Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Cottey College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/25/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you think you have it in you to be a confident leader, then fear no more. Cottey College is the place for you! In high school I was very shy, didn't participate in many school activities, and hardly did anything on my own. But after I came to Cottey, without even realizing it, had become a strong, confident leader in my school. I now am president of an honorary society, vice president of two clubs and one honorary society, secretary of two clubs, am in the executive board for my senior class, and am on the student goverment board for my college. I am also very active in school events, have tons friends here, and on top of that have obtained at least a 3.0 grade point average since my freshman year here. I'd say life is pretty grand for a Cottey girl!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be scared to attend an all-woman's school; it's actually a lot better than it sounds! There are no boys to get ready for in the morning, no boys to distract you while in class, no boys to ditch your studying for, and no boys to worry about period! But let me guess, your next concern would probably be the fact that we all have that special present that comes to us once a month to make us moody, and with 350 girls here, there'd probably be drama everyday. Well let me clear that up for you: surprisingly , everyone kind of knows each other after the first month, so we all know what to expect from each other. Sure there are those random cat fats, but surprisingly, the drama here is small to none.

    Bang for the buck

    You will hardly spend money here! As said before, all of the activities on campus are FREE to students. Plus, there is so much financial aid available that the out-of-pocket cost students end up paying for tuition is usually only $5,000.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is so much to do here! Every week there is at least one campus wide event, from concerts to cultural dinners to performers, and the best part is: IT'S FREE!

    Am learning a lot

    The class sizes are 5-25 students, but usually end up being 15, providing a great learning environment. And what makes it even better is the teachers actually know you by name and care about your grades! They are available to help/talk to you at almost any time of day.

  • 12/28/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Really, a wide range of personality types come to Cottey from all over the globe. I had a suitemate from Ethopia. The only thing is that whoever goes to Cottey has to feel comfortable in an small environment in a very small town. While there are cool places to visit in town and things to do, Nevada is definitely not a city with city activities. But other than that, it is a great chance for everyone. Its actually really hard to not be involved in a club or organization and everyone has a chance to be an officer of club. I personally was the President of the Handbell club and Treasurer of Reeves Hall even though I had never done anything of that sort in my life before. Everyone is able to widen their experiences and able to grasp leadership if they so choose. Lastly, Cottey is great for those who want to be part of a community that stretches around the world. Not only do those who attend Cottey keep in touch for years afterwards and have regular reunions, but it is owned by the PEO sisterhood whose members live all over the world and love to help out Cottey students at any point in their lives. It is a community that loves to give and share with everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be put off because this school is an all-womens school. In fact it makes it easier, not having to worry about the relationship problems that occur in school. There are colleges nearby with guys around so you don't have to worry about there not being any guys, theres even an air force base nearby. But while your in class, its nice and relaxing to be without the opposite gender for awhile, except if your teacher is a male.

    Bang for the buck

    You receive so much for half of what other colleges are demanding for tuition. Cottey was, for me, around $20,000 and the great thing was is that because the School's and the PEO's generosity, I did not have to receive any loans for my two years there. Also, the class sizes are smaller so students receive more one on one learning and can look deeper into the details of things. The food is excellent. In fact for some of the food, I have not found anything to compare it too, such as the Swedish Pancakes. Also, you do not have to buy a meal plan, it is included in the cost so everyone receives 3 meals a day for 6 days and a HUGE brunch on Sundays. You also make lasting relationships and excellent memories that really no other experience can compare to.

    Did enjoy being here

    I loved this school with every fiber of my being. We were all such a close knit community and there were always events going on from special school traditions to concerts and games. You couldn't not be apart of anything, especially because of the housing arrangements. We all lived in suites with up to at most 12 girls. My suite always tried to have a family meal once a month with game nights or goofing off nights throughout the month. Plus each suite also gets the Lodge one night to themselves. You came to know everyone very well. We all became sisters.

    Did learn a lot

    Sometimes I felt that Cottey had almost every subject under the sun! Of course thats not entirely true, but I could always find classes that I wanted to and was excited about to take. We all had a surprisingly large amount of classes to choose from especially from school that small. The teachers were there for us all the time and always left their doors open. The class sizes were also small ranging from 3-30. Latin 2 had 3 students, if I remember correctly, while the mythology courses were always almost completely full, maxing at around 30.

