Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Community College of Philadelphia Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for classes early.

    Bang for the buck

    I am definitely getting my money's worth.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am going into my second semester this fall and taking classes online because of my work schedule.

    Am learning a lot

    I like it a lot and I'm really learning.

  • 01/09/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    - Students who want transfer to another college in one or two years. - Students who didn't do so well in High school and want to get their grades up. - Students looking for transfer credit. - Students who are unsure of their future. - Students who want a low-cost education. - Students who want a flexible schedule (in case you work, have a family, etc.)

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take Community College for granted, it's a great school if you are looking at its art major. Be prepared to work hard, you will have to put more effort and time into your classes than in Highschool.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is incredibly cheap, what more can I say? $1,500 per semester for 12 credits, without any financial aid. Add financial aid and you have borderline free education. As for the bang for buck ration I'd say you will get your money's worth if you take art classes here. Also, I must note that you will spend over $400 solely in materials for art classes.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy talking to the teachers, participating in class, and engaging in art critiques. Past that it is not a very enjoyable experience. Do not come here expecting to make many friends. Thankfully there were some highschool friends I could hang out with. However, if you don't have any friends you already know who go to the school expect to feel lonely. It felt as though the friendships were already made and everyone only cared about getting their schoolwork done, not making new connections.

    Am learning a lot

    The quality of education here really depends on what kind of classes you want to take. I took two art classes and an English class. From what I heard before coming to this school is that the school's Design department is excellent, everything else is below average at best. Well, here I am attending the school and I agree. The Art Department is truly phenomenal, I'd say it must rival any other good art school. The teachers are top notch and really know what they are doing. They are very friendly and are easy to reach. The quality of art produced here is top notch at least in the classes I've taken. Be prepared to work very hard in each of the art classes, they require a lot of effort and time, but in the end I learned a lot. Now anything outside of art is a whole different story in my opinion. I took an English class and I can say that I learned almost nothing. Everything taught in the class I learned in High school. I did none of the work except for the Essays and I still got a high B in the class. It was a complete waste of time.

  • 05/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    everyone!

    Tips for prospective students

    Check the professor ratings websites to know what you're getting into. Make sure your financial aid is accounted for before registration. If you owe ANY fees, they will DROP your classes in 24 hours.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheapest school around, but that doesn't mean it isn't wonderful. They are making more and more renovations, additions etc. each year. I am confident in the amount of knowledge I received and the atmosphere I received it in.

    Am enjoying being here

    I like the variety of the student body. I've met people of all ages and backgrounds. Working people, stay at home moms, people my own age in similar boats, people trying to get ahead in their careers, etc etc etc. It truly is a melting pot and I love it.

    Am learning a lot

    I have so far attended 4 semesters at the Northeast Regional Center Campus (more commonly referred to as NERC) . Overall, I say this is a great college for those wishing to save a lot of money. Most of the teachers are phenomenal, and I have leanred quite a bit. Like any school, t\it has its flaws . Some teachers are a problem but they are few. Dealing with the adminastrative people downtown is a nightmare. Although, you may still get inconvienced, the staff at NERC are much more willing to help and nicer.

  • 08/23/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap, but you don't get much education out of it.

    Did enjoy being here

    Not really. The campus is ok, but really small. The food venders have good food though.

    Did learn a lot

    Some of the classes were good, some weren't. If you are planning on transferring from this school don't go here because you will feel like you are way behind on things.

  • 01/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its in the city so I am not sure how safe i would feel but I know that checking for id's and security is always around.

    Greek Life

    I don't know anything about greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I only join one club but I know there are many available. I am still currently looking for the right club for me.

    Great for these types of students

    Tours are great for students and especially the gym room. Any worries or concerns or stresses can be handle at the gym room and through tours to assure you of your safety and concerns.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many locations for Community College campus. I go to the one on Spring Garden mainly because of its diversity. I needed to see different types of people because I haven't been expose to diversity far as school wise and thought it would be very interesting to experience it with Community College.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities and organizations to join, Whether full time or part time student. There are also many sports as well. I joined the cross country team when I first came into ccp's campus. I also tried the french club as well. Now I am looking int other programs more suited for myself.

    Food and Dining

    There are many food carts outside the campus that are a little more affordable than inside the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    some classes are harder than others. Depending on the individual is how easy or hard it came become or is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips I would recommend would be to take advantage of the tutoring options they have. The scholarships the school posted up through their websites. And the many connections the schools has with other colleges.

    In three sentences

    Community College of Philadelphia in my experience is a productive place to be. You have the opportunity to work and attend school. Whether at night or during the day the options are there.

  • 04/25/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 6 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    I know i will learn alot here

  • 07/19/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It was quite affordable at that time.

    Did enjoy being here

    Friendly professors.

    Did learn a lot

    Very good variety of basic subjects.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is very safe. there have been no reports of any violence in the area. it is a loving community and everyone gets along with each other.

    Bang for the buck

    i know that community college of philadelphia has one of the best nursing programs in philadelphia.

    What to do for fun

    you can join many clubs. i join the art and dancing club. its very fun. i learned a lot in the dancing club. some dances i learned was break dancing, hip hop, and ballet. in the art club, we made halloween decorations.

    Food and Dining

    the food is average. i think the best food they have in my opinion are the chicken tenders and pizza.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms for this school.

    Academic Rigor

    it is some what difficult. however, it depends on your major. also, it depends on how hard you work. it can only be easy if you work hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    always study and go to class. make sure you are very responsible.

    In three sentences

    community college of philadelphia is a great 2year school. it's very cheap and it offers a lot of opportunities to many of its students. i believe it is very helpful for students moving on to a 4year university.

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 71

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    athletics

    Tips for prospective students

    learn about the teacher before choosing the course

    In three sentences

    it is a great place and the campus is really nice. the schedules are very good. some of the professors are not that good.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security throughout the entire building at all times. They check identification to ensure that trespassers are not on campus. They also make sure that there are machines that can swipe ID cards for the convenience of the students. I always feel safe.

    Greek Life

    There is not a Greet Life at CCP.

    Clubs and Activities

    The activities at CCP are beneficial to the students well being. The workshops helped there instill positive messages in the students as well as giving us something to do to keep us out of trouble during our down time.

    Great for these types of students

    The music club is great for the students who are unafraid to show their talents. I'm so impressed with what my peers have learned in just one semester at CCP. Also, the work study program is beneficial to students who need to have a convenient job because the hours start right after their classes so that they can have school, make money and finally go home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual traditions or locations on campus that I know of. But hey, I haven't met everyone there yet that could show me so, who knows?

