Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Crown College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ANYONE! The Lord is present at Crown so if you are interested in becoming a believer or wanting to gain more knowledge and wisdom not only in your specified major, but your Crown major of Biblical and Theological Studies, schedule a tour or call or write or email for more information. CONTACT CROWN COLLEGE TODAY!

    Tips for prospective students

    My college experience here has been incredible. I have mentioned a little bit already that Crown College in St. Bonifacius, Minnesota is a live-changing home. It's setting sits a minute or so from the nearest town, but it is very secluded-peaceful. In Minnesota, trees and lakes are not rare, and our college has it's own Lake. We have a dock and a small beach attached to this lake and that is were Women's ministry meets to worship the Lord and relate to one another. Since this college is under 1000 students, it is easy to learn all the names on campus. Friends are abundant as college kids are known to walk straight up to strangers and welcome them to the campus. I toured the place twice albeit my four-hour distance. Those I was close to in my hometown recognized something different in my attitude as I came back from the visits and they saw a wonderful change in me. Crown affected me in even those short hours I was visiting. What made my outlook on life change as I was at Crown wasn't just the classrooms, incredibly nice students and faculty, or the gorgeous landscape, but the Christian atmosphere and the students' adoration to Christ in all aspects. I sat in on one of the Chapels we have every Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday, and it was absolutely amazing: truly infathomable. Hands outreached to the Lord as all the students sang their hearts to God. No one seemed to be there, in the gym: they were with the Lord. That was what attracted me the most to Crown College in St. Bonifacius, MN. A little more into detail is it's location. Hills, a lake, trees for shade while studying or grouping with friends and grass everywhere. Although there are longer winters, all the Crown students take advantage of warm days. I went there when I thought it was quite chilly outside on a visity and there were students wearing shorts and t-shirts. Now I realize why. Events are happening all the time: karaoke, battle of the bands, concerts of all kinds, plays, carnivals and other festivities, etc. It's very hard not to become involved in something. There are plenty of groups to become a part of and clubs to join. Women's and Men's ministries, varsity sports and intramurals (in really everything) the Storm Newspaper, other bible groups, dance teams, Student Activities Board, etc. I can't even list them all. The best thing is, most anyone is eligible so there isn't a straing on background experience. With the friendly students it's easy to become an addition to any of these. The dorms are gender grouped, so they are completely separate from the opposite sex. There are floor worships to worship God together and floors choose different activities throughout the year to do together. So far my floor has done a mall scavenger hunt, cliff diving and golfing. The students decide what to do. Also, each floor has a brother and sister floor they do activities with. So there is a ton of ways to get involved at Crown. Classes are comfortable, from 20-60 students. All my classes have fit perfectly to my preferences so it's very flexible- and easy if you would like a job. Although Crown isn't in a town, it is a minute from St. Bonifacius. But St. Boni is small so when students need supplies they race off to the Target in Waconia, which is a whopping four or five minutes away. Waconia is small, too, so when you go to Target you end up running into Crown students, so it's real fun when you want a late night pizza and pop like my roommates and I have previously done. The president is very friendly, he is always seen around campus and joins in on many activities. We always have speakers come to the College and give sermons during Chapel. Overall, this College is incredible. One of a kind and most definitely worth attending. Call in now and ask for a tour. It will change your life the moment you step foot on campus. I can say this because it changed mine.

