Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Cornell College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 out of 16 people found this review useful. 1 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Cornell fits best for the mildly weird (in a good way!) who have a good work ethic and can handle focusing on one task for hours at a time. Once at Cornell, don't expect too sleep much, there is just too much fun (+homework) to be had! Drink lots of Mt. Dew, we have proven it to keep you from getting sick in the petri dish that is Cornell in the winter. For those of you who can spontaneously have fun rolling down hills at 2 am during a study break from watching movies and writing that 9 page paper that is due the next day....I'll see you this fall!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid of showing your eccentricity to this college on your application! The average student here is unique in ten different ways, and easily excitable about things they are passionate about (everything!) so let that shine through during your interview.

    Bang for the buck

    They are great about giving scholarship, but it is still a lot of money. Realize you are partly paying for a name and the chance to experience life to its fullest. My philosophy is that since I'll owe less than a small house when I'm done, it's all good.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone is so friendly and fun! The small number of students contributes to the great feeling of community on campus. I love both my peers and professors here; everyone watches out for everybody else and helps you to succeed. I like the intensity of life at Cornell, and all the fantastic friends there to share it with me.

    Am learning a lot

    Block plan enables me to really focus, both to learn and to love a topic. The only downside is that some details do get skipped occasionally due to time constraints. But the retention of material learned plus the attention you can give to the details of your own work more than makes up for this. Additionally this school has succeeded in teaching the procrastination queen (me) how to utilize time management, which will help in real life more than most gen ed classes ever will.

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 2 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is definitely great for people who procrastinate (LIKE ME!), it seriously knocks that habit right out of you. It's really good for people who come from a close knit-community because you definitely feel it on the campus. This college is great for people who want to do a ton of things! There are literally groups for EVERYTHING, from Capoiera to Chess and Games and the Knitting Club! N3rds will have super epic fun here too!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make really good friends with your admissions counselor! He or she can be your best friend when applying and visiting Cornell, or any school. If your school offers a facebook group for prospective students, MAKE sure to join and participate, that way you'll already have friends and maybe even a roommate before you arrive in the fall!

    Bang for the buck

    It's true that Cornell is a bit on the expensive side, but they are definitely not stingy with scholarships and grants. Talk to your admissions counselors if you're worried about the money aspect, they will do almost anything to get you up to the hilltop!

    Am enjoying being here

    The Greater Mt. Vernon area is very vibrant. Cedar Rapids is literally a 10 to 15 minute drive and it has a ton of activities, from museums and shopping to art galleries and fun places to volunteer. If you're looking for a big city atmosphere, Iowa City is just half an hour away, it's a true College town being home to U of Iowa! There are tons of parties and stuff to go to down there, as well as a giant mall!

    Am learning a lot

    I love the atmosphere of learning here. There is always something academic going on, from the many guest lecturers and visiting professors to class field trips. I can focus fully on one subject at a time and not have to worry about having two papers due on the same day for different classes!

  • 02/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Cornell is great for the type of student that likes to be involved inside and outside the classroom. It's also great for those who like to be part of a tight-knit community and who want to have a unique college experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    During the admissions process, your admissions counselor is your most important asset, USE THEM WELL! They're always happy to answer any questions you have and can help relive the stress of applying to colleges. Also, do your research on the college and, if possible, visit the college(s) you're thinking of going to so you can get a feel for the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Although the price can seem overwhelming, the education and experience you'll get to have here are worth it! Cornell is usually quite generous with it's financial aid packages and the financial aid office is always more than willing to help students discover other options to pay for school and with providing information on outside scholarships.

    Am enjoying being here

    Since Cornell is a small college, you get to know people fairly quick and eventually there won't be a face that's unrecognizable. Plus, there are so many different activities to choose, from our outstanding Colleges Against Cancer group to our awesome capoeira club. There's just so many different groups and clubs to pick from that you'll have trouble narrowing your list down.

    Am learning a lot

    The learning environment here is rigorous but the small class sizes allow the instructor to pay more attention to you as an individaul. I've found that the professors here are always more than willing to help you out if your finding a course difficult. However, learning on the block plan can be challenging for procrastinators and, due to the time constraint, some professors aren't able to go over all of the material needed, but learning here is definitely a unique experience. Besides learning in the classroom, there's always guest speakers, educational films, and other educational events that go on every week!

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe environment, the campus security is very friendly and understanding as well.

    Greek Life

    Very poor, almost none existent. Cornell features no nationally recognized groups and the Greek groups do not have many members.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are academically driven and enjoy a challenge, or you do exceptionally while only focusing on one thing Cornell is the right place for you. Everyone at Cornell is a little eccentric as well so it helps to have a good sense of humor.

    Bang for the buck

    It is quite expensive; however, you will always have a class with a tenured professor never a teacher's assistant. You will get a unique experience with plenty of opportunities for off campus studies and research with a professor. There are plenty of campus resources to help you find a good internship as well.

    What to do for fun

    We have intramural sports and student organizations, if you aren't satisfied with that we also have special interest groups such as a Zombie Survival club, Fencing, Capoeira, and a Musical Theatre Interest Group. The town life isn't that exciting, but you are usually fairly busy if you are involved so you often won't really notice that there is nothing going on.

    Food and Dining

    It is hard to give an exact rating on this as the food service provider will be changing for next year. It was originally Sodexo; however, Bon Apetite will be providing the food. I have heard good things about the incoming food providers.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is very friendly; however, nothing really exciting happens. The rooms are okay but the older dorms are built a lot like prisons.

