Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Cosumnes River College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/28/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone is welcome!

    Tips for prospective students

    Education is very important! Take your classes seriously! Be ready to become independent in your studies! Make friends! Have fun!

    Bang for the buck

    As a community college, it is way cheaper than other schools. They have a lot of financial aid available for students. The only negative thing is that the books are overpriced in the student store (Bookstore).

    Am enjoying being here

    I must say that I love college already! Cosumnes River college has a very friendly environment. Teachers and students get along really well. Safety of the students is the priority. The campus is very nice especially in the Fall when the leaves changes color. There are also stores and restaurants near the campus. What I really enjoy is being able to meet people with different ethnicity.

    Am learning a lot

    I just finished my first semester in college and I must say that I have learned a lot, not only in my classes, but also about myself. College is very different than high school. It is more of becoming an independent student. It is more of learning about yourself and what you can offer to the world.

  • 12/22/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    for everyones student

    Tips for prospective students

    stay in school its cool!

  • 08/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think it is great for all students, but especially great for students that like small classrooms and are always ready to learn new information!

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, concentrate, stay focused and have a goal in mind!

    Bang for the buck

    It is definitely worth spending your money. The only complaint I have is that the books are very expensive at the bookstore! Other than that the classes, campus, teachers and environment are totally worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really am enjoying being here because of the atmosphere that the school creates. The school is very diverse, and people are willing to work in classes with people all around the globe, which is very important to me.

    Am learning a lot

    As I am attending Cosumnes River College, I am definitely learning a lot. I know the classes that I have took here are building my general knowledge and helping me work towards my major. I have learned so much about different cultures, philosophies, amazing writing techniques, art, and much more. I love the teachers because they are so enthusiastic about the subjects they teach, which makes learning so much more fun and interesting.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Cosumnes is a great choice for all student. This is a perfect option for working adults returning to college. It's very easy to get to off the freeway and it has ample parking in a very close proximity to all areas of the campus!

    Tips for prospective students

    I have attended most of the local colleges in the Sacramento area and Cosumnes is one of the best for many reason! It's a relaxed environment with a very diverse student body. This is a great choice for working adults returning to college. It's very easy to get to off the freeway and it has ample parking in a very close vicinity to all areas of the campus!

    Bang for the buck

    You will receive a top level education at community college prices.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy the campus as well as the online learning environment.

    Am learning a lot

    Cosumnes River College is a very relaxed environment with lots of support from the faculty to help ensure you met your educational goals!

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is the biggest thing on campus. they protect the students daily. if there is a problem, or someone is harassing you, there is help. we have campus police that is on campus the hours of operation to protect student.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are more than enough clubs and activities. but the only way to be involved is to get involved. they take different field trips each semester and its more than enough fun on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    The restrooms are great for students with disabilities, and the doors on each building are accessible also.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are none.

    Bang for the buck

    everything that is on campus in a bang for a buck. there a many machines that are cheap, when waiting in line for what ever service you want, the line is always moving fast to where your never waiting around for anything. there is always someone to help you on campus with any need that is needed.

    What to do for fun

    There is different things to do in college. there are many different organizations on campus that you can join if you choose. they have sports teams that play often on campus, and with you student Id you can get in the game for free.

    Food and Dining

    on campus, it is always easier to grab something to eat on campus veruses going off campus. the food that the college provides is affordable and the taste is just the way you would imagine it to be. The dinning area is huge with lots of space, and you would be able to eat and enjoying the view of others.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm, and never have i. but i think it would have been a great experience for me, to learn from others and meet different people from all different backgrounds.

    Academic Rigor

    just setting your mind on what you want and what is best for you. setting your self to learn, and understand from all perspectives in college.

    Tips for prospective students

    come to college with a mind set on learning, because college is different from high school. The Professor's are there to help with all your needs, such as school and even personal problems.

    In three sentences

    I love this college, they have helped me when i felt like i was falling and can't get back up. The professor's and staff are there to help students in meeting their educational goals. this college has a lot to offer students, especially the students that are in a financial bond and needs assistance.

  • 09/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a generic phone number to contact the campus police directly as well as phones on light posts all over campus. There are also many security guards and police men patrolling at any given time in all areas. The campus remains well lit throughout the nights and early mornings as well.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for just about every department on campus in addition to many other student led clubs. Also there are always flyers everywhere for activities that the students can participate in if they choose to.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students! There are all sorts of clubs and sports and if you're not into that, then no worries, you can just be whatever you like.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As far as I know there are no unusual traditions on campus. As for locations, the quad in the Music building usually has many people performing at random times.

    Bang for the buck

    Simply because this college has the title of a Community College many people associate it with a lesser education or a bad selection of professors. This is NOT the case. The professors are great and the education on receives is comparable to a 4-year university.

    What to do for fun

    There is almost always some sort of activity going on in the quad. There is music and games. Also, the campus has many clubs to join and participate in.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria with cafeteria style foods. Also, there is coffee and many other drinks. The atmoshere in the cafeteria is nice and friendly. Everyone seems to be relaxing in there and just chatting before their next class.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    The workload is substantial for most classes and fair since it helps one succeed in the classroom. Professors here are experienced and expect the students to be prepared. This college really does help one prepare to go on to a university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Interact with your peers. Also take advantage of all of the facilities the campus has to offer and build strong relationships with your professors. If you show interest then they will know you want to learn and will help you. Don't be afraid to wander in and out of the buildings in search of something new as there are tons of resources there.

    In three sentences

    Cosumnes River college is highly diverse college with various education, club, and sport opportunities. The campus is spacious and organized very well. Also, the professors there are great and prepared to have a great semester as long as the students are too.

