Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Contra Costa College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/13/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    always be prepared & listen make sure u understand your instructor

    Tips for prospective students

    stay focused & complete as much as u can to reach your goals study

    Bang for the buck

    need financial aid

    Did enjoy being here

    yes it was a wonderful experience

    Did learn a lot

    I took my basic sills classes,& business

  • 01/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    - Students that are interested in getting their general education from an accredited college. - Students that are trying to transfer to a four-year institution - Students that are looking to get back into school and pick up a few classes to clean the cob webs in their noggins

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're thinking about Contra Costa, get things done early (applying, registering for classes, paying fees, etc.), be patient (the process can be tedious, but it's worth it in the long run), and keep in mind that it is another stepping stone on your path to success! Also, use your professors. They are there to help you so GO see them and ask questions. I have found that to be the most essential tip for prospective students.

    Bang for the buck

    Being that Contra Costa is a community college, you will certainly be getting the bang for your buck! I'm pretty sure I have saved thousands of dollars attending Contra Costa for two years, rather than going to a state school or private school for two years. Also, the Financial Aid Office is pretty helpful here and there are several other sources if more aid is needed.

    Am enjoying being here

    I do enjoy going to Contra Costa. I think the campus is pretty, the student atmosphere (for the most part) is relaxed, and the professors are always available during their office hours. College is what you make it and I have made Contra Costa an enjoyable experience for myself.

    Am learning a lot

    Contra Costa often gets overlooked because it is a community college, but I have a different opinion about this school. Contra Costa is a great school! In my two years that I've been here I have learned so much. I feel like I have been prepared with the knowledge and tools I need for the next level in my educational journey, and Contra Costa has certainly helped me do that.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is great. Wherever you look there is always a campus security guard standing by ready to help out, if need be, plus there just really nice to talk and laugh with.

    Clubs and Activities

    As I mentioned we have plenty of clubs to chose from and there all really enjoyable. From a sports club, debate club, ASU or BSU, you can find it all here.

    Bang for the buck

    Personally we all know that college prices are going up. Going to a community college and then transferring is a great way to save money and get a great education.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous clubs you can join to keep you busy after class and on your free time. You can also take advantage of the open space and play soccer, volleyball, tennis, or go for a swim or a nice run on the track.

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome we not only have Subway on campus we have Starbucks, and that's exactly what college students need; great coffee and a good sandwich.

    Dorm Life

    Contra Costa is a community college so unfortunately there is no living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    They push you a lot and like I mentioned the classes are great and it's classes you actually need, they want to get you in and out as effectively as possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pick classes early, I cannot stress that enough. It is very important to check you in-site portal for new updates on registration dates. Also, make counseling appointments early in the semester, they get very busy.

    In three sentences

    Contra Costa College is a great community college to start out at. I've been going here now for a year and I love the classes and programs available to me. Overall the classes are great, teachers and staff are helpful, and you can get your A.A fast of take plenty of classes that are applicable for a transfer.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a subway on Campus

    Academic Rigor

    Lots of different academics to choose from

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions and look around, the campus is pretty big, you would b amazed!

    In three sentences

    Ccc is a good school for single parents and older people who plan on going back to school to further their education. I feel this school is very diverse.

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have security here for students who have night classes

    Greek Life

    i dont know anything about greek life or what it means

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many. cant list them all. but there chess club. ethnics clubs,drama clubs, the list goes on and on.

    Great for these types of students

    great for all races.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    they have a bust of what must have been a very memorial teacher

    What to do for fun

    join one of the many clubs they have on campus.

    Food and Dining

    there's a subways. sometimes certains clubs give barbques. everyones invited.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms here

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers will not rush you along. they make sure that you learn the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    get with a good counselor. they are all great. try for a grant program

    In three sentences

    i attented ccc on a grant program.you cant beat an opportunity like that! the teachers are great.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel safe here. but there has been a few car broken into. no violence.

    Great for these types of students

    great organized clubs.

    What to do for fun

    the mall and movie theater are an exit or two away.

    Food and Dining

    the three seasons resteraunt is great. great food at afordable prices. theres also a subway on campus. more food selections a block away from campus.