  • 02/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Cottey is a great place for people who would describe themselves as quiet, shy, or introverted in high school. It is wonderful for women who feel lost in big classes and want a more personalized educational experience. It is good for independent learners who take responsibility for themselves. Cottey is also excellent for extroverted, social people who want to form close relationships and learn in a small, safe environment. Above all, Cottey is for women who are tired of being in classes with boys. They are tired of the distraction of males. It is for women who recognize the potential for more learning to occur without the interference of guys.

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest thing I was worried about was being so far from home. My home is 2000 miles away. However, once I got here, I realized that almost everyone is far from home. Many are even international students that are much farther from home than I am. Everyone was at least a little worried about being far from home. However, Cottey quickly turns into a loving, family-like support system. So, my first tip is to not worry about being away from home. Cottey is definitely like a second home. Another important thing to remember is that your first priority at college is to learn. Study. There are tons of quiet places you can go to study. Use the library. Also, don't cause drama. Yes, it can be challenging to live with 300 women. Fights and misunderstandings can happen. It's never fun when it does. Be nice to other people. This seems like it is a no-brainer, but it's really important. And be prepared for some drama, because invariably it happens. Just stay calm and stay out of it as much as you can.

    Bang for the buck

    Cottey is extremely affordable. The full price of tuition, room, and board is much cheaper than most other private, liberal arts colleges. On top of that, there are so many generous scholarships available that most students at Cottey pay nowhere near full-price. I have friends at fancy private schools that are easily paying three times what I am and the class-sizes there are larger than at Cottey (my smallest class first semester had 2 students and my biggest class had 25) and some of their classes were taught by TAs instead of actual professors. That doesn't happen at Cottey. Lodging is excellent, food is quite good, and all of the classes are taught by professors. In my opinion, Cottey is worth every penny.

    Am enjoying being here

    Cottey has much to offer. There are often concerts and shows right on campus that are free to Cottey students. However, Nevada itself is pretty boring. The most exciting thing to do off-campus in Nevada is going to Walmart. However, because there's not much to do outside of the college, a lot of great friendships are formed right in the residence halls. I have made many awesome friends that I hope I will have for the rest of my life. Living in suites is extremely convenient and especially helpful if you're worried about making friends. If you want to meet people and talk to other people, hang out in the suite area. But, if you want privacy and quiet, then you can just go into your room. This has been a great arrangement for me. In general, this is a great place and there are many amazing people here, which makes the Cottey experience quite enjoyable.

    Am learning a lot

    I would say that I am learning a lot, but not necessarily academically. In my first semester, I didn't really learn very much because most of the classes I took were pretty easy. However, there is much more to the college experience than academics. I learned a lot about how to live with many different women with different backgrounds and opinions. I learned how to live away from home. Cottey is a great, safe place to learn those major life-lessons. After my first semester, the coursework did become a little more challenging. Because Cottey is such a small school, all classes are taught by professors and the professors are available outside of class for extra help. They are very willing to help anyone who comes and asks for it. The professors genuinely care about their subjects and they are here because they want to teach.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everyone on campus will probably tell you how safe our campus is. Lots of lighting, emergency poles, and always having your friends around you, it's hard for anything to go wrong. We have a great communication system, and as long as you are respectful of it, everything will be fine.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs you can get involved in on campus! Just look for your interest, and we'll probably have it from knitting to recycling to working with animals.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cottey is tradition central -- it's so fun! It brings the campus together, and you get to know each other that much better.

    What to do for fun

    Like I said, you have your own mini-family. Mine liked to spend time together, whether watching movies, making crafts, or building forts. There's always something to do around campus, and it's always free to students: speakers, games, and music.

    Food and Dining

    Our food is DELICIOUS! There will be those days when you come down, and nothing looks good on the hot-line, but then you still have soup options, a salad bar, a sandwich bar, and cereals. Before going to Cottey, I did not like French Toast; after trying Chef Michael's, I'll never go back.

    Dorm Life

    I love suite living! You get to have a mini-family, with your own entertainment area, kitchen, and bathroom. And if you don't mesh with your mini-family, you can always relocate.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are going to push you, but when you get your grades you know you've gotten out what you put in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be intimidated by an all women's college; the lack of boys leads to less distraction and less drama. Push yourself in classes; if it's too much, your professors will work with you. Have fun; you have so much opportunity to grow and to connect!

