Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Coppin State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 10 people found this review useful. 3 people found this inaccurate. 1 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's a good school if you want to party and just have fun!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do a thorough background check of the school and be positive that you want to go there. The food isn't that great either. Don't forget the no overnight visitation policy!

    Bang for the buck

    If you are from out of state the price is not worth it unless you have a lot of financial aid. Coppin only gave me $1,000, which is nothing compared to $21,615 for the year.

    Am enjoying being here

    Campus is not secure, anyone can come on. School is in the middle of the hood, you can't walk the streets at night

  • 03/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    go hard or stay home

    Am learning a lot

    This is and excellent HBCU, and the nursing program is the !!!TRUTH!!! im am treated like an individual and not a number......

  • 09/03/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research because coppin state is not for everybody.

    Am enjoying being here

    Its ok for the most part, Its not gonna be worth it if you dont make this experience your own.

    Am learning a lot

    Coppin has alot of people who are willing to help you.

  • 07/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Coppin State University is a great school for people that don't have much money but desire a good education. The professors at Coppin are very good.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are only 2 dorm buildings right now. Try to get into Daley Hall instead of Dedmond because Daley is the newer dorm building. It's not a big campus which is good for the fact that you can get to all of your classes on time; everything is in walking distance. Also try to develop good time management skills which is key to surviving Coppin State University & any school in general.

    Bang for the buck

    I think Coppin State University is affordable as an in-state student. I would rather attend Coppin than a Community College. I pay about $12,000 a year since I also live on campus, which isn't bad to me.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am satisfied with Coppin State but I feel as though there could be some improvements. The Wi-Fi service is poor in the dormitories and the food is average. At night there is no where to go on campus because everything is closed at 8pm. I do like the fact that Coppin is more diverse than I anticipated.

    Am learning a lot

    Coppin State University has a small student to teacher ratio which is great because you can develop a relationship with your teacher. I like that I have a lot of resources available on campus and there is always someone there to help me. Attending Coppin has taught me a lot about time management and myself in general.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are little shops in the Taws Center builing where you can get good things to eat like pizza, subs and healthy food. The dinning area is also affortable and the food taste great. I dont often eat on campus but I heard alot of good things about the food.

    Dorm Life

    There are alot of clubs that host an event almost every other week. We also have rallys for our sport teams. Many of my friends live in the same dorm as me so we often have time to still hang out after class.

    Academic Rigor

    The class are a little hard. You can make it out of Coppin State in four years if you stay on top of your work. Also if ask for help when you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have a plan, you should stick with it. When you attend college please stay on top of all you work. Also students should take the time out to learn about their claasmates because they are going to be the same people in the work field with them

    In three sentences

    Coppin State University has a lot to offer to new incoming students. The professors tried their hardest to make sure we are learning all we can with little resources. Coppin State University have also added different and new courses that students can take this semster.

  • 11/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    baltimore locals who are commuting

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on top of your stuff. Seems like all the offices have a problem with doing things on time and treating the students as priority. Stay on them!

    Bang for the buck

    Less is always better but you will get exactly what you pay for.

    Am learning a lot

    I would not recommend this college to anyone unless you are really trying to save money. Very small school. Campus life is what you make it. I will admit, the small class size is great because it gives you more one on one time with the professor, however, just like any other college, its up to you to MAKE the professor know you. The professors are great, however the people in charge do not seem to be on the students side. I made a mistake of not listing previous credits from another university on my admissions application. I tried transferring those credits this semester and they denied my request (because I didnt list them originally). The registrar employee simply told me Take all 5 classes (1 semester=$5,000) over or TRANSFER. Point blank. That sets me back 1 semester and $5,000 more in debt if I decide to take them over and if I choose to transfer, I lose other credits & my desired major (Interdisciplinary Studies). Its a MESS! There should be an alternate solution other than that kick in the back. Makes me think, are they really for their student's success or is it all about money??

  • 12/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    This school seems to make up extra money by fining students. Yes that's right students are fined for almost anything. Missing a dorm meeting, not cleaning the bathroom, not cleaning their rooms, and etc. Yes that's right you are forced to clean your room once a week,because your RA must do a mandatory room inspection. If you are to miss the room inspection you will get fined. Dorm life coppin style isn't really fun...