    Academic Rigor

    The OCAAT schedule is very demanding and very rewarding at the same time. You will learn a lot in the course of a month. If you love the class you can become completely immersed in it, if you hate it, you are done in three and a half weeks.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have the right mentality to work on the OCAAT (One Course At A Time) schedule, it can be very stressful and demanding. If you want an intellectually challenging school I would give the school a call and ask about the programs offered to see if your interests are included.

    In three sentences

    Cornell is a small community with excellent academic opportunities. They offer fairly good financial aid and are willing to accommodate to suit a student's needs. If you are looking for an exciting social scene however, Cornell is not the school for you.

  • 10/23/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any kind of student! Campus is amazingly diverse in many ways. There are students for a whole bunch of backgrounds, from all over the country and the world. With so many different types of people, social groups and clubs to get involved with, it's hard to feel left out!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply as early as you can. You'll find out soonest if you applying Early Decision (binding) or Action. Definitely visit campus if you can. Everyone is really friendly and that way you can get a rough idea about whether you think One-Course-At-A-Time is right for you and if you like the dorms and other buildings. After all, you're trying to decide where to live, study, and have fun for the next four years, so you might as well go take a look!

    Bang for the buck

    Cornell is financially amazing. They do a lot of fund raising that keeps tuition much lower than similar schools, and then they offer amazing financial aid and scholarships on top of that. Don't get scared off by the starting price tag, many students never come close to paying full tuition, room and board.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the small town community feel, but that doesn't mean I don't enjoy the malls and big cities only a half hour away. There are also great experiences to be had right here on campus: professional comedians, hypnotists, magicians, bands, outdoor movies on big screens, dances, and more make campus really fun!

    Am learning a lot

    Not only are the professors really great about helping you with material, but there are many amazing opportunities to attend lectures from visiting professors, researchers, graduates, and other impressive visitors. There are a lot of clubs, academic, volunteering or just for fun, that help you learn about so many different things.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    All the safety staff are very friendly and very sympathetic. The number for their office is stamped on the back of everyone's ID card, they're just a call away and they're happy to help!

    Clubs and Activities

    I always tell my family that I could have my schedule filled 24/7 without taking a single class. There are SO many clubs for everything you can think of! We even have a Zombie Survival group that meets regularly. IF you're into something, chances are there's a group for that!

    Great for these types of students

    CC caters to all types of students. We have great athletic teams but are also very academically inclined. Just know that this is NOT a goof off school. People here are serious about their education. Here on the one class at a time schedule missing two classes can cause you to fail a class.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our biggest rival is Coe College. At our first home basketball game against Coe we all throw a roll of toilet paper onto the court after our first point!

    Bang for the buck

    Cornell is pricey. But it's worth every penny. The professors here ONLY teach Undergrads. They aren't doing it as a chore that just gets in the way of their research projects. CC professors and staff are all hardworking and what to give you the best education possible.

    What to do for fun

    Mount Vernon, the town around Cornell, doesn't have a lot to do. There are three bars that have dancing on Friday and Saturday nights. But there is always something going on on campus that you don't even need to go to town. Movie viewings, dance parties, comedians, plays. anything you can think of! Plus, if you have a group of friends you shouldn't get too bored.

    Food and Dining

    This was the first year (2012-2013) for a new catering company called Bon Appetit. The caterer used in the past, Sodexo, was horrible. Remember that when you're reading old reviews! The new system is delicious! They have a great selection that is constantly changing. They even have a vegetarian and vegan area. Everyday there is a main serving area with pastas, meat, vegetables dishes and even an in house carvery. But there are also global food, sandwich and salad stations in the cafeteria. Oh, and the desserts are to DIE for.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman, I promise the dorms get better as you move up in the ranks! But regardless of the condition of the dorms there are always floor activities going on and all of the RA's are really helpful. Dorm like can be a big adjustment (Especially with some dorms having co-ed bathrooms) but it's really fun! 95% of the student population lives on campus!

    Academic Rigor

    One Course at a Time (OCAAT) can be hard! You're doing what you would normally do in a semester in three and a half weeks. Be prepared for long nights. But, it pays off. Plus, you get a four day break in between each class!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and keep in contact with the regional admissions director for your area. The admissions staff really are happy to help you.

    In three sentences

    Cornell is great! Everyone here is very friendly, upperclassmen are happy to help you. Plus all the staff are eager to assist you in anyway they can.

  • 07/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to try a different pace from high school where classes were in semesters and for those who want to build relations with professors and students on an intimate level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask what students do for fun but don't expect it to be crazy and exciting. Tour the town and say hello to the community members. Spend the night and attend a class of your choice. It goes a long way to actually spend hours on campus when it could make or break the desire to apply or even attend.

    Bang for the buck

    It's definitely costing me to come here. I'm not thrilled having to pay and take out a loan but I don't think I'll mind later on when I'm glad I didn't give up.

    Am enjoying being here

    At first it was hard adjusting since I'd come from a huge populated city to a small town. I have learned to make the most of it because it's 4 years that we'll never get back. I love my friends and I love the quietness of it all.

    Am learning a lot

    A lot of my first year classes were review to be honest but the pace is definitely enabling me to absorb any new information thrown at me. I love getting close to my professors especially when I am so interested in the subject in and out of the classroom.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students who work hard. here is also great for nerds and geeks

    Tips for prospective students

    don't hesitate. just apply!

    Bang for the buck

    almost every student here get scholarships!!!

    Am enjoying being here

    The life here is peaceful.

    Am learning a lot

    I love block plan! The block plan help me focus on one course. The professors here are all very kind. I can always find the professor when I need him/her.