    Bang for the buck

    The thing I like the most about CCP is that I always have a quiet place to study. The computer labs are free and so is the printing so when I'm there studying online and need to print out something for home, there is never an issue. This is the main reason I am doing so well in my classes.

    What to do for fun

    For fun and hobbies, most of the students go to the gym after classes for basketball, tennis or to simply workout. It's a great and postive enviornment.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafe is convenient by catering to those who love to pig out and to those who eat healthy. There is always an abundance of food and the entrees are always hot and ready.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm on Community College of Philadelphia's campus.

    Academic Rigor

    This school has the best education for it to just be a community college. The dental and medical programs are better than most of the programs at more expensive schools. I definitely feel like I am getting the most for my money.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend that all students stay on top of deadlines. Financial aid deadlines are the hardest to come by because those are set in stone and could knock you back an entire semester if you don't meet them. Although the professors have some leeway in drastic situations, coming to college really shows you that you have to be an adult and handle things like assignments on time.

    In three sentences

    Community College of Philadelphia is a great stepping stone for students who know that they want to go somewhere in life. The staff there is extremely helpful and teachers are supportive. I could not have picked a better school to start off as a freshman.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Gentrification that has taken place over the past few years & because of that, in this area, I feel relatively safe when on campus, but this is Philly & you can't forget that. Though I feel ok on campus, it does not mean that incidents can't or does not occur there or in other parts of the city.

    Greek Life

    ALPHA BETA GAMMA, Phi Theta Kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    There's quite a few clubs. The ones that I know of are Math, Science, Christian, Muslim, Anime, Asian American, Fashion, Dance, Environmental Awareness, Zomie Survival Club, Natural & Curly Hair, Latin, Public Speaking, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking to learn about and meet people from different cultures, religions & backgrounds.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Returning to college after a six year hiatus was intimidating. I feared I would not perform as well as other students, due to my absence. I am proud to report that even though my classes were demanding, I exceeded my expectations and academically had my best semester yet--finishing with semester honors & being named the student with the Most Competitive Edge. I believe that minimums should not be maximums and I qualify for this scholarship because of my grades, my hard work, being the first in my family to seek a degree and my volunteering efforts. I work full time, yet I have made time to work at thrift stores whose proceeds go towards finding a cure for HIV/AIDS. I am a student too, but I have made time to volunteer in events like the annual Police Unity Tour which is a memorial to Police Officers who died in the line of duty. I deserve this scholarship because I am a good person who is more than willing to go above and beyond--not only in my studies, but in my career, my community and in life and I want to continue the trend of achieving outstanding grades & obtaining the knowledge needed to succeed.

    What to do for fun

    Main Campus is near Center City & Rittenhouse Square so there is many things you can do, in particular dining, shopping on Walnut & Chestnut Sts, going to Rittenhouse Square (a great park that has farmer's markets & tents that sell art and trinkets). Philadelphia is also home to at least 7 Museums that I can think of, the most well known being the Philadelphia Museum of Art.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria and they have an array of different things to choose from. City View Pizza, on Spring Garden St has awesome pizza and other Italian inspired meals. The street that runs between the two sides of the school, 17th street, has is a long line of lunch trucks that you can frequent. There's breakfast, Spanish food, Asian meals and others. I strongly recommend the Jamaican D's truck.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, however there are plenty of houses, apartments and rooms in nearby neighborhoods that you can rent, like I do.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't be fooled. Most believe that going to a community college means they are paying tuition in exchange for being handed a grade. This is an assumption and it is not true. You will definitely work and some professors are more difficult than others, but that is not a bad thing especially if you are considering transferring to another school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register online to avoid long lines. If you need to visit financial aid, go early in the morning or after 3pm for quickest service. Check out Ratemyprofessor.com if you are looking to attend this school for general feedback on prospective professors.

    In three sentences

    This College offers over 70 programs and is a great stepping stone for someone who is looking for a certificate, an associates degree, or to transfer into a traditional four year institution. It's very cost effective as well, most 3 credit classes are just over $500+ fees. I've had a great experience thus far & I know that the knowledge I'm getting will serve me well in my intended field of study. If you live in Philly or will be moving to Philly, check to see which campus is the closest to you; there are 5 campuses.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who do not have the resources to go somewhere else.

    Bang for the buck

    You pay for parking daily (if you can find a spot). If you decide to stay home to avoid the city driving, you will pay an extra fee for online courses.

    Food and Dining

    Food exists on campus, you just don't want to eat most of it. There are restaurants off-campus within a reasonable walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    It's a community college so no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The material itself is not challenging. Instructors seem to do everything they can to make the entire learning experience more difficult than it should be.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are able to do so, you should go somewhere else. Even if that means commuting to different CC, you'll be glad you did.

    In three sentences

    While relatively inexpensive, CCP leaves a lot to be desired. The layout of rundown buildings feels like something thrown together at the last minute on SimCity. Your student experience will consist of food trucks, ridiculous and sparse metered street parking, unprofessional teachers, rude administrators, and incompetent advisers.

  • 03/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Always do your best, get all your work done on time and dedicate yourself to your education for your future.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone gets along and the food is great. There are sofas for your comfort in lobby's and quiet places where you are able to study on your own time.

    Am learning a lot

    All of the professors whom I've had so far are really nice. They work with you and help you understand things more.

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is always security on campus that allows me to feel safe and secure. as long as i have been a attending community college of philadelphia, i have never encountered or witnessed an incident where security had to be called.

    Clubs and Activities

    i am not apart of any clubs or activities, but there are constant promotions around campus for the different clubs and activities.

    Bang for the buck

    community college of philadelphia is definitely worth the buck. compared to a 4-year university or college, the savings are unbelievable. i have friends who attend penn state abington, who are receiving the same education as myself, but paying thousands more a semester. with today's economy, it is very crucial to save while you can and attending community college of philadelphia has allowed me to do so.

    What to do for fun

    there may not be much to do on campus, but there is a local mall just a few minutes away that is easy to travel to if you ever have time to kill. if leaving the campus is not an option for you, then there is always a computer available in the library and computer labs you could access and get started on some homework.

    Food and Dining

    i attend the northeast campus, and they have a nice modern cafeteria. the prices for food are reasonable and there is always somewhere to sit. during the warmer seasons, there are seats available outside for dining as well.

    Dorm Life

    being that it is a community college, there are not any dorms available. on the other hand, having different locations and campus's, commuting is fairly easy for everybody.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic's provided at community college of philadelphia are top of the line. this being my third semester there, i have yet to have a disappointing course. i always feel fulfilled and satisfied at the end of each semester. community college of philadelphia has a large selection of academic courses as well. they offer almost everything from accounting to sign language. i am very happy that i decided to go to community college of philadelphia.

