Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Concordia University-Wisconsin Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/22/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Concordia is a good school for students who look to grow in knowledge and spirit. It is especially good for students looking to get into programs such as Athletic Training and business. Concordia offers a lot of opportunities for its students to grow in these two areas.

    Tips for prospective students

    Student looking to get into Concordia should take classes offered in high school related to their planned major. They should know what they want to do so they are not paying to go to this school without some idea.

    Bang for the buck

    Concordia is a school that includes many great programs including Athletic Training. The school works with many of its students in order to try and help them afford their schooling and get the best education they can give. However, Concordia is not a school to go to if you are undecided because in such a case the University would be a little expensive.

    Am enjoying being here

    Concordia is a place many people enjoy being at. While you are very sheltered at this school, students can feel safe and really focus on school and their career paths. I feel that by going to other schools, I would not be as focused as I am here. Also, the classes are small allowing the proffessors to know the students on more of a personal level. There are also a lot of opportunities for the students to transform Concordia into anything they want it to be.

    Am learning a lot

    Concordia University is known for having one of the top Athletic Training Education Programs in the country. In my first semester as a freshman I have already begun to learn a lot about my major and have begun practicing skills that are necessary for athletic training. Not only have I grown in my knowledge but Concordia also strives in helping its students to grow in their knowledge of the bible and Jesus. I have also gained additional knowledge in this way.

  • 01/10/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This is a good education but if you don't know what your major is, I would recommend another school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am making a lot of friends with the small classroom sizes and everybody is extremely close to one another. There is definitely a sense of community at this school.

    Am learning a lot

    The education classes here prepare students for the career paths in teaching. Students must complete clinical hours which get the students in the front of a classroom and prepare them to be comfortable.

  • 02/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those wanting to become teachers, nurses, or work anywhere in the business field. There are a lot of athletes too.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to come and check the campus out, there are many tours given each week. If you want a couple days experience, there are opportunities to stay with a current student here too.

    Bang for the buck

    Because it is a private university, it is expensive. (All universities are.) Overall, I think the quality of education given and the location of the campus makes it all worth it. The majority of dorms are in great condition and there are plans to build even better ones. There are scholarships available which makes things easier too!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the atmosphere here! The students here are so welcoming and kind. There are always opportunities and clubs to join to do something new, meet great people, and get away from the school work. There are movies shown, several intramural sports to play, ways to grow closer to Christ, and a gorgeous lake to gaze at and listen to. Even when it's cold out we're protected by the underground tunnels connecting the whole campus. It's a great excuse to stay in slippers all day.

    Am learning a lot

    I am an education major and one of the greatest ways to see if you have the potential of becoming a great teacher is through observing and practicing. At CUW, we're provided many hours each year to go to schools, work with children, and learn through experience- not just through lecture. During class time at CUW, we still learn a lot through tips, instructions, and great strategies we can use in our future classrooms.

  • 06/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize all of your resources! They are made available to students for a reason, use them! Do not be embarassed to ask for help or to ask questions, for all you know someone else may have the same question as you do.

    Bang for the buck

    Concordia's educational programs are very worth the money that you pay. Because it is a private university it is a bit more costly but it is VERY worth it. The small class sizes and the atmosphere of the school is very welcoming. Also, because of this, in contrast to a public school, you are not just a number to your professors here, they know you by name and build relationships with you as their students.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at Concordia are very willing to make time to individually get to know their students. This makes it comforting to be able to utilize their office hours, meeting them outside of class to ask additional questions and recieve the needed help. The tutoring program at Concordia was also very helpful for me because you are getting the help that you need, on your schedule, with a current student. Knowing that this person was once in your spot makes it more comforting to ask questions to someone your own age, reviewing anything that you may need additional understanding on. The class sizes here make it easy to ask questions and interact not only with the professor themselves but the students as well.

  • 06/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who live in WI. Want a good education without so much financial burden. Like small classes and caring teachers. Want to go to an art school but cant afford it-->art majors If you like healthy learning environments

    Tips for prospective students

    Reach out to teachers, and other students in your classes especially if you aren't going to live on campus. And go to school early for a tour. Believe me it helps you find your classes when it comes to the first day of school.

