Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Converse College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/08/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 out of 18 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to feel accepted and have a desire to learning.

    Will enjoy being here

    Amazing things to do on campus, and it is right downtown. Something to do, always.

    Will learn a lot

    All the teachers and faculty that I came in contact with were extremely nice and of all the students, they could remember each and every students name, even mine and I was only visiting. I visited the library and it is a great facility, and the classrooms are small so you can spend more time with the teacher learning.

  • 12/29/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 12 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There are classes geared towards any kind of learning style, it's just a matter of learning which classes click best and adapting to the others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Converse Admissions is generous in offering travel vouchers for students to come visit the campus. I encourage you to come stay for an overnight and get an inside look at college life with more than just a campus tour.

    Bang for the buck

    Don't let the price attached to Converse get you down. There's a reason U.S. News & World Report ranked Converse the best value in the south. The Financial Aid department is incredibly helpful, and the Converse community offers several opportunities to earn scholarships, the price dwindles before you know it!

    Am enjoying being here

    Also due to the small campus, there is less of a daunting college campus feeling and more of a community or family vibe. Through campus-wide activities like Big Sis/Little Sis week and other traditions that go back generations upon generations, there's a bond between Converse students that just can't be found on other campuses.

    Am learning a lot

    Courtesy the small nature of the campus, faculty is always finding new ways to keep students engaged in the classroom. While the faculty is well respected, the intimidation factor is minimal and their assistance outside of the classroom can easily be accepted as if coming from a knowledgeable peer.

  • 10/11/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    The staff really makes themselves available for the students. I have yet to even apply to Converse and already professors reply to my emails, answering my questions eagerly. I look forward to life at Converse :)

  • 07/13/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    friendly, prefer or need more attention from the professor, love quirky traditions (big sis little sis, pink panthers vs red devils, etc.), like the idea of knowing the majority of students by name within the first year, crazy, fun, quiet, virtually any personality (except snooty) and we will accept you with open arms!

    Tips for prospective students

    1. APPLY FOR SCHOLARSHIPS as soon as possible! Some scholarships are given to students in 9th grade. 2. Apply to many colleges with different ranges in tuition incase the financial package Converse offers you isn't what you expect. 3. Visit other schools (large and small) before visiting Converse. You'll see the difference and you'll fall in love with the campus. 4. During your first year, focus on these three things alone: school work, school activities, and making new friends. 5. Your college experience is one that you will remember for the rest of your life so have fun being a Connie!

    Bang for the buck

    Converse does have a beautiful campus and great teachers, however their constant improvements are hurting our wallets. They raised tuition over $1000 because of the new apartments (which are really nice). This caused a massive amount of girls (including myself) to transfer. Converse does try their best to make the blow to your wallet a little less painful with many scholarship opportunities. If you plan to go to a private college, or any college for that matter, don't be like me and postpone your scholarship search until the summer before you arrive!

    Did enjoy being here

    The friendly atmosphere of the college was the main reason that I decided to go to Converse. Unlike other colleges, it seemed like they actually wanted me to be there. I wasn't just another student for them to put in debt. Everyone that I met went above and beyond my expectations so that they could make my college experience more enjoyable. Of course there were those girls that were still stuck creating high school drama, but not nearly as much as I had suspected.

    Did learn a lot

    Most of the teachers tried their best to make class enjoyable, yet educational. Because the classes were so small, each student got a lot of attention. We would go over our homework in class to be sure that we did it correctly. However, this style of teaching more reminded me of high school than what I was told college would be like. This may serve as a great transition for a young woman that doesn't feel comfortable with large classes and limited aide.

  • 04/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus safety around 24/7.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a variety of clubs on campus. I'm a part of Ally, our gay-straight alliance club on campus. We also have a huge Spring concert every year where big names such as B.o.B. and Darius Rucker come.

