Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Corning Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/22/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Decide what you'd like to do. Have a plan. Set your goals and follow through. And most important, stay on track and don't give up. No matter what!

    Bang for the buck

    The cost is great if you are a New York State resident. Financial Aid, Grants can help for those who cannot immediatly afford.

    Am enjoying being here

    Have yet to have a bad experience. People here are friendly, energized and share the same goals of succeeding. Activities are new to me so I'll try to update after the Fall.

    Am learning a lot

    Excellent resources available for all students in Writing and Math. Library is the best I've seen. Great experience for those out of high school or adults who want to get back into the workforce. Faculty cares about your success.

  • 10/25/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Corning is perfect for students who don't really know what they want to do and don't have the money to go off to a four year college. They have 2 year programs that can get you started on a career. Most importantly I feel Corning is great for students who are not quite ready to enter the big world away from home. If you are shy this is a great place to grow and become comfortable with who you are.

    Tips for prospective students

    DONT procrastinate!! That was the hardest thing for me. Do not put off choosing your next semester's classes because you are so busy because the class you really want may be gone. AND try not to work so many hours while you go to school. School should be your first job!! Good luck with your decision!

    Bang for the buck

    What a savings! The credits transfer to SUNY colleges. Why pay all that money to go away when you have an awesome college practically in your back yard!! They have plenty of scholarships available also. It is really a top notch college to go to if you are interested in a community college

    Am enjoying being here

    I do enjoy my classes, especially my film classes. The professor is awesome. Corning is small enough to make you feel comfortable. They have successful sports teams and it is easy to make friends

    Am learning a lot

    I am certainly learning a lot about college and learning a lot from the classes I am taking. I am glad I chose to start my college career here at Corning. I wasn't quite ready to step out into the world because I wasn't comfortable meeting new people. Corning is just the right stepping stone to take for this. The classes are small and professors are friendly and helpful.

  • 06/21/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -looking for a small school environment -Live in or around the Corning area -still undecided major. There is room for exploration without spending thousands of dollars to do so.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Be prepared for driving in any weather. The college isn't known for closing. -There are a number of campuses, so look for classes at the ones closest to you -Do what any student should: attend class, study, talk to your professors and other students -order books from amazon or other similar websites. they are usually less than in the bookstore.

    Bang for the buck

    I was able to complete two years there and leave debt free. The college is a commuter college, so there was a bit of money spent on gas. Carpooling or taking public transportation can help to save on that cost. They do have plans to build dorms on the main campus in the near future.

    Did enjoy being here

    The two years it took me to earn an associates degree went by fast. The school isn't very large so there are a lot of familiar faces, especially within each program. There are lots of activities that go on throughout the year. The weather gets to be a bit of a hassle in the winter, but then again, it is New York. Corning is ranked in the top 10% of community colleges in the nation.

    Did learn a lot

    I found the placement exams for math and english a bit annoying, seeing as how I ended up in a lower level math than what I should have been in. The professors here are wonderful and willing to help out any student in need. The level of education you can get if you put in the effort is really good.

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    market street is pretty much amazing for aimless wandering :-p

    Food and Dining

    eat the waffle fries! :-)

    Dorm Life

    there aren't any dorms on campus yet, but they're in the process of building them.

    Tips for prospective students

    i advice for prospective students is to make use of all the resources on campus. take advantage of the learning centers, tutors, etc. you're paying for it, and your grades will thank you for it!

    In three sentences

    corning community college has prepared me for future success, and has enriched my life in ways i did not expect. ccc has a varied course selection, amazing programs and their credits transfer really well. you can't beat the price, either!

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus security people, but I have never seen them in action. I have never seen any disputes or disturbances. Most people are serious about their education, and don't really have much to argue about.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa is a National Honor Society that provides volunteer activities and potential scholarship opportunities. I suggest joining early to increase opportunities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are pool halls, clubs, and honor societies which provide stimulating and exciting activities for their members.

    Great for these types of students

    I took most of my courses online, but the school encourages extra-curricular participation. Online classes are great, but are not for social people. On-campus courses and activities are abundant for people that choose interaction.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are nice architecture pieces and study nooks.

