Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Concordia University-Chicago Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There are all sorts of students on campus and anyone can find their place. Anyone can find friends with similar interests no matter how bizarre, and the best is that we all know and accept that people are different.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students if you are not sure what you are looking for but know that you want to find people that care for you and will help you make college an easy transition this is it. Friends are made with a quick flip of the wrist playing Frisbee. Its amazing how friendships are made and how amazing they become. These are definitely friends for life, and don’t be afraid going to school where you don’t know anyone, after a few days it will seem like you have known your new friends forever.

    Bang for the buck

    Considering this is a private school there is a lot of bang for the buck. A lot of stuff is covered by the school and made reasonable for the students. A lot of activities are brought to campus and as a member of the Campus Activities Board we try to bring the best entertainment for our students. I have hardly been here for a full school year yet, but I know that I have so much more to look forward to than what I have already experienced and it has already been amazing.

    Am enjoying being here

    I knew choosing this school was right. I had only interacted with a few people for various visiting days, but now that I am a resident I am truly experiencing college. My friends and professors are amazing. Everyone is so friendly that I can say hello to a complete stranger and they will reply the same and even hold the door open for me. This college has such a perfect community I never saw such good things happening after high school. Everyone has left the high school drama behind and commenced a new higher knowledgeable life at the school. Everyone is willing to help one another including the professors to make sure that each student is learning to their highest ability with the writing center and personal tutors and questions answered directly from the professor. I don’t think I could ever ask for a better college to spend so much time at.

    Am learning a lot

    This college had provided me with the opportunity to take classes that no matter what the subject I learn a lot. My general courses and my specified classes are all very informational for life itself. The professors know how to relate life to the classes and then also to our Christian beliefs. I feel that I am learning things that will provide me with a good base foundation for life no matter where I might end up. I am not sure how much I really can say other than I am learning a lot at this school and can’t wait to learn more!

  • 07/23/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Concordia is a great school for students looking for a personal, smaller college environment. The classes are small and the professors know you by name. It is also a great distance from downtown Chicago, which is fun to go to on the weekends! It is also in a fantastic residential area.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are not sure if you would like to visit, take a campus visit and talk to current students and professors. Everyone loves to talk!

    Did enjoy being here

    I absolutely loved going to school here! It was absolutely what I wanted. The friends I made made a huge impact on my life. Everyone is extremely personable.

    Did learn a lot

    I learned more about the people I was around and their stories, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. There is a great amount of diversity on campus, and it is fantastic to be around and be involved in.

  • 08/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are a shy, easy going person then you would fit in great! It is a quiet campus and everyone is friendly. Concordia is also a Lutheran school so it is a nice environment to be in compared to other universities or colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for future students would be to get involved!! There is always so much to do so jump in and have fun! Also make sure to manage your time well. Writing papers until all hours of the night is no fun! So say goodbye to your friends and get to work.

    Bang for the buck

    I was surprised at how much tuition and all the fees include. For example, all campus activities are free to students and they offer a lot of great programs to help students achieve greatness. The price may surprise you but in the end it is worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really like that fact that everyone is so friendly here. The campus is small so we are all like one big happy family. The school always has great activities planned for students and there is never a dull moment.

    Am learning a lot

    Concordia is a great school! The teachers genuinely care if you do well or not and if you are willing to work hard, they will help you succeed. They also offer tutoring, they have different labs you can go to to get homework help and the teachers are willing to meet with you personally to help you with any problems you may have.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who like small, close knit communities. Those who are interested in a Christian and loving environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure the program you want is not new, but has been in good standing for a few years.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school does a fine job keeping the campus safe. For the two years that I have gone to school here, the university has had no major criminal incident that I could remember.

    Greek Life

    I know nothing about Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a Black Student Union, a Latino Student Union, numerous small groups that are church-related, numerous choirs and music bands, intramural sports, collegiate sports, a History Club, a Law and Justice club, and other such organizations in school. One can easily get involved in campus life.

    Great for these types of students

    The school has a good education department, so students who want to become teachers would be a good fit for the school. The university also has a good journalism school, a good English school, a good History school, a good Spanish school, a good Pre-Seminary program (for those who want to become pastors/ministers), and other programs; such students would fit well in Concordia. Lastly, the school also has great music and art departments, so musicians and artists would be a good fit for the school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The middle of the campus is referred to as the Triangle, as the sidewalks on the campus form a triangle at this point. The school annually hosts a Relay for Life, which raises awareness and money for cancer research. Lastly, many students play ultimate Frisbee.

    Bang for the buck

    While the University is expensive, it is worth the cost. There are many employment opportunities on campus, which students can use to get valuable work experience. Also, students get a solid education within the walls of the school, regardless of major.