    Bang for the buck

    For a private school education, I am paying a lot less than I did for public school out of state. If you live in WI, definitly look CUW up. They have more majors that I liked, than other schools, and they also have majors that partner with sister schools. I am an art major and half of my curriculum I learn at Concordia, and the other half I get to go to an ART SCHOOL! Great bang for your buck because many art schools are very expensive.

    Am enjoying being here

    I don't know a lot of people yet, but I am hopeful. There isn't as much diversity as I would like but I know that CUW has a lot of dances and other functions outside as well as inside of school so you can meet people. I plan on going to most of them this upcoming school year. Did I mention the school is right on the lake?! Very pretty. And theyre building new additions to the school.

    Am learning a lot

    I have gone to private schools my entire life. Since the first grade I have known the same group of people. When I graduated high school, I wanted to leave Wisconsin and try public school. I met some interesting people, but to be honest, I felt like the education I received was not worth the $30,000 I had to pay. Concordia has teachers that CARE if you pass or fail. At many public schools, the teachers don't care about pushing you. I don't feel like another face in the crowd at CUW. I feel like I matter!

  • 07/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All students. It's great for people that are not big fans of heavy urban environments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get classes that are taught by regular teachers, not adjuncts. Also, take advantage of the library.

    Bang for the buck

    It could be cheaper, and the meal program could have some tweaks made to it. They now charge to park your car. However, the plays and concerts are very cheap.

    Am enjoying being here

    I'm loving this school. I have some good friends here, and I'm having fun with all the activities.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is a great fit for me. The teachers are true to their beliefs, and they are fantastic! The extracurriculars help us learn, as well.

  • 07/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Concordia has many great opportunities open to every type of student. Those who are not happy at Concordia are not happy because they do not search out activities that they are interested in and get involved with them. Get involved as soon as you can! If you want a party school, don't go to Concordia. If you want a great sense of community, small class sizes, and a great education, choose Concordia.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a car to campus. If you don't, you will have almost nothing to do on campus, and there is not a lot within walking distance. If you don't have a car, make friends with someone who does, quickly. If you like coffee, bring your own coffee maker because the coffee shop is closed on weekends.

    Bang for the buck

    I could have gone somewhere cheaper, but I am happy with my academic program and with the amount of financial aid I am receiving. I also feel that getting a degree from Concordia will put me in a better position to find a job I am happy with than if I had gone to a public, less expensive school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the students and there are many opportunities for involvement and on-campus activities. However, the campus basically shuts down on the weekends- although they are working to fix this. Also, Mequon is not a great college town, but they are also working on ways to make Mequon more of a community for Concordia students. Overall, it's a great campus.

    Am learning a lot

    I am studying occupational therapy and could not be more pleased with the academic portion of my Concordia experience. I was able to begin taking classes related to my major in my freshman year, instead of having to finish a lot of prerequisites first. The small class sizes make it very easy to get to know your professor and to get help from them whenever you need it.

  • 08/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    The tips that I would give prospective students it to go to social events. Don't be shy. I have not met one mean or stuck up person while being in Concordia. You will make friends. You just have to open up and let yourself be you. Talk to anyone. I would also suggest to map our your classes before you go the next morning because on your first day you may get a little confused! If you walk around the campus enough you will learn the whole campus in no time! I would really also suggest tutoring for classes you are struggling with. I was never tutored in high school and never thought I would need to be. I took advanced anatomy and physiology my first year at Concordia and tutoring really helped me get an A in the class. You can get practice tests from tutoring that help you understand what you know and what you need to work on. Another suggest would be for your meal plan to pick the meal plan with 10 meals a week and 400 Falcon Points. I think that, that is the best meal plan to go with. You will have enough points and not have to worry about running out at the end of the semester. However, if you want to eat breakfast in the cafeteria everyday I would suggest the 15 meals a week and 200 falcon points. I hope that helped!

    Bang for the buck

    Honestly, Concordia is not any more expensive than any other University. Of course college in general is expensive. If you wanted a really cheap college a two year program at a technical college would be the way to go. If you want to attend a University however, Concordia is really priced out the same. It seems like it's more expensive by the face cover price but Concordia gives you their own scholarships and grants which makes it even out to other University's. Sometimes it's even cheaper!

