Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Cornish College of the Arts Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/06/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 out of 14 people found this review useful. 1 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking, dedicated students who know what they want to do for the next four years and beyond. Also great for students who want to get their names out there and network.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go up and visit the campus prior to your interview/audition date. That way, you can get a feel for the kind of environment Cornish is. Sure, Seattle is a big city, but it has a small-city feel; but don't take my word on it, go up and visit it. Even if you go for a few days before your date, just get out and go experience Seattle. See a show! Listen to the accordion player down by Pikes Place! (Watch out for the fish!) And Cornish always has a dance or theater production going on; go up and see one! Make sure that you know what you're getting yourself into. If you're not from the city, it'll be something you have to get used to. Also, I recommend bringing a good pair of shoes; to see Seattle properly, you have to walk it.

    Bang for the buck

    Cornish is expensive, not going to lie. Then again, it's a private arts college. What would you expect? But if you really research it, and you really know it's right for you, it's totally worth it. You just have to be willing to go the extra mile.

    Will enjoy being here

    Cornish is located in the heart of Seattle, with several buildings spread out within a 20-block area. And, there's brand new dorms (as of 2009) that are converted motel rooms. So they're spacious, and each one has its own bathroom (!!). And, you'll be surrounded by people who are just as motivated and dedicated as you are.

    Will learn a lot

    I'm a performance production major, with an emphasis on lighting design and stage management. I have known several people from my school who have gone there and graduated, and they have all said it's a fabulous school. There are a limited number of students and a lot of teachers, so you really get a lot of personal time with your instructor, no matter what major you are going to have.

  • 05/09/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This... is really expensive. Not gonna lie. I've gotten lucky in my funding because of the financial aid package I was awarded, but I wouldn't be able to go if I hadn't gotten all of the aid I have.

    Will enjoy being here

    Anyone who's looking for a vibrant environment will feel right at home here. It's located in Seattle, WA, so anyone looking for an OPEN-MINDED, ACCEPTING environment is looking in the right place here, too.

    Will learn a lot

    I have heard NOTHING but good about this college! I've met a couple of the instructors and learned just from talking to them in a non-learning setting.

  • 05/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you really are interested, see if you can shadow a class. I have seen quite a few people do that this year.

    Bang for the buck

    Really you get out of these classes what you put in, since at least in the Theater major it is so important to be in class. The teachers are all very knowledgeable about their field and can help you in so many ways.

    Am enjoying being here

    I get to go to class and play while learning, what more could I ask for.

    Am learning a lot

    I am very happy that I go here. This school can help you in so many ways. The students are friendly, the teachers know their stuff and even how that can apply to you. They give great feedback and can point you in the direction you need to go with their notes. They let you experience all of it.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is on call 24 hours and offer free shuttled rides from any location within 1 mile of campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everyone. If you have an interest that isn't a club, you have the ability to make it one with very little effort.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking to be completely immersed in the arts.

    Bang for the buck

    I think that the school is very expensive, but the education you receive is absolutely top notch and is going to provide useful to your future.

    What to do for fun

    You are in the heart of the city! You can go into downtown in a matter of minutes by just walking. You are 10 minutes away from Capitol Hill and the shopping that they have.

    Food and Dining

    The food is all organic and freshly made by professional chefs.

    Dorm Life

    All rooms have their own private bathroom. That is something really nice to have. I miss having an oven, but other than that, I have no complaints.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes put forth information at a steady pace which allows the student to grasp the knowledge on the topic.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you are able to get up early. The homework load sounds a lot worse than it actually is and if you really love your art, you will not have an issue doing some work toward it.

    In three sentences

    Cornish is one of the best places on Earth for me. The teachers and faculty are all experts in their field and I am learning at a rate I did not know I was capable of. This school has not only made me feel a part of the world, but also it has given me a place to belong to.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Access to any of Cornish's buildings beside the main office is by key card only. There are cameras posted at each building and I've never been to the security office without seeing a guard watching the screens. Rotational shuttles are used to transfer students to any classes on Capitol hill. On-call shuttles are also offered for students staying out late.

    What to do for fun

    Cornish is located in Seattle's downtown area so any entertainment is practically on your doorstep! A ten minute walk in any direction can get you to the beach, capitol hill, the heart of downtown or a bus station to take you elsewhere.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is completely organic and has a fabulous chef in its kitchens. The produce is bought fresh down at the local market. There are three meals a day with a snack time in the afternoon with a great variety of meals each day.

