Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Concordia University-Texas Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/02/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Religious, focused, nature friendly, athletic!! Any kind of student really.

    Tips for prospective students

    Everyone on staff here is EXTREMELY nice and respective of everyone. They help in so many ways, it isn't like a typical University that has 300 people per class. They are small and collect so you get to know the professor and the professor gets to know you. It's a great experience

  • 02/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I am a business major and I highly recommend any business student to this school.

    Bang for the buck

    Private schools are a little on the expensive side but Concordia does give out scholarships for their students.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy being at Concordia because it's small and there's only 2 academic buildings so you don't have to walk every far. You get to know almost everyone in the college since there's only about 2,500 students.

    Am learning a lot

    Concordia makes their learning program very effective. There are most likely a maximum of 18 kids per class and it helps when you don't understand something, you can just raise your hand and ask. The teachers are always willing to help you out, some teachers go as far as giving you their cell phone numbers.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a more one on one relationship with professors and like smaller classroom sizes.

    Bang for the buck

    It's is expensive but they offer scholarships to the majority of their students and the financial advisors do a lot to try to help you out.

    What to do for fun

    lots! student activities always has something going on, like free paintball and dances.

    Food and Dining

    Don't have a meal plan but what I have tried tasted pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    science courses challenging but well worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class and stay organized! Plan out your 4 year college plan and make changes as needed. Utilize the free tutoring.

    In three sentences

    Concordia University has a killer nursing program! Everyone on campus is helpful, nice and the professors want you to succeed. The campus is also very beautiful with lots of trees.

  • 10/08/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Education, Kinesiology, Theology majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard no matter where you go and what your intended major will be.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private school but they dohave scholarship money. If it wasn't for the merit aid, I could not afford to come here.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is beautiful and quiet. Lots of trees.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot not just from lectures but from other opportunities, such as being a Student Ambassador.

  • 05/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Concordia is great for students who love small Christian schools. Someone who loves being at an amazing school with people who care about them, will love this school!

    Tips for prospective students

    If your not sure about whether you want to go to Concordia or not, tour the campus. There are tours every day at 10am and 2pm, these tours are given by students who know the campus and can answer any question you have. After this tour, you will know for sure whether or not you want to go. Go to discover.Concordia.edu to schedule a tour and find any information you need.

    Bang for the buck

    Concordia is a little expensive, but about %80 percent of students get Scholarships, most to cover all expenses. As long as you keep up your grades, you shouldn't have to worry about the money. I didn't really have great grades in high school so I didn't get enough scholarships to cover it, but it was still cheaper than a community college.

    Am enjoying being here

    Concordia is amazing, the campus is beautiful and everyone is so friendly. I love waking up every day, knowing that I get to walk out my door and be at Concordia. I wouldn't want to choose any other school.

    Am learning a lot

    All the teachers are amazing at Concordia and since the class size is small, there is a lot more one on one with the teacher. All the teachers are willing to help you with anything even if you aren't in their class.

  • 06/19/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If youre out doorsy.ha. then its great because its located on a nature preserve. Also if youre commited to your work because theres study rooms and great people to always help you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always take a campus visit before ruling out a school. I was almost going to skip over going to concordia now im headed to an amazing school.

    Bang for the buck

    I didnt do too awesome in school but i still get scholarship money.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus looks so fun and the people were really nice when i visited.

    Will learn a lot

    I made a visit and all the libraries and study rooms it looks so great and inviting.

  • 08/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    One-on-One learning from educators.

    Tips for prospective students

    The small classroom numbers make learning fun and provide the setting for great classes and friends.

    Bang for the buck

    Its Private. That says it all.

    Am enjoying being here

    Location provides a great environment for learning and friendships to grow.

    Am learning a lot

    All universities and colleges provide you with the tools to learn, you make the real learning happen not the institution. Challenge yourself. It makes the difference

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i would say that the campus is safe, a little to safe at times.

