Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Concordia University-Portland Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/09/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't mind the wet weather!

    Tips for prospective students

    Concordia Portland has a beautiful campus, has small class sizes and is a great friendly environment. Everyone there seems to really care about you and you wont feel lost in such a large class.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college would be very great for students who wish to be involved with the community and making the world a better place. This is also a great place for those who wish to study christian ministries, and the school has a great nursing program and athletic program.

    Tips for prospective students

    For many of the students who wish to attend i would recommend setting meetings with teachers and roommates when problems occur, if there is any concern or problems in your mind, the teachers and friends that are made can very very reliable.

    Bang for the buck

    It may be slightly expensive to attend, but with scholarships, and financial aid it can very easily be paid off, there are even available scholarships for the campus that may be available.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is nice and small, its great having almost everyone know each other, and having so many people getting along with one another. There are always tons of events that go about and each of the event is a great way to make friends or have fun.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are always willing to help, and they make lessons understandable so that its easier for students to memorize what they learn that day. Some professors even extend deadlines of assignments that I have had trouble with or need more time working on.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think this school is great for people who love having a smaller community and truly getting to know your teachers and classmates throughout your whole college experience. This school was just ranked in 2010 as the number one university out of the nation for it's community service! There are many opportunities to give back and this school shows that!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't base your future school off of where your boyfriend/girlfriend is going, you'll make friends at any college! There's a great variety of students at Concordia and they greatly strive for making everyone be comfortable and appreciated. Check out the dorms at any college you go to before you apply; you want to be comfortable where you are going to be sleeping!

    Bang for the buck

    Apply for all the scholarships you can get! Even though this is a private school, with scholarships you can receive, it will come out cheaper or less expensive than other schools! It's true when they say that over 90% of Concordia students are getting some sort of aid.

    Am enjoying being here

    Concordia is so friendly! That's one thing that really stood out to me. Being a small school, the teachers really take time to know you and help you. They have a lot of activities for students and really help you have fun while being at school!

    Am learning a lot

    I learn something everyday. The teachers use a variety of learning methods to get your attention and to help you learn. They even have tutoring centers for free for students and

  • 10/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Concordia is a place for the student who wants to start off small. The campus is small which makes it easy to meet people and get involved in things. Everyone is friendly which makes you feel very comfortable. If you're the type of person you likes to see familiar faces often, then this may be the place for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    First thing to do the summer you get accepted, is find an on-campus job. The school website has a blog for on-campus jobs to post there wanting for student workers. The jobs are great because their hours are flexible and they are all so close. So if you can't work one day because of a big paper you have, your boss is likely to understand. Also make sure that you are being active and taking advantage of all the free services. There is Microsoft word software that is free to all students, free gym access, free counseling services, and so many fun and different events offered every month that most are free to attend.

    Bang for the buck

    The downside of the whole experience is the cost. Though, Concordia offers a lot of scholarships for students to cut off the dollars. There are multiple academic scholarships, leadership scholarships, and grants. Also there are a number of on-campus jobs that you can get involved in that will help you have some change in your pocket. I think overall with the student goverment, tech services, and other groups on campus helping out, most of your money is going to events or services that are later marked as free. So basically when you get here, take advantage of everything that's marked as free.

    Am enjoying being here

    Living on campus and getting involved is simple at Concordia. The campus is small, having only about 2,000 students. So meeting people and becoming close with your professors is easy for almost everyone here. Also there are tons of events organized by the student council, ASCU. Just this month they've organized a free corn maze, free haunted house, free scary movie night, and free cosmic bowling. There also some events which require payment but they never cost more than $10. Such as the Sleeping Beauty Ballet, Portland Trailblazers games, and pro-hockey games. Volunteering is a requirement here at Concordia. You have to have at least 10 hours and sometimes more for other courses. Luckily, the school makes it so easy for you to get involved. There is always a service event going on that anyone can join. Also there is an on office full of people that are there specifically to help you find service projects that you will enjoy and that will also get you the hours you need.

    Am learning a lot

    I am definitely learning a lot from Concordia and the professors here. I think the class I might be learning the most from is my History of the Old Testament class. It's a mix between history and religion. I'm highly enjoying and learning something different every day. Even though this is a required class for freshmen, I hear that students enjoy taking History of the Old Testament versus History of the New Testament. Also I'm taking a Concordia Commitment class. This class is kind of like a freshman transitions class. It helps you a lot in figuring out the best ways to succeed at Concordia. Also, this is a four year program. You take a different version of the class every year, and by the end of your 4-years at Concordia, the school guarantees that you will get a job and if not they pay you up to $5,000! This is a program that I recommend all students get involved in.

  • 06/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hands on and personal learners. Adventurous people who are social (as our school is full of fun people that love to go places and do things!) and fun loving! Also if you are looking for great sports teams our NAIA division teams are amazing with great coaches!

    Tips for prospective students

    My only tip is to send in an application! Even if you are only considering it. The Application is free and if you do decide to go give the campus a visit! Tours are given regularly by students who know the area as well as the school.

    Bang for the buck

    Concordia is a great school and though it is expensive in my opinion it is well worth at least MOST of the money. The only thing i have room to complain about is the meal plan (The cafeteria is open only a few hours a day and around the end of the year blocks [method of paying for food] tend to get tight), other than that the rooms are still the largest i have seen out of all the colleges I have visited, the events are fun and ALWAYS going on, sporting events are free to students and fun to go to (we have very good teams and athletes), Classes are personal and easy to work with, the staff is amazing and every other aspect of the College Experience is well represented!

    Am enjoying being here

    Coming from California the transition from state to state was rough, but Concordia really helped me become involved not only in the school and my community but it also allowed me to quickly get comfortable with the city. Concordia is a small school (roughly 2500-3000 students) so getting to know people was incredibly easy! Though it rains a lot that never stops me or anyone i know from having a great time. Concordia is located in between PSU, UP, PCC, and several other schools within a 25 mile radius so new people are always around and coming up to the school whether it be for sporting events or just to visit. Also the school is a 5-10 minute drive from downtown so even though the school itself is in the suburbs entertainment is never far, plus the school always has discounted events (everything from Halloween Corn Mazes to Portland Trailblazer games) going on with free transportation provided!