    Dorm Life

    The resident halls are refurbished hotels - meaning that every room is quite spacious and has it's own private bathroom. There are several lounges on each floor and the community spaces are clean and inviting.

    Academic Rigor

    For each major that a student has chosen there is a high expectation in the work that they produce during their time here. The teachers expect that you love the art more than food, so to speak, and will push you to master your field.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to the campus and check it out! The school has many shows and performances year round for prospective students to see. Come with an open mind and a thirst for your art that is greater than any fear of failing.

    In three sentences

    Cornish is an amazing school with professors that will inspire the students to delve deeply into their work. The creative environment also adds to the draw that this school has. Earning the nick-name Julliard West this is definitely a school for those passionate about their art.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security and campus safety gives me a peace of mind. all big cities have their chances of lack of safety to college students, luckily the security at cornish is active 24/7 and is there for us. i have them on speed dial on my phone, just in case something happens.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs/student interest groups to choose from and student leadership opportunities. i hear there's a quidditch, knitting, cheese tasting, movie watching, and many more student interest groups this year. i've been having my share of the fun in leadership.

    Great for these types of students

    serious student who are passionate about their art. who breathe, live and can't get enough of doing what they love. for people like me, who know they can't do anything else but draw.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    be prepared to see people with so many diverse personalities, fashions, and self expression.

    Bang for the buck

    cornish is worth every penny. the classes are small, my department head knows me by name. teachers know you and care about you. you literally get a one on one interaction with amazing instructors, artists, professionals in your chosen field. your networking will increase greatly and that is all worth it when you are serious about your art.

    What to do for fun

    well isn't your art form fun? i mean that's why you're here right? cornish is located right in seattle, and there are many places you can go to hang out, watch movies, shop, and explore.

    Food and Dining

    the food is amazing, and you never get bored from weekly specials to everyday cooking of pizzas, hamburgers, salads, soups, and there are vegetarian and vegan options to choose from as well.

    Dorm Life

    i comute, and never lived at the dorms, but from my friends, i hear it's a great way to introduce yourself to seattle if you haven't been living here before.

    Academic Rigor

    i love my classes, they all have something different to teach you. don't be afraid to ask instructors specifically on things you are interested in as well. there is structure, but surprisingly, the structure is helpful for you to unleash your creative potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    show up to class, i know it's redundant but it is so crucial, i'm in the design department and half of my grade is being in class. in class is where all the important things happen- critiques of your art work, one on one instruction with the professor, learning the material, and working on projects.

    In three sentences

    i love how all the instructors at cornish are all here to get to know you on a personal level. they are passionate about your progress, and improvement in your talents.

  • 03/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We are very secured and the security people are really funny and nice to have around. There not just making sure everything is good manner but they also like to have a good relationship with the people in the school to show that our safety is first.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are different things the school puts up just to get people to come and get to know others. Like I said the community is great and very close. The activities could go from a movie night to a open dance club, a drag show to an open mic night.

    Great for these types of students

    Who want to grow in the arts and make a difference for how things are done nowadays. We college students here are very serious about what we do but we have doing it. I chose to come here because I knew that it would be a challenged and I was prepared to get the work. If you have a drive then go for it because in the end no one stops you but yourself. You learn that a lot at this school. If you want to learn then apply!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Best place to go to that we love meeting at is a coffee shop by the school or any of the Starbucks because you will the see the most Cornish students there and always know someone.

    What to do for fun

    We are kept pretty busy here but we all get along with people outside of our department. One thing we like to do is walk around Seattle and view places we haven't been too. The weather could be so beautiful sometimes that a nice walk and breath of fresh air clears your mind.

    Food and Dining

    There is no going wrong with the food at this school. Its very organic and healthy plus the choices of food they give you aren't hard to decide from. Very gourmet like and delicious!

    Dorm Life

    Great! I love the dorms because it doesn't get to loud and noisy. Everyone is pretty respectful around our rooms, kitchen, and laundry room. The community is fun and its a comfortable environment to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    Because the school is arts based you don't have many academic classes but we are required to take a humanities and science class each year. You really get pushed in your HS classes especially if your a student looking to grow in writing or science. They really not messing around when it comes to assignments, there motto is simply to treat everyday like a job interview.