  • 11/01/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students. Diversity makes this school really cool. Don't feel left out because students would have similarities with you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never give up on your goals in life. Perseverance and focus is required for some courses. Study groups are recommended. Get tutored.

    Bang for the buck

    Wish they could do better with money. Books are just too expensive. There's textbook store I go to every time instead of the bookstore at Cosumnes River College.

    Am enjoying being here

    I spent my first year here and I must say I am really happy. This campus feels like home to me because there are really nice people to talk to and can help me as a friend. Meet interesting people, join clubs, get involved with the community, why else is it called Cosumnes Community College. I spent my fist year here and it was great full with enlightenment. Security is top notch, campus is very open and nice for recreational use. The library is an excellent study area for all students. The professors here are wonderful and show you things you never knew before in the subject they teach. Diversity makes this a excellent school as well. Everyone from Filipinos, Asians, African-Americans, White, Mexican,etc. This school is too cool for me! HAHA!

    Am learning a lot

    Great place to get familiar with your major. The professors are great and the campus makes learning easier for students. Learn from each others perspectives on things. I am math tutor at this college and I learn a lot from the students themselves and their problems. My major is math and learn a lot from students.

  • 05/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking to complete their GE to transfer to a 4-year university or get a jump start to a future education, anyone

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into all the services CRC offers! Financial aid, clubs, transfer agreements, tutoring, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    CRC is the way to go if you're looking for a quality education without burning a hole through your pocket. Complete your GE or associates degree at an affordable price. SO worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Friendly, welcoming atmosphere. It's always nice to see a few familiar faces and be able to hang out on the nicely landscaped campus! Nice people, nice professors, and overall a fun experience.

    Am learning a lot

    Class sizes are small and personal, teachers are friendly, knowledgeable and helpful, quality education!

  • 08/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I would say definitely cheaper than the tuitions at the States and UCs which was why I choose to start at a junior college first.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy the services they provide here. A lot of resources that are present, but kinda hard to find out about. Talk to others and ask for these services!

    Am learning a lot

    A lot of the professors are very helpful and would take out time to help you!

  • 09/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This campus is a mix of all kinds of people. It's a pretty open, friendly campus and anyone would fit in here.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're going to come here and pay for your classes, do the work and earn the grade. Don't waste your school's, your Professor's or your own time for nothing.

    Bang for the buck

    College is always expensive but there are plenty of opportunities here to get discounts, waivers and financial aid. Also, this particular school district has been really good with their money and so we have some of the lowest prices around.

    Am enjoying being here

    I very much enjoy being on my campus. Its a vibrant campus, always featuring speakers, cultural events and music and theatre productions. The campus has plenty of nice, scenic areas to settle down to do homework and the atmosphere is really active and friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    The Professors here know their stuff and enjoy what they teach. That goes a long way toward a student's ability to learn. The college is fairly small and the departments only have so many full time Professors. The closer atmosphere adds to the learning experience.

  • 01/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On campus there are a lot of events for students of all types of ethnicities which makes for a better community.

    Food and Dining

    The surrounding area of food is great although majority of it is fast food. There are nice places to eat at around the campus, plus the campus cafeteria has nice food too.

    Tips for prospective students

    For students planning on attending CRC I would recommend meeting up with a counselor with your career goals. I would also recommend coming to the campus before you attend to get a feel for the atmosphere to see if it fits your attitude. I would also recommend not getting distracted by friends or new people you meet it is hard to get classes and harder to get them a second time.

    In three sentences

    In three sentences I feel like this is my favorite campus from all four Los Rios Community College District even though I have only attended Sacramento City College. This school over various clubs for whatever you are interested in and has a strong community. I recommend this college for more of the focused and calm and collected minded student.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is always security available on campus and the campus police are very reliable.

    Clubs and Activities

    clubs are offered at the school that allow students to come together with other students they can relate to according to the club. for example, i recently signed up for the poetry and expressive writing club. other clubs offered are athletic leadership council, cartooning club, entrepreneur club, society of ethics and justice, film club, drama club, etc.

    What to do for fun

    at crc, you can participate in school events. there are different activities held such as club sign ups and promotions, student ambassadors welcome students the first three weeks of school and offer free food and other things, and there is also other events held.

    Food and Dining

    there is a good selection in the cafeteria and at reasonable prices too. they offer salads, drinks, pizza, variety of sandwiches and soups, burritos, etc. the only downside to the menu is that it hasnt changed, so i give the rating a four.

    Dorm Life

    i stayed at home and that was a bit challenging. there aren't dorms provided at crc so i give the dorm life one star.

    Academic Rigor

    this is only my second semester attending crc and so far so great. last semester, fall 2011, did serve as a challenge because of family problems but it did not stop me from giving my best. my schedule was open and allowed me to focus on homework and/or study. the classes were fairly easy despite some factors.

    Tips for prospective students

    it's really important that you take advantage of the help provided. they offer tutoring labs and counselors are available to help you with classes. they'll help guide you through your college years and set you on the right path, whether you are transferring or getting your associates degree. also, get involved on campus and familiarize yourself with your professors.

    In three sentences

    cosumnes river college is a great school to attend. they offer as much help as you need and it is available at reasonable times. i am glad to be attending and having set goals of transferring from this college.

  • 02/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    oh, if you're a film major or theater major and in the area but don't want to go too far, then crc might be a good fit for you. there are so many theater programs at crc, excellent teachers. as for the film, in the los rios district, crc, is the only one who has any film programs.