    Am learning a lot

    Concordia is not a large school at all. This means that all of the classes are very personal, for example my largest class consisted of 30 people. Therefore all of my teachers knew my name, kept in contact with me via E-mail, kept me updated on assignment, even went and had a cup of coffee with me from time to time. Every aspect of the class room was very personal which made learning much easier!

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our security team is amazing! I know most of the patrol staff simply because I see them walking around so often! CU is located in a quiet neighborhood with very little commotion. However, CU still patrols and ensures our safety.

    Greek Life

    We do not have sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities to choose from. If you do not see a club that is to your taste, it is not hard to start your own! The only down side to the clubs is for students who live off-campus. If you want to get immerse yourself in the club and activity life, make sure you live near the campus or do not mind commuting.

    Great for these types of students

    Listen up education, business, nursing, and social work majors! CU has great programs for the areas mentioned in the preceding sentence. Check these departments out and see if they are a good fit for you.

    Bang for the buck

    CU is a private school that rivals OR state schools. Even though it is much cheaper than other private schools, CU does not compromise its quality of education and job placement. Basically, this school is a good deal.

    What to do for fun

    CU offers many events for its students. Sport games are fun to watch, especially basketball and soccer. There are also service projects students can take part in. There are movie nights, talks, game nights, and a green community space to play in. If you choose to attend CU and have free time, you will not be bored!

    Food and Dining

    The salad bar is amazing! However the other food offered is somewhat expensive and not too good. Luckily CU is within walking distance to great food places, like Hot Lips Pizza and New Seasons (which has great soup!). If you want a long walk or are able to bike a short distance, Alberta street offers a wide variety of fabulous tasting food.

    Dorm Life

    I personally do not live on-campus. I have been a commuter since I transferred two years ago. My friends who live in the dorm love the new apartments. However, generally you have to be an upperclassman to qualify for the luxurious apartments. I've been told that the other dorms are okay.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major, you will most likely utilize the resources CU offers students. I typically am in the library with my friends studying for classes. Some classes require lots of outside work, while others do not require much. Make sure you know what type of learner you are so you can prepare yourself for your courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at the school's strong programs and see if they align with your intended major; you do not want to pick a school that is not known for what you want to do. Look at job placement for post-grads. Are students finding jobs in their major right after graduating? If you do not know anyone in the Portland area, I encourage you to attend the campus reviews. It is more comforting to physically see the school and meet prospective classmates/instructors. If you are worried about finances, talk to a financial advisor. College educations are one of the best investments to make, but you want to make sure you are comfortable with your decision.

    In three sentences

    Since transferring two years ago, I have not regretted my decision to attend CU- Portland. The positive ambiance helps me feel at home, especially when I have five hours in between classes. The faculty, full-time and adjunct, are amazing!

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty safe campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of different activities and clubs at Concordia, like basketball, volleyball, soccer, music club, nursing club, and so on

    Great for these types of students

    Medical students, athletes, musicians.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many people hang out in the library, 1st floor.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private university, therefore not that cheap, but you do get a great education.

    What to do for fun

    Many activities throughout the campus. Starting from various clubs, to intramural sports.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty decent food and dining, nothing to special about it.

    Dorm Life

    Has many different options for housing. From single rooms to quads. Also various types of rooms/buildings. Check website for more info.

    Academic Rigor

    Strong and rigorous classes, but not too extreme.

    Tips for prospective students

    Not that large of a school, under 3,000 students. Many of whom live on campus.

    In three sentences

    A great university! Really friendly atmosphere here, teachers are more than willing to help the student. Known mostly for its top nursing program, but has many other programs, such as music, business, and so on.

  • 08/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who don't want a huge school, but still one big enough that you don't know everyone. This way you will form great bonds with people but always having the opportunity to meet others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the campus- pronto!

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive- but way way cheaper than most places! Especially for being a private university.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is a real close sense of community that makes you want to stick around when classes are done for the day.

    Am learning a lot

    My professors are well learned and are definitely passing on their knowledge.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Don't be afraid to get out there. All you can do is try and do your best. Don't feel afraid to apply somewhere because you think your not good enough or you don't have the best of grades because not only are there expectations but colleges take a vast amount of things into account when deciding who should attend their establishment. also take not only school seriously but yourself as well. Realize that school is your golden ticket especially in this day in age. You are your star player and you have take care of yourself. Make sure that your actions in school and in life period set you up for success. If your a student who is wiling to get out there and find out who you really are and learn something along the way than Concordia would be great for you. Concordia not only wants you to represent the school well the want you to represent yourself well.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tip I could give to future students is to use your resources. Concordia has so many great opportunities when it comes to getting help with homework and studying. All you have to do it to reach out and get the help.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is on the expensive side but one thing that is truly helpful, is the fact that the school really tries to help you with the financial costs by giving out scholarships and reasonable loans. But I do believe that the money you spend at Concordia is well used. It is a private institution that offers great opportunities such as being able to work with cadavers, trips to outside countries for research, therapy, outside tutors and much more.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy my life at Concordia University. I love the fact that the campus is smaller it allows for me to get know people on a more personal level. The campus population being on the lesser end also helps with keeping classes small. For me smaller classes is a great benefit not only does your professor get to know you on a more personal level but you have the opportunity to get one on one help on a regular basis. Concordia offers lots of activities and fun things you can do. Such as watching movies, community service, musical shows, sports games and much more. If your looking environment where you can feel safe and part of a community Concordia might be something you want to look into.