    Bang for the buck

    Although at first glance you would think this college is expensive, there are a couple reasons why. First off, Crown is a private Christian college. Secondly, it offers a double major, so the cost has to rise in order for Crown to be able to provide students with the biblical and theological major it now has. I did not let the cost prevent me from becoming a student at Crown. I was able to gain at least $19,000 in gift aid alone, thanks to the school and private grants/scholarships. I didn't look as hard as I could have and I am now looking for even more. Opportunities are everywhere and Crown provides students with a ton of grants and scholarships to help so they can have one of the best secular and spiritual education experience in the United States.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love being here at Crown College. It's personal and private when you need alone time. It's a perfect atmosphere if your heart is heavy and burdened, for it's easy to find a secluded place to think, pray, etc. Students are so friendly and you are accepted to moment you arrive. As soon as I came on campus there were a group of students just waiting for me to stop the car so they can help me bring all my boxes (and there were PLENTY) to my assigned dorm. My roommates are incredible. Since this is a missionary college, there are many students from around the world that come for their education: Africa, Hong Kong, China, the Dominican Republic, etc. Hearing their stories is amazing and there are many other students within the states that have more great stories to tell. I have many study groups with friends and have been in intramurals. I have a leadership scholarship and attend many of the activites at Crown. We have Caribou Coffee on campus in our coffee shop and it is wonderful. We have a climbing wall and a ton of pool tables. There is a restaurant place also where you can get meals if you prefer not to eat in the cafeteria. My roommates and I schedule to eat there every tuesday and thursday and finish with a couple games of pool. The mail is easy access as is most everything. The best part about the campus is that everything is in one building-except sophomore-senior mens dorms and all women dorms. Chapel, food, education, freshmen men dorms, coffee shop, restaurant, student union, library, computer lab, professor's offices-ALL in one building. It's convenient in the winter when it's cold. I feel very priveleged and blessed to have such a short walking distance to class. Of course the freshmen men, if they choose, can have an all-season attire: since they are indoors they never have to be exposed to the cold. The warm days are wonderful. Kids lay under the shade, play frisbee or frisbee golf or sand volleyball outside. Go swimming in the campus lake, etc. Activities as I have previously stated are endless.

    Am learning a lot

    You end up with a mandatory major in biblical and theological studies, graduating after four years as a scholar in christian studies. You also are given the choice, which almost all students choose, to have another major. This is a missionary college but Crown provides a wide variety of majors to choose from. Classes are small so you learn a lot not only in the classroom, but personally with the teacher if you need advice or any questions answered. Homework is not overwhelming and that leaves plenty of time if you are involved with activities within Crown.

  • 06/30/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You are given quite a bit in rooms.

    Will enjoy being here

    It's great! I made friends in minutes! Everyone seems to be very close like a big family!

    Will learn a lot

    You will grow close to God! I experienced that just from visiting!

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Crown College is great for students who wish to further their education with a Christian worldview. Students are not only strengthened in their academics, but also in their walk with the Lord. The professors do a good job of taking the subject they are teaching and incorporating Christianity into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best times to visit are during Fall Preview or Spring Preview. That is when one will find the most realistic college experience because the prospective student gets in on all the action by spending the night in a freshman dorm, eating meals with freshman students, going to activities, attending chapel, and getting a first hand look at what it is really like to be a student at Crown College.

    Bang for the buck

    Crown College is a small school, which has many advantages that include small class sizes where it is easier to have group discussions and connect with classmates, as well as professors. Professors do a good job of building relationships with students and doing their best to make sure a student passes their class. The Student Activities Board is constantly coming up with new ideas for students to get together and socialize or have study breaks. The food served in the cafeteria has various choices and a lot of variety for meals. There are also a few meal plans to select from. The college also contains a coffee shop and cafe. Residence halls are taken care of and well equipped.

    Am enjoying being here

    The many activities, events, classes, and relationships I have made make learning a very enjoyable experience.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors explain things well and do a good job of captivating my attention during lectures. I feel that the professors teach the class in more than one way and well equip us for our future.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Christian atmosphere of the college helps ensure a peaceful environment on the part of the students while the faculty, grounds keeping work, and campus security to keep the environment physically safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Crown has a good assortment of clubs and activities, such as the Student Activities Board and several different intramural sports, that keep students busy and involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Crown is great for Christian students who want to learn more about their faith. It is also great for Christian athletes who desire an opportunity to play for a Christian team.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unlike most colleges, Crown has four chapels throughout the week where students can go and hear a message from the Chaplin, a visiting missionary, or some other form of guest speaker.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Crown certainly a great college, it is a pricey college. For those who are picky eaters, don't like spending time with people, and/or enjoy spending time worshiping Christ with a body of believers, it might not be worth the money. But for those who are the opposite of what was listed above, the price is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of fun things for the athletic students to do, including a weight room, a fitness center, a rock wall, an outdoor volleyball court, a Frolf (Frisbee-Golf) course, a gym, indoor track, and many open athletic fields that can be used for pickup soccer and Ultimate Frisbee games. For the less athletically inclined, there are multiple billiard and Foosball tables, an air hockey table, and some decent hiking trails.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Crown is decent. There are some days were all of the meals are extremely good and there are days when there isn't much good to eat at all. The poor meals are fewer and far apart, but as the year winds down towards a break, the meals find themselves more bad then good.