    Dorm Life

    i live at home, not in a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    do your work, and dont fall behind. always go to class.

    In three sentences

    its a great campus. the professors really devote there time to the student. the libraries database is a great place to do research.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join the clubs!

    Food and Dining

    Did not use it.

    Dorm Life

    Doesnt offer it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your reseach on professors, ask around before signing up for a class. You need to give your best, to receive the best. Use all the resources offered to you.

    In three sentences

    This college offers great education quality to its students. The professors I had were great, they knew their material and were very friendly. Also, this college offers a study area, where professors and tutors are available for free.

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, however at night it is a little eerie. There have been quite robberies and cars that were broken into, particularly last spring semester.

    What to do for fun

    Have lunch with friends, hang in the rec room, go to the gym and there are a variety of clubs on campus too. The drama department usually holds plays that hold high esteem with the community and students.

    Food and Dining

    There is the food made by the culinary arts department, and its good. The students are very hospitable and try to make your food and dining experience a good one. Next to the school there is Lee's Garden, a Chinese restaurant, a Japanese joint Gyoza Express, the local grocery store and Mexican food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on what classes you take, and honestly how much effort you want to put in. That's really the deciding factor on the rigor of these classes. However, many of these teachers really care about your performance and will drop you if you do not attend class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind, everyone could be very nice and helpful. Stay on task, check your dates. Don't take your education for granted by taking financial aid checks and not going to classes. Some of us don't have that luxury. If you are taking night classes, walk with your fellow students until reaching your car.

    In three sentences

    Contra Costa College could provide a great education whether you are taking classes for classes, or trying to get into a great program. The only problem is that the school, like many others is affected by budget cuts and fewer classes are offered. The teachers are very skilled, and most of them care about their students' performance.

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are coming into college unsure of where they want to go or what they want to do in life, along with students who know what they want to do but just need assistance finding programs and getting involved in the field they want to pursue.

    Bang for the buck

    At Contra Costa College, you can receive so much for little to no price, not only seen in the restaurant's quality made food for little cost, but in the counseling and teaching assistance available to all students for no cost besides effort and time.

    Food and Dining

    Contra Costa College has The Three Seasons restaurant which highlights the accomplishments of the culinary program: great food for amazingly inexpensive prices.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Contra Costa College.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, there are ranges to the rigidity of each class, however all teachers incite their students to learn and understand all the material concepts in order to acquire adequate preparation for the next level.

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly encourage all students to make use of the resources at Contra Costa College and get involved. The staff members are encouraging and inclusive and more than willing to assist you in your educational journey.

    In three sentences

    At one time, community colleges held a negative connotation for me, but then I attended Contra Costa College. While it lacks a four-year college's inherent air of tension and competition, it generates a compelling and assured intensity of it's own as you get involved and utilize the many resources that facilitate all students. The teachers, counselors, and staff at Contra Costa College focus on assisting all students to achieve the confidence and ability to find and flourish at any desired college.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe while attending Contra Costa College.There is security on campus at all times and I have always felt protected no matter what time of day or night I was on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not involved in any clubs but there is the Ability Club and A culinary Arts Club which was new last semester.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who have a deep financial need with little resources but desire an education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am unaware as to any unusual traditions on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    There are several Culinary Colleges and programs in the surrounding areas and neighboring cities but Contra Costa College offers students a real hands on experience for little tuition..where other institutions offer great Culinary experience but with little hands on training and for a very high cost of tuition.

    What to do for fun

    There are several extra curricular activities put on by various drama clubs/theatre at the college.

    Food and Dining

    There is a restaurant on campus which is run by the students and open to the public as well..to give them practical hands on experience. There is also A Subway on campus.

    Dorm Life

    This does not apply.No on campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    I am enrolled in a specialty field where I am unaware as to the Academic side of things.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a college that is extremely diverse which was a draw for me.This also requires people/students to develop a thick skin as there are people of all wealks of life who attend with various backgrounds and upbringings.

