Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Cornerstone University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/10/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 out of 14 people found this review useful. 1 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I you like to be independent, but you still want the support of a family atmosphere then Cornerstone is perfect. There is enough room for me to make my own decisions, yet there is still some guidance to keep my Christ-focused.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved and stay involved. It's as simple as that. You don't have to play sports and be in theater to be involved. Attend the sporting events, volunteer on campus, have an on-campus job, or even just leave your dorm room door open, so others know that you welcome company. This will help you meet more people and make classes more fun because you know others who are in class with you.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Cornerstone is a bit more than a public university, the financial aid office works really well with all student situations to make it possible to attend. I am paying my own way, so if it were not for the scholarships and help from the financial aid office, I would not be able to attend Cornerstone today. It is worth every dollar.

    Am enjoying being here

    I tend to be shy and not really outgoing. Cornerstone is the perfect size. It isn't too big and intimidating like other well-known colleges, yet it isn't too small that you don't get to meet a variety of people. There are lots of events and activities always going on, so I like that there is always ways to make new friends.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a new Christian and I wanted to learn how to practice Christian views in a growing secular culture. In classes, I love that the teachers care about their students and integrate Christ into little lessons like grammar review. It makes class time more enjoyable.

  • 12/23/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 2 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who really want to do everything to glorify God, CU will be perfect for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in with no expectations. Be ready to be changed. Be ready to take risks and meet new people. God will work in you in a way that I cannot explain. I have grown in my relationship with God through the people, professors, the weather, late-night talks with my roommate.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a little more expensive than most schools in the area; however, education wise- the money is used great! The food is a hit and miss, so i wish the money i spent helped more with that, but what can you do? All cafeterias can be a little iffy sometimes. The dorms are nice and cozy and they are in the middle of deciding to put more dorm buildings on campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    I live in California, so everything about CU is new for me: the weather, the people and the atmosphere. The weather is always changing and I have not seen blue skies in a while, but its okay. I like to think of it all as an adventure. The people are so kind and nice. Everyone is there to help someone else out in anyway they can. And the atmosphere is very friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors make learning fun again. College is not like high school; however the professors at CU really want to get to know each student on a personal level. This connection really makes the classroom easier because I know that the professors want me to succeed. The classes are a challenge; however, if you put in the time and ask the professors lots of questions, you will do just fine!

  • 12/25/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to grow with God, then come to this school. This school encourages you to grow with Christ, and gives you plenty of opportunities to grow.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come expecting God to move in your life. If you let Him move, you will be transformed. God is doing amazing things in people's lives.

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth every penny. Christian education can be the greatest thing to pay for. You could pay more for a Christian education.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy going to Cornerstone University. I have learned a lot, and it is a great sense of community. You will love the community. I have met my best friends here. They really want you to feel welcome, and they go out of their way to do it.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm learning a lot. The teachers are great. If you don't think that they don't care, you are wrong. They care about their students. Professors do pray for you.

  • 06/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    this school is great for students who are serious about learning, willing to learn from a Christ-centered worldview, and students that want to be part of a caring an nurturing community of students and professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you fill out your dorm paperwork/profile correctly so you get matched up with people you will get along with.

    Bang for the buck

    compared to a lot of other schools offers and tuition prices, i think you can get a lot more out of attending cornerstone university.

    Am enjoying being here

    i have made a lot of new friends at this school. there are many campus events to go to as well.

    Am learning a lot

    the professors work very hard to teach the students what they should know for the classes. most professors even spend time out of class to help students who need it.

  • 08/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Pretty much anyone, but especially for those who wish to attend a Christian university and who are serious about academics (if you're not, your just wasting $30,000 a year). CU is not a party school and therefore, if all you want to do is party, then this probably isn't the school for you. We do have a TON of fun and there are plenty of other things to do. CU is in Grand Rapids and is very close to downtown which a lot of people really enjoy exploring. GR is the home of ArtPrize which is a city-wide art display that occurs annually. CU is right across the road from Frederick Meijer Gardens, a sculpture garden and conservatory. The campus is also conveniently placed on a main street and is close to a couple of malls and plenty of major stores.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get out and meet people! During my first semester, I purposely chose to sit with different people each time I ate in the cafeteria, and it was probably one of the best decisions that I made. The people you meet and the conversations you join are so worth it. The funny thing for me was that several people thought I was a sophomore or junior simply because they saw me sitting with other sophomores/juniors during lunch and dinner. I agree with what some of the other reviewers said. It is important to let people know that you welcome their presence. Open your door, get out and participate in section activities and other campus events, and just purposefully establish friendships.

    Bang for the buck

    In spite of the cost, I have to say it is definitely worth it. The effect it will have on your life is priceless, and it is a good investment not only for your education, but also for the difference it will make on the rest of your life. Plus, there are quite a few scholarships and grants available that help considerably with the extra cost.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love being here. Campus life is awesome, and I have really enjoyed getting involved in the activities and student leadership opportunities. The people here are amazing, and are such an encouragement.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot, not just academically, but I have also learned a lot about myself. The classes are all Christ-centered, and the professors are not only excellent teachers, but are also great mentors and role-models. The staff and faculty make a genuine effort to be involved in the lives of each student.

  • 06/24/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I very pricey but is very worth it.

    Did enjoy being here

    I will go to their graduate school.

    Did learn a lot

    They have good christian morals and standards.

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Studious, enthusiastic students who are passionate about relationships, responsibility, and glorifying God with their lives.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't forfeit much study time to hang out with friends. Your friendships aren't graded and don't cost you tuition, and the people who care will always be there long after after you sell your books back to the bookstore at the end of the semester.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    - racquetball, weight room, running track, frisbee golf

    Food and Dining

    - cafeteria style food - recently renovated area - grab and go area (supplies sandwiches, snacks, etc)

    Dorm Life

    - good community within dorms

    Academic Rigor

    - takes academics seriously - teachers very involved

    Tips for prospective students

    - it helps to visit colleges and stay overnight before deciding

    In three sentences

    cornerstone is a christian university that emphasizes the importance of christ, community, and character. the classes integrate faith and influence with academic excellence. teachers care about the students well-being and overall helpful.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    cornerstone is located in a very safe part of town and campus safety does a great job keeping it a comfortable environment.

    Greek Life

    cornerstone does not have sorority and fraternity life because it is a private school.