    Dorm Life

    Being a small school, there are smaller class sizes, allowing for a more close and intimate dorm experience. At any other school, this might cause vast amounts of drama, but the type of students that Crown attracts are more mature then students at other colleges and universities.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the class, the classes are at an average difficulty level. This is mostly due to small classes and great professors, making harder classes a little easier and less stressful.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school for anyone pursuing an education in a Christian environment. This school offers lots of extracurricular activities and sports that have Christian leaders who are constantly helping one further develop their faith.

    In three sentences

    Crown is an excellent small school with a great faculty and student body. It is a great place to display and grow in your faith, which can be done through many venues at crown including worship team, choir, eleven different NCAA sports, and theater. The small, Christ-based community is great for any Christian trying to develop their faith, allowing them to be placed around students and staff that share a common faith.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Visit local bookstores.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent food and dining at Crown!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early.

    In three sentences

    Crown's online program for adult and graduate students (AGS) is excellent. The program is perfect for convenient for working adults. I plan to earn my Master's Degree at Crown also.

  • 10/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Online program is great for busy parents, working adults, and out of state students.

    Bang for the buck

    Crown College is not cheap, but they help you in terms of informing you of various options to obtain the finances neccessary to pay for college. Great financial department.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will love Crown College, everyone is freindly, down to earth, and real. Be prepare for a life changing experience and an eye-opening journey.

    In three sentences

    Crown College is a great Christian College. Solid doctrine, great instructors, reliable counselors. Great classes, great staff, the best online program around.

  • 11/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is in the middle of farming country, and while the nearest store is just a few minutes away, campus is nestled in acres of trees and bodies of water, and feels comfortable and safe for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to excel academically, grow in relationships, develop independence, and learn more about God.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Campus has many fun traditions! One of these is known as Missions Fest, a yearly festival that encourages International students to prepare meals from their home country, dress up in traditional clothing, and share some favorite facts from home! It is a great opportunity to learn more about the world.

    Bang for the buck

    Crown College is definitely one of the best options for those in the Upper Midwest. The caring relationship between professors to students is unmatchable, and the close-knit community is perfect for getting to know nearly every student on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something fun going on around the campus. Whether it is student led, or approved by the activities committee. With such a small student body, there are always opportunities to connect with others and grow in meaningful relationships.

    Food and Dining

    The dining room offers many options, and serves exceptionally delicious meals around holiday times. There are options for many cultures, dietary restrictions, and picky eaters!

    Dorm Life

    There are several nice dorm rooms on campus, and the Student Development office work away at finding a good roommate fit. If things don't work out well, there is a simple process to complete to find a better fit.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, everyone at Crown College wants you to succeed in whatever field you are entering into in the future. It is vitally important for students to complete homework and attend class, but it is still possible to have a thriving social life outside of class periods.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are attentive in class and attend as much as possible. Fostering a friendship with professors is extremely helpful, because when you have questions they are more than happy to help! Don't stress out and lose your drive to finish strong. Do your best, and you will go far.

    In three sentences

    Crown College stands firm in meaningful relationships between students and professors. The small body of students is extremely close-knit, and we all care about each other. Overall, it is a great school for building meaningful relationships with both students and professors, and excelling academically.

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is so much stuff to do!!! there is a frisbee golf field, trails to run or walk, games to go to, and lots of other activities planned by the college. There is a game room, gym, a weight room, and a workout room as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is your typical college food. Its not a five star meal, but there are a lot of options. There is a great variety of food and there is also a cafe that has some really yummy options.

    Dorm Life

    There are weekly dorm devos. The girl dorms and guy dorms pair up as brother and sister dorms and do devotions together, have brother/sister get-togethers, and have brother/sister dinners and such. The people are all amazing and you will definitely come away with life long friends

    Academic Rigor

    There are great classes offered! The teachers are amazing and want to help you learn as an individual student. You are not just an other paper for them to grade. They actually care about you as an individual.

    In three sentences

    Crown is an AMAZING school! The presence of God is very evident. You will not be able to come away without growing spiritually.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Crown College is really safe. I have viewed past crime records of Crown and there has maybe been one reported case of theft in the last 5 years or so. But overall I feel safe and secure when walking alone or when I'm by myself.

