Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Community College of Aurora Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/30/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    yes i agree

    Tips for prospective students

    go to class do the work

    Will enjoy being here

    yes I'm excited to go in august

    Will learn a lot

    of course

  • 11/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    CCA is a good start for anyone, but students who did not do so well in high school, who are returning after many years out of school, or who do not know what they want to do with there future will find their place at CCA. This institution has so much variety in course options, learning styles, and people to assist. CCA made me, the 27 year old mother of 10 years, who got a GED at 18 and could not decide on a major the 2 other times I attempted to go to school feel right at home, motivated, and capable.

    Tips for prospective students

    See a counselor, they are there to help and they are worth your time. Plan your classes ahead of time, even if you don't know what you will major in look at the grad requirements for a general education degree and plan as many classes in advance as you can. A lot of the best classes offered at CCA may only be available during certain semesters so always be aware of when they are offered. Know your options for payment, CCA is ready and willing to help pay for your experience at their facility so get involved and know what they can offer you. Finally, enjoy the ride, the professors at CCA are often more than just book worms, they have life experience and enjoy teaching and can make your CCA life fun and vastly rewarding.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a community college the tuition rates are high to begin with, but CCA also offers a wide variety of scholarship opportunities as well, and with the standard of education I am receiving the bang beats out the buck every semester.

    Am enjoying being here

    The faculty is incredibly nice, the services offered and rendered are competent and extremely helpful. The students vary in age and race, giving a wide variety of life experience with educational experience to draw from for assistance.

    Am learning a lot

    I was a bit nervous about going to college at the age of 27, ten years since I have had any formal schooling, but the amount of information that is coming back to me here at CCA is incredible. The new information I am learning has made me enjoy the process even more.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    CCA is great for all students, but probably for undecided or students on a limited income. It is a starting point to spring you to where you want to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to use the tutoring service or start study groups, they are very helpful.

    Bang for the buck

    CCA is probably the most affordable college in colorado.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am enjoying learning, but wish I could've gone full-time to get done sooner.

    Am learning a lot

    I have been out of high school for a bit, CCA is teaching me alot.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria food isnt the greatest but it isn't bad they have a wide variety

    Dorm Life

    this campus does not offer dorms

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are not too hard it just takes time and effort that you have to put in to make the grade

    Tips for prospective students

    be ready to experience high class professors in this college and to understand that it is not like highschool

    In three sentences

    this school is very helpful for my career as an accountant, i love progressing day and day in this college but hope to receive financial help so i can continue

  • 10/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a great film school at a low price should check out CCA. The film school was rated in the Top 25 film school in the world by the Hollywood Reporter. It has great facilities, and small feel, and awesome people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in the community at school. You will meet super nice people and make a ton of friends! Show up for class and complete the work.

    Bang for the buck

    The prices are very reasonable. The quality of the school is outstanding. The film school is especially impressive. Students can find the latest equipment to use for projects, with teachers who have worked in the field and are very knowledgeable.

    Am enjoying being here

    Not only do the teachers help you with your educational work, but they care about you as a person as well. I feel like every teacher knows a little bit about me and my classmates. The students are some of the nicest people I've ever met. They go out of their way to greet you and ask how your classes are going. Classmates do not feel like strangers that I learn with, but friends that grow into family throughout the semester. The small class size creates an ensemble between students instead of just a classroom.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here are wonderful. They take an interest in your personal learning and help you through the material. I learn so much in every class.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa stands strong at CCA and helps coordinate a lot of events. I am an active member of PTK and being a part of that group has benefited me immensely. They offer scholarships to PTK members and recommendation letters, it is a great organization to be part of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs that you can attend with weekly or monthly meetings. The different clubs are always hosting fun events around campus that you can be part of as well.

    What to do for fun

    The surrounding Denver area has a lot of fun things to do. There are many concerts, great museums, and beautiful parks. This is a great school to begin your college education at.

    Food and Dining

    The main campus has a cafe that has substantial food for a school cafe. The lowry campus does not have any cafeteria though. This can be difficult because a lot of classes are offered at this campus and no close places to get lunch.

    Dorm Life

    CCA is a community college so there is no option of living in dorms. However, there are many apartments around both campuses and in every student life building there is information on different apartments in the surrounding area.

