Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Concordia University-Seward Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Concordia University is great for students looking for a small, Christian, private college. Its biggest major is Education and it has an good music program. A prospective student should want a small campus with small classes and involved professors. They will be around a lot of Lutheran beliefs and overall Christian atmosphere. It is a good place to be involved school activities/sports. It is also for students who want to be in a small town, but still close to a big city.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would make sure they have your major or the classes you need for it. I would also get your class schedules figured out early and get registered early. It can be a little difficult to get the classes you want especially at the times you want. I would also suggest getting involved in some kind of activity. It can be a little bit boring especially if you are not involved in any activities. I would also suggest being involved with the events that take place through the school like sports, theater, student activities committee events and other activities taking place on campus. It gets you more involved with the school and people on campus. It also makes it more fun.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a pretty expensive university, because it is a small Christian private school. If it is the right place for you, it is worth the money. It is a great environment for learning with small classes, good professors, and good resources. It will be great if that is what you are looking for and they have your major. The school, in general, has a welcoming Christian environment. They follow through with what they say and keep in line with their beliefs.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are things that I like about the school and things that I don't like about it. It is a little too small for me and I have trouble finding the classes I need because my major is a little complicated. A lot of the class times run into each other for my area because they only have one class time for many classes. It is very welcoming though. There are small classes and the professors are very helpful. You can get to know most of the people there and professors know your name and who you are. It is in a small town and is a little boring sometimes. But it is less than twenty minutes from Lincoln where there are many activities to do. It has a good Christian atmosphere most of the time, especially in classes.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot here. The school has really good teachers that are very focused on you and your success. They will put in the time you need for whatever it may be: extra help, extra time for having to miss class, learning more, or having questions.

  • 02/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Concordia is the second cheapest Concordia in the system. You get the opportunities of being able to go down and eat as much food as you want when ever the caffertia is open. You also have the advantages of have multiple computer labs throughout campus with access to printers and the internet. All of the dorms are acquiped with wireless internet.

    Am enjoying being here

    Concordia is a university were their is always something going on. You don't just have to be in a sport or club to enjoy these opportunities. There are interamuals which are always a fun time. Hall parties, free food and many more activities to enjoy.

    Am learning a lot

    I am recieving a well rounded eduaction who at Concordia. Well staying connected with my faith.

  • 04/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Because Concordia is Lutheran based, if you want to be surrounded by a community that shares your faith in Christ this is the place for you. State colleges won't give you the same kind of support to enhance your spiritual life the same way Concordia will. We have chapel every weekday morning, Bible studies in abundance, and St. John's Lutheran Church is right across the street from campus. So, to all Lutherans and any other denomination of Christianity, you should really check out Concordia University as the place you want to spend your college career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you speak frequently with Michelle Pfeifer or whoever your counselor or advisor is so that you make sure to get as much financial support possible and so you get the classes you want to take. If you want to get into teaching or a ministry career, this is definately the place for you; but there are many other majors offered so please check them out.

    Bang for the buck

    To be honest, I pay less to go to Concordia than I did at a state school because of the financial support through Concordia and the LCMS as a whole. The dorm rooms here are much better than the living conditions I had before. The food is better than that of CU but it still doesn't beat home cooking. As I have already said, the classes are entirely worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Compared to my previous year at the University of Colorado, transferring to Concordia University was one of the best decision I could have made. The students, staff, and professors along with the citizens of Seward are wonderful and caring individuals. The classes are great, the social aspect is amazing, there is no readon I would not recommend someone to come and live here.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a Theology major in the Director of Christian Education (DCE) program here at Concordia and very much like the majority of the class I have taken thus far. I especially like the classes geared towards my two main areas of emphasis and the professors at Concordia are great. The homework load may be much at times but all of the coarse work is worth it in the long run.

  • 07/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're wanting to become a teacher, Concordia is the place to be! Concordia started out as a teacher's college so they really know what they're doing. It is also a great college for art majors! Many of the student's artwork has been used on the campus or in other churches around the country.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to check it out! Get to know the people on campus and the professors, they'll make you feel welcome right away. Also, take a look around Seward, which is a great small town, and check out Lincoln, which is only thirty minutes away!