    Bang for the buck

    Corning is not an expensive school. The cost per credit is very reasonable. The books and supplies are costly. It is more cost-effective to buy used books and get supplies from a local store. CCC does offer used books and they have a book buy-back program.

    What to do for fun

    CCC has many campus activities. They try to engage students in academic social settings.

    Food and Dining

    The school cafeteria has fresh food and hot coffee. The prices are a bit high, but still reasonable.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are driven to help students excel. If you want to learn, they will do everything in their power to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a calendar and mark down all of the dates from the syllabus from each class. Online classes are tailored toward a self-driven student, and much of the learning is done on your own.

    In three sentences

    Great for online students! Professors reply promptly to e-mail and other messaging. Online bookstore is convenient and has free shipping.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You are always seeing public safety around campus. They are always there to help. Be sure to get your car parking pass!

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Government, Future Educators Club

    Bang for the buck

    Generally a decent price college, especially for the education you recieve and the fun that is offered.

    What to do for fun

    The student life office is always setting up fun events for the college students, as well as having festivities with prizes and free food offered. There is also clubs available on campus to be involved in and a game room to go to in between classes.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and they have a great variety. You can find anything from chicken fingers and mozzarella sticks to tuna wraps and a salad bar. They usually have specials everyday too.

    Dorm Life

    There is not a dorm life yet, but there should be one within the next year or two.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes definitely set you up to succeed and give you the information you need. Teachers are always there to help and there are many academic study centers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to look into the colleges you want to transfer to before you start taking too many of your classes. CCC is great for transferring, but some other schools have a hard time accepting all the credits. Also, be sure to go to your instructors for any extra help you may need, they are always willing to help.

    In three sentences

    Overall, good college based on classes, professors, and transferring. It is not too big or too small. Great college to start at and to transfer from.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security there that is willing to help out.

    Greek Life

    They don't have greek life here.

    What to do for fun

    They have some clubs there and activities going all the time.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe that serves food for breakfast and lunch.

    Dorm Life

    The school is building a dorm right now.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic is outlined for you to keep you on track.

    Tips for prospective students

    To get a head in life education is the top propriety to have. Taking time out to learn is the best thing in life that anyone can do for themselves.

    In three sentences

    CCC is a good school to attend to get started to where you wanna go. The professor there that I have met work with and have tutors that are willing to help out. In the past couple of years of being there it was a good experience.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Start the application process early. It takes some time getting everything together.

    In three sentences

    The staff is willing to go to all lengths to make you comfortable.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    CCC is extremely safe. Public safety is always on their rounds around the campus, and the students are too nice to cause any trouble anyways.

    Bang for the buck

    CCC offers a good neighbor discount for those in PA, and an even bigger discount if you live in the Corning Area. I went to college these last three semesters for less than two grand per semester. Imagine that! An associate's degree for less than $10,000! Plus the books and supplies of course...

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of clubs on campus! You can be part of the Campus Radio, there's a theater club, a Psychology club, etc. There's always something going on, and even if the campus is closed, many clubs meet elsewhere on their own time. I was part of the theater club once and it was so much fun, however it is a bit time consuming. If you can find the time to enjoy it, though, you wouldn't be disappointed!

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome! This semester they just recently put in a Star Bucks in the cafeteria. It lacks some things from your average Star Bucks...but still...Star Bucks! The food is healthy and they make a lot of it fresh right in front of you. There is not a lot of fried foods, and when there are, they always provide a healthier choice. I love eating there!

    Dorm Life

    It is a community college, so there are no dorms. However, because people are beginning to travel from a distance to go to CCC, next semester (Spring of 2013), CCC will be opening a dormitory building. I obviously have not experienced them, but just from what I've heard of them they are simple and small, but being a community college, having a dorm at all is a plus!

    Academic Rigor

    Almost every one that I know that goes to CCC gets good grades, and does not have a terrible time doing so. Of course being a college it challenges people, but it provides learning centers to help students get through those challenges. If you put in the time and effort, it will reward you. You won't be disappointed with your grades. Unless a student is consistently skipping classes, I've never heard of anyone failing. You have to try to fail at CCC...