    Academic Rigor

    CCA offers a wide range of classes with excellent teacher to help you get the grade you deserve.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay positive, getting a college education can be daunting. It is hard to study, pay bills, work, and maintain good grades but you can do it!!

    In three sentences

    Community College of Aurora makes it easy for returning adult student to receive a college education. The teachers at this college are amazing and take the time to ensure that you understand the material. This is the second community college I have received education from and CCA has exceeded all my expectations.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security office is always open and available if you need help!

    Great for these types of students

    Non-Traditional. Adults. Single parents.

    What to do for fun

    The mall is just down the street with a movie theater. There are lots of things to do in the surrounding areas.

    Food and Dining

    There are some great restaurants in the area.

    Dorm Life

    They will help you find a place to stay; however, it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are really well developed with great teachers who know exactly what to teach you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are not sure where to start, go to see a student adviser. They are there to help guide you in the area you need to be in. If you are unsure, start with them.

    In three sentences

    They have been extremely helpful on providing information to new students. Walking in with no direction to go, they provided me with the steps to follow. I have never been happier on what college I will attend!

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Not involved

    What to do for fun

    Our annual business major bbqs are always fun, what I do off campus is fish, snowboard, hike, camp,bike, anything outdoors! We are lucky enough to have the Rockies 20min away

    Food and Dining

    Good food on Centat Tech Campus, not so much at Lowery

    Academic Rigor

    CCA holds high standards for academic but nothing overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live in CO for a year before applying its 1/4 the price.

    In three sentences

    CCA opens amazing doors to building the future of their students. The teachers are all great and relate the real world to their teachings. I am very impressed by this community college.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always some security running around, no incidents as of yet. Their early warning system isn't very early though.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't joined any clubs as of yet. I applied to the Psychology club, but never heard back. The theater club is active though, you see their club meeting times posted all around the campuses.

    Great for these types of students

    PM students. Online savvy. Social butterflies.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lowry Campus was a military base before it got converted.

    Bang for the buck

    I fully believe going to a community college before applying to a 4yr is the best way to go. It preps you financially and mentally for dealing with the high stress of full on colleges and universities.

    What to do for fun

    Make study groups, you'll make some fast friends that way. Also there's plenty of student events to attend.

    Food and Dining

    Grill is nice, but living so far away it's easier to grab something along the route to the college than try to get there early enough to sit down and eat.

    Dorm Life

    I don't think they have dorms. At least I've never heard about it. I live off-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes have a learning curve, other just straight up make you jump in and let your basic IQ decide if you can handle it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Rent your books. Attend every class. Be active in class.

    In three sentences

    It could use some updating, but it is sound for a community college. The administration is friendly and helpful. More PM classes would be nice.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety guards were an ever-present force that made me feel like the school was actually keeping an eye out for us - making sure they stopped problems before the started.

    Clubs and Activities

    There was a variety of clubs and organizations available at CCA. Most are associated to the classes so people can help each other explore what they are learning outside of the classroom.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Once or twice per semester they invite all the students to get together at a restaurant and have a sort of 'CCA' day there.

    What to do for fun

    Keep tabs on the cools stuff they offer for students. From free days at the zoo, museum, and botanical gardens, to discounts and freebies at local restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    I never even tried their food but judging from the smell, it's to die for.

    Dorm Life

    To my knowledge there are no dorms per se but they will help you find housing.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty and rigor of the curriculum varied depending upon the amount and medium you choose to pursue. Each class was pertinent and useful and informative but the multiple locations, including online, made them more accessible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the computer lab at their Centertech campus. It was amazing. The printing comes part-and-parcel and was the most invaluable resource of my time there.

    In three sentences

    This college was very good. I think they worked at being helpful, convenient and accommodating to the students; formatting many of the schools taken-for-granted functions to the particular needs at hand. Everything was updated, and high quality.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of activities in Aurora.

    Food and Dining

    Not much if any.

    Dorm Life

    There is none.

    Academic Rigor

    They instructors expect you to do your work and help you make it happen.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay away from online classes unless you are very disciplined.

    In three sentences

    The Community College of Aurora is a great college because they have many different options for taking classes. The classes are small which make it easy to interact with your professor.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Attend the events that the CCA sponsors.

    Food and Dining

    Vending machines only.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the teachers are good, some are crummy but in general, this is a good school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend the various events they hold.

