museums. A lot of things are also free with your CCAD student ID. I personally like to go for long walks down to the riverfront which is also the location of some Fall Festivals.

    Food and Dining

    The best part of the dining hall (The Market) was the icecream. Other then that I was very unimpressed with the dining options. If you have any sort of food allergy you better count out eating there all together. To give them credit it is a new dining hall and I think they are still trying to figure out the best way to do things.

    Dorm Life

    With the way the dorms were set up it felt more like an apartment setting to me. I didn't make a lot of friends in the dorms. I made most of my friends from class. Dorm life was a little on the disappointing side for the expectations I had.

    Academic Rigor

    I was scared as a Freshmen, only hearing that the workload would kill me and I wouldn't have a social life. I wouldn't say that was the case. I just had to stay on top of my homework assignments and I was okay. I think it is a good, challenging school. But if you manage your time you will have a little bit of free time with friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you're in the application process and going through orientation, don't get discouraged. This is a tough school to get into but if you keep your chin up and keep trying then you can do it. Remember to stay tough to be tough. It will be worth it.

    In three sentences

    They are creatively pushy. By that I mean that they will push you in your creativity maybe even more then you wanted to be pushed. This school is worth the money I am giving them.

  • 10/25/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    It is a very nice and well put school.

  • 10/06/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Well, I'm not sure if this school rates too high on this category. It is pretty pricey and not much scholarship opportunities. . .

    Will enjoy being here

    I love the fact that this school is in the middle of downtown Columbus and I really like that most of their buildings are old buildings that have been repurposed. It gives it a nice flare. On the other hand, it is a small school with not much but arts as oppose to going to a university where you can mingle with other type of students. Still debating on this one. Although, I did enjoy a lot my admissions counselor who talked to me for about an hour and I left there wanting to join the school right away. Pretty amazing convincing lines he had. You can tell they care about you!

    Will learn a lot

    This school is well known for being excellent in animation as Disney recruits most of their college graduates from this school. So that ought to tell you something. I think this is a great school to consider.

  • 03/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is 24/7 security. you can always find friendly security guards riding around on bikes. we are in between two other schools so we tend to get the crossover from their security as well.

    Greek Life

    there are no frat houses here! there was an artist house run by a crazy old man, but i'm not sure if that one is still up and running.

    Clubs and Activities

    this school is really labor intensive and so free time is usually only on the weekends. there are plenty of clubs and activities to do further down town though.

    Great for these types of students

    above all else this school is great for artistic people who want to make more of their artistic abilities. hardworking people are always welcome. fun and expressive people are always the best. if you want to complain, leave that at the door. everyone here has things to complain about.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is the quad, where you can sit and tan in the summer or build a snowman in the winter. this is a nice green space in the middle of campus. the litter box is a good place to socialize if you don't mind people smoking.

    Bang for the buck

    this school is worth the money if you want to become a professional artist. they teach you how to work for companies or for yourself. the academic plan is set up very nicely.

    What to do for fun

    there are common rooms and some fun stuff to do on campus, if you get bored of that, there's the metropolitan library a short walk away and an art museum. if those aren't for you, you can take a bus to the short north and look at all the shops, bars, and clubs. ccad is in the city so there's plenty to do.

    Food and Dining

    there is an all you can eat style buffet which is nice, but some of the food isn't all that good. it's an outside company that works for the school, but isn't part of the school.

    Dorm Life

    i lived in shotty the first year and if was a very nice experience. the dorms are great for making friends and learning the responsibilities of living on your own.

    Academic Rigor

    it's a pretty difficult college if you aren't willing to learn or better yourself.if you are open to becoming the best artist you can be, they definitely give you the tools and build you up.

    Tips for prospective students

    work hard and keep working hard. this isn't an easy college. it's really fun if you're artistic and enjoy the process of your major, but if not then you shouldn't be looking at art schools in the first place.

    In three sentences

    a fantastic college with amazing staff, ccad is a great place to let your creative side blossom. the teachers are working professionals and teach with the artist job market in mind. i'm getting ready to enter my third year and i couldn't be happier!

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safest campus around

    Greek Life

    none..............please. Your too busy being an artist!

    Clubs and Activities

    Not into clubs. The campus has alot of activities on campus to keep us busy. Pretty cool things are going on all the time.

    Bang for the buck

    Gallery hopping at North Shore...............the best. $10 and you have a night of fun for cheep.