    In three sentences

    So far the classes I have taken have challenged me in all aspects when it comes to the performing arts. I have such a hunger for growth and this school feeds me what I need. I can't wait to see what's in store for my next three years because coming here really gives you what you pay for.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Seattle is pretty safe, even the hobos are kind. We're in the down town area, though, so there's always something a little sketchy to be aware of.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Cornish has a plethora of SIGs. (Student Interest Groups) There's a club for everything, from student leadership to a knitting club. The hassle is to make a class schedule that allows you to attend a SIG.

    Great for these types of students

    The art freaks of high school. The closet gay ballet dancer. The driven artist. The right brained children who believe they will make something of their artistic talent and not settle for a University education for their art.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cornish has a clown class. It also has an annual drag show. (Yes, where boys dress up as girls, and vice versa)

    Bang for the buck

    The success of your education at Cornish depends all on the student's willingness to learn and polish whatever their artistic talent is as well as their networking skills and dedication to finishing what they begin.

    What to do for fun

    Cornish's campus and residence halls are in downtown Seattle. What isn't there to do for fun? On a different note: there isn't much to do for night owls under 21.

    Food and Dining

    Cornish's dining hall is somewhat a mix of a quaint cafe and an upscale high school cafeteria. The food varies and 90% of it is always delicious. The coffee is from Cafe Umbria, which isn't very good.

    Dorm Life

    The residence halls for Cornish may seem, in comparison to home, less than desirable in their comfort level. However, compared to other college's dorms, Cornish's residence halls are absolutely great. There are two buildings, one on 7th ave, one on 8th ave. Each building used to be a hotel, so each room has a bathroom. Cornish's Housing and Residence Life offers students a single, double, or triple room. (Meaning to live in a room by themselves, with one other room mate, or with two other room mates) The dorms are a short walk away to Main Campus, and along the way are Whole Foods, Einstein Bagels, and Starbucks.

    Academic Rigor

    The student to teacher ratio is great. There are between 5-20 people in a studio class, and 30-100 people in a lecture class. Aside from taking classes in your major, all students take an H&S class. (Humanities and Sciences) These classes are the best place to get to know other students of different majors on a personal level. Your academic success depends only on your ability to show up to class on time all the time and your strive for being the most dedicated and creative student. The writing center and library are great resources to help you, however a lot of your work comes from your own artistic genius.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be discouraged because of the price. Make use of all their services, everyone at Cornish are very helpful. Make use of your time wisely. This isn't a school for a student wishing to party their life away. This is a school to build and perfect professionalism in the art, design, theatre, dance, and music industry. Become familiar with the city of Seattle if you aren't already. On campus housing is great - and even better when you let them select your room mate for you. (My room mate and I got along perfectly, and those who chose their room mate developed a lot of problems.)

    In three sentences

    Cornish College of the Arts is a private visual and performing arts school. Therefore it is definitely an expensive educational investment, but it is oh so worth it. The connections made in the first year of attendance beat out the connections made within all four years at a university.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security guys are really nice and will walk you to your car when it's dark out. There are lots of shuttles going to the dorms and Capitol Hill - scheduled shuttles as well as ones you call when you need to go somewhere (free for students). Parking is a bit of a hassle, but that's to be expected in an urban setting.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities. The SIGs (student activity groups) cover just about any interest you could think of, and if there isn't one already, you can start one easily and get a few hundred bucks for activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Creative, artistic types and people who are extremely passionate about their art.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school mascot is a Cornish game hen named Henny! Cornish also has a professional-quality gallery, and every year the BFA Show is one of the highlights of the Seattle arts community. Each student artist gets his or her own professionally lighted gallery space in the BFA Show their senior year.

    Bang for the buck

    In terms of a fine art education, this is a whole lot better than a state university. I've done both, and private art school - specifically Cornish - is way better. It is expensive, but there's financial aid available. Fine art majors can also get merit-based scholarships if their GPA is 3.0 or higher.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of fun things to do around Seattle! Capitol Hill is nearby, with lots of relatively cheap places to eat and drink. And there are tons of outdoorsy things to do too - kayaking, rock climbing, or whatever you're into. The Seattle Art Museum and downtown library are great resources.