    Great for these types of students

    Converse is very diverse and doesn't have a type, but I would say you need to be hard working to be able to keep up.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When you get engaged we have a fountain behind the dining hall that your friends throw you in.

    Bang for the buck

    Converse is expensive, but it's worth it.

    What to do for fun

    We have a group called CAB that sponsors activities during the school year. We have different performers come (such as B.o.B. this April), dancing lessons, and trivia.

    Food and Dining

    We are a veggie friendly school. I'm a complete carnivore, for the most part, so trying to find something to curb my appetite is hard sometimes.

    Dorm Life

    Our dorms are old for the most part since it is an historic school. They school is remodeling a lot of things. I love living in the dorms even though I live ten minutes from the school. I like having a roommate and seeing my friends all the time.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm a music major and I have a huge work load. It takes a lot of determination and will power to get everything done in a timely manner. I know my professors do it to try to challenge me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be very open minded when you come to Converse. We love seeing new people on campus and can't wait to get to know you more. Connies are very welcoming and fun loving; so, don't be shy when you come.

    In three sentences

    Converse College is a great school for atmosphere. It's very small; so, it is welcoming and fun. I wouldn't have went to another school.

  • 06/17/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student that is worried about transitioning out into the real world, who doesn't feel safe going to a large college, who has any sort of problem with learning or understanding material, or anyone who wants to get a very well rounded education.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a very safe and well secured campus, with many activities available on and off campus. With the town being so small, Converse gives you many opportunities to get out and be involved in the community. All girls may sound intimidating to most people, but it is really nothing like people say. You hardly even notice there aren't boys and it honestly does make for a much quieter learning community.

    Bang for the buck

    With what I paid to attend this college I definitely feel like I got my money's worth. I was availed to many amenities without any extra fees, and there were numerous events almost every day that I was able to attend such as movies, parties, concerts, comedians and acrobatic shows.

    Did enjoy being here

    Going to an all-women's college takes a very special type of person, and I'm not sure if I was one of them. The community and atmosphere were phenominal, everyone knows everyone, and it made me feel very safe at all times.

    Did learn a lot

    Academically, I was able to gain knowledge due to the small learning environment; I was never in a class of more than 20 students, my smallest being a class of four. This calls for a very intimate connection with your teachers and since they were so available outside of the classroom, there was almost unlimited access to one-on-one attention. Outside of the classroom, I was able to learn who I was as a person with the variety of programs available to every student.

  • 06/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Driven women who love to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring rain boots! When it rains at Converse, it floods. But seriously, come for an overnight. You really can't get the full feel for a school until you've gotten one on one time with the current students and gotten the opportunity to see how they live.

    Bang for the buck

    Converse is expensive, but it is totally worth it. The Financial Aid office is always willing to work with you.

    Am enjoying being here

    I've made some of my best friends while at Converse. There is always something to do going on and great people to hang out with.

    Am learning a lot

    Converse is great for a wide variety of students. I am an Art major who not only understood my required Biology class, but I made an A for the course. The Converse faculty and staff are very dedicated to their students.

  • 02/03/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Women who seek feel empowered by knowledge and sisterhood.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always keep in touch with your admissions councilor!

    Bang for the buck

    A Converse education is PRICELESS!

    Will enjoy being here

    The environment at Converse will make you feel so alive, encouraged, and determine!

    Will learn a lot

    You will learn to grow as a well-rounded empowered woman!

  • 07/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't stay up until 2 in the morning.

    Bang for the buck

    Not only are the classes great but you'll never be bored. There's always something going on: games; theater performances; concerts; recitals; et cetera.

    Am enjoying being here

    The faculty and staff are quite friendly and the students are so much fun to hang around.

    Am learning a lot

    Because Converse is a Liberal Arts college, students take a wide variety of classes. Students learn about all sorts of things like Music, Biology, Theater, Dance, Psychology, and Economics.