    Bang for the buck

    Although it is somewhat expensive, Concordia Nebraska is much cheaper than the other Concordia campuses. They make up for the high cost by giving you a safe, fun environment, great teachers, and numerous activities. They also offer many different majors, especially art majors which are a huge deal at our campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    Because it's a small school and has a great Christian atmosphere, this campus and everyone on it makes you feel welcome. There are tons of opportunities to meet new friends and get involved in helping others. There is never a dull moment on campus!

    Am learning a lot

    Concorida is an amazing campus. The professors here take your opinion into account and give you as much help as they can give. They are also very knowledgeable about their topics and if they are unsure about a question, they will do the research to give you the right information. Because class sizes are small, there is enough time for real discussion in the class rooms and you don't feel like you're just another person lost in the crowd.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think campus has a very safe feel to it. The town of Seward isn't very large which add to that safety factor.

    Greek Life

    Honestly there is no Greek Life on or around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am currently involved in Track and Field at Concordia. That takes up quite a bit of time. You can also be involved in other sports, drama, news paper, art, and many other activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Concordia is a great fit for student athletes like myself. It is also a great place for anyone who wants a Christian atmosphere to continue their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a tradition on campus called the naked man run. During the first snow, everyone strips down to sports bras and spandex or boxers and runs out and around the statue for fun. After we all had hot cocoa.

    Bang for the buck

    You can get a good plate of fish for $5 in Bee which is just 15 minutes away!

    What to do for fun

    I like to get involved with some campus activities. My friends and I like to get together for movies. One night we also went out to a near by lake.

    Food and Dining

    The food honestly isn't the best. I do have to say it is pretty decent for college food. However, there are some really good places to eat out.

    Dorm Life

    I personally love the dorm I am in. They recently re-did a lot of the dorms and they are very comfortable now. All of the girls in my hall get along great.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but not unbearably difficult. They make you work to achieve good grades. Academics are the most important activity there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Concordia has a very unique campus life. It is good to get involved with even just a few of their many activities. There are many things there that will help you feel at home.

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The very Christian environment means they never let any problems slip through the cracks.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Naked man run: We have an artist statue in the middle of campus and every first snow, everyone gets together in summer clothes (swimsuits, tank tops, shorts) and make a snow angel by the statue.

    Bang for the buck

    The Coffee house and Dog house. You can get food and drinks without leaving campus after hours and the flex dollars make it not to expensive.

    What to do for fun

    We are always having movie nights and hanging out in the many lounges. The parks lead to a lot of outdoor fun and the school offers many extracurricular activities.

    Food and Dining

    Your options are not limited and you can always find something good. The flavor may be a tad bland at times, but that is just for certain safety reasons. Plus its buffet! So you are always full!

    Dorm Life

    Everyone in the dorms are super friendly and love to help you out on whatever you need. The rules may be a little strict, but they are just trying to do what is best for you.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are difficult without being too much. You will really get the most for your money when attending here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always keep up on and go to your classes. The Professors care that you are there and want you to do your best!

    In three sentences

    It is a very Christian school that always lifts your spirt. The professors are always kind and love to teach. Their programs really help you prepare for life out of college.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are so many things to do, but since you are in a small town, one has to be creative. we watch quite a few movies, spend far too much time in the cafeteria, drive into lincoln ff we want more to do.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria has pretty good food for being a cafeteria. obviously, the food is not stellar, since no one would want to pay that much for food, but what they do offer is fairly good. their deserts are the best part!

    Dorm Life

    the individuals that live on the same hall as me are amazing. each one has a unique personality and we love each other for it. we love enjoying one another's company.

    Academic Rigor

    concordia certainly pushes you hard academically. however, they are not only in to how well you achieve, but what you learn from the subjects that you learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    come to concordia and experience the university for yourself. there are so many aspects of the college experience that cannot be placed in a promotional flyer. see for yourself if you are genuinely interested in attending!

    In three sentences

    concordia has a great community. the people who you meet here are like family. students, faculty, and staff are friendly and rooted in christ's love.