    In three sentences

    Great for non traditional students. Great for completing core classes.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well there are many plays that goes on here as well different meetings for different groups, and they also have a calenders with different events on them.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is pretty standard again nothing crazy happens here.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is pretty standard nothing unusual happens here pretty peaceful here

    Academic Rigor

    The teaching in the classes are ok it really depends who you have as a teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your having trouble in a class(es) then make sure to talk to your student counselor same would go for financial aid.

    In three sentences

    CCA is a fun place to get either your degree or certifications and also the staff are really nice and also show a lot of professionalism.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I haven't had time to do anything fun at the school. Most of my time is spent working on homework and going to work.

    Food and Dining

    On the Centre tech campus there is a cafeteria available for students to pick out what they would like to eat. They offer three meals a day for a relatively good price depending on what you choose to get. They offer a lot of good nutritious food for the students, which is very tasty.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm, I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Like I mentioned before, there is a lot of homework. The teacher really wants you to teach yourself and be prepared for the next class. It takes a lot of preparation to get ready for the next class and it takes a lot of time. If you aren't prepared for the next class then you won't understand the concepts and it'll take that much longer to catch up with the rest of the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is definitely a lot of school work. My advice for students is for them to know how well they can handle their school work along with other school activities or at work. You really have to be committed to school to get a good grade. For the future students, understand that you aren't in high school anymore, the teachers are much more strict but they only want you to do your best in the class. If you want to succeed, keep your mouth shut, get your pen ready to take a lot of notes, and ask a lot of questions.

    In three sentences

    It's a very diverse school that offers a lot of sources for their students. The teachers are interested in helping the students strive not only in the classroom but also out in the world. Their best interest at heart helps the students want to strive and become people they never thought they could be.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If students (especially females) are taking classes at night, they can call security to walk them from their classroom to their car.

    Bang for the buck

    The price of the classes are very reasonable and it helps that a lot of students are able to pay for classes without a lot of difficulty.

    What to do for fun

    They have many clubs that you can be part of even after you graduate.

    Food and Dining

    They have a dining area were you can neither eat your own food and the food that they can cook for you. They are good and check and the price is very reasonable for college students.

    Academic Rigor

    They are many classes that they will challenge the students to think and try different ways to get to the same answer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you ask an advisor of everything that you are going to need before you start so that you will have an easy time before school starts.

    In three sentences

    Community College of Aurora has great hours for classes. They also have excellent teachers. They also have teachers that can help students one on one bases if needed.

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    My definition of fun is not the same as other people

    Food and Dining

    To get food and drinks you have to travel a few blockes

    Dorm Life

    I'm not the one for this question, because I don't live in a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think New students should start one day before population, so they feel not so overwhelmed

    In three sentences

    Community College of Aurora is an excellent school,. because of the size, and the size of it's easier to learn. they have a staff that truely cares. Offer tutoring for a alert system, in which the teacher sends email warning you that you are behind, which gives you a chance to catch up or withdraw.

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's safe. They have Secretary who can escort you if you don't feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    We don't have any sports but one club that sticks out the most is that we have a poetry club and some popular poets come by and preform.

    Great for these types of students

    All kinds of students. It is a diverse school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We currently have two campuses.

    Food and Dining

    There are many places to eat and different verity types of foods.

    Dorm Life

    I currently live at home so I don't know much about the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    You'll learn every day.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a very good college.

    In three sentences

    I love every part of it. The classes are small and the instructors give you one on one attention. During the same time it's cheaper than going to a university.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I hear food and dining at college campus' are not highly liked at all.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in a dorm. However, my daughter has and it was very derpessing for her. Deja, my daughter, clung onto the home life and wasn't ready to let it go. Thus, leading to her signing out of the dorm and coming back home to live.

    Academic Rigor

    Set time aside every day for studying and homework

    Tips for prospective students

    College is much easier if you are able to find balance. Without balance, your success in college may be very challenging, which can lead to low grades, which turns into no financial aid. So use the 5 p's I use: Proper Preparation Prevents Poor Performance. It is so true.

    In three sentences

    Seems very motivating and exciting. I am eager to begin and hope to succeed. I can't wait to begin class and meet my educator.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    This college has so many activities from film festivals to break dancing competitions. Just visiting their website and following the What's Going On section, you'll never be bored!