    Clubs and Activities

    many clubs and activities are offered on campus, it is extremely easy to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    great for any type of student, especially those who are looking for a friendly christian environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    cornerstone has a giant rock that students randomly paint according to events on campus or holidays. also, a long standing tradition is that when couples get engaged friends hold a candlelight service. this basically entails in the girls passing around the engagement ring on a candlestick and talking about how the couple met, and the guy who proposed must climb the bell tower outside and ring the bell and then his friends throw him in the lake.

    Bang for the buck

    cornerstone university is a private university, so the cost is higher than most public schools. however, scholarships are offered to all entering students based on academic achievements in high school, which makes attending this university much more affordable.

    What to do for fun

    cornerstone university offers many things to do for fun. there are student activities planned frequently, such as concerts and dances. inter-mural sports are offered to allow students to be part of a team without having the harsh practice hours or commitment of a college level team. dorm activities are also frequent for students to be a part of. there is a student union corum where most students spend their time playing pool, hanging out with friends, and sipping on coffee from the coffee house.

    Food and Dining

    cornerstone has just recently improved the dining commons on campus. there are many options for food, and it is available all day from 7 to 7. the quality of food is great and provides healthy options. also, there is a cafe on campus that offers grab-n-go food for students who need to quickly grab a sack lunch between classes.

    Dorm Life

    depending on where you live, the dorm life is very lively and community centered. activities are planned throughout the year to help you connect with others in your dorm. all dorms on campus have a very friendly environment. there are two types of dorms, community style bathrooms, and suite style with two rooms and bathroom connecting the two.

    Academic Rigor

    students are challenged academically but not overwhelmingly, especially in the first two years. professors are very helpful and willing to come along side students who need help with work.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are considering attending cornerstone university i highly recommend taking a tour of the campus. the environment is so friendly and welcoming and makes a huge impact on your decision. also, if you are looking to attend a christian university, cornerstone is centered on christ and is continuously growing in his word.

    In three sentences

    cornerstone university is an academically inclined and friendly environment that is centered on jesus christ. each student is recognized for his or her own strengths. faculty and staff do their best to make students feel comfortable and welcomed in their classroom.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Fantastic! We've had two scary incidents in 3 years and they immediately text everyone (or email everyone) and keep us updated and safe!

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    SO MANY! I can't even begin to name them all. My personal favorite is the freshman orientation program. When you start at Cornerstone, you are paired up with 12 other freshmen in a group with either 1 student leader and an alumni leader or two student leaders. For the entire year you meet one week, go to a service project the next, etc. I've led this for 2 years and, of course, participated my freshman year. Even if you don't like your group, you have people that you know and can talk to RIGHT away. It's beautiful.

    Great for these types of students

    Christian, relationship driven, intellectual, Question-Askers, leaders.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When a couple gets engaged, they have a candlelight at midnight. The girls get together and the guys get together, and then everyone meets at the bell tower. The guy climbs the bell tower, rings the bell, and then kisses the girl. After that, the guy gets thrown into the pond! It's great.

    Bang for the buck

    Cornerstone works SO HARD to give all students as many scholarships as possible.

    What to do for fun

    Cornerstone is centered in Grand Rapids, which is itself a vibrant, busy, constantly changing community. On campus we have some great hang out spots, and wonderful activities that are organized on campus. It's great!

    Food and Dining

    We have a great new cafeteria with a wood-fired pizza oven and an amazing salad bar. We also have sack lunches which you can pick up if you're in a rush to get to class!

    Dorm Life

    My best experiences have happened in the dorms!!

    Academic Rigor

    The university is currently working on steepening the academic rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have lots of snacks! Buy rain boots and a GOOD umbrella!

    In three sentences

    Cornerstone has a vivid, comforting community life. It is a safe haven to really experience God. The academic piece is definitely challenging and intertwined with religion and community.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Whenever someone gets engaged we have a Candle Light. It's pretty much a party for both the bride and groom and at the end the guy gets thrown into the pond. These happen at midnight.

    Bang for the buck

    My time at CU has been the best experience I have ever had. I love my school and I wouldn't trade it in for anything.

    What to do for fun

    There is a ton of options for fun activities. Of course there are dorm activites: slopfest, pickitt talent show, Christmas, Pick-a-Date, etc. There are campus events: MORP, Mock Rock, etc. And then there's fun things to do just with your friends. Games, Frizbee golf, soccer, intermural sports, pranking, dance parties, rollerskating, ice skating in the winter, etc.

    Food and Dining

    CU has improved this area of campus over the past few years. Our cafeteria was remodeled and the food itself has improved. I have the options to have a variety in food and I have good, healthy options as well. They are doing a great job!

    Dorm Life

    Getting involved with dorm life rather than commuting was one of the best decisions I have ever made. I have a great studying environment as well as community. My RD and RA staff sincerely care about your well-being. They will take the time to help you with whatever you need. I have had the opportunity to meet so many great girls and make so many great memories! Everything from slopfest to Pickitt talent show, to more spiritual events like the modesty panel and Pickitt Passion are just a few of the fun and inspiring events that I have experienced because of dorm life. And then of course there's the late night parties, movie-making days, pranks, and dance parties.

    Academic Rigor

    I love the academic part of my college experience at CU. The professors are tough but helpful. I am being challenged hard enough but I know I can succeed. My professors are always available to help you succeed in whatever way necessary.

    Tips for prospective students

    Staying in the dorms before the fall gives you an accurate picture of what college life is like, so I would highly recommend that. Work hard on your studies as well as poor into the lives of your peers. Take opportunities as they come because college is only for a season.

    In three sentences

    CU has a community that encourages you to thrive in your area of study as well as having a great college experience. The Christian emphasis effects everything from dorm life to student activities to classes. CU changed my life.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Cornerstone is pretty expensive, but it is a private christian school, and if you are looking for a place that you can really feel faith and God on campus, this is it. You will be surrounded by people who want to see you grow in your faith and help you learn more about Him.

    What to do for fun

    Cornerstone isn't that far from the city of Grand Rapids, on weekends you are able to go downtown for events like concerts, festivals and other events. In the fall, there are things like artprize and robinettes (an apple orchard) that many students frequent a few times a season. There is also

    Food and Dining

    The food is just like every college, not that great, but not that bad. There are some days where the food rules, but others where it really lacks. But there is pizza almost every day and the salad bar and panini maker is always available for use.