    What to do for fun

    Oh wow................Gallery Hopping at North Shore. The book store in German village (and a trip to Schmidts). Great restaurants to eat

    Food and Dining

    Food is great for about 3 months. Then it gets old. Same. But lets face it....................sometimes home cooking gets boring to. Until you leave for college and realized how good home cooking can be.

    Dorm Life

    I stayed in the Design apartments my first year. It was awesome and I would highly recommend getting a room there.

    Academic Rigor

    You will work your tail off. You will also have to take all basic classes your first year. If you have an expertise in art, that's great. But get ready to learn more. You may be great at computer art, but you WILL learn how to draw and paint. Count on it!

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Prepare yourself early for this college. Take classes in painting, drawing and basic color theory. 2) Get a portfolio together early. Have many look it over. Have CCAD look it over early before your put your final portfolio through. It will not only help you get accepted but may also help in the scholarship process. 3) Stay on campus your first year. Also, try to stay on campus as much as you can. You need the time to work and the lab time in the workshops. 4) Go and visit many places and then visit CCAD. You will see the difference in many schools. And then you will know CCAD is the best fit for you. 5) Columbus is AWESOME! What a great town. No, it's not just about OSU BUCKS! It's really an artistic motivated town. Can't wait to live there one day!

    In three sentences

    I have completely enjoyed my first 2 years at CCAD. I have found the professors and staff at CCAD to be caring and strive to help me grow as an artist. Columbus College of Art and Design is the top school in the nation for arts studies...........now I know why.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards around every corner. I always feel very safe. Getting to know the security guards makes you feel even better; they are the nicest and funniest people I have ever met.

    Greek Life

    Non-existent at this school...sorry to burst your bubble.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not much to do besides create art, but when you are paying an arm and a leg for classes, it is well worth it.

    Great for these types of students

    ART FREAKS...enough said.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dirty Franks, The Columbus Museum of Art, The Quad, Downtown, the OSU campus, etc.

    What to do for fun

    Living in the heart of downtown Columbus should serve as enough fun. Being an art student living in downtown Columbus is even more fun. There are always interesting places to go, sights to see, people to meet, and it is never boring.

    Food and Dining

    Personally, the food makes me sick, but it does not help that I have stomach issues. The food itself is good, but my stomach just cannot handle it. I know many people that have definitely gained the 'freshman fifteen' in the past year, just because the food is so delicious.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small, but they serve their purpose. Most of your time is spent in class, or working on homework, so the dorm is literally for sleeping or doing homework. They are designed for artists, and it is really convenient.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very tough, but they do it with great intentions. They are all successful artists and they only wish the best for each student. They will throw on more work than one is capable of completing, but learning how to multitask and prioritize will only benefit you in the long run.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not go in with any expectations, surprise is the best element. Push yourself into extra curricular activities, but do not get overwhelmed with the work load. This school is tough, but the more you do, the better you will become; someone great once told me If you're bored here, you're boring, and that statement definitely holds true at CCAD.

    In three sentences

    I have learned more in one year here than I had ever imagined learning in my lifetime. This school has pushed me to become the best artist I can be, and to pursue competition with my head held high. I love this school passionately, and I would never change my mind about my decisions.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    13 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is very expensive, but it is an excellent program. Also, there are great job opportunities after attending CCAD.

    What to do for fun

    There is the entire city of Columbus.

    Food and Dining

    From my friend's reviews, the food is great.

    Dorm Life

    My friend is currently attending the school and loves the dorms. From the pictures I have seen, these are some of the nicest dorms available on any campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Fantastic job covering the arts, but very little classes available in other areas. However, most art schools have a similar curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work on your portfolio. Make sure you have at least 3 concentration pieces. Take AP Studio art if it is available at your school to receive more individualized attention.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoyed the presentation given when I visited with a representative from the school. There programs are great and there are many job opportunities after graduating from this program. I recently had a portfolio review and am considering applying.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is great and always willing to lend a helping hand or walk a lady to her car.

    Greek Life

    what greek life?

    Clubs and Activities

    always somthing to join or get involved with.

    Great for these types of students

    people who are passionate of pursuing an artistic life style and who can afford it

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have a dodge ball team and we meet every friday... ps, i run the court

    Bang for the buck

    its hard to pass and its hard to pay

    What to do for fun

    anything and everything is around the school its smack dab in the middle of the city

    Food and Dining

    Healthy food and an assortment of it is alway provided, but not to good cafe hours.

    Dorm Life

    ok but price most students live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    very intense

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to be tested to your wits, when it comes to critiques.