    Clubs and Activities

    not in any clubs but i support the men and women's basketball team. they're pretty awesome.

    What to do for fun

    i work and go to school, and support my sister on the basketball team. thats about the most fun i get.

    Food and Dining

    i don't eat in the cafeteria because i don't have a meal plan with the school. it's too expensive for me plus i don't stay close to the school.

    Dorm Life

    i don't know much about the dorms because i live off-campus.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do. Plus, it's in Austin. What isn't there to do?

    Food and Dining

    Food has its routine foods as well as new stuff for trying out constantly.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great except for the occasional person that annoys you, but every college has that. You and your roommate have your own restrooms!

    Academic Rigor

    There are challenging courses from the very beginning. They are not impossible, but they will challenge you from time to time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be scared to make friends. As a matter of fact, friends make themselves. Don't be scared to talk to your professors because they are more than willing to help.

    In three sentences

    Great school to attend since the students and teachers can be classified into something much bigger, a family. There is always something going for students to attend and participate. It's overall a great school if you want to be an actual student and not just a number.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working adults for the Fort Worth Accelerated Degree Program

    Bang for the buck

    Concordia has a wonderful program for working adults to complete their degree in a reasonable amount of time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard to complete the assignments but know the faculty is fair and understanding that we are all working full time jobs and returning to school to further our careers.

    In three sentences

    Concordia's accelerated degree program is the perfect fit for working adults. It's the simplest approach I've discovered to complete my degree timely. The classes are challenging and enjoyable.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Lutherans!!!!! also, those who love the quiet of being surrounded by nature

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    visiting campus? take a picture with the luther statue. also check out the bell from St. Johns (a college in kansas that closed and sent the bell and an organ to concordia)

    Bang for the buck

    If I keep my grades up, they will give me scholarships to pay for half of my schooling.

    Food and Dining

    pretty good from what I have had attending a camp on campus

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are sooo nice! they all come with a microwave an mini-fridge, and you only have to share a bathroom with your dormmate.

    Academic Rigor

    they have an honors program I'm excited to be joining

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to Seaworld.

    Food and Dining

    Plenty of restaurants in the area.

    Academic Rigor

    Give yourself plenty of time to work on your assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    One thing at a time!!!

    In three sentences

    Concordia is great place to learn. Concordia has made it possible to get a degree and work fulltime. Concordia University-Texas has been a blessing in my life.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is on call and available 24/7 even on holidays and provide escorts during the evening hours for all students or faculty that request it. Security is always on patrol and take their jobs serious so safety is not an issue at all.

    Great for these types of students

    Social students with big aspirations that want a small school in the perfect college town, Austin, Texas.

    Bang for the buck

    Majority of services and accommodations usually only found at larger universities.

    What to do for fun

    Student lounge has pool tables ping pong tables along with flat screen tvs. There is a gym and basketball court that's not only accessible to student athletes but students as well. Many sites to see and enjoy that are minutes away from campus such as dining and lake Travis.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe provides wonderful food choices that are not only healthy but delicious as well. Along with the cafe there is an on campus Starbucks that never fails to give great service.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life definitely stands apart from the typical on campus housing that most students encounter. Each dorm room is occupied by only 2 students, with furniture already provided. The RA's are wonderful and very understanding, there are few if any issues ever when it comes to living on campus. In addition to great RA's there are also many social gatherings planned for the students who choose to live on campus like various movie and game nights along which are always coupled with plenty of free food.

    Academic Rigor

    Just because size is compromised at this university don't make the assumption that the academics are as well. It is the exact opposite here, because of the small classroom size students get more direct attention in all classes which is very useful to incoming freshmen that may not grasp the material as quickly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to become invloved or go to the many on campus social gatherings that Student Life organizes. Utilize the library, it provides top notch services such as a law database that usually is only available once you get to law school, and not to mention free printing.