    Bang for the buck

    Although the tuition and room and board are cheap. The Financial aid is horrible picture the school costing you 21 thousand a year but you get only $4000 a year in scholarship money. Including loans.

    Am enjoying being here

    Campus is nice and small and the people are generally nice.

    Am learning a lot

    I learned a lot but the easiest way is to relie on the lectures and readings. If a class is really short like 50 minutes chances are you should depend on the readings more. If a class is longer you may want to depend on the lectures more.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 28

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Coppin State University is a well organize four year institution that brings success to each student that attend. It is a very family oriented school, i felt like family the first day i stepped foot into the school. Coppin state have satisfied my requirements.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police do a great job at securing the campus and surrounding area. However they cannot be everywhere at one time. Crimes does not typically occur more often at Coppin than at any other institution in Baltimore, including Johns Hopkins. Crime does occur more often in the surrounding areas though. Campus is basically safe. There are access passes, and huge locking doors that only residents have the key to unlock.

    Greek Life

    The fraternities present are: Alpha Phi Alpha, Omega Psi Phi and Kappa Alpha Psi, Phi Beta Sigma The Greek sororities are Alpha Kappa Alpha, Delta Sigma Theta, Zeta Phi Beta and Sigma Gama Rho. Non Greek Fraternities and Sororities are Groove Phi Groove and their women counterparts called Swing Phi Swing.

    Clubs and Activities

    Some clubs are the Coppin Players Theatre Group, the Coppin Models, Choir, Band, Athletic Clubs, academic competition clubs, the Anime Club, the Gay Straight Alliance, health associations and honor societies. There are established groups and plenty of room to grow as long as you can find an advisor.

    Great for these types of students

    Coppin is great for students who would like to take a leadership roll in social life on campus. You can open as many doors and set as many foundations as you like at Coppin. There will always be someone willing to support you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every season, there huge formal/informal programs that exhibit the new members of the Divine Nine Fraternities and Sororities. These events typically attract hundreds of viewers and take place at night. Coppin can be supportive. There is Pan African Market Place Day full of African and International Memorabilia, and food.

    Bang for the buck

    Best education for the price because Coppin must adhere to the University System of Maryland standards. If you are considering any Maryland University, you can consider Coppin State University. The urban area is a turn off to some but, I have lived here for several years without outrageous issues.

    What to do for fun

    On campus making new friends means endless possibilities. If you are just lounging around campus, you may be able to catch a film on the 20 feet high outdoor setup, utilize the hundreds of state of the art HP Computers on campus. One can go out to some of the many venues that Baltimore City has to offer. Baltimore is located 50 miles from Washington, D.C. On weekdays the MARC Train will take you from Baltimore Penn Station to Union Station in D. C. for $7.00. The trip takes 45 minutes. From Union Station an infinite amount of awesome cultural experiences open up.

    Food and Dining

    The only restaurant on campus is Subway. Thompson's Catering has an exclusive catering contract, therefore all events with food on the campus must be catered by Thompson's which can be pricey, but a great quality and customer service. The location is fine in relation to grocery and retail stores (Target). There are also plenty of food delivery services that are available late at night.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are about 1/2 mile from Mondawmin Mall, so much of what you need is close to your dorm building. There is also a grocery store a short walk away. As for the buildings, most floors have about 8 suites with 4 rooms in each. No more than two people are assigned to a room and there is a bathroom in each suite. The staff is always trying to find new and interesting things to do for students between classes and recreation.

    Academic Rigor

    Coppin has won prizes for the school's website, and the professors have won various prestigious awards. Meaning there are always research projects to challenge and further the academic career of students in most academic programs. Assistance is always available and so is a great challenge. When you become a Coppin State University Eagle, you must be prepared to perceive life entirely differently that you had before your academic engagement began.

    Tips for prospective students

    At Coppin, as with any university, one must be prepared to stay focused despite any distractions. If you can stay focused, and motivated, you will experience much success. Graduates of Coppin have done everything from address the Supreme Court appear on CNN. Get active in student government and student activities as soon as possible. Mostly, ensure that there are activities that are to your specific liking. Help is available everywhere so do not hesitate to ask. Please consult your advisor before you register for classes and if you feel unsure about anything. Especially if you are considering changing directions.