    Am learning a lot

    I think there is so much to be learned at Concordia University both academically and socially. The teachers that I have experienced are not only vastly knowledgeable in their subjects but have a great way of expressing information. Concordia University really pushes for the teachers to get their doctorate degree and to write books and continue the growth of their information reservoir. If your coming in as a Biology or nursing major expect to have a vast amount of resources and teachers who are their to support you.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    The classroom sizes are small so the teachers know you by name and whenever you need help are always willing to help you along the way.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you ever need help with your car or anything outside, the safety officers are always there. If you need an escort somewhere so that you're not alone, you can also call them at any time!

    Greek Life

    There are all sorts of people and traditions! You will surely feel accepted!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs that one can join. Any you can think of. And if the club doesn't already exist, there is great opportunity to make it exist. One has all the support they need here to start a new club.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small class sizes, smaller areas, and like a closely knitted school-community relationship. You will know many of the people you go to school with. It is a very friendly place!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many holiday performances and there is chapel everyday. Not a whole lot of schools have a chapel on-campus!

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities going on at Concordia. Anyone who wants the chance to get involved can easily do so. There are various socials, ball games, and many musical performances. There is also Bible study which can be both very useful and enjoyable.

    Academic Rigor

    I definitely feel challenged with the coursework, but I am learning so much. Difficult concepts aren't nearly so hard to grasp when you have the help of encouraging professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although you don't have to, knowing your major and what your going for from the start is such a relief. Go out there and figure out what it is you really want to do. And the best way to do that is volunteer. You will feel so much better and it will boost your confidence knowing freshmen year what your exact goal is.

    In three sentences

    Concordia is an exceptionally welcoming school. Everyone smiles at you makes you feel at home. I feel I always have the support of staff and faculty here and I can easily get help with anything, whether it is homework, guidance, and any other problems I may have.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    concordia has many sports to participate in from golf to swimming, basketball to soccer, baseball and softball, volleyball and lacrosse. campus activities follow our athletes and we really enjoy our brand new athletic complex!

    Food and Dining

    the food at concordia is great! there is always a wide variety and great friendly cooks and staff that get to know you throughout your time there.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is phenomenal! the apartments are stylish and up to date. it really makes the experience of a lifetime.

    Academic Rigor

    the amount of coursework that is required outside of class time is essential to your success in classes. make sure that you do not overload yourself with classes if you plan to work in addition to classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    meet with your academic adviser regularly to stay on-course for graduation. get involved in campus life to feel the love and compassion that exists on campus.

    In three sentences

    concordia has opened my eyes to a whole new world beyond the community college. there are numerous opportunities to become involved in the community and receive credit for your service hours. smaller classroom sizes combined with professors that are there for you to truly succeed in every subject have blown other colleges out of the water, i am a proud cavalier!!!!

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Concordia is placed in a wonderful area. There is so much to do on and off campus. I like getting off campus every once in a while. There are tons of shops and restaurants to go to and they are walkable.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not bad. I feel for the amount we spend on room and board, the food would be a little better. But what school cafeteria has amazing food. At least you do not have to cook and clean while being in college.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very spacious and up to date. It is very difficult finding dorms this nice and for their prices.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Concordia are wonderfully crafted. Due to the small class rooms, the student to teacher ratio is perfect.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus first before seeing if you want to attend. Even if you visit, you will want to attend.

    In three sentences

    This is a wonderful school. The curriculum is well rounded and is tangible for any learning student. It is obvious the staff and faculty care about the students education.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Good food for the most part

    Dorm Life

    live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are somewhat challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention to you loans.

    In three sentences

    Concordia has a nice campus. Professional atmosphere. Although it is expensive

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 15 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe place

    Bang for the buck

    cheap and awesome

    What to do for fun

    party hard

    Food and Dining

    wonderful restaurants around.

    Dorm Life

    awesome living space

    Academic Rigor

    very nice

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus.

    In three sentences

    I think this school looks very nice.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Concordia in Portland is never boring! There is always something going on during the week or the weekends whether it's on campus or off campus. We have guest speakers, movie nights, field trips down town, lazer tag, and other activities for the student. Every day there is something new!

    Food and Dining

    First week of school, the food is amazing! But it definitely doesn't top off your mom's cooking. I live on coffee so I never eat at the cafeteria. Cafe in the library is definitely awesome though with really good pastries.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms but I do hear a few rumors here and there. First year can be hard with a new roommate but when second year roles around, it's easier to pick and chose. Although you may not like your roommate, your RA's are always there for you!

    Academic Rigor

    When you have a busy life like me with a full time job and a full load of classes the academic rigor may seem out of hand. But don't forget, the instructors are there for you so are your classmates. Don't be afraid to ask for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    You heard it over and over again but Concordia does not mess around about grades so study hard and do not procrastinate! Also, get close to your instructors! Don't be afraid to stop by their office hours and tell them how you are doing, ask questions, and whatever else you have to say.

    In three sentences

    Administration staff are some of the most friendly people! Concordia is small but has lots to offer with its medical, teaching, and other degrees. The class sizes make you feel like a family.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who wish to really get to know their fellow students and teachers.

    In three sentences

    I am very excited to begin going to Concordia. The people I have met with so far have been very friendly and helpful. The campus is small and beautiful and seems to have a good atmosphere.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is always available to escort you to your car, class, or dorm when needed and are very good at keeping unwanted guests off the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to be in small community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Use the study rooms for your advantage. They are available for your benefit, just make sure you sign up to use them at the main desk in the library. Plus, I enjoy the commuters lounge for when I need to spend long periods at school.

    Bang for the buck

    CU is expensive, so make sure you want to invest the money for a private university expense.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of things to do for fun. There is Saturday Market in downtown Portland, skiing at Mt. Hood, hiking, disc golf, etc. Plus, there are always on campus activities if you like to get involved with the school.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. I needs to have a little more variation. On the positive there are restaurants and a New Season's close by to get a little more variety.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in the dorms at CU, but I have heard that there are positives and negatives to living in the dorms at CU.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at CU can get very difficult, but with the help of the professors and tutors anyone can pass a class. The Nursing program at CU is fabulous and all the professors in the program want you to succeed, so are willing to help you any chance they have possible, just remember to maintain communication with with them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors. The more you get to know them, the more likely they are to help you during difficult situations. Plus, professors are a good resources and can help you in the future with letters of recommendation.