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love being at Concordia! It is a smaller school so you get to become very close with everyone. You will make many friends and everyone is willing to talk to you and get to know you. We have events on campus to get to meet people such as dances, movies, bonfires, and lots of other stuff! It is a beautiful campus and you are right on the water and also close to a big city if you want to go for a night out to the city. They also have intramural sports which are very fun to do. They have classes every night that anyone can go to such as zumba and kickboxing. Also, during the winter you don't have to walk outside to get to your classes! There are tunnels connecting the whole entire school. I think that anyone would fit in at this school and definitely enjoy it.

    Am learning a lot

    I learned so much my first semester of college! It was a lot different than high school. You have small classes and you and the teachers take time to let you get to know everyone in your class. Also you get to know your teacher. They will know you by name at least by the end of the first month unlike other colleges where the teacher will never know you by name or who you are. The teachers are very caring and they want to see you pass. They will answer any of your questions and take time out of their day to help you. They will never let you fall behind. I would definitely recommend this school if you want to really learn everything for your major. I've had a professional tell me that their best employee was from Concordia and that they knew more than any other employee when they first started!

  • 06/18/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    Looks like a beautiful campus

  • 10/12/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christians who want to further their faith and their education at the same time.

    Bang for the buck

    Though the college seems more expensive, when you consider the grants and scholarships you will receive WHY WOULDN'T YOU ATTEND???!!!!! A little bit extra money to spend on college will pay off when you are getting a better education and furthering your faith in a nurturing environment.

    Will enjoy being here

    There seems to be a lot to do on campus from zumba classes to walks on the bluff, there always seems like something to do. Also from my research I have discovered that Milwaukee is ONLY 15 minutes away!!!!! Also the students seem to be wonderful people who uplift one another. I will not know anyone at the school, but I am not worried about making friends.

    Will learn a lot

    From what I have read, the educational aspect of this school is phenomenal. Also, I have met several people who have attended Concordia and have stressed to me how their learning experience was not like any other.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many different things to do on campus and even off campus if you want to drive. We live about a half hour away from Milwaukee where you can do all sorts of different things. For on campus, we have CAB (campus activity board) that does a lot of different activities on campus and even off. They plan different events that include movie nights, dances, brewer game outings, etc. We also have different groups you can get involved with like SGA (student government association), Sports, and we have different groups connected to our Campus Ministry team that helps you grow in your faith and lets you give back to your community.

    Food and Dining

    Concordia has great food and food choices. We have our cafeteria which is a buffet style with a salad bar and an ice cream bar (similar to cold stone creamery). We are currently building a student union for the 2012-2013 academic school year where we will have more choices of food similar to a food court style.

    Dorm Life

    Even if you live close to campus, I suggest that you stay on campus for at least a year. I am going to be a senior this coming 2012-2013 school year and I have lived on campus for 3 years. You meet so many great people living on campus and I can say that I have found friends that I will keep in touch with after we all graduate. Living on campus is also convenient, because the dorms are connected to the whole campus either by hall ways or underground tunnels so you don't have to go outside if you don't want to. Its a little easier to get to classes and easier to get to on campus activities that go on during the school year.

    Academic Rigor

    Concordia is set on helping you with your academic goals. If you are struggling with a class or two, you can get a free tutor provided by the school. If you need help starting a paper, revising or editing it, or even need help with the formatting or style, the writing center is available for free to help you with that. Also, if you have a learning disability of some sort Concordia and its professors will work with you to achieve your goals academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for smaller classrooms and personable professors, then Concordia is right for you. I have been here for 3 years already and have loved every minute of it. I came to Concordia for the loving environment that was portrayed, the beautiful campus (we are right by Lake Michigan so you can see the view of the lake and we have our own bluff with a beach where students are able to have bonfires on occasion), the small classrooms with the personable professors, and because it was a Lutheran school. If you are looking for these things then Concordia is right for you. There are many opportunities to get involved and my advice to you is to get involved as much as you can, because that is where you begin to build relationships with the people you come across with at your time at Concordia.