    Tips for prospective students

    when registering for your first semester, register for at least 5 classes. i made the mistake of taking the least amount of classes i could take and it caused me to become behind in credits in achieving my associates degree.

    In three sentences

    community college of philadelphia is very welcoming to new students. assistance is always available need be. i would recommend community college of philadelphia to those who are unsure of what they want to pursue in the future.

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 15 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Located in a well populated, well policed area, students should have nothing to worry about on this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Located in Philadelphia's Center City district, there is a wide variety of different foods, clubs and other venues to hang out at all time of day. The night life is the best you can find in Pennsylvania.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is a great alternative to just going to a four year college. Being a two year, you can graduate with an Associates Degree, and transfer to a four year institution with the basics already covered. This is an advantage as in the long run it will save you on tuition costs and student loan debt, as well as open opportunities for various scholarships.

    Food and Dining

    Located in Philadelphia's Center City district, there is a wide variety of different foods, clubs and other venues to hang out at all time of day.

    Dorm Life

    Can't really say anything about life in the dorms as I commute. However, the college is located in an area where there is a high concentration of college students going to various universities. Finding housing and potential roommates is not a difficult thing.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't let the fact that it is a community college fool you. Professors take their work seriously and will work to challenge you to succeed. As most students are looking to go to another university after CCP, they want their students to leave with the best education possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Getting in is not difficult, but the main thing is to take college seriously. Many students (from all ages and backgrounds) take it lightly by not showing up to class, not really paying attention in class, and not doing assignments. Most eventually drop out. If you focus, take your work seriously, you will have no trouble getting a degree.

    In three sentences

    Community College of Philadelphia is an historic collegiate institution with several decades of rich history. The largest college in the greater Philadelphia area, it is a cost effective solution to those who wish to pursue an eventual four-year degree.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 48 different clubs and after class clubs that everyone teachers and students will be interested in. To further integrate the student in this school each club can have parties, fun fund raisers, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is looking for good education from real teachers who want you to be the best you can at your degree, hands on training, real life conversing and affordable education. Your dream of being a college graduate is not far off and affordable

    Bang for the buck

    the college is affordable, but the upside to just being affordable is that the classes you take can transfer over to different colleges. The community college of philadelphia has transfer agreements with over 15 colleges and a lot of transfer students who will graduate from a four year institution in a year and a half.

    What to do for fun

    for fun we play ultimate frisbee, a college tradition among the community college of philadelphia students. We have an indoor gymnasium with a full basketball court if we choose to play basketball, coaches and other athletes who want more can join our ccp sports teams from basketball, track & field or tennis or bad minton.

    Food and Dining

    The college has a new extraordinary cafe, with lots of different food choices and healthy foods students as well as teachers can choose from. If the cafe doesn't interest you then outside there are a whole street of vendors ranging from jamaican, chinese, japanese, indian or spanish cuisine for whatever our appetite desires

    Dorm Life

    There isn't dorm life here at community college of philadelphia

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are brisk, but firm in their teaching, and with a passion for what they do try at every opportunity to get the help you need if you don't understand what you're learning. There is an array of on site tutoring experts for each degree program as well as each subjects, be it Math or ENglish, Social sciences or general electives. At the Community College of Philadelphia there are also so computer labs, learning labs, as wells as study labs to let help boost your confidence, motivation, grades, and academic appeal

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, make sure you talk with an advisor or counselor and keep them close, the counselors are great when you need questions answered or opinions on your degree you're trying to major in. They will help you get scholarships as well get you internships and in communication with other professors at prospective colleges you want to continue your degree at.

    In three sentences

    You will absolutely love it here. The campus buildings provide safe, comfortable learning atmospheres and make the student feel at home, theres access to vendors on site where students at their leisure can grab a bite before or after class. Teachers provide genuine lectures where they are passionate about the work they do and gladly offer assistance, wether it be via a phone call or email or office hours, and help you apply for dual admission to another school. The newly built bookstore has all the supplies you may need and the area is swarming with culture and fascination of local organizations like Mural Arts, a grass roots mural campaign or other internships

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    yes. the cheapest community college around.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs and events and meeting new people to hang with.

    Food and Dining

    The new cafes have limited selections at the regional centers and main campus cafe is the best. Everything made is fresh.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like short classes spread across the week then go to main campus because they have all or most of the classes and their classes are like that. If you want to get one class a day then go to one of the regional centers. I have been at the NERC campus for majority of my time here and i do work-study here too. I am just getting used to main campus but its nice too.

    In three sentences

    I love the atmosphere of the Northeast Campus. They have many work-study jobs. I am CCP class of 2013 graduating with a degree and a certificate!

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 71

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's a lovely park across the street from the college that's always a nice place to sit when you have time. Other than that, the computer lab is always a good idea.

    Food and Dining

    The food there will make you fat AND broke but it's well worth it in my opinion.

    Dorm Life

    CCP doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It's only hard if you let yourself get overwhelmed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends with your professors and classmates, they will prove to be valuable assets.

    In three sentences

    It's a great jumping off point. The professors are knowledgeable and very eager to help through office hours and e-mails. I would suggest CCP to anyone starting off their college experience.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 19 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every student looks out for another. There are officers on campus, but I have never seen a fight.

    Clubs and Activities

    Yoga, other sports such as basketball and track, there is a student government and most students bring their instruments on campus and jam out.

    Food and Dining

    There are food carts that surround the school that are cheap and delicious

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, live with mom and dad, its so much cheaper.

    In three sentences

    Community College of Philadelphia is the most pragmatic college to go to for students in the Philadelphia county. There are many helpful and genuine professors who understand each student and they make sure that students who care succeed.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 71

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The student life center is where a person can find out about the activities of the college such as track, basmetball, clubs, different events, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent and dining area is spacious.

    Dorm Life

    CCP is an off campus local college. There are no dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of the school, go to the orientation so you can know all that you can receive as a student of CCP.

    In three sentences

    Community College of Philadelphia is an excellent choice because it is personable, small classroom sizes. The professors are highly qualified to teach at both at CCP and 4 year universities. The tuition is is reasonanle for all that is included with the education.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    It's an Aramark dining location.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not too sure if CCP even has dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the learning labs and private tutors, it's included in your tuition.

    In three sentences

    CCP is a great place to begin learning, the professors truly care about your education. The main campus is easily accessible and the new buildings are adding great learning opportunities, especially for Culinary and Hospitality majors. If I could attain a bachelor's at this college, I would stay, for the true passion of the professors and college staff proves they care about your learning.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Avoid Broad Street subway after rush hour. Stay in well-lit areas with good flow of foot traffic.

