Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Concord University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/12/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do not slack or let yourself fall behind. If you do, talk to your professors and fellow students of the same class and get caught up. Don't be afraid to talk and ask your professors for help, practice, or even just friendly advice. Everyone is polite and not just their to teach, but to help you in any situation and be a friend. Make friends, join clubs, create study groups, don't stick to yourself.

  • 11/15/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Concord is great for people who have a future in mind and are willing to work hard to get to that future. It's also great for anyone who wants a small school where you can remember the people you pass everyday and the professors know you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to do a lot more studying, but make sure you get to know your professors. Just have a positive attitude, and college will be a breeze.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition of Concord cheap and thankfully, it didn't go up this year. Concord is serious about making college a good experience rather than taking all of your money. They also offer great scholarships, grants, and loans.

    Am enjoying being here

    Concord makes college enjoyable because of all the great people involved at the school and they make sure there are good activities.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors really know their fields and they're so helpful. They make sure you understand the material and are really willing to help if you don't. Also, Concord has free drop in tutoring for anyone who needs it.

  • 07/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Since Concord is in a rural area, you should have a car or means of transportation to experience all of the natural beauty around or near the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The education is superior and comparable to DI or private institutions

    Am enjoying being here

    I am really involved on campus and absolutely love all of the faculty, staff, and students.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors really push me hard to learn to the best of my ability.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Since Concord is located in a small town there is not much to do, so we make our own fun. Greek Life is big here and we really focus on homecoming. We spend hours creating a float for the parade, learning a dance that we use to compete in the night before the big football game,and countless hours creating billboards to prove that our organization is the best. Football is big at our school to and most of the student body goes to the games to show our boys support.

    Food and Dining

    I really like the meal plan at Concord. There are three different ones to pick from and you personally pick the one that suites you best. You are allowed so many dollars for the fast food restaurant downstairs and then so many trips to the cafeteria per day. One thing that they could work on however would be the hours of operation. It seems as if they are never open on the weekend and serve the same food all day.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Concord could use lots of improvement. My freshman year I lived in the co-ed dorm and found that to be irritating. I had so many keys to keep up with and there shower to girl ratio was insufficient. When I moved to Towers, I discovered that we no air condition and black mold grew in the shower. It seemed as if I was constantly sick and going to the doctor.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at concord is set very high and I like that. I believe that if students know there is a lot of expected of them then they will strive to perform to the best of their abilities. I am in a sorority, so that helps me to keep my grades up. I know that if I do make a certain grade point average the I will not be allowed to participate in the fun activities that we take part in. I like knowing that I make the dean's list then I will receive a letter from our university advisor. I like being rewarded for hard work and Concord is good at that.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise prospective students to to focus on being independent and not counting on your advisor to help you sign up for classes. My advisor is a joke and signed me up for all the wrong classes.

    In three sentences

    On a scaled of one to ten, I would rate concord a seven. I found that receiving the help from advisor rather frustrating to get and this bothers me. The professors are excellent tho.

  • 09/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    ASSURED BECAUSE OF PRESENCE OF POLICE OFFICE

    Greek Life

    LOTS OF FRATERNITIES AND SORORIETIES TO JOIN

    Clubs and Activities

    103 CLUBS AND ORGANIZATIONS TO CHOOSE FROM

    Great for these types of students

    ALL KINDS OF STUDENTS

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    EVERYBODY IS SO HELPFUL AND DECENT

    Bang for the buck

    YOU WILL ENJOY YOUR STUDY HERE BECAUSE TEACHING IS VERY PRAGMATIC

    What to do for fun

    PLAY PING PONG OR POOL OR LASER BALLING

    Food and Dining

    GOOD FOOD AND WIDE RANGE OF VARIETY TO CHOOSE FROM

    Dorm Life

    EXCELLENT AND PRIVACY IS ASSURED

    Academic Rigor

    HIGHLY COMPETITIVE AND VERY VITAL FOR CAREER DEVELOPMENT

    Tips for prospective students

    STAY FOCUSED AND COME PREPARED

    In three sentences

    IT HAS A STRONG COMMITMENT FOR LEARNING SKILLS EVELOPMENT IN STUDENTS IT HAS A STRONG BIOLOGY PROGRAMME IT IS FREE FROM ANY DISTRACTIONS BECAUSE CAMPUS SURROUNDINGS ARE ACADEMIC

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many ponds and lakes for fishing, along with the winter place ski resort. There are also movie and shopping malls in nearby Princeton.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest that when you consider how well kept the campus is and it's location which is extremely close to Princeton, W.Va. which is a epicenter of travel for southern West Virginia.