    Food and Dining

    I typically bring my own food.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    So far, the curriculum is challenging but not overwhelming. It has made it exciting for me as I don't feel like giving up due to stress, but I still feel I am learning a lot. I have only been there one semester so far. I have yet to see just how hard it will get!

    Tips for prospective students

    Start early! I applied for college one week before the Spring semester. The staffed helped me, and we got it to work out. However, I now know to start early.

    In three sentences

    It makes going back to college extremely easy. The staff and teachers are so helpful and kind. I really could not be happier with my decision to attend the Community College of Aurora as my first college after a twelve year hiatus from school.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Aurora does have the greatest selection of recreational activities and certainly doesn't have much of anything for the night life scene. Venture 25 minutes to downtown Denver and you'll find plenty to do.

    Food and Dining

    The CCA grill on the Centretech campus is not the worst food you could ask for but it's not the greatest by any means. They could definitely improve on this as there aren't many good places to eat in the immediate area unless you have a good 30-45 minutes break.

    Dorm Life

    This is a 2-year college - no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Attend classes on a regular basis and do all the assigned readings. If you do these two things, you will have no problem succeeding here. With all due respect, CCA is not the most elite of colleges withing the metro area.

    Tips for prospective students

    While the Community College of Aurora is a very tight-knit community, it can also be very easy for a student to simply fall through the cracks. Get involved, join clubs, makes friends who care about your success and build relationships with instructors and advisers.

    In three sentences

    Community College of Aurora encompasses a fairly tight-knit community of students. At CCA, it's very easy to find dedicated instructors that truly care about the success of their students. CCA is also an extremely diverse campus and students may easily broaden their cultural horizons by simply attending classes and interacting with students who originate from all across the world.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always clubs to join here.

    Food and Dining

    CCA has two campuses that have many dining options with in walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum is challenging but there are many resources to help you really learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize the department chairs by really letting them know where you're at in school and life, and where you want to go. If you communicate, there is no way to fail here.

    In three sentences

    Community College of Aurora have teachers with heart that dedicate themselves to the success of their students. I have been inspired to continue education because of these instructors. CCA is a great school to discover who you are and help you become who you want to be.

  • 11/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very important and we are all contacted by regularly in person and via student email regarding new security measures and/or prompts to update our contact information to stay well informed.

    Greek Life

    I am not aware of any particular Greek Life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs offered. The greatest of which is the Spanish club that allows students to learn both on campus and off about Hispanic culture, the language itself and food/festivals.

    Great for these types of students

    This college has extreme ethnic and cultural diversity and is great for all types of students. the language department excels in teaching english to otherwise non english speaking individuals. Therefore, enlarging the opportunity to communicate well with other students and staff.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The college has an observatory on campus and that is rather unusual for a community college. Usually you see that on university campuses.

    Bang for the buck

    This college by far has been the least expensive educational opportunity in my career field thus far. I know that every dollar spent here is an investment into not only my future, but the future of other students and faculty as well.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Body Association is always having some sort of festival or interactive activity throughout the week that gathers students easily. We are encouraged to participate and meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has chefs on staff and the food is both nutritious and delicious. Not to mention that it is fairly priced.

    Dorm Life

    I am not aware of any on site dorms, but there are apartments and duplexes near by that offer discounts to the students.

    Academic Rigor

    The workload and classroom curriculum matches evenly. I usually have two hours of homework per class each evening. The teachers really make sure the students are successful and learning. They always offer tutoring opportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    I advise future students to take the New Student Orientation and also tour the campuses to gain a much clearer understanding of the school, the education offered and the location of all necessary areas.

    In three sentences

    CCA has been the greatest educational experience I have ever had. The teachers, staff and fellow students rise above and beyond excellence in helping with studies and growth opportunities. The workload is comparable in size to the subject topics and the class sizes are small enough for individual attention.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 38

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This school is amazing not just in academic studies but with the teacher student friendships as well. I can balance my schedule and time fairly well with the manageable class work. This is a good community college!

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Community College of Aurora has several clubs targeting different interests. The school also posts schedules of free events occurring in the Denver metro area.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is cheap, quick, and tasty. I highly recommend it.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live on campus. I do not believe the Community College of Aurora has dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Different instructors taught with different academic rigor, but overall, the concepts were expected to be known and explained by the student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be flexible. Different instructors teach in different ways, and the key to success is communication with the professors and diligence in one's work.

