Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Concordia College at Moorhead Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are ready to be academically challenged and who love community will love Concordia. However, there are many different types of people here, and all are very well accepted.There are many clubs for people with different interests, including an intercultural center, and office of student leadership for students to start clubs. Even though it may be a Lutheran school, all religions are welcomed. I think Concordia is great for those who want to find a great school with one-on-one attention from professors who will push you to success, as well as finding great friends, and have awesome experiences.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a prospective student, it is very hard to know what you will want for a college. Therefore, going to Concordia and spending the night for an on-campus visit is very important. There is an awesome atmosphere that may not be experienced in just a tour. Spending the night gives prospective students a chance to experience the dorms, meet students, and see what the dining hall is like. As well visiting a class will help deciding. I visited a class that had to do with my prospective major and found that I really enjoyed it and cannot wait to take the class next year.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though Concordia is a private college, and more expensive than a state or community school, I feel what I have spent has been worth it. The living environment, the dorms, are kept very clean and the food that is in the dining hall is great! These two things can mean a lot as far as the experience overall for some students. However, as I explained before, the learning experience is awesome as well, and well worth the money for a one-on-one connection with professors that genuinely want you to succeed. Also, the things the college does such as the ministry on campus, the service commission, and the entrainment provided are great, and have proved very worth while in my experience. As well, Concordia is a school that wants students to succeed and have a great staff that will help students in need of financial help, find the money they need to attend. The opportunity for on campus jobs are available to all students, and jobs are very manageable hours with class schedules and other commitments. Even though it is pricey, the education, connections, and overall experience is well worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being at Concordia very much! The atmosphere of students is great. It means a lot about the people here that students and professors open doors for each other, and seems to be just natural. The students, professors, and staff are quite cheery and usually say hi as you pass by on the sidewalks. The campus is kept very beautiful, and most of all the bell tower that rings, is my favorite part. Along with the campus itself, the activities are great. The student groups for service, entertainment, and ministry are very important. The entertainment student group puts on events throughout the school week as well as on weekends to provide activities when students are not studying, or just want to be in community with others. The ministry on campus, such as chapel every day, is great for those religious individuals. It is great that the school has a time during every school day for non-denominational worship, and Wednesday evening service. It makes being spiritually involved through school much easier, and makes the connection to Concordia stronger. The service student group on campus is great as well. It is important in college that we are able to be involved in the community or city we live in as well as in the school community. The volunteer opportunities through this group give students the chance to get involved, and feel more a part of the area they live in. The combination of all of these things has made my experience at Concordia very enjoyable!

    Am learning a lot

    Learning at Concordia is different than the learning I did in high school. From my very first class I became aware that I would be thinking differently than ever before. That first class was my inquiry seminar, and in that class we were introduced to the way Concordia classes were generally conducted. We were able to discuss, but in a manner much more meaningful than I had ever experienced. We talked about the world in a way that we had to think about our views, the views of others, and how we can overcome these to make progress in the world. We discussed knowledge and how it was acquired, and how we can take from the ideas of others and use our own to build upon the general pot of knowledge in the world. In all of my classes it has been stressed that we use not only the things we learn in class, but take information from other classes or other experiences to contribute information and make significant connections between classes. We are encouraged to even take part in community through volunteering, learn about ways that we as students actually have the potential to produce change. We can change ourselves, our peers, and even potential to change the world, through involvement in community and using the skills we acquire here at Concordia. Professors encourage us to do our best and push us to really think deeply, and make our work mean something more than just another school project. It is great to know that what I am doing is important!

  • 08/04/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who can get to class are best fit for this school. If you don't go to class you're not going to get the grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to find something to do on campus. there are so many groups on campus it's almost overwhelming, but once you find something stick with it. If you can't find something from the vast list of activities you can always make your own club.

    Bang for the buck

    The dinning services was nominated for there buffet style facility. The teachers do their jobs, and the custodial staff keeps everything in working order. In coming to Concordia you are paying for quality.

    Am enjoying being here

    The students and staff on Concordias campus are warm and welcoming. The Campus is beautiful, and the food is pritty good. I made amazing connections with the girls who live on in my dorm, and spent a lot of time in the hallway of my floor chatting, studying. When it came to classes I found myself challenged, but capable of succeeding in the task at hand, with time to spare.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned so much up at Concordia. I found the classes challenging, but I enjoyed working out any problems I had wih my fellow students. The professors are open to discussion and are willing to help. In high school I had teachers telling me left and right that college professors could care less about you, but when I was looking for help, they were there helping me every step of the way. I found that I have a passion for the productions of plays and all the technical work that goes into them.

  • 10/23/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 3 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The school is good for plain students. I do not mean this in a negative way. Coming from a large metropolitan area to Moorhead is very underwhelming. There is not a lot to do here. This school is good for people who have grown up and are comfortable with small towns. Also, everyone here sings! The majority of students are in some type of choir, band, theatre, or musical activity. If you are none of these things, I would take caution when considering the school. Bottom line: if you are a religious theatre/music major, you'll love it here.

    Tips for prospective students

    VISIT! Be aware of your comfort zone. If you prefer a traditional college that is focused on academics, Concordia might not be your best fit. When I go to classes, I am always welcomed with musicals being sung and prayers.

    Bang for the buck

    - The food is not that great. Same thing, different day. + The school has many free activities for students.