    Clubs and Activities

    Crown offers a lot of ways to get involved from sports or reaching out to the community. Crown College also offers a ton of clubs that students can join as a way of fellowship, there's a huge emphasis on relationship building and getting connected with others. Crown also offers students to go on short term missions trips each year which is a huge oppurtunity!

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a person who is thinking about working/living overseas sometime in your future, Crown does a great job at equipping students such as these. Also, since Crown is located in a smaller city, it may appear lifeless and dull to those who are extroverts.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition of Crown's is when a guy and a girl walk to the Crown College sign 2 times, their relationship becomes official. It's kind of just a silly tradition that Crown students know.

    What to do for fun

    St. Bonifacius is a small town, and there really isn't much to do around the area outside of campus. However, Crown does have a frisbee golf course all around the campus that students love to take advantage of. Crown has a game room that many students hang out in to relax. TV is available and many areas of the school where movies and sports can be watched.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is probably not the best but is certainly not terrible either. However, there is a great cafe located in the building that cooks fresh burgers and wraps. There's also a very convenient coffee shop that serves small snacks and drinks! Love it!

    Dorm Life

    Though dorms are a small space, it really can become a comfortable atmosphere and a sweet escape from school work. Crown College pairs together roommates who are similar in personality through the surveys taken during admission. RAs on the floor are always available to help if students are struggling with anything like relationship building, problems at home or with school. There are also FXers on the floor who are their to build relationships with students and make them feel connected to Crown.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors challenge students to excel in their academics and to especially grow in my faith. Teachers are really understanding and are always there to help out students if they cannot keep up with their school work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Crown College with an open mind and a readiness to meet students. Since the student body is smaller, the college becomes really tight knit and close relationships can be built here.

    In three sentences

    Crown is a Christ-centered college, looking to build up students to become Godly leaders. Staff are genuine and love to build relationships with students. A close-knit community that emphasizes the importance of faith, fellowship, and academic success.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    With such a tight knit community, I can't imagine it being difficult to find at least one thing you enjoy doing in your free time.

    Food and Dining

    THE FOOD IN THE CAFETERIA WAS AMAZING!!!

    Dorm Life

    I loved touring the dorms. It seemed like a large community.

    Academic Rigor

    From my perspective as a future student, they seem very firm on making sure everyone succeeds academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest applying early and trying your hardest on the ACT. Extra aid is a very nice thing.

    In three sentences

    I am so excited to attend Crown College. It seems like such a tight knit community! Everyone also seems very strong in their faith!

  • 01/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel so safe on campus! No matter what time of the day or night, I can freely walk about campus without a worry at all.

    What to do for fun

    Campus is pretty quiet. But it's beautiful out here! You can enjoy the outdoors by taking a walk, roller blading, ice skating, or going down to the lake. You could also play disc golf! Otherwise, most students hang out in the coffee shop or cafe. Carpet ball, pool, and fooseball are quite popular here as well. The rock climbing wall is also a campus favorite! There is plenty to do if you put your mind to it!

    Food and Dining

    The food service gets predictable and isn't always as good as a home cooked meal.

    Dorm Life

    I have had an AMAZING experience on my floor. The girls are so wonderful and I really an encouraged by them and have a lot of fun adventures with them.

    Academic Rigor

    I do well in the classroom so for me, Crown is not that difficult but it is still challenging. You can succeed with hard work and effort!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't set your preassumptions ruin your experience here. Come with an open heart and mind and your experience will be much better!

    In three sentences

    Crown is a great place to grow spiritually, academically, and personally. The professors are so encouraging and honestly want to help you succeed. It's a quiet and simple place but a wonderful place to be!!

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    We have movie nights with our floor, and there is quite a gaming community here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of stuff here.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other colleges, Crown is quite affordable. But its still alot.

    What to do for fun

    There is a disk golf course throughout campus, a climbing rock wall, plenty of hang out spots, caffe, and general community.

    Tips for prospective students

    Love the Lord

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love everything about crown. It has a great community. And has great academics.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothin bad eveer happens at Crown. A key is needed to get into every building and there are cameras on every entrence.

    Greek Life

    Crown offers a Greek class as one of its harder Christian courses.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are not a whole lot of clubs or anything on campus. People can join Senate or participate on the sports teams.