    Great for these types of students

    The non-traditional student. So many people over the age of 30 are returning to school to get additional training that it feels right at home. The campus is welcoming to all people no matter what the age. I never felt out of place even though I'm over 50.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of free or cheap things to do in Philly from going to Penn's Landing to attending music at the Kimmel Center. Philly is great for students.

    Food and Dining

    Pricey and not too imaginative. Better to buy from the food trucks or bring from home.

    Academic Rigor

    On par with most community colleges and some programs (Art) better than most.

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy used books if at all possible. Eating in the cafeteria adds up - bring your lunch. The best place to study is on the fourth floor of the West Building near the stairwell.

    In three sentences

    Community College of Philadelphia is definitely a school with an urban campus in Center City Philadelphia. The student body is varied in age, race, and cultures but working-class dominates. The faculty is dedicated to the success of their students.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a lot safer than Temple University even though Temple has a better reputation than CCP.

    Greek Life

    Don't have any.

    Clubs and Activities

    Yep CCP has them.

    Great for these types of students

    High school drop outs, pregnant teens who dropped out of high school, GED students, D average students, students who can't afford a 4 year college yet, a way to start on your career, lazy students, cheap students, students from low income families, students who don't have any free money available, students who only care about their major and not all these crazy orientations where they force you to stay overnight and participate in these tedious activities while they don't explain to you that you're actually taking out two loans instead of one and that you'd have to pay $20,000 out of pocket

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Main campus is located near Center City but they have other regional centers scattered around Philadelphia. You can also take online classes and attend CCP while you're attending another college.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is based solely on the amount of credit hours you are taking per week. The staff tells you everything about how loans, grants, and scholarships work. They even help you with student loan plans. At CCP, there's no shady business.

    What to do for fun

    There's a gym and cultural and volunteer organizations you can join.

    Food and Dining

    Never tried it.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Not as best as Ivy League but at here, the people care for your success.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't know where to go or if you think all hope is lost, start here.

    In three sentences

    They help you succeed. There is no catch. They really are the path to possibilities.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 71

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is lots of things you could do here for fun. as an education major i was apart of an program for early childhood education people

    Food and Dining

    the food here at the college was awesome

    Dorm Life

    at community college of Philadelphia as far as i know they do not have dorms i lived on my own

    Academic Rigor

    I started at community in 2009 in their Early childhood education program having to take some low English classes. with the help of my professors in the education department i was able to succeed in the program graduating in August of 2012 with an Associate degree in education

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not listen to any one when the say community college is like high school all over again because it is not. some times you would have a professor the don't give a lot of work but then you would get a professor that would give you nothing but work.

    In three sentences

    community college of Philadelphia is a great school to start out at if you are not sure what school you would like to attend and if your not to sure about your major. the professors are very nice and they are willing to help you to become a better person in life.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 71

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You could join all types of diverse clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Have great and affordable food.

    Tips for prospective students

    Being willing to learn new things come to college ready to take on the world.

    In three sentences

    Community really have a great team. They really take the time out to help you move forward in your future career and there courses is really great.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    CCP has its own campus security system, as well as police. There's a number you can call to report suspicious activity, as well as a text alert system. I've always felt safe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    For a community college, they offer a surprising amount of clubs and activities, and they're all easy to find out about - check your CCP email, the CCP portal, or the boards around campus.

    Great for these types of students

    The College is great for working students - be they adults or youths - those with unpredictable or flexible schedule, and students looking to save money on required credits. Actually, it's pretty much great for everybody!

    Bang for the buck

    CCP's value is unrivaled. You get a great education and a degree - or, at the very least, you get to knock out some prerequisites - and it's all so affordable. Even a small subsidized loan will cover almost everything in a year.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do for fun! Whether it's bars or bowling alleys, Philadelphia has great nightlife, even if you're not 21 yet. There is literally everything you can think of within walking distance - and even things you haven't thought of!

    Food and Dining

    The College has catering at each of its major locations, which have been great - there are prepackaged options as well as a grill, and every kind of beverage imaginable, including the all-important coffee! There's always plenty of seating to enjoy a quite study session.

    Dorm Life

    CCP does not offer dorms, hence no stars!

    Academic Rigor

    I would say that four would be average (if five is Ivy League), so I'm giving them a three - the work is challenging but not impossible. The range of classes is incredibly wide, with everything from sculpture to screenwriting - it's very impressive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sometimes the offices are a little slow with documents, be it financial aid or student records. You can put your wallet away, but prepare for battle! Still, it's great practice for when you transfer to another school. Also know that CCP's online system is great; it's super easy to use. Nearly everything at CCP is self-explanatory, and that's great!

    In three sentences

    Community colleges really are a great place to start in terms of saving money, and CCP is focused on helping you to get those credits. There are classes on every day except Sunday, and they're offered at every time slot imaginable, which makes it convenient for those who work unpredictable hours. Their satellite campuses are numerous throughout the city, and they've been equally as great as the main campus.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have police officers and security guards at the campus. Students walk home together or catch public transportation. They have very bright lights.

    Greek Life

    Trying to invent a green power wheel chair. I would like to make recyclable tires. I rebuild power wheel chairs and fix cars.

    Clubs and Activities

    I belong to the Salvation Army Kroc Center in Philadelphia. I belong to the International Mason and O.E.S. I also play volleyball.

    Great for these types of students

    Single mother's like me. Out of state students. Graduated High School Students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I repair power wheel chairs in my house. I sit in the park and pray after class. I walk through Whole Foods Market and eat samples.

    Bang for the buck

    I will learn how to play my guitar for elderly people entertainment. Then I will also sing with my guitar in groups. Finally I will start my own band.

    What to do for fun

    I will Go to a social restaurant once a month. Maybe go to a movie once a month. Finally I will go to the Salvation Army and swim.

    Food and Dining

    I will bring my own food to school. Maybe I will eat before I get to school. Finally I will eat when I get home.

    Dorm Life

    I currently live at my own home.

    Academic Rigor

    I will be joining the volley ball team. Maybe I can find a beginners guitar class. They I might start weight lifting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research first. Find out what programs are for you. Find out if you want to go full time of part time.

    In three sentences

    The college is available to the public. The college have multiple resources. CCP have multiple campus.

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 71

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Weight room, computer lab or music lab.

    Food and Dining

    none

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    The classes challenge you to keep up with the professor and the reading.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go talk to students, counselor and dept. head before picking a major.