    Dorm Life

    I would suggest that every student lives in the dorms their first year. Dorm life is really making my college experience better. There are activities that each dorm does that are special to that dorm. You get to know the girls/guys on your floor really well and you build a good relationship with your RA and RD. Living in the dorms is a great way to meet people and have fun things to do. Like I said before, there are different activities specific to each dorm, there are bowling outings, section sneaks, and talent shows! There's an activity for everyone to enjoy!

    Academic Rigor

    I have only gone through one year at cornerstone right now, but the rigor wasn't too bad this year. I had professors that were willing to help me whenever I needed it and I was able to stay up to speed. The professors are very willing to help you and they want to see you do your best. They will do what it takes to help you! Which is really nice, especially the first semester, because things are so different than high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit! You can never know what any school is like without visiting. If your feeling brave enough, stay on campus for a night too! It can be scary, but you'll meet a lot of people in the dorms and be able to see what its like on a night at cornerstone!

    In three sentences

    Cornerstone University definitely has a lively campus life, especially during the week days. There is usually some sort of event going on for students to hang out and enjoy. Cornerstone has a friendly and generally happy campus! When the weather is nice and sunny, you'll see students on the grass and at outdoor tables enjoying the sun!

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Non-existent.

    Great for these types of students

    If you can't tell yet, Cornerstone is a great school for any student who is very serious about their faith. I've said it before; Cornerstone is completely about Christ. He's the cornerstone of Cornerstone, so if you're crazy about Him like most of the students here, then I would definitely look into Cornerstone as a potential school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When two students get engaged on campus, we have a Candlelight for them. Candlelights are amazing. Any student who wants to come is invited, and everyone gathers under the bell tower (it's actually a tall gazebo with a bell in the middle of the top). The couple stands in the center of the crowd and the guy climbs up to the bell and rings it. After he climbs down, a group of guys takes him and throws him in the nearby pond. This tradition holds even in the winter; students will break a hole in the ice so that they can throw the guy in the water.

    Bang for the buck

    Because it's a private Christian college, Cornerstone is a little pricey (upwards of 30k a year). It's worth it though. The buildings and campus are all kept up extremely well, and the atmosphere on campus is completely centered on Jesus and building your life around him; He is the center of classes, extracurriculars, and basically everything else at Cornerstone. So for students who are serious about their faith, the money is totally worth it.

    What to do for fun

    If you walk around campus you'll always find groups of students hanging out and talking or doing some kind of random activity together. Students are always watching movies in the dorms, or playing sports. We also have a Sunday night chapel service called Evensong. It's a student-lead worship service where the student body comes together to worship God all-out. It's definitely one of my favorite times of the week.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good. We only have one cafeteria on campus because the school is so small, but it's really nice. There are a lot of windows, there are tables for big groups and smaller tables for just a couple people. There's always a lot of variety in the food they serve too. We also have Grab 'n Go, which is a cafe where they pack food in bags for students who don't have time to sit in the dining commons and eat.

    Dorm Life

    Cornerstone is a Christian college with a Christ-centered atmosphere, so nothing too crazy goes on in the dorms. However, that doesn't mean we don't have fun. Students watch movies together all the time, or play sports on the lawns outside the dorms, and there's usually a group of people with a guitar somewhere singing worship music. It's laid back, but it's a great community atmosphere. It feels like a family.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging and there's a lot of homework that goes along with it, at least in my major division. But you learn SO much, and the professors know what they're talking about, so it's worth the extra effort.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Rarely ever see them, however there are cameras in the lobbies, required to use student ID to get into the dorm buildings, perform regular fire drills, 0% crime rate on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't that many things going on around campus like you would get at a larger university, but all sporting games are free to students and there are plenty small group bible studies all over you can join.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One unusual thing on campus that everyone talks about during the fall are candlelights. Once a couple on campus get engaged they will have what is called a candlelight on a Thursday night at midnight. The girls all meet in the basement of Pickett hall and the boys all meet under the bell tower. Both groups will go around asking questions of the future bride or groom, some romantic things (like what was your first date) and some silly things (if he were an ice cream flavor, what would he be) and once the questions are finished everyone forms a great big line for the girl to run through and meet up with her fiancé under the bell tower. He then climbs to the top, rings the bell, then his buddies will throw him into the pond.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is really good about giving out scholarships and considering the type of education we receive, it's a great tradeoff.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really great. There is always a wide variety and it all tastes amazing, PLUS there are plenty of options for people with special diets. Most everything in the cafeteria is gluten free (and surprisingly still tastes good).

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice and clean, everybody on campus is friendly and will go out of their way to say hi to you if you keep your door open. There is a great balance between making friends and having fun, and keeping the hallways quiet enough to study.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are very nice and understanding and because it is liberal arts, you will take a lot of classes and become really well rounded

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe. there are emergency things that call services if you are in trouble an you push the button. there is a campus security division that patrols regularly and makes sure things are locked up. Maintenance does their best to make sure that all doors are working properly an all alarms are checked regularly.

    Greek Life

    There really isn't any frat stuff or sorority stuff. Party's are for having clean fun. Alcohol and drugs including tobacco are prohibited.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are lots of clubs and activities, many spiritually grounded organizations as well. there are tons of ways to be involved in the community at Cornerstone.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking for a community that has an emphasis on Christ being the center of the community. Students who want to strengthen their relationship with Christ and are willing to work to do it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a few quirky things. There is huge dorm rivalry since it is a small campus and pranks abound sometimes. there are also candlelights, which are when a couple gets engaged. there is a long series of things that happens after midnight and it all ends with the guy being thrown in the pond that is on campus. (the only time that people are allowed to touch the pond)

    Bang for the buck

    Though Cornerstone can be one of the more expensive options you have, I would encourage you to follow your heart. I really enjoy almost all aspects of Cornerstone. all the home sports events are free to students and there are large sales all the time for students of cornerstone university. A bit more money on one side and less on the other helps to even out the cost in my opinion.

    What to do for fun

    Grand Rapids is chalk full of awesome things to do. The first week before school starts is full of trips to the beach and baseball game and just plain fun things to do. later on there is the ArtPrize competition in Downtown Grand Rapids and that was a blast to see all the amazing artwork. there is so much to do and so many people to do it with.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. I love eating most times and I usually eat too much. the buffet style allows you to spread out your meal and take your time. there is almost always a wide variety of food to choose from including a deli and salad bar and a pizza oven and two other choices that change every day. the dining commons and the kitchen were just remodeled this past year and they look terrific. dinner is a great way to socialize with friends or to have a nice dinner with your section.