    What to do for fun

    there are many, many clubs available to join on the first week, i believe. i think it goes on to the second week. there are shopping centers not too far from the school.

    Food and Dining

    i haven't actually ever eaten there, unless you count vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    i only put a one star because i live in elk grove and commute by bus, so i don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    there are a lot of teachers there who do care, so don't let the bad aspects, outweigh the good. over all, it's a good school and there are people there who want to help if you just ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    my tips are to be patient and if you are on the waiting list for a class, stay on it, show up for that class until they tell you they can't add you. chances are people won't show up or they will drop like flies. another thing is if you're not sure what the class you picked is about, go to the first day, listen to the lecture about what you would be doing and then make your choice.

    In three sentences

    it's a pretty good school, just have to work around the financial side of it and on average, there are a lot of cool teachers. there are quirks about the classes and schedules but overall, a good school.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus patrol always on duty.

    Great for these types of students

    -studious -busy -parents -low income

    Bang for the buck

    great financial aid support services.

    Food and Dining

    new bistro

    Academic Rigor

    i feel like the instructors at cosumnes know a lot about their subjects and care about teaching it to others.

    Tips for prospective students

    -study hard. -never give up. -always ask questions. -stay focused.

    In three sentences

    cosumnes river college has come a long way. with the additional parking and campus additions it seems like the crc is on the rise. it is the only community college in there area and it is encouraging to see so many people trying to further their education.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a police station on campus with campus police patrolling regularly. There have been a couple of incidences where the campus has not been safe, but the police are very good about attempting to keep it safe. Because it is a small campus, this is relatively easy to do.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Though I have personally taken part in any, I have heard of many cubs and activities on campus that students seem to enjoy.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are unsure about their career goals, students who may not have the finances to attend a university at the present time, and/or students who prefer a smaller campus environment will find CRC to be a great school for them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I can think of.

    Bang for the buck

    Though prices are rising, it is difficult to complain when students can take the same classes they would at a university for a fraction of the cost. Bookstore prices are over-priced, though, since they are attempting to make a large profit.

    What to do for fun

    Students can join clubs and other organizations, participate in events, attend performances, etc. I think there is much more going on around campus than student's realize. Get involved!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is appropriately sized for the campus and offers a variety of food options for a decent price.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms because it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many transferable courses that challenge the student; however, there are also plenty of very easy classes meant for lower level students. Take the classes that challenge you and that you feel you will actually learn something from, not those you will fly through just to get credit. CRC has much more to offer than that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Select classes that are appropriate for you, but do not be afraid to challenge yourself. Utilize all of the services the college offers you, such as counseling, library, etc. Your education is being paid for, whether it is by you or someone else. Go to class, pay attention, and do your best. Take it seriously. Just because it is a Community College does not mean it can not get you far. Plan and organize, especially in regards to your courses and your attempt to graduate. Be attentive to deadlines, graduation and major requirements, etc.

    In three sentences

    CRC has excellent professors and courses. I feel that I have received a quality education and am prepared to transfer to a university because of my experiences here. The smaller campus also allows more access to staff and faculty members, as well as to services that help students reach their education and career goals.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Determined.

    Bang for the buck

    My main reason for going to Cosumnes River College is because of the cost effectiveness of the education. With financial aid and a bog waiver classes are virtually free which really takes the sting out of having to tackle tough classes.

    What to do for fun

    Join a sport, hang out in the quad, and meet new and interesting people.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent cafeteria conveniently located next to bookstore and cashiers office, many different foods to choose from. Not to mention the various restaurants located near campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It is up to you to decide how challenging your college experience will be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Cosumnes River College is a great stepping stone to a 4 year university, utilize the counseling department to ensure you're on the right path.

    In three sentences

    Intimate class settings allows hands on time with professors. Caring and helpful professors enhance the accessibility of class subject. Interesting and diverse student body.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Walk around the beautiful quad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always register as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    Great professors. Lovely campus. Great support.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Students can apply for grants and other aide. There is the Bogfee Waiver, EOPS, and the Lending Library. The Bogfee Waiver pays for a certain percentage of you units, EOPS loans you free textbooks, and gives you a $150 dollar voucher to the bookstore, and the Lending Library loans free textbooks also.

    What to do for fun

    I've been here for two years and there is absolutely nothing fun here!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a wide rage of food, but I gave it two stars because there's only one meal that actually taste good to me, and it's the buritos. They also sell vegetarian food. everything is also over priced! They even make people pay for paper plates. Also, the lady who makes the sandwiches does not clean her station. It in very unsanitary!

    Dorm Life

    There's no dorms! It's a community college. I gave this a five because you can do whatever you want in your own place!

    Academic Rigor

    II gave this four stars because anything can be hard if you don't put anything into it, but if you always try your best, and put 100 percent into your work, then you'll do just fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you set your educational plans with your counselor. Never slack off, your grades are very important. If you need extra help, do not be afraid to ask. Always put school first, your friends and bosses will understand.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school to get your general education. Counselors make transferring an easy process. Also, it has many clubs and activities to keep you social.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its pretty safe I never had anything stolen from me yet.

    Greek Life

    I don't think we have them at our campus given we don't have dorms.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have clubs for all types from the anime to zoology clubs. There's a club for any one.

    Great for these types of students

    I think its a good place for us older and working adults. I usually keep to myself so I'm not too sure of all the social groups and such. I'm only focused on my education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I wouldn't know. I am not that involved on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    We don't really have a lot of classes thanks to all the budget issues our state is having. The books are very pricey and overall its not the best campus I have been too but it works for me now.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of clubs and activities around campus. There's also a lot of music and art performances going on throughout the year. I been to a few.