    In three sentences

    Cottey is a rare college that offers small classes and a lot of involvement. While there, I was able to find out about myself through the offered classes. They also have a great opportunity to develop your skills in a humble environment, allowing you to focus on the reason you are there.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very secured by having cameras at each entrance/exit of each dorm and other campus buildings. Also, there are security guards that go on rounds throughout the night checking each building and part of campus for any disturbances. There are emergency call boxes located throughout the campus incase someone doesn't feel safe at night or for whatever reason, but these are rarely used since it is 100% safe on campus at ALL times.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of organizations available on campus that meet the different interests of students and those who decide to join a club, most of times will end up joining another or participate in a few more. There is something to do all the time in each club/organization so you will rarely be bored. These campus organizations will bring out the best of you and you will be more open to others who are either like you or different than you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a lot of traditions that occur between the freshman and seniors, which are always fun! Many memories are made during each one and there is a lot of singing going on which can be hilarious at times since there is always a message .

    Bang for the buck

    The cost for tuition is the same for residents and out-of-state students and the most I had to pay out of pocket is about $2,000. There are scholarships available through the college and through the PEO organization that the college works with. There are a lot ways to cover the costs so you don't end up paying a lot on your own. There is no meal plan like the other colleges you apply to because at Cottey the meals are included in the tuition. You get a lot out of what you pay for, in many ways. You will save a lot too, especially if you are out of state.

    What to do for fun

    There are a bunch of things you can do for fun on campus and off-campus. On campus there are activities or events that occur each month that is free of charge to all students and these events/activities range of guest speakers, bands, performances, plays, shows, etc. There is also other types of fun that campus organizations/clubs organize for everyone such as raves, dances, etc. Also, you will find other things to do on campus with your suitemates or friends like watching movies, play games, pranks and other things that will bond you with others. For off-campus there are trips to the malls near the college and festivals, etc and students go visit other colleges nearby for parties or meeting other college students. Cottey girls also go to the walmart and hang out there or in other places around the college. You can always go to the parks in town or the shops and students like to explore the town as well.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of options for everyone's tastes and vegans/vegetarians are not left out on what to eat since there are always options at all the meals for them. There is variety each time and there are buffets that occur every so often each month that bring different choices to eat. There is a salad bar, sandwich bar, soup section, and waffle/egg bar aside from the main choices of the day and there is desserts all the time.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is very good in the way of how it is set up: suite-style, from 8-10 people depending on who shows up or moves out. Every suite has a kitchen and a bathroom that has 2 toilets, 3 showers, and 4 sinks so you never have to worry about hogging up the bathroom or waiting. You wouldn't have a lot of problems with your suitemates and if someone wants to be in another suite, the process is small. I really like how the suite style that Cottey does because you get to meet more than 5 other students and you learn how to deal with each other and form great bonds.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are small in size so you have more one-on one time with the professors and receive more assistance too. The choices of courses to take is great and some range from easy to medium to hard, depending on the subject and professor. The professors are great in class and are there for you. Some classes will be more challenging than others that you take but you will learn how to manage it all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Going to a women's college is NOT a bad choice at all and it can open a lot of doors for you in so many ways. You become more confident overall and you become more open with those around you and you be surprised to make friends with people you never would have hang out with when you were in highschool. You make unbreakable bonds with other girls there who you will trust and count on forever. You will evolve as a person and as a woman in a lot of ways and this can be of great benefits for you. Do not be afraid of taking chances or speaking up for yourself because people will be interested in what you have to say here at Cottey and you will always be listened to. Do not judge others right away or else you will miss friendships with those people. Take consideration for others so that they can do the same for you, for after all, they will end up being sisters to you as the year goes by at Cottey.

    In three sentences

    A great start for college life for any kind of girl especially for those who are a bit quiet and shy. It' s located in a small town that has a lot of security and the campus is secured as well, so you don't have to be afraid of anything and the community is very welcoming. You will meet a lot of people within your first few weeks and you will form many bonds with others there that will last ages.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is very important here. We have fire and tornado drills as well as the campus staff goes over the guidelines for being here and being safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are at least 20 clubs you can join and if none of them interest you, you can create your own club from your interests.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who make friends easily and who can socialize and do work at the same time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are lots of traditions, participate and enjoy them.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do for fun. Most people have fun in the Halls. In my hall we have a dance party every friday where we dance to whatever music we want.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing. It is so good that many people make sure the have an exercise class so they don't gain weight from how good the food is.