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    sometimes a little slow on the uptake, but really nice people

    What to do for fun

    there are so many clubs that it is hard not to join at least one. on long weekend s this place is party central and all you have to do is ask the right people. there are always speakers coming around and guest artists doing a performance on the oc. you just have to know where to look.

    Tips for prospective students

    do not overload yourself with hard classes in the beginning. also, it really helps if you have taken foreign language classes and can just test out of them.

    In three sentences

    cornell's ocaat program is great for students who need to be able to really focus. the campus is beautiful and the entire staff is willing to help with anything.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel completely safe on campus. i have never had anything stolen and people look out for one another here. i know campus security is available to me whenever i have a concern.

    Greek Life

    there are greek organizations on campus and i participate in an unofficial group that is associated with my basketball program.

    Clubs and Activities

    i participate in men's basketball

    Great for these types of students

    students who may have troubling many courses at one time. students who prefer small classrooms with lower student to staff ratios. who prefer a college atmosphere who puts academics first.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    every year at the men's basketball game versus coe college, when our basketball team scores their first basket, everyone in the audience throws toilet paper rolls on to the court. a technical is called for delay of game and they have to stop the game to clean the court. this is a very fun tradition.

    Bang for the buck

    i also am a member of the men's basketball team here at the college. i have developed very meaningful relationships and love the comradery i feel with my teammates. it has been a great experience.

    What to do for fun

    there is an event every year call humans vs. zombies. most of the college participates in the game on campus. it is a great way to get to know people on campus. we have comedians and preformers come to the college on a regular basis. i also go and see plays put on by the drama department.

    Food and Dining

    sudexo is what we call the cafeteria. i cannot complain. i get 3 square meals a day and am never hungry. the food is good.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are nice and roomy. everyone gets along well on our floor and we look out for one another. many students study together in the lounges throughout the week.

    Academic Rigor

    the coursework is much different from traditional colleges as we are on a block schedule. all the coursework is completed in three and a half weeks so it is intense. we totally immerse ourselves in the coursework and in the end have an in-depth learning experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    come and take a look at the college. meet students and instructors and get a feel for the campus. i felt at home when i came and visited and believe it was the right choice for me.

    In three sentences

    it is a great school that offers one course at a time. this type of learning is great for me as it allows me to focus on one subject. i am able to invest all my time and energy into the coursework and i believe i get more out of the classes this way.

  • 03/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    at the basketball games where we compete against our rivals, after the first shot we make, the crowd throws toilet paper onto the court.

    What to do for fun

    there's so many things to keep entertained on the weekends and block breaks. there are many clubs on campus and they will host events a lot. there are also lots of parties over the weekends and especially block breaks. mount vernon is a small town but two cities are not far away. there's cedar rapids, there's a lot you can do here or there's iowa city where you can do a lot too.

    Food and Dining

    they don't have the best quality but they do have some good choices. this might be the last year of the company for our food service that we have now....so who knows who will be there next.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is fun but the facilities are for the most part great. i love staying on this campus. it's a beautiful place and people are so nice here.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes here are a little bit on the harder scale but they really help you a lot. i've only been at cornell for 6 months now and i feel like i learned more than i did during my entire senior year in high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you like to study one subject at a time for exams and such, cornell would be great for you.

    In three sentences

    cornell college is a great place to go. i love the once course at a time. it's very effiecient and there is always something to do on campus.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Although it is a bit pricey, the school does a really good job in giving scholarships and giving students financial support.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs here and you can usually entertain yourself if you really jump in and commit to activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food can be better, they usually give the same stuff and it gets redundant and overwhelming. Don't expect to have a lot of diversity in food and the choices are extremely limited.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms are better than others, I know some of them are getting repaired so it'll be good. Overall dorms aren't too bad, if somethings lack, they make it up with other things.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of the first few classes are review, but don't take that for granted. They are not overwhelmingly hard, but they definitely should not be taken lightly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid you won't fit in. There are a lot of different people in this small campus.

    In three sentences

    Cornell College's OCAAT plan is great for focusing on a subject and you learn a ton. Financial aid is pretty good, and first-years are guaranteed a work-study job. Lastly, there are a ton of clubs and opportunities to meet people.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cornell takes great pride in being one of the safest schools. This school has enjoyed not only its own safety, but the safety of one of the safest towns in one of the safest schools in the Union. If any issue arises, there is no question campus security is immediately there to rectify things.

    Greek Life

    The Fraternities and Sororities at Cornell College are not national organizations. Instead they are local, centered only at Cornell College, with rich histories that stretch back farther than any fraternities or sororities this side of the Mississippi.

    Clubs and Activities

    Cornell College's Mock Trial team is legendary. They have knocked out the best of the best in the nation: UCLA, Harvard, Yale, Drake, among others. There are many other clubs, like Global Zero, an anti nuclear proliferation group, College Dems, Theatre, Fencing, and so many others that appeal to whomever.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small schools, or small classrooms, which Cornell is nothing but. Students who want to have a connection with the professors they will be taught by, because by the end of the block the professors know you very well. Finally, student who don't want to take four or five classes at a time, but one course at a time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Whenever the Cornell football team, the Cornell Rams wins a game, the bell in Ash Park (the football field) is rung. At the first home basketball game against Coe College, Cornell's rival, when Cornell scores, everyone throws out toilet paper rolls. Finally, the joking motto of Cornell and Coe, its rival is if you cant go to college, go to Coe.

    Bang for the buck

    Cornell College gives out so many scholarships and grants to students for talent and achievement. Students all throughout the school come from varying economic situations, and the Financial Aid Office makes sure everyone who wants to go can go to Cornell.