    In three sentences

    Concordia University Texas is unique. It gives the size of a small school, with the education value that rivals any major 4 year university. One word describes Concordia University Texas best, family.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's a private school. It's pricey. That being said, they offer a lot of financial aid, and there's a big world of scholarships out there.

    What to do for fun

    Austin is a great town for young people. If you're sporty or outdoorsy, you will never run out of places to visit and activities to try. If you're into music, you can catch live shows any and every day of the week. The greater challenge may be staying in to study!

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is good and reasonably priced!

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be shy about keeping in frequent contact with instructors and administrators at Concordia. They want to get to know you, and you will find that your educational experience is much smoother with good communication.

    In three sentences

    Concordia is a friendly, small school with professors who care. Class sizes are small, allowing students and instructors to get to know one another, and facilitating high quality instruction. The campus is beautiful.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go out and enjoy the city, or play some sand volleyball at the dorms

    Food and Dining

    Always something new in the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is fun due to the fact that everyone wants to meet everyone

    Academic Rigor

    Its not the type of place where you want to slack around. You will get left behind

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont be afraid to step out of the box, live a little. You only get one chance to do this so do it to the maximum.

    In three sentences

    Its a loving place, where everyone is cared for mentally and emotionally. My school is like a close nit family, wanting you to succeed at every turn in life. To sum it all up My school is perfect for me.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is secured by real police and they are doing their jobs like this is an average environment but a little less strict because it is a college but if you do the wrong thing, they will address it the situation like real cops!

    Clubs and Activities

    The women's basketball team and administration is wonderful and they are conference champions!

    What to do for fun

    Check out the different parks available and check out down town!

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. They try to have different foods for taste everyday. The drink stations are clean and they have plenty of desserts.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is neat and respectful of your privacy. They have simple rules for each age range.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are straight to the point. All the professors want from the student is to be communicative. If you do that, the bond between you and the teacher will turn out great.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to learn the value of family, this is the place to come. If you like every sport besides football, this is the place to come.

    In three sentences

    I would rate this campus on a scale of 1 through 5 a 4. The people here are very caring but it is a small campus. Overall it is a very nice campus and a good place to get good knowledge of family.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are great and help out with everything. They constantly are helping around campus and will help people if they need escorted around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    education club, business club, service learning (community service),

    Great for these types of students

    Looking to get involved with community service and like the small campus feel where you get to know the names of the same people you see every day.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    you can hammock off the trees of the preserve where you're allowed.

    Bang for the buck

    At Schlotzsky's across the street from the school you get free drinks and chips if you show your id.

    What to do for fun

    If you get involved in intramural sports then there is something for you to do at night. The lobby is a great place for ping pong and Foosball, down in the lobby of the dorms there is also pool Foosball ping pong and everything. I would reccomend things not too far away to see around campus like Mt. Bonnell, Emma Long Park and the hiking trail there, the mall is pretty good but kind of small compared to others.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great but after awhile you will get bored of the same thing i suggest having your own food a few nights a week or else you will be tired of everything. There is a variety but if you're picky its not much when it comes down to it.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great compared to other older schools. With the school built in 2008 you get a great space and area for you and your roommate. No yucky community showers and you move into a room with great conditions not a broken down mess. You have easy access into the dorms. Only down fall is if you dont get close parking you are left to walk down from the parking lot and that is alot if you dont want to after a long day.

    Academic Rigor

    I think many classes are academically tough but can definitely handle if you were able to handle regular or AP courses you just have to stay on top of your work. Be sure you take advice of upperclassmen when they help you sign up for classes. some professors are great teachers and you definitively want to learn from them then others are to rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will not love this school if you do not love the small class size. I would be cautious in taking out many loans and attend if you can afford it properly. I would get involved in this school there will be many things to get involved in and you will help many people.

    In three sentences

    A great school with amazing kind people but the ways to pay are hard if you do not have the money it is mostly loans. The sports life is great and fun events to go to. The small class size is perfect to learn in.

  • 01/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Intramural sports, student activities.