    In three sentences

    The environment at CU is very close. Everyone knows everyone and everyone is willing to lend a helping hand. The younger students can be a little clicky, but overall professors are awesome and academically it is a fantastic place to excel.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have a huge list of things they do for fun. I never thought I would be interested in some of the school clubs and activities, but they look like a lot of fun!

    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten there, but there are small food places everywhere, making food easily accessible.

    Dorm Life

    Compared to another university I visited, the dorms are so much nicer! They are pretty large, very clean, and not too outdated.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't taken classes, but friends of mine say the classes are challenging, but the small size of the classes allows teachers to be extremely helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, and don't be afraid to ask questions over and over. I think I called 3 times in a day, and I am always emailing them, and they are always helpful.

    In three sentences

    Everyone is so friendly and helpful, and act like they truly want you to succeed. The small size also helps the next step of college not to be so overwhelming. Lastly, the integration of the Christian religion, like a chapel break from classes, is going to make retaining or building a relationship with God less of a chore during college.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Trere are many different kinds of clubs for different students. I participate in their outdoor club since I adrore being outdoors.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for religious students and those who need one-on-one interaction with teachers and students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Each October, Concordia has an event specifically for high school students who are considering going to this campus. What makes this unsual is that the kids get to sleep in the dorms overnight and that an improv-show come to the campus and does a hilarious show for the students.

    What to do for fun

    There's a hang-out place three blocks from campus that has a soaking pool, a restauraunt, a movie theater, and it's a hotel. I go there very often whenever I want to get away from college life for a bit.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but there are very few healthy choices besides salads.

    Dorm Life

    The students have access to all the dorms on campus and the students are really nice. There rooms are spacious and are really fit for more than one student. There are no crimes on campus and there is a zero-tolerance for sex on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the teachers are good at helping students learn their material. There is a writing center and a math/science center in the library that helps the students with different course subjects. A few of the students are also tutors on campus and they get paid to do it.

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly advice the students to keep their heads up and always ask for help when the need it.

    In three sentences

    Ccordia is a small, lutheran campus that really strives to help students succeed. The faculty and staff are nice and there are students from all around the world. The students are kind and it is rather easy to make friends.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus is always buzzing with various activities. Be it sports, or performances, or simple events to get students involved. It is never a dull moment. The newly built library is a hot spot for events. In addition to that the brand new athletic complex his home the boys baseball, and men and women's soccer. There is always something to do other than study of course.

    Food and Dining

    Dining services works extremly hard to prepare the best meals possible for us. I love how at dinner time we use blocks to get all we can eat. The food is high quality. I also love how we recycle food. Say we have baked potatoes with dinner, the next day we may have a potato salad option for lunch. Its very nice.

    Dorm Life

    The resident hall life is amazing. The resident life staff bends over backwards for us. They plan events and life on campus is never boring. I loved my dorm room. It gave me a sense of family in a new and strange place. The rooms are big compared to most. Plus they come standard with a refrigerator and microwave in each room. They also provide large closet space. I have built great and lasting relationships with my fellow residents and would encourage any prospective students to do the same.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be hard. It's not supposed to be easy. We come to Concordia to be challenged, tested and to earn a degree. The curriculum here can be demanding, but worth it in every way. The professors aren't out to get you though. With the small class sizes it's easy to get the help you need. It is always with the professor, no teaching assistants. In addition Concordia offers so many other services, such as the writing center, math and science tutors. It is the goal of the educators to ensure each student reached their full potential. I myself have utilized the writing center for almost every paper. The grades on said papers reflect the assistance and tricks of the trades if you will that I learned from the student ran organization.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a campus tour. We have well educated students lead the tours. Its not like some adult or college recruiter is walking around shoving endless amounts of university history down your throat. That is how I felt on several of my other tours, but when I came to Concordia I knew this was the place for me. We walked the campus with an actual student. For that hour we got to live the life of a resident. I highly recommend this for any student thinking about Concordia.

    In three sentences

    Concordia has been a blessing for me. The small class sizes, and interpersonal interactions have been so helpfully in my education. I'd rate Concordia Portland a ten out of ten. The campus is small which is ideal. It takes less than five minutes to walk from end to end. How many of the state schools can say that? Plus I love being able to walk into student services and everyone knows my name, not because I'm a trouble maker, but because administrators, advisers, and professors strive for excellence. Which they then pass onto their students.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Although Concordia is in a residential area, there are a few bus lines in the area that lead to downtown Portland which offer tons of things to do. Since a small university doesn't have much space, there is not a lot of entertainment options but there are a few places to exercise and work out. Also a mile away is Alberta St, which has many restaurants and shops that make Portland unique.

    Food and Dining

    When freshman first start out, the dining halls seem to make good food but as time progresses, the choices become repetitive and the quality greatly deteriorates. Since the university has a contract with a dining company, they can pretty much serve whatever they want and prices for snacks are greatly overpriced. Making positive eating choices is critical because much of the snack foods are king size and the food from the dining hall is not the healthiest.

    Dorm Life

    I could personally say that the dorm experience for my freshman year was very enjoyable because I had great roommates in a small residence hall which allowed everyone to pretty much know each other. There are a few policies on campus that prohibits males and females to be in opposite rooms during a certain time which is interesting in itself because as adults, decisions are suppose to be made on our own. Finally, each residence hall on campus fits one another's preferences but getting your own furniture for your rooms could be a good idea because some of the equipment isn't of the highest order.