    In three sentences

    Concordia is a great community to be a part of. You are able to get to know your professor and he/she to get to know you to help you with the course you are taking because of the smaller classrooms, the campus is wonderful by Lake Michigan, and you can definitely grow in your faith and relationships with others.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not the best Campus Safety, but in this small Christian environment it doesn't need to be.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive and it is rather hard to pay the tuition, but once you do it's a great time to spend learning, and thinking

    Food and Dining

    Lots of choice, and lots of different things to eat, but it isn't home cooked meals, and for that it does get old after a while

    Dorm Life

    Friendly RAs and RDs, that are always willing to help solve problems, and become friends. Great dorms, Concordia is willing to expand and improve

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging academics, as long as you want them to be, yet not so hard that you can't keep up with them

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to keep up with your grades. The teachers wil help as long as you ask, but that does not mean it will be easy. A great learning environment.

    In three sentences

    An amazing place to study, whether you want to do it in the library, or outside, looking at the lake. The academics are challenging, yet the teachers, and fellow students are friendly and encouraging. A great place to learn about Christ and all he did for us.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we are in the middle of nowhere so there isn't much to hurt us.

    Great for these types of students

    students that are used to the close proximity, people from small towns and small families.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are nine other concodias around the country.

    Bang for the buck

    for how much i am paying i am not getting what i should quality wise. there are many things that we could do better with all the money we get from the students.

    What to do for fun

    there isn't much to do at school but we are changing that. go out to the next biggest city.

    Food and Dining

    food quality is good and i think we are doing a better job with coming up with new types foods.

    Dorm Life

    the differences in dorms are reliant, making the kids that done have great grades stay in bad great dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    their educational promise is high but the teachers could find better ways to teach the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    figure out how much you would like to be a college student and how much of your faith you would like to be in your everyday schooling.

    In three sentences

    this is a very closed in school with a very heave faith based school. the educational promise is something to be proud of here, but the freedom that the kids have here is very slim. that would be the only reason that new students would not come here is the freedom to be a college student.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety of the campus is so good that sometimes campus safety is annoying or you can't get in some doors with your id.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is everything from culinary club to design to math to sports. There is something for every student.

    Great for these types of students

    Concordia is great for students who are very community oriented, religious, and looking for a safe and friendly environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is chapel every day at 9:30am in which many professors, staff, and students attend.

    Bang for the buck

    I think Concordia is worth what I pay for it because I know they will always be there to provide me with resources for job searches and the environment of the school is great.

    What to do for fun

    The campus activity board is always looking to put on an event for students. We have dances, hypnotists, bands, Deal or No Deal, zumba, kickboxing, movies, and more. There is also a beach and bluff which provide a great place to exercise, take photos, or enjoy the weather.

    Food and Dining

    There are currently four options for dining and I heard we are looking to expand. There is a coffee shop, sub/ soup/ ice cream shop, cafeteria with numerous options, and a grill. The hours on weekends are not very convenient though.

    Dorm Life

    All of the dorms at Concordia and smoke and alcohol free, have quiet hours, and opposite sex hours. With that said, I haven't experienced any problems living in the dorms here and all of the dorms and buildings are connected so you never have to go outside. All of the dorms have a special quality, some have bathrooms, some are suites, some are very large, and some have living rooms and individual rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Concordia obviously has a difficult curriculum like any other university, but the academic services, available tutoring, and teachers make it easy to understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students looking to attend Concordia should be aware of the services the school provides and take advantage of the advisors. Prospective students should not be afraid and enjoy the people here because it is a truly safe environment.

    In three sentences

    Concordia is a community oriented university interested in the success of all of its past, present, and future students. This university is constantly trying to update, remodel, and stay up to date with the latest and nicest facilities and technology. Professors are friendly and care about the success of the students.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the bluff

    Food and Dining

    pretty good, getting better

    Dorm Life

    superb

    In three sentences

    Concordia University is a wonderful college academically and spiritually based. It is expanding and growing. Love it!

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have really tight security which makes for a super safe campus, but also kind of strict campus too.