    In three sentences

    Everyone is familiar with the popular saying, There's an app for that, at Coppin State, there same can be said for any academic or social pursuit one may possess.Coppin is located in the heart of the bustling city and is convenient for commuters. Coppin is a community striving to achieve a high standard of academic excellence that has wonderful teachers that really care about the students.

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus like any other college is as safe as any other college. It is important to understand that Coppin State is not closed off to the public, therefore anyone can walk on at any time. It is located in the middle of the city so cars have been broken into, there were several robberies and assaults. It is important that when traveling at night to not do so or if necessary travel with a buddy.

    Greek Life

    I am not affiliated with any Greek organizations but they are very much active on campus and post flyers about up coming events. However I do not see them a lot on the yard. This may be do to the fact that I am a commuter.

    Clubs and Activities

    clubs and activities consists of Greek and non-Greek organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    Coppin is a great choice if Nursing and Psychology is what you want to major in. Attending Coppin for these majors can help prepare you for your career.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual traditions on campus that I know of. The most unusual thing to me when I first started was that I had to park next to some abandoned buildings.

    Bang for the buck

    I would say that you are getting what you pay for. There are are always things that I feel could be improved upon but with Coppin evolving, I feel that they will get there.

    What to do for fun

    On campus there are some parties, movie nights, games, plays and dance shows but because you can go off campus many students will take advantage of that option.

    Food and Dining

    The food is limited by variety. You can find pizza, fries, salad and soup but the deserts and entrees are often set to two or three choices. If they are having pasta, spinach, mac and cheese, sweet potatoes and chicken. You can only choice one meet and two sides. You can however come back for more. They have a Sandwich bar that might include peanut butter and jelly sandwich's, hotdogs, cheese steaks and/or cold cuts. they also have a stir-fry station with your choice of rice, pasta, veggies, and a protein. This however is depending upon the day and time. The variety is limited because the University is right in the middle of the city with the mall located next to the school along with other restaurants and carry out places. This is also why you won't find the dinning hall crowded unless their is a special occasion. Last but not least the food can be great or just okay depending on who might have cooked it.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunate I cannot give my opinion on the dorm life at Coppin because I am a commuter. However I can say that their dorm stay is limited, there may be about two or three dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Coppin's academic rigor comes down to what you make it. Some classes will be harder then others. It often depends on the professor. If you come to class everyday, complete assignments, and stay focused being successful in your classes is achievable.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is important for prospective students to get a head start during the times of registration. Be sure to keep copies of all of your records and when receiving book vouchers always request them early to avoid falling behind in class.

    In three sentences

    Coppin State University started off as a teachers college (Coppin College)slowly evolving into one of the top HBCUs. Coppin State is currently trying to make head way in becoming more diverse, updating their utilities and expanding the campus to accommodate incoming freshman. The University has also given students the opportunity to provide students with an opportunity to have a voice through the campus newsletter and SGA.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students interested in nursing say it is a good school

    What to do for fun

    There are not many things to do

    Academic Rigor

    One star

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research

    In three sentences

    The students are very nice. I would rate it as a high level community college

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Their is a gym where you can work out and stay fit. Their is a shopping mall nearby.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay it is not the best.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is good their are two dorm places. Its has all the necessities for you to live comfortably.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is not considered as an ivy league or top school but it is okay.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always do your work and study for test and quizzes so you can do well in school. Hang out with the right people who are samrt and cool at the same time.

    In three sentences

    This is a school that is okay. The benefit of going to this school is that their is less distractions. If anybody wants to suceed they can suceed because their are alot of resources here to suceed.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    They raised tuition another $2000 which is an outrage! we barely were getting what we pay for, now we are paying more for what it is worth.

    Food and Dining

    food and dining is a bust but you get use to it. bring tums the first week though

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is a bore because its really small

    Academic Rigor

    Academicallly wise Coppin is a 3 out of 5.

    Tips for prospective students

    Expecting Togo to Coppin? My advice is get used to being bored.

    In three sentences

    coppin is a nice small school. The people are nice and the professors are wonderful. We have excellent nursing and teaching programs.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent, and I commute in the evenings.

    Great for these types of students

    Every student will love to come here.