    In three sentences

    Concord is a small University erected on a campus so beautiful that it was named The Campus Beautiful. They have a tremendous nursing program that boasts a 100% job placement rate. Recently the mountain lions produced their first conference championship and trip to the Division II NCAA Playoffs.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are at least two available sororities/fraternities at Concord University.

    What to do for fun

    Activities available for students in the Athens area consist of skiing, sporting events, other campus activities, and bowling among other things.

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a smaller college with that allows you to make lasting relationships with the other students and staff, Concord is the perfect place for you!

    In three sentences

    The town of Athens is small; however, it is a fun and lively place to live. Many activities are available within ten minutes. Best of all, you're getting a great education that is preparing you for your future.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is something I suggest you to look into, for it is a great way to socialize and meet new people. Also, it is a good way to find a family away from home. If your home is a long distance away, it can get a little lonely at Concord; however, being Greek could help you adjust to the campus.

    What to do for fun

    The entertainment all depends on you as a student. Concord tries to provide things like comedians, movies, and other activities to make it fun. It is really all that you make it. I personally like to go to the park at night and look at the stars, for it is quiet, and it has a great view.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafe isn't the best; however, they do have a Subway, Grill Works, and South of Sicily. In my opinion, the three downstairs make up for the cafe food.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in the dorms for three years, which wasn't that bad. I imagined it to be worse. When filling out the form for the dorms, make sure you are honest because they really try to match you with the best person possible.

    Academic Rigor

    It isn't Harvard, but you will learn what you need to succeed. The teachers are invested in your success.

    Tips for prospective students

    It may seem difficult at first, and some teachers expect more from you than you think you can give. If you maintain a drive for what you want to do, and actually put effort into your classes, they will teach you what you need to know. You will defiantly need to build time management skills because papers and test come often.

    In three sentences

    Concord University is positioned in a quiet community, which is great if you want to focus on your studies. However, it isn't the most exciting because it isn't close to entertainment. I would personally rate it a seven.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Student Activities Committee is always planning fun events like Bingo. And the different organizations also have events throughout the year. There is a mall and movie theater about 15 minutes away as well as a skating rink and bowling alley. There is also a state park with lots to do as well.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide selection in the cafeteria and there is also a couple of places in the student center where you can eat like Subway and Starbucks if the cafeteria isn't what you're in the mood for.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty nice. Although all could use some renovations as they are a bit old but all-in-all are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough, but in a good way. Concords professors are dedicated to giving their students the education they need. You definitely get your moneys worth in terms of academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a large, party school then this isn't the school for you.

    In three sentences

    Concord University is the perfect school for students looking for something small and intimate. Students get to know many other students here because of its small size and they also get one-on-one with their professors, as there aren't 100's of students in one class. I highly recommend this school to any prospective students.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Concord University has their own Campus Police who patrol the campus regularly. I've always known it to be a safe campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Its a great school for those who are serious about their education, who don't mind a small school, small student body, and the slow pace of life here.

    Bang for the buck

    Concord has a relatively low price for instate tuition. After 12 credit hours, any additional classes are free making it a good price for the classes you take.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different organizations and groups that meet on campus. There is little to do off campus because Concord University is located in a small town.

    Food and Dining

    Concord has a nice dining area. There are few options outside of the regular mess hall items. Some food lacks quality.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life seems to be great here. Most students are fairly satisfied with the dorms at Concord. The hardest thing for students living on campus is the lack of activities outside of classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Some departments and classes at Concord are academically challenging. But I have never had useless work thrown at me. I have benefited from all the assignments, even when they are difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're a prospective student here, I would make sure to research the departments and the professors before you start. Make sure that you will be able to graduate in the amount of time you have planned, and always be sure to know the details about the degree you have chosen.

    In three sentences

    It's a great campus with knowledgeable professors. Departments and campus is small. Students receive a good education here.

  • 10/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Has sororities and fraternities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like a smaller atmosphere.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are several clubs, as well as fraternities and sororities.

    Bang for the buck

    It's not too expensive compared to other colleges and is a good value.

    What to do for fun

    Watch the sports.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria but also a subway.

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay in a dorm so I can't really rate this properly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour the school first.

    In three sentences

    It is a small school in a small town but has a lot of diversity. It has a beautiful campus. It has multiple majors to choose from.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    tons of activities around campus

    Food and Dining

    adequate food services

    Dorm Life

    normal dorm experience

    Academic Rigor

    Tough, but manageable classes

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to have a great college experience!

