Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Corban University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/31/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I've encountered an entire array of personalities here, and the fun of living in a dorm is unparalleled! There's a healthy balance of everything from MLIA readers and reenactors to normal sports participants, book worms and video game enthusiasts. There truly is a niche for every person who desires to seek after God and the plan He has for him or her.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit! If you organize a visit through the college on the right day of the week (Mon, Wed or Fri), you qualify for a $500 scholarship your first year here! Plus, you could stay in the rad dorms. :D Also, get your FAFSA done as early as possible (Corban's reservoir for financial assistance depletes significantly by the summer... the earlier you're in the system, the better chance you'll have for getting every penny you can). Check into the scholarships Corban offers and apply for whatever you qualify for! Also, take that SAT or ACT more than once in hopes of qualifying for a higher academic scholarship--one point on the ACT got me another $8,000.

    Bang for the buck

    Don't let that price tag drive you away! It IS possible to get through here on grants and scholarships alone (I'm evidence)! Corban holds itself to entirely different standards than other schools--professors included. The quality of education, personal feel, opportunities in the area and room for spiritual growth are truly priceless. If you want to mature in your faith and knowledge, dedicating both completely to God, Corban is the place for you.

    Am enjoying being here

    I can't imagine myself at any other campus! It's big enough that you feel all-growed-up-and-on-your-own, but small enough to get to know people. The best part about the friendly Corban atmosphere is the hand print of God wherever you look!

    Am learning a lot

    There are a variety of classes here--I feel like a kid in a candy store! Luckily, you have a personal advisor in the department of your major who is dedicated to making sure you take the right classes at the right time. That way, you can take that archery class and study into Daniel and Revelation along with your required courses. Another note: every student graduates with a minor in Biblical Studies.

  • 01/02/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Corban College is great for a student who loves God and wants to get connected with other believers. If you are a hard worker and willing to seek God's will in your life, Corban is the place for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a student here, I would suggest that you bring a car to campus. It is not an absolute necessity, but the bus stop is a thirty minute walk from campus, and the campus is a five minute drive out of town.

    Bang for the buck

    Corban is rather expensive, but I find it to be well worth the money. Each student graduates with a bachelor degree in his or her chosen field, as well as with a minor in Bible. Not only that, Corban lets students begin their observations as freshman so they can go directly out into the field.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people are all extremely welcoming. Everyone works together to avoid leaving anybody out of an event. The campus is beautiful, the dorms are comfortable, and the food is not too bad either!

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are extremely accessible. They are willing to help their students make the grade! Each class period is kept lively and interesting, so I learn something new every day.

  • 01/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Friendly and God-loving.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit first to get a feel for things.

    Bang for the buck

    Corban is expensive, but totally worth the money. I wouldn't want to be anywhere else.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people are so friendly, and become your family.

    Am learning a lot

    I love being able to learn about how the Bible relates to my field of study. The classes are fun, and the professors are amazing!

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The most popular majors here are music, education, and ministry. We have a huge, amazing music program, so if you're interested in that, I would definitely recommend checking Corban out. Our education and ministry programs are great too, and I know tons of people majoring in these. Even the smaller programs are great too. I'm a journalism major, and I only know three other people on campus who are in the same program. But it's still a great, quality education. Check out our list of majors and programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit! There are two weekend overnight visits each year (one in November and one in February or March), and there are individual campus tours almost daily. I would highly encourage you to come visit and see what our campus is like.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost here is expensive, but so is the cost at basically every other school in the country. The financial aid here is great. I managed to get nearly two-thirds of my costs covered by scholarships and grants. If I remember correctly, I think Corban is a bit cheaper than most other private schools in Oregon. The value of education, spiritual growth, and relationships here is totally worth the money, though. Also, know that your tuition cost covers the cost of pretty much every major activity here, so make it worth your money and get involved! We have so many fun intramural sports - from volleyball and ultimate frisbee, to capture the flag and paint balling.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love it here. At the beginning of this summer, I wasn't sure I would be able to afford to live on campus, or even attend at all. I'm so blessed to say that God provided everything down to the last penny. I love living in my dorm (go Aagard!) and all of the people I have met in the process. My RA is amazing, and so are my roommate and everyone else I've gotten to know in and out of my dorm. I can't even imagine what it would be like to be at another school (like OSU, where I almost had to go). I have made friendships here that I know will last for years to come, even after we graduate. The campus is beautiful and peaceful, and I can feel God's presence on a daily basis. The size is perfect. It's big enough that you don't feel stuck in a small space all the time, but small enough that you can get to know most of the students.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning so much at Corban. All students here will graduate with a minor in Biblical Studies. I'm in my first semester here, and I'm already taking two Bible classes. I have grown up going to church and reading my Bible as far back as I can remember. Since starting at Corban, though, I've learned so much that I didn't know from all those years before. Somehow, the professors here seem to know how to give you the information you need and make it stick in your brain. For example, I've never done well in history, not matter how much I try to learn the same information. But here, I remember it so much better. The professors are amazing, and they make sure to get to know their students and care about them. There's also a great variety of classes.

  • 10/05/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those wanting to grow and stretch themselves as students, people, and Christians.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus if at all possible. It's a beautiful campus with wonderful people. You can only get a feel for the campus atmosphere and if it is right for you if you come and visit. Plus you can only get the $500 visit scholarship if you visit. The Corban Experience, one in the fall and one in the spring, are the best times to come.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, it's a little spendy. You're paying for what taxes cover at state schools and more, the more that makes a private Christian education worth the extra buck. Professors pray before class starts and our education is based on preparing us to make a difference in the world, which means a good thorough education backed by integrity and a Biblical base. There are plenty of scholarships available, most students get financial aid from the school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I chose Corban because the people and atmosphere were so friendly and because these people actually want to live out their faith! The smallness of the campus only increases how many people you know and faces you recognize which means there always is someone to say hi to. My favorite part of Corban is dorm life. Living in community with other fun, spontaneous Christians who love me and keep me accountable is more than i ever though i could ask for from college life.

