Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Craven Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/12/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Craven has a career path suitable for all students and can supply a vast amount of courses to those students, which is especially helpful to transfer students.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best advice for prospective students is to complete all assignments, pay attention to the instructor, keep good notes or read the course books a lot, and never give up even when the work seems hard because the effort will almost always yield good results.

    Bang for the buck

    The prices of tuition and books aren't as high as some colleges and the cost for the education is an investment to learning the necessary skills and obtaining the aptitude required for a career.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have thoroughly enjoyed being a Craven Community College. The people who teach, work, and are being taught there are nice, all the resources needed to complete the course assignments can be found on campus, and the extra-curricular activities are fun to experience and helpful to others outside the campus.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned much about the field I am interested in and about what actions and devices are necessary to accomplish the tasks I intend to undertake.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    @ night there is patrol staff. However we have had abductions from campus during the day :(

    Greek Life

    None that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Several. I haven't joined any though. Most of them are for stuff like biology and psychology or other exclusive groups. If that's your kind of thing...go for it!

    Great for these types of students

    People with full time jobs or families. Teachers are very understanding (usually :))

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I can think of. There are however things like free lunches or bingo.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do for fun. Go to the beach, hang out with friends, [for most of us @ CCC...do homework]. If you are going to a community college, you are probably also working a job. There isn't much time for fun stuff.

    Food and Dining

    There are only vending machines and occasionally vendors. They need to have a full time area where we can buy a hot meal.

    Dorm Life

    None.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes aren't difficult at all, you just have to put your best foot forward. You have to at least do the work!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a good advisor. Without it, you are doomed. If you don't like your advisor and feel he/she isn't helping you, request a new one.

    In three sentences

    CCC is a good place to get started. I prefer online classes because some of the staff at CCC aren't that nice. I have however had several good teachers. (Shawn Moore by far the best!)

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Craven is a small school and I always felt safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm sure Craven had a lot more clubs than I was aware of, but it was hard to find the information.

    Great for these types of students

    Craven was a great school for non-traditional students. They made it very easy for me to return to school after taking a few years off.

    Bang for the buck

    Craven was very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There were not a lot of extra-curricular activities, but I enjoyed Psychology Club they were beginning to put together.

    Food and Dining

    Craven only had vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes were hard, but the teachers really worked with me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead for book purchases.

    In three sentences

    Craven has small classrooms with teachers that really care. The financial office is extremely strict, if you are one day late, they will drop all of your classes without exception.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is wonderful. The resource officers as well as the sheriffs are constantly patrolling the school and many light poles have an emergency button in case you were to get into trouble while walking to your car at night.

    Greek Life

    The only Greek life at Craven is Phi Thetta Kappa it is an honor society for students who obtain a 3.5 GPA and are enrolled full time.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs on campus. There are the study abroad club in which they take trips to other countries and stay and visit there. There is also student government and a science club.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for any type of student. Whether it be the student fresh out of high school like me or the stay at home mom who wants to get her degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't really an unusual traditions on campus. Although they are always having something new for the student to do in the student center.

    Bang for the buck

    Craven's great for getting a little bit of everything. The prices for classes are not that expensive with the pell grant i was able to have my tuition and books paid for my entire 2 years at craven.

    What to do for fun

    They do have a baseball team and i encourage anyone who wants to try out for it. Please do. They are actually really good and they have a great coach.

    Food and Dining

    The Craven Cafe was wonderful when i was there. Being able to get a muffin in the morning and a cup of hot coffee before class made my entire day. Being able to sit down in the student center and have a bag of chips and a soda in the afternoon also was great.

    Dorm Life

    Since Craven is a community college there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors at Craven are very thorough. They have hand outs and put things online for you and explain things more than one time.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tips i can provide is to not procrastinate. Yes there are deadlines and yes they have to be met. So please do the work on time and do not wait until the last minute to do a project.

    In three sentences

    The best way to explain Craven Community College is that it is a friendly place. The instructors there are more than willing to help, even after hours. They are there for you to watch and help you succeed in everything you do.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While I am sure there has been some kind of problem, I have not seen or heard of any problems on campus.

    Greek Life

    The campus has a Greek honor society that is in no way fratty. It is merely there to laud your achievements.

    Clubs and Activities

    Craven has numerous clubs, particularly the popular machinists, automotive, and welding clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to apply themselves.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    Craven is a community college, with all that entails for cost. Many instructors here are people who have lived life, whether related to what they teach or not. This makes many of them very interesting and provides added experience and depth to classes.

