Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Concordia University-Saint Paul Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/05/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 out of 11 people found this review useful. 1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    people who want a well rounded education.

    Tips for prospective students

    follow your heart, you will know when you have found the college for you.

  • 06/24/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Concordia is located in the middle of a large city but maintains the feeling of its own small community. It is the type of school were you know the names of everyone in your class.

    Tips for prospective students

    The first 2 years you either need to live with your parents/guardians or on campus. Upside the dorms are HUGE!(compared to other colleges. also freshmen dorms are non-coed) and upperclassmen get the equivalent of an apartment.

    Bang for the buck

    Discovered parking, laptop and tech service, printing, counseling (career or otherwise), and tutoring are all free. Freshmen are allowed a car on campus.

    Will enjoy being here

    The tour guide couldn't stop talking about his favoring things about Concordia, it sounds amazing! There are a lot of social events planned.

    Will learn a lot

    Class size is 20 and under and there are no TA's.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    concordia university is located in the heart of saint paul. it is located five minutes away from downtown minneapolis. there are plenty to do in saint paul and minneapolis.

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining is great. students have the ability to choose what they want to eat. there are also healthier alternatives available to eat.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is fun. you get to meet many people while living on campus. it is also a great way to socialize.

    Academic Rigor

    concordia university is committed to its academic. students who perform exceptionally academically are rewarded. students need to keep up with academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    students should have time to study. like other colleges, there are a substantial amount of work that needs to be completed. students are expected to balance their schedule.

    In three sentences

    concordia is a great school to attend. the class sizes are small, which makes it easier for students to learn. the professors are committed to helping students.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is very important at concordia. they make sure danger is not severe and assure that everyone is safe on campus.

    What to do for fun

    for fun here at concordia there are a lot of events that happen. there are game nights, movie nights, there are chapel events, scrimmages, and bingo is the most popular game at concordia. bingo is a great opportunity to have fun and win prizes.

    Food and Dining

    food at concordia is pretty good. they have definitely improved on their food compared how it was at the beginning of the semester. they have a variety of different foods, which is always a positive thing about college.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is filled with enjoyment here at concordia. freshman dorms are not as fancy as the upperclassmen dorms, but it is still fun to live on campus. plus, it has been a great way of meeting new people and the building is connected to the tunnel, which is very beneficial in the winter.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic rigor is pretty strict at concordia; if you are not doing well in classes then you will be placed in academic probation. it is necessary that you study, but the academic difficulty varies depending on what class you take. taking ap classes in high school really prepares you for the difficulty of college courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    like at any other college, it is important to come prepared and start strong academically as well as ending strong. make sure to take advantage of the resources concordia provides, because they are very helpful. also, it is important to stay involved and join at least one club to meet new people and be apart of the school spirit.

    In three sentences

    concordia has a comfortable environment in the school, and they provide comfortable places to study and dine. the school does a great job at keeping the building clean and also clean in dining areas. they also provide many opportunities for students by having many clubs and organizations to get involved in the school spirit.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Lutherans :) And I think the on-campus program is better.

    Bang for the buck

    I should have had the full campus experience with dedicated instructors with my final bill. I would go somewhere else if I had it to do again.

    Food and Dining

    There are some okay restaurants within walking distance.

    Academic Rigor

    I didn't really feel very academically challenged but that may have been the nature of my program.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is pretty steeped in religion - its not just in the name. If that bothers you at all, be prepared.

    In three sentences

    I was in the BA completion program online and it was so-so. Because many of the staff are in the field FT, they were not very dedicated to us as students, while others had overly high expectations as we were all working too. Straight information about cost was hard to retrieve as well.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hr security

    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    Science clubs, math clubs, musical, sports teams,

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school is Lutheran, and provides non-mandatory chapel services, several choirs, and musical options. The school also has its own stadium and Dome to keep the stadium warm in the winter.

    Bang for the buck

    Concordia is a high priced school that allows students a safe environment to associate with educated people and discover what they want to do with their life. Athletics and theology are a large part of the school.

    What to do for fun

    Located in the cities with opportunities including dancing, night life, zoos, Mall of America, several other colleges and universities near by, and a professional hockey team . The twin cites provide all sorts of entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria food takes some getting use to and is not always the best option. The suites for upper classroom provide a kitchen to cook your own food, freshmen only have a microwave and their own fridge. Meal plans are available and do include the cafe and union on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The freshmen dorms are large but old. The girls and guys are separated. Upper class students are provided suites with kitchen, bathrooms, bedrooms, and living room.

    Academic Rigor

    Is good for students that need to catch up from a poor high school experience but also provides an honors program for an aggressive student with high expectations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for the schools scholarships (academics,athletics, religious). Visit the school in the late spring or summer Sit in on classes and talk to the professors

    In three sentences

    Concordia University is a small school that allows students to have personal relationships with their professors, enjoy small class sizes, and a home like environment. Located in the twin cities with prime social life. The school is also DII and provides the opportunity to for athletes to continue to play the sports they love.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good except a lot of cars get stolen

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    a lot of variety.

    Great for these types of students

    athletes- not football

    Bang for the buck

    expensive but almost worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of activities almost everyday.