    Am learning a lot

    College is hard work. Lots of reading, and studying and more reading. But Corban's professors are amazing because, with the small class size, they actually get to know you, your name, and pray for you. They are concerned with their students doing well not only academically, but in life as well. Every Professor has an open door policy, meaning if they are in their office, come on in! I have found my professors to be easily accessible through email, meetings before and after class and personal meetings. Having your Professor care and make themselves available makes all the difference when it comes to academic success.

  • 10/26/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want a good christian education with a community of caring and loving students and faculty come to Corban. It is one of the best choices I have ever made!

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus if you can and make sure to get involved in campus life. It is a blast!!!!!!

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love Corban and the community here!

  • 02/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christians, Those seeking to be ministers, Ed. majors, almost any major offered.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get on the scholarships early!

    Bang for the buck

    Don't let the price scare you away!! It is entirely possible to get most if not all of the financial aid to cover what you need to get here. The school is extremely helpful as well and will do whatever they can to get you here.

    Am enjoying being here

    Corban has a wonderful, supportive, and close knit Christian community that is welcoming and encouraging. There is a plethora of on-campus activities, school promoted functions, and off-campus attractions to enjoy. This Christ-centered school is the best place for Christians seeking Liberal Arts education.

    Am learning a lot

    Corban is a small school with incredible programs and professors. Some of these professors could be Ivy League level professors but instead choose to serve us here. If you come, every student graduates with a free minor in Biblical Studies as a part of the normal required curriculum.

  • 11/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Corban is a private school so, yes the price is high but definatly worth it when you add in all of the opportunities it provides and the services as well! From a coffee shop to access to a music house Corban provides the most for its students in achedemics and in their grow as young adults!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here at Corban University! With its natural tranquility its hard not to be joyful on campus. Corban has so many opportunities for those who want more then just a typical college experience! Being here it makes you feel apart of a loving community filled with wonderful administration, loving professors and a huge pool of people willing to be your life-long friend. Corban University doesn't make you feel like a number, it makes you feel belonged. If your not sure about it, just go out on a limb and go to Corban Experience and you will see why people like me love being here at Corban so much!

    Am learning a lot

    Learning is so easy here at Corban. Professors usually have an open door policy and are willing to help you with a smile! Most class sizes are about 20 students and one on one is easy to find. Theres always study groups going on for almost any class because everyone is willing to help and study with whomever!

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Corban is located on a hill outside of the heart of the city and is surrounded by 5 prisons/correctional facilities. While this may not sound good, it means that Corban is safer than most campuses. The school is always notified first of anything potentially threatening occurring at the prisons, although this is an rarity. Corban maintains lighted pathways and offers free whistles to those who want to take extra precautions. Additionally, the school has 24/7 security patrol which also makes students feel safer.

    Greek Life

    Corban doesn't have sororities or fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Corban offers a large number of clubs and activities covering a wide range of choices, including: Intramurals (from Dodgeball to Board Game Olympics, these events occur throughout the year), ASB sponsored events, missions-focused organizations, music groups, and New Christian groups. If you can think of it, Corban has it!

    Great for these types of students

    Corban is a great school for students who want an education that will build off of their faith and will help shape their worldview. Corban advocates community, both on campus and in the city, and so helps students grow in their faith so they can be a mature Christian and witness in all that they do.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On campus we have a prayer chapel which offers space for our TrueNorth (missions) group to meet, and students can come and go there all they want to spend time with God. We have a prayer wall where students can write there prayers down and other students can write them encouraging words and support.

    Bang for the buck

    It is an expensive school, but that should not deter you from attending. The education is impressive and the friendships are for life. The maturing - physically, emotionally and spiritually - that you will be doing is encouraging and should you ever need to speak to someone, faculty is always available.

    What to do for fun

    In addition to all the dorm events, Corban ASB hosts a number of exciting events that the student body can attend for free, including: the Beach Party, the Barn Party, a Sadies Hawkins dance, the Winter Formal, Limelight, Battle of the Bands and the end-of-the-year party. Corban ASB also loves to give out free T-shirts, and so many of these events include free shirts. Twice year students are offered a Midnight Pancake Breakfast which always draws a crowd. This year, in particular, both Phil Wickham and Above the Golden State even came to the school and did a concerts. Going to on campus games are immensely fun as well, although Corban offers a limited amount of sports. Of course there are lots of activities to do off campus as well. Salem is home to a variety of coffeeshops that are unique and sell the best roasts. Salem's cute downtown offers a variety of oddly-shaped bike racks, two malls and many opportunities to meet and reach out to the community through dances, the Elsinore theater and fitness centers.

    Food and Dining

    Corban serves food through Aramark Food Industries, and offers a buffet for each meal of the day. While the hot food line is only open for 2-3 hours per meal, students are always welcome in the dining hall and can eat cereals, salads, sandwichs, desserts or soups between meals. During meals, the grill and pizza bar is always available. Corban Dining is aware of the frequency of health issues, and makes sure to offer a vegetarian dish and a gluten free dish at each meal as well.