    Dorm Life

    dorms are divided into sections so that while you are getting to know lots of people at school you are also getting very close with the others in your section. the guys living right next to you and across from you and right down the hall. These people are the ones you will do lots of activities with throughout the year and you will have that bond later in your school years.

    Academic Rigor

    Along with the spiritual side of cornerstone is the academics. Cornerstone tries to ensure the best possible learning environment and professors to go work with your spiritual life. Post class evaluations of the class and of the professors ensure that you are being taught correctly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with your dorms and the people in them and there will never be a dull moment. people want to get out and do stuff and are just waiting for you. The food is great so be careful.

    In three sentences

    A great school for those wishing to follow Christ. The community and faculty are helpful and there to build you up. Overall, Cornerstone is a great place to get an education.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    From my time at Cornerstone, I have not had any moments where Campus Safety was needed, but they can be found around campus at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    Cornerstone has numerous clubs that you can get involved in from Theater to Student Government. Cornerstone also has many activities that the entire campus can join in on and enjoy.

    Great for these types of students

    Cornerstone is a great community for students who want to make lifetime friends, memories, and grow in their relationship with the Lord.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cornerstone has a great tradition for when couples get engaged that involves all the girls gathering together to see the ring and hearing about how he proposed. Then everyone goes outside to where the groom climbs the bell tower and is then throw into the pond.

    Bang for the buck

    Though Cornerstone can become expensive, the friends, memories, and growing you experience throughout your time there is priceless.

    What to do for fun

    Cornerstone University Student Government always has something planned for students living on campus and those commuting. Also, the different dorms groups on campus sponsor fun activities throughout the semester. Being close to downtown Grand Rapids also opens up many opportunities to have fun.

    Food and Dining

    Cornerstone actually has really good food. When you are trying to grab lunch between classes, the Café allows you to grab a quick meal to take to class. Also the Deli is great for whenever you just want to make a sandwich or grab a bagel.

    Dorm Life

    I really love living in the dorms at Cornerstone. There is such an amazing sense of community throughout the halls and sections, and the RA's and RD's plan really fun events to do together. My roommate, suite-mates, and section-mates are some of my closest friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Cornerstone places a great importance on Academics. The faculty and staff are amazing and always willing to help out however they can. Cornerstone also has a learning center that is always ready with tutors for whatever class you may want to get extra help in .

    Tips for prospective students

    Make it a goal to visit campus and stay overnight with a host. When I was deciding on colleges, the overnight stay gave me a really good perspective on how living at Cornerstone as a student would be. I had such a good time hanging out with current students and seeing why they loved Cornerstone so much.

    In three sentences

    I am only in my second semester at Cornerstone and I have already been greatly blessed so far. The faculty and staff are amazing and it is very easy to make friends quickly. The atmosphere around campus is truly unique from any other school I visited.

  • 01/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Cornerstone is located in Grand Rapids. Grand Rapids is known for art prize there is always some sort of festival or activity going on downtown.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Cornerstone is good. there are many options each meal. A grab-and-go (sack lunch) meal is also available for students on the run.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are centered around community. All dorms are centrally located. They offer an opportunity to experience college life and meet new people.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors care about the students and class sizes are small. Professors will take the time to make sure students understand material and they will answer any questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit Cornerstone! Come and experience the campus for yourself. Stay for a chapel and stay overnight to check out the dorm life.

    In three sentences

    It does not take long to see that Christianity is not just a label at Cornerstone. Cornerstone is a tight knit community of students and staff that are committed to living a life for Christ. Cornerstone offers many opportunities to grow academically and spiritually.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police but I have never heard of any instances on campus that would ever place Cornerstone into the unsafe category.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everything from racquetball league to student government.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to grow spiritually, be challenged academically, and find lots of new friends will feel right at home on Cornerstone's campus!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A giant rock outside the cafeteria doors is constantly being spray painted.

    Bang for the buck

    You certainly get what you pay for! Great dorm life, lots of friendly students, an exceptional faculty, a safe environment, and spiritual guidance everywhere you turn.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Grand Rapids is only about 20 minutes from campus. There are activities for students almost constantly on campus. Woodland Mall, IMAX, and numerous restaurants are only 10 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    I give Cornerstone credit for having to feed hundreds of hungry students every day, but I do miss my mom's home cooking.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life might not be all that it is cracked up to be, but it is fun just the same! Parties, competitions, and prizes every month!

    Academic Rigor

    The professors expect much from you as a student. The academics are difficult but not without reward. The faculty at Cornerstone wants you to thrive and excel in your learning, but they also want to challenge you to your fullest capacity.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to be academically and spiritually challenged! Do not be afraid to broaden your horizons by taking a study-abroad trip. It is a privilege and opportunity to be a student at Cornerstone and I recommend you take advantage of all the university has to offer you.

    In three sentences

    Cornerstone is equipping me with the biblical knowledge and real world experience I need to both excel and be a light in the work force after I graduate. I am blessed to have the opportunity to study under such an inspiring faculty, who not only cares about my academic career, but about me personally as a sister in Christ. It is a great honor to be a part of such a thriving, Christ-centered community.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    After looking for a girls ring in the snowy parking lot for 20 minutes, campus safety came out. He asked us what we lost, and after we told him, he promptly got out his flashlight, and stayed out there with us for ten minutes, digging through the snow, and he found it!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Candlelight is the announcement of an engagement. When one gets engaged, everyone waits until midnight. At midnight, the RA's run through the dorms yelling CANDLELIGHT, at this all the students run after the RA down to the lounge. The boys run outside to the bell tower. At this point, all the students interrogate the engaged man/woman. When the questions are over, the guys run over to the girl's dorm and shout BRING OUT THE CHICKS! At this, all the girls come out and run through the bridge of guys to the bell tower. The guy that proposed has to climb up the bell tower poll, ring the bell, and try to come back down. Before He hits the ground, though, the men have taken him, and are escorted by all the ladies to the campus pond, where the man is thrown in the lake. Usually the man gets a kiss from his fiance as he comes out of the water, and then we all go back to our dorms and talk about it. :)

    Bang for the buck

    They charge as much as many christian schools, but they give out free T-shirts at all the campus actives, they provide each student with a new Macbook Laptop, and during the first year, small group leaders are given money to take us out for coffee.