    Clubs and Activities

    Way too many to list, there is literally something for everyone. Concordia Business Club is a new and exciting one though, a personal favorite because it helps students connect with professionals in the real world. If there isn't a club you like, you can easily start one too.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Week of welcome is so much fun! Also, you have to go to all the dances, especially the Spring Fling because they rock.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the beach and have a campfire Run on the bluff Find some clubs! Hang out in the BBC

    Food and Dining

    Could be better, but they are always open to new ideas and suggestions, and every year they give us more dining places and options.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great, the RA's are always planning great activities, plus we have some of the nicest dorms in Wisconsin!

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging, but maybe not so much as a top tier school. It really does depend on your major though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved on campus, there is something for everyone.

    In three sentences

    Concordia has possibly the nicest students and professors you will ever meet. Everyone cares about each other. The campus is beautiful, especially with Lake Michigan and we have our own beach.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This school is beyond safe, and I feel secure walking anywhere alone, even at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    Unfortunately, there aren't many activities here that don't involve religion if your not into that.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard workers, someone looking for a small, secluded school with a beautiful view.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Concordia has a huge lakefront that is so beautiful, and a beach to boot!

    What to do for fun

    Swim, bike, and just hang out!

    Food and Dining

    The food here is fantastic!!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are usually quiet and cleaned well, however the rooms are small as is to be expected

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are difficult, but it's worth it to get your degree

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't forget to bring extra fans!!

    In three sentences

    This school has such a unique and safe campus. The staff and students make you feel welcome from day one. No matter what your religious affiliation, Concordia is a great school to consider.

  • 09/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    lots of different on campus activities

    Tips for prospective students

    stay on top of homework

    In three sentences

    great atmosphere

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 34

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I love the school, the teachers and students are all very friendly and make you feel welcome. The classes are very small and you get a lot of 1 on 1 time. The campus is absolutley goregous!!

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Present if needed but never really needed

    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    Multiple Athletic Groups

    Great for these types of students

    religous and serious students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    Not a location for the frugal student as tuition is 37,000.00 a year

    What to do for fun

    Attend sport activities

    Food and Dining

    Good food on site and always changing options

    Dorm Life

    I am not sure as I dont live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    Quite intensive

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have already obtained your Associates degree make sure to apply for outside scholarships as non are available to students going for their bachelors.

    In three sentences

    A good place to get an intensive education for your new profession when re-entering the competitive working field.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Shop!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do e-learning! Sure beats going to class!!

    In three sentences

    Small school. Nice professors. Distance learning.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Safe campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Good variety, it really depends on what you are into.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes.....good Division III School for Sports

    Bang for the buck

    All buildings are linked together and you don't have to go outside on cold winter days!

    What to do for fun

    Go to sporting events and events on campus and go into Cedarburg or Milwaukee.

    Food and Dining

    OK....some different options with meal plan and points. It is what it is!

    Dorm Life

    Big room and lots of variety of room options. Upper classman have even better options but that's like most schools. The dorm on the lake....not so good cell service but that's what happens when your right on Lake Michigan

    Academic Rigor

    Good teachers who get to know you. Academics are not easy but not difficult either.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make a visit to the campus and talk with advisor in the school or program you are interested in.

    In three sentences

    Nice size school on a beautiful location. Solid academics and good christian foundation behind everything they do. Lots to do and good location just north of Milwaukee, so try it, you'll like it!

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe and Campus Safety wont bother you unless you deserve it.

    Greek Life

    There is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs you can join. At the beginning of the year there is a entire day geared towards helping students find the groups that best suit them.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive but in comparison to other schools you get a pretty good deal here.

    What to do for fun

    I play sports with friends or go to the music room and play the piano.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but eventually you get tired of it. But for the amount of people they are cooking for they take care of you.

    Dorm Life

    It depends what dorm your in. You want to get into Coburg or Regents but if your a freshman you will have to be pretty lucky to get that. Enjoy your time living on campus because you will never have another opportunity like it in your life. Dont take it for granted.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on your teachers and your major but if you put the work in you'll succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your requests for rooms and roommates in early and be specific in your requests. Save and make sure you have extra money to spend. Remember books are not cheap and your gonna nee school supplies and things for your room. Be prepared for all of that.

    In three sentences

    Concordia University is a very pleasant place to be. The people are friendly. The teachers are smart and personable and the campus is beautiful.