    What to do for fun

    Cornell is situated in the most beautiful little town of Mount Vernon. Everyone here is extremely pleasant and friendly, and there are plenty of cool shops to visit. Undoubtedly the want to party will strike, and there is always something going on around campus that will peak someones interest.

    Food and Dining

    The food company, Bon Appetite, is unrealistic. The food is literally too good. All of the food is extremely fresh, brought in by farmers from the area and prepared fresh.

    Dorm Life

    The dormitories are rather nice, nothing different from a run of the mill dormitory you'd find at another school. It's the people within the dorms that make it great, and the people are indeed great. From random party nights to collective study and reading sessions, the students in the dorms are all about having a good time and getting work done.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here are some of the greatest in the field. There's a good chance before you leave Cornell (or in my case, within my first year) that one of your professors will be using a book they either wrote or help write. The professors know the work very well, and are very down to earth, so be prepared for lots of discussion.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get in contact with the admissions officers. Most of the people who work at the school are alumni and can give first hand accounts of the school and how the classes are.

    In three sentences

    One of the most beautiful schools out there. The school is an amazing place for anyone who wants a different, and even Hogwarts-esque experience. From the professors to the students, Cornell College is absolutely fantastic.

  • 02/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Read.

    Food and Dining

    I LOVE FOOD.

    Dorm Life

    Great people.

    Academic Rigor

    Each course is on a rigorous track due to a three and a half week sprint for each class. However, this allows students to focus on each class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Spend the night. Have fun. Study well, and work hard. College can be a great experience if you are dedicated to your studies.

    In three sentences

    Cornell College is a fantastic, small, friendly community. The One Course At A Time model truly allows me to focus my intellectual capacities on my subject in a unique manner. At Cornell, the professors emanate a majestic aura of knowledge, wisdom, love, and passion.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    We do not have nationally affiliated sororities or fraternities so each of the groups is unique to Cornell College, which creates an extremely close community within each of the groups.

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking students who are dedicated to their studies, but also want to be very involved on campus in clubs and activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Each year during the men's basketball game agains Coe College, our rival, we all throw rolls of toilet paper onto the court after our team scores their first basket. Also, every year for home coming, we have a big pep rally, fireworks show and bonfire. That weekend, the school also has a formal dance to celebrate homecoming.

    What to do for fun

    Party and hang out with friends. In such a small town, you make your own fun. Movie nights are common and so are lazy days where no one gets anything done. During the week, everyone is committed to their studies, so not much happens besides studying.

    Food and Dining

    Bon Apetit is our service provider. They are very responsive to dietary wants and needs. We have a full service salad and sandwich bar as well as a grill station and comfort food station. We have pizza, soups, and pastas that are all made to eat. The dining hall is all-you-care-to-eat and has very reasonable hours for a student's schedule.

    Dorm Life

    We have a small campus where nearly everyone lives. Since this is a residential campus, you see your friends a lot and the school plans night time and weekend activities often. The rooms are for the most part very spacious, but the dorms are a little outdated and need some attention.

    Academic Rigor

    All majors have professors with the highest title of their field. They know their stuff, but more than that, they are dedicated to a liberal arts style of teaching. There is individual attention because of the small class sizes. Also, because of OCAAT, your teachers really get to know you. The classes are challenging, but I have not had a class yet that did not teach me a new perspective or way of thinking and learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to imagine yourself taking classes One Course at a Time. Each class is taken on its own over a three and a half week period. It's a lot of work, but also a great way to study effectively.

    In three sentences

    Cornell is an academically rigorous and rewarding school. The campus is gorgeous and the students and professors are supportive, friendly, and accepting of all.

  • 07/19/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Strong in academics, willing to give new things a try, good for shy people as it is a smaller college. Really just about everyone in all the social groups could find somewhere to fit in at Cornell.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go and visit Cornell and ask questions. See if there different and fun way of doing things is right for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Cornell offers you a great experience and you get what you pay for the extra cost seems to be well made up for with all the opportunities Cornell gives you.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is great! I was told when visiting you can make friends fast because of the wide variety of students that attend! plus the location of Cornell is near to bigger cities so your never far away from some place that you could go and have fun if you needed a quick break.

    Will learn a lot

    The teachers are truly focused on TEACHING nothing else there different schedule at Cornell allows them more one-on-one teaching time.

  • 03/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i am only a first year here at cornell but i think that this campus is extremely safe. campus security is always on campus and available in just a phone call.

    Greek Life

    there are many different types of greek fraternities and sororities here at cornell. if one was looking to join greek life they would have no problem finding one to fit in with.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are clubs for almost everything here on campus. also if there isn't a club on campus that you want to join it is very easy to start your own.

    Bang for the buck

    cornell college is pretty expensive but i think it is worth it. cornell is ranked highly for its academics and i think the ranking holds true to its standings.

    What to do for fun

    cornell college has a group on campus called get out of town and they offer trips to the local mall, skiing trips, or hockey games. we are also located 30 minutes outside of iowa city and 20 minutes from cedar rapids so there are many things to do off of campus.

    Food and Dining

    the dinning hall here has okay food. if one were to search for food of their liking or get creative with the food offered it turns out to be alright. the grill that they have though that is not connected to the dinning hall some good food though!

    Dorm Life

    cornell college has many different types of students living on campus. it is difficult to find your group of friends especially if you are coming here knowing no one. but there are many types of activities that goes on on campus that one can find friends.

    Academic Rigor

    cornell college classes range academically. one can find easier classes but eventually he/she will have to take those harder 300 level classes in order to graduate.

