Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Community College of Vermont Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    extremely safe as it's in the state building.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Board.

    Great for these types of students

    ccv is great for those who can't afford to go to a 4 year college right off the bat, or for older learners going back to school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the best part is break time in the warmer months. you can sit out on the patio and enjoy the weather, looking out over lake memphremagog.

    Bang for the buck

    Transportation...difficult although the buses are free up here, they just take a long time to navigate from Derby Line to Newport.

    What to do for fun

    there's quite a bit to do around ccv-newport. jay peak just added the pump haus, an indoor water park in addition to everything else they have for winter sports, like skiing, snowboarding and even the Ice Haus, indoor ice arena.

    Food and Dining

    great restaurants around ccv-newport.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorm life as it's community college.

    Academic Rigor

    i enjoy doing well in school so i enjoyed having to do homework providing it's not 2 ten-page papers in the same semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you do not take seminar in educational inquiry (sei) at the same time you are taking introduction to research methods. and if you have to take intro to research methods, be sure to take it before you take sei!

    In three sentences

    ccv is great for older learners like me. a majority of the instructors understand that we have lives and commitments outside of wanting to go to college. understanding that is the key to helping older learners succeed.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Brattleboro is a great place if you are an outdoorsy type.

    Food and Dining

    There is no board at this community college.

    Dorm Life

    There are no domiciles at the satelite that I attend in Brattleboro.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a community college so it's fairly easy going.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan in advance and make sure to meet with an academic advisor. You may learn something you didn't know before!

    In three sentences

    The faculty are very accommodating. The professors know their stuff. They offer a wide variety of majors/certifications.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    CCV is great for students who aren't ready to be in a huge College campus environment. It is nice and quiet. You really get the help you need when you need it because it is such a small school.

    Bang for the buck

    If you a determined to do the work, you will succeed. If you are only there because you have to be, there is no enjoyment in it.

    Food and Dining

    No food or dining!

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life!

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the the class and the instructor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really keep your head in the game. No matter how much effort it takes, it is all worth it in the end. CCV could be the place where you complete a degree or just a place to earn prerequisites. Do it with your all!

    In three sentences

    CCV is a great starting point. If you have prerequisites, do them here! The CCV instructors are wonderful and want you to succeed.

  • 12/23/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    working or experimenting students

    Tips for prospective students

    Engage other students in and out of class. They are one of your greatest learning tools.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never once had a problem at school, or getting to or from school.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities at CCV.

    Great for these types of students

    People trying to defer the cost of a traditional four year college. People trying to get back into education. People who may not have done well the first time at a 4 year college

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the few things lacking at CCV. Since so many of the students are part time and there are no dorms, there isn't that strong connection between students sometimes.

    Bang for the buck

    Very good value! All but one of my credits have fully transfered to my future school, and that one didn't transfer because it was more of a brush up class to refresh my math memory.

    What to do for fun

    As CCV has several different campuses around the state this will depend totally on which one(s) you attend. It could be anything from bar hopping in Burlington, to hiking at Killington.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in mind that while CCV is a community college, the staff (financial and academic counselors) are there to help and are more than willing to do so.

    In three sentences

    CCV is a wonderfully open and accepting college to attend while pursuing your AA or building up credits to transfer. I've been encouraged by almost all of my professors, while also being pushed to excel. While this may not have been my plan right out of the gate I'm certainly glad I've had a chance to stop over at CCV.

  • 04/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The college is very safe and there is a cop station up the road. There is a security system and staff are always present.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many clubs or activities to choose from since it's a community college.

    What to do for fun

    This is a community college, so it doesn't have sports or anything along those lines.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat here but they do have vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Many great choices of classes and many opportunities that are offered.

    In three sentences

    This is a great college that allows flexibility within my schedule and I'm able to get a wonderful education for a lot less money. All of my professors have been wonderful and my classes have been a learning experience. Community College of Vermont has been the greatest experience of my life and I wouldn't trade it for anything else.

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The low cost of tuition at CCV does not just cover classes; it gives access to e-tutoring where papers can be reviewed and questions can be answered. It allows access to the Hartness Library where there are endless resources for research and presentation tools, and there is a Learning Center in the building where knowledgeable tutors are available six days per week.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers at CCV vary in their teaching styles and work loads. Most are reasonably understanding of the concept that life happens. Communicating with your teachers is key, and committing to do your best work is necessary.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make a committment to your education and your future; this includes asking questions, studying hard, organizing and prioritizing, and finally, finding an internal locus of control.

