Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Covenant College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Christians, especially those with reformed views -Those interested in missions or community development -Those looking to have a lot of fun while upholding Covenant's Christian standards

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not neglect your studies and testing. Covenant does work with students if they do not quite meet the requirements, but they are very selective. Visit the college. You get a feel for the community on and off campus, so a visit can convince you that Covenant is the college for you or that it isn't. Plus, the campus is gorgeous (it was a hotel in the 1920s).

    Bang for the buck

    Other colleges are less expensive and offer more options, but the education is worth the price. Class sizes are small, allowing students to interact more with professors and with classmates. Room and board includes an unlimited meal plan, which makes it more expensive. Housing options (student apartments, 4-man rooms, limited meal plan) help students who need financial assistance.

    Am enjoying being here

    Hall life if phenomenal. The community within residence halls and buildings are extremely close-knit. Freshmen live alongside sophomores, seniors and juniors. There is almost always something going on, whether it's a sporting event, intramural game, hall-hosted dance, musical performance or building-wide study break. Living on top of Lookout Mountain, you can feel isolated, especially if you do not have a car. Chattanooga is only fifteen minutes away and offers a plethora of interesting activities. Downtown has a lot of character and emphasizes the arts. Atlanta, Birmingham and Nashville are all two hours away, too.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes have proved engaging and intellectually challenging. Professors communicate well with students; tutors are available. Students work hard to earn good grades. As a liberal arts college, Covenant requires several core classes. Professors do a good job of showing how each class applies to real life situations.

  • 06/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who want to have a clean yet amazing time while still working hard in the classroom. It is the best of both worlds. Covenant has the protection and standards of a Christian school (because it is one) yet has the easy going, fantastically hilarious side that is seen in dorm life and campus activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not look at the price tag of the college and write it off. The admissions staff is fantastic and works very hard to get you to Covenant without causing you to go irrevocably in debt. Also, apply for the large scholarships before December 1. These are the best opportunities to prove you are serious about attending Covenant. Even if you do not get one of these scholarships, most people I have talked with walked away with nearly as much in other forms of aid.

    Bang for the buck

    Covenant is expensive, there is no question about that, but it is phenomenal school as well. I have grown in my social relationships, walk with God, and of course in my scholarly work. I have been pushed to do things I never would have thought I could do and succeeded in them. Do not give up on Covenant because of the price. It is well worth it. See my tip below.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have met friends in my first year at Covenant that I will no doubt be in contact with twenty years down the road. The students are passionate about their faith and about having fun. There are people from all over the United States and around the world. This creates a perfect environment to learn from those different than yourself.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes at Covenant are challenging in the best way. In my first year of college I was pushed to do things I could not imagine myself being able to accomplish, until I did. The professors are caring and extremely helpful as they push you to do your best. Teachers treat you as people, not simply as another brain on a stick. I have been inspired to continue my learning, not only in college, but for my entire life.

  • 06/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are committed to Jesus Christ. Students who love the outdoors. Students who enjoy the Christian hipster scene. Students who are passionate about community and deep relationships. Students who want to learn how to integrate faith and life.

    Tips for prospective students

    On top of Lookout Mountain we work and play hard. Whether it's academics or work study, be ready to apply yourself to the task at hand. Come ready to invest in the lives of your fellow students, the local community, and the local church. Come ready to learn and ready to be blessed. Also, apply for every scholarship you can!

    Bang for the buck

    Covenant is expensive because it is a private college. However, it offers wonderful benefits for its students. In addition to excellent academics and activities, Covenant's Priesthill Center offers free counseling to students, the Center for Calling and Career helps with job and internship hunting, Residence Life seeks to foster loving and healthy dorm life, and the professors and staff are godly, kind, knowledgeable, and helpful.

    Am enjoying being here

    Covenant wants to shape well rounded students. Not only is there an excellent academic program, but the Campus Activities Board and other members of the student body work hard to put on fun events like dances, performances, and movie nights. There's always something enjoyable from Chapel Lawn soccer to movies in the conference room to late night runs to Yellow Deli to studying at Rembrandt's to hall events to intermurals to sporting events and so much more.

    Am learning a lot

    Covenant College expects its students to work hard in order to expand their minds for the glory of God. Covenant students can expect excellent reading and writing assignments as well as the integration of faith and learning. Biblical Perspective is key at Covenant as are strong work ethic, a community mindset, an appetite for fun and adventure, and a desire to serve God.