    Tips for prospective students

    when looking at cornell, make sure that you look at classes offered. many students come here with high hopes and then realize they don't have many classes offered for their major. also, make sure that you are prepared for this block plan. students think they can handle the one course at a time but some students do not succeed on it.

    In three sentences

    cornell college is a liberal arts college that has their students interests in mind. it is an academically challeniging school as well one that puts great emphasis on student involvement. cornell college offers many activities for their students to be active in.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    They have many clubs and activities to participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is good for anyone who wants to concentrate on one class and not a multitude of classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a really nice bonfire and fireworks display during football homecoming. It is better than the July 4th display in my city.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though it might be expensive I feel that the friendships and relationships that I make during my college years will help me when I graduate. I would not have had that opportunity outside of Cornell College. The college does everything it can to assist every student who applies there.

    What to do for fun

    Mount Vernon is small but it is not far from Cedar Rapids. The closest town that has the movies and restaurants is Marion.

    Food and Dining

    They are getting a new vendor this year(2012-2013) so I don't know how to rate the food. The current vendor isn't bad but when you eat each and every meal at the dining hall it can be boring after a while.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be rough if you are not used to sharing. The rooms are smaller than you think. Sometimes the other students are not considerate of the property and make it almost disgusting to use the facilities.

    Academic Rigor

    I have found the classes to be challenging and interesting. I even took a trip overseas through one of my classes and learned about Japanese culture.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are prepared for the aggressive type of One Class At A Time system that they teach here. You will be expected to learn a lot of material in a small time period. This can be difficult if you are involved in outside activities.

    In three sentences

    It is a small campus with about 2000 students which makes it more personal than larger universities. The blocks are 3 1/2 weeks which is a great deal of material in a short amount of time. Overall, I like the school and what they have to offer.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus strictness is pretty standard, I think. I wouldn't say that security is severely strict, but I wouldn't say that a lot gets by them. Of course there are students that think security picks on them because they like to party and have fun, but I don't see it as an issue.

    Greek Life

    There are 15 social groups on campus, and none are nationally affiliated. There is no fraternity or sorority housing, and about 25% of campus is involved in social groups. There are a few social groups that choose not to drink as a group. I think the scene here is ideal because it is an option to join a social group if you want, but it is not something you need to do to fit in. Since we have a small student body all students, regardless of whether they are in a social group or not, interact with each other.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Small Multi-Sports center provide us, non-athlete students, with all sports equipment we need. We can play basketball, badminton, soccer whenever we want since the opening hours are quite flexible. The computer lab in Law Hall opens 24/24 with very well-equipped computers, helping us concentrate on our paper or homework. Other than that, Cole library is awesome with great view. There are some group study rooms and quiet study area, which are necessary for exam-days. There are also so many things going on in Cornell College during the week. It seems like there's always something to do at Cornell. Volunteer activities, music events, dance parties, comedian shows etc. all show how well Cornell cares about its students. I just love it.

    Great for these types of students

    Most students here are white; however, there are still many different types of people. There's everything from football jocks to kids that dress like pirates. People are pretty accepting of everyone too.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Move-in Day. Each fall, the Cornell football team and student leaders gather to help new students move in to the residence halls�and to welcome them to campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The best thing, in my opinion, about Cornell is the uniqueness of the One Course At A Time schedule. Here, students focus on one class everyday for 18 days, take a 4 day break and begin a new class. This block schedule helps students who have difficultly focusing on more than one thing at a time as well as challenges students to complete work promptly.

    What to do for fun

    There are only three bars in Mount Vernon. They get old fast and are small. Most people go to house parties or parties on campus and then go to the bars just to walk around and get off campus. There are a lot of activities that clubs sponsor for people who don't drink, too. We have comedians, hypnotists, bands, etc. There is usually something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food itself is good and there are a lot of varieties, i.e. vegetarian, stir-fry, salad and sandwich bars, etc.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are worse than others, depending on your preference. Some have little to no community, if that is what you like. Others thrive with community. Some dorms are more for athletes too. The cost is as it is, there are no options besides just straight living off-campus. Staying on campus is definitely the most convenient option, and it provides the best social atmosphere, which again varies by the building. Some dorms lack amenities like kitchens per floor or several study areas. The housing process is rather easy too, making it little work for returning students to apply for a new room.

    Academic Rigor

    One course at a time is a great opportunity for students to discover and try new things at different period of time. I love Cornell for the professors too. They are so very nice and helpful, willing to help you with whatever you need. The workload is quite intense, we have mid-term and final all year round which is kinda funny to think about. Most popular majors are Psychology, Economics and Biology.

    Tips for prospective students

    Mt. Vernon is a cute little town where everything is close by and you feel safe and cozy. Because it's a small town, places aren't open very late and there can be a lack of things to do some days, but small towns have nice atmospheres that make up for that. It's a pretty place and the people who live around there are friendly.

    In three sentences

    Cornell College is one of the few truly distinctive colleges. Cornell is recognized as one of the national finest liberal arts colleges. It is a place where theory and practice are brought together in exciting ways through the college's One-Course-At-A-Time calendar.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The majority of the groups are pretty small and every group has something different that they offer. Greek groups also make up approximately 25% of the student population.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of different clubs and activities that you can be apart of.

    Great for these types of students

    Cornell is great for students who are individuals that stand out and are not not afraid to be themselves and those who are still trying to figure out who they are.