    Bang for the buck

    I enjoy the waterfalls near the campus.

    What to do for fun

    Walking, reading novels, books.

    Food and Dining

    Excelllent canteen, book store with drinks, snacks, etc.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are interesting and challenging!

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused, study hard, and stay positive.

    In three sentences

    Coppin State University is an excellent school for adults returning back to college and want to further their career.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many campus police officers, plus Baltimore City police officers so safety is covered.

    Greek Life

    Sororities and fraternities have benches located outside that represent them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty clubs you can join you just have to get engaged.

    Bang for the buck

    coppin is pretty inexpensive, and its located across from a mall.

    What to do for fun

    They are always holding activities and little programs to kill time. plus, there is a physical education complex where you can work out or swim or play basketball.

    Food and Dining

    coppin gives you $50 to eat at the restaurant on campus, and also allows you to make a meal plan. The food is nice, but the cafe closes at 8.

    Dorm Life

    I live on campus and the rooms are pretty accommodating. there are weekly inspections to make sure everything is clean and tidy.

    Academic Rigor

    Acaddemically this school is perfect, it provides a safe environment where learning takes place.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are a prospective student for Coppin just remember to turn in your residency form and pay debts, or they might drop your classes.

    In three sentences

    I love my HBCU Coppin State University. It is well organized, the classes aren't too big nor too small. I also love it here because it close to home.

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is decent but variety of food is horrible because we get the same foods every week.

    Dorm Life

    It's a fun experience so far this year, last year I lived off campus. The only problem I have is that I need more money so I can live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    To me all the classes are easy and the majority of the athletes pass. This past year the sports teams had a combined 3.1 GPA.

    In three sentences

    Coppin State Univ. is and institution that allows people to excel in life. People around here are friendly and I love playing baseball here. I want to stay here all four years of my college career.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Always daily activities.

    Food and Dining

    Good.

    Dorm Life

    Not living on campus

    Academic Rigor

    Tough but you can get through it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure financial aid is taken care of befor school starts.

    In three sentences

    A very fun enviroment. Good for learning

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    coppin police

    Clubs and Activities

    sports

    Great for these types of students

    brother hood and sister hood

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the sorities group

    Bang for the buck

    work study or an off campus job

    What to do for fun

    i go to the habor and the museums and down town to the city of batlimore .

    Food and Dining

    it tatse okay but sometimes you wanna buy stuff off of campus with your froemds

    Dorm Life

    it is a nice experience from being away from home .

    Academic Rigor

    shot for a 4.0 in your freshman year

    Tips for prospective students

    contraste on your classes because it only gets harder after your freshmen year. try to at least aim for all a's and b's in all your classes.

    In three sentences

    coppin is a wonderful campus . it is very small. you can learn alot of things here .

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Coppin has 24 hour campus police. They secure the campus as well as the neighboring community. You can even ask for escort service if needed.

    Greek Life

    Coppin has several Fraternities and Sororities for you to become a part of. You do not have to worry about hazing or anything of that nature.

    Clubs and Activities

    Coppin has lots of clubs and activities. Anything that you are interested in their is a club for you.

    Great for these types of students

    Coppin is great for all types of students. Whether you are just graduating high school or an older student, wanting to return to

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that the faculty are excellent for they are truly experienced in their field.

    What to do for fun

    The College host a lot a activities and workshops for its students on and off campus. You have a variety of clubs and organizations that you can join as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent. There are several places for you to dine. As well as having a Subway Food store on campus. (Healthy eating).

    Dorm Life

    I can't speak on the Dorm Life because I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is tough, but rewarding. You learn so much from your instructors.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should apply early to the College, as well as apply early for Financial aid, scholarships, etc. You should find out who your academic advisor is and always maintain contact.

    In three sentences

    Coppin State University is an excellent University to begin your college studies. Coppin has an outstanding faculty, that share they expertise in their field. The Financial aid at coppin is very rewarding.

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with roommates, go to sporting events, hang out at shopping mall.

    Food and Dining

    Food isnt very great (some times.)

    Dorm Life

    Daley Hall is better than Dedmond.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and take advantage of the extra help programs offered.

