Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Connecticut College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/17/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Although both the dance and art departments and huge at Conn, it seems almost everyone is a varsity athlete. If not (or out of season), it is normal to go to the gym everyday or workout together. Conn students are also generally aware of current events. When our free subscriptions to the NY Times was stopped earlier this year, students spoke up until the administration brought it back. Students here are activist and care what is going on in the world and our own community- this is reflected by the honor code and self-governance that defines our community.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit Conn! Contact a coach, even if you are unsure about if you want to or will be able to play in college, meeting a team can give you a nice sample of students to meet.

    Bang for the buck

    Conn is expensive. There is no way to deny that, but as far as colleges go it is worth it. The food is tasty, it's easy to get a single dorm as early as sophomore year, and academics are top-notch. Our brand new gym is beautiful as are our fields and huge arboretum.

    Am enjoying being here

    I dread any weekend I need to leave Conn, and generally students do stay around because we like it. Although you may feel isolated without a car, there are always events taking place on campus. My favorite part about Conn's environment is its people with students who are friendly, fun, artsy, intellectual, and athletic. For nice days, we are ten minutes from the beach, which fills up quickly with Conn kids. Although the winters are cold, the walk from the furthest points on campus is at longest ten minutes. Overall, Conn may be your typical campus bubble with little interaction with our surrounding town of New London, but this provides us with a typical college experience and an excellent community to be involved in.

    Am learning a lot

    Although interesting, Conn classes can lack challenge. Many students come from boarding of prep schools and are used to more demanding schedules. Intro level classes hardly require a few hours work per week, but upper level classes are more rewarding.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Every Saturday, our main event building, Crozier-Williams, throws a Cro Dance with a great DJ, snacks, and a weekly theme. Student-run organizations also sponsor game nights, dances, and concerts. Events on campus are constantly running from Monday to Sunday, from Henna painting to movie viewings, you will not be disappointed.

    Food and Dining

    Our dining halls are Harris (buffet style), Freeman (vegan/vegetarian), J.A.(Breakfast), Smith (cafe-style). They all feature fresh, organic, and sustainable foods from a variety of cultures. Also, unlimited salad bar and Sundae Sunday is a great treat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Conn range from apartment buildings to early 20th century beautiful buildings. The students form close-knit families and make many new friends. Many of the bathroom are co-ed, which surprises people at first, yet is very easy to adapt to.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses at Conn have a variety of difficulties, in my experience the workload is enjoyable and manageable. The science courses are rigorous but so worth it. The school is highly conducive for a positive work environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    The CELS program is one of the best at Conn. They provide comprehensive workshops to guide you in the correct field of study and prospective career. Conn is excellent for the proactive and philanthropic student that is prepared to make an impact on the community and the world.

    In three sentences

    Connecticut College provides a personalized approach to a liberal arts education. Each student is given the opportunity to craft their own major and minor to ensure a successful future. Undoubtedly, Conn students are on a fast track to a career in the area of their choice.

  • 12/03/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students from all over. This school is very diverse and has a lot of majors

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready for work and play time!!

    Bang for the buck

    They give great financial aid

    Will enjoy being here

    The food is amazing and the people are friendly

    Will learn a lot

    Definitely, it has a great science leadership program for women

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    the school is super expensive, but the financial aid is extremely helpful and honestly i know Conn is worth it

    What to do for fun

    there's tons of things to do i really think that you cannot get bored at Conn

    Food and Dining

    the food is good but can get a little bit boring and tiring

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are very comfortable and very spacious

    Academic Rigor

    of course Conn is not John Hopkins or Williams college, but it's consider a baby ivy league

    Tips for prospective students

    visit campus and talk to professors

    In three sentences

    Amazing

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Club sports, ultimate Frisbee, hip-hop club, drama productions, music performances, arbo walks, ALWAYS SOMETHING TO DO HERE!

    Food and Dining

    Food is always that great, becomes redundant at times.

    Dorm Life

    Conn Life has three main campus dorm, North, Central, and South. All have their own perks to be living in. My suggestion, Katherine Blunt House.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, you are always been challenged with reading, writing, and critical thinking skills.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit Admissions Office and ask for Dj, she is an amazing and caring person who will direct you to the best aspects of Conn Life.

    In three sentences

    A great, friendly, and inspiring environment to be in. You are always challenged in the classroom setting. A lot of what you learn is sometimes learn from being outside the classroom as well.

  • 11/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are multiple blue lights on campus and campus safety patrolmen at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is an almost endless supply of clubs and activities to join. And with daily emails of the goings on on campus, students are never at a loss for activities.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a great school but with its pricetag brinking on $50,000 its hard to say that it has much bang for the buck.