    What to do for fun

    Many students play ultimate Frisbee. Many also play touch football and baseball in order to have fun. Others watch YouTube videos, others go on face book or twitter in order to spend time. Many also play video games in the dorms for fun.

    Food and Dining

    There are healthy options to eat at the cafeteria. There is a salad bar, a sandwich bar, a pizza bar, and an international bar. There is also an American burger bar. The cafeteria has many food and drink options; one can get power aid, orange juice, coffee, and other drinks there. There are many choices in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There is adequate living space for two or three person dorms. One can move TVs, mini refrigerators, microwaves, and other such luxuries into the rooms. One can easily make friends in the dorms as well.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors assign demanding but not impossible homework. The professors use text books and lectures well when teaching the students. The professors are easily accessible as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework well in advance. Get your papers reviewed by peers and professors. Get a good amount of sleep, and maintain a healthy diet and exercise routine. Make friends and have some fun in college. If you are unsure what you want to study, talk to a professor or a career counselor for help.

    In three sentences

    This school has many academic and athletic opportunities for students. The school also has a strong Christian tradition, and it accepts students from all races, income levels, backgrounds, etc. The school also has good professors; small class sizes also help in one's education.

  • 02/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    chicago

    Food and Dining

    meh, it's sodexho...

    Dorm Life

    awesomeeeeeee

    Academic Rigor

    it can be tough but you neec to give it your all.

    Tips for prospective students

    it's worth it. the location is stellar and you'll love it.

    In three sentences

    concordia is wonderful. it is a great atmosphere. the people are amazing.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play frisbee in the quad, play obscure board games with other friends, play pool, hang out and talk, play red ball, go to cab sponsored events, or go into the city

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright but there is always charlie ts later on where you can get exactly what you want. Or if you are not in the mood for something from the cafeteria, order in food or walk to someplace and get it.

    Dorm Life

    I consider it great.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are important here but that is the whole point of college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a transit card and put money on it so on the weekend you can go into the city or if its cold and you do not feel like walking all the way to the store you can catch a ride. Go to chapel, its everyday at 11am. Go to prayer and praise on sunday nights. It is time to worship God and during the prayer time you can get to know people you didn't know before. Play frisbee in the triangle others will join you and you will make new friends. Also make sure to study. Use the library or perhaps sit in the art gallery and study.

    In three sentences

    Concordia is an awesome place to be. Most everyone you meet on campus is very focused on their relationship with God. Everyone that I have met have been extremely welcoming to new people on campus.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright. It is definitely not one of the big highlights of the campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is alright. I wish there was an air conditioning though.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is definitely strong.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be cheerful, be positive, talk to the pastor on campus, make friends, and ignore those who do not mean any good to you. Most of all though, get involved.

    In three sentences

    Concordia Chicago is a great college with many people who want to get to know you. Despite it's flaws, such as people forming their own clicks, there is a lot of community. The classes are efficient as well.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's always a campus activity if you're looking for something to do. And not just for one specific type of person either; anyone and everyone can get involved and have some fun.

    Food and Dining

    The quality of the food is usually good, but it's very expensive.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, I don't live on campus. But I have heard both good and bad things.

    Academic Rigor

    It's difficult at times, but when you accomplish something great, there aren't many feelings that are greater.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work for your degree, but know that your educators will gladly assist you if you need them.

    In three sentences

    Concordia University Chicago is a great university. The professors and advisers care about a student's progress. And if one wishes to participate in athletics, the programs offered are top notch.

  • 11/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are planning on being a Lutheran teacher then this school is ideal for you. But, this school does not help me with my exercise science ambitions.

    Bang for the buck

    Too pricey.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are hardly any enjoyable school events. After football season I fall off into my studies and rarely have any reason to interact with the school.

    Am learning a lot

    The small class size allows for a more personal learning experience.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 11 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none.

    Great for these types of students

    Christian students may like it more than atheists or other religious afflictions.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a chapel that you can attend if you like. Also on Mondays classes don't start until 11:30.

    Bang for the buck

    overall it's a nice school, it's what you make of it.

    What to do for fun

    It is close to a green line station therefore you can use it to go downtown.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to come here if looking for a laid back type of school. CUC is not a party school what-so-ever.

    In three sentences

    Cuc is a nice school, i feel very welcomed there. Great teachers and is also culturally diverse.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For being so close to Chicago, Concordia is a very safe campus. We have 24 hour security on campus as well as the local authorities that are only minutes away. It's always a good idea to go off campus with a friend or two, but you're always 100% safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    We do not have a Greek life at Concordia.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a plethora of activities to do on campus that the Residential Life puts on every other week, or so. If you are not living on campus, there are still plenty of activities geared towards commuters as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student who wants to be more than just a student ID number, desires a small campus feel, or has a Christian background will fit in well at Concordia.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a lot of rumors about underground tunnels that wind around campus, but there are few people who know how to get down to the tunnels.