    Food and Dining

    Basic fast foods and such. I don't really enjoy eating such food so I pack my own meals from home.

    Dorm Life

    We do not have dorms on campus

    Academic Rigor

    Well for me the academics are fairly easily but then again I don't have a lot of distractions to hold me back.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't fall for some of the drama, focus on your education, and always ask for help when you need it. Sure the campus is a little hard to navigate at times but someone will have the answers you need.

    In three sentences

    CRC is a pretty laid back campus, with small class sizes, and respectable staff members. I enjoy most of the classes I have taken at this campus and the programs offer are nice. I only wish it was a smoke-free campus.

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    20 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a new cafeteria now that I haven't used and there are a decent amount of options for food. Don't expect any big names like here like Subway but you won't go hungry and there are off campus options right by it.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms but there are some apartment complexes across the street and near it if you don't want to drive.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent classes, plenty of online courses, good teachers that actually try to teach you. You definitely have to put in work to earn your grade, it's not an easy ride

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest going to a 4 year college if you can. This is a great school but you really don't get to know other people here like you would at a University.

    In three sentences

    A great community college. Fun teachers and has all the resources you need for a good experience. Great place to start college if you can't go to a 4 year.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    excellent cuisines

    Dorm Life

    nice wholesome environment

    Academic Rigor

    up to par, fits academic standards.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    nothing

    Tips for prospective students

    always make appointments ahead of time with the counselors

    In three sentences

    This school is a good school to attend,hoewever it is on your own to thrive because most of the time you wont get noticed from your own success

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Elk Grove P.D and campus police work together to keep the campus safe.

    Bang for the buck

    The fees are somewhat reasonable for each unit, but its very much worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out and talk with friends in the cafeteria.

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria with different food options.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers especially in the Fitness department push you to do better.

    In three sentences

    Cosumnes River College is laid back and fun, people are friendly and easy to talk to.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    many campus security officers patroling, and always watching the parking lot at night, also very well lit.

    Greek Life

    No fraternities or sororeties

    Clubs and Activities

    offers a variety of clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Transfer students, looking for an AA or to get your general ed done. A good get in get out school.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable, offers plenty of classes

    What to do for fun

    Many clubs to join, as well as sports.

    Food and Dining

    has a caffeteria, variety of foods and pretty low prices.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms unfortunately.

    Tips for prospective students

    great place to start college, affordable and helpful.

    In three sentences

    Entering college can be a pretty chaotic experiance, Cosumnes river college offers a guiding light and makes sense out of that confusing mess. Many programs and aids to help you find your way, as well as an easy place to get classes. although it is a bit crowded I have never had an issue finding and recieving the classes I need

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe there are police everywhere and they are easy to contact if you need help.

    Greek Life

    ???

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of things to do at the school depending on what you are interested in.

    Great for these types of students

    great for any student! Especially people who cannot afford to go to a university.

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap but good classes and teachers. Bogfee waiver is easy to get if you qualify for it

    What to do for fun

    Go to the quad and you will find a lot of your friends. A lot of things going on in the middle of the school year, i am told, outside.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is really nice. There is a small student store for a little snack. There are vending machines around campus if you get thirsty.

    Dorm Life

    Does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Have not attended a class yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not procrastinate for ANYTHING. Do everything you need to right when you can do it and get it over with. It will help you into classes you need and finish faster.

    In three sentences

    At Cosumnes River College it is easy to talk to someone in the counciling office. It has a small campus. It is hard to get into the classes you want

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    THere are campus police everywher so its pretty safe.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is pretty good. The serve pizza, mexican food, sub sandwiches, and american classic foods. There is also a salad bar, snacks, and premade stuff. It does get busy though. There is a Java City right next door that has food and coffee as well. There are vending machines with junk food. There is a good amount of seating, but its pretty much always full. The bookstore has snack foods and drinks too, but another option maybe eating off campus. There only a few places to eat off campus, so I don't go to them because they are busy.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms because its a community college but there are apartments and houses right down the street.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of my classes have had a lot of work and are definitely harder than my high school classes, so don't procrastinate. Ask your professors any questions you may have and don't be afraid to answer his or her questions. Mistakes help you learn better than correct answers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at Rate My Professor before you enroll into the class. Start ahead of the class when you get the syllabus, it will allow more time to study for tests. Utilize the science and math rooms where you can get help on questions you may have.

    In three sentences

    The campus is gorgeous, very spacious(which does make it hard to get to the next class sometimes) and reasonably new. I think it is a little crowded, but I think every college is right now. The Professors are hit or miss because there are some who teach right from the book and don't try to help you or there are those who actually care and do as much as they can to help you learn the subject.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I do not eat the food.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm.

    In three sentences

    Cosumnes River College is a great school for people of all sorts, especially those who aren't sure what they are going to do with their lives. It is a good school with wonderful professors who know what they are talking about. It is a place suited for people with all sorts of plans in mind, no matter what age, size, or race.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There safety alarms strategically placed throughout the campus, shuttle service to your car in the evening, and visible on school campus security.

    Clubs and Activities

    Latinos Unidos, Fine Arts Club, International Student Association, are a few of the clubs/ associations that I have heard about. BEACON is a student tutoring student program.

    Great for these types of students

    1) First time students. 2) Disabled students ( many accommodation's). 3) Students going back to school. 4) Transfer students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not know of any, yet.

    Bang for the buck

    As an older student going back to college I was self conscious at first but I am realizing in today's hard times it has become the norm. People are people we are all in college hoping for a better future.