    In three sentences

    Its a great school, full of job opportunity for your future. It really helps develop your artistic talent and helps one grow as an artist. Intense academics and harsh tuition but worth it all in the end.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Posters around campus advertise events such as movie screenings, concerts, and sketch group outings. Student events are funded by student organizations -- some focusing on our community, such as GSSA and Sanctuary, and some focusing our majors and interests, such as the Animation and Illustration Student Collective.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to meet artists of various skill levels, higher and lower. It's natural to feel belittled by better artists, but take advantage of this experience positively than letting it drain your confidence.

    In three sentences

    CCAD is not only an art school, but also a creative community. Just as our giant, strikingly bold ART sign stands out against the business buildings in downtown Columbus, we as CCAD students are not ashamed of ourselves as individuals and we take pride in it. As developing artists, communicating with other creative individuals aids us in our passions and prepares us for our future.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We have visiting artists to tell us about the art industry, field days, art fairs, music fairs and such.

    Food and Dining

    Sushi Day, Steak Day, Wild Game day. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Unlimited desserts

    Dorm Life

    For those who want to live on campus to focus hard on their studies.

    Academic Rigor

    It's possible to have the research of your project and your actual project graded 50/50, so don't skip on the research. show your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    All your work, past and present, is important. it can help you where you need improvement. Don't let and art block get you down. take a moment to regain your composure and think what you want to do next on a project.

    In three sentences

    Columbus College of Art and Design is the perfect place to be for developing skills in art, such as drawing, painting, photography, animation, Fine Art, and more. Ever since I started attending the Saturday school classes in 2002, I've hoped of attending for real as an animation student. Now I am working hard to start a career in animation. Aside from the usual studies we also have computer labs, fun field days, visiting artists, clubs of interests, and much more.

  • 09/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is well done, but there aren't that many options. Dinning hall has strict meal times but there are a lot of restaurants near campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms need to be undated, internet connection is poor, but rooms are fairly large and there is sufficient storage space.

    Academic Rigor

    There's a very heavy work load and classes are very long.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to explore the surrounding city and go out of your way to make friends.

    In three sentences

    It's a very warm community with striking individuals. The school is pretty small so it's easy to find classes and make friends.

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    As i said before there is the dodgeball and basketball club.

    What to do for fun

    While campus being not to far from Short North, thats the place to go to see multiple small art galleries. Also not to far from OSU so the OSU vibe is surronded all through out columbus. Also there are clubs such as diversity to basketball and dodgeball.

    Food and Dining

    You will think the food is great for the first two weeks. After that you will get a bit tired of eating the same things. It is a clean cafateria and the food is a 3 out of 5.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life nice because you get to meet a lot of people since the dorm i'm in has 4 people in it. So right away you get to meet 3 other people. The RA's put up posters in the hallways and elevator so you can go to one of there projects like a movie night or paint pumpking. Small and fun activites that you can meet more people at.

    Academic Rigor

    If you balance your time you will have plenty of time to get projects done. But balancing time is hard for me. If you can do that you will be set and won't be cramming at the last moment for any projects.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention to what the proffesors have to say. There critiques on your piece of art will make your piece better. Bend the rules of what an art project entails. That will make you stand out if you can pull the piece of art to something great. Your proffesor will be fascinated that you have done that and wouldn't get mad for you doing that,

    In three sentences

    The campus buildings are compact which is nice. Also the professors send e-mails out of what items to bring to class which is very helpful. The One-Stop Student Service Center will answer any questions varying from as simple as making a new ID if lost to setting up a meeting with an adviser.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The ratings for our campus security is awesome! They are constantly watching out for the students and because it's a smaller school, they know who's who and who shouldn't be here during certain times.

    What to do for fun

    Sitting out on the Quad and socializing is what a lot of the students here do. Going to the Short North is always a blast especially when it's gallery hop weekend!

    Food and Dining

    The dining here is good and has a lot of options. The only downside is they occasionally do not have gluten free options. But plenty of options and changes through out the week to keep the students interested especially around the holidays.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are split into quads with your own bathroom and common area. I love every minute of it! Having a shower in my room is so much better than having one down the hallway! I'd be lying if I said it wasn't part of my selling point.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics were more than I expected. Freshman year could be harder and easier but it's really up to the student to make it happen.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not take the assignments here as suggestions. You'll get out what you put into it so if you want to work hard and be challenged, CCAD is definitely right for you.