    Food and Dining

    The food's pretty good, but if you're super picky you can go to Whole Foods and get something healthier.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, but I hear they are pretty good. They are close by.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors expect students to do their most creative work here. The electives and humanities classes are interdisciplinary, and many are focused on fascinating topics. And, it's a good school if you hate math.

    Tips for prospective students

    Cornish is right in the heart of downtown Seattle, with lots of interesting things to do. There are also lots of opportunities for collaboration with students from other departments, such as dance, theater, and music. It's a really fun place for creative people!

    In three sentences

    Cornish College of the Arts is a topnotch fine art school, for those who are serious about their art. Class sizes are small, with a student-to-teacher ratio of only 8:1. Students are helped and encouraged to find their own voice and develop their own personal style.

  • 12/09/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I was so excited to attend Cornish College of the Arts in their performance production department. I couldn't wait to move to such an artsy city to be surrounded by other artists 24/7. I headed to Cornish in September for the 2011/2012 school year as a freshman. Right from the beginning of the year I made many friends and started learning in many of my classes. The design of performance production department is very similar to other schools with similar programs like UCSD, DePaul and Carnegie Mellon.. They say that their students will have a well rounded view of what is involved with technical theatre (I wouldn't just learn stage Management. I would take lighting classes, set design classes, etc�¢���¦) Which can be very beneficial! I thought this school would be great and would put on awesome productions and provide multiple opportunities to work on shows. I realized this wouldn't be the case when they told me that the students in the tech department do not get to be on the run crew for the shows, instead they allow the theatre freshman to do it to get experience. I think it is a great opportunity for the actors to see what the tech students do, but at the same time I should be involved directly with the run of the show because I am there to LEARN how to work on productions. For the first half of the year, one of my classes was to work in the scene shop. This was a great experience and I enjoyed it very much and learned plenty from the knowledgeable faculty in the shop They had a production in the Fall of 2011 in their main venue (an old bar that Cornish bought and renovated... It's dirty and old and nothing is up-to-date except for their lighting console and a few of the fixtures�¢���¦ As of May 2011) I went to go see it with one of my friends in the department. Not only was the acting choppy and dull but the sound was pitchy, the stage floor was all dirty and looked as if people had spilled paint in some areas and didn't take the time to fix it properly with detail. By this point, half way through my first semester... I was still deciding wether or not I would stay for the next semester. The best part of my time in Seattle would have to be my work study job. I was able to work for the city of Seattle in their arts admin offices, it was the one thing I looked forward to each week! I was able to make many professional connections with the staff here more than at school. At the end of the fall semester, close to 1/4 of the performance production freshman students left the program. Their reasons ranged person to person. Many of them left the program however because they knew it was not worth the 40,000 per year. 1 student went to go work for a theatre company in Seattle while another went to go work throughout LA, New York, and Idaho on productions. (She is now hired by the UCLA school of theatre) I decided to come back to the school for the spring semster. The one main change in my class schedule was how I worked in the costume shop rather then the scene shop. Long story short, the costume shop students would sometimes work on costumes for upwards of 22 hours a week and yet only get credit for 4 or 6 of those hours. I brought this up to the registrars office and the provost, I am still not aware if anything has changed. In the costume shop, the teacher would be smart with his students and say things about particular students when they were not around. In one incident, the teacher referred to a student who had accidentally messed up a costume as a Fat Cow. These 22 hour weeks were NOT optional. There was a 3 week period when I did not have a single day off because these costume shop work days went on Saturdays and Sundays. Like I said, I was there to study Stage Management. Little opportunities showed themselves within the school to stage manage. Few of the positions were filled by the stage management students and the school even PAID outside stage managers or students that had graduated to come do the work. If you go to a school to learn something, especially within theatre or entertainment the only way to learn is to do. Every single stage manager will tell you that. The only way to learn is to DO. The school also rarely brought in speakers for our department. This year I am a student at CalArts in Valencia, CA. We have had many speakers including the third Vice (only stage manager) on the AEA (union of professional actors and stage managers). I also have been able to shadow the stage manager at The Book of Mormon and other large shows throughout southern CaliforniaThe staff here at CalArts seem to have a more updated sense of our career path rather then Seattle where technology and practices seem very outdated. From my teachers this year in Los Angeles, I have already been able to work for The Shakespeare Center of Los Angeles and the tour of GATZ produced by New York theatre company Elevator Repair Service. When you are applying to Cornish, they will probably tell you that your scholarships will increase over the years, which makes schooling cheaper the longer you stay there. However, this is not the case. The school sent an email to the performance production freshman last spring while I was there letting us know that all returning students in my department who were considered sophomores would not be eligible for any departmental scholarships. So just saying there alone, watch your back. Other than that, I would say that I am much happier here at CalArts. Many more opportunities, cheaper tuition due to more scholarship opportunities, large amounts of cross pollination to work in a variety of shows like dance and film rather where Cornish strictly limited what you could do, Job connections outside of school while Cornish would not permit outside production work during the school year, and many work study opportunities on campus, where as Cornish would force you to do some things as part of a class EX: dirty laundry for productions. That is my review of Cornish College of the Arts. Please take in mind that this is only my personal view and experience. I highly suggest you talk with current students, admission staff and program faculty to receive other view points.