    Am enjoying being here

    Fargo and Moorhead have absolutely nothing to offer college students. The stores and malls (if you can call it a mall) are small and limited. Everyone here is very religious (a lutheran school, who would figure?) and it can be off putting and isolating. The school is nice, but very traditional.

    Am learning a lot

    As a freshman, you have to take something called an Inquiry Seminar. This class is ridiculous. You're given a variety of classes to choose from, but the choices are not that great. Plus, this class has absolutely NOTHING to do with your major. It's just a class Concordia wants you to take to integrate you into the school. So, a lot of work, for nothing. I give this 4 stars because the Intro to Psych class (by Olson) I'm taking is amazing, as well as my Norwegian class is very intense. Other than that, you are required to take a lot of b.s. classes (Wellness=health, religion, written and oral comm)

  • 01/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think that this school is great for any type of students. The tri-college program lets you take programs at other colleges without paying extra, so definitely take advantage of that!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't walk under the bell tower, you will be shunned if you do. Ha ha, some urban legend. But seriously, your orientation leaders will tell you almost everything you need to know, and even if you aren't sure enough to just sign up, go to the school and visit! There are a lot of people (who are students mind you) who are willing to show you around and give you an unbiased account of the school. Yeah they are told to tell you certain things like Our choir won an academy award! or whatever, but in reality, the people who show you around will just tell you how they have seen it in their experience here, and will definitely give you a real insiders scoop. You might want to bring a car, even though the college will tell you it is not needed it is a really good idea. I didn't bring mine, and now I have to find rides everywhere. There is a great bus service, I'm just not the type of person who can memorize bus schedules, or carry them around with me.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is expensive at times, but the amount of financial aid that the school gives is almost always enough to make it just as cheap as a in-state college.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere is great for students, and there are a lot of events put on by the CEC (Campus Entertainment Commission). This school is great for chemistry and biology majors (like myself), and there are plans to massively overhaul the entire building in which bio and chem are held. There is also a new business building being built which is going to be awesome in the future. For guys this is more important, but this school has an extremely high ratio of girls. There are also plenty of sports and intramural opportunities here, and you can also decide to work alongside the professors and other workers here if you want. It is overall an amazing school.

    Am learning a lot

    All of the classes offered by Concordia have been extremely useful for me. I was a little bit disappointed with my writing class (a required class, along with oral communication) but it was not so much that the class itself was bad. I learned a lot from it. I just had a bad experience with a teacher. I heard from a lot of my friends that their teachers were amazing, however mine just turned out to be an extreme feminist and refused to give good grades out to guys unless she thought you agreed with her. Other than that though, all of my classes have been great. Every time that I have had a problem in a class I have been able to talk to the professor and either get the problem resolved right away or at least learn what I could do to resolve the problem.

  • 11/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who want: -small private school -tight community feeling -really really long cold winters -amazing music -college town with other universities

    Bang for the buck

    A lot of times you forget how much the insane tuition is because you're learning so much and loving it so much, but when those bills show up, I'd be lying if I said a little part of you doesn't wilt inside. You just have to decide that money isn't everything.

    Am enjoying being here

    Ask any Concordia student what some of their favorite parts of this place are, and I'd bet 99% of them would mention the people or the community feeling in their list. The Cobber community is just so wonderful and tight-knit and family-like. What's not to love? :)

    Am learning a lot

    Like any school, Concordia has its ups and downs. I have mostly discovered ups, however. The academics are challenging but still enjoyable.

  • 01/15/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Concordia is a college that expects you to be actively involved in your education. If you don't understand something in class, don't be afraid to ask the professor and be sure to use their posted office hours. If you are a person who likes to skip class to sleep in, Concordia isn't for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find people to study with. I know this is what everyone says, but you will be able to have so much more fun in college if you get your homework done first and then go play! Have a set time where you and someone else go to the library or another quiet spot and do homework for a few hours. You can then hold each other accountable and encourage each other.

    Bang for the buck

    It's pretty expensive, but you get what you pay for. Most of the professors are the top in their respective fields; if you want to learn, they will help you in every way they can. You have to work hard, but it will all be worth it when you get a job because of your outstanding skills.

    Am enjoying being here

    Concordia has a strong emphasis on community; Freshman Orientation is a week-long event that you spend with 10-20 other freshman, 2 Orientation Leaders, and a faculty mentor. This is called your club. You then have 2 classes first semester with your clubbies and you get to know them really well. Life-long friendships are made because of this process and helps make college an enjoyable place to be!

    Am learning a lot

    As a freshman with the first semester under her belt, I have learned so much already! I have taken general chemistry, biology, speech, and a C.S. Lewis class. The professors strive to draw connections between their areas of study and others. You learn so much more this way and you become exposed to many ideas!

  • 01/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Someone who wants a small campus and small class sizes. Someone who wants a liberal school while still having a traditional background. Anyone interested in music or languages should put Concordia on the top of their list!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and visit. Concordia is a very welcoming school and has such a fantastic atmosphere. When you are here, ask any question that you have, literally, ANY question.

    Bang for the buck

    Absolutely. Concordia is not a cheap college, but for what I am learning, I am absolutely getting the most amazing experiences that will help me in the long run. This college is SO worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have some of the most amazing people that I surround myself with up here. They are phenomenal. Everyone here is so dedicated and eager to learn their field of study and the professors here are wonderful. There are many options for food, though sometimes you get sick of it, that is going to happen anywhere that you go.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning so much. I have always been interested in music, but I have never studied music theory until coming up here. I have learned immensely from my professors and the different departments that this school has to offer me.