    In three sentences

    Very upbeat, personal and inviting. The Faculty is by far one of biggest reasons I'm comfortable here. If you're dedicated to working hard, then you'll love it here.

  • 02/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always around and keeping everyone safe

    Greek Life

    There isn't one

    Great for these types of students

    Artistic and hard working

    What to do for fun

    On CCAD's campus there are several fun activities for the social and not so social college students. There are several clubs that range from dodge ball, to GSA. With the addition of clubs there are also always interesting fairs or seminars as well as artist talks for students and locals to attend.

    Food and Dining

    The market place at CCAD is really great for college dining. With the meal plan you can eat all your meals there. During lunch and dinner they have many choices for you to pick from. If you're a vegan or a vegetarian there are always good options for you as well.

    Dorm Life

    Since it's a small college, dorm life can be worse than high school when it comes to drama. Everyone know's everyones information, and it's hard to get some space from the loud people in the halls when trying to study. But when it comes to academics, living in the dorm can help with staying on task with homework and being able to get to class in less than 10 minutes of waking up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in mind that freshman year you will not be able to really start your major.

    In three sentences

    CCAD is a small private art school that focuses on developing an artist from every angle. It's a very pricey school with a lot of homework and many hours un slept.

  • 03/13/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is none.

    Bang for the buck

    It's an expensive school, but the work I've seen the students create is phenomenal.

    What to do for fun

    I've been told theres a lot of art galleries to visit. There are also concerts close to campus.

    Food and Dining

    I've heard good and bad about the food, so i'm not sure.

    Dorm Life

    I'm excited to share a dorm, but I wish it would be cheaper. I also

    Academic Rigor

    I've heard it's a pretty heave work load, but it seems worth it for the knowledge you gain.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and build a great portfolio. Keep your grades up to get a nice academic scholarship!

    In three sentences

    This is the perfect school for me. I'm so excited to go here. It's such a diverse school!

  • 03/13/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    you are in the middle of downtown so you can do whatever you want.

    Dorm Life

    dorms could be a little bigger.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you save up it gets expensive.

    In three sentences

    everyone is super friendly and helpful. it feels like you live in new York. also there are a lot of creative artistic work everywhere.

  • 03/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have great security because we have to, WE ARE DOWN TOW COLUMBUS. there is violent crimes that take place every day in the city as well as theft.

    Greek Life

    non existant

    Great for these types of students

    Did not like highschool, and can afford it.

    Bang for the buck

    from a customers perspective, it is not ideal.

    What to do for fun

    Columbus is full of dineing and fun but be prepared to spend money, on campus there are dance/sports/drawing clubs as well as events put on in the lawn.

    Food and Dining

    Great options healthy eating, inconvenient hours.

    Dorm Life

    you only are requierd to live on campus as a freshman, do it and get out. there are much better options available, living of campus also saves money.

    Academic Rigor

    Do not buy into the stigma of art students, we get double the trouble. We are artists as well as students so we pay for math/history/writing books and materials as well as our profetional and expensive art suplys. When it comes time for midterms/exams, we not only have to partisipate in typicall study habets for writen tests/exams and evaluations at your typical university, but we also have to creat peices that take time and effort that are graded on the same scale as our test/exams. Time managment is esencial.

    Tips for prospective students

    really research your major rather than the college you are looking for. Have an idea of what you want to do before you go. When you research your major, you may find that what it intails isnt what you are actually wanting to do, through the process you will find colleges that are known for there programs in your feild of study.

    In three sentences

    I do not recomend this school for fashion design students. The school, from a customers prospective, is not worth the money you pay for your degree (14,000 a semester ). You can pursue fashion design at many other unversitys that offer better opportunities for a percentage of the cost, for example kent state offers fashion design as well as fashion merchandising (you should and can partner the 2) for about 3,500 a semester. Clearly you are getting more bang for your buck in a program such as kent states.

  • 03/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Feel safe all the time and can request for a guard to escort to buildings during night.

    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    School for all types.

    Bang for the buck

    Great school but expensive. May have to transfer to college that I can afford.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends on campus and on the weekend explore town and mall.

    Food and Dining

    Food is terrible. I don't go often and if I do I have salads. Meal Plans are very expensive for the quality of food you receive.

    Dorm Life

    Had a wonderful roommate and RAs are helpful and friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    Lots of projects with short deadlines.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused and ask for help when needed. Be sure that you can afford to keep up with tuition for the necessary for years of schooling to graduate from there.

    In three sentences

    Great location. Great courses that are art centered. Expensive even with financial aid.