    What to do for fun

    Movie nights are common in the community of students. I won a 38 inch TV by merely sticking my name in a drawing the first night I was here. Krispie Kreme, McDonalds and Wendy's are easy-access since they are close to the college campus. Bowling, theater trips and coffee study-dates are fun things to have at, but nothing beats a Meijer Run. Meijer Runs are like going to walmart. Being two miles away from the school, students are always walking there to buy what they left at home, to merely hang out with friends, or to take cans there for a 10 refund.

    Food and Dining

    Resume editing The food is generally tasty, and cooked well. Panera sends bagels to the school, and the hot breakfasts are enjoyable if you are a morning person. Although college food can get a little old, they do fairly well at varying the meats, the pasta and the Mexican. If nothing looks good at any given meal, the pizza bar is always open, and always tasty.

    Dorm Life

    Resume editing The first year here, all freshmen are roomed in freshman dorms. These are two-three people per room with community bathrooms. One of the nice things is that compared to suites, housekeeping cleans the bathroom's and suites you clean your own. The second benefit to having freshmen dorms, is that since you have to go out of your room to use the bathroom/showers, you meet all kinds of people that have to do the same. You can't avoid people, and it gets you set up for the rest of your college career. The RA's are GREAT, and so fun, taking people out for bowling, movies or coffee. They are always willing to talk.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors mainly believe that his class is the only one in the school. The professors are well-educated, having doctorates and master's degrees, and therefore DO have goals for their students. They know what they are teaching, are good at teaching it, and expect their students to know it.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. At a christian school, it does not mean that a lot of the kids are born again believers, in fact it can easily mean that it provided the best academic program, it gave superior scholarship awards, or that the other kids were merely sent here being in a religious family. You will get for your personal faith, whatever effect you put into your personal faith. 2. Learning to balance relationships and studying is a huge part of college. To much studying can easily lead to one never giving 100%, and you accomplish as much in two hours as five hours of studying. On the flip side, it's easy to have many good relationships, but you can' invest all the people, all the time. You have to choose which ones will be close, which ones that need to be kept as less deep, and which ones you need to cut off.

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    20 of 35

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I absolute loved meeting my admissions rep from Cornerstone! She helped me so much in not only my decision for college, but my major as well! I was truly encouraged! This school is amazing!

  • 03/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is zero Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Cornerstone doesn't really have many clubs. There are only four. The best would probably be the multicultural organization because they are constantly hosting events on campus. Other activities include a limited amount of intramural sports.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cornerstone has this thing called 'Candlelight'. When a couple gets engaged, at midnight girls on campus have to pass around a candle that eventually ends up in the future bride's hands. She is asked questions about the relationship and slips fun details for all the girls to hear. Everyone gathers outside to watch the future groom climb the bell tower pole to ring the bell. When done, he is tossed into the pond. This tradition is kept even in the winter..

    What to do for fun

    Occasionally, there are events all students can attend for fun. Otherwise, the only fun things to do are hang out with friends playing video games, sport games, or going off campus for other stuff.

    Food and Dining

    The food is better than most colleges. Some days the food is so good, while other days the choices make people regret coming to the dining commons. It also depends on if you are a picky eater or not.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life here at Cornerstone is moderately quiet, depending on which dorm you live in. There are never parties, so the environment is pure. Unforttunately, open dorms are only allowed on certain days.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be very challenging, depending on the class. The professors are pretty awesome and know so much about what they are talking about. If you work really hard at it, the classes should not be that hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure Cornerstone offers the major that you want. They don't offer that many but specialize in the ones they do have.

    In three sentences

    Cornerstone is very conservative and encourages spirituality in Christ. The morals and values are what make Cornerstone different from other colleges. The diversity is very limited but trying to grow.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I don't think I can fit everything in here. 1) Paint the school rock. 2) Go on section sneaks. 3) Play campus wide capture the flag. 4) Go to a sports game. 5) See/participate in a theatre production. 6) Play pranks on your roommates. 7) Go on late night Meijer runs with friends. 8) Go to a candlelight. 9) Play disc golf. 10) Play volleyball. 11) Play racquetball. These are just some things to do. Cornerstone has a TON of events to attend. It's pretty hard to be bored.

    Food and Dining

    Cornerstone's cafeteria is cool. The food is usually good, but not always. There is usually two main choices for each main meal. In addition to those, there is also a pizza station, a sandwich station, a salad bar, cereal, and a dessert section. Some of the meals are repeated more often than we'd like, and other meals aren't repeated enough in our opinion. All in all, though, the food is quality. There is always a gluten free option for every meal. In addition to the cafeteria, we have a Grab n' Go, which is a place where you can get sandwiches, chips, fruit, granola bars, coffee, and the like a lot quicker than if you were to eat in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Cornerstone's dorms are nice to live in and most of them are fairly close to the classroom buildings. Cornerstone offers both community style dorms (one bathroom to a whole floor) and suite style dorms (a shared bathroom between four people). Living in either of these styles are fun, and allow you to meet many new people and make lasting friendships. There are also apartments that are still on campus but farther from the classroom buildings. People who live there once usually don't go back to the dorms unless they absolutely have to. For the freshmen living in the dorms, curfew is midnight on weekdays and 2am on weekends. There is no curfew for sophomores on up.

    Academic Rigor

    Not only will Cornerstone grow you spiritually, it will grow you intellectually. The professors at Cornerstone push you to do your very best. They have faith in their students which creates great teacher-student relationships that often last a lifetime. Cornerstone also offers great study abroad programs in places like Israel, Ireland, and the Netherlands. Cornerstone does not want their students to just attain information, but make connections world-wide that will give then many opportunities to use what they learned.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking into Cornerstone, don't just peek in and make a judgment call after a few glances. Try to really experience Cornerstone. Go to all the prospective student activities, and if you can, make sure you spend the night in one of the dorms. Also make sure to go to one of the chapels and at least one Evensong.

    In three sentences

    If you're looking for a true blue Christ-centered university, Cornerstone is for you. From the coaches, to the teachers, to the president himself, this college is focused completely on our savior and lord, Jesus Christ. At Cornerstone University, you will grow mentally, socially, and most important, spiritually.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    This does not apply for the adult learning program. I don't know Campus Life from the Traditional campus.