  • 02/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I'm a basketball nerd so in my free time I either shoot hoops or work out in the fitness center. There are also many Student Organizations that one can join. From dance clubs, to singing clubs, to you name it and CUW has it. There is always something for someone to do around campus. If you cant find anything to do, I suggest you head to what we call The Nest and get something to eat.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide variety of food to choose from including healthy meals. You'll have the typical burger, pizza, fries, subs and what not and it's pretty well made. There are salad and pasta bars which are the more healthier meals to choose from. We also have a shop that has Chinese food as well for the interantional flavor lovers. Then there is breakfast, lunch, and dinner being served in the main cafeteria throughout the day. There are lots of varieties to choose from depending on whatever the person craves which is great.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is probably one of my favorite aspects of CUW. The people are quite friendly and everybody knows each other because it's a tight community. There are always little gatherings for events such as the Super Bowl, Grammys, and NBA All-Star Weekend where we all just get to know one another better and enjoy whatever is being watched.

    Academic Rigor

    Overall, the professors are very caring and helpful. They'll be more than willing to help you understand the material and homework. That's really what makes school not stressful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be who you are. Don't be that person that tries to fit in. There are other people out there who are like you and those are the people you want to put yourself around because they will accept you for who you are.

    In three sentences

    Concordia University is a very homey institution. It's baisically high school with dorms. The class sizes are small so there is one on one time with the professors and overall it's great.

  • 03/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Many different opportunities!

    Bang for the buck

    Can be expensive, but with scholarships it is affordable!

    Food and Dining

    It depends on when and where you are eating. The food is decent, but never as good as a homemade meal at home!

    Dorm Life

    Most rooms are homie and spacious. It is a college campus, so it is not perfect, but it is a nice environment to study and make friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are made to challenge you, but they are not too difficult to the point where you don't have any free time. Different majors/semesters will have a varied course load.

    In three sentences

    Concordia is a wonderful university that gives students a chance to excel academically and socially. With a wide variety of courses and extracurriculars, Concordia has given me a great experience thus far. It is a great school for students in many different majors.

  • 03/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Distance learners!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't lived on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of things in the area and right on the lake!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply!

    In three sentences

    Great online learning environment that is flexible for adults pursuing advanced degrees.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we are right on Lake Michigan and its a very beautiful sight if your lucky to get a room in Coburg dorms, usually upper class man dorms.

    What to do for fun

    well for me i love to play pool but some people here don't have respect for the things here at concordia and break the pool cues and just do unnecessary things.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you plan on coming to concordia, plan for a good learning environment and a lot of room to expand your learning.

    In three sentences

    concordia is a good liberal arts school and helps you get in touch with christ in the class and out of class. its programs are pretty well rounded and educates you pretty good.

  • 10/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety to very good. They are there relatively quick if needed; they listen to you concerns when you address them with some, and they are willing to go out of their way to be helpful.

    What to do for fun

    The best thing I enjoy is walking along the water front. It's a great way to enjoy the view, fresh air , and meet new people. There are groups you can join, activities you can par take in, places to drive to. The shopping mall is less that 10 minutes from the school along with a great deal of restaurants to set at. The movie theater is just down the road, as well. There is plenty to do both on and off the campus to keep you busy.

    Food and Dining

    Not bad at all. THere is a very good variety of food choices from the cafeteria, to vending machines, to snack bars and more. A great healthy selection to pick from as well. Easy student account cards to load with cash to work with and friendly service from the students who work in all areas of the food departments.

    Dorm Life

    I am unable to give input on dorm life, I am a commuter at for the last 2 years. However I have been on the dorm floors and the rooms are rather generous in size depending on the dorm you enter and the number of students you share a dorm room with. Privacy is pretty good , and the students seem to be satisfied.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent options to pick from. The programs are in depth and cover ever aspect in detail that is imaginable. You will have no problem finding what you need,making friends,exploring new horizons, and finding out what you are truly made of with the programs here. Just put your best foot forward, and give it your very best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your time in making choices, talk to the students; talk to the advisors and most of all: make sure to get involved with financial aid! You need to follow up on paperwork, class enrollments, and financial expectations. Always be on top of things, and when n doubt, NEVER BE AFRAID TO ASK FOR HELP! It is all well worth the effort. You will be amazed with the input you will receive.