  • 07/13/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All hard workers.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are tons of resources at Concordia, that will help you become successful. The writing center is open every school day, and is a valuable asset. Take advantage of the student success program, and meet a mentor.

  • 10/21/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Types of students that wants to go into a health profession or one of a strong science background. This college is great for those type of fields. However, it does have many options so you are not limited to anything! Music is really big here too! Hope on board! :)

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to a lot of schools and not just settle on anything your first year. Try different classes unless you are really sure that you want to major in a certain field! Work hard! And college will test your study habits and your strength so be prepared! :)

    Bang for the buck

    If I didn't get a some few scholarships that I won, I don't think I would have came here. However, what really inspired me to come here was to get out of my comfort zone from the home-life and so far, I'm experiencing a lot of things! Also, the setting looks nice and the campus is beautiful and small.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's not diverse, so if you're looking for a really diverse place this wouldn't be one of them. But! The good thing about that is that you get to explore outside of your own culture and really immerse yourself to where other people are from. I like teaching other people about who I am. The campus is small and the resources are great. You won't get lost at all! That's another bonus!

    Am learning a lot

    I'm a freshman this year and well I guess I haven't gotten to the point of experiencing activities. I'm focusing on my study habits so I can say that I'm learning a lot about myself first. If you're wanting a general answer then I would have to say it really depends on your major, I am thinking about going into Pre-Optometry. Therefore, I am taking rigorous Science courses. The professors are really nice and are willing to help you. However, it is your responsibility to ask for help and look for your resources.

  • 01/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who have a strong desire to be well-rounded and accumulate skills that allow them to succeed in many different areas would most likely love Concordia. The core requirements are designed to not only create well-rounded students, but to explore other areas of interest in the student is not completely sure about his or her choice of major. Students who are not religious shouldn't be discouraged; there are many students here who are also not religious.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should definitely aim to receive scholarships. Concordia offers many. Also, they should get to know upperclassmen. They can help students choose classes and professors that work best for the student and his or her goals. And VISIT! Stay overnight in the dorms and see if you like the atmosphere!

    Bang for the buck

    This really depends on the amount of scholarships a student gets. Concordia offers many scholarships based on academics, music...etc. I honestly would not attend Concordia if I had not received scholarships. I feel that I could find a college that I like almost as much as Concordia that would be much cheaper. However, other schools usually don't provide free tutoring, tickets to attend sporting and music events, and other perks like Concordia does. The only extra cost involved in studying abroad for a semester or year is for the student's plane ticket; many other schools charge higher tuitions for semesters abroad. Concordia also has small class sizes which helps justify the high tuition.

    Am enjoying being here

    Concordia has many events provided through campus organizations. CEC (Campus Entertainment Commission) holds grocery bingo and other events involving things such as movies, dances, guest speakers and music. There are plenty of organizations to become involved in based on many different interests or goals (music, sports, environmental alliances, volunteering, foam weapon fighting club...). Many refer to Concordia's campus as the Concordia Bubble because there is so much going on that students rarely need to leave! However, when you do leave, Fargo-Moorhead isn't all that exciting if you've lived near a large metropolitan area all of your life.

    Am learning a lot

    At Concordia so far, I have been able to explore different areas with the core curriculum. I entered as a Chemistry major and pre-med student and am now adding a Communications minor because I've enjoyed obtaining skills from both Written Communications and Oral Communications (so far) and found that they will be very helpful in advancing my career. However, I feel that some of my teachers in high school were better than some of my professors here. It really depends on the professor and learning style of the student.

  • 02/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who have a passion for learning, who want to become a part of a close-knit community, and desire to be challenged to think critically will find Concordia an ideal place to pursue their education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to get an on-campus tour; experiencing Concordia's campus and community is a great way to see if it is a good fit for you. Additionally, talk to the faculty of the program you desire to major in - I guarantee they will answer any and all questions.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Concordia is a private college, and thus significantly more expensive than a state/community school option, the money is well spent when one considers the quality of the education being received. As I noted earlier, the learning environment at Concordia is top-notch, and exudes excellence and a passion for knowledge. The faculty are friendly, and legitimately desire the success of their students. Fellow students become good friends, and subsequently challenge each other to succeed and perform to the best of their ability. Overall, Concordia is a unique place where an amicable community and a superb education are combined.

    Am enjoying being here

    Due to the small size of the school - about 2500 students - there is a definite feeling of community on campus. Even when my high school came to Concordia to participate in the Choral Festival, I distinctly remember feeling completely at home on the campus. Students open the doors for each other, cheerfully smile and greet prospective students or classmates, and are consistently genial and welcoming to everyone they encounter.

    Am learning a lot

    The environment at Concordia exudes a passion for learning; however, this only occurs when one applies themselves to their classes, which is the case no matter what school you go to. What makes Concordia stand out is the critical thinking that is implemented by the students, which can be seen throughout campus. The faculty truly invest in the students, and it is easy to see that they want their students to succeed. The combination of motivated, critically minded students and excellent faculty make Concordia a place where one is constantly learning new things.

  • 06/26/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard workers, people who don't want to party all of the time, students who can stay on task, but have fun when there is time.

    Tips for prospective students

    VISIT! I visited twice, and even stayed the night in a dorm with a random student. Visiting the college helps you decide if that's where you want to spend for years.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is a lot, as you probably know, but totally worth it. I have talked with my admissions advisor more than I ever talked to my high school counselor. They want you to be successful and have a good time.