    In three sentences

    I believe CCCto be a college that allows students of limited means to pursue their dreams.Financial Assistance is made available to students and administration is very accomodating as well.Professors/Instructors make every effort to set students up for success.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can take dance classes for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Contra Costa College needs more food and dining. They are very limited.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors do a good job.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip is to enroll in another community college because Contra Costa College has too many young kids.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Contra Costa College a 7 out of 10. The professors are great but the students are not too great. I feel like most people are just there for free money or to hang out.

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always on their carts going around and sometimes police sit in the parking lot checking for speeders and keeping an eye on things.

    Clubs and Activities

    I've seen multiple flyers put around school for all sorts of clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to broaden their education.

    Bang for the buck

    The school could use a little restoration. Ac would be nice on hot days, also a larger parking lot.

    What to do for fun

    Personally I'm a home-body and mostly stay home and spend time with my younger sister.

    Food and Dining

    Offer subway and other healthy, delicious foods.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    No late work but are willing to work with you if you show you're trying your hardest.

    Tips for prospective students

    Listen to your teachers and stay determined and you can accomplish anything.

    In three sentences

    The school has offered great counseling services that have helped direct me. The instructors at the school also have been very delightful and helpful in class. The atmosphere is just very welcoming.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    13 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Ones who are just trying to get their GE and university requirements done and out the way for an affordable rate.

    Bang for the buck

    Cost per unit is not bad at all!!!!

    Food and Dining

    There is a Subway right on campus! Plus the bookstore has some great snacks and Kinders sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms =(

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what class you take it can be either super easy or super tedious. Either way there are some really great teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make a education plan for yourself. Because not all the counselors are helpful. Especially the ones who tell you its ok to take Physiology before Anatomy (those who are nursing majors know its wayyy harder to complete this way). Also get to know your professors it well help you out a lot especially when it comes to full classes that you need or educational opportunities!

    In three sentences

    Not bad at all for community college but could be better. Hands down in Phys and Anatomy Barnes and Coatney are the best!! Got an A in both their classes! =)

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is located in a very safe and open environment! Since this is a small campus, usually students that have attended high schools nearby come to this school to learn, so everyone knows everyone! It's all like one big family and the school and professors make sure students are safe.

    Greek Life

    To the best of my knowledge, since this is a community college, I believe there is no Greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Since CCC is a very diverse and open college, there are many clubs that give all students the opportunity to get involved! Many clubs like the Abilities Club is set up for students to get to know more about the school. Also, this club is purposely exposed to people interested in catering students with disabilities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are interested in being very much involved in communicating among other students, starting and joining clubs, and having a safe and growing learning community should start here! Looks can be deceiving! Even though CCC seems to be a small campus; once you step inside and explore its surroundings and what it has to offer, you'll be very much impressed since there are many topics to learn from.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every few months, Contra Costa College puts together very interesting and fun events that keep students learning and having fun at the same time. For example, the Martin Luther King (MLK) celebration; where students are welcome to celebrate the life and works of MLK. Here, students can watch presentations, participate in dance and music performances as well!

    What to do for fun

    Contra Costa College is located in a very commercial environment. By being in a commercial environment with many food shops, supermarkets, and many other different shops, it makes hanging out simple, fast, and easy! I recommend just crossing the street, picking out a place to relax and eat and call it a day!

    Food and Dining

    On a scale of 1-10, I'd have to say that CCC's food and dining is pretty decent. You get a lot of choices, but it's still basic school food. The dining area is neat and tidy; students always clean up after themselves which makes it very easy to dine in.

    Dorm Life

    Since this is a community college, there aren't any dorms. But I can say that the city that this college is located in is pretty fair and easy to get to. The parking spaces are almost always free, so it is fairly easy to find a good parking spot. Also, the area is neat and gives off a positive feel.

    Academic Rigor

    One of the toughest things in college is probably learning at your own pace. Since everyone is different and learn at different levels, always try to train yourself to be ahead. Having this skill can truly prepare you to be college ready.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a new student, always come prepared, because college is nothing like you've experienced before. There will be many steep bumps along the ride, but as long as you stay on your game and just do your homework and study, you'll be just fine. Just remember one of the most important aspects in college is to be able to study and take all your new achieved skills and apply it to your class performance.