    What to do for fun

    The college has many clubs that are active both on campus and in the community. With these and the campus honor society you can be as active as you have time for.

    Food and Dining

    The campus has a cafe that was opened recently that is the venture of a local cafe. The food I have had has been average, better than vending machine fare. I have ordered several coffee drinks, all of which have been poor for one reason or another.

    Dorm Life

    No on campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can generally be as hard or as easy as you want them to be. Most instructors do not give away grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your instructors. Especially if you are having problems, either personally or in class. That is the only way they can help.

    In three sentences

    A great college with fantastic faculty. Many faculty at Craven whether permanent or adjunct definitely seem to care.

  • 07/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Work out

    Tips for prospective students

    If your having any problems just ask for help.

    In three sentences

    I love it. I haven't been to school in 12 years and the teachers and stuff are very helpful. I have also made some new friends there.

  • 07/20/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    High School Freshman Working Adults Military/Military Vets/Families.

    Bang for the buck

    In-state tuition is where it is at. The school gives up to $1,200/yr to each student if you ask and apply for it.

    What to do for fun

    The have clubs and activities on campus. I haven't figured out what they are or how to find out.

    Food and Dining

    They have a Cafe/Coffee Shop. I haven't been yet, but i'll be sure to update this when I do.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The have an honor code like most schools. I have heard that their staff is harsh, but that is to expected. They are professional at what they do and how they teach. Learn from them and you will do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. Work with the One Stop staff, they can answer any questions you might have and come prepared with questions to discuss. This is still a college, the staff isn't going to do the work for you. As long as you have everything in order and work with the staff getting enrolled is easy. After enrollment, the staff will set you up with an adviser during on campus registration to help you pick out your classes and figure out financial aide.

    In three sentences

    Craven is a wonderful place for high school grads and young professionals in the community to gain more education to improve their lives. It is a cost effective option for those student who cannot afford to go to a four-year university or if you have to work and go to school at the same time.

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    join the microbiology club!

    What to do for fun

    drives and fundraisers for different events.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria and mobile food carts are convenient.

    Tips for prospective students

    take advantage of all the student services they provide.

    In three sentences

    this is a great school to get your basic educational needs met. if you have not attended school in awhile craven does a great job in helping students transition back into a school setting. the staff is really helpful and i'm glad i chose to go to this school.

  • 02/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe at CCC.

    Greek Life

    Very small.

    Clubs and Activities

    I think there are clubs and activities but, like I said, I am not involved.

    Great for these types of students

    People looking to save money.

    Bang for the buck

    This is very inexpensive. If you are looking to save money and get basic liberal arts fulfillments or want to have a certificate of some kind like cosmetology, I recommend you go to CCC.

    What to do for fun

    There are a number of organizations on campus but I'm not much involved.

    Food and Dining

    There is a little cafe on campus and it's pleasant for all your coffee, cookie, and muffin needs.

    Academic Rigor

    It's hard to determine the difficulty because it depends on the professors. Craven is generally less challenging than a university but subjects like chemistry, biology, and any of the maths were most likely just as difficult as other universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    A very inexpensive way to receive an Associate's degree. I have no regret going here to decide what I actually want to do.

    In three sentences

    Good place to go in between decisions of what you want to do with your life. Make sure the advisers know what you plan to do. Otherwise, they may lead you astray from your goal.

  • 02/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a law enforcement training building filled with police and prospective students that are dedicated to protecting the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Science Club!!

    Great for these types of students

    Working students fresh out of high school or the military.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent education for the amount of many invested.

    What to do for fun

    Join the science club. they go on field trips all over the state.

    Food and Dining

    Small caf�© with some tasty treats and coffee's.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Instructors make it easy to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak with an educational advisor. They work tirelessly to ensure your direction.

    In three sentences

    Excellent faculty and administration. Great Students and programs. Best choice for a community college in my area!

  • 03/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is always some kind of club event and activity going on!

    Bang for the buck

    Amazing investment in your future by going to a community college. All said and done, I will have my RN degree for about $6000.

    Food and Dining

    Vending machines are easy to find and there is now a delicious cafe!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here!

    Academic Rigor

    Obviously this depends on the course schedule you are trying to follow. As a prospective Associate Degree Nursing student, I had to take some somewhat difficult classes to get in. Once accepted into the ADN program....well, lets just say I'm passing!

    In three sentences

    Craven is growing semester after semester. Instructors are always focusing on helping students succeed. Any issue I have had, I've been able to quickly find the help I needed to fix it.