  • 06/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Intensely creative, dedicated experimenters, collaborative artists, multi-talented people, those who care most about learning their art, people who want to have a career in the art world and not just a degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    The chair of the Art department, Bonnie Biggs, advised me to read Art in America magazine the Summer before I attended, and she was right to do so: I was so inspired to start creating, and also knew how the current art world looked. Also, attend National Portfolio day in January before you come back for your Admissions portfolio review, and that way you will get college level feedback beforehand, and also be less nervous.

    Bang for the buck

    There are lots of bucks required, true, but compared to other art schools you could attend, this one is worth it to the last penny. Trade the tuition now for a real boost toward a true career in the arts, and once you make it (and you'll have a better chance of making it here), your loans will get paid off.

    Am enjoying being here

    Cornish is a very close-knit community, big enough to avoid negative competition and exclusion, but small enough to find a lot of new friends who understand your art and speak your language. The Student Leadership Council (of which I'm a member) is also very inviting, provides a forum for all kinds of student-chosen topics, and puts on events that are creative and actually fun. The city is also a great inspiration, offering a lot of both natural and urban beauty as well as a receptive and interesting arts community outside of campus.

    Am learning a lot

    In the Visual Art department at Cornish, all of the professors are or have been professional, working artists. Our small class sizes allow us plenty of time to draw from their experience and use their support and knowledge to grow. There are also many opportunities for internships, gallery work, showing your work and getting productive critique, and above all, opportunities every day to collaborate with the other arts disciplines.

  • 07/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard-working individuals who are open to simply learning more than just technique at art school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Truly be open to hear the perspective of other artists. Don't be hard-headed about your own practice; leave room for expansion. Have passion for the work you do.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition can seem rather daunting, however, Cornish provides an experience that no other large private or public university can bring to a young artist. Financial aid is available, in addition to merit based aid. It does pay to work hard at Cornish because this work ethic partially determines if one receives merit based aid. It is important to remember that education is an investment in one's future. Cornish does provide a future where the investment will truly pay off.

    Am enjoying being here

    The Fine Arts program at Cornish has brought a great sense of exploration of life in order to foster my goals as a professional artist. I enjoy the small class sizes, where every single professor knows who I am, and also knows what kind of work I create. The classes themselves are engaging and keep me interested in learning more about the historic and modern art world, as well as exploring how the modern artist fits into this timeline. Finally, it truly is a remarkable experience being surrounded by other types of artists, who are all truly engaged in their discipline.

    Am learning a lot

    As a student of the Fine Arts program, I have learned the importance of process in the creation of art. The Cornish Art Faculty show great interest in the manner in which the individual creates art. I have learned from all my professors, who are all also working artists, about how to deliver a concept through the combination of research, self-determination and technique. Above all, the Art Faculty will help the individual look into one's art and the art of others in order to have diverse discussions which, in the end, simply help the young artist foster new ideas. In addition to the Art Department, the individual has the ability to use the other departments at Cornish (Dance, Theater, Performance Production, Design, and Music) in order to fuel one's inspiration, or to create cross-disciplinary projects. Thus, Cornish not only offers the ability to learn from the professors, but also, allows for students to teach and learn from other students.

  • 11/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to contribute their talent to a tight-knit artist community, who are motivated in creating a better world for artists and pushing the boundaries for what a private arts college can accomplish.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and familiarize yourself, the dorms are the nicest I've seen out of any other college. Their programs are designed for students who have a general idea of what direction they'd like to go for pursuing their degree. The classes are designed specifically for each major.