    Will enjoy being here

    For your first two weeks, you stay with your 'club' which is with you through your inquiry class AND your first communications class. They want to make sure you will make good friends and socialize. They also have something to do EVERY weekend on campus!

    Will learn a lot

    There are so many different classes to take and so many opportunities to explore. I feel I will never want to leave the classroom.

  • 11/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Concordia College is like it's own little community. If you don't like people in your space all the time and don't like how the school is always offering something to do then this probably isn't the right school for you.

    Am enjoying being here

    If you don't immerse yourself in any of the school activities here then you'll be bored out off your mind. The musicals they have here are wonderful and great because the students are actually passionate about what they do. The clubs here are super fun and they don't require you to go to every meeting. I love it here!

    Am learning a lot

    I am always learning something new and interesting in most of my classes. Of course there are lots of reading required, but that just helps you understand the idea more when you discuss it in class. Professors challenge your ideas so you can think critically, which is actually kind of fun.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The school is expensive, but the quality of the academics make up for it.

    What to do for fun

    CEC plans many activities for students to attend. The Fargo-Moorhead area itself also provides many things for college students to end. With three colleges in the area, there is plenty for college students to do

    Food and Dining

    Although DS gets sickening sometime, they have many healthier options than other schools. They also have a wide variety and try to provide with numerous options.

    Dorm Life

    The RA's on campus plan many activities to get to know your floor/unit. I suggest going to as many of them as you can in order to build the family.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are more challenging here than anywhere else. Don't let it get to you. Don't get overwhelmed by it. All the hard work will pay off in the end. Just stay dedicated to what you want to do and push through. It will be worth it in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Give Concordia a fair chance. Adjusting to a new college is never easy. For me, freshmen year was difficult adjusting to new people, new friends, harder classes, and being away from family. It is not easier to do this anywhere else. Now that I am a sophomore and have adjusted to the college life, I absolutely love it here. Just make sure you give it a fair change and don't give up because it's too hard.

    In three sentences

    The classes are small, which allows for closer interactions with the professors. It also allows you to get to know your classmates better. The close-knit community allows for a sense of home, togetherness and a better learning community.

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Campanile on campus has a superstitious concept behind it that you do not walk underneath it alone or you will be alone forever and if you walk under with someone you will be them for your life. Its quite interesting and entertaining to see people just walk around it opposed to the middle of it.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has weekly events that are scheduled through our campus entertainment commission and also located in the area those that are 21+ have the option for great establishments downtown within a mile away and also nearby establishment. For those that are not there are on-campus events that include comedians, poetry slam, campus movies, dances, and other events.

    Food and Dining

    We have a great newly renovated and built dining center with a head culinary chef and great recipes. This gives a great atmosphere and options for student's dietary needs and likes. This is a great place for students to study and enjoy a fireplace in the winter.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very great and expected for the first two years to live in traditional housing on campus. The activities and hall events are sometimes goofy or do not work out but they are encouraging students to be a community while they are here on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Expectations are high in most classes, but they are encouraging and setting every student up for the real world beyond the college life and rigor is important to understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please plan ahead as this is a very competitive school and does require and expect a lot from their students, but also does give you time to have a personal life as well, but understand the purpose of college too.

    In three sentences

    Great professors that are engaging and trying to make students look at world issues and engagement. The class sizes are very small on average and you can be a student with a name opposed to just a number compared to larger campuses. Overall, the campus is inviting and rigorous but its what you pay for.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In addition to being in a small town with low crime rates, the campus is very safe. The campus police usually makes rounds at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many student organizations here. You will definitely find one that suits your hobbies and interests.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a bell tower and its myth is that any couple who passes under it will be together forever. You will see the students avoiding walking under it as there's also a myth that you'll be alone forever if you pass under it alone.

    Bang for the buck

    Concordia definitely is one of the more reasonably priced colleges.

    What to do for fun

    The town is small so joining any club or organization is a great way to meet people and get fun experiences. Also look out for the weekly events as well as special events planned by the CEC (Campus Entertainment Commission). Off-campus, downtown Fargo is great for hanging out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Concordia definitely has one of the best college dining services. There are quite a number of meal plans to choose from and they are all good value. There are seven different food stations.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty clean. The floor-mates are usually considerate and friendly. The Residential Assistants are well-trained and great at doing their jobs. Students need to have something to enter the dorms so it is very safe.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not that difficult to a point that you are overwhelmed by it. However, you still need to analyze the texts carefully and understand properly as well as have genuine ideas to write good papers. Most of the classes provoke many ideas, the textbooks are great and I've learned a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help from the teachers, they're always willing to help. Try to be involved in student activities but be careful not to overdo it. Definitely study abroad, the college encourages it and the experience is definitely worth it.

    In three sentences

    Most of the teachers are very friendly, open-minded and supportive. It has a strong arts and communications department. It is in a small town and is great for people who want to feel at home.

  • 12/30/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Just get involved in things that you enjoy and don't be affraid to get to know the staff as well as other students.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone is so friendly at Concordia. As a freshmen this year I felt very welcomed into the college and just felt right at home the moment I got their. There is so many different activities for all the students on campus as well. It's hard not to enjoy being at Concordia.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers at Concordia are kind and helpful. Each teacher is there for their students and wants them to succeed. They are always there for their students and some of them even give students there personal numbers if they need help with something. They want the students to succeed more then in just their classroom. Learning is easier with teachers that are willing to give their time to teach you.