    In three sentences

    The instructors are willing to work with students in order to better the students' academic understanding and success. Those working in the cashier's office are knowledgeable and helpful. The ethnic diversity of the school allows for many extracurricular learning opportunities.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it's actually really good. if you don't feel safe at nights while walking to your car, you can actually call a security guy and they can walk you to your car. Plus they have cameras everywhere.

    What to do for fun

    assist to all the events that are in campus. they are really fun and entertaining.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is really good. The food is great and fresh.

    Dorm Life

    Doesn't offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    As everything in life, not everything is simple but if you try you're best, best results might come out at the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to have a clear pattern. If you don't have one do research as much as possible. Even if you're not interest in completing an associates, try to finish one because that's better than no having anything.

    In three sentences

    CCA is a great place to start. There's no need to spend a lot of money for the same education. the general studies can be learn in here and the teachers are really good.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is friendly and I have seen them help out students on multiple occasions. There isn't much to worry about when coming to safety at CCA.

    Greek Life

    There is only one club for greek life and I know nothing about it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Want a club, then make one. There are all kinds of new clubs sprouting every week on campus. Club for athletics, school subjects and regular games are all over the school.

    Great for these types of students

    Parents going back to school will love the fresh ideas and relativity of other parents in their situation. Nerds and popular kids will learn they aren't so different and will join forces through social activities and study sessions. Anyone in between wont have a hard time fitting in because there is a group for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a little park bench tucked away behind a bridge under an apple tree that isn't well known. Not the most kept up area but definitely worth the adventure.

    Bang for the buck

    For the quality of education the amount of money spent isn't too bad. You might get that one teacher that makes you want to get a refund, but remember getting the credit is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    The cafeteria is full of fun and exciting people with loads of interests. Cards and board games are everywhere you look. And that's just for starters.

    Food and Dining

    The food is nothing like high school. The food staff is friendly and the food itself is actually pretty great. Always get a side order of fries.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    There isn't too much homework as long as you are organized and stay on top of the syllabus. Work hard and do your best and that should be more than enough to make it by.

    Tips for prospective students

    Any student looking for a great group of people willing to help out and learn is going to find a great time at Community College of Aurora. Just make sure you don't get too much on your schedule with all the fun classes that are offered.

    In three sentences

    Community College of Aurora is the perfect starter for any student leery of the college experience. CCA is the perfect melting pot for all types of students. This college can help bridge any fears and jump start any career.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe and open

    Clubs and Activities

    none

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students young and old

    Bang for the buck

    This is the cheapest college educatoin you will find besides vocational college.

    What to do for fun

    There are a host of movie theaters, a mall, resteraunts, bowling and much more right in the area.

    Food and Dining

    None on site

    Academic Rigor

    I believe that the academic requirements here are wonderful, it is just enough challenge to get the brain working with out feeling overwhelmed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students I would suggest making an appointment with financial aid office and an advisor so you can learn the ends and outs of the school. Taking the student orientation is most helpful as well.

    In three sentences

    This school is great for people going back to school after working for a while or for graduating high school students who want to feel their way around college before they attend a big university. The class sizes are small and the teachers are passionate. I would recommend this school to everyone.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing really in the area, but I hope there would be more events and shows going on to have the school interact some more.

    Food and Dining

    Only two places to eat - only because there is two campuses. Then again, the school is a community college, not much students so not much to buy.

    Dorm Life

    It is a community college - no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    I have heard from past students that are coming back to school from other 4 year universities that community colleges are much more tougher in the workload that they give us. There is more classroom time and workload definitely - you cannot pull an all-nighter the night before a big exam like you would at a 4 year university and expect to pass easily

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to create more clubs and interact with the school and the community more - thinking of ways to help the school grow and also other students become better.

    In three sentences

    A school that is starting to grow larger and getting more well known in the community and as a state by students and community members. There is potential to grow even larger and become a better school because of more programs that are offered to students along with an affordable price. However, with this in mind there needs to be more growth in clubs and events for the community.

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is extremely safe. I have always felt safe here.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is awesome and I highly recommend it!

    What to do for fun

    There are always fun events going on and there are always Free Days for the Denver Zoo and Botanical Gardens, in Denver Colorado.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe at Community College of Aurora is awesome. So many food choices at a good cost!