    What to do for fun

    There is a large number and wide variety of sports, clubs and activites happening on campus. And every Thursday and Friday its hard to avoid finding a few friends throwing down.

    Food and Dining

    There are five dining halls on campus and they provide tasty food almost everyday. Sometimes the meals are lacking in healthy options but on most occasions this is not a problem.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms and bathrooms are coed and hold freshmen through seniors all together. While this is nice sometimes I have wished there was an all freshman dorm so that I could meet more people my age.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a wide range of rigor depending on the classes you are taking. But students are kept busy with substantial reading and writing to do every night.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend working on your college essay a lot. That is the most important acceptance factor for this school, aside from grades and involvement.

    In three sentences

    It's a very good school with excellent teachers, a gorgeous campus and friendly people. The tuition is rediculously high, mostly due to its miniscule endowment. Very enjoyable college experience as a whole though.

  • 12/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They can be reached by calling a number. I haven't really encountered them personally so can't really say much.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities on campus. There is also the option of volunteering in town and the school has a program that will drop you off at your location and pick you up.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that like small schools. If you don't mind a school full of white people it'll be ok.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    With have an arboretum across the street. It is a beautiful place to go when the weather is nice. There are many trees and there is a nice lake in the middle. Also, there is temple green on south campus, a grassy field that's nice to sit on and do homework.

    Bang for the buck

    I didn't rate this cause I'm not sure what bang for the buck means. If you're a morning person, take early classes. If you're not a morning person like me, do not take morning classes.

    What to do for fun

    I like working on my art projects for fun. You can also do club sports. I do club soccer and although the people aren't the type I would hang out with, they are great to play soccer with. Also, there are many events going on every day, all of them are very interesting. Extracurricular clubs are also very fun to join and socialize with friends and new people.

    Food and Dining

    The food gets old after a month. At first it seems really good but then you start noticing that it all taste the same.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are actually really nice, but I have the worst roommate ever. I choose not to move because I like the location of my room. The north of campus has newer buildings; elevators, ac, heat, etc.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a liberal arts school. A lot of the classes are heavy on the reading and writing. A lot of research is required along with the readings. Although the readings are long, they are usually engaging and interesting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make connections with your professors because they can be very helpful. So, keep busy, do homework, study, go to the gym, and be social.

    In three sentences

    Connecticut College is a school full of rich kids that pay $60,000 dollars a year. The food gets old real soon and there is not any decent Mexican food around. On the other hand, the professors are very helpful and love what they do.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Most can be nice. Always on top of things. Never really needed, its a safe campus!

    Greek Life

    None, zet

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs and activities, mostly something for everyone. If not, there is always a way for you to start your own unique one.

    Great for these types of students

    Rich, students with professional parents, those who want to explore, those that like to make anything fun,

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Floralia, Camelypics, and cookouts on the green.

    Bang for the buck

    It offers room for personal growth, especiall with shared governance. Student input is valued.

    What to do for fun

    Go visit New York, Providence or Boston. There are several universities that are always throwing events, one can always go for a visit. On campus there are events almost everyday, and Floralia in April is super fun!

    Food and Dining

    Large varieties, especially for vegetarians. They offer gluten free items as well. Have special dinners at time to celebrate cultures.

    Dorm Life

    It is what you make of it, but things are changing.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the courses for your major but overall the professors expect large amounts of reading and writing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit the campus, its beautiful. Check out the courses online and see if it fits your personal criteria. Look into the surrounding areas as well and see if it appeals to you.

    In three sentences

    Great private liberal arts institution. Nicest professors I've been able to work alongside with. Great opportunities to be independent and create your own gateway.

  • 03/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are LGBTQ, a bit preppy, and academic.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Floralia is the big spring concert and it is a day where everyone is out on the green all drinking and listening to bands all day long. It is a marathon not a sprint.

    What to do for fun

    The college has been coming down harder on people partying in the dorms, but that just means that parties get broken up more frequently, not that you'll really get in trouble. The college tries to have a lot of events going on, from crafternoons, to petting zoos, to off campus trips, dances, concerts and movie screenings. There are also educational talks almost everyday.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would try to get as many scholarships or financial aid as you can, because this is the most expensive school in the US. Be friends with your professors, it will be super helpful and educational and fun.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school with professors who really care about you. It is a really expensive school, that is worth it, but sometimes seems like they are spending your money on things you do not need instead of things you do. Overall, this is a fantastic education.