    Dorm Life

    Personally, I am an introvert which made transistioning into college more difficult for me than it was for many of my peers. However, Corban has such a community-based and loving atmosphere, even I found it easy to call my dorm home. Corban has 5 residence halls - Prewitt (girls)/Van Gilder (boys), commonly known as PVG, is the only co-ed dorm and is situated near the top of the hill. Balyo (girls) and Davidson (boys) is one of the Brother-Sister dorms, also located near the top of the campus. The other two dorms Aagard (girls) and Farrar (boys) is located at the bottom of the hill, and closest to the dining hall. Each dorm has it's own individual feel and amenities, which can make choosing a dorm to live in difficult. If you plan on attending the university, I strongly encourage you to visit each dorm personally. Mandatory Dorm Meetings and Sectionals (Halls) build and strengthen relationships, in addition to all the other exciting dorm events, such as: Mr. VG, Balyo Battles, Prewitt Prom, the Lumberjack Games, Roomies and Color Wars.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't exceptionally hard. However, they are constantly shaping your worldview as you ponder how you feel about modern issues. The courses are designed to make you understand what it means to be a Christian today and how to build your future around your faith, in addition to teaching you the subject material

    Tips for prospective students

    When checking out schools, be aware that many schools use gimmicks to entice you; and therefore, do not always provide an accurate image of college life at that particular school. However, if you decide to attend Corban University, be ready for a packed orientation weekend, full of meeting new people, moving onto campus and entering dorm life. A great way to prepare for all this is to take advantage of the CorbanConnect, which is an online forum available to incoming freshmen to meet other new freshmen.

    In three sentences

    Corban has a beautiful campus located on a hill. It has a focus and a drive for building community both on the campus and on the city, enabling students to study and share the truth about God. The faculty is devoted to shaping and encouraging students to grow and mature into capable men and women for f this generation.

  • 10/27/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to enter the ministry (preaching, music, missionary, etc.), or who want to grow in their spiritual walk would be best served by Corban. The university also offers excellent business and psychology degrees if that is an interest.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to attend Corban, ensure you will go there all four years. Transferring into or out of the school is a major headache, and I would not advise any student to undertake it.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is a bit steep, however there are scholarship opportunities. Due to using a semester schedule instead of a trimester schedule, transferring into or out of the college is very problematic. As I was a Health Science Major, I also felt like the courses were not quite up to par.

    Did enjoy being here

    Because it is a Christian school, not all people will find it as refreshing as I did. I enjoyed the various guests we had visit the campus, the weekly chapel services, and just the overall experience.

    Did learn a lot

    Excellent learning atmosphere. All professors are deeply involved in your learning. The small class sizes allow students to interact more completely in the classroom and the professors are very flexible and available to meet with students outside of class.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of things to do around campus, there is the gym where you can work out every day, and most days you can play basketball or volleyball. we have a disc golf course, every dorm has a ping-pong table, and there are a lot of people that you can hang out with too. if you want to go off campus, we are not too far from the lancaster mall and downtown salem. there are also a lot of intramural sports that you can participate in all year round.

    Food and Dining

    this food is pretty good when you come to visit, then you have to eat it every day, and it gets old fast. it doesn't taste too bad if you stick with the same thing, however the good stuff is usually pretty fatty. also, there are a lot of restaurants nearby where you can get away from the dining hall if you want to.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are awesome, you get to hang out with a bunch of your brothers or sisters in christ every day and share good times. also, the three guys dorms each have an awesome event that they put on each year.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are not super tough, but they are challenging and they can take up quite a bit of your time. the teachers are for the most part engaging and they care about you as a person and want you to succeed.

    In three sentences

    a fun, christian environment where you can fellowship with other believers and can learn a lot from a christian perspective. there are over 50 majors and programs available here, so it is very likely that you will find something you are interested in learning.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, but it is nothing compared to a delicious home cooked meal. They try to mix up the menu and will have, for example, stir-fry fridays, etc. In all, by the time you graduate from this school, you are ready to eat something NOT from Corban dining.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun because the campus' student life organization plans a lot of activities for those living on-campus and you make lasting friendships within the dorms . . . especially when there is, on average, 3 people per room.

    Academic Rigor

    Corban University is very challenging, but in the end you come away feelings as if you've learned something. The homework loads are very heavy, but they aren't impossible as long as you set aside the necessary time to complete them. In all, the academic standard at this institution is very high.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Make sure you have a lot of time for required reading. 2) Take intensive notes during lectures. 3) Utilize the library and the teachers' office hours. 4) Have study groups. 5) Don't overload yourself.

    In three sentences

    This University is well-rounded and the teachers are very well-informed. Also, the students are very kind and supportive . . . a perfect environment to make lasting friendships. Lastly, Corban is a place that places God first.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety and I have gotten very close because of the amount of car issues i have had. They have been so good and given me so much grace. We are on a labeled first name car key basis because of how much I locked my keys in my car over the years!

    What to do for fun

    In the dorms there is always something to do! Many girls makes for great fun, whether it is going out on a midnight coffee run or watching movies with the ladies, dorm life was a blast! There is people everywhere on campus and so many things to with them, off campus you can hit the town and paint it red.

    Food and Dining

    I ate my freshman and sophomore year there and Aramark had its good days and bad days. I definitely had a better appreciation for the food when I was working for them. However, Corban charges way to much for the quality of food offered.

    Dorm Life

    I loved dorm life it really stretched me socially, mentally, and physically (all those late nights). It was a blast to have all of the ladies in my hall, there was so much love and the hall bible studies where my favorite; such a precious time.

    Academic Rigor

    I do not have great study habits so I struggled and still struggle managing my time wisely. The teachers do push you, but it is only for your good and they are always there when you are feeling overwhelmed or whatever. :D

    Tips for prospective students

    Students, Fill out scholarships, college is spendy. And buy your books online because it is way cheaper. If you can live off campus asap you save a lot of money!