    Tips for prospective students

    College can be intimidating, but CCC is not an intimidating college. CCC is very well known for accomodating for disables students, so everyone is very nice and inviting. Considering it is only a two year school, professors do not get easily irritated with the new kids, because there are always new kids. The only thing I had a problem with my first semester was the freedom. Like any college, there is freedom...lots of it. Other than the fact that you can't smoke on campus, there are not many restrictions, and it is easy to skip class. Do not fall into that. CCC can be rewarding and fun, but do not take advantage of the freedom it gives you. Go to class, and you are guaranteed to get out of there with a degree in two years. You just have to care!

    In three sentences

    It is difficult to compare CCC to other colleges, considering this is the first and only college I have attended, but judging by my visits to other colleges, it is small and simple. The campus does not stretch for miles and miles, and it is easy to get around and find classes. I receive plenty of individual help, and even if this is difficult in class or with a particular professor, the college provides learning centers for almost every subject. The professors almost always know me by name by the end of the semester.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always around when you need them. They are great about helping students jump start their cars, or just being there if there is a problem.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for everything! If you are into art, or history, the drama club has put on some awesome shows! There are health and fitness clubs, sci fi clubs. Just anything you could imagine being interested in, there is a club for it!

    Great for these types of students

    Corning is great for students who are working as well as going to school. It has an amazing art program, and if you just don't know what you want to do, it is a great place to try out different things and find what you enjoy.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are smart about the classes you take and the time you invest in studying, Corning is worth every penny you pay. The tuition is very reasonable, and if you have financial difficulties the staff will help you find scholarships or financial aid! Also there is a brand new fitness center with every machine you could ever want, and it is free to all students!

    What to do for fun

    Play sports! Corning has some great sports teams, and they are so fun! Not into sports? Join a club, there is everything from Art and History clubs to animal lover clubs, or sci fi lover clubs! There is a little bit of everything.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really expensive for the amount you get. Its not uncommon for them to be out of a lot of things and the service is really slow. The wraps are really good though!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not finished yet but they will be open for the 2013-2014 school year!

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are very difficult but the teachers are very good about giving proper time to prep for tests and quizes. Because the classes are small the teachers are very available to help if you are struggling.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask former students their opinions on teachers, sometimes it is hard to know which teachers will benefit you most but with a little bit of research you can make sure you have a teacher who will be right for your learning style. Take some classes that are not in your major, they have an abundance of unique classes that are so fun to take! Take Contemporary World Affairs with Sky Moss, no matter what your major is that class will benefit you.

    In three sentences

    Corning community is a very good college with great teachers! The campus is the perfect size for walking to classes. The academics are challenging but not overwhelming, and the teachers understand that most students are working and attending college.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you are unsure of what you want to major in, Corning offers a wide variety of programs and support to help you decide.

    In three sentences

    I will being attending Corning Community College in the Fall of 2013. There are so many opportunities; education, majors, clubs, scholarships, and financial aids. The location is optimal because it is near my home and work.

  • 06/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a game room, fitness center, and hiking trails.

    In three sentences

    Great for prospective engineering students who want to get an education comparable to what they would receive at an university for a fraction of the price.

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a small campus so there is security close by.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is not a lot of sports or activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to transfer to a 4 year college.

    What to do for fun

    The college is on a hill with nothing else around. So there is not much to do, unless there is a sports game.

    Food and Dining

    There is a good variety of food, but the cafeteria closes later in the afternoon and the prices are a little high.

    Dorm Life

    Corning just got dorm rooms built this year and haven't been used yet. (2013)

    Academic Rigor

    There is small classes and good teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Corning is basically just a transfer college.

    In three sentences

    CCC is a good college to start your college career. There is small classes with great teachers. They also have good transfer programs.

  • 08/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Register early. Classes fill up quickly. This also gives you time to rent your books-way cheaper than buying!

    In three sentences

    CCC is a nice school. It works well for returning adults, with several campuses and good advisors. The prof's have all been knowledgeable and helpful as well.

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and organizations you can join, including a gaming guild! They also have multiple fun events and giveaways throughout each semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for an inexspensive school with a great art program, this is the school for you.