    In three sentences

    Contra Costa College is a very diverse and welcoming school! Its learning community gives all students a fair amount of opportunities, so no one is left behind. I would recommend to this college to any individual who is interested in a very diverse and fair community, which also gives students a chance to explore and learn in a positive environment!

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Contra Costa College is a cheap college but the students learn a lot with teachers that help the students prepare for Universities.

    What to do for fun

    In the college cafeteria there are usually TV's where students bring game consoles or play cards during their breaks and every semester Middle College High School, the high school in the college have rallies where anyone can attend, and a culture day hosted by Middle College where there is food and performances from all over the world and various cultures.

    Food and Dining

    On Campus there is a subway as well as a restaurant called The 3 Seasons where students learning the culinary arts practice making dishes and then sell them. the menu is changed every month and there is food from all over the world.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms in Contra Costa College

    Academic Rigor

    There are a lot of good teacher that offer quality material and make subjects fun for students to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students shouldn't expect that the classes should be easy, they have to work hard if they want to pass with a good grade and search for help either from teachers or student tutors.

    In three sentences

    Contra Costa College is an amazing college. The Professors working in Contra Costa College are very nice and care a lot for the students by making sure that they understand the material. The College is also home to a high school where the events hosted by the high school are opened to anyone.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    theres not many activitys

    Tips for prospective students

    get to class on time

    In three sentences

    very bad classmates rude teachers very small classes

  • 03/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus has one school officer and about five aids for that officer. However, during night class sessions only one aid patrols the entire campus. Which makes late night students easy targets for burglars.

    Greek Life

    There isn't a Greek Life atmosphere on this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are activities such as soccer, football, basketball, and baseball to name some that students can take part in.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for students coming from low income families that might have trouble paying for a four year institution all four years.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This campus doesn't have any traditions what so ever.

    Bang for the buck

    Attending this campus is worth every single dollar invested. You obtain your first two years of undergraduate education at an affordable cost.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous groups or clubs students can join for fun such as the debate team or sporting teams. A student can also take part in workshops of all sorts for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The only real source of food on campus is a Subway restaurant that's in the cafeteria. Other than that a student can only depend on food from home or junk food from outside sources.

    Dorm Life

    Since it's a Community College there are no dorms to live on. All students live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic Rigor is pretty high because all students are there because they want to be there and better their future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to make an ed plan and constantly meet with your counselor to make sure no unnecessary classes are on your schedule.

    In three sentences

    Contra Costa College is an amazing community college campus that offers low income residents the opportunity to continue their education at an affordable cost. The staff on campus are alert to students needs at all times. Contra Costa College is the first step to a better future.

  • 04/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Contra Costa College is under constant care by our own dedicated team of security and police that have there own station in campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I myself am not part of any clubs but I know for a fact there are many clubs and activities going on around the campus all semester each semester.

    Great for these types of students

    Any kind of student will feel welcomed here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the beginning of each semester the ASU committee gives out food and school supplies as a sign of welcome.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are certainly worth your while and money. Just remember that you have to do your part as a student for it to actually work out.

    What to do for fun

    Contra Costa College is a campus full of trees and a couple of creeks. A nice walk around will keep you entertained for quite a while.

    Food and Dining

    This college is home to an excellent student managed restaurant called The 3 Seasons. It offers a variety of foods from around the world with the menu changing once a month. It can't get any better than this.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot say much about this because there is no dorms in this college.

    Academic Rigor

    It can get very challenging. Whether your taking general ED or if your taking a training program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember to always do your work and never give up. If you need help don't be afraid to ask for it. Pay attention and it will pay off.

    In three sentences

    It is an amazing community college that should not be overlooked. You will receive help when needed and they will support you. This college is then portal to your future.

  • 05/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been some incidents on campus, but I think that has to do with the location.

    Greek Life

    I'm not to sure about the Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are not that many clubs, but the clubs they do have are very interesting.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want some classes that are easy to learn, this is the college for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't that many traditions on campus that I've been aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    Since it is a community college, I think what you pay for is what you will receive, given you work hard.

    What to do for fun

    The community is very low class, so I would say the fun thing to do is hit up the local mall.