    What to do for fun

    If you want to have fun there is a social spot called The Spot. Also many students enjoy academic clubs.

    Food and Dining

    There is currently a small fast food selection (i.e. Subway). There is a new cafeteria being built, so that may change soon.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been comfortable with my course work. The courses are challenging and stimulating. Also up to date.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) ASK QUESTIONS. 2) LOOK INTO THE RESOURCES AVAILABLE. 3) TALK TO YOUR PROFESSORS.

    In three sentences

    American River College has a friendly and comfortable environment. Since, I have been there the faculty has been patient and helpful. Going back to school after so many years has been a good experience.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security always keeps the student up to date with emails regarding breach of security, latest fraud tips and more.

    Great for these types of students

    The online courses are great for the working student with hectic hours and little time to spare.

    Academic Rigor

    The standards and expectation are set high. by assuring the difficulty of a course through significant amounts of content knowledge to be gained or complexity of the materials to be learned.

    Tips for prospective students

    No matter how difficult the challenge is, do not give up. Keep striving to reach the top.

    In three sentences

    I love this school. The classes are scheduled aroung my work/family life. The Professor are always willing to assist.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cosumnes River College cops are the best! I can say this over and again!! The environment and classes pose no threat to any student's safety.

    Greek Life

    I have no clue!

    Clubs and Activities

    I've heard of great clubs but I've never been to any of them due to my tight schedule.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student is welcome to Cosumnes River College. The community college is great for any kind of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hmmm! I really don't know of any unusual traditions on campus. I usually go to class, get out, and head home.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheaper tuition! As a matter of fact, my tuition isn't a problem because I receive fee waiver every time I take courses at CRC. I only get to buy my books.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends if you have any Study groups are fun, so one might as well make friends to study together.

    Food and Dining

    I usually don't eat out, but i did once at the cafeteria. The experience wasn't bad, but their food are a lot expensive.

    Dorm Life

    This isn't applicable because it's a community college, we don't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Back to back testing isn't fun, but it's worth the stress!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not procrastinate on you homework Do your homework and submit on time Relate with other students

    In three sentences

    Affordable tuition Teachers are pretty easy to talk to and they are very understanding Campus polices do excellently well to keep us safe on campus

  • 12/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, watch concerts, sports games

    Food and Dining

    They have a good Cafeteria food that is always fresh

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms but they can help you find places near the college

    Tips for prospective students

    If you live in Sacramento go to Cosumnes River College you will get the support you need.

    In three sentences

    A wonderful school that want to see you achieve your dreams.

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are serious about their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every semester except for the summer semester there is a raffle for 15 students at the campus that rewards 15 lucky students to $300 gift card, courtesy of CRC facilitators.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with classmates and have study groups.

    Food and Dining

    Greasy food and pretty pricy.

    Dorm Life

    It is a community college cannot dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared. Stay focused and put in a lot of effort in studying and everything you do.

    In three sentences

    Great School, great professors, great campus

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good, has police cruisers pass occasionally.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

    Clubs and Activities

    Has a few clubs but nothing too spectacular

    Great for these types of students

    Any and everybody, all ages and walks of life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the Quad at the center of campus, has a stage a fountain and benches

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, for a community college the standard is very good. Campus has free tutoring available for students who need help or just some clarification.

    What to do for fun

    Student council has various fairs and activities during the year.

    Food and Dining

    Good cafeteria food, prices a bit steep to frequently eat from there.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of good and enlightening professors who encourage the students to excel and are available for advise and extra help, if and when needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose classes wisely according to your interest in the subject and it will not only be easier but enjoyable. Show the professors you are interested in the class from the beginning of class, it creates a positive impression.

    In three sentences

    It has excellent and encouraging professors who motivate the students. Hard work is rewarded and appreciated. It has a productive learning environment with plenty of help available for students.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police drives by the campus regularly. There are always updates on how they are improving security. During night classes, the police can escort you from class to the car. Very safe campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I personally did not join any clubs at school but many friends who were and what I heard was pretty awesome events organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    A school that fits for any nationality background.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none that I know of. However the campus does have great celebration traditions, like the Native American day and Latino celebration. The center of the campus where the fountain is located, has plenty of events that take place. Most of the time during the summer, music is played, food is served, etc...

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is going up, however the campus is expanding and new building is being made this year (2012-13) as well as a new parking structure with a light rail connected to the campus.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and sports. The sportsmanship is great and everyone is helpful.

    Food and Dining

    Most of the food is great except the pricing is a bit high. Simply because of all the economy price rices.

    Academic Rigor

    Grades are easy to earn if 100% effort can be put in by the student. Professors are willing to help if the student asks for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Like in every school, always try to get to the campus early! Be prepared to learn, otherwise time is wasted on your and teachers behalf. The classrooms are easy to find. The athletic department is wonderful with great reputation.

    In three sentences

    A wonderful well rounded school. Caring and committed teachers with understanding students. Organized and well oriented school with supporting staff.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have a lot of food to offer and lots of room to sit inside and outside.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms around or on campus

    In three sentences

    The teachers are great and really want you to learn and pass. The campus is beautiful and easy to get around. They have so many learning labs to help you in any subject so you can understand your class better one on one.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I find myself being approached by way too many people, particuarly the male population though I have had not so good experiences from the female population as well, asking for my number or money. This campus also has the highest degree of people with mental problems/disorders than any other Los Rios Campus. This can be rather daunting (depending on the issue).

    Greek Life

    What Greek life?