    In three sentences

    CCV is a wonderful stepping stone for recent high school graduates and returning adult-learners alike. The class sizes are small, the teachers are diversely experienced, and there is access for every enrolled student to a wealth of resources. From their committed tutors in the learning center to the friendly and helpful staff at the front desk, CCV can provide an individualized learning experience for anyone.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I saved so much money attending this school. Plus, I wasn't sure what I wanted to major in, so I was able to explore that in an affordable way.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much in Winooski for fun. But Burlington is right next to Winooski and there is always something going on in Burlington. Also, because isn't dorms, students usually don't hang out with each other outside of classes. But if you are creative, you can always find something to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    There are a few restaurants in the area, but they are pretty pricey. In the school itself, there are only vending machines. So often times, I would just bring in food from home.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms offered. So I had to commute from my parent's house which was about an hour away. But my second year attending there, I was able to rent an apartment to help out.

    Academic Rigor

    I felt that it was really easy to keep up with the assigned work and that the teachers are really approachable to answer questions. I felt that I was able to get really involved in the classes because of the small size.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would encourage students who aren't sure what they want to major in, to take classes that seem interesting to them to figure out what they want to major in. Or if they already have a major in mind, to take the core classes that are required for it. Also, I would encourage students to be involved in the Student Advisory Board in order to have a voice in the school.

    In three sentences

    It is a really friendly and affordable school to attend. I'm really glad that I chose to go here and I would encourage others to attend here as well. It's a great opportunity for saving money as well as pursuing your interest in college and to get the core classes needed for other majors out of the way.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 21

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    well organized, able to get my question answer friendly staff

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They do not provide food and dining services

    Dorm Life

    As a community college there are not dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors are very good and are available to assist students when they are having problems.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research the degree program that you want to obtain, then work with the adviser to enroll in the right courses.

    In three sentences

    A wonderful way for adult learners to obtain credits towards a degree program. The advisers are very knowledgeable and work with the students to ensure they are enrolled in the correct classes.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    Commuter School, no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Not difficult classes, most professors teach here as a second job.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your credits will transfer to your other school before you enroll for the class. Some schools don't take Community College credits.

    In three sentences

    CCV is a building block to help students and adult learners further their education in an affordable way. It is a cheap way to get elective credits that can be transferred to other colleges. This is not the place to go to get a well rounded, quality education, but rather a way to get credit for core classes and electives.

  • 09/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Community College of Vermont's campus is extremely safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Community of Vermont has great leadership opportunities.

    Great for these types of students

    Community College of Vermont is great for all types of students, especially those who have decided to re-enter the school scene after an extended hiatus.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes that are offered at Community College of Vermont are well worth the cost. CCV is one of the cheapest colleges in Vermont, but you would not know that by the substantial education you acquire from attending this college.

    What to do for fun

    Community College of Vermont has twelve different centers, so it would depend on which center you are attending, to determine what is close by for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Community College of Vermont does not have food and dining as an option, where it is not a college that has dorms. However, they do have some great vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    Community College of Vermont does not have a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Community College of Vermont offers great classes, at a variety of centers.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best advise i can give prospective students is do not start off your collage career being too eager. I would recommend only taking two classes to start with, but if you must start off as a full-time student, I would only take four classes instead of five until you know what to expect. And remember to seek out the advice of your Advisor. Your Advisor is there for that purpose, to help advise you through your college experience.

    In three sentences

    Community College of Vermont is a great College of attend, especially if you are just starting your collage career. They offer their students many opportunities to become involved not only in the school, but the community as well. I would give C.C.V. a 10 out of 10!

  • 03/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Does not apply to me

    Greek Life

    Does not apply to me

    Clubs and Activities

    Does not apply to me

    Great for these types of students

    CCV is great fro a student beginning college or going back to college. It is a reasonable way to receive credit prior to attending another college.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is very reasonable at CCV and the course credits are transferable to any state college in Vermont. I don't know about transfers to other colleges.

    What to do for fun

    This does not apply to me.

    Food and Dining

    This does not apply to me.

    Dorm Life

    This does not apply to me.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel the courses are very challenging yet the instruction is excellent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all the resources that are offered through CCV. They are there to help you succeed.

    In three sentences

    I have been very pleased with the quality of education I have been receiving at CCV. The faculty is very knowledgeable and interested in me succeeding in the classroom. The support staff, the academic counselor and financial aid counselor have been incredibly helpful.

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    lots of out door activities, sometimes have to be creative.

    Food and Dining

    none

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging enough that they never get boarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will love everything about this school.

    In three sentences

    I love how small the classes are when your in class and the online classes are so easy to follow. The instructors here are great to work with.

  • 05/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus are very safe. Since our individual campuses are in a variety of areas around the state you may find a campus in a shopping lot, stand alone building, main streets. the crime in Vermont is very low compared to many other cities in the US.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life in our community college. If you choose to continue your degree, we have very nice colleges with a huge focus on Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not sure about this either, sorry.