    Dorm Life

    There are not dorms offered at this particular college.

    Academic Rigor

    I personally didn't have any challenges with the classroom setting, the classrooms are pretty small and intimate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely don't procrastinate, and always stay on top of what homework assignments are due.

    In three sentences

    Community College of Aurora has provided me with so much knowledge and skill for the future. The professors are absolutely excellent and the courses are amazing. I have learned so much here and I'm extremely grateful that I had the opportunity to learn at this college.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security roaming the campus all day and during evening classes, there is no reason to feel insecure.

    Clubs and Activities

    The college offers all sorts of clubs adapting to any interest.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to transfer and want to take the general classes without paying a ton for them. Also great for students who require remedial classes.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is affordable and worth your money.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great and there is a good variety.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    College is not easy, and don't let the community college part trick you. The learning content is the same as in other top universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to complete a bachelor's degree but are low on cash, a community college is a great option. Most Bachelor degrees require some type of general studies on the first year or two of college. Community colleges offer the same general classes worth the same credit hours at lower cost. Community colleges like, The Community College of Aurora, offer completely transferable courses to the state's popular universities.

    In three sentences

    This college allows students to complete general studies at an affordable rate. The classes are small and one is able to interact with other students and teachers easily. I like this school because i am able to learn better in a smaller class setting.

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never not felt safe on campus. The only bad thing that has ever happened is a Tornado warning.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa is the Honor's Society on campus. You must have a 3.5 + GPA to enter and maintain a 3.25+ GPA to stay in. They actively volunteer at many events and try to get their members scholarships. I am a member myself and I thoroughly enjoy it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are quite a few to choose from. You can also make a whole new one yourself if you're able to get an adviser or enough support to start one.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student wishing to get their Associates/Certificate/Transfer Credits without having to spend all their money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One interesting thing about the campus is the many Prairie Dogs that live there. Although some people might not like them, I find them to be quite cute and they live peacefully on the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition for classes at the school is much cheaper than attending a public 4 year university or private school. You can take Guaranteed Transfer courses at CCA and graduate with you Associates, then transfer to a higher university at a later time. This way you save money on the same classes provided by another school.

    What to do for fun

    There are a plethora of clubs and organizations you can join, such as Student Government and Poetic Motions. The cafe lobby can also be a very sociable place to get to know people.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe that you have to pay out of pocket to eat at, and the food isn't bad. There are also some restaurants in the area outside of campus.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms on campus, but there are apartments nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    For me, classes haven't been as hard as I thought they would be. I do see many students struggling though, so certain class criteria can be rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to College, be prepared to commit yourself and do the work required of your classes. Also be sure to submit any documents to the school as soon as you can so you can get your academic career started!

    In three sentences

    The Community College of Aurora is a great college to start out at to get your Associates or get some transfer credits. It is also a lot more reasonable then some schools and is in a great location, giving options for easy transit. The staff and population are also very friendly and courteous.

  • 06/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are sometimes events on campus but not anything big.

    Food and Dining

    there is a grill on campus that's pretty varied but there is only one. There pretty friendly but not very vegan or vegetarian friendly.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life. There are a lot of apartments very close to campus.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are not playtime. the classes are up to standard especially the science courses. Don't come with the idea that you;ll be able to breeze through everything because it's a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in with a great attitude. Try your best. And always talk to your counselors.

    In three sentences

    I love this school. First of all it really prepares you for whats out there. Most of the classes are guaranteed transfer classes. The classes are small and the teachers care.

  • 11/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    School cafeteria is open to all students. Variety of foods to eat. Including the bookstore.

    Academic Rigor

    Be on time everyday. Do not play around in class. Stay focused.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get into classes you need. Stay focused in class. Be prepared to take notes.

    In three sentences

    Amazing school to be at. Teachers and Staff to help out. One on One with your instructors.

  • 11/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Good for the price.

    What to do for fun

    There really isn't much to do for fun. There are some clubs, but their meeting times are difficult to match with schedules. For fun, I talk to friends I've made in class.

    Food and Dining

    The food is reasonably priced, and you get a lot of food for your money. However, it is very unhealthy. Just be aware of what you are eating and how you specialize it.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are easy, while others are hard. It depends on the teacher's expectations and if the tests are in class or not. Be prepared to read a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    One should talk to other students about which teachers to take because they are the ones that know the most. Also, be sure to check for foundation scholarships because they will pretty much pay for your schooling. Finally, know what you are going to do before you start picking random classes so that they will apply to a 60-for-60 program.