    Bang for the buck

    In the art department, most of the resources you need are available. All of our studio classes have rewarding equipment and lab hours are convenient. You can also check out equipment; film and digital cameras, video cameras, lights and even a green screen.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is a very small community, full of artists who are working towards a similar goal. It's so enlightening to work interdisciplinary with students of other majors.

    Am learning a lot

    Cornish provides small class sizes and a definite opportunity to have one-on-one experience with your professors, which provides special attention for your interests. Cornish will provide you with all the resources to expand your learning horizons.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus security staff is top notch.

    Great for these types of students

    open minded and willing to experience to new ways of thinking.

    Bang for the buck

    i was born in a rather small humble town in mid-west ohio called amelia. growing up my education was never really made a large priority. my mother and father are both high school drop outs who during my middle and high school years were addicted to crack cocaine and prescription pills. sensing that i wanted something better for myself i knew that i needed an education. not having any money i did what many people in my situation have done. i joined the military. i traveled the world, exploring new lands and learning countless things about who and what i am. after five years of service to the united states navy i decided that it was time to go to school. i had a few bucks in my war chest, and the post 9/11 gi-bill to give me some support. i started attending edmonds community college in the hopes of getting an aa and transferring to a four year college and really making something out of myself. i stayed focused and true to my dream, and eventually i ran upon an art class. the class sparked a fire of creativity that burned to my core, i was hooked. from that moment on i knew what i wanted to do with my life. i talked to a few professors and one, professor hough made an excellent recommendation that i apply for admissions at cornish college of the arts. i did, and got admitted. so far i've completed one semester and i'm half-way into my second one. this has been an amazing experience. everyday i'm finding new and exciting was to push myself and my perspectives of reality and art. i know that if given the opportunity i would use the scholarship to help further myself.

    What to do for fun

    during my down time i may find myself check out pikes place market, and really soaking up the culture that the city really has to offer. or if my friends and i are wanting to mix it up a bit on a friday night you might find us at the hurricane bar and grill having a few pints and talking about philosophy.

    Food and Dining

    there are many great well established locations for the hungry students dining pleasures. the ease and location in reference to the school and living situations of the students makes going out just good sense.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are located just a couple of blocks from the college which makes the morning commute a light brisk walk. they are located in a nice safe part of town.

    Academic Rigor

    like any college, what you put in is what you get out. you can not float your way through this college. the classes offered her require you to really be there.

    Tips for prospective students

    plan to put in the time. what you're doing here is attempting to hone and focus in on your skills, and that takes time and concentration.

    In three sentences

    its a fine college geared at informing, and allowing the student to come to artistic conclusions. its a very warm and welcoming place. with the many diverse people come many diverse perspective that only add to the overall learning experience of everyone.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus. 24 hour security,

    Great for these types of students

    LGBT community and vegans.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's an annual drag show.

    Bang for the buck

    Bang for the buck? If you're saying Cornish kills you for all of your money, that would be accurate.

    What to do for fun

    Fun? There is no time for fun when you go to Cornish.

    Food and Dining

    Dorms require you to purchase a meal plan, which is incredibly overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    i have a single room, so its very easy to live there. The dorms are old hotels, so each room has its own bathroom.

    Academic Rigor

    Biggest levels of stress are at midterms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to a cheaper community college first, then transfer over. Anything you can do to save thousands of dollars.

    In three sentences

    The horrid tuition prices cause severe depression and stress. The professors are very friendly and have taught me a lot. I just hope my degree will pay off student loans.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have shuttles and 24 hour security!

    Great for these types of students

    Different, dynamic and all types of personalities!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have feild trips every week!

    What to do for fun

    Explore the city! walk to the space needle and try new restaurants!

    Dorm Life

    People are great but accommodations could be better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have Ruthy as your core teacher and join Fine Arts for your major!

    In three sentences

    Cornish College of The Arts is not just a school, its a community! The classes are fun and the teachers are great! You will have many opportunities to become successful!

  • 10/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety has kept the school safe for as long as I have been here. The emergency shuttles are so helpful!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are great weekend activities that happen all year long here at Cornish, and Clubs exist by the handful!

    Great for these types of students

    Artist, Dancers, Actor/Actresses, Musicians, and Designers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a lot of different personalities here. It is always a laugh to hear the theater kids from two floors down.