    Great for these types of students

    I am doing my degree completely online. With the online experience I find it much better than a classroom. Everyone gets a turn and you learn more by direct interaction with other students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are interesting things to see at each campus. Since we have individual campus' around the state, you will find many interesting things. As far as each campus, I do not think too much is going on.

    Bang for the buck

    Our prices are not as bad as other places in the country, but everything is going up all around. Our gas price now 1/12/2014 is running anywhere from $3.46 to $3.58. I think the gas prices will give you an idea to pricing.

    What to do for fun

    This college is set in Ski country, so there is plenty of that as well as snowmobiling in the winter. There are so many beautiful waterfalls, hiking trails, bike trails and plenty of mountains to explore. During the summer months the area offers festivals, kayaking, farm stands, pick your own vegetables or fruit, golfing, and a host of other activities.

    Food and Dining

    You will have your choice of McDonalds, Asian food, Italian, Dunkin Donuts, and several restaurants in the area. You can always find something to eat at most gas stations where as you can find a subways.

    Dorm Life

    I have no experience with dorm life as I am not even sure if they have a dorm. The student apartments in and around Johnson are quaint just like the town. So I am sorry I do not have more information for you on this one.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe the amount of work is just about right. When reach midterm the class load is heavier and continues throughout the rest of the semester peaking at finals. The classes are challenging but the teachers really make the difference on how you approach each class.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend for your first class at CCV you take a class called Dimensions of Freedom. This class will set you off on a good foot for all your other classes. You will learn about APA and MLA format which you will use throughout your education.

    In three sentences

    Community College of Vermont offers an affordable price per credit. The availability of online courses is huge. The staff are there to help and offer advise.

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 21

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    CCV has been a great transition for me. I haven't been in school in years. I am currently attending CCV to prepare for further education in my desired career. The instructors have been great and very supportive.

  • 10/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's pretty safe at the two locations I attend, St. Johnsbury and Montpelier. Montpelier has free parking and it's right next to the college. St. Johnsbury has free parking after 4:30pm, and the campus is right next to the police station.

    Clubs and Activities

    Community of Student Representatives

    Great for these types of students

    Adult learners, those who aren't sure about college and want to try it out.

    Bang for the buck

    Very worthwhile if you live near one of the 13 locations, and there is online as well. However, some smaller locations won't have as many courses available, so you might have to travel across the state to complete your degree.

    What to do for fun

    The colleges have some student activities throughout the semester. They offer a discount Ski/Snowboard Pass.

    Food and Dining

    No food plan, most locations have vending machines and local deli's and other food options nearby.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, all commuting students

    Academic Rigor

    If you miss three classes, you won't pass the class with a very high grade. Classes only meet once a week, so you have a lot to catch up on if you don't attend. It's a community college, but the teachers want to be there, and they expect students to put in work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your advisor. They are there to help you out the best way they can.

    In three sentences

    A good school to start getting you basic classes out of the way. Very affordable for in-state students.

  • 12/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's Vermont... Nothing really happens here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Make your own, just don't call it a club.

    Great for these types of students

    CCV is great for frugal student seeking knowledge, or a good use of a gap year.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Constitution week

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy reading, community service/volunteering, biking, hiking, and lifting weights.

    Food and Dining

    Again, no such thing!

    Dorm Life

    No such thing!

    Academic Rigor

    It is a hard or as easy as you make it! You decide what you want out your experience and academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips are: ask question, be friendly, and work hard!

    In three sentences

    I would rate the Community College of Vermont(CCV) in Bennington a 10/10, since they were very helpful and respectful. I had many opportunities at CCV, such as visiting wind turbines, creating a recycling/environmental group, and seeing many sustainable agricultural practices nearby.Overall it was a great first semester for me and I will miss CCV when I go to Sterling College in the Spring!

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap, but not very challenging. Great as a stepping stone to another school while saving some major money.

    Food and Dining

    No food/dining

    Dorm Life

    No housing

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes are not very rigorous, but every professor I have encountered is wonderful and wants to help you in any way they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be very clear with your advisor about what you want and what you expect to get out your time on campus, especially if you are planning to transfer to a full university later on,

    In three sentences

    CCV is exactly what you would expect from a community college. It is affordable and accessible with decent instructors all around, but not a very challenging curriculum.

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    good vending options

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    course work is challenging but also suited for everyone

    In three sentences

    A very diverse environment. Great teachers that want to help in every way possible. Good alternative to private expensive schooling

  • 06/08/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    21 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students with not a lot of money or just looking to take classes to transfer

    Food and Dining

    Only contained vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    Was not involved in dorm life.

    In three sentences

    The convenience to students is a priority. It is reasonably priced. It offers a good learning experience.