    Dorm Life

    Suite Life is wonderful. You make so many friends here and its just great to hand out together in the suite.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the courses you take some are harder than others. It's important to stay on top of things and just work your hardest. Have study buddies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do your homework on time and not procrastinate it. Visit Cottey during 'C' for yourself weekend. Get involved and have fun there is a lot to do.

    In three sentences

    This college has a great environment with lots of friendly people. It is very welcoming and feels just like a second home.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You ofeten get sponsored by the PEO group in your state who help sooo much with the expenses and the college has an extensive scholarship assistance program.

    What to do for fun

    upwards of 40 clubs and sports plus endless activities and performers coming to campus for free.

    Food and Dining

    five star chef. enough said.

    Dorm Life

    Suite life is the way to go when your living in an all girls school. Having a living room just ouside your room and a bathroom you dont have to share with the whole hall is one of the best parts of the time here.

    Academic Rigor

    Its difficult and they hold you to high standards, but there is so much support and opportunity for succes its more fun than anyhting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Comeand check it out! the campus will surprise you with its beauty, but you will be more surprised when you get to observe a thirteen person class and have a discussion with any of the caring professors.

    In three sentences

    Cottey college is a place where you have the opportunity to grow into an amazing young woman and find your identity. it also helps you find your strengths and build your weaknesses. Plus with its smalll size there is more of a focus on the individuals success.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cottey takes campus safety very seriously. As we are a women's college, there are strict guidelines regarding men in the dorms. Male visitors have to register at the front desk and an announcement to the entire hall is given. Male visitation hours end at 10:30 on weekdays and 12:30 on weekends. Also on campus are emergency buttons poles (sorry, not sure what else to call them) that students can run to and push a button where they will be automatically connected to the local police department. There are security personnel on campus 24/7 and the doors are locked with a key-card system all hours for all buildings except for the main offices and academic buildings which are only closed at night hours. Finally, at the beginning of your freshman year, students are given a two hour training on self defense.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are traditions, but a big part of them are not knowing. As a freshman, you are introduced to the traditions by your 'seniors.' As Cottey is a two-year institution, with the exception of a few very new four-year programs' second year students are called seniors.

    Bang for the buck

    Cottey is funded by the PEO Sisterhood, and offer a generous amount of state scholarships depending on the state. This can range from a few thousand dollars to full tuition. Depending on your high school GPA, you are eligable for anywhere from four to ten thousand dollars a semester. Cottey costs about 25,000 a year.

    What to do for fun

    This depends on every student. I come from a small town and therefore have no problem dealing with the fact that most of our entertainment is going to walmart to check out guys. There are ways to make entertainment. If you like nature, there is a lot of it around us. There are a ton of clubs on campus, so get involved in those. The school also offers a number of off campus trips to places like Kansas City and Joplin to go to the mall, plays, performances and other things like that. On campus, we have a number of professional performers and speakers who come on weekends. All performances are free to students. For those who want to party, there is a college about an hour away with fraternity houses where they go to. Cottey does have a dry campus. Finally, Cottey has a number of traditions that date back roughly eighty years that are a lot of fun and keep a number of the students involved on campus.

    Food and Dining

    We are blessed at Cottey College to have a Five Star Chef who works for us. No, our daily food is not fine dining, but for a college, I'd call it a four or five star. My only complaint with the food is it gets a little repetitive. One really cool thing that Cottey does is, every other year, each suite gets what is called a 'Centennial' Dinner. This comprises of a six course meal of fine dining prepared by our Five Star Chef. Students design their menu and it can include anything from pasta, to steak, to lobster tail. This meal is included in your solid room and board fee. It's amazing!