    What to do for fun

    Cornell is as fun as you make it. No, there aren't big house parties every weekend but if you try, you will never be bored here. Don't expect for the social life here to be like in the movies, there are not even 2,000 of us here. Your friends are you best source of entertainment, chose them well.

    Food and Dining

    Last year the food was okay but nothing really spectacular. Luckily, Cornell has very recently gotten a new food service so I there are high hopes for next year!

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms are better than others so you have to be careful where you live. So far I've had a decent living experience in the dorms. Though, it is bothersome when something gets broken in the building, which you don't even know about, and you get fined for it. Fortunately, it doesn't end up being much once it is split between all the residents.

    Academic Rigor

    The block plan is a intense schedule that does not allow for a lot of messing around. You learn a lot about the subject in the month but missing a class could be disastrous which is very inconvenient when the Cornell Plague spreads and everyone begins to get sick.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can visit, I would highly recommend that you do and that when you do so make sure that you have enough time to actually experience the school. Before you decide to attend Cornell, make sure that you believe that you can handle the One-Course-At-A-Time Block Plan.

    In three sentences

    Cornell is definitely a place where you can be yourself to your fullest, quirkiest potential. The block plan can take some getting use to (or a lot!) but it teaches you new and valuable skills that you can use in the future. The staff at Cornell tries to keep students busy so there is always something going on somewhere.

  • 12/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Usually they are pretty good. Sometimes they are slow if you need a door inside a building unlocked, but overall they are nice and there when you need them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for almost everyone on campus, or if there isn't the college has a fairly simple way to create your own club!

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking, determined, good time managers, self motivated.

    Bang for the buck

    You learn so much here, I thought I was smart before I came here, but I've learned so many new things its amazing!

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs to try. A neat little downtown area contains fun little shops and a cheap movie theater.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, sometimes a little exotic when most college students just crave hamburgers or pizza. Sometimes run out of glasses or metal silverware though, which is a small annoyance.

    Dorm Life

    Mostly awesome! People here are fun to hang out with and in most cases everyone respects each other. Resident Assistants are also good at planning event and are great sources of advice.

    Academic Rigor

    You have three and a half weeks to learn an entire semesters worth of knowledge for one course. You have class Monday through Friday usually 4 hours a day, 2 before lunch and 2 after lunch usually. You'll have homework everyday and professors expect you to do it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and visit! Don't procrastinate on homework and check your email! Email is the main way professors and students stay in touch so be sure to check it.

    In three sentences

    It is rewarding and amazing. The block plan can be difficult. It is a wonderful and safe campus.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security can always be seen out patrolling the campus. Because it is a small campus in a small town, there really isn't much crime. I feel very safe walking outside by myself at night and I know many people who leave their things lying around and no one messes with them (well okay, sometimes your friends might prank you).

    Greek Life

    We have sororities and fraternities but they aren't nationally affiliated. Really, Greek life is nothing like it is portrayed in the movies. They provide a great support system and are lots of fun. However, while many students are involved in it, you won't feel left out if you decide not to.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm very involved with music so I'm in the band, orchestra, and steel drum band (we have three of them!). There's also a jazz band and a couple of choirs. We have the traditional sports and lots of other activities. I'm also in nature club, the art interest group, Slick Shoes (the swing dancing club), and Model United Nations. Our Mock Trial team is very good. There's really a club or activity for anyone who wants to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Quirky, smart, friendly, unique, passionate...

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    For the first basketball game against our biggest rival (Coe College), we all throw rolls of toilet paper onto the court after our first score.

    Bang for the buck

    Other than wanting a little more academic rigor, this college offers everything that I'd want out of a college experience.

    What to do for fun

    For those of you who don't like going out to party, there is a group that always plans dry events. Last week, for example, they had a hypnotist come to campus. We've also had comedians, movie nights, bands, etc. Palisades is nearby, which is a beautiful nature area to go to. I don't party much, but there is a party scene for those who are interested.

    Food and Dining

    We have a new food service this year called Bon Appetit. They are very focused on sustainable practices. For example, all of the eggs served are cage free. I'm a vegetarian and they also have lots of options. We have a comment board and our chef even comments back. Overall, I've been very pleased with the dining experience.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are all very different here. The newer ones are very nice but since I'm a first year mine isn't as good. We've recently dealt with a mouse problem and my room has a terrible draft; however, there is a strong sense of community and safety in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    So far I've been taking primarily first year classes and therefore they haven't been as rigorous as I expected. I've been told that they'll get more challenging, but I'm paying a good amount of money to go here and want to be challenged consistently.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't forget to look at all kinds of campuses and colleges. Cornell was the first college I visited and since I loved it I stopped all of my other college searches. I regret that because there are a lot of great places to consider.

    In three sentences

    Cornell is a very quirky campus full of very interesting people. Since it is relatively small, there are always lots of opportunities available and people who are willing to help you achieve your goals. I have never had any professor who hasn't been engaged with the students.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    a very trusting environment at the school. I feel safe on campus and in my dorm room.

    Greek Life

    There are fraternities and sororities on campus. There are unofficial (not nationally recognized) fraternities for some of the athletes on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is plenty of oppportunties at this college from sports, to arts, to religion.

    Great for these types of students

    those who like a small environment and want personal interactions with teachers and students in class.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During the Cornell vs Coe Men's basketball game, the crowd throws toilet paper on the basketball court when the first Cornell basket is scored. They have to call a time out to clean up the court. A technical foul is given.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is well worth the cost.

    What to do for fun

    Play on the men's basketball team, attend sporting events, hang out with friends. I travel to Iowa City is I need a little city environment.

    Food and Dining

    I eat a lot, and there are a lot of food choices. It's cafeteria food but I can't complain.