    Bang for the buck

    Concordia is a little pricey, but the quality of the education you get there is definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Since Concordia is right outside Chicago, there is always plenty to do for fun. Downtown Chicago is a short train ride away, and if the big city is not for you, downtown River Forest/Oak Park has plenty of little shops and places to hang out. Not only that, but Concordia does a great job of creating events to bring students together. They put on movie nights, have intramural activities, and all home sport events are free for students.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Concordia Chicago is decent. It's nothing like your parents' cooking, but it's alright for a college. There is a lot to choose from and the dining staff do their best to accommodate all food allergies and restrictions. The two main dining areas are always clean and ready for the next group of students to come in.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty good for being a college campus. There is always enough room for two people to live comfortably and there's always floor events going on every month.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are fantastic. They may seem harsh, but it is only because they have hold the highest standards for their students and want the students to excel.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is great for any student who is looking to go into education or wants to try out the field of music or art.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school overall. It is like a little oasis in the middle of a rough area outside Chicago. Concordia Chicago is quiet, has high quality professors, and has a very close-knit atmosphere.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is composed of rent-a-cops and student workers.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life.

    What to do for fun

    Concordia lacks student activities (either underfunded or not enough students actually want to participate, usually both). Best thing to do for fun is take the train to Chicago. Also, there are a lot of shops and places to eat on Harlem and Lake street.

    Food and Dining

    I personally do not like Sodexo (the school's food provider) and everything it stands for. The meals are overpriced and typically not appetizing. There is only one dining hall (and three cafes around campus). Not that many vegetarian/vegan options (that are good anyways). But, they do serve amazing fire roasted corn chowder soup.

    Dorm Life

    I only lived in one drom (Gross Hall) and enjoyed it due to my clustermates. The hall is seperated into clusters (unlike typical dormitories). The rooms are smaller than some of the other dorms, but comfortable enough. Each cluster has their own lounge, tv, and microwave. My only complaint is to take out the bath tub, and install more showers. OH and because this is a Lutheran school, no members of the opposite sex are allowed during certain times of the day (unless you hide them in your room)

    Tips for prospective students

    If you really want to attend here, brace yourself. A majority of the students here are from small towns who have been sheltered their whole lives. Since the school is so small, everyone will know everyone (so if you didn't like high school, you probably won't like it here). Take advantage of the library (using I-share) to save money on your textbooks.

    In three sentences

    Concordia University Chicago is technically not in Chicago, but rather located in the outskirts of the city, in a rich suburban area. While Concordia offers many great opportunities for students, the school is limited in resources (size of library, dorms, academic advisers, professors who can actually teach) just to name a few.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If anyone has any problem with security they can contact the 24 hour office.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek system at Concordia

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities of several varieties at Concordia. I am currently part of 'Living Water' which is a praise group on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students who want a religious approach to there classes and enjoy a smaller closer campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It is an expensive school but it is perfect for me. I want to be a Lutheran elementary school teacher. It is a private school that used to be a teachers college and it is small and close-knit which is the kind of surrounding in which I can thrive.

    What to do for fun

    When I want to do something fun I can easily get on the green line and go into Chicago. Also there are plenty of sports, intramurals, and clubs to take part in. One of the favorites on campus is ultimate frisbee.

    Food and Dining

    With all the different places to get food on campus it is very convenient. Also the cafeteria is 'all you can eat' but the food in the cafeteria is 90% of the time is fried food, pizza, or burgers and after 7:00 the menu is 95% fried food. The best time to eat is from 5:00-7:00 and at the classic cuisine section of the cafeteria, which has healthier food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are kept clean and the RA's make an effort to get all of the residents involved in group activities to make dorm life fun and entertaining. However, the student lounge downstairs will often get filthy because of residents who will not clean up after themselves.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but the teachers are always willing to help support and tutor you if you need extra help.

    Tips for prospective students

    You do not need a car on campus with the CTA buses and green line train; the gas and parking is expensive and when driving into Chicago it is a big pain to find parking. You may want a bike though for running errands or just for a nice workout.

    In three sentences

    Concordia University is a small school allowing for a close-knit community. The staff is all very helpful with any questions, whether it's academic, extracurricular, financial, or other. The staff at Concordia works hard to get everyone involved in the campus and the community.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    workout

    Dorm Life

    its ok, but seen better

    Academic Rigor

    Biology

    Tips for prospective students

    it's a wonderful school to attend. Large campus perfect for any student from all over.

    In three sentences

    great

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus couldn't be safer. Our campus has their own police patrolling the campus 24/7, and also we have the police and fire people staff from the city of River Forrest on call as needed. The Safety staff on both ends take their job very seriously and River Forrest in my opinion is one of the safest if not the safest towns I've been apart of.