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security more present than you realize.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    women's soccer team is epic! all sorts of sports and clubs for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    out going, open to making new friends.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the naked run during the first snow fall.

    Bang for the buck

    worth it!

    What to do for fun

    go into the square, shop, see a movie, bowl, or reek havoc on the campus.

    Food and Dining

    janzow may not seem great, but don't take all the choices for granted.

    Dorm Life

    try your best to get into jonathon.

    Academic Rigor

    teacher's are there to help!

    Tips for prospective students

    attend all wow events before school, be open, and hang out with your hall, class mates, and activity friends equally.

    In three sentences

    a great, small, christ-lead community. a place for people of all backgrounds and goals to come together to achieve in god's light. my new home.

  • 02/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security has never doubted me. they respond quickly if you lose your keys or lock them in your room. concordia is one of the safest campuses in the country. also, you must have an id card to get into the dorms, therefore no strangers will be entering.

    Greek Life

    greek life does not exist here at concordia, who needs frat parties anyways!

    Great for these types of students

    concorida is great for athletes. all the teams are tough competitors and most importantly, great supporters. the womens basketball team is seeded #2 right now and the mens track and field just placed 2nd in the gpac conference.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    most colleges cant say they have praise and worship everyday. concordia offers praise every morning at 9 am. this is a great time to get away from your studies and praise our creator.

    What to do for fun

    seward is a small, but busy town. there are many different fast-food places to choose from. also, there is a bowling alley, movie theater, and a coffee shop with pool. concordia also has many different activities going on, including leg wrestling, laser tag, and praise.

    Food and Dining

    the food selection is rather large here at concordia. everyday for lunch and dinner, i have the opportunity to eat a sandwich, hamburger, or hotdog. they also have a station that changes everyday. the desserts are something to enjoy everyday. also, there is fresh fruit to eat or take out and bring to your room if you want to eat it later.

    Dorm Life

    fortunately, i got the privilege to room with two of my teammates my first year. this helped me build relationship on and off the track. the campus is not very big, so the dorms are not far from everything. i literally take 20 steps to get to my cafeteria, which is very handy.

    Academic Rigor

    in the classrooms, i have maybe 20 other colleagues with me. this give me a better opportunity to interact with the professor face-to-face. this helps me build a relationship with the professor and i find it easier to understand certain subjects. also, the teacher program lets me get experience in other classrooms in the first year!

    Tips for prospective students

    if you want to experience a college where you get a lot of teacher/student interaction, meet many friendly people, and get a high education, concordia-seward is the college to enroll. from experience, my first couple days were rough and i had no intentions on staying here. this suddenly changed and i love it here, i would not go to a different college.

    In three sentences

    concordia university-seward is the perfect college for me. the college is very small, which means the classrooms number size is very low. the students and professors are also very helpful and friendly.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Situated in a small Midwestern town, crime on campus and in town is negligible. Thefts happen, but this can be offset by locking your door.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something going on, whether it's an athletic contest or a campus-wide game of Fugitive or a pick-up game of Ultimate Frisbee, there is rarely a dull moment. There are plenty of clubs for a student to join, for a large number of different interests.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone will fit in. Athletes, drama students, musicians, etc. all have a niche on campus, but there is a large amount of cross-over between groups also.

    Bang for the buck

    My experience at Concordia has been phenomenal. It is reasonably priced compared to similar schools, and the experience is definitely worth it. Plus, scholarships are readily available.

    What to do for fun

    Seward is a small town, but does have a bowling alley and a one screen movie theater. Concordia, and specifically the Student Activities Council, puts on lots of events for the students to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria, while not always the most appetizing, has many options, and there's something there for everyone, no matter their taste in food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are definitely aging, but aren't as bad as other college dorms I've heard of. For freshman guys, you might get stuck in a dorm without air conditioning, but it's still manageable. Other than that, the residence hall feel is very good, and there are many community building activities put on for the whole campus, as well as for each individual floor.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but rewarding. The professors are very knowledgeable on their subjects, but are also very approachable and are willing to help with questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're not Lutheran, don't get scared off, it's not really that bad. Don't be afraid to get involved in something, there are great people in every student group.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere on campus is generally great. People get along fairly well and most people know most everyone else. Everyone is involved in something.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is EXTREMELY rare we have any safety issues on this campus. Fear not.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs and activities which are awesome if you actually get involved in them. There is something for everyone, and at the beginning of the year they all have a booth so you can find some that fit you.