    Dorm Life

    I have a nice dorm room that is centrally located. Good roommates and neighbors. We have a trusting community.

    Academic Rigor

    The one course at a time allows you to fully invest in the course work and spend time studying one subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved at the college. This a a one course at a time school so you have to invest and work very hard, as it is intensive studies. Get to know your teachers personally. They are there to help you success

    In three sentences

    Cornell is a small college that cares about their students. It is a close knit community where everyone knows everyone. I am getting a good education and will be prepared when I graduate.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety on campus is really one of its highest qualities. It is very safe here and you also feel safe. The only problem with campus safety workers is that they are very slow and lazy and will give you parking tickets when ever they can.

    Greek Life

    Greek life here is awesome. 30% of the students on campus are involved in greek life. Each greek group are their own thing. They can range from community service oriented to party oriented and everything else in between.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are more than 500 student organizations on campus including but not limited to: bellydancing, lacross, weight lifting, bronie, costumers guild, frats and sororities, the newspaper, PAAC, and alternative spring break.

    Great for these types of students

    Every kind of student that is not relying on a athletic scholarship. All types are accepted here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The moose head in Law Hall will whisper things to you if you are studying in the study room. The rock is a legal graffiti spot on campus and has been burned, buried, and put into ink pond over the years.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a very expensive college and not worth the full price. It does seem to be easier for the financial aid offfice to get help for students that can not afford the college. The price tag is at $48,000.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events happening on campus through out the week that you can attent that is hosted by one of the clubs or athletics on campus. There are fun bars and resturants in town that you can go eat at and there is a little movie theatre that is really cheap. There are more than 500 student organizations on campus including but not limited to: bellydancing, lacross, weight lifting, bronie, costumers guild, frats and sororities, the newspaper, PAAC, and alternative spring break.

    Food and Dining

    Food is healthy and there is a lot to choose from. The food is not very tasty and some students would like to have some more unhealthy foods sometimes.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really comfy but there are a couple that no one likes living in because they are gross and outdated. (Olin Hall and Pauley Rorem Hall). The first year dorms are substance free so no alcohol or drugs even if you are 21. Illegal drugs are prohibited at all the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    They have One Course At A Time and it is awesome. The teachers really know their subjects and will totally be focused in on your class. Same with students. They are immersed in their class for that block and do not have to worry about studying for any other class.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a place where you will be accepted for who you are, Cornell College is the place for you. The block plan calendar can be hard sometimes but it is amazing what you can learn in a month. The town is small and quiet but you can go to Iowa City or Cedar Rapids within a hour.

    In three sentences

    Students are friendly. Man, this is the place to go. Teachers are awesome.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Coming from the city I don't advise human beings to go out alone after dark, ever. Except here, in the miniature city of Mount Vernon, where I feel incredibly safe. That doesn't mean that stupid colleges students don't make stupid decisions and don't do the wrong thing some time but overall campus is a pretty safe place.

    Greek Life

    I have a number of friends involved with Greek life here at Cornell. Our system here is somewhat different than other schools since none of our Greek groups are affiliated with the national system. This means it's considerably less expensive, and because we're such a small school the group sizes range from about seven people up to nearly 60. (And even if you don't pledge, pre-pledge season is a great time to meet new people)

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm involved with the Mock Trial program, which is highly competitive. I also dabble in some theater, mostly with costuming. Overall there are a lot of things one can participate in, and I don't think it's hard to find at least one activity you like.

    Great for these types of students

    You have to be willing to work your butt off. You have to know how to prioritize your time. Lots of people try to say it's for the student who doesn't procrastinate but I don't know a human being who doesn't procrastinate. You just have to manage your time, that includes your procrastination, well enough that it doesn't bite you in the butt, and it will do that a lot faster on the OCAAT.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ink pond isn't incredibly unusual but it's pretty and there's a hammock and a (swinging?) bench by it.

    Bang for the buck

    This institution does give a good overall value. The classes are set up for you to learn, and the unique calendar works well for a number of students. There are also a number of opportunities on and off campus. The one draw back for me is that I wish there were more dance opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    There are a number of organizations you can be part of. PAAC puts on different events, such as comedians and musicians, throughout the year, usually including one bigger name group. There's also an adorable downtown for a bit of shopping, and there's a disc golf course on campus. There's usually one or two parties each weekend as well which can be fun depending on who's hosting.

    Food and Dining

    The food has greatly improved since the time I visited last year. My main problem is that at times Bon Apetit seems to try too hard, I think it would be better if they stuck to more basics and gave the option of variety to the students.

    Dorm Life

    The facilities themselves for first years are not the most glamourous but being on a floor of random freshman girls I was able to find a good group of friends, and the community within the particular coed building where I live is great.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are difficult. I have worked so hard this past year. You tend to have what you may consider to be around three nights worth of homework in one night. Often lengthy essays are expected to be written in a relatively short amount of time. The professors have high expectations for any kind of work, but they don't tend to baby you. It's up to you to take care of all your work and communicate with your professor if you think that's going to be a problem.

    Tips for prospective students

    Think about what your priorities are on a college campus, particularly concerning non academic priorities since those have an unexpected effect on your college success.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy my time in class and the small campus has given me a chance to make a network of friends quickly. The courses are incredibly rigorous and intellectually stimulating, and most of my professors have been reasonable human beings who I can talk to if need be.