  • 02/04/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    motivated students who want a unique, rewarding college experience. also, one that fosters a deep sense of community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i was excited when i read about the big sis/lil sis events. each year the incoming freshman are wither a pink panther or a red devil depending on their year of graduation. even years are pink panthers and odd years are red devils. during big sis/lil sis week, all freshman are assigned a big sister. because of the pink panthers and red devils, there is a friendly competition between the two. each year instills pride and further connects new students to current students.

    Bang for the buck

    remember scholarship applications, scholarship applications, scholarship applications! while converse may seem too expensive, it is not! a quality education, beautiful campus, and exciting school events all make the price well worth it.

    Food and Dining

    the lunch provided at the open house in november was delicious. the food was fresh, and prepared nicely. although i haven't had much of a chance to see the food facilities that are there, i am sure they will have a good and nutitious variety.

    Dorm Life

    the residence halls are very nice. t had the chance to see the new senior housing apartments, and i thought i was in a condo at the beach! the halls have full-scale windows that contribute to a very warm, open atmosphere. the dorms are well kept, and are very comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    everyone seems ready to learn! i had the opportunity to talk with several professors at an open house event, and they seemed genuinely interested in my opinions and intended major. the classes are small, and seem geared toward individual attention. i am very excited to see a class first-hand.

    Tips for prospective students

    look for scholarships as early as september! vonverse does a wonderful of keeping up with the commitment and offers scholarships to deserving students. however, don't limit yourself to certain types of scholarships. sign up for as many websites to help you in you scholarship search, and go for large-scale, national ones to small local ones. coming from someone who is currently in this search, seeing your hard work pay off is worth the work,

    In three sentences

    there was something about the enthusiasm of the admissions counselors that just drew me to converse. i was able to connect with them, and felt drawn to the school. as i learned more about the school and attended open house in november, i fell in love with everything it has to offer.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are good security men at Converse who are always ready to help students and safe guard them when the need arises. They are always available any time even at nights.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs and organizations students could participate in such as the international students organization, Nisbet Honors Program, crescent, Bonner leaders Program and so many others.

    What to do for fun

    There are a number of things or events students do to have fun like hanging out with friends, visiting their friends in other colleges, watching athletic games, watching musical performance, attending church programs and so many others.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining services are quite appealing but sometimes, students wish they were at home because no matter how tasty a food is or one tries to make the food, it can not be compared to home made food. Some times, provision of the kind of foods students need are not provided.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Converse is interesting. Facilities to help students have a good environment are provided. People in charge of the environment try as much as possible to maintain a clean environment. Some students try as much as possible to maintain good communication with their fellow students.

    Academic Rigor

    When it comes to academics, Converse provides great teachers who are willing to help students any time. Students are encouraged to ask questions and study diligently in order to step up in their academics. At Converse, academics is very important, therefore students who do well are recognized and awarded.

    Tips for prospective students

    I encourage prospective students to go ahead and come to Converse College. They should be ready to experience a change in their lives academically, socially etc. Converse will create an inevitable impact their lives. Prospective students, be determined, ready to learn new ideas and share the beliefs of other people !

    In three sentences

    Converse College is a great College for women because it is a place where women are being empowered. The teachers in Converse College also contribute to the lives of women because they try as much as possible to create a very conducive environment for learning. Women are also provided opportunities to become involved in the society by encouraging academic success.

  • 05/31/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    Although I have yet to attend classes at this college, I already know that I am going to love it there. Everyone that I have met--my admissions councelor, the art teachers that oversaw the art showing, and other faculty members--have been extremely nice and welcoming. The campus was beautiful, also, and close to the mall! This is truly the place for a girl like me to learn.

  • 07/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Self-motivated learners

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard & save your money for those residencies!

    Bang for the buck

    Every MFA program is expensive; however, there is more out-of-pocket expense to Converse than most (for some, air fare will be an issue, for others the winter residency that requires purchasing a hotel room may be). If it weren't for that, this would be one of THE cheapest programs out there.