    Greek Life

    There is not much Greek Life on campus unless your an education or psychology major. However, bering a small campus we don't have a lot of the of the facilities a State school would have. However, I feel that people attend Concordia because of what the school has to offer, not what it doesn't. Me personally I don't need Greek life as apart of my college experience.

    Clubs and Activities

    American Guild of Organists Artists of Concordia Theatre Black Student Union (BSU) Biology Club Book and Hook (book and knitting club) Business Club C3 (Concordia Cougars Conserve) Campus Activities Board (CAB) Concordia Republicans CUCares (Service group) Fellowship of Christian Athletes Habitat for Humanity -CUC chapter Image (Art Club) Intramural Sports Kapelle Choir Kappa Delta Pi ( Education Honorary) Latino Student Union (LSU) Music Educators National Conference Natural Sciences Club Pillars, the school yearbook Ping Pong Club Psi Chi (Psychology Honorary) Relay For Life The Spectator, the school newspaper Student-led Campus Ministries Various academic groups VOICE, CUC student government Wind Symphony Young Democrats of Concordia Young Life WCGR (CUC radio station) WCGR (CUC TV station) Take you pick; Concordia offers clubs and activites for basically everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Concordia is great for students who want to live on a small campus, where everything is in walking distance. This is also a Lutheran Christian school so for those who's faith involves following Jesus Christ you will fit in quite well here. However, this school does not discourages those who are not Christian because Concordia is open to all. This school is also primarily a Liberal Arts college, so for majors in this field its a great opportunity.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is of course CIT which is the big basketball tournament between some of the Concordia schools. is a full weekend long event in which one of the Concordia schools host the tournament and battle it out for best school. The cool part is buses are used to transport students to the other schools so you can cheer for your team. There is also the Triple Crown challenge which is an eating contest. It involves eating at 3 different restaurants (one being Gene and Jude's which is one of Chicago's best hot dog places) one after the other without anything to drink. The food is really greasy so no water makes it difficult, but a worth wild challenge to conquer.

    Bang for the buck

    Whats really cool about becoming a new student at Concordia is the Jump Start program all new students go through. Its basically your orientation process which is an all day event, but the best part is at the end of the day you go downtown to Chicago. A lot of students are from out of state so getting a chance to see Chicago is a awesome experience. Also just the location of the campus is not far from Chicago which provides the students opportunities that other students not from the Chicago land area.

    What to do for fun

    My best advice on this it all depends on what you are into for fun. There are a lot of different clubs and groups on campus that provide many different opportunities for fun. There are of course intramural sports, which allow students to play sports with out needing to be on a college team. there are church missionary groups which do volunteer work and gather for group prayer. The Psychology club is always doing fun surveys for students so they can better understand psychology, and we get free food out of it. There's always something fun to do on campus or off campus, its just a matter of waking up and walking outside to see whats going on.

    Food and Dining

    I eat on campus every day. Sodexo provides the food on campus and its amazing. The main eating cafe area provides a buffet for a reasonable price. Being involved in sports and working out a lot, I enjoy eating a lot of food, so by eating on campus I couldn't be happier.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, I commute from home by taking the bus. However, from what I hear dorm life is pretty fun. All the people in each dorm become friends and do special events in each building. From my understanding the only issue is some buildings don't have Air conditioning, which can be bad during the summer.

    Academic Rigor

    All my classes are picked towards my graduation which helps a lot because I know I am not taking classes that wont help me. Also, I enjoy the professionalism I receive from my professors as well as being able to hold conversations with them. Concordia is a small campus which allows for students and professors to get to know each other and establish relationships as well as converse in academic activities as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in any and all school activities as possible. There is always something going on at Concordia, which makes for an entertaining experience. Also, attempt to make friends not only with your fellow peers, but with your staff as well. Everyone is very friendly, nice, and helpful and by creating these connections with everyone here you will be able to form bonds that will last a life time.

    In three sentences

    Concordia University has provided me the opportunities that my community college in which I graduated from was not able to fulfill. Concordia's small campus, professional staff, and friendly environment has provided me the ideal learning experience possible. I couldn't have asked for a better college experience than the one I am currently getting at Concordia University Chicago.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe as long as one takes precautions; don't buy trouble-do stupid stuff. Walk around in a group, never alone late at night. Carry a rape-whistle or mace on you just in case...you can never be too safe. There are security and escort services...do not hesitate to use them!

    Greek Life

    Currently no sororities or fraternities exist on our campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various competitive sports teams for both men and women. There are several intramural sports to be a part of. And there are clubs galore! Ping-Pong club, History Club to name a few!