  • 07/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think Concordia is great for anyone. No matter who you are or what your interests are, there is always something here to make you feel like part of the Concordia College- Moorhead family.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! If I wouldn't have gotten as involved as I had, I would not have met my roommates for next year, become a huge part of EACH or had as much fun. There are activities for anyone.

    Bang for the buck

    It's crazy expensive, but I really enjoy it. I love that the class sizes are small and the teachers here actually know your name and things about you.

    Am enjoying being here

    I met some amazing people on campus this past year, just being in the dorms and in other extracurricular things. I became a member of a club called the Exotic Animal Care and Husbandry Club or EACH. I enjoyed it so much, that they offered me President position for this upcoming year. I am also in the Athletic Band which is a blas. There is always something to do and new people to meet here.

    Am learning a lot

    Others have mentioned the Inquiry seminar you have to take your first year here, and no it doesn't really have much to do with your major but mine was interesting, because it was something I really knew nothing about and it was nice to expand my horizons into different fields. I am a Biology/Pre-Veterinary major and in just one year I learned so much in my biology classes alone its unbelievable.

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend this school for students that are musically or spiritually inclined. Theater is also a good here. Fargo-Moorhead is a fairly large city with a hometown feel, it's the best of both worlds. Come and tour Concordia! Most students feel like they are at home when they tour this school, whether they come a large or small city.

    Bang for the buck

    Concordia does have a high tuition, but compared to other private colleges is on the more affordable end. The quality of learning here is represented definitely by the tuition. Many large scholarships are offered through Concordia, and have proven to be helpful to many. The scholarships make this college affordable/

    Am enjoying being here

    Concordia's campus is beautiful and it feels like home (I am from a small town.) There are always planned, free events on campus that are also thought provoking, college students should be engaged in the world. Concordia is great about including that into our daily lives.

    Am learning a lot

    Right now I am taking classes towards my CORE requirements. The coursework is challenging and insightful. I feel I am well on my way to becoming a well-rounded Cobber. Teachers here are very thoughtful and truly look in the best interests for the students.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Belltower! The tradition is that you cannot walk under it unless you are walking under with the person you are marrying or married too. If you walk under alone, you will be cursed forever in your dating life.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the movies, sit and relax on campus, hang in the dorms.

    Food and Dining

    DS, is always the place to be. That is what everyone calls Dining services, there is fantastic food available.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are amazing!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you like the cold, and one on one teacher student ratio :)

    In three sentences

    Concordia College is a great place to be, with fun tradtions and rituals. Concordia offers great class sizes, one of mine was actually two students. Concordia College offers several extra curricular activites.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    clubs and sports while different hang out areas around and on campus.

    Food and Dining

    lots of options and good area for food services and hang with people and study.

    Dorm Life

    nice dorms to share with one other person or maybe two.

    Academic Rigor

    good academics and location to learn with smaller classes to help with academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    tour the college and then make your decision on where to attend. concordia has a beautiful campus and dorms.

    In three sentences

    i rate concordia highly and think that it is a great learning location and highly good in academics. this college is a pretty campus and well known religion based school.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Concordia college is a very safe campus. There is plenty of security that is very helpful and nice whenever you need them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are hundreds of different clubs on campus. Each year there are tables set up around campus with people telling new students all about their clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for music majors and business majors. There is a brand new building for the business center which will allow for expansion in this department.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a patio that is shaped in a circle. If you stand in the middle and talk, then you will be able to hear an echo all around you.

    Bang for the buck

    Though Concordia is a Lutheran based college, it is open to all beliefs.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of activities that occur on campus each week. Concordia brings in all sorts of people to entertain the students. There are also many different religious services that you can attend.

    Food and Dining

    Concordia has a great dining service. Their meal plans are at an affordable price, and are not an extreme amount of money. There are many different options to eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rules are a bit laid back compared to other schools. It can be tough to live in a small space with another person, but as long as you set up your ground rules at the beginning of the year, you will be fine. The residential assistants on each floor are very helpful if you need them.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some professors that get caught up with their own pride and teaching techniques, that they do not change their style of teaching if it is needed. There are a lot of great professors that will take time out of their day to talk with you about your academics. You can get a great education at Concordia college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have an idea of what you want to go into before you go through orientation. The admissions counselors are amazing at what they do. Make sure you like the location of Fargo/Moorhead.

    In three sentences

    A good college if you are looking to go into choral music. It is easy to find time to talk to your professors. There is an absence of a Christ like community.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During Orientation week, all freshman are required to wear their beanie and it is just a fun tradition that has been around for ages!

    What to do for fun

    The FM area is filled with fun things to do and Concordia's entertainment committee tries their best to put something on every week so there is never a dull moment!

    Food and Dining

    Concordia's dining center is basically UNREAL. The food is amazing and everyone that works there is so friendly. My friends that come to visit are always so jealous of how great our food is. The wide variety makes it easy for any type of eater to enjoy a meal.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms on campus are not as bad as one might expect, they are clean and super homey. However, there are not many things to keep students entertained.

    Academic Rigor

    Concordia does a great job of forcing you into study habits and really making you think. They also do a great job with critical thinking and help students to think about how they can become responsibly engaged in the world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to do everything you can to get as many scholarships as possible. You should also try to have a general idea of what you are going into so you can start courses directed towards your major immediately after fulfilling the core requirements.