    Clubs and Activities

    They are not well publicized. As far as I know there are not very many options either. Although when they are on campus, like the Native American Fair, it is rather cool.

    Great for these types of students

    For people who can focus and get out fast.

    Bang for the buck

    It is pretty expensive here. Although I have not attended any other college so I am sure it is worse at other places.

    What to do for fun

    I am a theatre major and I love to do shows! Audition! The only problem: the theatre program is not the greatest and auditions are not well publicized. You have to dig. Find theatre veterans and ask for help or go onto the arts are on campus and ask around. There may not be many theatre options but only you can make the most of your experience and you will learn so much!

    Food and Dining

    I personally do not like much of the food here, but it gets you by if you are super hungry.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus!

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the courses you take. It also depends on the professor of the course. Some courses are much more difficult than others. To get the advanced education you need make sure to take courses that are meant for

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn to study well! While taking care of current classes begin to get ready for the next semester so that you do not miss deadlines! Take classes that challenge you so that you actually learn Learn to love to learn, not just your preferred subject, but all subjects. Learn that you are ignorant, but you can learn so much more about the world and the Us if you study and become aware what is going on around you! This will make you a better student, a better person, and a great citizen.

    In three sentences

    If you grew up in Sacramento and went to high school near Cosumnes you will find many of your piers from high school. There are many places for support on campus that come with your tuition: Utilize them! It's not the best school in the world, but the campus is beautiful and you can get a decent education from here if you put the effort into it!

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I was part of the national honor society, and its club.

    Great for these types of students

    Students should possess good study habits.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I can memorized a lot of facts.

    Bang for the buck

    I would make a great nurse since it compliment my nurturing personality.

    What to do for fun

    Snowboarding

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is ok.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic standards are fair.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should be organized, study in advance, and disciplined to be able to be successful in college.

    In three sentences

    Consumnes River College has great professors who can possess great communication skills. Also, they have great interpersonal skills and develop good rapports with students. The campus is beautiful and clean.

  • 04/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Attend the workshops or activites

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria has a limited variety but excellent food.

    Dorm Life

    no Dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent professors who are always willings to help the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always make Counselor Appointments a month before and for best results try to keep the same one. Take advantage of the Tutorig Center and Reading/Writing Lab and Math Lab for help.

    In three sentences

    It has amazing teachers who are always willing to help the students, and who make the class worthwhile. The Campus' Tutoring Center is a great resource where there are always someone there to help out, (and it's free). The campus is pleasent and not to large or too small.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is really superb. There are blue light emergency phones all over campus and there are always Los Rios Community College police officers on campus and ready to protect students. The LRCC police department is also connected to the Sacramento police department in case of emergencies. In the past two semesters, I have only received two safety notifications and they were both minor warnings about making sure your cars are locked and belongings are safe, along with not being alone on campus. I never feel unsafe at CRC, even when I'm alone.

    Greek Life

    The Alpha Academy (Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.) is the only fraternity on campus, but is led by a well-liked teacher. The Alpha Academy Program provides youth with mentoring, character education and life skills training. The Alumni of the fraternity believe that a �rigorous and relevant education can stop the cycle of complacency, self destruction and mediocrity,� according to the Alpha Academy brochure (Latisha Gibson, CRC Connection staff member)

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not a member of any clubs on campus, but there is a wide variety for students on campus, including foreign students and a gay-straight alliance club.

    Great for these types of students

    Good for all students pursuing higher education and looking to move to a four-year college. There's no guarantee that students will have their associate's in two years, but counselors are always around to help keep students on track. It's a wonderful school for all people, whether they're just looking to expand their knowledge or move on in the education world.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A new building is being finished for the Fall 2013 semester and is named the Winn Center. It is being used for photography classes and is highly anticipated. The center of the campus is the most beautiful, it looks like a large park. The campus library overlooks a water feature onto a patio with tables for students and further out a nice grassy area surrounded by several trees. It really creates a nice environment on campus and makes it feel warm and safe and welcoming.

    Bang for the buck

    The campus is very nice and I would assume that some of the money for tuition goes towards campus maintenance as well as paying teachers and staff members. I may be wrong, but its a great school overall. I wish it wasn't so expensive for a CC, but it's not out of reach by any means. For the most part, you get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    Sports events are always really great. The CRC sports teams usually do fairly well during each season. There are also concerts and performances from the music and theater departments.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is decent. It's not awful, but it's not a five star restaurant. There is a lot of variety for lunch/dinner and breakfast is served as well. It's open fairly late, for students who have night classes. The kitchen staff doesn't seem very friendly though, which is annoying sometimes when trying to order food. And there is a cafe inside the dining hall that serves coffee all day. There are several food/drink vending machines on campus too, and many take credit cards, if carrying cash is a hassle.

    Dorm Life

    Since CRC is a community college, there are no dorms. There is a decent amount of housing around the campus though, apartments and neighborhoods, and all seem to be fairly nice. There is also a fraternity on campus, established by one of the professors.

    Academic Rigor

    I personally would give the school a 3.5 in academic rigor. Some professors take their jobs very seriously and treat the courses like they are real university classes as much as the district curriculum will allow. Other teachers think that because it is only a community college that many students don't actually care, therefore those teachers care less, and that's a hindrance to students who plan on pursuing higher academics. But most teachers do care about their students and have decent expectations of them, but also expect responsibility.

    Tips for prospective students

    For any student, I would suggest initally choosing teachers based on reviews online at websites such as ratemyprofessor.com. After attending for one semester, hopefully friends can describe their personal experiences with professors on campus. I would also suggest knowing how to spell the school name, since many people surprisingly don't know that.