    In three sentences

    Coppin State University is definately the college for you if you want to attend somewhere small, and want to recieve personal one on one help. It has a very warm and friendly environment. Professors have no problem with helping out.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's always some events happening on campus. The University is also located very close to Mondawmin mall.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of food options to choose from on campus (subway, dining hall etc.) Also is located very close to Mondawmin Mall for even more food choices.

    Academic Rigor

    I do feel challenged in a good way academically. I am much happier here than I was at my previous community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay organized if you're going to attend this University. Always save receipts, documents, etc. that you receive from this University.

    In three sentences

    Coppin State University has a beautiful campus despite the neighborhood that surrounds it. The staff can be very disorganized at times but there are many individual staff members there that are willing to help you as long as you seek their help. The only thing I find frustrating about this University is having to constantly stay one step ahead of the administrative staff in regards to financial aid to insure your information is being handled correctly in the right amount of time.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Downtown Baltimore is only 10 mins away!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not choose early morning classes esp if you are a commuter

    In three sentences

    Coppin has a beautiful campus. Staff dosent have the best attitude Class sizes are small

  • 05/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is on North Avenue, plus its an open campus. That all I am going to say

    Greek Life

    You wont be able to tell who is a greek unless they are sitting on their bench or making their call. Greek Life is barely apart of this campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing and Education majors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an Oasis Lounge on campus with massage chairs that you can go to if you are stressed out.

    What to do for fun

    Go to events, although they are not all fun. The Harbor downtown is fun, especially if you are not from Baltimore.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would only recommend this school to students who plan on majoring in Nursing or Education.

  • 11/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun I am involved with the band; I play basketball although I am not on the team; and also hang out with friends. I have also signed up for SGA which is very interesting and something that I enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    When I buy food it's okay.

    Dorm Life

    I commute daily from my home to the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Like I said this is my first year and the academic achievement is very rigorous. You have to pretty much pay attention, be aware and be a step ahead of your classes. The instructors are very demanding, the reading assignments are a lot, and the requirements for doing 5 to 15 pages research paper are a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    I'm recommending that all incoming freshmen register for the summer program. The SASA Program was a step in the right direction, which help and teach students about college life, teachers' expectation, the campus system, and will help you get familiar not only with the campus but with the structure of college life.

    In three sentences

    A....I give Coppin State University an A grade because this is my first year there and everything has been exceptional. The counselors helps me decide on the correct course to take for my major and have kept in contact with me throughout the course of the semester thus far. I was also given a mentor since this is my first year that Coppin to help me be successful this school year. I must say that I am having a wonderful time does for.

  • 02/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police are there to make sure everyone is sae and no one gets hurt. They are there to assist you when you need help.

    Greek Life

    They also have steps shows and greek informative nights.

    Great for these types of students

    There are many organizations for people with good hearts who like to volunteer. Organizations for people who want to get involved in greek life. Or those who have a passion for dancing.

    Bang for the buck

    The most important thing I've learned at Coppin is staying focused. Do not let anyone or anything put you down. If you be your own person you can achieve anything. There will always be someone to give you good advice, such as the RA's, president of the school, and dean. Surround yourself by good people. Do good and you shall get good. Learn from your mistakes and you will succeed.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of educational activities that are fun. Informative things on health and campus life, as well as game night, steps shows, baskeballt games, volleyball games. The is an indoor pool and open basketball court. There are also parties where you can dance. Being responsible is most important when it comes to partying.

    Food and Dining

    Depending on how well you like your food. Dining is great. They have all types of meals to choose from. From vegetarian food, normal pizza and fries, home cooked meals, to gourmet. Its all good.

    Dorm Life

    It's all what you make it. Be around people who are not only similiar to you, but want to make it through just like you do. You can enjoy dorm life and get good grade all at the same time. Do not let anyone make choices for you. Be yourself!

    Academic Rigor

    It's all up to you. How you study, go to class, and participate all determines on whether you make it at coppin. The professors are there to help, but you have to be the one to let them motivate you to keep going. You have to motivate yourself not to give up. If you study hard and keep pushing you will see great results.

    Tips for prospective students

    Staying focused and not giving up is what you need at coppin. If you do not give up you can get through any obstacle.

    In three sentences

    Coppin state university's pride is what attracted me the most. The professors are down to teach you everything you need to know and will do anything to help you. They are willing to help you through.