    In three sentences

    Concordia is a great school for students looking to make close connections with both their professors and peers. It is great to see that almost everyone that attends Concordia is involved in some sort of activity on campus-music seems to be a favorite. Concordia is a great school that offers a fabulous education along with lifelong connections.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is really safe. There are campus safety guards who go around at night and if you want someone to walk with you back to your dorm or something just call the desk and they'll send someone to escort you. It's honestly super convenient. There are also desk workers working from 6 pm to 6 am every night in all of the dorm halls. It ensures a safe environment.

    Greek Life

    There isn't much of a greek life on campus unfortunately, but there's always plenty of other things to get involved in!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs and activities to join on campus! There are intermural sports, language clubs, and even clubs and organizations that go out into the community and do service. No matter who you are or what you're into, you'll find a club that fits you at Concordia.

    Great for these types of students

    Concordia is great for students who want a small campus atmosphere. The class sizes are perfect and the commutation between teachers and students is incredible. Students who want to learn and be involved but not be around a state university type campus will definitely fit in at Concordia. Students who also are interested in music or languages are great students for Concordia. They have five choirs, multiple bands and orchestras as well. The language department is also spectacular.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    After the ceremonies after orientation, all the freshmen go onto Olin hill and throw their beanie. It is one of the best feelings in the world and honestly I wish I could do it again. I still have my beanie and I cherish it.

    What to do for fun

    Being in a location with three colleges there's always a lot to do. If you can't find something on Concordia's campus, check out MSUM or NDSU for some entertainment. As the schools are pretty close it is easy to get from one to the other and there's usually something going on. There is also a mall in Fargo as well as many things to do around the school. The student government usually does a lot of activities on Thursday's, Friday's and Saturday's so that is always something to look forward to!

    Food and Dining

    The food in the dining hall is amazing. I love going there to eat because there are always so many options. On campus there are three places you can go to eat. The Maize (which always has burgers and fries and such. The KornKrib which has snack foods and is sort of like the colleges gas station and then there is dining services (DS for short) this is the motherload of all dining halls. It has stations for every different type of food. There's comfort where they do home cooked meals, sizzle which is the fried foods, energy which is the fruit and cereals and toasts (more breakfast foods). There is also fillings which is basically like subway and so much more!!!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is always fun. When you get to the school the RA helps you out and checks in with everyone. The first night there is a floor meeting where you get to meet everyone on your floor and talk about some rules. Usually within the first week or two there is a floor event which could range from cooking as a floor to doing a movie night or just something together. The dorms are pretty nice for size and comfort. The beds are the most comfortable college beds I've slept in, although I would still bring a foam mattress topper. Overall the residence staff is always helpful and there to make sure you're doing alright.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers at Concordia are there for a reason. They're amazing people and they're good at what they do. The teachers are always there to support and help students if they need it. The rigor of the college is set high. Being a liberal arts institution it is expected that a student must work for their grades and Concordia does a great job of making that happen.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students would be to get to meals early so you can find a table for you and your friends when you get some. Friends come quickly to those who go out and do things. There are tons of opportunities to meet new people such as floor events, hall events and even just roaming around the campus. When looking at Concordia it is best to go visit. The campus is actually a very big part of the college experience. Being in a tri-college area, Concordia has a lot to offer on that.

    In three sentences

    Concordia is a great college. At first I wasn't super thrilled when I got there because I wasn't making tons of friends and I was just having a hard time adjusting away from being home. Now though I feel as though it is my home away from home and I have amazing friends and teachers who are there to support me.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities going on, plus its located in the Fargo-Moorhead area with lots to do.

    Food and Dining

    Good and large food selection.

    Dorm Life

    Two years in the dorms can be a killer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know as many staff members as you can and be not afraid to ask them for help.

    In three sentences

    Concordia is very good at getting to know their students. From teaching to advising the professors and staff at Concordia go out of their way to make sure that you area getting what you need and want to get done. With all the activities, small classes, and fun group of people you cannot go wrong with this college.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe! There are several phone placed throughout the campus and campus security is always available to escort you from one place to another. Also, emails go out of any disturbances or criminals that may be in the area.

    Greek Life

    Only one sorority on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anything you can think of! And if there isn't already a club, you can make one no problem!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to learn and have a good education under their belt

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The freshman wear beannies on their heads during thier orientation. There is a bonfire during homecoming and also winter sporting events.

    Bang for the buck

    Concordia has made my college experience to be an experience of a lifetime!! I wouldn't change my college decision for the world!

    What to do for fun

    Concordia is placed in a prime location with so much to do! You can go to the zoo, downtown night life, shopping, water activites, bowling, parks and much more. If you wanted to stay on campus there is always a sporting event going on and other fun events such at plays or bands.

    Food and Dining

    Dining services is a wonderful place to eat. And the Maize is always a favorite hot spot for students.

    Dorm Life

    EXCELLENT! Find a dorm that suits your social and study preferences! There are many to choose from that are all wonderful in their own special way.

    Academic Rigor

    Concorida isn't known for being an easy school but it is definitely worth all of the hard work in the end. There are multiple resources for students who need help. Just ask. The classes are meant for learning not for getting A's, which I think to be a good thing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak to the professors and get organized. Make sure you are taking the right classes and that you set things up with your academic advisor. Make new friends and learn the best ways that you can learn.