    In three sentences

    Cosumnes River College is a fantastic school for those interested in pursuing further education. Classes aren't incredibly difficult to get into, and counselors are always helpful. The school has wonderful resource centers and there is always help available in any aspect.

  • 04/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I found classes to be a bit more expensive than I had expected. Many people qualify for financial aid waivers, so it is in your best interest to apply. Sometimes it takes unit costs down to five dollars.

    What to do for fun

    There are a few movie theaters in town and it is very close to Sacramento were there are many things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria does not have the best food. If you have a car to go off campus, there is a surplus of restaurants that will fill all cravings.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at Cosumnes River.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of my classes were very hard and others were quite easy. It all depends on the course you are enrolled in, but more importantly the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a friend that knows what they are doing. I found it very difficult to find help from staff and faculty.

    In three sentences

    It is a decent community college to help you start and get your feet on the ground. It will prepare you enough to transfer to a 4 year university.

  • 05/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I think that the campus is in a great location since it's right across from Target, Foods Co, Starbucks, Jamba, etc. There are many places around to where you can just walk and grab a bite to eat. That's what I usually did if I had long breaks in between my classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your professors and get to know them! They love the effort you put in and are willing to help you out. Their office hours will be the best way to contact them and some teachers are even willing to help you outside of their office hours. Also, once you enroll in your classes, make sure you pay for your classes as quickly as you can so that you don't get dropped!

    In three sentences

    I have always been able to get into the classes that I needed and teachers are willing to help you out even when you're wait listed. I like being able to take night classes and online classes, easily. Also, the parking lot is never too full!

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is available. Campus is pretty quiet at night. Feels safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for those who live nearby and those who go to college to learn and not to play. Great for those who want to graduate without owing a lot of money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They just built a parking garage and are adding a stop for the Metro rail system. Expect more students.

    Bang for the buck

    The best feeling is when you get the bill for a semester and it is around $1,000! Wow! And if you ask for help in planning they have some guaranteed transfer programs after 60 credits.

    What to do for fun

    This is a community college for those who want to live at home. After hours sports are available to watch, as well as concerts, plays, etc, but not often and not well attended. Don't plan on this school for extra-curricular activities.

    Food and Dining

    Only one cafeteria on sight. Plenty of places within a mile, but not within walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the class and teacher. They teach you what you need to know and if you do your homework you should do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll in too many courses and if you can attend a wait-listed class for two weeks you may still get in.

    In three sentences

    Professors are knowledgeable and want to help you be prepared for transfer. Classes are small, but often very hard to get the class you want. It is VERY important that you also ask the college you want to transfer to what they expect you to have.

  • 06/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    *Campus Police are visible and engaged *Blue Boxes are all over campus *There are designated safe places for LBGT etc.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    *Phi Theta Kappa *Anime *Anthropology

    Great for these types of students

    *Re-entry *Part-time *Home Schooled *HS dropouts

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nope, don't have any of those

    Bang for the buck

    You can get pre-recs done with little financial commitment.

    What to do for fun

    There are a few clubs on campus but most are either inactive or only meet a couple of times per month. The gym and sports fields are only open to students enrolled in PE classes. This is a commuter school and, as such, does not have recreational facilities on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is only one cafeteria on campus. That cafeteria only has fresh subs from 11am to 2pm. Otherwise, your choices are: pizza, burgers, small salad bar, spring roll, pre-made sandwich, fruit.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Totally depends on the instructor. With some, classes are extremely easy and require little to no work. Others require the same quantity/quality of work that you would find at a UC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be very careful about your choice of classes and professors. Take the time to ask fellow students what they thought of the courses that they have taken. The quality of education is hit and miss in some departments.

    In three sentences

    CRC is a great introduction to college for first generation students as the instructors structure their courses to help students learn how to study as college students (it's very different from the studying you did in high school). The campus is extremely diverse, both in its student population and in the attitudes/teaching method of the instructors. There are very few professors on campus and any research is done on the professor's own time.

  • 09/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cosumnes has security/police phones all around the parking lots and they also have an on campus security/police office. Whenever an incident (which rarely happens) occurs, they notify students through newsletters giving information on the situation and letting students be aware of on campus activity.

    Great for these types of students

    Cosumnes is great for ALL types of students.

    Bang for the buck

    Cosumnes may not be as big a school as a University would be, but it's a great stepping stone or place to attend when getting back into school.

    What to do for fun

    Cosumnes offers a wide range of clubs and programs students can join or volunteer for.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is great and affordable! They also have a coffee bar, which is just as great as Starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    Although Cosumnes doesn't offer dorm rooms, there are apartments near by and there are bulletin boards that post flyers for room renting.

    Academic Rigor

    Every professor I've had at Cosumnes has done a great job at what they do. They're knowledagble and offer help to those students that may need it! People sometimes think community colleges are easy, but Cosumnes is great at teaching students and providing discipline in academia.

    Tips for prospective students

    Play an active roll in the Cosumnes community. Creating student/teacher relationships can really benefit you in the long run. Also, keep up to date on the many programs offered to help students in need.

    In three sentences

    Cosumnes River College is a small campus, but huge on helping students get where they want. Not only is the campus great for achieving big or small goals, it is a greatly diverse place! Teachers and staff are amazing at what they do and helping students get closer to their goals.

  • 09/16/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    45 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In campus, every where are clean. They have everything organizes and everystudents have emengency number. They can call whenever they need help or when there is a problem.

    Greek Life

    In Cosumnes River College, there are no Greek life. Eveyone come to school, learn, study and home or work after classes.