    In three sentences

    Good college for students who are transfer or even receiving an associate degree. There are a lot of options as far as when and where you can take classes. Last, the school is changing with the times as far as course options.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 71

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The professors I have encourted are very helpful. They are always willing to assist you on becoming a better student, even after class hours. A quality education for a fraction of the cost.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I wish their clubs were more active and organized.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are willing to save money on education and for students who feel they are unprepared to take on the challenges of a larger university.

    What to do for fun

    Intramural sports and student clubs

    Food and Dining

    Food is delicious, but, for a community college, the prices are too high.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always depend on yourself; do not expect counselors and professors to baby you.

    In three sentences

    I am pleased with the amount of free tutoring the Community College of Philadelphia provides for their students. Many of the faculty members (this is excluding professors) are lazy and rude. Many of the professors at the Community College of Philadelphia are extremely kind and always willing to help.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 71

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    What I do for fun is walk around campus, draw from time to time, or just hang around with my friends.

    Food and Dining

    May not always be perfect but it's good.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Easy depending on how you see it and your own performance.

    In three sentences

    A friendly environment full of great students, staff, and professors. Very energetic so full of life and opportunity made for the students. And also one of the finest community schools in Philadelphia.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 71

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Basket ball, internet, clubs and organizations

    Food and Dining

    Average

    Dorm Life

    No dorm availabe

    Academic Rigor

    Good!

    Tips for prospective students

    You will not easily find better that CCP!

    In three sentences

    It's the best place to start a degree. Everybody can make it there, whatever how old you are. International students feel home at CCP.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe campus

    Clubs and Activities

    many to choose from

    Great for these types of students

    minorities

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the theater gruop is great

    Bang for the buck

    very reasonable

    What to do for fun

    the college has alot of activity so you will have fun at all times.

    Academic Rigor

    work hard. 100%

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great college. Community is a great place to start. love the advisors.

    In three sentences

    I have met some great proffessors. I have learned so much. Everyone is so helpful.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 71

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    study, study, and physical activity

    Food and Dining

    I cook my own food to save myself money. The dinner is very clean, and every time I walk by it is very tempting to not buy food.

    Dorm Life

    I live on my own its way cheaper. I rent an entire house for $500 monthly. And because I on a plan for gas and electric my monthly bills come out cheap then living in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I study, take the advice of the academic advisers, a student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what classes you want to take, stay on top of all documents needed for Financial Aid. Investigate each professor before you register for class so that you can see what your fellow classmates has experienced

    In three sentences

    I think that CCP is a great two year Community College. It offers many great degree programs. And employee's of CCP are very approachable.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every campus of C.C.P is very safe. There's hardly, if any violence on any campus. Each campus is surrounded by a safe environment and is highly unlikely harmful.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The main campus is the largest and most well-known campus of C.C.P. There are a over four different buildings in the main campus. Each building are where classes take place and also provides access to snacks/beverages.

    What to do for fun

    In C.C.P, there are many groups and activities to join. If one wants to participate in a particular group of their choice, then they can. There are numerous cafeterias for people to eat and converse. There are lounges provided by computers and vending machines also.

    Food and Dining

    The food is quite delicious and affordable. It's hardly easy to find good food at a great price but, C.C.P has that quality. The food is overall very good.

    Dorm Life

    As for living on campus, it's not as enticing as just simply going to college. The dorms are in good conditions, but there isn't much of a difference to being on or off campus. On a brighter note, either decision shouldn't conflict the any work and be much of a problem.

    Academic Rigor

    The most difficult task is planning. Withdrawing/failure will damage the chances of graduating. By withdrawing and failing, that will jeopardize one's academic status. For the most part, the only challenge is to not lose sight of the main plan and keep the best academic status flowing.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you work and study, you'll succeed. Another tip would be, stay on the right track and you'll be absolutely fine.

    In three sentences

    Community College of Philadelphia (C.C.P) provides a promising future for their students. C.C.P is an amazing college with a variety of opportunities for people to achieve their dream. Overall, it's one of the best colleges for people to attend to.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security guards around to watch for student safety.

    Greek Life

    I do not know too much about the greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always an activity going on at one of the campuses.

    Great for these types of students

    Ones who like close attention and convenience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The are no unusual traditions that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is worth the money. The resources are always available.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on at one of the campuses and the events are interesting.

    Food and Dining

    The food staff is always friendly and they are prompt.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are close by and the residents are very friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging enough and the concepts are easy to grasp.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions. There is always someone who will be able to help you when you are indecisive or do not know how to go about something.

    In three sentences

    The classes are small and personalized. The teachers are dedicated and care for their students. I enjoy attending this school.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Business, Schience, Medical, and many other courses to offer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are about three regional CCP brances in Philadelphia; Northwest Region, Northeast Region, and the main campsu.

    Tips for prospective students

    For those who plan to attend CCP, it is recommended that you apply for FAFSA and as many scholarships you can before attending. Cappex is on of those scholarship which will help you achieve your goal.

    In three sentences

    This college is great for those who are first-time students wants to attend college: low tuition, vast variety of courses, and great teaching professors.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is great

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Be on time for class and not absent as often as you possibly can, so that you can always be on top of what the class is doing and maybe even ahead :) !!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Always study hard when you get go home from classes and if you dont understand something it is always better to ask questions to your instructor when in class than to not ask. It as better to ask the teacher a questions while she is still ready to answer questions in class and understand than to decided to not learn in class and go to a tutor instead. That it not a good idea.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 71

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Tons of activities and trips to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    Decent variety.

    Dorm Life

    none available

    Academic Rigor

    I am in an allied health program and completely understand why previous students have had the success they have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start early to get your desired schedule.

    In three sentences

    Great variety of degrees and certificates for every stage of your career. Accomplished professors in their area of study and many locations to accommodate your personal life.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 71

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always events for students during the semesters so you could always attend to them. However, if you want to shop, you're like 10-15 minutes away from the gallery or Avenue North Complex which is like 3 minutes bus ride away from a movie.

    Food and Dining

    The pavilion building just finish being constructed so now we have a two floor dining in there and its steps away from the bookstore as well. If the pavilion food court isn't to your liking then don't worry because a lot of students eat from the food trucks steps outside the buildings, and restaurants everywhere.

    Dorm Life

    CCP is a community college so there is no dorms for students. However, there are a lot of apartments around the main campus, for students who want to be closer to school.

    Academic Rigor

    There are a lot of professors at ccp who works in Temple, La Salle, and other schools. So you get the same education but at a cheaper price. Depending on the professor you could have it easy, or very hard like any other schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great place to start college because the tuition is cheaper than other schools. There are a lot of events during the semester, especially during the fall. The main campus is perfectly located in Spring Garden because it's surrounded by restaurants, and a 5 minutes to center city.