    In three sentences

    College is a great experience! I love all the people I meet especially in the christian environment that Corban offers. The campus is full of God's love and mercy, from the teachers, to the students to the gardeners, His love is present.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with your dorm, or participate in one of the many student organizations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to try new things here!

    In three sentences

    Corban is a friendly, inviting place where I can learn about what I love. I can learn in a setting that helps me grow in my faith. The professors and staff are so encouraging and helpful!

  • 05/09/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christians, those who want a group of close friends, where you know most of the people on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit on a normal day, not just the experience weekends.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive, but with the scholarships it isn't too bad. And I know that the great Christian atmosphere will totally be worth the money.

    Will enjoy being here

    From visiting the campus several times, I know I will really enjoy the wonderful atmosphere!

    Will learn a lot

    Everyone graduates with a minor in Bible, so you will definitely learn a lot about the Bible.

  • 07/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christians and those learning to expand on your faith.

    Bang for the buck

    Its expensive, that much is for sure, but it is a great education. Its in the top 10 of the Northwest colleges and universities, so woo hoo!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here. The community is great, and the overall feel of the campus is uplifting. Its small so its easy to get to know people and there are plenty of things to be involved in.

    Am learning a lot

    The school is on a semester system, so instead of meeting everyday for an hour and cramming it all into 3 months, its a more relaxed pace. The classes are focused on having you walk away with more knowledge than you came in and the teachers really know their stuff.

  • 01/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 17 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students that want a good education and grow in their faith.

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to work hard to get good grades. It wont come easy

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Faith based students.

    Academic Rigor

    The course work is not easy but it's not impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and come check out all that Corban is about and see how it is a good fit for you.

    In three sentences

    The community of Corban is invigorating and always has some event that you can attend. The professors actually care about your education, and investing their time into you.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hour security guard on campus

    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Christians looking to grow in their walk with the Lord, students who desire a wonderful atmosphere and community

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Campus is removed from the city of Salem (which can be bad if you've no car), old but nicely-kept buildings. One unusual and frustrating tradition is that over the course of their time at Corban, students are required to complete 6 credits of community service with the following requirements: 25 hours per credits, to be served only at any of the FEW pre-approved organizations in Salem. (One option is walking dogs at the dog shelter, but you can't get approved to volunteer as a coach for high schoolers, whose lives you could influence as a good role model and leader.) Hopefully Corban is reworking their priorities here and will soon make it a little easier to fulfill the credit requirements.

    Bang for the buck

    Receive a degree from a name not well-known for almost 40K? You decide if it's worth it for the Christian community and atmosphere, the opportunities for spiritual growth. :)

    What to do for fun

    Frisbee Golf, socialize, sports, Community Life student-led endeavours--activities offered weekly or biweekly throughout the year to students (ex. DaVinci's Playpen- an hour a week of coloring and other childish art to break up hours of homework), Chapel, go off campus, volunteer at dog shelter down the road

    Food and Dining

    For the health-conscious athlete/person, Aramark (the food service) is not ideal. Most of the prepared entrees are salty and fatty. There are always the salad and sandwich options available. Buffet style; very expensive for the quality/value of food.

    Dorm Life

    Friendly and clean environment (only one co-ed dorm, 2 boys' and 2 girls' dorms)

    Academic Rigor

    Comparable to any other private college--hours of homework and reading and studying every night!

    Tips for prospective students

    If at all possible, visit the campus, sit in on a class, stay in the dorm. If you're interested in playing sports for Corban (or any school for that matter) contact the coach right away --this is almost as important as applying to the school itself.

    In three sentences

    If you seek a truly Christ-centered education, I would say Corban University will come the closest to successfully providing that without actually being strictly a Bible college. Don't go to Corban if you're looking to make a huge name for yourself; go to Corban if you are interested in: (1) professors who pray, relate their subjects to the Bible, and genuinely care about their students; (2) a community of fellow Christians; (3) a solid education integrated with the formation of a biblical worldview.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Corban has 24 hour campus security which patrols the campus. I feel very safe at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of activities going on all the time. There is hardly ever a dull moment.

    Great for these types of students

    I truly believe that Corban is a place for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Corban has several traditions each year from Lumberjack Games to Balyo Battles there is always a competition to keep the dorm rivalries going.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost may be high but it is worth it. I really feel like I am pouring into my education and reaping the benefits.

    What to do for fun

    Salem is a great place to find fun things to do but being on campus is enough. There is always something going on and great activities during study breaks.

    Food and Dining

    The food is fair but can get old quick. Luckily there are plenty of great places to eat in Salem when you need a break.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is incredible!!! I recommend it for all who are attending. It is set up to be an environment where everyone can be themselves and get closer to some amazing people and most of all work together to get closer to God.

    Academic Rigor

    This all depends on your major and how much effort you put into it. You get out what you put in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Corban has a very small population which is perfect for me but not for everyone. Make sure that whatever school you pick meets all of your preferences.

    In three sentences

    Corban is an amazing place. The atmosphere is perfect for those who are looking to get closer to God while following their career dreams. Corban is definitely a school to keep in mind.

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Ultimate frisbee, disk golf, bowling, go to portland.

    Food and Dining

    It's pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    It is amazing!!

    Academic Rigor

    Not too difficult but you are challenged at times.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, get involved with everything on campus. It's really easy to make friends!