    Food and Dining

    Food is actually good. May not have restaurants like other schools but I have been told that the food made in the cafeteria is better than most

    Dorm Life

    Good could be better. There are a lot of planned activities for students to do.

    Academic Rigor

    Small classes so less distractions and teachers are there to help even one on one.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school for academics. Athletics are great

    In three sentences

    It is a nice campus with a lot of nature. Small college so its a tight knit college community. Classes are small and teachers are willing to help students in every aspect.

  • 04/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Wonderful campus police, very friendly and welcoming!

    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Christian leaders.

    Bang for the buck

    I love the location!

    What to do for fun

    Play sand volleyball

    Food and Dining

    They have a wonderful selection and variety! They have vegetarian and gluten free options. They always have pizza!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It's challenging but you are able to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Watch out for snakes!

    In three sentences

    Concordia University Texas is great small school, filled with great Christian people who really care. It is located on a gorgeous nature preserve, not too far from downtown Austin. I've had many great learning experiences doing service work and being a part of the community with my fellow peers.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the galaxy theatre across the street. Join in on the student activities on campus. Go support your favorite school sports team.

    Food and Dining

    The caf has a decent menu selection. The menu changes on a pretty regular basis. The food is alright.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are decently sized. There are not enough dorms to house all students. Most students live in the surrounding apartment complexes.

    Academic Rigor

    The school depending on which classes and major you are taking can be difficult. I do not feel it is as difficult as University of Texas or A&M. However, I would put it on par with Texas State and or Texas Tech.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus, you will fall in love with the scenery. Go meet your potential dean and a few of the professors. Join the honors program.

    In three sentences

    Concordia has great class sizes. Most professors are good. The college of business is impeccable.

  • 07/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are sand volleyball courts located on campus, not to mention the endless opportunities to join and intramural league! Also, there's an array of volunteer opportunities to enjoy if you love serving the community. And let's not forget about the formals and Lake Travis yacht/party barge gatherings that Student Activities throw!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a place to make friends for a life time and to further your education in a fun environment, Concordia is the place for you. The campus is located on a nature preserve, so the view is flawless and spring time is beautiful. All of the professors are very involved in your life, and the small classes make for great discussions rather than boring lectures!

    In three sentences

    Concordia University Texas is a private university who strives to develop strong, Christian leaders. There are many activities for students, such as Tornado Tuesday, where Student activities sets up free snacks for the students. I have grown and learned an immense amount on how to be a well-rounded citizen and Christian leader.

  • 11/24/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always felt very safe on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like smaller class sizes and professors who know your name and genuinely care about you (if you invest in their classes) this is the place for you! The teaching staff at Concordia is truly phenomenal.

    Bang for the buck

    It's quite expensive, but there are a lot of scholarship options. I had 2/3 of my tuition payed for by academic scholarship.

    What to do for fun

    The gym is small, but nice, there's volleyball courts and a really nice lounge with everything from video games to ping-pong tables. Downtown Austin is only a 20 minute drive away. And there's usually some sort of event on campus every weekend.

    Food and Dining

    I have celiac disease (meaning I can't eat gluten) and a milk allergy, which granted, makes dining difficult. However, the only milk alternative they had was soy, and sometimes not even that, and had no alternatives to bread, pasta, etc. that were gluten-free.

    Academic Rigor

    Higher level major classes were occasionally difficult, but for the most part I had little issue with keeping a 4.0.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sit at the front of lectures and make sure your professors know your name. Make a sleeping/class/homework/work schedule and stick to it. Don't go to class in your pajamas. Ever.

    In three sentences

    The professors at Concordia are fantastic. The students are, on average, friendly and moderately intelligent. The administration, registrar's office, etc. however, are a serious hassle to deal with.

  • 02/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Austin is an amazing city with many different types of entertainment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep to deadlines, think ahead and don't stop dreaming.

    In three sentences

    A very unique university to attend. Classes, teachers and work load are all amazing. Nothing short of amazing.