    In three sentences

    Concordia college is definitely one of a kind! This school helps students find what they're good at and then reach their academic and personal goals with the help of fabulous professors and staff. I give Concordia College, Moorhead a 5 star rating for giving me the chance and helping me to make my future great!

  • 10/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. Everyone is committed to fun and safety. No peer pressure to do anything stupid or unsafe or illegal

    Clubs and Activities

    Cheer team is great!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bell tower.

    Bang for the buck

    This is the best place for me! I love it here and never want to leave. I am busy, but having a blast!

    What to do for fun

    Everything is fun! Comedy shows are awesome

    Food and Dining

    Many choices and options

    Dorm Life

    Safe and fun!

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit this school and spend the night with us! We have the best school spirit and welcome ness!

    In three sentences

    I am a cobber! I love my new life here and am now a Cobber football cheerleader and am working on getting a basketball cheer team going for this winter. I made the right choice!!

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Fargo/Moorhead area is a safe area and I have never felt in danger walking around even at night. If you do, we do have campus security who will come and escort you where you need to go.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our famous unusual tradition are the beanies that freshmen have to wear during orientation week. As much as you might not like them as a freshmen, they're a treasure and I have yet to meet a Cobber that doesn't have their beanie tucked away for a keepsake.

    Bang for the buck

    It's an expensive school. I'm sure if you look at the final tuition cost you will gulp... However, thanks to alumni and donations the financial aid here is amazing and usually if you compare it to state schools in the end, it is either less then or equal to their final cost.

    What to do for fun

    Once you're up here you might think there's not much to do... it is kind of in the middle of nowhere. However, just across the river is Fargo. In Fargo there are a ton of cute shops and there's the normal city things you can do. Also, there are some parks you can go to around Moorhead.

    Food and Dining

    DS is amazing! I love the food at Concordia and they always change it up.

    Dorm Life

    Concordia requires you to stay on campus for your first two years. The dorms are pretty average college dorms. The campus is small so from almost every dorm you can get to class in 5 minutes or less.

    Academic Rigor

    Concordia has good academics. Professors expect you to be able to keep up with reading and work. However, you'll find this at every college. The nice thing about going to a small school like Concordia is that the professors are always willing to help you and I have yet to have a professor that doesn't know who I am by the end of the semester. You won't get that at a big state school.

    In three sentences

    Concordia is a very strong community. Cobbers stick together and we are proud of our second most unique mascot in the United States (Kernel Cobb). It's a small private college, so if you're looking for small classes and a small campus this is the place for you!

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I think Mall of America is near by.

    Food and Dining

    I dont live near the campus so I have no idea how the food is.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home so I dont know

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are doing the online program, be ready to do everything on your own. You are going to really have to get time management down and make sure you remember to do your work.

    In three sentences

    So far I am loving this school. My classes are all online so I am able to do them all the way from California. The best part is it is affordable.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have public safety 24/7 and if you need a guard to walk you back to your dorm, that is also available.

    Clubs and Activities

    Concordia offers more than 100 clubs that students can be part of. in addition, there are a range of activities (e.g movie night, comedy night, trivia night, etc) every weekend that students can participate in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Freshmen have to follow the traidition of wearing a yellow beanie for the first week of school, and at the end of the week all the freshmen gather by Olin Hill and throw their beanies up in the air.

    What to do for fun

    If there is not a campus event going on most people usually go to Marcus Safari and watch a movie for 2 dollars. If you are not up for a movie you can also go Swing Dancing every Friday night or just chill and eat in the Maize with your friends.

    Food and Dining

    Our dining service is a very prestigious, very clean, friendly, and with top quality food kind of place. Not only it has great food, but the staff is very friendly. If that was not enough to hear, I think one of the things that makes our Dining place one of the best is its theme meals. Personally the Harry Potter, Thanksgiving, and Christmas theme meals are absolutely the BEST meals to be part off. In addition, dining services provide a lot of job opportunities for the students; and, lastly, the dining area is a great place to come, sit down and catch up with your fellow friends.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is where you build your independence and become part of the Concordia community. Each dorm has an Residence Assistance that helps you feel welcome and encourage the residents to meet other residents. They also can help with any situation you might have regarding your dorm/ roommate, major options, and life at Concordia.

    Academic Rigor

    Concordia's mission is to equip students with good critical and analytic skills, good problem solving skills, and equip them with necessary skills to help he/she become responsibly engage in the world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to join clubs and participate from campus events. Through clubs and events is where you are going to get to know a lot of students, make friends, and feel welcome into the great cobber community. Regarding academics, make sure to save up some time to study and get well prepared for your classes. Also, feel free to talk to the professors about any doubts or other inquiries you might have about the class and/or the material. If you can't catch them during the time of lecture, feel free to stop by their office hours. They sure love to help students in anything. They are really nice and resourceful.

    In three sentences

    Concordia is one of the most welcoming, student focus learning, and friendliest college in America.

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types,

    What to do for fun

    Like any collage town. There's movies, games, shopping, eating out , concerts , est.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. If you are new you have to be careful or you will put the weight on.

    Dorm Life

    It is what you make of it.

    Academic Rigor

    There is home work but there is no matter where you go. There are people that will help you if you ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to the professor's in advance to make sure of what you want. They have times throughout the year to come and visit and get to know your teachers.

    In three sentences

    It is a small class school. So you get more one on one with the Professor's. Everyone tries to help everyone.