    Great for these types of students

    Concordia University-Chicago strives to promote diversity. Concordia is opening and accepting of all students of all ages and backgrounds. Being a Lutheran University we love everybody and accept everyone as our brothers and sisters in Christ!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Usually within the first few months of being back, Concordia welcomes back various graduating classes. These classes range from anywhere between the graduating class of 1960 to the mid 2000s. It is awesome to come together as one with these alumni, to hear their stories and spend time with them. There are hymn sings on the front steps of Addison Hall-the main building on campus where most classes are held and it is the oldest building on campus on Sunday nights.

    Bang for the buck

    Concordia may be expensive, but you get a lot for your money and the experience is worth every cent! Everything, the location, the classes, the people you meet, the clubs you can join and the teams you can be a part of makes Concordia the special school it is!

    What to do for fun

    The school's location couldn't be better! Take the Green Line Elevated Train from Oak Park (six blocks from campus) Downtown in less than 20 minutes. Once in Downtown Chicago students can be involved in the awesome Urban setting of Downtown Chicago; there are theaters, restaurants, shopping, festivals etc. On campus there are exercise facilities the students can use for no added cost. Students can engage in clubs and sports teams. There is something for everybody at Concordia!

    Food and Dining

    The food here, catered by a company called Sodexo, could definitely be worse! The food is not half bad and there is a wide selection of different foods to help students maintain a balanced diet while living on or off campus. Dining centers are conveniently located around campus to fulfill a students hunger at any minute of the day.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be quite pleasant if you get along well with your roommate. My roommate and I picked each other and we get along great! My advice is to select someone who has similar interests as you; talk to your roommate before hand and discuss what each is bringing, set up any rules you'd like to have etc.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but workable, meaning the Professors care and they wish to teach you something. However, if you are struggling they are there to help you; they want their students to find success and are ready to help you in whatever way they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, ask any questions to the admission counselors right away; they are willing and helpful to make your inquiry a worth while one. We hope to have you join us and pray you become actively involved in the many clubs, sports teams and organizations we offer!

    In three sentences

    Concordia University has a diverse student population, who is actively involved in the school community and who strive to do their best. Being a Lutheran University faith life is a stepping stone in the lives of students and Christian morale is stunning.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The River Forest police works with the campus safety department very closely. They are always there to help. You can register your computer, phones, cameras, etc. with them to help in case they are lost or stolen.

    Greek Life

    THERE IS NO GREEK LIFE ON THIS CAMPUS. If you want to join a sorority or fraternity, search online for groups that are for people outside of the traditional colleges.

    What to do for fun

    You are only a train ride from downtown Chicago. There so many museums, clubs, bars,etc. But you can do that in nearby Oak Park. Downtown Oak Park is very busy on Friday nights. You have Bar Louie and several other bars and restaurants on Lake Street. Further down Harlem Avenue, there is a street that has several bars and restaurants. The village is very pretty with the lights at night. In the daytime, you have the Hemingway Museum and other attractions. I recommend taking walks through Oak Park before coming here. Check out all of the beautiful homes and small shops.

    Food and Dining

    This is a true college dining experience. It is buffet style with a different cuisine every day. But it couldn't hurt to buy some food for your room. You don't have many healthy options there. If you are on a diet, the meals there will not help you. Get yourself some pots and pans and prepare to cook your own food if you want to maintain Weight Watchers or something like that. If not, you will enjoy yourself. BEN AND JERRY'S ICE CREAM stocked daily. There is now pints of sorbets that come in flavors like peach ginger, passion fruit, blood orange, and triple espresso.

    Dorm Life

    Become friends with your roommate. You have to live with them. Keep your room clean and organized. Invest in organization and space saving tools. You may not have a fridge, so get foods that don't need refrigeration. Get to know the campus so that you can time your walk to classes. The dorms for the most part, they don't have elevators, so have good gym shoes for the stairs. Definitely get sturdy laundry baskets or bags that can take some dragging on the staircases. You will have a resident assistant to help you with problems on your floor. Use them.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes will get difficult once you get out of the prerequisites and into your program requirements. Get to know your teachers and the teacher assistants. They have office hours available, use them. There are 2 libraries on campus, use them.

    Tips for prospective students

    1.Invest in bus passes 2.Get plenty of quarters if you live on campus 3.Don't overpack to live here--you won't use half of the stuff you bring 4.Open yourself to new experiences and different kinds of people 5.Be nice to your parents, care packages will be in your future. 6.Invest in a good laptop and/or printer for your room. 7.Jump into the school when you get here, your future may depend on it. 8.Get a job that you could love. 9.Learn your degree program so that you are not here longer than you need to be. 10.FIND THE BUSINESS SERVICES AND FINANCIAL AID DEPARTMENTS. 11.Talk to people who can give you insider tips about life at the school. I overspent on things because I didn't know about discounts offered to students in the area.