  • 07/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who enjoy living with a really tight knit community. Covenant really has every type of student, with all types of interests.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect to just get by academically here. You will need to find the balance between work and play pretty quickly.

    Bang for the buck

    If you're looking for a liberal arts education with a strong Christian perspective, this is your college. From the classes to the social events, you are definitely getting what you pay for.

    Am enjoying being here

    I personally could not imagine myself attending any other college. The sense of community at this school is overwhelming (in a good way). From day one, I felt welcomed and accepted. There are tons of ways to be involved whether it be student government, the activities board, orientation team, or sports. There are also a ton of events like concerts and dances. If you prefer a more low-key existence, you can always go outside and read a book while enjoying the beautiful mountain weather.

    Am learning a lot

    Covenant is definitely a college that challenges you academically. I found out very quickly that you cannot just cruise through based on your intelligence alone. However, the classes are very engaging, and the teachers really want to help if you feel as though you don't understand a topic.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many organizations that are open for good times. All throughout the semester, your hall plans events. Chattanooga has a number of fun things to do for very little money.

    Food and Dining

    For cafeteria food, it's really not that bad. It can get kind of repetitive, but you can find a way to eat healthily most of the time. The students love to complain about it, but it gives us something to do.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a lot of fun, and very uplifting. You can build very close friends on your halls, and hall community is very close.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are tough, but a lot of fun. I can't compare it to other colleges from my own experience, but Covenant students place very well on standardized exams.

    Tips for prospective students

    Compared to other Christian Colleges, Covenant is well balanced between legalistic and nominally Christian colleges in the way it deals with dorm life and classes. It's focus is on Christ, but it certainly doesn't get in the way of teaching what you need to know about science, history, etc. It also isn't too strict about how students live their lives, but it does expect a certain level of responsibility from you.

    In three sentences

    Covenant is very Christ centered. It's very small, but that means that you have the opportunity to build relationships with your professors. The people are in general very friendly and quirky.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe place, nothing bad ever really happens.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many great options for clubs and activities, it can be a little overwhelming but once you settle yourself its like perfect.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're weird, and have quirks, and have weird fashion, this place is for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love the crazy traditions, wearing kilts, playing the bagpipes, and 2nd south initiation. The location is absolutely beautiful!

    Bang for the buck

    School is super expensive! But you can make it work.. Loans loans loans

    What to do for fun

    Go on ghetto. They're always doing something crazy. Call a friend, go down the mountain or attend a Bible study.

    Food and Dining

    Some days are good and some are bad, if anything, shoot for a salad and soup and you're good to go.

    Dorm Life

    Love the hall life. I had a great time getting to know my hall mates and they can become some of your best friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Fantastic academics, I think it is perfect for someone who wants to be academically challenged especially with scripture.

    Tips for prospective students

    Put yourself out there and get to know a lot of people. I think this school is wonderful for people who want to start a new life. Join clubs to help you find a small group of friends and enjoy the people you work with.

    In three sentences

    Best School Ever

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus is very safe. It's not very big and its on top of a mountain. The surrounding community (Fairyland) is small and quaint and full of people who love the college and the atmosphere it brings.

    Great for these types of students

    Covenant is good for a person who loves the outdoors, and will appreciate a sunrise and sunset over a mountain every day. Someone who loves the Lord and wants a christian education in every field of study. You must be someone who works hard, but can also play hard. Covenant is bit quirky, but so much fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Covenant has the Highland Games during homecoming weekend. Because we are a scottish school, each hall nominates some men from their halls and the boys dress up in kilts and war paint and participate in old-fashioned highland games. Its incredibly entertaining.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is full of actives put together by C.A.B. including lots of music festivals and dances. The city of Chattanooga TN is at the base of the mountain, about fifteen minutes away. Chattanooga is so much fun and has a lot to offer college students at good prices. Rock City is five minutes from the campus, Ruby Falls is maybe ten, and the Chattanooga aquarium is always worth a visit.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is not the best college food, but its better than some that I've had. It's generally healthy and its easy to maintain good habits in the Great Hall.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is so much fun! Halls become close families and many do actives together. Each building houses students that have similar interests, so its very easy to make friends with those who are immediately around you.

    Academic Rigor

    Covenant challenges students to work hard and they expect a lot from each student. Classes are hard, but if you need help, professors are understanding and want to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go visit the campus. Its beautiful and on top of a mountain, even if you don't end up choosing the school, the trip is worth it. And if you visit, give yourself enough time to see the campus as well as Chattanooga, TN which is a great city for visitors.