    Food and Dining

    horrible.

    Dorm Life

    Decent. Very communal.

    Academic Rigor

    Hard. Not a crazy amount of reading but a lot of writing. If you want to write a lot, come here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure they have your major or are willing to adjust their classes don't just take their word make them prove it.

    In three sentences

    Very luthern driven in all aspects of the school. Small, you can easily get to know everyone fairly quickly. Strong community.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Concordia is pricey, but worth it! I went to a Community college but they were not helpful in finding me the right classes at the right time. Concordia laid out my class schedule up until the day I graduate. I do not have to wait week's for a response to my emails from counselors, teachers, or financial aid reps. Communication is key!

    What to do for fun

    You are so close to many other Universities and Colleges. You are also very close to both down town's. You will be within 25 minutes of anywhere you would want to be. Also, Super Target is a 5 minute walk from campus.

    Food and Dining

    Awesome food!

    Dorm Life

    As a freshman I lived in the dorm, they were clean and very big.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had some hard courses, but the teachers work hard to keep you focused and involved. They understand that as adults we have other important factors in our life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Small classes and great teachers. If you want a school where your voice will be heard, Concordia is the place.

    In three sentences

    The Adult program is wonderful. The teachers are wonderful and great with communicating.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24hour security, they will pick you up if its too dark or if you are alone.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for open-minded students who are willing to try new things.

    Bang for the buck

    Concordia is awesome.

    What to do for fun

    There are a number of activities and clubs to join. There are also a lot of campus events.

    Food and Dining

    the food could be a little better :(

    Dorm Life

    The RA's are really nice, and there are a lot of floor events

    Academic Rigor

    I think I am receiving an excellent education. The professors care about you and know who you are. If you want to succeed, they are willing to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have your financial situation taken care of. The education is exceptional, but it is a private school, so its costly.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy my Concordia education. The campus is extremely diverse and fun to be on. Overall I love my school and wouldn't go anywhere else.

  • 10/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Everyone is very nice and willing to meet new people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When first arrived at the dorms, during the first week of school. probably during the welcome week, the RA's said that they started a new tradition where we go serenade in front of the ladies building. I just thought this was an unusual tradition.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is VERY high in my opinion. Everything seems overpriced for me, that's why I try to get most information and everything out of anything I do.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of events and club activities to go to. But when there is truly nothing to do, use the school laptop that you receive from the school and the internet is a whole new world. I am surely there are things to do on campus, you just have to find it.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining here are good! Much better than high school food, although if you dislike it, there are plenty of restaurants nearby you can go to.

    Dorm Life

    freshman dorms are somewhat small, but I am really jealous of the upperclassman rooms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun!

    In three sentences

    This school is small and easy to find your ways around classes. So far students and staffs are very kind and helpful. Concordia is in town so it offers a wide variety of entertainment.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Horrible food

    In three sentences

    It is a small and friendly community. The advisers are horrible at helping and explaining what you're looking for. Also there is a lack of help.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's 24/7 security and you need card access to get through at least three doors to get to your dorm room.

    Clubs and Activities

    Have basic clubs that cover different majors.

    Great for these types of students

    Teachers, religious teachers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No traditions that stand out.

    Bang for the buck

    It all depends on what you want out of your education. Concordia is great for teachers and for those going into theological work.

    What to do for fun

    There's an arcade room with racing games and a pool table and more.

    Food and Dining

    Food here is sub-par and over-priced.

    Dorm Life

    Basic cable and high-speed internet with some provided furniture is really all you need. Simple, but covers the basics.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are definitely easier than others. However, Concordia's hardest classes are only the ones that are important for your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Concordia if you are looking to become a teacher. They have a great program for teachers.

    In three sentences

    Concordia is a small campus but is close to a lot of places that are fun to go to. Concordia also provides professors who are very helpful and want you to succeed in your future when you graduate from college. Best of all the people here at Concordia are so nice and it's easy to make friends here.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Lutheran, Christian, Catholic.

    What to do for fun

    read ;)

    Tips for prospective students

    Save alot of money to go here - kinda spendy!

    In three sentences

    Great class size. Awesome Teachers. Wonderful location!

  • 04/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I can't honestly rate this, but the system requires that I do. I only go to the university to purchase books, so I give it a 3 because it is a great school

    Greek Life

    I only go to the university to purchase books, so I can't give any insight.

    Clubs and Activities

    I can't honestly rate this, but the system requires that I do. I only go to the university to purchase books, so I give it a 3 because it is a great school

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students, but on a personal note....I think it's great for adults going back to school and working full-time. I have taken college courses throughout the years, but was never able to complete the degree program. Now that they're offered online, I am finally accomplishing this goal.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I only go to the university to purchase books, so I give it a 3 because it is a great school

    Bang for the buck

    I can't honestly rate this, but the system requires that I do. I only go to the university to purchase books, so I give it a 3 because it is a great school

    What to do for fun

    I only go to the university to purchase books, so I give it a 3 because it is a great school

    Food and Dining

    I can't honestly rate this, but the system requires that I do. I only go to the university to purchase books, so I give it a 3 because it is a great school

    Dorm Life

    I can't honestly rate this, but the system requires that I do. I only go to the university to purchase books, so I give it a 3 because it is a great school.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor: Instruction is academically rigorous, students actively explore, research and solve complex problems to develop a deep understanding of core academic concepts that reflect college readiness standards....yes!