    In three sentences

    Corning Community College is diverse. It has a great atmosphere and intellectual faculty. It's a great school to attend if you're main focus is art.

  • 02/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always public safety all over campus. They change tires, jump cars, are willing to walk you to your car or from if you are scared. They are very nice people and are able to help in any situation you can think of.

    Greek Life

    The only greek life organization we have is pi theta kappa, which does fundraisers and activities on campus. It also is a great opportunity for scholarships!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are about 15 different clubs to join on campus. These range from nursing, radio station, Student Government, International and Foreign Language, Recreational, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Many many students come here for the nursing program, so if that is what you think you are interested in, then coming here is a good option! You will not have any trouble finding a nursing student on campus, and they are always having study groups around campus everywhere. Also, this is perfect for students that do not know what they want to do.

    Bang for the buck

    Although the dining and dorm living is not very appealing, the education is the main focus of going to school. I believe that I am getting my moneys worth for the education I was expecting.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, people usually go downtown where there is shopping, or the game room has pool, ping pong, foosball, and two wiis. Also, there are about 15 different clubs to join!

    Food and Dining

    There are not many options to eat in the dining area. Also, what there is, it is not healthy! There are fried foods, burgers, and wraps and salad. However, it isn't put together very well. This is another reason why I did not live on campus. The dining hall is spacious though, allowing for many people in there.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately I did not enjoy living on campus. Corning just got dorms this past Fall (2013), and I stayed there. Although the rooms were very spacious and well put together, there was not much cold water to shower with at all! Also, there are not any on campus events for residents, especially on the weekends! That made living on campus quite boring. Aside from that, there are laundry rooms on each floor, and a kitchen with a fridge, stove, oven, and a lot of cupboard space. I only live a half an hour away, so I decided to stay at home after that first semester. I enjoyed the dorm life; meeting new people, being on my own. But in my own opinion, it was not worth the money.

    Academic Rigor

    I love taking classes! I have always loved school and just learning in general. At Corning, I feel like I can speak to any teacher, even if they aren't my own about questions with material or personal matters. They all seem to care so much about the students and their moving forward with their careers or degrees. It does not seem at all like they are just there to teach and move on with their lives. I had a teacher for Calculus my first semester that stayed after 11:30 many nights to help other students in my class. He would keep in contact daily through email, and was always looking for new ways that could help teach us the material. Many of my teachers are this way. The workload is not bad at all either! I work on campus in the Student Life Office and in the Game room, and am taking 18 credit hours each semester and have no problem at all! I know every student is different, but as long as you focus on what needs to get done and whats important to you, than you should not have any trouble at Corning!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in attending Corning Community College, or any college for that matter, I would take a very good look at what is required for your program. Also, look through the course catalog to get an idea of the different classes you can take for credit. Layout what classes you want to take, in what order, and in what semester. I have been taking everything from health/biology, to physics, to astronomy, to even athletic training just to see what I was interested in. It does not hurt at all to see what all of your options are, because there are many! I have saved a whole lot of money going to Corning! And although I can get my associates degree in Math and Science after only my third semester, I plan to take a fourth to take more classes that I could potentially be interested in, and/or might need at another school that I'd be paying at least triple for!

    In three sentences

    Corning Community College is definitely a place to go if you are unsure about what you want to do later in life. There are a variety of classes to take to get a taste of just about everything. There are also many events sponsored by Corning that provide discounts and free things for students in the area.

  • 06/09/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is great. They are always around as long as the campus is open.

    Great for these types of students

    Students unsure of what they want to do and are taking basic classes or students who wish to transfer.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you give. Put in a lot of effort, earn a good grade.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous activities on campus that you can attend. Plays, concerts, health meetings, spa days. The list goes on.

    Food and Dining

    I never ate at the college.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live on campus but they just finished building the dorms the year I graduated.

    Academic Rigor

    You get what you put in. Professors are more than accommodating and will help you succeed if you want to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best. It may seem like you're still in high school, but this is when school is still easy and you should put in all of your effort here to earn a high GPA

    In three sentences

    Corning Community College is a great school to earn a Liberal Arts degree. You can get all of your basic classes done at a much cheaper price and then are able to transfer them to your next college if you intend to further your education.Great college.