    Academic Rigor

    Since I only have completed my first year, some of the classes that I took were not too difficult. When I went into my second semester, a few of the classes in which I took were sophomore and junior level classes that required more studying and more work/effort in general. Some weeks can be very difficult while others can be quite straightforward. Since the faculty are available and actually want you to succeed, taking classes is very motivating knowing that help is available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aware that the university is not necessarily the cheapest and the food is not either. Since Concordia is in a residential area, there are not many places to dine on campus, but there are establishments within a one to two mile radius so walking on foot is necessary. Also keep in mind that during the weekends, the school is very quiet since the majority of on campus students go home.

    In three sentences

    The university offers a great environment to build great relationships with not only your peers but with faculty as well. Concordia strives to make the university more of a family and the relatively small student body enables that. The majority of the people that are on campus are very friendly and for Concordia to be a small school, there are a lot of resources available.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Hawaii Club!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Concordia is located in Portland, Oregon which means cloudy and wet weather majority of the year. During the spring time though, there may be some days when the sun is out and it's a gorgeous day. That's when all the students take out their shorts and shades and hang out in the center of the campus which we call the Green. People have water balloon fights, throw the football/frisbee, lay out and tan, or have picnics while listening to the radio blasting. During winter's first snow fall of the season (which is not usually very often), everyone gathers outside and has a gigantic snow ball fight.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a private school and many people just assume that it's going to be expensive, but they give out a lot more scholarship money than most schools.

    What to do for fun

    Concordia hosts a lot of outings on the weekends including trips to professional basketball, soccer, and hockey games. They'll take students out cosmic bowling during midterms week and during halloween to haunted houses. An annual Concordia Academy Award show is given each year to play live music, give awards (ex. messiest room), and play entertaining videos. Intramural sports is a big thing among the students including flag football, bowling, soccer, wiffle-ball, and a few others. A must-see is the annual luau that the Hawaii club puts on with live music and dance and very good Hawaiian food. There are many things to do and get involved in at Concordia.

    Food and Dining

    It's not very good, but they improved from my first semester to my second.

    Dorm Life

    I absolutely love dorm life. The halls are small and not big like huge public schools are which allows for close connections among hall mates. It's a lot of fun getting to hang out with friends all the time and hang out in the lounge until 5 in the morning while everyone else is asleep. This is where you're really able to learn about yourself and others and making true friends that know you extremely well. Plus, the dorms are typically bigger than most schools.

    Academic Rigor

    Especially for nursing and biology students, Concordia is very tough and the course is very rigorous. The bright side to that is Concordia has a guarantee for nursing students in obtaining jobs immediately after graduation.

    Tips for prospective students

    College can be very nerve-racking for everyone because it's the first time for students to live on their own, but Concordia helps to make that transition from high school student to adult college student as smooth as possible. Comfort is very important to me, and the staff and upper class-men made my first year at college very comfortable for me while still being able to do my own personal growing.

    In three sentences

    Campus life at Concordia is amazing. It's a small school with very high expectations from not only the staff but the students as well. Because it's such a small school, it's very easy to get involved by joining different clubs and volunteering for numerous committees while still obtaining high levels of education.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is safe and the campus is small.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and activities to choose from. This school is very active and diverse.

    Great for these types of students

    That do not like big classes. If you prefer small classes this is a great place.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive but a great place to learn, and sets you up for success after you graduate.

    What to do for fun

    I will be spending most of my time plying basketball but the campus has a lot of activities through out the school year.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is great. They have a lot of choices to choose from

    Dorm Life

    i did not get to see the dorms on my visit but have been told they are pretty nice.

    Academic Rigor

    I do not have an academic rigor. i am a quick learner and if i apply myself i can be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips i would give are the same as any oter school. Be organzied , work hard, study hard, get to know your teacher, do not wait till the last minute to get your grade up and do not slack do off

    In three sentences

    It is a great school and i can not wait to attend. It is small which is what i like about it. The staff is really friendly and want you to succeed

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always felt safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who want personal attention. Everyone wants to help.

    Bang for the buck

    Second year student. Love it. It is perfect for me. I wanted small class size, personal attention, and red brick buildings covered with ivy.

    What to do for fun

    Band, choir, sports events and a short hike (1 mile) to shopping and restaurants. Car helps but bus system is great.

    Food and Dining

    I have an apartment so I do most of my own cooking but I do love the coffee shop in the library.

    Dorm Life

    Love my apartment!

    Academic Rigor

    Yikes! Not that bad but keep up with it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the professors. They want to help. Same with staff. Everyone is there to help.

    In three sentences

    Great help with getting needed courses to graduate. Music program is tops. Everyone is helpful and you will find that this school is a good investment.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Nursing Club

    What to do for fun

    Intramural Sports

    Tips for prospective students

    Explore Scholarship options.

    In three sentences

    This University has enabled me to pursue my plans in an individualized manner. It is an inviting atmosphere with small class sizes. I feel supported and encouraged every day.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    27 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    What to do for fun

    Concordia is very close to lively areas such as Alberta Street, Mississippi Street, Burnside, and it is only 15 minutes away from downtown. There are tons of great places to eat, drink coffee and tea, and if you are of age, have a delicious beer or cocktail.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo likes to cut corners. The meal plans are very expensive yet the food quality does not match what you are paying.

    Dorm Life

    Expensive, but worth living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Many full-time professors are great and offer challenging courses, but this is not a highly competitive or rigorous university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what you are getting. To accommodate for the heavier student load new adjunct professors have been hired. Unlike the full time professors who really know their stuff, these adjuncts may not be experts in the field they are teaching and can not and will not give you the same quality of education you should be getting from a private school. It is important to get what you pay for in college and I do not think this is it.

    In three sentences

    Concordia University was the perfect size when I attended. I now feel that it has outstretched its limits and can not accommodate for the amount of students now attending. With more students yet the same amount of full-time professors, education quality is depreciating.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Portland is filled with many fun things to do. Whether going downtown to walk on the waterfront or exploring some of Portland's landmarks, like VooDoo Donuts, there is always something fun to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school will challenge you in great ways.

    In three sentences

    Great school.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    29 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't anything to do around the area if you dont have a car.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to lock your car and dorms at all times. I was robbed from my room of my ipod and camera. Also don't eat the salad bar in the cafe; I found bug eggs in my salad.