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Usually at night, there are 2 campus safety officers on duty. On weekends, the officers get really stretched thin and start lagging on response time. Our Campus Safety officers are over-worked, underpaid, and they seem to get caught up on little things like parking violations rather than larger issues like marijuana use, rape, vandalism, racist attacks, etc.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is kind of a joke to me. All of the Greek groups here are specific to Cornell, meaning if you've never been to Cornell, then you'll never hear about it. I've managed to steer clear of the Greeks here because they think they run the school, and I don't want to get caught up in that mentality, considering that no one else knows about them.

    Clubs and Activities

    The best thing about Cornell is its clubs and organizations. The clubs and organizations are the catalysts for change, clubs set the social climate of Cornell, so if you come, join the cause and make a difference on this campus.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a hard-working, fun-loving, spontaneous, individual that is hypocritical and narrow-minded about being open to new things, this is the perfect place for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of my favorite things to do at Cornell is to throw toilet paper at the Coe Game. Coe is our biggest rival, and at the basketball game, after the first point is scored by our team, we throw toilet paper onto the court and get a technical foul. It looks really cool.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is not worth the 45,000 dollars per year I'm paying for, since my freshman year, services for students have been slowly diminishing, and the way that the business office does billing has changed dramatically every year that I've been here. I don't know what the future holds for Cornell, but hopefully it holds a well organized, well explained billing process.

    What to do for fun

    There are programs and activities on the Orange Carpet, that can generally tend to be fun. The best thing to do though, is to get off campus with some close friends and have some fun in Iowa City or Cedar Rapids.

    Food and Dining

    Food in general here is just not that good. This college has had a history of bad food, and all of the companies have blamed it on the facilities that they are in. The truth is, in Iowa, everything just has less flavor. The quality of food is just not that good here, and the school reflects that.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is not that great. Most of the dorms are old, and you have to be an upperclassman to live in a nice one. The community that is created, especially on connect floors is exceptional. If you're lucky, you'll make great friends along the way.

    Academic Rigor

    The one good thing about this school is that the classes are very hard. If nothing else, you will be prepared or professional school and/or graduate school. If you're a science major, you start out with a minimum of 3 hours of homework per night (in 100 level classes) by the time you get to senior level classes, the workload will have quadrupled. I can't really speak for the other majors, but I know they work hard as well

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus is a construction zone right now. According to the timeline, everything is supposed to be finished by the end of the fall semester of 2013, however, gauging from the lack of progress made in the past couple of years, construction will not be finished until 2015. Learn how to study. The block plan is stressful, and if you don't know how to manage your time, you will not succeed.

    In three sentences

    Narrow-minded in the sense of accepting other people and other cultures. Horrible food service and customer service. Systematic lack of care in general for students; only motive is to make money does so by raising prices, lowering benefits and squandering funds paid for tuition

  • 08/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Theres always something going on around campus. From parties and get togethers to school sponsored entertainment at the Thomas Commons, theres always something going on. Even the town, with its host of shops and hang out spots, has a lot to offer.

    Food and Dining

    Food in the Thomas Commons, the only place for dining, is alright. By the end of 2013 calendar year, the Commons will have been fully renovated, offering more opportunities at good food. And the firm that does the cooking, Bon Appetit, is pretty good at what they do.

    Dorm Life

    The dormitories are...interesting. Most of them are fairly old, in the traditional dorm setting. Some of the newer dorms are done in the more modern suite style, and have more recently done accommodations. Communal bathrooms are what you'll expect otherwise. However, dorm life can be wonderful, making connections with the people on your floor and such.

    Academic Rigor

    Once Course At a Time means taking a semester worth of information and cramming into 3 and a half week span (a block). Every four weeks the students are tired and worn because of the nearing of the end of a block. Being assigned huge sections of reading each evening is not uncommon. But the level of knowledge gained is amazing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Carefully look over the cost of attendance: the school offers a great deal of financial aid but the cost of travel to the school (by car or the Cedar Rapids Municipal Airport) can be quite a challenge. And keep an open mind! This school has very diverse people apart of its community, and keeping an open mind is essential.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful little school in little Mount Vernon, Iowa. Totally different from any other school, with its One Course at a Time system for classes. Absolutely amazing people, and an amazing educational experience.

  • 04/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    We are a small school but greek life is a way to meet more people and belong to a group of tightly knit friends.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are sooo many clubs, Judo Club, Dancing (Slick shoes), Animal Health Care, languages, UNICEF, Environmental Club, Sewing Club (Knot Just for Grannies), Zombie Apocalypse Club, the list goes on and on.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are open to hearing all types of opinions, people who don't mind bipolar weather, and people who can thrive in a fast pace learning environment, Cornell is for you.

    What to do for fun

    In town, there is a strip of stores to shop in. There are plenty of social events hosted by clubs and banners posted everywhere, dances, games, and activities. There are malls if you have a car, drinking at the bars if you are old enough, or even the movie theater in town.

    Food and Dining

    Food has gotten better with the new dining service.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms have quiet hours, but depending on where you are... makes a big difference, each dorm has a reputation or general type of people who live there like the first year athlete dorm. Nothing too bad happens in the dorms, R.A.s are usually on top of things.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are fast and can be difficult if you are not willing to put in the time and effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    The weather is important so know that if you are from a warm place you are in for a surprise in the winter, bring gear to keep warm. The writing studio and quantitative reasoning studio are there to help and can make a big difference. Learn not to procrastinate because it is easy to fall behind when a block is less than a month long.

    In three sentences

    Cornell is located in a small town, living here will mean creating your own fun or searching for activities through clubs, athletics, or greek life. People here are different in different senses of the word; we have our share of the different colors of the rainbow. The teachers are really helpful and invested, just like the students are helpful and friendly.