    In three sentences

    Concord has a wonderful biology department. The professors are experts in their field, and they work to help you. I love it here.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I do all my studies on line

    In three sentences

    I love Concord University. I haven't been in college for 18 years and my adviser has made my experience so smooth and easy. I had a great 1st semester back and am very grateful for good professors.

  • 05/18/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    laugh

    In three sentences

    it is the best. i like it. its awesome

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus police and security guards patrolling the campus.

    Greek Life

    Homecoming specialties and other big events for Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Greek life and many sports! Student government and international clubs!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    South of Sicily, by far the best restaurant on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth the money!

    What to do for fun

    Movies, Greek life, intramural sports, and attending sports events.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, but it has the same selection everyday.

    Dorm Life

    Lots of ways to meet people!

    Academic Rigor

    Great Great Great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Always study and never think it is easy.

    In three sentences

    Great academics. It has plenty of social events. They push their students to full potential.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police respond very well

    Greek Life

    Welcoming and broad

    Clubs and Activities

    Wonderful Greek life

    Great for these types of students

    Biology students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At finals week, the president brings candy to the students in the library.

    Bang for the buck

    To be fairly low priced, the school is very impressive.

    What to do for fun

    Greek life is popular on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is the best on days when potential students come to visit.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are as expected but accommodating.

    Academic Rigor

    While it isn't ivy league, the course material is very difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors as well as your classmates. Making use of the library and study options are very hepful.

    In three sentences

    Concord is very welcoming to new students. The classes are difficult but small. Administration are very helpful to students.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are pretty evident all throughout the campus almost all of the time. They are easily approachable and friendly and ready to help in any circumstance. They are never hard to find, either.

    Greek Life

    At Concord, most of the students are either athletes or Greek. The Greek Life here is actually decent. The frats and sororities do a lot of community service.

    Clubs and Activities

    You have to travel out of Princeton to get to the club most Concord students go to. Club Minaj has college night's on every Thursday, so that is where most of the campus is on those nights. If you know any of the TKE's, you're pretty much guaranteed to find a party any other night.

    Great for these types of students

    I think Concord University is perfect for the students who do not want a huge college where it seems like they are just another number. At Concord, I think the teachers really do care about their students because it is possible to have a relationship with them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The gazebo is a place where a lot of people go to meet and hang out. It is kind of the central attraction at Concord.

    Bang for the buck

    I think the tuition at Concord is appropriate. The programs really challenge you, which will help you in the long run. I'm not saying we should pay money to get an education, but as far as the bang for the buck, it seems about right.

    What to do for fun

    Athens is a very small town, so for fun, the students usually head out to Princeton or Bluefield. On campus, there really is not much to do unless you're an active person. Volleyball and the swimming pool is just about it for the on-campus fun.

    Food and Dining

    The dining in the cafeteria could be better. Most of the time the food their is bland. Subway, Starbucks, and Grillworks in the student center, however, is amazing!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Concord is comfortable. The only co-ed dorm is being shut down because it is getting old, so come the 2013 fall semester, there will be no co-ed dorms. The three other dorms are safe and well kept up.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the students at Concord definitely see their grades as something that is important. Yes, there are parties, and yes, there are those who party nonstop. But the amount of students that really take their grades seriously is a large number.

    Tips for prospective students

    Defiantly apply here!! Although the programs are the hardest in the state, I believe this prepares you for the real world. The teachers are tough and so is the work, but it is worth it.

    In three sentences

    The students here are very friendly and helpful to the freshman. The faculty really seem to care about their students and want them to succeed in life. I feel like this is the perfect college setting.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You feel safe here. There aren't any threatening factors. Its a tight nit community.

    What to do for fun

    Joining many organizations is fun at Concord. The greek life is fun. Concord has activities when the weather is nice also.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is not the best. Subway is fine and the other places are very good although they dont stay open very long. Some places will get old.

    Dorm Life

    The towers dorms are the most updated. The others are nice but have less amenities. Rooms in all dorms have a moderate amount of space.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes will challenge you. Many professors push you to excellence. Class curriculum is nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in your studies. Try greek life in your second year. Only take on as much as you can take.

    In three sentences

    COncord is nice. Classes challenge you as they should. Camus life is what you expect from a smaller university.

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The cheapest college in the state of West Virginia probably, but still expensive of course.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is not great, but not too bad.

    Dorm Life

    Good dorms, although they don't have air conditioning.

    Academic Rigor

    This college supports what you want to do and helps you do it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start working on getting your information to the college early. Sometimes this can take some time, so I recommend giving them as much time as possible.

    In three sentences

    A small university that is friendly and welcoming. It is in a wonderful college community, as well as a very small town. It's a great place to attend college.