    In three sentences

    Corban is an excellent school the provides great education with hands on learning with many professors. The class sizes are small so you can have a personal relationship with all students and professors. This school has been a great place for the continuing of my education.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    although there is a prison close by, there is a police station right down the corner. as well as a police shooting range behind the school hill. I've never once felt unsafe at this school.

    Greek Life

    not much Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are few activities on campus, as well as more in the city. almost every weekend there is some sort of sport event occuring that you can go to. also there is always some group watching movies in the dorm lobbys, usually with food. choir, drama, frisbee or other sports, poetry, and various other clubs to join. there really is always something to do, even if it's just hangout with others.

    Great for these types of students

    the type of students who aim to make their life god-centered and uphold to a respectable christian standard. also students who don't mind that the guy/girl ratio is one guy for every five girls. although living in a guys dorm, it really is unnoticeable. if you like being at a small school, with somewhat small classes, this is a great school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the guys and girls dorms have separate events such has he pumpkin smash, where the men in a certain dorm smash pumpkins on a tarp and dogpile on the slippery floor. there is also other events for the the other guy dorms (i forgot the names of) as well as the girl dorms.

    Bang for the buck

    it depends on what you make out of it. the education level is acceptable, although there are some flaws in it, there are also some great things about it as well. you are challenged to expand your knowledge at the same time get closer with god. everybody here is so close, including the teachers, that it feels like a home. you know everybody, and everybody knows you. it really is life changing if you let it be. although I've met some people who hate it at corban because the school doesn't let them drink or smoke as they would like, i think it really does depend on the person. if you're a smoker or drinker, or basically a non-believer, i wouldn't recommend this school for you.

    What to do for fun

    hang out with others and have a good time no matter the activity. ping pong and pool tables are available in almost all dorms, and there is a coffee house that have them as well. the coffee shop (common grounds) has food and couches to sit and watch TV or just hang out. the gym and nature trail are also great ways to get in shape and just have fun with while keeping healthy. there is also a computer lab, library, and soccer field, and music house to enjoy

    Food and Dining

    food is average. nothing superb, but yet it is all edible and somewhat enjoyable. there is always someone at the grill for dinner to offer hamburgers practically anyway you like. the staff in the dining hall are all friendly. there is also always fruit out to help yourself with.

    Dorm Life

    it depends on the dorm in which you stay, but i stay in farrar (one of the guy dorms), and the community of gentlemen have there is great. you are constantly challenged to hold up to christian conduct, but at the same time having fun. it's great :)

    Academic Rigor

    it depends on your major, but in all reality it can be quite difficult. as well, if you are a good student, it can also be enjoyable. you are not only challenged on intellect, but also on spiritual well-being.

    Tips for prospective students

    it rains quite a bit here, but it is an enjoyable rain. also you can't really go many places off campus without a car, so get a car, or make friends with cars. usually the majority of others there will have or know someone with a car. Have fun!

    In three sentences

    corban has a wonderful christian community to it where all is god-centered. although the city is quite a bit away, the scenery is phenomenal and can set any one's mind at ease or in amusement. i love the people here, and i have certainly made friends for life.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are tons of stuff to do around Salem so it's good to get off of campus once in a while.

    Food and Dining

    Aramark doesn't have the greatest dining but they try their best to cater to everyone.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorm I'm in because we have a great sense of family and community and we are always there for one another.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what classes you take and what your major is the work can be very hard or very easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry about sticking to a major because college is a time to figure out what you want to do in life and the advisers and professors help you do that.

    In three sentences

    Corban University is a great school if you want to mature spiritually. It gives you a bigger view of the Christian and non-Christian world around you. Majority of the people here are kind and want to help you in your college career.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Despite the fact that it's located close to a prison, the campus is extremely safe. Campus security does a great job. Most people leave their dorm rooms unlocked, and it's rare if anything gets stolen.

    Greek Life

    No greek life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs and activities, and it's super easy to get involved in them!

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to have fun, grow in their faith, and be prepared for where Jesus wants to take them!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's the push bush, where unlucky students get pushed into a giant bush.

    Bang for the buck

    Corban is a really expensive school, but it's worth it. The academics and community and Christian atmosphere are just perfect.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do for fun! Besides all the games that are always available, there are a bunch of intramurals and clubs around campus for all different types of people. Portland is only about an hour away, as is the beach, and historic downtown Salem is only 15 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    The food itself is pretty good, some of it is really good, and there is a pretty decent variety of items to choose from. A lot of times, they will be out of a certain kind of food or drink that you want, and that's a little disappointing.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is awesome. The lobbies are always filled with people, and their are tons of different games, like pingpong, foosball, pool, card games, and board games. The halls do a bunch of fun activities too, and have a bunch of bonding nights. There are several movie nights and wii parties, and it's just a ton of fun.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes and curriculums are challenging, but not too difficult. The academics are top ranked here, and they really prepare you for a future career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't run away just because of the cost! You can call Corban and they'll work with you so you can attend.

    In three sentences

    A welcoming, loving, and accepting environment. Quality education with helpful and knowledgable professors. A place to grow closer to God.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is great because there are never any problems on campus. It is such a small community, so far away from anything that we never have any problems. Generally, the campus security are students themselves, but we do have a regular security guard.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of ways that you can get involved in something on campus. Wether it's ultimate frisbee, poetry, or sign language you like, there is often something you can find that you like.

    What to do for fun

    The school usually has pretty regular events to keep us energized, but on a school night, there isn't very much to do on campus, unless you and a friend think of something. Your best bet would be in the city of Salem itself.