    Great for these types of students

    Acting -Improvables Math -math club Sports -intramurals Medicine -pre-med club Leader- SAC (student activities council) Every kind of student -SPRING WEEKEND

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Naked man run

    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of intramurals and clubs which are very good to be in. They help you meet new people and help you get your mind off of school work for a little bit. Also, Common Ground is a good place to go on weekend ngihts.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not wonderful but there are always sandwhiches, waffles, pizza, and burgers that you can fall back on.

    Dorm Life

    Get involved and respect quiet hours.

    Academic Rigor

    You do actually have to work, especially in the upper level classes. Do not procrastinate unless you love pulling all-nighters. Some of the material can be very difficult but the teachers are very good at explaining it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with hall activities, clubs, intramurals. Your time here will not be very much fun if you don't go and meet new people. If you have a question in class but are too embarrassed to ask, ask anyway. Chances are, someone else has the same question.

    In three sentences

    Concordia is awesome for making good friends that will help you grow spiritually as well as helping you grow as a person. The teachers actually care about you and make an effort to know your name. The whole campus is very clean and people are very friendly and willing to help you if you need something.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Seeking to get closer to God, prefers smaller campus, and loves having fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a run we do where we run around shirtless in the freezing snow!

    What to do for fun

    On-Campus activities bring all students closer together. Church events are also a great way to spend time with classmates!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make new friends to avoid home-sickness. Make a great time out of everything. Don't go in with the highest of expectation because usually nothing meets those.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things to do for fun without spending much money. Movie is always a great example. During the day you can always start a game of volleyball, basketball, baseball, etc. If there are on-campus performances, concerts, activities or sport events go to those, they are actually very interesting and fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food at any college will get old eventually. Every now and then you do need to eat something different. There are quite of bit of options but a lot of the areas serve the same things or close to the same things everyday. So try to mix it up and little and try new combinations.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very acceptable. Enough space and there are many ways to arrange the furniture. AC and heating is not a problem. Not a lot to complain about. The rules of living in the dorm are easy to following. There is a kitchen and a laundry room available in all dorms. Lounge areas are also very spacious. It's rare to walk in and out of the dorm without coming across someone and saying hi.

    Academic Rigor

    You may have less class time but that only means more hours outside of class working on homework and studying. Don't study the night before and get ahead on work if you can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in activities and oppurtunities, cause then from there it's a great ride. Be yourself because almost nobody will judge you. Find your balance between school and free time

    In three sentences

    Concordia is a great place to grow in faith and it is full of great service oppurtunities. It is so easy to make friends and the teacher-student relationship is fantastic. It is a great place to call a second home.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of security cameras and a caring community make this a very secure campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities ranging from swing dancing to the Health and Human Performance Club.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students who want to strengthen their faith.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are building that are 125 years old on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The tutition is a little too high.

    What to do for fun

    Concordians learn to be very creative. There are coffee shops, bowling, thrift stores, Student Activities Council events, frisbee golf, intramurals and etc.

    Food and Dining

    Not as good as mom's cooking but there's always options. There's always something to tempt your appetite.

    Dorm Life

    Great RAs and floor communities make Concordia feel like home away from home.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes will challenge you to do your best and invest. The professors are caring and want the students to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for Nebraska winters! A sweatshirt is NOT a winter coat. Do not be afraid to try something new.

    In three sentences

    Concordia is a place where students can grow and be encouraged. The people are friendly and genuine. It is an experience like nothing else.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are lights all over campus so there is literally not one dark corner at night.

    Greek Life

    None existent!

    Clubs and Activities

    One for every major!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is the Naked Man Run: This occurs around the first snow of the year, and students run in minimal clothing in the snow. Its great fun!