    Food and Dining

    There is no cafeteria on campus but there are many other food areas.

    Dorm Life

    I am still in high school, therefore I don't need to stay in the dorms so I can't really tell you what Dorm Life is like.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here want you to succeed and they have office hours if you need more help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do NOT procrastinate. Once youre behind, its difficult to catch up.

    In three sentences

    This college is very diverse and friendly. The staff here is great and they do whatever they can to help you excel. All in all, its a great community college in a low budget neighborhood.

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    20 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.

    Bang for the buck

    Not to costly and teachers work with students as far as textbooks go.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of on campus activities, my favorite were the culinary arts events.

    Food and Dining

    The food there is really good and affordable.

    Dorm Life

    Didn't stay in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Difficulty of class depends on professors

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard toward your academic goal.

    In three sentences

    Contra Costa is a fantastic environment to learn in. This campus prepares students to transfer. Music department is phenomenal.

  • 06/21/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never seen any kind of violence at this college at all. It is a very safe campus and the closest thing I have ever seen to violence was a loud argument between two people that was quickly resolved.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have never really looked at any of the clubs that the school offers but from what I hear they are ok in their own sense and they all sound enjoyable.

    Bang for the buck

    Pricing at the college is as expected. Everything is exactly as what you were told at your previous school. The classes are priced averagely, even the food is priced at a good amount for the students.

    What to do for fun

    What isn't there to do for fun. During their breaks, students will bring their gaming systems from home and play with other people. There is also a gym, a pool, and a football field. So you can pretty much play any sport that you want.

    Food and Dining

    All food here is pre-made. The book store offers ready to eat food. The only other place to get fresh food are the two small so-called restaurants, one of which prepares the food from the bookstore, the other being subway, and going of campus for fast food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus. Because it is a community college, everyone that goes to this school live close by so there is no need for dorms. If there were dorms, I personally would think that there would be no point to them.

    Academic Rigor

    I find the challenges at this college to be just right. It is not to extreme yet it's also not easy. The work itself will only get easier if you allow yourself to focus enough to understand it.

    Tips for prospective students

    The advice that I would give prospective students is to stay on top of your work. Never become lazy, it will only create problems in the future. Also, manage your time so that you can do the maximum amount of work as possible and have time for yourself.

    In three sentences

    What I like about Contra Costa College is that it is a very peaceful campus. What gives it this feeling is the amount of nature on the campus which gives it a calming environment. The one thing that I like the most about the campus is that I can concentrate just fine on my work just like if I was in a classroom.

  • 08/10/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is all over the place. The disabled are helped by these offices getting to class and getting to their vehicles. The one problem is that people often speed in the parking lots so be careful when crossing the street. Security is everywhere if you just look for them they are usualy standing around somewhere talking to students.

    Clubs and Activities

    Club rush week!! I was part of the EOPS and HHS clubs. Had a blast informing students of what is available and selling donughts and coffee and juices! Meeting new people is great. I was secretary of the club and that enforces great responsibility, if the secretary doesn't get the reports in on time the club is disbanded.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student young or old. Programs available for high school students to get a jump start. You are never to old to learn something new.

    Bang for the buck

    As far as going to college with no financial or family support, I enjoyed this college for that purpose. There is always a way to get your books for free or help paying for them and their are grants available to pay for the cost of classes. I essentially got paid to go to this college.

    What to do for fun

    Club life is a must. It helps to stregthen your resume. Its a great way to make friends and build your network. Its fun if you are willing to let it be. Think about your future employer and what they want in their employees. A club secretary or president looks great on your resume because it demonstrates leadership and teamwork, both soft skills that you will need to possess.

    Food and Dining

    It has its own restaurant on campus. Students that are majoring in food run and operate this restaurant. They also give away complete meals for the holidays but you must ask your counselor about it. There is also the HHS club that regularly has bake sales on campus. Club rush week in the very beginning of each semeser. There is also a subway on campus and other restaurants right down the street.

    Dorm Life

    I lived off campus so I do not know anything about living on or near campus. I do know that people regularly advertise for roomates on campus and in the newspaper.