    Am enjoying being here

    Every person I've met, from the staff and faculty to the students, have been wonderful, kind, and helpful. It's an awesome program.

    Am learning a lot

    I've learned more in the first ten-day residency than I did in four to five years of undergrad work. The professors and curriculum are built to challenge; this is NOT a program for people who want to coast by!

  • 08/01/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Converse is small, has character, and the Professors are kind. I e-mailed several of them in the past and received prompt responses even though it was not required of them to do so.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is gorgeous, and the food served in the cafeteria is tasty. In addition to these things, the dorms are comfortable and have character

    Will learn a lot

    I'm not able to judge this accurately, but I did attend a Young Writers Workshop here- I learned a lot from it, and it was taught by Converse Professors.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is a variety of clubs that you can choose from depending on what you want to do.

    Food and Dining

    food is pretty decent

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is good among students themselves. But the buildings are old since is a historical college

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit and see if you like the dorms. Everything else is perfect

    In three sentences

    good community environment

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Because it is an all-girls school, they try to keep it very safe. There is a fences all the way around campus and they offer to drive you to your dorm if it's late at night.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Converse has a big sis/little sis program where you are paired with a junior but have no idea who she is until the end of the year. They also have a rivalry where the even number graduating classes are the pink panthers and the odd number graduating classes are red devils. This again keeps the student body closely connected.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, Converse is on the expensive side but I think it is worth it considering the small, intimate atmosphere and focus they put on each individual student.

    What to do for fun

    Converse had a fair where all the clubs had tables to show you what they do. There were a lot of clubs! Also they have sport events and dances to attend.

    Food and Dining

    I have eaten in the cafeteria and the food was pretty good. They also have blue ice cream which is so good!

    Dorm Life

    I have visited the dorms and they're kind of on the small size. But there are extra security measures since it is an all girls school such as a pass-code to get into your hallway. Also I'm not the biggest fan of hall baths which is what freshman have but the senior apartments are beautiful!

    Academic Rigor

    Since I haven't taken a class yet I don't really know but no matter how hard a course is the professors have already told me that they will help in whatever way they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go visit the campus! Alos, ask lots of questions! They give lots of answers.

    In three sentences

    Converse College definately welcomes everyone in a very warm way. They use small activities to make sure their student body is well connected. They seem to have a very intimate learning environment.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great. Always there for students.

    Greek Life

    None. It feels like one big sorority!

    Clubs and Activities

    Music and theater are a big deal on campus, but there is a club for pretty much everything.

    Great for these types of students

    Converse celebrates diversity, so everyone is welcome, if you respect others and work hard.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As it is a women's college, there are several more feminine traditions. Big Sis/Little Sis is held every fall, with the freshman and junior classes taking part. There is also a lot of focus on the founder, with a spirit week and a founder's day dedicated to him.

    Bang for the buck

    Converse has a high tuition, but with all the scholarships they offer, it isn't hard to see why the school is rated highly for its good value. There are many degrees to pursue at the college, which sets students up very well for graduate school.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't a whole lot to do within walking distance, although the nearby downtown area is lovely if you don't mind walking a bit. The mall is not far away, and you can usually find a few students at Cookout at all hours.

    Food and Dining

    Like any school dining experience, the food is hit or miss. The kitchen staff are wonderful people.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are not fantastic, but are kept clean. Res life are very nice and willing to work with students.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the teacher, but most classes keep the students intellectually stimulated.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard, and never be afraid to ask for help

    In three sentences

    If you are looking for a place to celebrate diversity, Converse is the place to go! Teachers are very attentive and really care about their students. Community is everything.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a very safe campus. There are always officers patrolling the campus and you can always call them to pick you up from one part of the campus to another if you are worried.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at this college.

    Clubs and Activities

    Their are many clubs and activities to join so make sure to try them out and remain active in the ones you enjoy. It will also look good on your resume.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great college for students who want to be in an environment where they can engage more in their college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Their are many traditions from Freshman Pinning to wearing little panther or devil ears and tails during senior graduation.