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Spend time with friends, get active, and go to the mall in Bluefield. Go out to eat in Princeton. There are clubs that have college nights. Sporting events are always great.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe hours are sometimes difficult if you have night classes, but there is other dining that is open later. The cafe provides a variety of choices in a buffet style. The other dining includes Subway, and an american grill style.

    Dorm Life

    There are many rules to the dorms, and that can seem unfair at times. The good thing is you can choose to live in suites with four to a bathroom or have community bathrooms. Visitation is open for most of the week. But there are also apartments close to campus if dorms aren't the way for you.

    Academic Rigor

    While it may seem like Concord can't be a tough school because if size, the academic rigor is very challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to deal with all financial aid and registrar problems as quick as possible. Get involved with clubs, go to sporting events, and make the best of your time.

    In three sentences

    Concord University teachers are always willing to help, and the small class sizes give a more personal experience. There are plenty activities on campus to satisfy all interests. With there being around 3000 students, the atmosphere is ideal for making life long connections.

  • 08/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun I like to walk around campus. I also enjoy Concords game room. It is a good way to let loos and meet people.

    Food and Dining

    I am satisfied with the café here at Concord. The food is great and has a great variety. Also, Concord gives us restaurants as well in the student center. I think this is a good way to give us a selection and please everyone.

    Dorm Life

    I do dorm at Concord, and I am happy with my dorm life. It is easy to get to and from classes and school activities. Also is a great way to meet people.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel as Concord does have teachers that will work with students to ensure a passing grade. However, it is the students responsibility to focus on their academics. There are colleges in the state of West Virginia who are doing worse then Concord.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for these students would not to be shy. They should ask questions when needed. Also, to start preparing for college as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    Concord has positive and negative factors. They provide a great education to their students. However, Concord can be more helpful to their students when dealing with financial aid and classes.

  • 10/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    This is why you need a club or group.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good for such a small college.

    Dorm Life

    Pretty boring.

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard. Get involved in a club, group, or frat.

    In three sentences

    Concord is academically quite difficult. You will learn a lot though if you are willing to work for it. It's hard to do much socially since it's in Athens, but they try to set up a bunch of activities.

  • 11/13/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Have real police officers on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs to join

    What to do for fun

    Greek life, clubs, ski, kayak, bike, hike, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Food is decent.

    Dorm Life

    No air conditioning, dorms are decent.

    Academic Rigor

    Concord University is known for their dedication to academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun, but not too much. Focus on your studies and applying for scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Small campus, not much to do unless you favor the outdoors or go to Beckley or Princeton for the weekend.

  • 11/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I love to workout.

    Food and Dining

    Food options are limited.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are not very new.

    Academic Rigor

    They love to teach

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to students who have taken classes before you sign up for them.

    In three sentences

    Up to date technologically. Highly educated teachers. Constantly improving.

  • 12/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types!!!

    What to do for fun

    Greek Life Sports games Beach volleyball Bike Go to the game room Larping

    Tips for prospective students

    Always go to class. Never miss a test. Do your very best. Don't freak out or get nervous.

    In three sentences

    Concord University is beautiful. They have great academics and professors. Concord also has a great Greek and athletic life.

  • 12/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    With such a diverse student body there are many activities

    Food and Dining

    Limited options, Caf, starbucks, subway, wing span and one pizza place in town, but all are very good.

    Dorm Life

    Greek life is very active

    Academic Rigor

    Professors challenge you, but are very willing to help you anyway they can. I've been pushed to my academic limits and have been surprised at how well I performed

    Tips for prospective students

    Review your field of study, the weather, and local activities.

    In three sentences

    Small, personable, knowledgable

  • 03/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Probably join intramural teams... there really is nothing here that is great. I play a varsity sport here so I do not have to worry about occupying my time.

    Food and Dining

    I hate the food here. The cafeteria sucks.. We have a subway and a wing place. The closest town to get food is Princeton (about a 20 minute drive).

    Dorm Life

    If you live in Towers, you are set. It is a suite style dorm. Share two sinks, a toilet, and a shower between 4 people.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are good, I haven't experienced anything that was unbearable.

    Tips for prospective students

    DO NOT come here if you are looking to party all the time (which you should't want to do that anyway). Do not come here if you are looking for a place where you can walk anywhere to get food other than the cafeteria. You need a car here to survive.

    In three sentences

    Concord is decent academically, you will thrive in your classes if you go an study. Classes are small which is always a plus because you can be one on one with your teacher whenever you need it. Very beautiful scenery, but that is about it.