    Bang for the buck

    Cornish has a very steep face price for tuition, but there are tons of scholarships that will bring the annual cost to a reasonable level.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of great local shows and concerts regularly. Seattle always has something fun going on. There are also great clubs and open faculty hours to work on art.

    Food and Dining

    the cafe at Cornish is always full of food including all vegan alternatives, and Seattle has great, fresh food all around you. If you like coffee, this is a wonderland.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not star studded aspects of the school, but it gives you a roof over your head, and a nice place to work.

    Academic Rigor

    Cornish is not about crippling academics, it is about getting you to think and understand your world as an artist.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you love art and are driven to be in the world of dance, theater, music, fine arts, or design. Cornish is a place that with launch you into a life time of your passion.

    In three sentences

    An entirely lovely school that is full of respect to all forms of art. The teachers talk to you as friends, and with such small classes they give you the one-on-one time you need. Everyday at this school leaves me with a grin, and the feeling that I am important.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. Campus security is always around and you get get a ride or walk from a security member at night if you give them a call. There is also a van that can give you a ride if it is late at night.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life. No football teams. No cheerleaders. Its rather heavenly.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everything you could imagine. Every department has clubs focused on that discipline and then we have things like a Quidditch team and wine and cheese club.

    Great for these types of students

    Artistic and open minded students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sudden performances held in the cafe! Yearly drag show is always amazing.

    Bang for the buck

    I love my school but it is expensive. You have to work to get scholarships and grants to keep loans down but the financial aid department is very helpful.

    What to do for fun

    Open mic nights and performances of all departments year round. There is always something happening.

    Food and Dining

    All organic and local, really amazing actually. They try to over fancy some simple dishes that get lost but the pizza bar will never do you wrong.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are old motels that the school bought. Plus side, you have 1 roommate and you two get your own bathroom and the downside is you live in an old motel. The dorms have laundry, kitchen, rec room and practice spaces for musicians.

    Academic Rigor

    You cannot rush the design process. The only way I found to do well in my classes was to give every thing I had to it. The work load is a lot but it can be done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at all the departments before deciding which one to apply to. I started in the performance production department but learned that the design department was a better fit for me.

    In three sentences

    Cornish is an inspiring place. Every department is overflowing with passion and innovative ideas. I love how the visual and performing arts are together in one school.

  • 12/23/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    19 of 24

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Looks like an amazing school. I found out about it at a college fair. I really want to go for theatre. I was really excited when I found out that Kristi Holden is an alumnus.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Check out the many museums and the pacific science center. You can get to a lot of events cheaply using teen fix your first year of college (13-19 years old).

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious 60 percent of the time. The food is very healthy though. :)

    Dorm Life

    It would seem that the dorms are always quiet, but that may just be the odd hours of a design major.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Start a project the moment you get it this way you can do the best you can do. 2. Speak to students outside of your major, there are many collaborating opportunities. 3. Listen to your professors when they give you suggestions, but remember that you do not have to change your vision if that is what you want. 4. Pay attention in your humanities and sciences classes... they are useful and inspiring. You may find that they can have an amazing influence on your art.

    In three sentences

    Is a school full of talented students and experienced (active) professors. There are small classes with attentive teachers. Also small group critiques to help you with improve your work with constructive criticism.

  • 01/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is pretty good, I haven't had a need to call them, though sometimes they will have to deal with the occasional homeless person that will hang around the dorms, but nothing serious have ever happened.

    Greek Life

    No greek life here. And I haven't heard one complaint about not having one.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not personally involved in any clubs, but I've heard about a few. One that stuck out to me was the cheese tasting club we have available. We also have a Quidditch team, and there are constantly plays and concerts that are available to all students, usually at a pretty good discount too, if not free.

    Great for these types of students

    Any one who has felt they have been a minority, or didn't fit in in high school will definitely feel at home here. There is such a strong sense of community and people are always available to help people through whatever situations may come up.

    Bang for the buck

    Being in a small, private art school is extremely expensive. Get as many scholarships as you possibly can' it will save your life when that dreaded bill shows up in the mail. But you definitely gain a great sense of community, learning, and overall experience necessary to set you up for a successful career.

    What to do for fun

    Living in the city is basically living in a giant playground. There are so many places to walk to, and all are within reasonable walking distance.