    Bang for the buck

    There are many activities to do from Wild Wednesday to lectures dealing with chemistry. Converse also gets a lot of great people to perform at the Spring Concert.

    What to do for fun

    Go to activities that are held by looking at your e-mail at the daily announcements. There should be plenty to do but make sure to make time for studying.

    Food and Dining

    The food is relatively okay. There is a salad bar and there are usually choices to choose from. The desserts are always good and their is always ice cream so beware the freshman 15.

    Dorm Life

    Talk to your roommate before talking to others about a problem. Problems are rare and are usually fixed relatively soon.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some classes that require a lot more studying than others. Make sure to make time for studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you want to attend a small college and ask many questions to make sure you can imagine yourself at this college.

    In three sentences

    Converse College is a great liberal arts college. The small classes allow you to become more engaged with your professor and ask questions. There are many things to do.

  • 09/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus 24/7

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs to choose from.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During orientation week we all your class get in the fountain for a picture

    What to do for fun

    There are colleges all around: FOOTBALL GAMES! Wild Wings Cafe is right down the road. There is many things to do off campus, but it's just as much activities on campus: games, events, dances, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. You can either eat in the dining hall or another restaurant on campus Sandella's I really enjoyed wing night. In the dining hall it is all-you-can eat.

    Dorm Life

    As a freshman you will either be placed in Williams or Dexter. I am in Williams. There are two of everything (twin beds, dressers, desks) except the fridge, microwave, and mirror. The washer and dryers are free. There is also a computer lab on the 2nd floor. There is also a CA and PEAS on each floor. These are upperclassmen there to help you with whatever.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on your individual level and class schedules. All classes aim to bring out the best in you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Start early! There is more opportunities for scholarships, work-study and financial planning. Don't worry about it being an all-girls school, everybody is friendly plus you don't always have to look good(no males in class).

    In three sentences

    Converse College is the place for you if value individual attention. Women are empowered in all fields due to the liberal arts curriculum. Converse College keeps you involved on campus, but there is also many to do off campus.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The best tradition on campus is Big Sis/Little Sis week. The junior class, the Big Sisters, pick their Little sisters from the freshman class. During the week, the freshmen are brought gifts from their Big Sisters, whose identity is a secret. At the end of the week, the Big Sisters reveal themselves and spend time with their Little Sister(s). It is such an awesome tradition that makes you feel welcome on campus by the upperclassmen.

    What to do for fun

    In the area, there is shopping, bowling, a movie theater, and tons restaurants. I find that a lot of people enjoy hanging out on campus with their friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not fantastic, but it is better than a lot of college cafeteria food that I have tried. Plus, the meal plan is included in your tuition.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms is a blast. Not only do you get support from other women who are having similar if not the same experiences, but you also get close to so many of them. All of my closest friends live on the same hall as me.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging academically, particularly if the subject matter is of little interest to you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not let the fact that it is a women's college turn you away; I hardly ever notice that we are all women. Also, try to get involved in student life because being active on campus will build strong bonds with other women at the school and you will have a lot of fun.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school for anyone who is looking for a small, close-knit college community. I have so enjoyed my first term at Converse College. Everyone is very welcoming and open-minded, which makes everyone's experience pleasant and warm.

  • 03/02/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like smaller schools with one-on-one attention (7:1 student faculty ratio) and a dedicated faculty.

    In three sentences

    An incredibly close community with a lot to offer academically and socially. The dorms may be small, but the people make up for it. I look forward to being chosen as a little sis for next year.

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Converse's Campus Safety Officers are on the ball! The officers are constantly patrolling. They hand out their number and urge you to call whenever you need them. If it is late at night and you can't find a parking spot close to your dorm, with one call, they will pick you up and escort you to the door.