    Dorm Life

    Cottey students live in what we call suites. Each suite has ten to fifteen girls in it who live in either single or double rooms. Your suite becomes like a family, and the suites are open for anyone to go into, so you really get to know everyone, and even people not in your suite. Our housing office is also extremely flexible, and allow you to change rooms if you can find a roommate and suite that would allow you to move in with them. Each suite is equipped with a large living area surrounded by the rooms, a table, a large couch, armchairs and lamps. There is a kitchen with a large fridge, microwave and hot plate, shelf and cupboard space, and a double sink. Each suite also has a bathroom with two toilets, two showers, one bath and four sinks along with shelves and a large mirror. The individual rooms have a desk, chair, bed, mattress and dresser and closet for each student in that room. There are three residential assistants who can help to solve problems like noise or suite issues. We have a hall director who visits each suite every night to talk to the students. Each hall also has peer listeners who are there for roommate and suite mediation along with just listening if you need to rant. I really enjoy the suite life set up.

    Academic Rigor

    90 percent of our professors have their terminal degree in their field, and they are very knowledgeable of their subjects. On average, students take 16 to 17 credits per semester, so we carry a lot. Classes are not easy. You are expected to work hard and actually learn. Your teachers will know you by name and will personally talk to you if you are having problems in the class. You can go to them for individual help for anything though.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest to prospective students to visit the campus if at all possible. Our student ambassador program is great at really showing what the school is about and you can talk to other students who will give you their opinion, the good and the bad. Also, if you are from a large city, be aware that we are an hour's drive from any mall. It can be frustrating for some students

    In three sentences

    Cottey College is a very small college (maximum 350 students) for women. The town it is located in, Nevada Missouri, is rather small, but there are things to do and we are within driving distance from other places. It is a great place to start your education as it is mostly a two year institution.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards and cameras around campus, as well as emergency buttons strategically placed around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs on campus that there are just to many to name. But if you are looking to be involved in a club there is probably one that will fit your quota perfectly. Also the school sponsors an all expense paid trip to Europe the spring of your senior year, and there are many cheap opportunities to get off campus and go to bigger cities for fun and shopping.

    Great for these types of students

    Cottey is great if you don't have an issue with going to an all girls school. But even if you do then there are plenty of guys around Nevada and also bigger colleges near by. For those people that prefer the small town environment but still like to have fun then this is the place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is pretty small, and there are a lot of traditions throughout the entire year. Unfortunately these traditions details are top secret until the event itself!

    Bang for the buck

    Cottey is relatively cheap for all the stuff that is part of the tuition. It is most definitely worth it, and the college offers a ton of scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    There is generally always something going on around campus for students to participate in. There are also some things to do around Nevada like go to the movies or shopping on the square.

    Food and Dining

    The food is one of the big highlights at Cottey because they actually have a chef that comes in and prepares food for the students. The only downside is that the desserts are addictive! but they don't call it the freshman 15 for nothing!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is wonderful if you get placed in a suite with a group of girls that can manage to get along. It is suite style housing with a decent size bathroom and kitchen for only 10 girls or less.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are really rigorous and you must study a lot for them, however it also depends a lot on the professor teaching the subject. but you do learn a lot and if you really try then you should be great!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning on attending Cottey, then it wouldn't be a bad idea to get to know your professors. They really do enjoy when a student shows interest in the class and they enjoy getting to talk to the students outside of classes as well.

    In three sentences

    The school is wonderful as far as the campus goes, as well as the professors. Also because its such a small campus the professors are able to have more one on one communication with the students and are able to help where its needed. Cottey also has pretty decent food and great housekeeping!

  • 10/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have emergency poles around campus, our buildings are under 24/7 keycard only access and our physical plant has cameras that are watched to help keep the Cottey girls safe from building to building.

    Greek Life

    Cottey is one big sorority in itself.

    Clubs and Activities

    We may be small, but we have TONS of organizations considering our size AND we're always happy to explore the idea of creating a new one. (:

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cottey has TONS of unique traditions!! Too many to explain actually. For more information on traditions, check out the Cottey webpage!

    What to do for fun

    While many girls classify Nevada as a small town, there is still plenty to do here. There are several organizations on campus that keep activities going on campus and the town of Nevada has events now and then, not to mention, we are only a short drive from Joplin.

    Food and Dining

    We have a 5 star chef. What more do you need to know? :)

    Dorm Life

    Cottey girls live in suites which gives the students an easier way to meet their peers. It also adds an extra bond. You don't just have your roommate or that one girl from your chemistry class, you have your suite.

    In three sentences

    Cottey offers small class sizes, genuinely invested professors and a sisterly bond for women from all over the globe. Cottey also offers traditions which set them apart from almost every other school in the nation. Cottey is truly unique in both the academic and social environments.