    Food and Dining

    Each student signs up for a meal plan. The cafe has great food choices that make it easier to eat healthy, though you can still manage to find junkfood to satisfy your sweet tooth. It's a bit pricey, but you get what you pay for. Just make sure you know the hours that the cafe is open, or you might miss dinner.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a touchy subject. The dorms are by far nicer than other dorms I've seen; each room has their own bathroom, they have pretty nice carpet, and the amenities are nice. However, the building is old and has its fair share of repairs, particularly the elevators and plumbing system.

    Academic Rigor

    The workload is intense, but completely doable. You have to really stay on top of things to succeed, but it ensures that you will have fantastic improvement in your field of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a passion for what you want to do with your life as a working artist. The admission process focuses less on grades and SAT scores, and more on the individuals drive and potential to become a successful artist. Your are completely immersed in your field of study, which, in my opinion, is the most effective way to learn and gain real experience for your life.

    In three sentences

    This school is great for anyone seeking a close and diverse group of peers. The majors available are made to help student find a career in the arts and show what it's like to become a working artist in whichever field they want. Majors include music, theatre, dance, design, performance production, and many more.

  • 03/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very very safe! The school is open till midnight and there are security around but they're never needed.

    Greek Life

    0 greek life. We're an art school guys!

    Great for these types of students

    Focused, driven, and self led.

    What to do for fun

    There are a bunch of 19+ clubs around Seattle and tons of Student interest groups at school to be a part. As a visual art major I usually just do my art for fun with my friends. lol

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is ok, but it's very expensive and they try to be healthy so it gets boring after a while. There is a whole foods right across the school though so you have your options.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fantastic because the dorms are literally a 3 minute walk away from the main campus. Each dorm room has their own bathroom (to share with the roommate if you have one). Wonderful free wifi. Communual kitchen and tv rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is less about learning english and science (i'm not even sure if we have a science class or math class here) but we are very rigorous and learning our specific art technical aspects and concepts behind it. You can't slack off in this school. It's very intense and the teachers are personable and they know when you're work isn't meeting your own personal standard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Your portfolio is all the matters in getting in to this school. Focus focus focus on creating work that you're proud of and want to continue making while you're at school.

    In three sentences

    A small school for all of the arts. Mixing art, theatre, music, dance, design and performance production together-creating a community of creative people. A fantastic learning enviroment.

  • 09/05/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to talk to alumni from all programs, they all can shed light on things that you hadn't even thought of before, and the admissions people are happy to answer even the most obscure question.

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. There are shuttles that can take you to and from campuses and back to the dorms,also a security guy walks through the dorms around the night time.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs around the school. Hiking club, cheese tasting club, etc.

    What to do for fun

    It's Seattle!! There are tons of things to do! If you like to shop, the malls are only a 15 minute walk from the dorms, along with other shops along the way. Pike Place, Pioneer Square, Belltown, the U-District, Seattle Center are not that far away. You can walk almost anywhere, and if not, the bus system isn't to difficult to figure out. Just walk around and explore and you will find awesome places. P.S.- There is an espresso place in Belltown called Uptown Espresso, they have the best Chai. Check it.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty delicious at the Cafe. They have different meals every night with vegetarian/vegan choices.

    Dorm Life

    The Residence Halls are alright. They are old motels so they are indeed..old. People are always loud after curfew, the walls are very thin so it can be distracting at times. And some of the rooms have a lot of problems and it sometimes the maintenance people don't get to it right away. BUT it is very close to the school, only about a 5 minute walk, which is very convenient. You also get to live with your classmates which is actually pretty fun, especially when they're all art students. And it's located close to downtown. Awesome? Very.

    Academic Rigor

    The work can be intense, that's for sure, but if you work really hard and don't procrastinate than you will be fine. Everything is pretty much hands on and takes a lot of time to work on an assignment, so it's not stuff you can really do overnight.

    Tips for prospective students

    My biggest tips would be to be passionate about what you do, really give it your all and work hard on your assignments, it honestly pays off. Don't be afraid to try new things, because I guarantee that you will be asked(made) to do something outside of your comfort zone at some point. Be open-minded and USE YOUR RESOURCES.

    In three sentences

    It's amazing to actually be taught by practicing artists, this school really does have so many resources for it's students. This school; the teachers, the students, the assignments, they really make you break away from your comfort zone and go past the boundaries that you have built up for yourself. Your experience here will challenge you and push you and help you to become a great artist.