    In three sentences

    Campus is in a very unsafe part of town. Public safety is not effective. The tuition is high.

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with my friends or go to school events.

    Tips for prospective students

    Liberal Arts schools offer a lot a variety, which is great if you want to expand your horizon or still unsure

    In three sentences

    It is an awesome school. With amazing students, faculty and staff. Also the programs that they offer are fantastic. Go CU

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is awesome, they are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. You mostly see them at night patrolling around campus

    Greek Life

    We Don't have any type of Greek Life on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Too Many to name but one that we take pride is volunteer services. We are ranked nationally for giving back to our community

    Great for these types of students

    Great for anyone who is willing to work hard during the week and have fun on the weekends.

    Bang for the buck

    College is what you make of it! If you study, you'll get good grades. If you interact, you'll have lots of friends.

    What to do for fun

    Every weekend there is something to on campus, last weekend I went to laser tag with the school, they even provided transportation and the games were free. Everything is pretty close if you don't drive there is many buses around school that can get you around.

    Food and Dining

    Food is the worst but can definitely get better. Like anything your gonna miss home cooked meals, but nonetheless i considered myself to be a very picky person when it comes to food. I satisfied with the food here.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorm life! Meeting all the new people, staying up late getting to know them. If you can live on campus do it! It will teach your responsibility and make you mature. It also makes you appreciate your parents more

    Academic Rigor

    Right now I have a total of 16 credits, which sounds overwhelming but all my classes are well spaced so that its make doing homework at easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    -come visit -get in contact with admissions -try to end high school to the best of your ability -be open to change -choose Concordia its awesome!

    In three sentences

    Choosing Concordia was one of the best choices of my life. I feel at home, like my previous school, its always been a small community atmosphere. You can't go wrong with a religious affiliated college, its just help you continue your growth in your faith.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 52

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I would rate Concordia a 5 out of 5 on academic because class sizes are kept small, teachers know you by name and classroom settings are based on the specific subject being taught. I would rate Concordia a 3 out of 5 on community, if you are a commuter, and the difficulties that already come with that, you can tend to feel out of the mix on community life

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    33 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Unsure at this time

    Bang for the buck

    It may be slightly more expensive then surrounding colleges but there isn't a price to put on a GOOD education.

    What to do for fun

    See Portland. Its a beautiful city.

    Dorm Life

    There is housing for students 21 and over. There are not dorms but housing in the area is available at an additional cost.

    In three sentences

    Concordia is a small college that focuses on education. The staff are friendly and really helped in my decision making.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a street about 4 blocks from the school that holds a little festival every last Thursday of the month. It's a great way to get out of the school and enjoy time with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is small for how many students there are at school but the food has been improving through the year, so I've heard.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus but the dorms seem close knit.

    Academic Rigor

    The school expects a lot out of you but the work is great. The teachers give you the right amount of responsibility while also reminding you every once in a while.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking into Concordia be aware that it is a small school. One tip is to live on campus. The school holds many activities that can help you get associated with it.

    In three sentences

    Concordia is a great school with an amazing staff. Not only do they know you by name but they truly care about helping you succeed. They give advice that can only help you improve.

  • 10/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who like a personal homey feel.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pizookies (cookie pizzas) from a local restaurant. And Voodoo donuts.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Portland. Explore Alberta St. Go to school sport events or hang out with friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors face to face.

    In three sentences

    Nice staff, faculty and students. Personal help with homework- good student faculty ratio. Beautiful campus, small.

  • 12/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security is available 24/7 to walk you to your car or wherever you need to go. The number for campus security is on the back of everyone's student ID's and the dorms have an entry key so that nobody without a student ID can get in.

    Great for these types of students

    People who enjoy serving their community, as well as people who do not mind rainy weather.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many events happening on campus as well as off-campus. Some events on campus include Karaoke Night, Movie Night on the green, and there is always something going on in the dorms. Some off-campus events including going to Sky High and going ice skating.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good, and they strive to make it as healthy and organic as possible. There are multiple places on campus to get food or drinks including the C-store, the dining hall, and Cafe 1905, the coffee shop.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a great way to meet people and make new friends. Everybody here is so nice and friendly and we are like one big family.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are difficult at times but the teachers are always willing to help you if you are struggling. The workload is hefty but doable if you do not procrastinate and ask for help when you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Concordia has great scholarship opportunities and the staff and faculty are very helpful if you have questions about the application process or about the school in general.

    In three sentences

    Concordia is a great school that really values the students. It is a small campus so the professors have plenty of time to help you one-on-one if you do not understand the materials. Concordia really believes in the students.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Studious, serious students,in medical, theology and music will enjoy the small campus and varied learning opportunities, as well as caring professors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Daily chapel available, great library, on site and internet access.

    What to do for fun

    opportunities for seasonal activities--pumpkin patch, hiking, Christmas shopping abound, movie nights, and student rates for Opera.

    Food and Dining

    Hours of operation too limited. Finding food at 3 in the afternoon is nearly impossible.

    In three sentences

    Quiet campus, in large city with lots of opportunities for cultural, athletic and outdoor activities. Small classes with caring professors. Great Choir!

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are around 24/7, I feel completely safe on and around campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Small town people (like myself), non-party-ers

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is like other privates, but the scholarships they give are tremendous.

    What to do for fun

    Alberta Street/ downtown Portland is a bunch of fun

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit before you decide to come. Small colleges aren't for everyone, depending on what you're looking for.

    In three sentences

    Small campus, good atmosphere, good people.

  • 02/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are available to help 24/7 and the security men are well-trained and very nice!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs any person can join!

    What to do for fun

    Concordia University is close to many Portland shops and main streets such as Alberta. Coffee shops and ice cream parlors are just a walk away and are very delicious!

    Food and Dining

    There is a diversity in the main meals at Concordia: Chinese night, Indian night, and other varieties of food help so that you are not always eating the same thing.