    In three sentences

    It is a great location for people who want the city atmosphere, but suburban spaces. The teachers are extra helpful and the students will be in a very diverse environment.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe. They even have a day care for children and they are always running around saying hello and brightening everyone's day.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's always something to do on this campus

    Great for these types of students

    students from small towns lutheran students

    Bang for the buck

    It is rather expensive, but almost everyone receives a scholarship to help them out.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many activities and clubs that could be joined. They have numerous things going on that can keep you preoccupied. Most activities are student led.

    Food and Dining

    Those who live in the dorms are all very close. The dorms themselves are relatively roomy, but should be repainted.

    Academic Rigor

    They aren't as difficult as other colleges, but they still offer a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is very small school. Everyone knows just about everyone. You have teachers for multiple classes and they are very liberal. This school also provides students with a lot of extracurricular and intercollegiate sports and activities.

    In three sentences

    CUC is a very small and friendly university. There are always people who are understanding and willing to help those in need. They focus largely on creating a close community that helps incoming students have that feeling of still being at home.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus. It is in a very safe neighborhood.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities that are aimed at students with common interests, heritage and views.

    What to do for fun

    From campus, downtown Oak Park is less than a mile away. You can find eateries, small shops, and theater. There is also a train station that takes you to downtown Chicago. It's a nice easy trip that is a lot of fun and not very costly.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good to begin with, and then having the same thing week in and week out becomes boring. When prospective students visit, the food gets better.

    Dorm Life

    My floor has become a family. We hang out on the floor and each others' rooms. Floor events are planned by RAs.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are interesting. The professors will help you as long as you show interest in the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! There are so many activities to be involved in. You're sure to find something that interests you. Everyone is friendly, and Concordia has a small community feel.

    In three sentences

    Concordia Chicago is a great institution for eduction, business, and law enforcement majors. It is a great place for you to find yourself as a person. Class sizes are no more than 20 students.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Visit the wonderful city of Chicago!

    Food and Dining

    I will be living at my apartment off campus. However, there are many places to eat nearby.

    Dorm Life

    I will be living at my apartment off campus. However, living in Chicago is a great opportunity.

    Academic Rigor

    I have yet to start classes, but hear from my peers that they have all felt confident upon graduation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to call or email!

    In three sentences

    Concordia has a very helpful staff and faculty while applying. My advisor let me know all requirements I needed and registered me for my classes. They offered many different locations and times for the working professional.

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is great. The campus security is always walking around campus to make sure everything is okay. Also, when ever something happens in the community, the security from the school emails everyone to let them know what happens around the community.

    What to do for fun

    There many activities on campus for students. Also there are many clubs students can get involved with during the year. The school also forms a lot of field trips for students.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, but they do serve the same food everyday. Well at least the times I have ate at the school it is the same food. There is a variety of foods to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    For academics, it is a bit difficult to keep your grades up because the classes are challenging. I did struggle my first semester at the school, but manage to bring my grades up. The classes I am taking now are difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Concordia is a small campus. I suggest that students who attend the school focus on their work and do not slack off because of the amount of freedom they have. If you are struggling make sure to talk to the professor before it is to late.

    In three sentences

    Concordia University- Chicago is a great school. I like the environment and the way professors find time to help students who are looking for help. It is a perfect school for my major.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    CUC offers 24/7 patrolling and desk security. The neighborhood of River Forest is a safe suburban area that has neighborhood watches and city police nearby.

    Greek Life

    There is currently no Greek life at CUC, but the university is slowly working on that aspect. There are places/universities who have Greek life nearby that CUC students can pledge with.

    Clubs and Activities

    CUC offers over 60 clubs and organizations and allows any student to easily create an organization.

    Great for these types of students

    CUC is a great place for any student who wants the big city without being in the chaos of the city.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Triangle is the hang out place for many students at CUC. Many students participate in movie nights on the lawn, and play sports like: football, soccer, volleyball, and Frisbee.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall CUC is a great place if you want that small university near a big city feel. Students get a lot of opportunities to network and establish relationships that benefit them in the future.

    What to do for fun

    Since CUC is so close to both Downtown Chicago and Oak Park, students have the opportunity of stating on campus for event or going down to Lake Street or even visiting Wrigley Field.

    Food and Dining

    CUC has three places that offer food and beverage service on campus. The dining hall is buffet style and has a wide variety of food, even gluten free foods.

    Dorm Life

    CUC offers various styles of living to accommodate students. They have cluster, traditional, suite style living and also on campus apartments for those who want the independent living feel of college.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically Concordia offers different levels of courses for the various programs, after prerequisites are taken the courses following become more difficult. They also have an Honors program for those who enjoy a challenge and are successful at it.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are so many opportunities here. Network and join different organizations, teams, and clubs because the student and professors met here and benefit you in the future.