    In three sentences

    Covenant College is a beautiful campus with a wonderful student community. All the professors truly care about each student. Christ is pre-eminent in all the things that Covenant does.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Covenant has 24-hour surveillance and patrol. All the dorm buildings require an access card to enter. Covenant is located in a quiet, respectable neighborhood in a town with two policemen.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at Covenant. The halls are very close and substitute for Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs available, and free/public activities almost every weekend.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are serious about growing in Christ; eager to learn; athletic, artsy, or from another culture; anyone who loves living on a mountain!

    Bang for the buck

    Not every professor is an interesting teacher, but they all care about student success. Covenant requires that you work hard, but, if you apply yourself, you'll learn so much.

    What to do for fun

    There are many opportunities for fun: hall events (like date nights or hikes), trips to Chattanooga with friends, or activities on the mountain (caving and hiking, for example).

    Food and Dining

    Covenant's dining is, well... improving. I personally enjoy the food in the main dining area: there is an all-day soup, sandwich, and salad bar, as well as pizza and eclectic options at every meal. On-campus students can only have the full meal plan, however, which is inconvenient if you have a crazy class schedule or don't like cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    Students want to be at Covenant, so they want to invest in the community. Covenant has a very close-knit community; students bond on their halls and at frequent on-campus social activities. The Resident Assistants on each hall are some of the most friendly and wise people I have met - they'll work hard to give you a great experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes at Covenant stretch me every semester. My professors expect me to think and write well, and to integrate Christianity with what I'm learning. There is a lot of reading, but it's often interesting, unusual reading material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be intimidated by the cost; Covenant tends to be generous with financial aid. You may get more scholarships and work-study aid than you expect.

    In three sentences

    Covenant is a school where students are immersed in a Christ-centered community: faculty, staff, and students encourage one another to glorify Christ, to discover your personal calling, and to think critically and with a biblical perspective about contemporary culture. Covenant isn't just about work, however; there are tons of on- and off-campus student activities, Chattanooga is minutes away, and deep friendships are a joy.

  • 08/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those pursuing humanities.

    What to do for fun

    Go to sporting events. Be a part of a club. Go to a concert or movie night.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in mind the importance of community and growth as a Christian as well as academics.

    In three sentences

    Covenant is a true Christian college. The Faculty and Staff work every day to make the students' experience spiritually and academically beneficial. Also, the campus is beautiful with a great view!

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Religious and students who like smaller communities

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to explain your faith, and definitely prepared to know Christ is in ALL things

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i always feel very safe at covenant. the mountain is a very safe community.

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life at covenant.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs, intramurals, competitive sports, drama and music opportunities.

    Great for these types of students

    a school for those who want to be challenged academically with a christian worldview. we are challenged to make a difference in this world by being trained to work and think in such a way that aspires us to greatness in our service in our chosen field.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    this is such a beautiful campus with beautiful views and vistas from every direction of the mountain and the view of the lights of chattanooga is just incredible from the overlook.

    What to do for fun

    we have intramurals, sports, celebrations, dances, plays and musical performances. there are many clubs to get involved in and downtown chattanooga is just down the mountain. there are so many restaurants and many things to do. we also love to hike the trails on the mountain.

    Food and Dining

    the food is very good. we have choices daily and we can get something to eat all throughout the day if you have a hard time getting there during the hot serving line.

    Dorm Life

    there is such a sense of community in our dorms. it is created by our getting together for competition and fun. i have met some very special people through the dorm life and activities. we keep our doors open and everyone feels a part of the family.

    Academic Rigor

    i have been very challenged by the academic rigor of the school. i am challenged by every class i take but, i have access to my professors if i need to talk to them and students get together to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    definitely come for a tour of the school. while there, you will be impressed by the students, the faculty and the campus. it is a beautiful campus!

    In three sentences

    covenant college is a challenging academic school. i have been challenged but find myself coming up to the expectation of excellence. it is a terrific school if you want a smaller school environment.

  • 03/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never once felt in danger at Covenant College. It is a beautiful campus that is well protected.

    Greek Life

    Covenant College does not have Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a club for almost everything. Like Rugby? Roller Hockey? Climbing? You can find plenty of places to have fun and get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're serious about school, not into partying, and you love the Lord, Covenant is perfect for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a very strong Hall life, the hall you live on becomes your family, and every hall has their own unique traditions. Its the closest thing we have to Greek Life.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe Covenant is worth every penny and you pay a pretty penny to go to Covenant. If you think Covenant is the right fit for you, I'd definitely encourage you to come to the mountain.