    Greek Life

    No Fraternities or Sororities. We are all one big united Sonority.

    Clubs and Activities

    No matter who you are, where you are from, or what you like Converse has a club for that, and if they don't the faculty and staff urge you to start your own!

    Great for these types of students

    Fine arts students will love converse, along with anyone looking for diverse leadership opportunities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We are located across the street from an old grave yard, lots of spooky stories originate there. Converse has no Fraternities or Sororities, because we are all one big Sorority together. We even have a school-wide Big Sister/Little Sister event, just like normal Sororities do.

    Bang for the buck

    The more you get involved the more Bang for the buck you will receive. If you sit in your dorm all week, you will never get to experience all of the great facilities, events, and trips Converse has to offer.

    What to do for fun

    Movie nights in the dorm with friends are so much fun. We also like to go to sporting events. But, sometimes you want to just get off campus: Converse is conveniently located on Main Street in Spartanburg, SC. So there are plenty of places to go within walking distance.

    Food and Dining

    Converse dining is very nice for the most part. You can find problems at any place you eat in the world, but Converse tries their best to provide as many options at every meal as possible.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are old, but very comfortable. Housekeeping cleans the bathrooms daily, even on weekends. They have great dorm rules in which there are quiet hours. During those hours there is to be no excessive noise, allowing students to study in comfortably quiet environment.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are easy if you utilize all of the available resources. Converse provides free tutoring for every subject, every Professor has office hours, and some professors even give out their personal phone numbers for your assistance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a sturdy laundry basket. Work hard before you play hard. Make friends not enemies. Step out of your comfort zone. Communicate constantly with your professors, get to know them, because one day you will need them as a reference.

    In three sentences

    Converse is a family-like community. Converse is bursting at the seams with great opportunities. Converse is a new home away from home.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is extremely active on campus and helpful. As a swimmer, I have to be up at 5am for practice and I can assure you that I will see a campus safety officer monitoring the campus which makes me feel safe. Campus safety is very good about notifying the student body about alerts. Campus safety is also very convenient and are always a phone call away and are available when you need them.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities offered here at Converse.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a great variety in clubs and activites and they all range from academic, to artistic, to athletic.

    Great for these types of students

    Converse is great for women of course since it is a women's college. If you have a high tolerance for females and interact with females well than this is a good college for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    1889 week is a week were fellow Converse students celebrate the date when Converse was established with different activities and days for dressing up. Big Sis/ Little Sis is also a tradition that Converse has where the incoming freshman class get juniors as big sisters. Big Sis/ Little Sis week consists of meeting juniors but not knowing who your big sister will be, days of gift giving from your big sisters and then the reveal of who your big sister is. This is personally my favorite tradition here at Converse and it makes me look forward to when I become a Junior and can adopt a little.

    Bang for the buck

    It would be a lot nicer if this school was cheaper but I believe since it is a small school with a prestigious repuatation it comes with having to pay alot to attend here.

    What to do for fun

    Converse Activity Board provides many activities through out the month to do. Athletic events are also fun to go to. There are also nearby colleges to visit which is nice to get a different change in scenery.

    Food and Dining

    Gee Dining Hall & Sandalas provide good food. Gee does a good job with a different variety in food. The food is pretty tasty as well.

    Dorm Life

    I enjoy living in a dorm. I consider more of a home than I do my actual home. If I could have my own bathroom that would be nice but it isn't too terrible. Not everyone gets the perfect roommate but that is why you have friends who live in nearby rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Converse College has a very prestigious reputation for the academics. Academics are taken pretty seriously here at Converse.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take as many AP classes as possible. Taking AP classes allows you to get a feel for college courses and when you come to Converse or any college you wont be as suprised with the work load.

    In three sentences

    Converse College has a beautiful campus. The small school environment is perfect for better interactions with your professors. There is a variety of activities to do to take your mine off of academics.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On-campus safety is pretty high. Campus Safety is very present and will pick you up even for smaller things, like driving you across campus at 2 am if you want it. You do have to be careful off-campus though, because there are some sketchy areas close by.