    In three sentences

    CU Chicago overall is a pretty good private university. Students are offered a lot of opportunities to succeed because of its proximity to both Downtown Chicago and Oak Park. CUC is working on becoming more diverse as a university by incorporating different events and programs for the different students.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    its only ten minutes away fro downtown Chicago, if your a bears fan, what more could you want!

    Food and Dining

    I ate at the food court, and everything was fresh and delicious.

    Dorm Life

    Iv only done a tour, but very spacious rooms, and friendly people.

    Academic Rigor

    it pushes you to the limits with intense studies, but the staff treats you well and gets to know you. You will never have problems obtaining academic advisement.

    Tips for prospective students

    Concordia University Chicago has done nothing but help me, the faculty is fantastic in terms of offering advice and helping you get where you want to go. I would recommend anyone attend this school!

    In three sentences

    Exceptional campus. Friendly staff. Your not just a number.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    25 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have not tasted the food.

    Dorm Life

    I have not seen the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics from what I heard is hard but essential.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    EXTREMLY SAFE! theyre on top of things 24/7

    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Lutheran, theatre, wanting to work in education/psycology/seminary/churchwork

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We do a lot of Lutheran stuff....so not really unusual

    What to do for fun

    Have fun! Join a club! Also, the theatre isn't a bad place to hang if you can tolerate the theatre kids and you like theatre. CYM is extremly fun too. Also, gaming club is so much fun! Toss a frisbee around when its nice.

    Food and Dining

    If you can't have gluten you will be fine, if you are a vegetarian, just know that this place isn't overly friendly towards you.

    Dorm Life

    Depends on the floor you live on and the people you share the space with

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the teacher, some are laid back and others are very difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't fall behind, get ahead. Don't worry, you won't starve unless you use your entire meal plan in the first month. Have fun, this is your time.

    In three sentences

    Concordia is diverse, but many students are stubborn in their faith and beliefs (mostly any guy who is going into the seminary). Academics and teachers are fantastic. The food isn't great, but its getting better.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for Theology, Music, and Education majors.

    Food and Dining

    Food is all right. But if you stay on campus you eat the same stuff over and over again.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms themselves are fairly nice, but again boring on the weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you don't slack off the work isn't that bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have something to do on the weekends.

    In three sentences

    A great community surrounds the campus. The teachers connect very well with the students, and show that they want you to succeed. The campus itself is very quiet, and kind of boring on weekends.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They will do anything to ensure the safety on campus. They're a great group, most of them I'm friends with and they're so much fun and they're nice people who genuinely care when something happens.

    Greek Life

    It's a Lutheran campus, no Greek Life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    We even have a gaming club, a ping pong club, and a couple nationality clubs now. We have CAB (campus activities board) which I've been a part of for 2 years and it's fun and fantastic, and we plan all of the campus activities and our spring dance (which most schools don't have).

    Great for these types of students

    It's a good campus for non-social people and social people. There are really good places to study, especially when it's warm going outside (you can pick up wifi most places outside). Small campuses are good for people of all social levels though.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well, we do have a triangle instead of a quad. It's literally triangular. And, there are said to be ghosts. If you get the right year, we do a slip and slide in the triangle at like, 10 at night right before finals.

    Bang for the buck

    It's an expensive college, but it's a great school.

    What to do for fun

    20 minutes out of Chicago? Endless possibilities. We also team up with the local movie theatre once a month for $3 movie tickets, and we have pool tables and ping pong tables. Also: Ultimate Frisbee, usually in our quad area. :)

    Food and Dining

    I mean, it's just like every other campus food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms aren't amazing, but they aren't horrible either. There are some issues, mostly laying with the people in charge of fixing them not wanting to disrupt several floors or people to fix one issue. All dorms have several common areas and laundry machines, and I think all of them have kitchen areas.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on course of study and what class. Lower level, general education classes are usually easier (with the exception of math and writing) but are still challenging in their own ways.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in mind your grades coming in. Better grades=a better scholarship from the school.

    In three sentences

    Concordia is great, on a beautiful campus with very skilled professors. I enjoy small class sizes and a diverse campus. The options here are fantastic, and it's right outside of the city of Chicago, about 20 minutes downtown VIA public transport.

  • 06/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get involved in Concordia's many student activity groups, such as frisbee club, dance club, or music ensembles.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to professors and older students for study tips, help in classes, and for good educational experience.

    In three sentences

    Concordia Chicago claims to be a Lutheran college, but perhaps now may be straying to be a more secular college. Both Concordia Chicago's childhood-education degrees and music education degrees are quite comprehensive. Concordia Chicago is in a very pretty neighborhood, many nice houses, and is very close to restaurants, transportation venues, and entertainment venues.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students who like smaller campuses. People who like being able to get to know their professors better will also like Concordia.