    In three sentences

    Community College of Aurora is an affordable option for those who are worrying about financial needs going into college. It is a good school with good education, if you get the right teachers. All in all, I've enjoyed my time here, but I'm ready to get out.

  • 12/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nobody

    Bang for the buck

    We are contacting lawyers to pursue a civil rights case against the school for discrimination and inflicting undue amounts of stress.

    Food and Dining

    Never tried it.

    Dorm Life

    No Experience

    Academic Rigor

    The content is acceptable, but most teachers just give you power points with little to no info and expect you to find everything out on your own.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect any leniency or help from most teachers at this school,

    In three sentences

    The school refused to give an extension on an assignment, quiz, and test even though my girlfriend had been hospitalized She even had a note from her anesthesiologist, just had a baby, and was prescribed full bed-rest during the time they were due. We went to the authorities at the school, and they didn't try to help.

  • 12/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security can be found nearly everywhere, they do regular checks and are very friendly. I've actually made friends with a few.

    Greek Life

    There is only one 'Greek Life' group I'm aware of, I believe it is academically based and offers scholarships and financial aide to its members.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs and activities on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students, but specifically people with busy lives and full time jobs. Even if your goal is a four year degree I would recommend obtaining as many credits as possible through CCA as the cost is so much less.

    Bang for the buck

    CCA offers the best credit per dollar rate in the area!

    What to do for fun

    They have many clubs and groups to join. There are also regular informative lectures put on as well as plays, musicals, art shows (ect.)

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria however I attend classes in the evening and have never stopped in to eat there.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say the classes are rigorous enough to keep you busy without overwhelming you as long as you stay on task and dedicated to your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Everyone in the Financial Aid office and all other staff I've come across are eager to help and answer any questions you have.

    In three sentences

    The Community College of Aurora provides a comfortable environment to learn and grow in. The school is empathetic with people who attend community college, understanding that most of us have busy lives with other things like work and children to deal with. The majority of my classmates are enjoyable and hard working, making it an even more pleasant experience.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus seems to be pretty safe. They have security guards drive around the campus in their vehicles continuously throughout the day. There are also safety boxes located around the exteriors of the campus. All students have to do is push the button in the box if there is an emergency and someone will come to their assistance.

    Greek Life

    There does not seem to be any fraternities or anything like that at this school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There seems to be a lot of clubs and activities around campus, but I can't say much since I haven't been a part of them myself.

    Great for these types of students

    Students interested in starting their degrees and students who would like to work in the film industry. They have a great film program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a place in the film building called the Cage where students can check out film equipment to use on their projects. The equipment is included with tuition though, at no extra cost!

    Bang for the buck

    I'm learning a lot and having fun. It's an interesting learning environment, especially since I'm in the film program. It's quite an experience.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs to join for all students and film clubs to join for students interested in the film program. There are also lots of places nearby: malls, restaurants, etc. where people can go to relax. (this is only located near one of the campuses though)

    Food and Dining

    I can't say much considering that I haven't tried their food from the café. This school has two campuses. There is a mini café at each campus, but considering that I have not had their food I cannot say much about it other than, the cafes are small and it doesn't seem like they offer much other than sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available for students at CCA so this is a problem for students. Students are expected to find somewhere close to the campus to stay while attending classes at CCA.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are small which is great because this allows for the teachers and students to be more personal with each other. Each class is structured well and the schedules for the year are layed out for each class. The rigor is decent. So far, I haven't been challenged a ton. There is a lot of filmmaking, but not a ton of homework. It might also depend on the classes you are taking.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a place to start your film degree, this is the place to start. CCA offers a wide variety of film classes for students to take. You also get to work hands-on with film equipment, equipment that they are using in the industry today. It's fun, you learn a lot, and it's a great place to start for people interested in the film business.

    In three sentences

    The Community College of Aurora is a great place to start your college experience. They offer a wide variety of classes and there are clubs and activities for students to join. The faculty is friendly and the environment feels academic.

  • 04/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Take time to get everything done. Do not try to rush things and do not sign up last minute.

    In three sentences

    They have the best advisors. Online classes could use an update. Overall great community.