    Academic Rigor

    Help is available everywhere you look. I even had professors give me their home and cell numbers so that I could reach out to them when I didn't understand an assignment. This really helped in my more confusing and demanding classes. The professors are always proffesional and help to teach you how to be the same way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Time management is a must. This skill can be improved by looking into a mentoring program in the field of major. Reach out to your teachers and fellow students and ask for help. If you get stuck you can always go to your teacher!

    In three sentences

    Contra Costa College has great opportunities for the students if they open up and ask about them. Assorted programs available to help pay for books and even transportation costs. Proffessors that stand by you and help you along your way.

  • 08/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security that walk around all day to maintain the peace and safty of all the people that attend that college.

    Clubs and Activities

    Latino Club, African-American Club, Debate Club, Math Club, ETC...

    Great for these types of students

    *Who like to walk more than needed *Who love being involved *Who respect and value teachers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a high school inside the college called Middle College, where high school students attend and by the time they graduate, they will already have their AA Degree.

    What to do for fun

    Well for fun, a student may join athletic teams or even student government. There are many clubs like: poetry, debate, math, African-American club, Latino club and much more. Basically, you will never have the chance to say, there is nothing to do, unless you are the one that is excluding yourself from all the activities and clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is nice because there is a really convenient book store that cells snacks, coffee, and even hot foods. Also, right next to the book store is an amazing Subway that anyone has access to.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms in this college due to the fact that it is an community college and it is very convenient for the students that attend it.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is highly valued in Contra Costa College even though it is an community college. Everyone values the fact that there are people who are willing to help them when they need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Well, going to college is a pretty scary thing, but here in Contra Costa College, everyone is like family. Once you enter a classroom, you feel like it isn't your very first time. The student and faculty are really nice and supportive when it comes to getting ahead. Just study and you are literally ahead of the game.

    In three sentences

    I think Contra Costa College is an amazing and clean campus. Contra Costa College feels like a safe place to be. Contra Costa College has amazing professors that are always offering help and support when needed.

  • 10/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria which is run by student chefs who make some pretty good food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The information that the teachers give you in any subject is pretty basic. You just have to remember to keep studying and keep showing up to your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Once you are registered, make an appointment to speak with counselor Alfred Zuniga as soon as possible, he has lots of information on scholarships and transferring.

    In three sentences

    The teachers there seem to care more about their students. The Contra Costa College has a district that spans into 2 other colleges Diablo Valley College, and Los Medanos College all under the same banner. So you can take classes at the other colleges besides Contra Costa College and not have to worry about transcript complications!

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can join different clubs to gain a social life at school.

    Food and Dining

    Limited options at Subway and snacks in the CCC Bookstore.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms!

    Tips for prospective students

    Always do your homework and attend office hours with professors in the courses you find difficult.

    In three sentences

    Contra Costa College is a great institution that gives you the boost you need to transfer to a 4-year university. The professors and staff are very friendly and their first priority is their students' success.

  • 04/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    a lot of student officers driving around. pretty safe and sound.

    Greek Life

    no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    various clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    not much

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    back of the school parking lot has a lot of wild turkeys just walking around.

    Bang for the buck

    CCC offers a lot of great programs.

    What to do for fun

    hang out/walk around, meet new people or get some food.

    Food and Dining

    close plaza nearby. maybe food choices, but if you're lazy subway is just right there.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm life exists.

    Academic Rigor

    college level. depending on your instructor?

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be discouraged by the setting. Focus on your goals, CCC is not that bad.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are interesting. The student body is diverse. The experience feels like high school.

  • 04/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sexual Harassment is pretty bad, even though there are cops and security guards everywhere.

    Food and Dining

    There's a subway. But the student run cafe is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's best to have a plan if you want to transfer in a timely manner. Don't avoid talking to counselors, most of them are extremely helpful and will get you where you want to be. Also, make sure to make use of instructor's office hours.

    In three sentences

    Contra Costa College is a very diverse community for people from all sorts of situations. That being said, Contra Costa can feel isolating, especially if you are looking for a highly intensive academic experience. There are a lot of opportunities at contra college, you just have to be willing to work hard to find and make use of them.