    What to do for fun

    About a mile away is downtown Oak Park, where they have different shops as well as dining options. The town also holds numerous events throughout the year. There is also the option of taking the El to downtown Chicago, which is about a half hour ride. Once downtown, there are a million things to do.

    Food and Dining

    Almost everyone complains about the food, but it isn't that bad half the time. They serve every meal, except breakfast on the weekends, and the offer quite a few choices. The food service, Sodexo, is also very accommodating to those who have a gluten intolerance; they offer many alternatives for those people. Every once in a while, they have special meals, such as a Christmas dinner right before Christmas break, and an Easter dinner right before Easter break. The highlight of the dining service, for most people, is the monthly steak and shrimp night, which is a step up from the usual dining options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are typical dorms. Some are community style, while others are suite style. Depending on who you have as an RA, the rules are not too harsh, though there is inter-visitation hours. Some of the dorm buildings deal with mice and sometimes cockroaches, but they have been trying to find ways to deal with that problem.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can sometimes be tough, but if you are struggling, the professors are usually willing to help you out. You will definitely feel challenged in most of the classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure that you want to go to a small school, because it is small. However, there is still lots to do around the area as well as downtown Chicago, which is only half an hour away.

    In three sentences

    The school and people are very welcoming and friendly. It is easy to get to know people and make friends. Most of the professors care about their students and show an interest in getting to know them on a personal level.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always something going on! Whether it would be going to football games, participating in activities, participating in band/wind syphonmy, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Food is amazing! Some nights we will have steak and shrimp! They always like mixing things up. We have a subway as well.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing! The dorm that I am in, Gross Hall, has heat and air conditioning. You will make alot friends just in your dorm alone. Everyone is nice and respectful to you.

    Academic Rigor

    Concordia like to be strict. You must study for all of your test and/or quizzes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early to get the maximum scholarships. Make as many friends as you can before you begin going to college. It is always nice to have friends while going into college. It does not mean that you will not make friends, because you will. Be prepared to have a great time here. There are always things going on, every night.

    In three sentences

    If I was to rate Concordia University - Chicago, I would rate it a 9/5 out of 10. Concordia, like any other college, has its good and bad aspects of college. Overall, I would recommend going to Concordia University - Chicago.

  • 11/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The city is a few blocks away. A few blocks right to the greenline that is, as it makes it way to Chicagos most beautiful sites and attractions. There are always activities going on around campus, such as a five dollar movie night, or a trip to feed the homeless, or even a great restaurant to enjoy a good steak. There are so many things to do around town but if that doesnt work, stick around campus to enjoy a good basketball game, or to join the ping pong team, or even a late night worship service. Anything that starts a spark is available to the students.

    Food and Dining

    The food is always very pleasant, although it isnt a home cooked meal, it is runner up. The cafeteria is a great way to catch up with friends after long days of classes, chatting it up while enjoying a new and delicious dish everyday. While of course if you arent the adventurous type, there is always the classic sub station to enjoy a very healthy sub sandwich and salad bar to the left. They try and keep things on the healthier side, while being able to count calories and see how much sugar your body is taking in, its a good way to stay in shape before the spring sports.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be fun or stressful. The more fun you put in the more fun you get out, and the same goes for you and your roommate. It can be a very good experience, giving you the chance to go out and live on your own for the first time, it gives a big feeling or responsibility and a sense of trust in oneself.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is again what you make of it. Going out there and doing what you do best is always the safest way to go. If you love chemistry and Calculus and want to be a professor in the subject go for it! But if you aren't the best in the math, and want to express yourself through the arts, then the theater is for you. Doing what you love is and will be the hardest you make it, whether you want to make it to broadway or stay local, its your decision, and its time to get started

    Tips for prospective students

    I believe that college is really what you make of it. You can sit in your dorm all day and eat and sleep or you can go out there and make the best out of the short time youll be here. College is a great experience, and learning how to make the best of it, by making friends and talking to your professors about class work is one way to really get a good start on it.

    In three sentences

    I believe i made the best decision in a while. I finally feel the way i was supposed to going to college. Its hard making decisions in life, but for once, im glad i made the decision to go to Concordia on my own.

  • 12/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They don't do much, most of the time they don't take you seriously

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    BSU LSU

    Great for these types of students

    Lutheran Students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Subway

    Bang for the buck

    I don't feel as though I am getting the quality of education I am paying for.

    What to do for fun

    Go out somewhere, there is little to nothing to do on campus during the weekend.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is alright, they need more funding but they do their best.

    Dorm Life

    Dry campus with mice in dorms. Nothing to do on the weekends, campus is fairly boring.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard but the professors aren't great. Most classrooms still have chalk boards.

    Tips for prospective students

    The professors are all old and traditional. Everything is geared towards Lutheran students. Nothing to do here on weekends.

    In three sentences

    The school is classic. Great school for education students. Offers nursing program.