    What to do for fun

    Theres a place for everyone. If you like to shop, there's a decent mall, and plenty of shops to explore in downtown Chattanooga. If you like sports we have a great gym, soccer, baseball, and softball fields, tennis courts, and weight rooms. We have plenty of places to hike and check out a beautiful view. Theres something to do for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    Our dining hall is beautiful. Sometimes the food is sub-par, but when you compare it to other school, its great. There's always a salad bar, sandwich bar, pizza bar, dessert bar, and then 5-6 different entries every meal.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on the building, our dorms are great. Andreas is the newest building, and very clean. Founders has community bathrooms. Maclellan dorms have a study room. Carter is right upstairs from the dining hall.

    Academic Rigor

    Covenant isn't an easy school. You can't just slide by at this school, it requires a lot of work. You definitely earn your degree at this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely recommend visiting campus before attending.

    In three sentences

    Covenant College has a beautiful campus, at the top of a mountain. We have a great community although quite small. If you love Jesus, you should come here for a great environment.

  • 06/28/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Yes, I felt very safe. After all, the campus is up on a mountain! Chattanooga is a long way away, so you definitely feel safe, even at night.

    Greek Life

    I dont' know about this.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everyone here! Get out and meet people!

    Great for these types of students

    Hikers, climbers, mountain lovers, outdoorsy people, people who like meeting others and finding lots of friends, those who want to grow in their relationship with God

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I loved going to profs houses and getting to know them personally. The professors are amazing and a definite PLUS of the school. Also, they teach from a Biblical worldview!!!

    Bang for the buck

    The closest airport is Chattanooga, so it can be more expensive flying into Atlanta and then taking a bus to Chattanooga. Also, some of the students there felt a bit secluded away from everything. Depending on your personality, you might love it on the mountain.

    What to do for fun

    Relaxing amidst nature, hiking, or finding a peaceful spot on the mountain is awesome! Also, take a group of friends down the mountain into Chattanooga and vist the city. There is lots to see and do there!

    Food and Dining

    Again, the dining hall seemed small for the number of students who eat there. The food is delicious, so just be ready to meet new friends all the time.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms seem a bit small since this is an older campus, and a former hotel. Don't bring the extras!

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is tough! The professors are amazing with so much to offer students. Be ready to study, grow, and learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Having a car on campus would be helpful, since you are away from the hustle and bustle of life on the mountain. Also, the weather is damp, so be prepared. There are many foggy mornings on Lookout Mtn.

    In three sentences

    If you're looking for a Bible College, Covenant is a great possibility. It is located on top of a mountain with beautiful views and awesome surroundings. This is a bit of a smaller campus with tight-knit relationships.

  • 04/18/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    There is an amazing atmosphere there that I can not explain. God is very much the center of life there, and that is very admirable. There is a great sense of comfort in knowing He is the center, because together everyone can shine His light.

  • 05/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of fun things to do around Campus. Most are outdoor activities with trails that Cover the entire mountain on which Covenant sits. Chattanooga is filled with a bunch of fun things to do, and it is only a 15 to 20 min drive away.

    Food and Dining

    The Dinning at Covenant is at best mediocre. Some days the food is really good, and some days it is pretty bad. There is a consistent amount of good pizza made, and there is also a good salad bar and a sandwich bar. The food is generally not great, but it is also not horrible.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Covenant College is great for many reasons. Each hall has a different personality, and many of the closest friendships are made with people on your hall. Also out of the four Dorm buildings there is also much personality in each building as well. Each building has its own traditions that are passed down. There is always something going on in the dorms, and there are many people to hang out with. Also there are many events that are thrown by the four different buildings, and most are really fun.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academics at Covenant are very difficult, but they are not unreasonably difficult. The classes are taught in a manner to best teach the student the material. If you are having trouble with any of the material there are tutors for almost all subjects that are very beneficial in teaching you the concepts you are having trouble with. The Professors are generally very helpful as well, and will meet with you to talk about their class, even if you are not struggling with their class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should be prepared for the many challenges that Covenant offers. Not only in academics, but also in leadership and general life skills. The Faculty and staff has a genuine interest in the student body, and they work to benefit you.

    In three sentences

    Covenant College is a place where students are challenged in their academic life and also in their spiritual life. The professors strive to be connected to their students and help them grow in academic areas, and also teaching students to glorify God in all that they do. This all takes place on a beautiful campus that offers something for everybody.