    Food and Dining

    The food seems to get better every year, and they are getting better about offering more options especially for those with food allergies or intolerances. The food isn't always the best, but the atmosphere is great because it is like eating with your family every night. Except you didn't have to make the food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be really crazy. Everyone is really close, , but sometimes it can be hard to make friends outside of the ones you make in your hall. You will often all do things together, usually for a bonding experience. But with all those people together, it can be pretty loud and crazy when you are trying to sleep.

    Academic Rigor

    You will be challenged academically depending on the classes that you take, and what degree you are pursuing. Overall, you will have homework, reading, or be working on a future project every night. It also gets harder as the semester continues because all the professors like having everything due the same day.

  • 10/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is very spacious with the new addition and the staff is friendly and approachable. A wide variety of food options are available each day, and they strive to receive feedback to create a dining experience formed to what the student wants.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms is a great dynamic to Corban University. The dorm becomes a community and relationships are built with not only your hall mates but with your resident assistant and resident directors as well. The leadership puts a large effort into making the dorms fun, purpose-filled, and interactive.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging and intriguing. The professors always make themselves available for assistance where needed, and free tutoring is offered as well!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit! The campus is beautiful, and you will experience the great atmosphere created by the friendly community. An added bonus is the $500 dollar scholarship just for the trip! Also, take advantage of the scholarship opportunities given, and keep persevering with your academics! They will be essential in receiving good scholarship money.

    In three sentences

    Corban lives up to it's purpose, Dedicating Heart and Mind to God, and every activity is done with intention. The class sizes are moderate and intimate enough to offer personal guidance in each class. Dorm life is very interactive and exciting, and the friendships made are lasting and encouraging.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    ASB puts on fun events all the time, like the Lumberjack Games, the Beach Party, and other good events. There are theaters in the area, the music department puts on concerts, the beach is only an hour away, and Portland (the big city!) is only an hour away as well, in the opposite direction.

    Food and Dining

    This may be my only complaint. I wish there were more options for food, especially after visiting OSU and seeing the thousands of options there!

    Dorm Life

    I've made the best of friends with my roommates and the people in my hall. People all love God here and want to make friends. That's what's so wonderful about a Christian University!

    Academic Rigor

    Like in all colleges, there are classes that are pretty easy to pass. However, you definitely need to keep up your studying and work really hard to get the best grades possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you really want a small school! Corban only has about 800 students on campus, so it's a small environment. That, however, makes it tight-knit.

    In three sentences

    Corban is a wonderful place where Christians will learn in godly settings, with godly professors, surrounded by godly people. The people on campus are so friendly, and you can really tell your professors care about you. All in all, I would absolutely recommend Corban to anyone who was considering coming here.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is generally the safest place to be. Being a christian community, we don't have too many people breaking the law or school codes, and we don't have hardly anyone ever getting hurt. Regardless, we do have fantastic campus guards. They are very approachable, and dedicated to serve God and the students around them. Some of the campus guards are currently enrolled students here on Corban campus. I think that if safety is a worry for you, then Corban is the place to come.

    Clubs and Activities

    I would give it four stars, because in my opinion 5 stars would have to be perfect. Corban is really good about clubs and activities, most of which I have named already.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Each dormitory has it's own major event. My hall's major event is called the Pumpkin Smash!! In few words it is basically a bunch of guys wrestling in pumpkin guts with the whole school watching. It is totally amazing.

    Bang for the buck

    I honestly believe that all the merchandise in the gift shop is overpriced, some sweatshirts priced at $70-$80. Occasionally the gift shop will have discount weeks where one kind of item is 45% off, but even then the price for that item is at the price it should be sold regularly.

    What to do for fun

    We have many things here on campus that are good pass times, most of which are very fun. We have pingpong tables in almost every dormitory, we have pool tables, we have televisions in every dormitory, we have intramurals (which is in school competitive sports against your classmates). We also have two coffee shops on campus as well as a book store and Gift shop. Each dormitory also does many fun activities, as well as with other dorms on campus. There is so much you can get involved with, and so many options, you would have to try very hard if you wanted to be bored.

    Food and Dining

    The food in Aramark is fairly good. They have pizza available every day for those days you don't feel like eating whatever's on the menu. The variety they have is usually quite balanced and nutritious. The only problem I have with the dining here is the hours Aramark is open. It has some very odd hours and isn't open as late or early as I would like. Aramark is the name

    Dorm Life

    The people in my dorm are awesome! I could ask for a better group. Everyone is accepting and willing to help whenever they can. We have dorm meetings and activities keeping life interesting.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors promote excellence! They expect nothing but your best, and will help you if you struggle. This school definitely hold students to a high academic and life standard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely consider Corban! I Promise you it will be one of the best things that has ever happened to you. It will change your life and further your education. If you're not sure where to go, Corban is a great community to look into.

    In three sentences

    Corban is one of the best schools I have ever been a part of. The professors and students are all very excepting and caring, which makes for a very pleasant environment. Finally, teachers are willing to work with you personally and help you when you're in trouble.

  • 11/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is very safe. We have a campus security staff that works around the clock to make sure that nothing or no one comes on campus that's not supposed to be there. Are campus security staff is fully trained and armed and are everywhere around campus all hours of the day and night to ensure safety at our school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are multiple events, clubs, and activities around campus almost every night of the week. Most of our clubs or activities are student lead, which is a great form of leadership. Students put together Pinterest nights, worship nights, we have sports games like volleyball, basketball, soccer, baseball, softball, golf, and intramurals! We also have Open Mic Night, and other various activities that are student lead.

    Bang for the buck

    As said before, it's a really expensive school, but it's worth the education, relationships, and growth that you get out of the whole experience.