    Greek Life

    Nonexistent. Visit Wofford for that. However some people feel that Converse is like one big sorority, being a women's college and all that.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs around campus, but involvement depends on the club. Converse Activities Board (CAB) puts on events at least once a week (and has the biggest SGA budget for these I believe) like visiting singers, acts, and events like open mic night. Many students are involved in several activities, so that's good if you don't want to limit yourself. You can be as involved or uninvolved as you choose.

    Great for these types of students

    Converse is great for students who want to focus primarily on academics but still have fun. It's great for people not as interested in parties but still want to enjoy time with friends. It's great for people who want to be whoever they really are instead of what others expect them to be.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I think the best tradition on campus is Big Sis Little Sis. Juniors from either the Red Devil class (graduating in odd numbered years) or the Pink Panther class (graduating in even numbered years) adopt freshmen as little sisters. It's a big deal on campus. A whole week is spent giving presents, leaving clues about identities, and creating mystery about the whole thing. Converse's website has more information about this and other traditions if you check it out.

    Bang for the buck

    Converse has good bang for the buck if you get scholarships, like the Presidential Scholarship which is $20k per year. Make sure you will be able to pay for all four years before choosing to attend, even if it's through loans and whatnot. You don't want to have debt for attending college for just one semester and then have to drop out for financial reasons.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends in dorms. Downtown Spartanburg is within walking distance, though I wouldn't suggest walking it alone at night. There are restaurants and bars in downtown as well as the Chapman Cultural Center and different art galleries. Spartanburg puts on big events at least once every few months, like Spring Fling or the International Festival. Also, Greenville is about 20 miles away and it's a pretty awesome city, but then you'd need a car or a friend with a car.

    Food and Dining

    There is Gee Dining Hall and Sandella's. Sandella's is a flatbread cafe-ish thing in the student center where you can use Flex Dollars. Gee is the general dining hall. It's not bad, but it's not good. Some days are better than others. It's a cafeteria. They do serve freshly made omelets at Sunday brunch though, so that's a plus. It really just depends on the day.

    Dorm Life

    If at all possible, I would suggest living in a dorm even if you're close enough to commute. Having that community makes it easier to make friends and stay connected (especially if you're shy like me).

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor depends on which program you go into and what you are used to. If you're looking for more rigor at Converse, try to get into the Nisbet Honors Program. Also, look for classes with some of the more rigorous professors, like Poolvoerde, Dunn, Templeton, etc. Being pushed is good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you can afford coming here before choosing to attend. Make sure Converse offers the major you're interested in (that applies to any college though). If you're looking for a party school, this is not the college for you. We have fun, but not like that. You need to go off-campus for that. Attending a women's college is not nearly as daunting as it might seem. It might seem cheesy, but it does give you a greater opportunity to bond with classmates and build friendships. Also, coed Wofford College is nearby and you can take classes there through an agreement Converse and Wofford have.

    In three sentences

    Converse is a college for women unafraid to follow their dreams, goals, desires regardless of what others may think of them. It is accepting of all quirks and differences. It is not what you might expect, but in a good way.

  • 08/10/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I've heard good things about the food, but I'm more of a home cooked meal kind of girl.

    Dorm Life

    I've visited campus and the dorms are much better than others I've stayed at or visited. Less of a cell; more of a room.

    Academic Rigor

    I've discussed this topic with admissions officers and current students. The professors are feirce, but fabulous. They mean business, but they're also very helpful.

  • 09/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety will pick you up if you feel unsafe and they give you their number.