    In three sentences

    Overall Community College of Philadelphia is pretty good. The school feels like any other college campus, and I would know because I been to another college before. The main campus is a good size for people who don't want to walk four blocks from one end to the other.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is very strictly enforced. and you have to have a adge for anything you do inside the school.

    Greek Life

    No grek life

    Clubs and Activities

    basketball, track, gym room, zumba, yoga ,soccer ,baseballand community service activities, study halls,volunteering events, stepping, dancing, cheering,

    Great for these types of students

    cultural oriented , determined, eager to learn individuals who have set goals for their lives and future. and wont stop until everything is achieved.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Traditons is that the finacnial aid line doesnt get any shorter. they are very precise about having everything paid for and yooken care of before and after a class

    Bang for the buck

    It's worth every penny you and the government spends.

    What to do for fun

    Its close to 15th street which is the center of fun. stores, shopping malls, and resturaunt /museums.Anythign you may like to do you can do downtown, or near the school.

    Food and Dining

    very delicious foods and cafeteria life . venders are located outside the school if you may want other foods.

    Dorm Life

    You live a life of your own. Your space , your time, your life .They however do not have a dorm life on campus . but maybe in the future to come

    Academic Rigor

    Academic life is all about working hard to get were you need to be .stay focused . Be able to handle aspecs of learning skills and apply them to your everyday life.and you will be able to apply them to your career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Coming to this school ,one has to be open to new world wide oppurtunites.Open to divesity and commmunity activities and volunteering .you have to have that energy to learn and be taught.

    In three sentences

    This school is very organized and community oriented. Community has varies degree programs and career oppurtunities to advance and succeed. This college is very diverse and cultural and ethnicall morally structured.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 71

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This is a nice convenient school. I am comfortable in their classroom setting. The professors are really attentive.

  • 03/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Each building has visible security guards. After 5 p.m., student identification is required to enter all buildings.

    Greek Life

    This college does not associate itself with any kind of fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs that it is nearly impossible to know all of their names. From memory there is a: anime, various foreign language clubs, W.O.M.B(womens outreach club), art club, ect.

    Great for these types of students

    Student who come from low-income families, parents with young children, students with disabilities, or just the average Joe.

    What to do for fun

    The main campus is located in Center City Philadelphia. The school is located about 4 blocks from the Ben Franklin Parkway which is known as the museum district. The school is within walking distance of several museums (including the Philadelphia Art Museum) and restaurant.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent. If I recall correctly, the culinary arts majors make the food fresh everyday.

    Dorm Life

    This school does not offer housing, however, there are apartments surrounding the main campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure everything involving financial aid is received and reviewed on-time, otherwise you'll be immediately dropped from classes (which are very hard to add back to your schedule).

    In three sentences

    It is well-maintained. The students and faculty are generally very friendly. It is also very affordable and offers several benefits that students can take advantage of.

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    Clubs and Activities

    very good.

    Great for these types of students

    traditional, as well as modern culture

    Bang for the buck

    Best College !

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study well,work hard and clear doubts in the classroom its self.

    In three sentences

    Very good college. Excellant teachers. Big nice class rooms, campus as well.

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Only had coffee

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't Quit

    In three sentences

    This school makes things simple. It is afforable. I can see myself finishing my associates here.

  • 04/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is safe.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everything is perfect.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, Jim, extra activities, club membership always help us to have fun and gaining knowledge

    Food and Dining

    Perfect, clean dining service is available.

    Academic Rigor

    Goos]d

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard to gain higher GPA.

    In three sentences

    It is one of the cheapest and best college in Philadelphia. It gives an entry to students and make them to perform the best.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 71

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Student life has alot of organizations that one can get involve in. From multicultural to womens alliance groups; its all here.

    Food and Dining

    Phenominal dining at the new Pavilion

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a cheaper path to possibilities, then Community College of Philadelphia is the perfect place for you.

    In three sentences

    Community College is Philadelphia's best and cheapest college that prepares me for a four year degree. Great Professors who cares about students success you can find here. I am pleased with my experience here.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards at designated stations which keeps the campus relatively safe. A word to the wise, never leave anything valuable unattended.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to count.

    Great for these types of students

    Nontraditional students, working parents, ladder climbers and folks returning to the wonderful world of academe should feel more than comfortable.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None come to mind.

    Bang for the buck

    You'll be hard pressed to find more 'bang for your buck' than the Honors Curriculum at the Community College of Philadelphia.

    What to do for fun

    Explore the city and the panoply of social organizations!

    Food and Dining

    Stay away from the cafeteria food, unless in a tight bind. The best food on that campus is to be had at the food trucks.

    Dorm Life

    Being that this institution is a 2 year college, there is no -on-campus living.'

    Academic Rigor

    Within the Honors Curriculum, you'd enjoy/endure an incredibly robust level of academic rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tidbit I could offer on the matter of CCP would be to try and get yourself into the Honors Curriculum. It is a life changing experience!

    In three sentences

    This academic institution provides the intellectual tools needed for almost every type of student. The non-traditional students are completely welcomed and celebrated at the Community College of Philadelphia, in both a social and academic arena.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe there is always someone near by to assist.

    Bang for the buck

    A class is usually about $500

    What to do for fun

    There is a park near by the campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria inside the school with decent food. There is also a wide variety of food trucks outside the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel 100% completely safe on campus. It is highly populated, has security and is near several bus routes as well as a high school that has its own security. I am very familiar with the area and feel very comfortable walking around in it at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am aware that there are many clubs including science, academics and athletics buy I do not personally participate in any of them

    Great for these types of students

    Students that work full time or parents. Night and weekend classes are available and classes span throughout the day so it makes it easier to work around your schedule. Also great if money is an issue.

    Bang for the buck

    Great education for low tuition. Also highly rated Medical Imaging and Nursing programs, among the best in the city.

    What to do for fun

    Not much on-campus activity

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria on campus has a decent buffet and there is ample space for eating as well as walking distance to local restaurants and convenience stores

    Dorm Life

    As far as i know there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging depending on the subject and format. I found all of the classes I took to be challenging and requiring of studying and regular attendance

    Tips for prospective students

    On-campus facilities are technologically limited Many teachers teach at other colleges as well so office hours can be limited

    In three sentences

    Good solid education. Knowledgable teachers. Excellent 2-year certificate programs.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Student lounge is a great place to study and do home work its very quiet.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food its amazing especially the pizza.

    Dorm Life

    It Doesnt Have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It extremely hard you must stay on top of your work all the time.

  • 07/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Great food trucks and restaurants!!!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    Flexible!