    Dorm Life

    My roommate is now my best friend, and I have gained many friends that live in the same hall. Each individual in my hall is caring and genuine, and the RA is very nice!

    Academic Rigor

    Since I am in the nursing program, I am required to take science and math classes, which are pretty hard! But time management and being studious help very much! I have learned so much more than I thought I would!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to pay to go to Concordia or any college, remember to do your homework and study! The more you study, the more you will understand, and the better the grade you will receive. Also, take advantage of your professor's office hours; they are always willing to help!

    In three sentences

    I enjoy Concordia's community, and how many options are available to be involved in the Concordia community. The professors are personal to each student and are very helpful. I enjoy living on campus and have met many people who I can now call friends.

  • 05/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great there is always multiple safety personnel on-campus and on-call 24/7.

    Great for these types of students

    For students that like to get things done at a nice pace and also have time to have an outgoing, exciting social life.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive at $25,900 tuition + room and board it is a private school price. But it is unique because you are part of a unique, tight knit community that takes pride in representing Concordia.

    What to do for fun

    Concordia has an outstanding athletic program catching a game is always an option. With the ASCU the student government is always up to something on campus or off campus. Portland is a great city for activities.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is not the best or the worst. They serve okay food and it is pricey. But its Portland so there are a bunch of other places near by that are really good.

    Academic Rigor

    The workload is tough but manageable. Everyone wants you to succeed including staff and faculty, professors are available for extra help and tutoring is always available free of cost.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to know your professor by first name. The university is a place where students are the priority. It is a great place to gain a better understanding for the transformation of society.

    In three sentences

    Concordia is a private Lutheran school that cares about its community. The athletics, people and environment make it a great place for students to find a balance of school and enjoyable student life. With approximately 3,000 students it is a diverse student body that works along exceptional professors that care about you.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I fell challenged more by my education then by trying to find the money to attend class. They are really willing to work with each student to make sure they can attend class.

    What to do for fun

    Concordia is just a few miles out of downtown Portland and there are at least three bus lines that stop at Concordia making it really easy to get around without a car.

    Food and Dining

    I do not use the school food and dining

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay in the dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Concordia offers a scholarship for transferring to the school with at least an associates degree. The scholarship renews every term.

    In three sentences

    An amazing college that is really willing to work with their students and make getting an education fun and worth while.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    42 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good, they have text and email alerts to emergencies from security risks to bad weather to campus closures.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to list, very active student activities at CU

    Great for these types of students

    CU is not a party college, but still is a fun college. It is great for adult students as well, They have several programs that are cohort models.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is a Lutheran College, so that was different, religion class is required for graduation...but I am a christian, so it was not a big deal, as a matter of fact it was one of the hardest classes I took at CU, and it was every interesting.

    Bang for the buck

    Love CU, you will too.

    What to do for fun

    The school is in the middle of NE Portland, everything is very accessible.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good, not so great for night students and or summer students, but will say they are open to feedback, I gave lots of it during my undergraduate program. The nice thing is the neighborhood offers lots of options.

    Dorm Life

    lived off campus, but CU has amazing student housing. It is a beautiful campus.

    Academic Rigor

    With good time management and commitment, its doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    CU make the everything about enrolling very easy, they are there to help you with any questions or stumbling blocks you encounter.

    In three sentences

    Concordia University is an amazing college, I completed my undergraduate degree here, and after starting my graduate program at a state university, I have transferred back to Concordia to complete my graduate degree. The smaller classrooms, the one on one with the instructors, who actually know who you are, the networking and peer connections made, make CU unbeatable.

  • 06/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Graduate

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking about obtaining your degree, this is the most caring staff.

    In three sentences

    Caring, respectful, courteous staff. They genuinely care about your well-being, and success. Small intimate class sizes full of caring professionals.

  • 07/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food was okay, but most of the meals were not very good. Every once in a while you could get a good meal, but mainly, it wasn't very well. Lunch was the best out of all three meals, I would get lunch everyday, but not dinner.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is one of the reasons why I am at Concordia. Before coming into this school, I heard that you gain a lot of new friendships from how close you are at the dorms. My roommate this past year was amazing and I am rooming with her again, and we are best friends. They do an excellent job of pairing people together!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes that are offered at Concordia are amazing. They do a great job of teaching what you want to learn and all of the professors are very welcoming and understanding of anything that you may have.

  • 08/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great school for individual who don't have time to do the traditional setting. Just log into the class and get started.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a excellent educational choice.

    In three sentences

    Concordia University Portland-Oregon, On-line allows the working student the freedom and professionalism to receive a highly qualified education. On a scale of 1 - 10, I would give the school an 8.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Have not even encountered an angry argument, or shouting. I can walk around at night and feel safe.

    Greek Life

    Not of any that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am in Cross Country and Track & Field. It is a very great sports school, our Women soccer team are ranked number 1 in the nation, men's number 18, 17? Somewhere around there. And over the past decade, Concordia has won conference championships in both Indoor & Outdoor Track & Field. Besides sports, there are a lot of volunteer opportunities, study aboard, internships, fun activities like bowling, dancing on a boat, and the latest movies (like World War Z) to watch.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a great work environment, liberal arts type school and also good place to make friends.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Only unusual location is there is this picnic table where everyone that smokes, smokes. I am sure I have seen other weird stuff, but drawing a blank.

    Bang for the buck

    I have only been here for two months. But for $34,000, this college is well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are activities every week: bowling, arcade, boat party, bus rides to a fun center, 2 pool tables, 2 ping pong tables, and movies every 3-4 days. Sorry I spend all my time doing homework because I am in Honors and in Cross Country/Track & Field. Being a student-athlete is challenging, but very rewarding.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is excellent! You can order food on a touch screen and use your student ID card to pay for it. The options include: pasta, pizza, burgers, dessert, poultry, fruits and a wide variety of drinks. Only fallback is it stays the same and has changed very little throughout these two months so far. Other than that, it is awesome!