    Food and Dining

    The student cafe/cafeteria is well-run and offers the latest Barista kiosk for those who are java connoisseurs. The prices are reasonable, and the buffet selections are very good.

    Academic Rigor

    For the adult PGS program this is self-explanatory. Because it is an accelerated program there is much reading, papers, etc. to attend. However this is a positive challenge, motivating, and most rewarding experience for the Adult learner, especially those who are completing advanced degrees.

    Tips for prospective students

    PGS stands for professional & graduate studies The program is accelerated; one night/week, for 5-6 weeks Come in with an open mind, and a heart for Christ Moodle is the web program used for grading and classroom info

    In three sentences

    Amazing academic learning experience, from an adult perspective Highly interactive classroom sessions Outstanding accelerated Bachelor and Master's programs for the working adult

  • 07/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe. Campus Safety helped me out once when my car wouldn't start due to the cold. Gave me a jumpstart quickly. They also warned me once of a taillight out on my car so I wouldn't get a ticket. Seems like they do their job but its a pretty safe campus I think anyway.

    Great for these types of students

    Serious Christians or those who want to grow in their faith.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A Candelight is when a student couple become engaged while attending. There is a special ceremony/activity that occurs on a Thursday night at midnight. Various ceremonial activities take place with the boys and girls' dorms, culminating in the boy getting throw in the creek. But its all in good fun and prayer is central. Terribly romantic and just plain good fun. FYI, they occurred almost every Thursday thru the Fall and again in the Spring. Don't miss the fun - go to Candelight.

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty expensive college, but worth it if you can get financial aid and scholarships. Very caring people there and I'm made some incredible friends.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the mall, or Gus' Pizza. Go to baseball games. Go to student activities on campus even if you think you are not interested. You'd be surprised. Try new things.

    Food and Dining

    Steak nights always a plus. Omelettes - yum! Italian cheese bread - OMG! Sweet yeast rolls - wow.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know what to compare it to. My RA was pretty weird, but still tried, just not a warm people person.

    Academic Rigor

    Average. Some classes are harder than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    No air conditioning in Cook Hall even though they say there is. Only in hallways and common areas, sometimes. Bring a fan cause Fall in MI can be hot. Cafeteria food is mostly very good, and I'm pretty picky. Go to chapel and meals with someone from your hall. Its a great way to get connected. Use textbook butler and rent textbooks to save alot.

    In three sentences

    I had an amazing Freshman experience. Great instructors. Chapel services are great, but Sunday night's Evensong chapel will blow you away.

  • 10/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food and cafeteria is amazing. All the range of food choices is great! There is never something the same every day. You have so much to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great! I love the different ways to set up a room. You meet a lot of new and cool people on the floor you're on. The different dorm events that take place are tons of fun!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes mostly are based on religion. But after the general education classes are done with, it gets more into the major.

    In three sentences

    The campus atmosphere is outstanding. Everyone wants to get to know you right away. You make so many friends within the first couple weeks you are here.

  • 10/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food has definitely gotten better over the years with the improvements on the cafeteria. Although it is easy to over eat and not balance it with exercise. The food is great but ,as is normally, get's boring after a while.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on which style you are more comfortable with you can either have suite style rooms where its generally more quiet and reserved or you can have more of a social experience with community style bathrooms in Pickett and Quincer. The dorms are not co-ed but it is not a bad thing.

    Academic Rigor

    There is definitely a work load that requires the accumulation of organizational skills. Adapting to having to prepare for the whole semester and not procrastinate is also necessary.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am impressed by how Cornerstone often has stuff going on for students to do on the weekends. On campus, there are sports, along with intramurals, different clubs to join, and events throughout the year. Off campus is even better, there is a ton to do in Grand Rapids! There are restaurants everywhere (any chain you can think of on top of many other unique ones), a movie theater 5 minutes away, a mall 10 minutes away. Also, Cornerstone is only a short drive from downtown GR, where there is a lot more to do. (Artprize in the fall, swing dancing on Tuesday nights, concerts, etc.) There are always fun things to do if you are willing to find them.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Cornerstone is very good in comparison to meals I have had at other colleges. After a while you might get a little tired of it, but that's going to happen at any college. Also, don't be fooled by the amazing food on visit days. Our food is good, but it's not usually that good.

    Dorm Life

    This depends on which dorm you live in and what you are expecting. As for cleanliness, Cornerstone ranks as well as your average college. Central Hall, the newest dorm, is really nice, and the apartments, also newly renovated, are also nice. As for dorm community, the freshman dorms are really good with this because everyone is new and doesn't know anyone, so everyone is eager to meet people. As you move on to upper-classmen dorms, it's a little different. Dorms are more of just the place you sleep, which probably won't matter to you because you are busy and have your friends pretty much established by this point.

    Academic Rigor

    As for academic rigor, it's not Harvard, but it takes work to maintain good grades. For the most part, if you are willing to work hard, you will be able to keep your GPA high. At least this is how it has been for me and I am a business (accounting) major. I'm sure this will vary depending on your area of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit. Visiting Cornerstone will make you want to go there. The campus is beautiful, but even more, the people and the atmosphere there will draw you in.

    In three sentences

    Cornerstone University is a Christian school so it puts a lot of emphasis on this inside and outside of the classroom. Staff and students there overall are friendly and genuinely care for you and preparing you for your future career. My years at Cornerstone so far have been some of the best of my life and by the time I graduate I am confident that I will be prepared to start a career and will have grown exponentially as a person from the time I started there.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Whether you need someone to jump start your car (happened to me!) or let you into your dorm, our campus safety has your back. This is honestly one of the safest colleges I've been to.

    Great for these types of students

    Cornerstone is great for Christian students looking to grow in their relationship with Christ!

    Bang for the buck

    Cornerstone is really expensive. However, its more than just education. They help you grow spiritually to live a more fulfilling, Christ centered life. I don't know where else I would be able to gain that. Also, Cornerstone works hard to help every student succeed. There's always someone there for you, all you have to do is ask! We offer bigger scholarships now to incoming freshman, however there wasn't that many when I first enrolled. Also! Incoming freshman get a free lap top! Mine was a Mac Book Pro which was awesome! Every year it typically changes, but it's always be a really good computer!