    Clubs and Activities

    I love activites that keep me moving. This activites are joining a team sport like racing with bikes or runing the miles. This way I can call my friends to join me for the fun.

    Great for these types of students

    The students who will enjoy this school the most is a student who live near Cosumnes River College. This is because they don't have to ride the bus to school and they can come in and used the library and time. They are also more willing to stay in the library than those who ride the bus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I live far away form campus; so I ride the bus to school everyday. I don't walk to school so that is great for me. I won't be late to school and for my classes.

    Bang for the buck

    The money I paid for college is worth it. This is because in other college, some student pay more and they don't get the benifit they need. I am glad I come to Cosumnes River College where I get the help I need.

    What to do for fun

    I love to read and draw. I love riding a bike and when I ride, I call my friends to join me. Another fun I love is watching movies with my families.

    Food and Dining

    The foods in Cosumnes River College is okey. But I prefer taking my lunch or breakfast to school. I can buy snack or drinks at school but they are expensive.

    Dorm Life

    I live with my family. My sister and I took the bus to school and took the bus back home. We both went to dissame school and we live in dissame house.

    Academic Rigor

    In Cosumnes River College, I have a class that is challengeing for me; this class is Computer Keyboard Speed typeing. Every students in the class learn to type without looking at the keys; But it is difficult for me because I always look at the keys whenever I type. When I type without looking at the keys, I misspell words.

    Tips for prospective students

    I will encourage my friends to come into Cosumnes River College. This is because they will benifit from it and also be glad. Cosumnes River College will lead them to success.

    In three sentences

    Cosumnes River College is the best school I have been to. They help their students achieves their goal and they are willing to help. They have were student can get help with their studies and difficult home-work.

  • 10/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security and police officers often secure the campus. They walk around and make sure everything is in check.

    Greek Life

    No fraternities/sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs to attend including: anime club, Christian club, diversity student association, first act drama club, gay straight alliance, health careers association, iXpress dance company, kapatid club, Muslim student association (MSA), Phi theta kapa honor society, students in recovery, true word society, veterans club, and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to work while attending college. Also students who do not mind completing their education after an associates degree or transferring after several years.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing too unusual

    Bang for the buck

    There is no discrimination whatsoever at Cosumnes River College. Everybody has their own lives to worry about so what you wear/do at school is not too important. Make sure you speak to a counselor as soon as possible because they will guide you dearly.

    What to do for fun

    There is not very many things you can do for fun at CRC. Attending the library or going to club events/activities are fun if you make them fun. I personally think it is fun to just hang around campus and meet new people!

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria with a variety of food including: pizza, burgers/sandwiches, salads, ice cream, etc. The food is quite food. Unfortunately, the food is quite costly as well.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Dean's list is a list of students who have at least a 3.5 gpa. It is very good to include that you were on the Dean's list when you apply for colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before giving up on enrolling into a certain class because of it's capacity, be sure you attend that class the first day of college because there is a slight chance the professor is nice enough to let you enroll. The best way to find friends on campus is to join different clubs or organizations. Do not enroll into a class if you know you aren't going to pass, W's are not the prettiest things on your transcripts.

    In three sentences

    I believe this is a nice campus because of the several classes and degree opportunities it offers. The professors are quite respectful and several of them are teach heir classes well, but one must do a background check on www.ratemyprofessor.com for a certain professor before he or she enrolls.Overall, Cosumnes River College is a beautiful safe campus for people of all ages.

  • 02/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I really like the campus safety system here at CRC campus. No matter what time of day it is, I always see campus police, wether it's in the parking lot or on campus. Also, there are phone booths tailor specifically for emergencies, located throughout the campus, that notify the campus police right away. CRC also has a texting system that notifies you if there are any safety issues on campus that students need to be aware of. It's honestly real convenient!

    What to do for fun

    An exciting thing to do for fun at CRC is to attend the events. Each semester there are events that reoccur as well as new events that have never been done.

    Food and Dining

    CRC offers a wide range of food to eat from sandwiches, burgers, to pizza and tofu. Whatever type of person you are regardless if you're vegetarian or a real meaty type of person, you should find something you like. Customer service in the food court tend to be really nice and helpful. They'll get them exactly what you need if you tell them to. The Dining area for the most part is always live. Students gather around with their friends to talk and eat as well as play games and talk.

    Academic Rigor

    CRC is very big about honesty, fairness, respect, and responsibility. Every syllabus has these terms in it and the teachers go over it to ensure that every student know's what it means. CRC staff want to make sure that every student has an equal advantage of receiving their education as everyone else.

    Tips for prospective students

    In coming students, as far as academic wise, like any other school should be sure to say on top of assignments. If you are planning on transferring to a University, then you will want to make sure each class taken counts. (transferable) A great tip I learned from a couple of my professors at CRC are to visit your councilor on the regular, at least one time every semester. Studies show that when students do so, they tend to graduate quicker than those who don't.

    In three sentences

    Cosumnes overall is a great, diverse school. The teachers I've had are really interested in the student's need to succeed, therefor offer a flexible schedule so students' could seek additional help when needed in order to succeed. Walking around the campus can be a really peaceful experience.

  • 03/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    On campus the focus is academics, locally there are sites and clubs but not a student orientated city

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria/cafe and lots of local eateries

    Dorm Life

    Off-campus only

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on class, some are easy due to the nature of class and others are difficult for the same reason. It also depends on teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Like any college, be persistent and work everyday toward your goals.

    In three sentences

    Great! Easy to get to, works around my busy schedule and has very good teachers. It is a nice community college.