  • 02/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    One sorority, not officially Greek but participate in Greek Life. LDS

    Clubs and Activities

    QUIDDICH LEAGUE!!!!

    Great for these types of students

    LGBTQ community, Religion diversity

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During orientation week all freshman must wear a beanie. You hate it at the time but it is a bonding experience that you will love to look back on. Several people including myself display their beanies in their rooms to this day. But don't let the MSUM Dragons steal yours! We also have our bell tower. If you walk under it alone you will be alone forever. If you walk under it with someone you will be with them forever. It is another romantic steps for several couples on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Campus always has something fun going on whether it be Grocery Bingo or a Comedian. And there is always hanging out with friends in the Maize.

    Tips for prospective students

    Hang on to your beanie! Be flexible with your major. I changed mine at least 15 times. Not kidding, I got an e-mail asking if I meant to do that.

    In three sentences

    Concordia is a great place to go to school and learn about different views of current topics. Everyone I have met is accepting even if their morals and values clash. We have fun, but still learn a lot.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I think there is one sorority.

    Great for these types of students

    Liberal minded. Artsy. Brilliant. Creative. Passionate.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Walk under the bell tower. I dare you.

    What to do for fun

    Fargo, ND is only a few minutes away and the Fargo/Moorhead area has really expanded in recent years. Lots of shops and restaurants to visit. With many colleges in the area, it is easy to find things geared towards college students.

    Food and Dining

    Great buffet style dining services. Don't buy the highest meal plan because you won't use all the meals.

    Dorm Life

    I will be an RA this upcoming school year, so I must say the staff are pretty fantastic. :)

    Academic Rigor

    Get to know your professors and stay on their good side. They are people too, they just happen to control how late you will be up doing homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign-up for the soonest orientation day possible because that is when you will sign-up for classes and it is first come first serve.

    In three sentences

    Peacefully small campus. Engaged student body. Liberal minded.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Campus Entertainment Committee does a great job of bringing musicians, magicians, and comedians onto campus regularly. CEC also organizes dances about once every month or two. There are also many off campus options available. For those 21+, downtown on the weekends is fun. There are also theaters, golf courses, bowling alleys, boutiques, the mall, and running/bike trails relatively close to campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are tons of options for each meal and there are nutrition facts provided about each option for those students that seek that information. There are also holiday and theme dinners throughout the year.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are loud and crowded but that's just dorm life. The rooms are decently sized and there are a lot of options in housing for all students looking for on-campus opportunities. Between all of the options, all students should enjoy their dorm experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging for all majors. The professors expect the assignments to have been read and request lively participation.

    Tips for prospective students

    The classes are rigorous so make sure that you study regularly. Make sure that you can manage your time. Don't be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    Concordia is a great place for small town kids looking for a close-knit on-campus community. The professors go out of their way to make sure that their students understand the material and can meet outside the classroom as well. At Concordia, a student is known by their name and not a number.

  • 03/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There has never been a time when I have felt unsafe on campus. Even at night, I have never felt threatened walking across campus. And if I ever did need to feel more comfortable, I know I could call public safety and I would be able to get an escort or ride to where I was going.

    Greek Life

    If you are looking for Greek life, you will be disappointed. We have one philanthropic sorority on campus, but that is it. They do most of their events with the Greek life at North Dakota State University.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The bell tower: It is rumored that if you walk under it with someone else, you two will be together forever, but if you walk under it alone, you will be forever alone. The Cobber ring: Available for purchase once you reach junior status, the Cobber ring is an icon that will be recognized all over the nation, second only to the Super Bowl ring. The Concordia Christmas Concert: It is highly suggested that you attend at least one during your time at Concordia. All five choir work together to create a simply beautiful holiday experience.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events going on on campus, especially on the weekends. From sporting events to dances, it's pretty difficult to get bored on campus. The Campus Entertainment Commission is constantly putting on events. It's a rare occasion if there isn't something going on Thursday, Friday, or Saturday night. There's grocery bingo, comedians, dances, student performances, etc. and that is only the beginning. The theater department puts on about five or six big productions a year with several smaller student-run shows in-between. Cobber football games are big in the fall, and then there are the choir and band performances. With five choirs, two orchestras, and two bands, there is almost always an opportunity to see a music performance. As mentioned before, Residence Life also puts on several events a year. With all of this going on, there is never a dull weekend.

    Food and Dining

    Our Dining Services is usually pretty stellar. The main dining hall is a buffet style so it's pretty easy to find something you want. The stations are always changing what they have to offer, so there's generally a lot of variety. After a while, however, some of the options can get redundant and it's a little more difficult to find something you like. There are a couple other smaller dining locations on campus that provide more options for food.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a part of the Residence Life staff on campus so I might be slightly biased, but I absolutely love living in the residence halls. Some of my best friends are the ones I made on my floor freshman year. Residence Life really encourages developing a positive floor community and there are events and programs going on every week, so it's hard to get bored. Living in the dorms really helps create that community and home-y sense on campus, and what could be better than living with all your friends?

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the classes you take, I feel that professors and the college in general want to make sure that students are challenged academically. Some classes are easier than others, but that is dependent on a number of things such as subject matter, professor, and class level. Professors are always willing to work with you if you are struggling.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's really easy to get involved in the things you love. If you don't want to be known as just a number by professors, this is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    I love the atmosphere here. Everyone is so friendly and I feel like I'm at home when I'm on campus. It's the whole experience that I love, not just the classes.