    What to do for fun

    Cornerstone is definitely in a good location! There is so much to do in Grand Rapids! In the fall there is Art Prize downtown where you can see unique art all around downtown! We also have a great mall, tons of movie theaters and the Devos place which has tons of expos and things going on every week! Grand Rapids have great restaurants and its just a busy, fun city!

    Food and Dining

    Honestly, the food could be a little better. We have tons of choices though! For breakfast we have an omelet bar so you can make your own, cold breakfast (like yogurt, fruit, cereal), oatmeal and bagels, and also a hot breakfast bar (scrambled eggs, breakfast meat, pancakes, etc). For lunch and dinner we always have a great pizza bar with four or five different kinds, a cooks choice, then usually a choice of chicken. We also have a build your own sandwich bar with a speciality sandwich choice, and a salad bar. Overall, I think we just need a little less grilled chicken options and more steak!

    Dorm Life

    Each dorm building has its own personality! Pickett is an all girl dorm and is crazy, and loud, and super personal! Keithley is also an all girl dorm that is more laid back and quiet. Quincer is an all boys dorm and is the male-equivalent of Pickett! Finally there's Co-Vo which is two dorms combined. Co stands for Cook and is a girls dorm, and Vo stands for VonOsdel which is a boy dorm. These are a great combination of all the dorm's personalities! There's also a lot of activities within each dorm too! Just make sure you pick the right dorm for your personality!

    Academic Rigor

    The professors truly want to see each student succeed, but they also want to challenge and grow you not only as a student but as a Christian as well. If you struggle with your class, professors will meet with you at lunch or whenever is convenient to help you! Students will often times form study groups too! Ultimately, it's up to you whether you succeed here or not.

    Tips for prospective students

    Cornerstone is expensive. Work on scholarships as much as possible and meet with your financial advisor when you're here! They will go out of their way to help you find scholarships and job opportunities!

    In three sentences

    Cornerstone University is a wonderful, tight-knit community dedicated to serving Jesus Christ in every aspect. The students and professors are very personable and willing to help! I love it here!

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great campus safety. We have an open campus, but nothing bad has ever happened since we are located in Michigan's Bible belt.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The men from V.O. and Quincer sometimes dress nicely and serenade the women. Thats always fun. If someone gets engaged, the men gather at the pavilion and ask the groom questions about his woman while the girls gather in Pickitt and ask the bride questions about her man. Then the men begin chanting, BRING OUT THE CHICKS! the men and women then line up and the bride walks from Pickitt to the pavilion where the groom climbs a pole and rings a bell to prove his love to her. Then we throw him into the lake. That's always fun.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends Longboard Frisbee Golf Billards etc.

    Food and Dining

    We have some great food.

    Dorm Life

    Depends on the dorm, but it all tends to be pretty fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes really aren't too hard if you just apply yourself a little.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start looking for scholarships early because the tuition is pretty high. If you are an extreme athlete, look at staying in Central Hall, Quincer hall, Keithly hall, or Pickitt hall. If you like your quiet time, look at staying in Cook hall or Van Osdell Hall.

    In three sentences

    Cornerstone University is an amazing college. It is a great environment that I would definitely recommend. The food is great too by the way.

  • 02/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt in danger here, and I've never heard of anyone being harmed on campus.

    Greek Life

    Nada.

    Clubs and Activities

    Definitely is lacking in the clubs department, but there are a several activities that students can choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Cornerstone is a Christian university, and it is definitely a huge part of day to day life around here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ah yes, the Candle Light ceremony. I'll let you learn the details for yourself, but just know that it includes a bell gazebo, an engagement ring tied with a ribbon around a candle, lots of yelling and cheering, and someone getting thrown into a pond around midnight. In addition, there are many dorm-specific traditional events that are tons of fun!

    Bang for the buck

    There are definitely somethings the school could use my tuition money on more wisely, but overall I believe I'm getting a great education and a lot of experience for the amount of money I'm paying.

    What to do for fun

    The school is less than 10 minutes away from downtown Grand Rapids, which means the possibilities are endless! Great theatre, lots of great coffee shops and restaurants, outdoor iceskating in the winter, a new comic books store, tons of city-wide special events, ArtPrize in the fall, and the Grand Rapids Art Museum are some of the great options.

    Food and Dining

    I'd say about 15% of the food is great, 70% is good, and 15% is not very good.

    Dorm Life

    There are both dorms and apartments on campus, and both have great dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    High expectations with the necessary recourses to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    The programs are built very specifically for each major, so I would strongly recommend choosing a major before attending the university. Also, if you plan to transfer in with a few gen-ed classes, be sure to register for the courses that are of the correct transfer equivalency. This can be found out by calling Cornerstone.

    In three sentences

    Rating the school on a scale of 1-10, I gladly rate it as 8.5. The faculty is exceptional, the staff is good, and the quality of the classes is excellent. The personal atmosphere makes it possible to achieve the high academic standards set by the university.

  • 03/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus is extremely safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Activities and events are always going on

    Great for these types of students

    If you want a private Christian school then this school is for you

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    they climb the bell tower whenever someone gets engage along with other things... which is just pretty cool

    Bang for the buck

    If you want to go to private Christian School ...then It's worth it :)

    What to do for fun

    Going to Chapel, Evensong and also taking a ride down town it's all just awesome

    Food and Dining

    Good food.

    Dorm Life

    Awesome dorm life. Great students to share your experience with.

    Academic Rigor

    All college courses are going to be challenging, but hard work pays off...

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to increase and help strengthen your faith in God... don't hesitate, come to Cornerstone.

    In three sentences

    It's a Great Christian UNiversity. If you want to go to a Christian University it's the best place to go.

  • 03/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There has not been any issues of safety concerns at Cornerstone, I feel very safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    That doesn't exist at my school.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am part of a prayer group called Thrive. Cornerstone also has this thing called Terra Firma where we hang out in a group and do community service and meet other kids.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students looking for a Christ centered atmosphere and to further their walk with God.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a tradition for newly engaged students called candle lights. A candle light only happens at midnight on Thursdays. If a girl gets engaged, all of her friends run to dorm on campus screaming candle light. Then all of the girls go into a hall and ask questions about her fiancé and all of the guys do the same except they gather at the bell tower. Then, when the guys are ready, all of the girls run out and make a tunnel with the boys for the engaged girl to run through. She meets her fiancé and he climbs a pole to the bell and rings it, then everyone runs down to the pond and he is thrown in the water.