    Tips for prospective students

    Online courses are great, but important to keep-up with your work....easy to get behind, but also easy to stay current. I'm 50 and can't imagine taking other classes while being in this program, but I know some of the younger students take more than one class.

    In three sentences

    I'm attending the accelerated, online program at Concordia University and I love it! My cohort is rather large at 22 students, but we work well together and it's a huge benefit because we're from all over the world; i.e. Germany, MN, Hawaii. The instructors are also fantastic and available.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security on campus is thoughtful and prompt.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs are available for many different interests and if there isn't a club that doesn't offer what a student wants, they can form the club very easily.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every spring we have a festival called Knollapoluzza to help students relax, have fun, and distress before finals. Also every year for homecoming we decorate the bronze Martin Luther statue at the front of the school.

    What to do for fun

    Right in the heart of the Twin Cities there are many fun things to do close by and the campus offers many programs and clubs.

    Food and Dining

    The food services are average.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the living facilities are not up to date but the upperclassmen apartment building is very nice with many amenities.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are serious about your education the course loads can be very difficult but worth the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to asks questions because there are many people there that are happy to help.

    In three sentences

    The staff is wonderful and truly care about their students and education. There are many supportive people and programs that help students with various struggles. The classes are informative and the teachers do the best they can to offer the best education possible.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who like smaller class sizes rather than big ones.

    Bang for the buck

    A private education is always a bit more money but I have been loving my classes and what I am learning it has been worth every penny!! Also their TUITION is GOING DOWN 10 GRAND next year!

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of groups and sports to get involved in. Also the area where the school is located, you have a lot of things to do and places to go.

    Food and Dining

    I do not live on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I take online classes and live off campus. I do not know what the dorm life is like. It being a small campus though, I'm sure you get to know people fairly quickly and it would be a tight knit community.

    Academic Rigor

    As any school you want to challenge yourself and push your self to learn the maximum potential you can. After all that's what your paying for right? I take online classes and they require a lot of reading and communication with other students as well as with the professor. Keep checking the Discussion Boards and keep in the conversation.

    Tips for prospective students

    As in any school, work hard and dedicate yourself to whatever is it you are studying. There is nothing more important than having an open mind and giving anything a chance. You will love the campus set up and the beautiful buildings. Make sure you visit the campus, even if your doing online classes (as I am) and get a feel for the place.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus with very helpful and dedicated instructors and professors. Online and on-campus available. Undergraduate, Adult undergraduate, and Graduate available.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Totally safe with great security staff.

    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes

    What to do for fun

    I hang out with friends or go to the gym and play sports, this includes intramural.

    Food and Dining

    New dining reservations, very nicely done.

    Dorm Life

    Clean facilitates that are kept up to date.

    Academic Rigor

    These are college courses and there is work to be done. Professors are understanding and want to help the students. Very worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    The first two years everyone must live on campus unless petition to live off-campus. There are a lot of athletes at this school and it is a smaller university. The sports here are phenomenal along with the clubs and organizations for everyone to participate.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school with faculty that really cares about the student body. There are lots of activities and clubs for everyone to join. The friends made here are lifelong and just awesome.

  • 01/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is low-ish for a private school. I really like it here.

    What to do for fun

    So many options! Buses run to MOA all the time, there's a lot of stuff within walking distance and it's a fun area.

    Food and Dining

    Kind of overpriced, and the quality is a hit and miss.

    Dorm Life

    Luther Hall and Wollaeger aren't that great, but Holst and Hyatt are really, really nice!

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here are great. Matt Ryan-- Totally suggest him for your gen ed Intro to Lit class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come here with an open mind. There are a lot of different cultural groups on campus, so if you aren't prepared for that you're in for a culture shock.

    In three sentences

    Concordia is a great school! I recommend it for anyone looking to branch out into something new. There are a lot of opportunities for clubs, student organizations, music organizations, and the theater program is phenomenal!

  • 03/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security guards to help keep the campus safe. I assure you that the campus is safe anyways. Otherwise, with the assist of the security, it should be fine.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs here, and many of the events are held by these clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a type of student that would like to get to know your professors better to help better your understanding in the class, this University will be the best choice.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things students can do for fun. Many students hang out in the lobby. There is the arcade also available to students. Some other fun things that students can do for fun are the events that are held here and there, especially the game nights. Game nights are usually just planned for students to get a break from studying just to have fun and relax.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is great.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life will always be great here at Concordia University!

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the type of classes you are taking and the type of major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who wish to proceed into college and are thinking about Concordia should think about their time managing skills and planning skills. College has a lot to do with time management, budgeting and planning.

    In three sentences

    Concordia University- Saint Paul is a great school to be educated and a great school to get to know your professors. Since the class size is relatively small, your professors will get to know you very well, and that would be great for internship purposes that require some sort of letter of recommendation. Concordia University also has a diverse community and friendly students as well.