    What to do for fun

    There's so much around Corban to do for fun. We have so many sports events, clubs, and other groups that are available just about every night of the week. We also have a gym, two malls, and many restaurants not too far from our campus. Being really close to downtown and to the Lancaster strip makes college life even better. One tradition that our men's dorms holds is always doing a midnight taco bell or McDonald's run.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't the best, but it's edible. The main dishes aren't always what you expect, but there's always something good to eat. Whether it's pizza, a burger and fries, a grilled cheese sandwich, or just a nice big salad, you can be satisfied with just about everything they have to offer. And don't leave the dining hall without one of their amazing M&M cookies or cake balls! Or maybe a 6 tall frozen yogurt ice cream cone!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awesome. You get to have 1+ roommates, you get to do hall and dorm activities every month, and you get to keep those bonds and friendships that you make for the rest of your life. Both girls and guys that live in the dorms become very close throughout their semesters at Corban.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes required and the classes that you are wanting to take do not come easy. Yes, there are those few every once in a while that may seem like easy 'A' classes, but don't let the easy teacher fool you. They make you work hard because they want to see your best work.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Budget/manage your time wisely - just because it's a Christian school, doesn't mean there aren't ever events around campus. - Get good grades, work hard, and try to get a part-time job at some point in your college career. Corban is expensive, but worth it. It helps if you get a lot of financial aid and other scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Corban University is a great school for growth, relationships, and to learn about Christ. This small campus lets one have many relationships among fellow dorm/hallmates, the faculty, and a deeper relationship with our Lord Jesus Christ. It's small, private, Christ-centered environment is just what one would need to stay focused on school, while still enjoying the best college experience.

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Exceptional academics are overshadowed by campus atmosphere and student life.

    What to do for fun

    If you like the outdoors, too bad. Ground is always to wet to run. Games are cancelled due to flooded field conditions. If you like to drink, you will always find fun. On the positive, Seattle is close so you can go to MLB games. Salem has a minor league baseball team. Games are good family fun.

    Food and Dining

    Deserves no stars. Food was great during visitation periods and parent weekend, otherwise it was seriously not good. Limited choices. Very few fresh fruits and/or vegetables, few good carbs, few good fats. Not a good place to nourish an athlete. Hours do not fit early classes or long days.

    Dorm Life

    Deserves no stars. Roommates are obviously not paired based on roommate profile. Once you are in the room, nothing will be done to remedy dire situations...even if your roommates perfume aggravates your allergies. Sleep hours and not taken into consideration and neither are study habits.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are great. Instructors are terrific. This is not a slide-through school.

    Tips for prospective students

    You must love the rain to make it here. Get a fridge and a microwave and fix your own meals. Dining hall food is not athlete friendly and their hours do not fit most class schedules. Problems with roommates go unaided.

    In three sentences

    Great academics and instructors. Campus life (dorms, roommates, atmosphere, dining) not as marketed. Athletics not as marketed.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing bad has happened yet... We have a few Safety Officers patrolling the campus during the day (and night), and they always have at least two of them hanging out in their office in case they get any calls.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs!!!!

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for all types of students really.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Each of the dorms has a tradition of sorts, but the best one is Pumpkin Smash. Pumpkin Smash is held mid-November, and what it is is one of the guy dorms -Farrar- smash a ton of pumpkins, and then wrestle in it until there's only one guy left, who is then dubbed King. It's a lot of fun, but a little gross -you can see steam billowing out of the pile of men/pumpkin!

    Bang for the buck

    It's really expensive (especially if living in the dorms), but you definitely get a quality education, and there are a lot of scholarship opportunities!

    What to do for fun

    There are pool tables in the Commons, and in the dorms as well, and they have movie nights in the dorms as well. There are lots of things to do -boredom is impossible!

    Food and Dining

    I like the food in the caffeteria, but I don't have to eat it everyday, three meals a day...but I like it! They have a wide variety of food options.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, but spending the night in the dorms once showed me what it's like -it's a small community, and everybody is your friend. They have quite a lot of fun!

    Academic Rigor

    Wow!! It streches your mind and definitly increases your knowledge -and none of it is pointless either.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is so very important to stay on top of homework and studying! You can get into a vicious late-homework/late-night cycle once you start letting things slide, and it's really stressful to try catching up (but it's still possible!).

    In three sentences

    Corban is a really great school (not just because I go there though), and I don't think three sentences is enough to decribe it! The faith life on the campus is so prominent, and you can see that in all of the students and staff. The staff cares if you succeed in their class (and your other classes too!), and they'll help as much as they can. The students are all super friendly, and very encouraging!

  • 02/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Corban has great campus safety. We have campus security roaming the campus 24/7 making sure everything is okay. I always feel safe at Corban. If you are nervous to walk to your dorm at night, you can ask campus security for a ride.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs people can attend. If you like poetry and drama, Corban has a place for you. If you love sports or board games, Corban offers intramural teams for these events. Sometimes different dorms will put on events for people to have a good time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Corban has a couple traditions. The most famous one is the ocean rush that happens in the fall. If you run into the ocean, you get a free t-shirt. We also have the Pumpkin Smash, Mr. VG., and Lumberjack Games and more.

    What to do for fun

    We can play games, ping-pong, pool, or watch a movie. There are some fun hang-out spots as well as fun events to attend such as sporting events, dances, and intramurals.