  • 09/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is very tight on camoup; mush have ID's all the time, and they are aroud to help when you need assistance.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs that students and jon and start; and have fun doing it.

    What to do for fun

    There are events that the school has; I have not heard of students giving events or parties of any sort. I hang out with other classmates when I have the time.

    Food and Dining

    It is okay to me; I don't really eat on the campus, but I have had luch from the caferteria, the food is alright. no meal plab; you just buy your food.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life, this is a 2year college

    Academic Rigor

    Having relationship with the teacher that will be teaching your class, making sure that you are on top of assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always stay on top of work that need to be done for your class, and for finacnial aid. Also join the clubs and sports that they have; there is also was an events going on at the school, the school is growing fast as far as major they are developing full major at CCP now; which is great.

    In three sentences

    Since I have been going here, it has been pretty great; the thing is be sure to hand in all your financial aid early so that all of your verfication can be processed. They have many events for students to enjoy when the encoming and counting studnets, but they could have more sports.

  • 09/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe for an urban campus. I never fear for my safety while on campus.

    Greek Life

    Don't think so.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of Music and social opportunities such as Jazz Band, Student Government, Anime Club, lots of Art and physical activities and Future Business Leaders of America.

    Great for these types of students

    Returning Students; students who want to save money before heading to a 4 year college; low income students and single parents.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't think so.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe this is the best college value in America. Not just saying that !!

    What to do for fun

    Yoga, Speakers, Free Gym and Racquet Ball, Talent Show. We have outdoor concerts and the school works hard to make it an active college experience; not just a Community College.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of Food Trucks! We love food trucks in Philadelphia. Love the Starbucks in the lobby.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Easily up to the standards of any four year college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do what you love and work hard! Study and take copious notes.

    In three sentences

    This is a great college for serious students going back to school after an extended hiatus. Resources are plenty, opportunities abound and I believe this is the best Community College in the Eastern Seaboard.

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    55 of 71

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Great college and easy. I took courses online. I am going back to finish.

  • 10/26/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    56 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Cheapest college for those that live locally, and many of the professors moonlight at CCP, having day jobs at more prestigious colleges (i.e. Villianova, Temple, etc).

    Food and Dining

    In center city Philadelphia, so the food options are endless.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what courses you take, this school has good academics. More difficult courses are available if you qualify.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus! Shadow a student for a day to see if it has the college experience you're looking for.

    In three sentences

    CCP is a terrific community college. They are considered one of the best community colleges in the country. Very affordable for those that live locally.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    57 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I went their for three years and I never seen or heard about anyone getting in any harm.

    Clubs and Activities

    School teams usually do good.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like to be around and meet a diversity of people of all difference ages, shapes, sizes and backgrounds.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a lot of good opportunities just always stay involved on and around the campus.

    What to do for fun

    I stayed in the gym right after class. I met a lot of cool friends their and pretty girls!

    Food and Dining

    Mad that they made the cafe smaller but it's still a good experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and study hard. Take this school seriously, is not no walk in the park. Stay ahead of things.

    In three sentences

    Going to this college really made me grow up. I am honored to have graduated and attended this college. Going here I made lots of good friends and mentors.

  • 11/15/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    58 of 71

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    join clubs, get involved in activities the school plans and make alot of friends.

    Food and Dining

    THe food you can get at CCP is amazing and delicious!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms! sorry guys.

    Academic Rigor

    I've learned alot in CCP and i would do it over if i could.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply and get in your classes as soon as you can! classes go very quick. And apply for scholarships when you can and take the opportunity.

    In three sentences

    One of the best experiences in a college. It has a great diversity of students and classes. The teachers are also great.

  • 12/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus sends out newsletters for potential offenders, have officers walking around, and always promotes safety. There was never a time where I felt as if my safety was at danger.

    Bang for the buck

    With the help of financial aid, grants, and maybe even some scholarships, the price of the classes aren't bad. You're looking at $555 per 3 credits.

    What to do for fun

    Community gives you the option of getting involved in sports there. You have the option of basketball (Men and Women), Cross Country, Men's Soccer, Tennis (Men and Women), Indoor and Outdoor Track&Field (Men and Women), and Volleyball. Some of the teams (track, for example) play in NCAA Division. If you are interested in the arts, much like myself, you can take up some a Theatre classes and act in the plays! Zhou can even take up dance. You even have the option of working on campus. Most importantly, if you have classes at Main Campus, the most diverse if them all, you can meet people for fun!

    Food and Dining

    The food they have around the way are convenient. Within their headquarters they have a Starbucks (which is great for a quick boost before a morning or night class) but that's about it. Around them are two Subways, a Chinese place, a convenience store, a Bain's Deli, and a Dunkin' Donuts. All of these places are pretty good. One couldn't possibly complain.

    Dorm Life

    Going to Community College you don't live on-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I like a good challenge and Community College does just that. It makes me feel good to know that as a freshman in college, the work that is being assigned to me will prepare me for any four-year college I plan on attending after my two years at Community. Although I had to settle with taking only two classes first semester and that meant I didn't have much of a workload, a challenge still presented itself every now and then. Whether it be in the classroom working on classwork or typing an essay away from the campus trying to come up with a good thesis statement. A challenge is always there.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college wouldn't be a bad choice if you were trying to save money, redeem yourself, or just to choose as a college you wouldn't mind actually attending over the other colleges and universities you once had in mind.

    In three sentences

    Community College of Philadelphia gets a 5/5 because it is very active in all types of ways (via e-mail, recruiters, counselors, etc.) and is constantly promoting events happening around the campus. The campus is always looking out for the safety of the school-goers, has career-oriented locations to help students find jobs, and isn't too strict on the students and their freedom. More importantly, the college has free tutors and several labs to help students with their collegiate studies and duties.

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Each year, the College creates and evaluates security measures to ensure the safety of students, faculty and staff so that everyone can be secure and comfortable on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Get involved in life at the College through one of our many student run clubs and organizations.

    Food and Dining

    There are vendors outside the school and they serve very good food. Whether you're looking for a tasty meal or a quick, on-the-go snack, the College offers an array of dining options at our Main Campus and three Regional Centers.

    Dorm Life

    This is off campus site.

    Academic Rigor

    Community College of Philadelphia offers degree programs that, upon successful completion, will earn you an associate's degree and the possibility of transferring to a four-year college or help you get started on the path to a new career in an in-demand field.

    Tips for prospective students

    The College provides excellent resources to help you overcome most challenges you may encounter on the road to discovering your full potential, achieving your educational goals and succeeding in your chosen career.