    In three sentences

    I rate concordai at a A- it ha a wide variety of wonderful classes and programs for all students to get involved in. The staff is outstanding and the students are remarkable to deal with.

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Heard it was excellent

    Greek Life

    None that I'm aware of

    Great for these types of students

    Working adults, first time college-students

    What to do for fun

    No actual experience but Milwaukee has an abundance of things to do and see.

    Food and Dining

    no experienc

    Dorm Life

    no experience

    Academic Rigor

    Accelerated learning has allowed me to work and raise my family. I attended school 4 hours per week, one night a week and have approximately 20 hours of home work, yet each class is finished in 6 weeks. It seems it goes by much faster than the traditional way of college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Class sizes are small, we all become family to each other. Most of us in the same major are usually in the same classes each semester so you get to know people as you finish your degree. Whether you live on campus or consider the accelerated adult program (which I have), you will have made the right choice.

    In three sentences

    Concordia University is family to me. The focus is on education with a Christian background. Instructors are knowledgeable and greatly accessable.

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel really safe at Concordia. I can leave my computer in the library, quick go grab something to eat and come back thirty minutes later and all my stuff still be there. Security campus is really friendly.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life, which I love! I do not like fraternities or sororities because I do not like the message it comes with it. A lot of people that i know in fraternities and sororities have personality characteristics that I do not like and therefore I am glad that there aren't these organizations at Concordia.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs students can join. The first week that school promoted a lot of clubs to join, educating students about the clubs, and encouraging their involvement.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are outgoing, wanting to learn, and are focused on there studies should attend Concordia. Concordia is an academically challenging school, but that just means the students will be more prepared for the real world. The student has to be serious about their future and dedicated to their studies.

    Bang for the buck

    Concordia is really expensive. I wish that I had actually taken the price more into consideration when I applied and accepted schools. I believe Concordia would get more students if the tuition was not so high. Although it is really expensive, I think the education I am receiving is great.

    What to do for fun

    Concordia has fun activities every once and awhile. I personally like the amount of activities because I spend most of my time studying. I rarely attend the activities but my friend join them a lot and have fun. Sometimes they wish there was more activities.

    Food and Dining

    I wish there was more options. Especially on the weekends when the cafeteria is closed and the nest. I wish the food was fresher and not as greasy. The food in the nest is not very healthy. The only thing we can get for meal swipes is fattening and if I want to get something healthy I have to use points or spend money.

    Dorm Life

    I am a transfer student into the nursing program and I am roomed with girls who are younger than me and are in less challenging courses. I would have rather been roomed with students who are being challenged just as much as me. There are times where they don't have school until later or don't have to study as hard as I do and they stay up late at night. I would personally like more students living on campus, so trying to promote housing on campus or creating some benefits for living on campus would be a great plus and encourage students to live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I am in the nursing program and the program is not what I am use to. I usually achieve above average grades but this program really challenges me and causes me to work harder to achieve average grades. Considering I will have an occupation that will save lives or risk people's lives if I don't know how to do my job correctly, I am glad that this program is so hard. I want to be a good nurse and in order to be so I will have to be challenged., which is exactly what Concordia does.

    Tips for prospective students

    Concordia is not a party, going out every night, academically easy school. At Concordia you have to work hard to get good grades and if you want to have fun you kinda have to make your own fun and be outgoing, not scared to talk to people, or enjoy a movie with a couple of friends on a Saturday night.

    In three sentences

    Concordia is a great school to go to for academics. Concordia is a smaller division III school where the professors show great concern for your success and get to know you personally. Concordia has a beautiful campus, yet close to Milwaukee to go to athletic events and other activities off of campus.

  • 02/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have the lake! The bluff area leading to Lake Michigan is absolutely breathtaking! It's also pretty hard to miss if you come for a visit.