    What to do for fun

    Most if the student events go on during the week, however Cornerstone is right across from Mejier Gardens. There is also a lot to do downtown, especially Artprize during the fall.

    Food and Dining

    This is the only thing I find wrong with Cornerstone, they do not have enough tables in their dining hall to accommodate all of the students. There is also not enough room in that small of an area for 2,000 people. The food, however is very good with A full time pizza kitchen, deli, salad bar, desert bar, and two different main courses.

    Dorm Life

    So I live in Cook Hall, which is actually connected to a boys hall called Van Osdel. There are so many activities that go on from entire dorm events to individual sections. It's also fun just interacting with other students in the lounges, you can do anything from play hot lava on the furniture to building a giant fort with it.

    Academic Rigor

    Cornerstone has a very difficult curriculum. Most of the classes have very well educated professors, that take time to get to know their students. The curriculum also covers a wide range of elements including religious classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    My first tip is do not come to Cornerstone and expect it to change your life. There is nothing magically about stepping onto campus that will change your heart. If you come to Cornerstone an on the fence Christian and make no effort to change yourself, you will not change at all.

    In three sentences

    Cornerstone University is a wonder school for strengthening your walk with God. It has a Christ centered atmosphere about it and many fun activities going on. It is also a good place to be right out of highschool because you have responsibilities, but you're not completely on your own.

  • 05/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Non existent.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is actually not bad. Like every cafeteria there are specific foods that people stay away from, but most of their meals are generally nutritious and yummy. They also have many options. No time to eat in the cafeteria? Not an issue at Cornerstone! You can stop at Grab-n-Go to get a bag lunch and a drink.

    Dorm Life

    There are many options at Cornerstone. Dorms with community bathrooms that are known for their craziness, suite style dorms known for being better places to live for serious students, and apartments for upper classmen.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are super easy. Some classes are really hard. But most classes fall right in-between. Cornerstone is not the most academically rigorous school, but it is a good place of learning for students who also want a social life.

    In three sentences

    Cornerstone University is a school full of wonderful people where you will make friendships that will last a lifetime.

  • 06/27/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    34 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security is tight!!

    What to do for fun

    The dorm you stay in always have events going on and you can join others if it is possible.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good and the cafeteria is always clean and it is really nice. It also have an awesome salad bar!

    Dorm Life

    Students are awesome! So that's all I can say here!!

    Academic Rigor

    The college has a great educational system because not only do you learn about your major but you also learn how to apply it to the Christian point of view and Build a life that matters

    Tips for prospective students

    If you enjoy worshiping God and want to grow in your faith this school is great for you because it is small so it is more personal and you can build strong relationships on campus.

    In three sentences

    Cornerstone gets a 9 out 10 from me because I found my place here. I know this is where God has called me and the students here are very friendly and interesting. The school is diverse and have professors that cares about their students' success.

  • 06/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Grand Rapids is FULL of stuff to do, especially if you have the money to do it. But if you're the typical broke college kid, then your budget will eliminate a lot of the local attractions. Fredrick Meijer Gardens is literally right across the street and for just a couple bucks you can get in and see all the beautiful exhibits. If you have a car on campus or know someone who does, you can always drive to Krispy Kreme for free donuts (when the hot-light is on) and go window shopping at the mall or thrift-store shopping for fun DIY projects to decorate your room. If you don't have a car or money then you can always have a movie night with your roommate(s). Staying in or going out, if you want to have fun you can find a way.

    Food and Dining

    Meal costs are also outrageous. The food's good but not worth what it costs. You're required to have a meal plan with at least 10 meals per week. Honestly, it's probably a lot cheaper to stick with that plan and make the rest of your meals yourself.

    Dorm Life

    Housing costs are outrageous. If you can live off campus then do it. Otherwise just embrace the extra couple thousand dollars you're spending and get the most out of it that you can. There are quite a few activities (Powderpuff, Cook outs, Dancing with the Sections, Section sneaks, Talent shows, etc.) and there are always a bunch of amazing people you can meet while participating in residential events. The rooms aren't very big but there's plenty of space if you know how to arrange things. There's a high probability that your roommate will become your best friend, but you might end up with someone that you just don't get along with. Either way, as long as you're both civil and considerate it should work out.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others but most of them require a good deal of work. It shouldn't be too overwhelming as long as you balance your semester with easy and hard classes. Some professors will expect more than others but all of them expect you to follow directions, do the work, and participate in class. Getting all A's is almost impossible and in some classes just getting a passing grade is an accomplishment in itself. For those willing to put in the time and effort and avoid procrastination, there shouldn't be any problem.

    Tips for prospective students

    Like at every school, there is a lot of work to do. Make sure that you organize your time well to avoid procrastination. Whether you know your roommate already or not, living with someone in those close spaces won't be easy. Make sure you stay considerate of the other person/people sharing your room and bathroom. Dorm life can be a great way to grow. Your RA (residential assistant) is a great person to talk to when you're getting overwhelmed or just want someone to hang out with. There are a bunch of fun residential events and I encourage you to take part in all of them or as many as you can because there's no better way to get to know the amazing people God's placed in your dorm. There is absolutely NO reason to buy books from the bookstore, and whatever you do, do NOT rent from them. It sounds like a great deal but you can buy the books cheaper online and then sell them to people taking that class next semester and save a LOT of money. Some books you can even check out from local libraries, including the one on campus. Always look there first. The food is pretty good but nobody needs the 18 meal plan. Breakfast is served early so most days you won't get up in time to eat it and sometimes you won't have time to get dinner so get a small meal plan, keep ramen on hand, and every time you leave the dinning commons, take a bagel or a piece of fruit to snack on later. GET A JOB! There are always jobs available for those willing to work the lesser-desirable jobs, but honestly there are worse things than the 6am shift in housekeeping. Having pocket money will help you be even more dependent, learn the importance of a dollar, and hopefully decrease the amount of money you need in loans.

    In three sentences

    Cornerstone is a great place to grow academically and spiritually as long as you're willing to work hard at both. Most of the professors genuinely care about you and are willing to go out of their way to assist you in any way possible. It's seriously expensive but if this is where God has called you then you just have to trust that He'll provide.