    Food and Dining

    Just like everyone says Campus food isn't that great, I have found that to be true here as well. When someone is used their parents tastes of food, other people's foods don't taste that great.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great. I get the chance to know everybody on my hall and most of the people on my floor. It can be difficult living with someone you don't know, but as time passes, I learned how to communicate with my roommate. Even though we aren't best friends outside of sharing a room together, we get along pretty well.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are strong. It depends on which class you take for how easy or difficult it is. It also depends on how you are as a student. If you want to do well, you will. Each student receives the grade they worked for.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would chose the college that first, has your degree; second, it is financially working out for you; and thirdly, where you feel the most comfortable. I thought Corban was too small for me, but now, I realize that I love it. I have to chance to meet so many people, and I hope to stay friends with some of them forever.

    In three sentences

    The Corban campus residents and faculty are friendly which makes Corban have a great atmosphere. The students and teachers want to talk to you and want to see you do well. Corban also has a great support system.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Intramural's are fun, great, and exciting!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We host several dorm events including; pumpkin smash, basement bash, Mr. VG, Balyo battles, and the lumberjack games. Aside from that we have the breakaway trip (a FREE trip to the beach with Corban students and staff [accommodations included]).

    Bang for the buck

    Corban is great when it comes to their financial aid services and does an excellent job at providing financial help or opportunities to students needing it. That said, the experiences you'll have on this campus with students and staff is PRICELESS.

    What to do for fun

    Because dorm life encourages unity often times students are busy having fun in hall and dorm activities. Aside from that, Salem is home to the capital building, several malls and movie theaters, as well as great coffee shops (one in particular that has a beautiful prayer room).

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good... Most of the time. There are some times where the food is questionable or lacking in spices and seasoning but the school offers plenty of sauces to fix this minor problem.

    Dorm Life

    Corban does a great job of encouraging unity and working to plan school-wide events and opportunities for hall bonding. Dorm life is excellent!

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the class and professor, some schedules may be more difficult than others. The school does a great job of educating the students and being flexible to needs.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely recommend getting to know your professors and the people around you. I would also encourage going to chapel every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday and definitely get involved!

    In three sentences

    Corban is a great school that provides many opportunities for you to excel academically and spiritually. The professors and staff genuinely care about you and make a point to assist you beyond just classwork and career plans.

  • 04/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    34 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food I had while visiting was amazing for a school (much better than at my high school) and I loved the variety.

    Dorm Life

    While visiting this college, a few friends and I stayed overnight with great host students and we got to see a friendly and competitive dorm competition that was hilarious! We had a blast!

    Academic Rigor

    Coming from a full IB school, I don't know how challenging Corban classes will be for me but I am looking forward to the opportunities that are awaiting me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visiting campus will definitely give you an understanding of the wonderful environment at this college.

    In three sentences

    Corban has a great location, academics, and friendly people, I hope I can attend soon!

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Pool table in the Common Grounds, intramural sports and craft teams, sectionals every month, and the school's proximity to town give you many options for eating up those imaginary free hours.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall has good quality, but it can get old fast. However, the on-campus coffee shop and convenience store definitely help with their late hours. The dining hall is buffet-style, all you can eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life here is very good, but it might be difficult to adjust to for people accustomed to being in the middle of the party scene.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is a must at Corban. The material is challenging, comprehensive, and will test any prospective student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep on top of yourself! There's so much stuff to do and such incredible fellowship you can forget you're there to study, and that's not something you want to do. Keep your priorities in line.

    In three sentences

    Corban is the Christian student's dream. With an on-campus chapel, Christ-centered courses and activities, and a staff devoted to Christ and academic performance, Corban is where you want to be. You will fit right into Corban's student body.

  • 09/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There and willing to help you when needed.

    Food and Dining

    again off-campus

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that they are very fair and willing to work with you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in and be ready to grow. Corban University has a lot to offer if you are willing to accept it.

    In three sentences

    It's a great university. It takes you to your roots of who you are and helps you improve. The provide small classes for personal touch.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Will walk you anywhere if you just ask if you don't feel safe.

    What to do for fun

    Just about anything you can think of!

    Food and Dining

    What can you say about school food that hasn't been said already?

    Dorm Life

    I love these girls! Always fun and exciting and I get to live with amazing people!

    Academic Rigor

    Feel challenged, but not like the work load is impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply before all the spots for new students disappear!

    In three sentences

    Becomes your home and is full of amazing people. A strong Christian Community that welcomes other religions. There is never a dull moment, everything is always so invigorating!

  • 01/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do. There is hiking, drama, sport, music, clubs, volunteering, spiritual groups, and you often do fun activities with your dorm as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. It is not amazing but it is still pretty good. They have a lot of good options and there is always something to eat. They also accommodate allergies and other food problems well.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is the best. They are great at roommate placements and accommodate needs to switch or whatever you need. The rooms are really big and luxurious and they come fix things really quickly. The RA's are really friendly and help you with any problems you have. The activities really help you bond with the others in your dorm. Great experience.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many great and challenging courses which have taught me a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and make sure it is something you enjoy.

    In three sentences

    Corban is a very challenging school committed to helping you get the schooling you need for your degree. The Christian fellowship and community also help bring a joyful experience. Also, they really help you afford and get everything you need to be able to attend the school.

  • 03/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We all hang out around the dorms and get to know each other. We also go bowling and watch lots of movies!! :)

    Tips for prospective students

    Come take a tour and fall in love just like I did!! :)

    In three sentences

    AWSOME!!

  • 10/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for those who love a Christian community

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Yearly turkey trot, lumberjack games,

    What to do for fun

    The campus is 10 minutes from downtown Salem.

    Food and Dining

    Aramark Food is not the greatest. Sometimes the meats are dry, and you are required to get a meal plan if you are a commuter or not.

    Dorm Life

    The community at Corban is the best. I love it here,

    Academic Rigor

    Most Classes are challenging. Some classes could be a little more rigorous.