Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Columbus Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/30/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    I think this would be a great experience

    Will learn a lot

    I am looking forward to visiting

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am employed with the sheriffs office and I must say we offer daily checks on the school to ensure safety. I work twelve hour shifts dispatching and the school checks are hourly. We also have part time deputies and officers that ensure the safety of the students.

    Greek Life

    Columbus state assist anyone of interest when it comes to these activities. The Greek life is not displayed on Technical college grounds.

    Clubs and Activities

    This technical college works along side with Columbus State. This tech school preps the student for an university.

    Great for these types of students

    Technical college is perfect for anyone that wants to continue education. Single mothers to the fresh out of high school graduates. You will enjoy what this school has to offer.

    Bang for the buck

    The books and tuition can be covered with hope or pell. If you are denied of these services the tuition is very reasonable versus going to a university that asks for triple the amount in most cases.

    What to do for fun

    Muscogee county has a lot to offer for the thirsty adventurous students. The river walks to The Opera of the phantom theater on 10Th st down town Columbus! Broadway has a lot to offer from the day time bicyclist to the night owl with several different hot spots, jazz clubs and food joints. Broadway is adventurist and fun.

    Food and Dining

    This school offers tasty treats for the on the go student.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life does not apply to columbus technical college.

    Academic Rigor

    To achieve great heights you have to give something your all. The school offer computer labs that assist with tutoring, speech and advancement.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never judge the school based off of its name, technical is only added to fool the weak. Columbus technical college has changed the classes to semesters giving you more time to study not to procrastinate. Be prepared to take notes in your class, being a science major I have noticed all of my teachers verbally inform you of test preparation without verbally telling you i'm reviewing my test.

    In three sentences

    On a scale of one to ten I rate Columbus Technical College with an eight. I rate this technical college with an eight because this school has made changes for the better and I have noticed more organization in place. This college has added on since I have moved in 2007, adding a larger health and science building to accommodate the large classes.

  • 06/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Student who also have to work for a living. Students who don't have the opportunities to go to university. Students who may not be ready for university life and need a transitional stop first, this is the place for them.

    What to do for fun

    Well to be honest I study more than anything currently so I don't participate in fun but there is a 'student activity team' on campus. SAT as they are known, hold fashion shows, movie nights, field day, and cook outs every so often on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The school doesn't have a full service cafeteria but there are restaurant vendors that offer lunch items. It's pretty decent considering the prices for food these days.

    Dorm Life

    Student housing is not offered at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    It is quite aggressive and competitive here and for good reason. The school name says it all 'Technical'. They are about training and dispensing you out into the career world. This school seeks those you are willing to work hard and be pushed hard, but the pay off is worthwhile. Even if you are passing with the required 2.0 gpa, the school will step in and present resources and guidance to improve your grades and manage the problems that may be affecting your performance skills.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise to take some time and visit the school, especially the financial aid and admission advisory departments. Ask a lot of questions because although this is a technical college in many ways they operate like a university, leaving it up to you to get the correct information. Be aware of the scheduling and deadlines because they approach fast and once closed no opportunities available until the next is presented ( can cause quite a delay).

    In three sentences

    I chose this school because the tuition cost was the lesser of the three schools I reviewed. The location was convenient and on a bus line. This school has many tutoring resources that are free to the students.

  • 10/13/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    kinethic learning

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    study

    Food and Dining

    there is no food.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you are organized, because the advisers will not help you.

    In three sentences

    depending on what program you decide to go into, will depend on whether this is the right school for you.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I've never done any extracurricular activities there.

    Food and Dining

    They don't have any food or dining.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have any kind of apartments or dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers make the course so much harder than others, but there are more outgoing teachers at Columbus Tech than there are strict ones.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you look up or ask other students how the teachers are like because I have had some pretty strict ones.

    In three sentences

    The people in the offices always motivate you. The teachers range from strict to very outgoing, just like any other college. The online classes are usually well prepared and easy to navigate.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing.

    In three sentences

    It's a decent school that offers a lot of tutoring options. The topics for Essays in English are very boring. Also, some teachers are well prepared!

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be late for any classes.

    In three sentences

    This College is great.