  • 02/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities on campus and there are many things to do outside of campus and there is a mall outside of campus.

    Food and Dining

    With a new catering company here, the food is absolutely amazing compared to other schools.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing, I love the dorms and it's so much better staying on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are rigrous but it's for a reason. They do it to help prepare you for the real life post graduation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Coppin helps you prepare for college with a summer program. Just come prepared to be challenged academically, it is going to be an easy ride, but it will be worth it.

    In three sentences

    Coppin State is a small university with so much to offer. There is so much to do in the campus and there a lot of students here that are so nice. You will learn so much while here.

  • 02/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    100% SAFE

    Greek Life

    Awsome

    Clubs and Activities

    Cheerleading Y-Rated (Dance group) SABP SGA And ECT.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing majors and well and sports management and theatric major would love Coppin state university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nope

    Bang for the buck

    Greek life is fun to watch.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can walk across the street to a mall called Mondawmin Mall. On campus they have activities to do within your dorm halls or other buildings on campus. There are also games and sport events to go to on campus. We have a gym and an indoor pool and well and a track and field.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay sometimes and other days its great. They serve the same foods almost everyday and they may change the main dish every once in a while.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. There are 2 dorms on campus one called Daley and the other called Dedmond Hall. These dorms are both Co-Ed dorms, meaning men and women stay on the same floors.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here can be rigorous if your don't study and don't come to class everyday. You should never not come to class. You should never get behind on your assignments. Forming a study group with people in your class will be very beneficial for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips I could offer would be to get to know your Professors. Don't be afraid to be the student to ask a lot of questions and receive help that is needed. Another tip would be to buy your books after you go to the class on the first day. I say this because most of your teachers wont require you to buy these expensive text books and you could get them cheaper online. I would also say to apply for work study early in the semester so you can receive help to pay for tuition. Coppin is not that expensive but if you know you don't have the money for school, please apply for a lot of scholarships. The last tip I could give would be to stay focused and don't let other people drama become yours.

    In three sentences

    Coppin State University is a great HBCU. I love the school spirit the students have at the basketball, volleyball and football games. The administrators and Professors are all awesome people and they will help you with almost anything you need help with.

  • 06/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe. Do not hear too much about violence that occurs on campus.

    Greek Life

    HBCU Greek Life. Do a lot of community service and also take part in Step Contests.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Government Association plans many activities. Clubs and Organizations exist ranging from Volunteer Groups, Groups based on potential professions, groups based on culture, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are interested in a Nursing Program should look in to Coppin's Helen Fuld School of Nursing. It is a top Nursing Program around.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Coppin State is a beautiful campus set upon the urban neighborhoods of Baltimore. Many people that you meet here, you probably won't meet anywhere else. The location is a turn down for many people because of this, but the downtown area is

    Bang for the buck

    Coppin State University has been ranked as one of the most affordable schools in Maryland.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities planned out for students such as open mic nights, late night breakfasts, talent shows, etc. Many students on campus take advantage of the quiet lounge and game rooms where students can play pool, ping pong or video games.

    Food and Dining

    Every student has their own opinion about food and dining. The cafeteria is open from 7AM to 8PM. Sometimes main course meal choices do not look too appetizing but alternatives are offered to students. Other than the main course, there is always the choice of the salad bar, sandwich bar, desert area, italian choice or a grill that can be chosen instead There is also a Grille Works restaurant, Subway, and Einsteins Bagel on campus as well.

    Dorm Life

    There are two sets of dorms. Coed but suite quarters are separated by gender. Each student has a roommate unless applying for a single room. A student will share the suite and bathroom space with at almost 5 to 7 other students. Activities are planned for residence and are quite fun. Dorm Life is what you make it!

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are as rigorous as the major that students choose. The top programs on campus are more competitive than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a visit for yourself and see if you like it here. Everyone has something that they are looking for. Check out scholarship opportunities.

    In three sentences

    Coppin State University is an HBCU in Baltimore, Maryland and has been rated as one of the most affordable Universities in Maryland. It is a small school offering good sized classes, good programs and a beautiful campus. Our school is expanding and looking to continue to build and grow upon the long lived history that it has.