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, but its a great education!

    What to do for fun

    You can go to a movie uptown, or hang out at the local Wal-mart. If you want to do anything exciting Lincoln, NE is about 20 minutes away!

    Food and Dining

    Its college food, it's never really that good, but there are always many choices to choose from everyday! Salad bar, sandwich line, and pizza served everyday! We also have a stir fry station which is fresh, and delicious.

    Dorm Life

    It's pretty decent around here. Most of the boys dorms do not have air conditioning, but the freshman girls dorm was recently redone, and is really awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    To be honest it depends on your major, and the class load for the semester. Some classes are harder than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work hard, and learn a lot! Don't be afraid to ask questions, someone is always there to help!

    In three sentences

    Concordia is an amazing school with really great professors. These professors know their stuff, and you will learn all that is necessary to become a great employee. The atmosphere is extremely friendly, and encouraging!

  • 04/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    People feel incredibly safe here. When there is class in session some students have left back packs in the lounges or outside, and have felt safe doing so. They have not felt a threat of someone stealing any of their property.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual event Concordia has is the Naked Man Run. This is held after the first snow fall of the year. Students start at Dorcas Dorm and run around the Naked Man Statue also known as Son Free of Sin Statue and back to the dorm. They usually do this in their bare feet and shorts to celebrate the snow, and simply for traditions sake.

    What to do for fun

    Concordia offers a lot of options on campus including free movies, sporting events, and concerts. Lincoln is also 30 minutes away.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is wonderful! Here at Concordia we build families on our hall floors. We are making life long friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are ranked very high at this school. The athletics programs even recognize this and put their athletes studies before anything else.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a community based campus that make you feel welcome, choose Concordia. Concordia will help you to evolve into an educated adult who can handle anything with the knowledge learned hear and your faith life.

    In three sentences

    Concordia University has gone above and beyond to make my college experience exceptional. They provide me with life long lessons, faith, and kind spirited people. I would not change my experience for anything.

  • 02/05/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus, everybody knows everybody. Lowest crime rate of any school I've looked into and in a safe medium sized town with a low crime rate.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of different varsity sports, theatre, band, choir, church groups, clubs based on majors/interests, and intramural activities. Theres a lot you can do if you look.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone, high success rates which is always something to look into. Specifically those who want a smaller, more manageable and personal feeling campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Small observatory, amazing indoor track facility, and if you here somebody say meet me by the naked man, I was told it isn't some crazy guy in a loin cloth running around campus, it's a statue of Christ in the middle of campus... you know how college students are.

    Bang for the buck

    Steep price tag, approximately $31,450 for room, board, and tuition. BUT many scholarships offered based on grades and an assortment of activities around campus. Definitely worth looking into, I'm hoping I get my moneys worth.

    What to do for fun

    Medium sized town with plenty to do, not to mention intramural activities on campus, plus about 25minutes from Nebraska's capital with plenty of entertainment their.

    Food and Dining

    Got the chance to eat at the cafeteria while visiting, great food and A LOT to choose from. Salad bar/buffet setup, pay one flat rate, go fill up your plates.

    Dorm Life

    Good sized dorms with 2beds each, and special dorm olympics for fun during the year.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't know, I haven't attended, but with small classes it's easier to get to know teachers and get help on a more personal level.

    In three sentences

    Loved the campus, gave you a homey feeling, and everyone knows everyone. Professors seem to truly care about their students and I can't wait to hopefully go here next fall. Price tag is a little steep but they offer many scholarships to help with that and it's a school worth looking into.

  • 09/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its safe here don't worry. Nothing happens in Seward.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Good selection.

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing wealthy students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    Great school but not really worth the price tag.

    What to do for fun

    If you want fun, Lincoln is a 30 minute drive from here.

    Food and Dining

    Its school food. Don't expect great food but its not terrible either.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms can be a bit better for the price tag.

    Academic Rigor

    Not hard at all if you keep up with your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be willing to be outgoing and meet people with cars. Don't get behind on your studies and always attend class.

    In three sentences

    Concordia is on the expensive side. The professors care here. The campus is small.