    Great for these types of students

    Crown is a good fit for people that love God and are looking for a place to expand their faith.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If a couple walks to the Sign (just the crown sign) it generally means they will be getting engaged sometime soon.

    Bang for the buck

    Crown is a pricy college, but it fits a number of people perfectly. I know I would never leave this place.

    What to do for fun

    Video games are a large portion of my down time, but many people go to town and enjoy a nice day on the streets.

    Food and Dining

    I'll be blunt, the food here is AWFUL.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life here is fun. There are enough people to find your group and really make good friends. But at the same time it is small enough so you can actually sleep at night.

    Academic Rigor

    There are a few classes that are hard to take, but for a majority of the classes the information is enough to make the desire to learn outweigh the actual amount of studying involved.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for a complete 180. Crown is small and there isn't a whole lot to do on campus.

    In three sentences

    Crown is a secluded college just west of the twin cities. It is a small private college where people are meant to really feel at home. Students here enjoy their daily learning as well as peaceful fellowship with God.

  • 11/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great.

    Clubs and Activities

    Honors program, athletics, intramural sports, serving at a homeless shelter once a week, Socratic Society, ultimate Frisbee

    Great for these types of students

    Crown College is a great school for Christian students who are looking to grow in their faith.

    What to do for fun

    On-campus-For fun we (the girls) usually have movie nights, nail-painting parties, time to just hang out and enjoy each other's company. We also play intramural sports, play ultimate Frisbee, climb the rock wall in the student center, walk around the beautiful campus, etc. Off-campus-we go shopping at MOA and other stores, go out to eat, help people by serving at homeless shelters, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The desserts in the dinning hall are delicious-especially on the weekends!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a few years old, but are taken care of well. The RAs and FXrs are wonderful! They are always available to talk to when you need it.

    Academic Rigor

    Crown students are held to a high standard, but the professors/doctors are very graceful, willing to help and understanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get the financial aspect of college figured out as soon as possible, and stay organized-stay on top of deadlines!

    In three sentences

    Crown College is a great private Christian college. The people (the professors-most are extremely graceful- and students) here are great!

  • 11/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Crown College is a Christian college, so it is great for anyone wanting to grow in their relationship with the Lord.

    What to do for fun

    Crown College is about a half an hour away from the Mall of America. There are many different campus activities like movie nights, professor hide and seek in the Mall of America, and many more. There is also a local movie theater and many different coffee shops nearby.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria features many options. There is typically a cultural option because Crown College has a big population of international students. There is also a café on campus where students can get burgers, chicken strips, grilled cheese, and other favorite options. The campus also has a coffee shop and they brew Caribou Coffee. You can get many different specialty drinks and pastries as well.

    Dorm Life

    There are many different options for housing. There are multiple apartment style dorms and even mini condo type housing. Then there are the standard dorms which feature private bathrooms for each room. Freshman guys even get to live in the main building, which means that they don't have to walk outside in the cold when winter comes around.

    Academic Rigor

    Being a private college, the class sizes are small. Even if the classes are difficult, it is impossible to slip through the cracks. The professors are genuine and want to help students succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    It does not hurt to apply. When I applied, there was a no application fee. There are also overnight previews and those are great to attend. You get the experience what campus life is like. Definitely visit the campus because it is beautiful.

    In three sentences

    Crown College is a Christ centered private college located on a beautiful campus in Minnesota. The professors genuinely care about their students and want to see everyone succeed. The Crown Community is a wonderful student body where friends are easily made and we support each other with prayer.

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    christian

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    What to do for fun

    chill with your friends

    Tips for prospective students

    bring plenty of games

    In three sentences

    its a great place and fun. great for christian students. Needs lower tuition

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ring by spring

    Bang for the buck

    For a private Christian school, I feel that you get what you pay for! It's a great school!

    What to do for fun

    There are malls close by, coffee shops on campus, and team sports and fun games for all.

    Dorm Life

    The first year dorms take time to get used to, but you will learn to love them, and the people you share them with.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are there for you. If you have questions they are there to help, they want to see everyone succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for the cold. Know that college isn't easy and be ready to study. Bring your bible, you will use it a lot.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school for those that are wanting to expand and grow In God. Crown has changed my life, and I would do it all over again!