    In three sentences

    Community College is a great school to attend after high school and for returning students such as myself. Their dual admission program is wonderful because they partner with some great universities and help make the transfer very easy. They work with you to help you succeed.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    61 of 71

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play basketball in the gym or workout. Sit at the circle table and talk with friends.

    Food and Dining

    You have to buy your own food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    None really at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make at least one good friend and stay in the books and study a lot.

    In three sentences

    Community College of Philadelphia is a good school to start off your college education. The people here will help you find what is best for you. Also it is a comfortable environment to be around.

  • 02/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Quality education for the cheap!

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs!

    Food and Dining

    Food trucks!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can get into the honors curriculum then you'll be guaranteed to receive an excellent education. Find the opportunities to transfer to ivy league colleges. There are people there to help you succeed in life.

    In three sentences

    There is a stigma when it comes to community colleges but I am hear to tell you to that there is so much more at CCP. There are professors with ivy league educations here to help you get the best out of an education. Opportunities are swimming here but it's on you to find them and work for them.

  • 02/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    63 of 71

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing

    Food and Dining

    Few food truck around. Never ate food here.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers don't care about your grades. But some do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to go to ratemyptofessor to check the professor rating.

    In three sentences

    ghetto value for money

  • 02/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    64 of 71

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Different types of clubs, and activites/

    Tips for prospective students

    Community College is very affordable, helpful, and flexible.

    In three sentences

    I think community college is a great opportunity and school for students who are just starting there college life or even adults who are now ready to go back. Community College really takes the time to help with financial aid, scheduling, and any questions you have. Community College also has really good professors who care about your future, and take time to fully answer any questions you have and make sure you fully understand everything.

  • 03/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    65 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Mostly fast food variety but its pretty delicious.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's good to make friends with professors and students alike.

    In three sentences

    Encouraging environment. Very helpful tutoring services. lacks a lot of helpful workshops.

  • 03/14/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    66 of 71

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    study in the library and use the gym facilities

    Food and Dining

    good but however, it is expensive

    Dorm Life

    I never had experienced a dorm lifesty

    Academic Rigor

    excellent coursework they provide

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard, dont fool around and take their classes seriously

    In three sentences

    it is a good school. most of the students attend to this school after they graduate from high schools

  • 04/10/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    67 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe and well lighted area to walk and travel around.

    Clubs and Activities

    Numerous clubs and activities to join

    Great for these types of students

    Recent High School Students

    What to do for fun

    enrolled extracurricular groups.

    Food and Dining

    Many varieties of restaurants off campus...

    Dorm Life

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend classes and complete assigned homework and score high on exams, quizzes.

    In three sentences

    A starting point of education for a student looking to build educational skills A beginner college to start at first and then after to transfer. An ideal college for a recently high school graduate to build educational abilities.

  • 04/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    68 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security on staff and via a staffing agency.

    Clubs and Activities

    CCP has over 50 clubs and are constantly do something via our Student Programming Board.

    Great for these types of students

    CCP is great for any type of student. But I am going to say for the student who doesn't have a lot of money, the classes are reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    Student Life is awesome. I am a member of two honor societies, our leadership group, and in several clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good here but there is not a meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The classwork is difficult, but it IS college. CCP has many professors that want you to achieve and have schedule times that they can be met with. Being a CCP student you also have access to tutoring centers, where you can schedule tutoring, and tutor listings, where you can hire a tutor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Once I became involved in Clubs and Organizations I became more vested in my education. The classes were difficult but I managed to leave with a 3.32 out of 4.0 GPA. It can be done

    In three sentences

    I will rate CCP a 4 out of 5 stars. CCP has great instructors, grueling academic course load and a staff that cares. On several occasions I felt like quitting but there are many professors and counselors convinced me that I could do it.

  • 06/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    69 of 71

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities that the school has for students to partake in, including clubs and a gym.

    Food and Dining

    The college's cafeteria has a good selection of food, prepared right in front of you, as well as vending machines in the buildings. There are plenty of food trucks in the area, including on campus, as well as a host of fast food restaurants and dining restaurants; there are also convenience stores (7-Eleven, Wawa, etc.) and a whole foods supermarket within blocks of the campus.

    Dorm Life

    It's a community college with no on-campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    I've had some classes where I breezed through, as well as classes I had to push myself through.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be serious about your education, especially if receiving financial aid. There are plenty of professors that are serious about helping their students succeed, but you have to be willing to help yourself. Don't be dismayed by any rumors, there are challenging courses and professors to give you a push if that's what you need.

    In three sentences

    A comfortable environment for those students that appreciate a more personal classroom experience. A great deal of professors that really care about the academic path of students. In a great section of the city.

  • 06/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    70 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Not that I know of, I don't think there is.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs at this school, you can go wrong, many of the clubs give events and have meeting for those who are interested in attending.

    Bang for the buck

    Be aware that if you are new student, there is a lot of work that needs to be done, so some people may give you the run around, but most importantly do not take classes that is not required for your major. A lot of students have ran into this problem, including myself.

    What to do for fun

    Go to many of the school events, during the Fall and Spring has a event like every other week, so there is much to get into and have fun doing.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay to me, that just me, but feel free to eat and buy all the food you want from the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life, it's a 2 year college

    Tips for prospective students

    Also check and stay on top of your financial aid status.

    In three sentences

    The college is quite big and newly improving itself. The classes at this school are no joke, so be willing and ready to learn. The staff and faculty are there when you need them to help, and always be sure to speak with counselor regarding your major and what classes to take.

  • 10/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    71 of 71

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You get a little worried sometimes outside the campus but inside it is very safe and everyone is very friendly.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is awesome.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs to choose form and there are all very kind.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who didn't go to college for a while or for people who like small schools and small environments. And also for people who like downtown.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's an open mic contest where people can rap or say poems.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent pricing, much cheaper than other colleges and universities.

    What to do for fun

    There is a free library around but if you feel like staying on campus sometimes they have very fun events like a salsa class and the culinary arts students have there rooms open and they serve food to the students sometimes.

    Food and Dining

    Around the area is downtown and there are m,any stores that have amazing food and its beautiful to walk around. I recommend you walk with a group, the area is safe its just you never know these days.

    Dorm Life

    Live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Can be a little difficult but always ask questions. Also sometimes the classes seem too easy but that's an easier way to get an A.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you constantly check with an advisor even before the first day of school. Sometimes they don't inform you as much as they should so constantly ask questions. Also be mindful of your classes and try your hardest because they offer many opportunities to do better in your classes.

    In three sentences

    An excellent school with amazing people. It is also a beautiful area bear downtown. furthermore there learning labs are very helpful.