    Greek Life

    I don't know much about this

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club fair at the beginning of the year. If you want it we got it, or you could make it yourself

    Great for these types of students

    Music, politic, English, Psychology, Education, Languages, Cultures, & Literatures and sport student should really give this school a look. (science and math too)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    1889 Spirit Week, Big Sis/Lil' Sis, May Day, Montgomery by Moonlight, Peppermint Ball, Pink Panthers & Red Devils, Sophomore Ring Ceremony, Trips & Excursions, Concerts, and Wild Wednesdays are event we enjoy every year.

    Bang for the buck

    Almost everything is included in the room and board and tuition, even the year book! Here a list. free use of the laundry facilities located in each residence hall registration fee student activity fee unlimited Internet access through campus network e-mail cable television hookup in each residence hall room microfridge in each residence hall room free local telephone service a campus parking permit health services, including counseling if needed choice of meal plans access to fitness center and indoor swimming pool 24-hour emergency assistance through Converse Public Safety a Converse College yearbook free admission to on-campus athletic, cultural, and other events and more

    What to do for fun

    We have activities like ghost night and Big Sis/Lil Sis. Every week there are a lot of options to chose from.

    Food and Dining

    there food is good most of the time, but when it's not you can go to SANDELLA'S with your Flex dollars. (freshmen get $200 or $300 depending on your meal plan) the meal plan is include in room and board.

    Dorm Life

    It's like a family in the dormitory. If you need a ride some where post it on your converse class Facebook page and you will have one.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes move fast, so take notes and study the night you get them. There are some great clubs and events you will want to join and you don't want studying at the last min to get in the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join the debate team even if you don't want to be a politics major, it will help you out in the long run.

    In three sentences

    Converse College is a great school. They are really hands on and they have a national recognition for their debate team. There are community showers for freshmen, but it's not that bad. Each floor as a kitchen (no stove) and the washers and dryers are free and they are in your dormitory.

  • 09/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you are not okay with homosexuality don't come here. Also take honestly and integrity seriously as we hold our honor code sacred. Schedule an overnight visit it is great to let you know what college is really like

    In three sentences

    I love it here but the net cost is pricey. It can be frustrating if you are not from south Carolina to make it through with out having to borrow 17 thousand dollars a year. That being said I love it here and would recommend it highly to all who are considering it.

  • 10/11/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Amazing college if you want a stress free girls only environment

  • 12/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No Greek Life

    Great for these types of students

    Artsy, outgoing, alternative

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Honor Code, Full Moon secret campus pranking group, fountain hopping

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition reset in Fall 2014 is a huge deal

    What to do for fun

    Westgate mall is about 15 minutes from campus, you're basically in downtown Spartanburg, and there are tons of restaurants around.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty disgusting 99% of the time, honestly

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to meet a variety of different students and work hard to earn good grades in your classes.

    In three sentences

    A women's college with interesting students, Converse is an ideal school for students wishing to major in music, art, or ASL. The Athletic teams lose a lot more than they win and the classes are pretty demanding. The dorms range from really cool (Dexter has high ceilings and hardwood floors) to really prison-like (Williams).

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Converse is in Downtown Spartanburg, so stuff is always going on here, or not too far off campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is always different. They may have the same things, but it will be cooked at new way. You can always find something to eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice and you get to know your roommate and hallmates well.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics can be a challenge, but as long as you work hard you will be fine. The professors are really helpful. Ask lots of questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember this is an a women's college Study daily Make time for fun

    In three sentences

    I love Converse College. It is a wonderful private school. And it also has a beautiful campus.

  • 02/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many activities each week to get you out of your dorm including Pintrest Night Bingo and much more

    Food and Dining

    Our food service staff provides us with many healthy options including vegitarian, vegan, and gluten free.

    Dorm Life

    Small halls foster community at our school.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel like I will be prepared for graduate school because of the small class sizes that will make me a competitive applicant.

    Tips for prospective students

    We take our Honor Code seriously so this is not the place to be if you want to party everynight

    In three sentences

    Converse can be a place to find yourself and your worth but if you can't get over the fact that there aren't any boys here then you don't belong here.