    Dorm Life

    If you do not mind the occasional loud music or conversations, then the dorms are very nice. Very clean bathrooms, everyone is nice, have not encountered one jerk, only one minute walk to the Dining Hall and Library, and we have our own laundromat.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is greatly academically rigorous. The class size is only about 17 on average, the teachers in some classes go beyond just agreeing with them and tell that is important to form your own opinion, as well in my Humanities class, some pretty shocking things about the human race. Most of the classes have been eye-openers. However, Concordia does not offer engineering and that is a problem because I am a math/science type of person. If it was not for that, I would give Concordia 5 stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get the college book How to Win At College: Surprising Secrets for Success by Cal Newport. It has 75 tips on how to do well in college. Some of the tips: spend two weeks in advance studying, study aboard, worry about grades not GPA, takes honors courses (because you got nothing to lose) and etc. I could write down the other 71, but that would be very long.

    In three sentences

    Concordia University provides a great environment academically, socially and athletic-wise as well. All the teachers and counselors are very supportive in helping you with your goals. The facilities are very clean, modern and nice.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I live off campus.

    Food and Dining

    I eat at my apt. .

    Dorm Life

    I live in my own apt. .

    Academic Rigor

    They require quite a bit of work on the online course, but that is expected for a college degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do the work, and this college is worth it!

    In three sentences

    This college was very easy to transfer to. They provide excellent online learning for early childhood education. The online teachers are great, and the school has excellent values.

  • 12/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is available 24/7. You may call them at any time if you need an escort to walk you back to your dorm late at night or if you just so happen to see someone dumpster diving (it does happen).

    Clubs and Activities

    A wide variety of clubs, intramural sports teams, and planned activities are available for students. Everything from service corps, volleyball, soccer, dodge ball, and ugly sweater ice skating!

    Great for these types of students

    Those who like smaller campuses, intimate class settings, high school sized campuses.

    Bang for the buck

    Very pricey, but it IS a private school. What so you expect?

    What to do for fun

    Portland is very close by so CHECK IT OUT! It is an interesting city.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is nice but there are a few glitches in the system. Food is a hit or miss. The item is either great or needs improvement. (Salads are usually always spot on).

    Dorm Life

    Pray you and your room mate get along! Also, hope that they are clean.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are outstanding! Loved all my profs without a doubt.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be clean, keep your side of the room picked up. ASK before you take food off of someone's plate. Be polite, say thank you when a cute boy or girl opens the door for you. GO TO CLASS. Do not just go though, actually PAY ATTENTION and take in the information that is being given to you.

    In three sentences

    Great teachers. Great people (for the most part). Community feel.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see them around campus but have never had to actually use them.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Corps, Habitat for Humanity, etc

    Great for these types of students

    Students that enjoy small schools

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You've got to take a trip to Alberta Street and experience waffle window and Salt & Straw's homemade ice cream!

    Bang for the buck

    It's an extremely expensive school but they do offer a ton of activities. The only downside is how expensive the meal plan and dorm life is.

    What to do for fun

    On the weekends they sometimes have free movies going on in the lecture hall and they provide snacks and drinks too. Other times they offer trips to places like Sky High, Corn Mazes, or just to downtown Portland. You can usually find something to do on the weekends, but a lot of students leave so sometimes it can get a little dead.

    Food and Dining

    The dining services are new this year and they're fantastic! They offer tons of options and I haven't tried something I don't like. It's also great how they provide vegetarian and vegan options, along with several healthy options.

    Dorm Life

    I live in East Hall, the biggest dorm on campus. It's a great community feel. Everyone is always in each others room and having a good time. Everyone on my floor is especially close, and it's been really easy to make new friends fast!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very rigorous but the professors are extremely open and want to help students succeed that it's impossible to feel lost. They also offer multiple tutoring services and counselors if you ever need extra help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sit in on a class or meet with any of the professors. You should also spend a day with a current student and see how you like the feel of the campus.

    In three sentences

    Concordia University excels at making all students feel welcome, and like they have a place. You immediately feel at home because of the incredible professors, staff, and friendly students. The small class sizes and tons of tutoring opportunities they offer all for students to really comprehend the material and flourish in their majors.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Not a lot of option besides the cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    I don't know. I never lived in the dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Great class room sizes. The student teacher ratio is pretty good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy the process. Most students looking at college like a pit stop. Everyone wants to put there 4 years and leave. Smell the roses and just don't look at them!

    In three sentences

    Concordia has been amazing. It's a balance of a smaller university while stilling getting the ambience of a University. There's no other way to answer than saying Concordia is amazing. Best decision ever!

  • 04/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I'm am totally lost on this one I've never been to Portland yet.

    Food and Dining

    again not sure I don't live in Oregon.

    Dorm Life

    I don't go to the dorm I live in Wisconsin not sure.

    Academic Rigor

    I love it. I was a c student but I had my uncle write a letter and they accepted me into the school and I've been doing a little better with my classes. The instructors are always available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its one of the best online schools ever, you may have to take out loans and things for classes but online I love it.

    In three sentences

    I love the staff, the teachers and other students. Everyone helps each other and works with each other. I love we have two advisors so if one goes on vacation the other is available. TOP NOTCH SCHOOL.

  • 04/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many different leadership opportunities and intramurals to do on campus. There are also activities that go on every weekend.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good now. They have a restaurant style eating area and everything is made to order. They have many different options and theme nights.

    Dorm Life

    I live in the Coates apartments. They are spacious and great to live in. They can be a little noisy though.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes that they have can be difficult but overall, they are for your own good. I find that there are classes that are really difficult but the teachers are there to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would just be someone who has good grades, and a passion to go to school. They accepted me because of my essay that I sent in telling them why I wanted to go there. They have really amazing coordinators to help you get into the school.

    In three sentences

    Concordia is a school that lets you be you. They really try to make sure that you are going to graduate and find work after. They also have many extra-curriculars and leadership opportunities.