    Bang for the buck

    Concordia is an expensive school, there is no hiding that. In terms of what you get for your money, the food should be better and the residence halls could use better upkeep. But in terms of education, which is the main reason you go to college, I think they have done a phenomenal job.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, I love going to sporting events. I was a high school athlete, so I enjoy going to the basketball games on campus. The best part is, with your CUW ID, you get in free to all of the sporting events! There are also a ton of clubs and organizations to get involved with. I participate in events with the Students for Life group on campus, the Undergraduate Pre-Professional Churchworkers Organization (UPCO), and Education club! Most majors have a club that is affiliated with them. And if not, Student Government is always open to new clubs.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has its good days and its bad days. If it is a campus visit day, the food will be on spot and fantastic. Luckily, when it has a bad day, there is the Nest, the BBC, or the Landing. The Nest provides all of the delicious, greasy food we college kids love (pizza, burritos, burgers, etc.) The BBC is CUW's version of Starbucks. There are bakery items and coffee, as well as juice and milk. The Landing is the sandwich shop on campus. They also serve soups and ice cream!

    Dorm Life

    There are a lot of options for rooming at Concordia. A new residence hall, Chemnitz, just opened up in the fall and has nice work out facilities in it for the east side of campus to be closer to. The environment within the residence halls is always very positive and uplifting! I love when my RA changes up our hall decorations regularly and considers our input.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is really dependent of your area of study as well as the course load you are willing to take on. Luckily, there is an amazing library with a quiet area, if you are taking on more than you anticipated.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors as well as you can. This could mean visiting them during office hours or just being willing to stay after class one day to introduce yourself. They have your best interest in mind and are willing to help you out.

    In three sentences

    Concordia University-Wisconsin is a well-rounded school and community. There are several opportunities to get involved and to make friends. Academic success is of great importance to all of the professors on staff as well as your personal success.

  • 03/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is great campus security. The school is far enough from Milwaukee that it is in a safe area yet close enough for easy travel to entertainment.

    What to do for fun

    Mequon is only a few miles from Milwaukee. There is a lot to do including sporting events, attending performance, and many dining options.

    Food and Dining

    There is a large variety of food in the cafeteria. The food is well prepared and healthy.

    Dorm Life

    While I do the online program, I do know people who live on campus and really enjoy themselves.

    Academic Rigor

    I am currently enrolled in the graduate program and I find it to be very rigorous. However, it is certainly worth the effort that you put into the program.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is easy to get behind when taking online classes. I suggest staying organized and following a schedule.

    In three sentences

    I am really enjoying my time at Concordia University. I feel I am being well prepared for my future as a family nurse practitioner. I would recommend anyone to attend as they have an online program with students attending from across the country.

  • 04/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who want a small class size and a christian learning environment.

    In three sentences

    The campus is small, very pretty, and easy to get around. The classes are small, which allows for professors to get to know the students.

  • 04/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is always on guard. They drive around campus to make sure students don't get caught in the rain, snow, or any bad weather. They also walk around campus to make sure student's feel safe and protected.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something going on on campus. There's a club for every major, most minors, and just for fun.

    Great for these types of students

    The University has many international students and study abroad opportunities. The University offers multiple foreign language classes to go along with the study abroad options. Also, the University has a huge nursing school along with physical therapy and occupational therapy.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a private University, the tuition is rather costly. You definitely get your money's worth though. The school offers free laundry, hefty meal plans, free sporting events, and free 24 hour campus safety.

    What to do for fun

    Many students are involved in sports, clubs, and friend groups. There's always sporting events to go to weekly. Many students go to downtown Milwaukee on the weekends to shop, eat, and hang out.

    Food and Dining

    There are multiple food options around campus. The cafeteria has many options throughout the whole day. Coffee shops have special coffees every month, and always make sure to make your coffee to your need. There are many late night snack options too.

    Dorm Life

    For freshman, the dorms are communal bathrooms. The University makes sure students are matched with another student whom they will get along with. The rooms themselves are big enough to fit every college student's needs. Some dorms have a lakeside view.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard enough to make the students participate and work, but simple enough so all students can keep up. Professors make sure every single student is on the same page, and offer office hours and tutoring hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in mind this is a private Christian University. They require you to take a minimum of 9 credit hours of religious classes. If you can handle that, the university is a fantastic place to receive an education.

    In three sentences

    Overall, a very good place to receive an education. Professors are welcoming and love student interaction. Campus is located on Lake Michigan, and the view is breathtaking.